Skip to main content

Full text of "The standard guide to Chicago"

See other formats


If 

To 
Th 
Yc 
Tc 
Yc 
Tc 
Yc 
In 
W 


LIBRARY  OF  THE 

UNIVERSITY  OF  ILLINOIS 

AT  URBANA-CHAMPAICN 

IN  MEMORY  OF 

STEWART  S.  HOWE 

JOURNALISM  CLASS  OF  1928 


STEWART  S.  HOWE  FOUNDATION 

917.731 

F64C 

1893 

I.H.S. 


une 


Vant, 
$e  it 


You  to  Get 
The  Want 
You  Want 
To  Get. 


TYPEWRITER 


The  history  of  the  REMINGTON 
shows  a  steadily  rising  tide  of 
popularity  and  success.   It  is 
absolutely  unrivaled  for  all 
essential  qualities  of  a  first- 
class  writing  machine. 


"The  Remington  Standard  Typewrit er  is  the  official 
writing  machine  of  the  Wor/d's  Columbian  Exposition." 


SEND    FOR    CATALOGUE. 


WYCKOFF,  SEAMANS  &  BENEDICT 

175  Monroe  Street,  CHICAGO. 

327  BROADWAY,  NEW  YORK, 


H.  N.  COOPER  .&  Co 


ESTf\TE> 
INV&STM&NTS 


SPECIALTIES 

Residence  lots  on  and  near  the  LAKE 
SHORE  DRIVE,  south  of  Lincoln  Park. 

Residences  and  residence  lots  at  La  Grange. 

Shares  in  the  La  Grange  Land  Association. 
This  Association  has  purchased  a  large  frontage 
in  the  best  portion  of  this  elegant  suburb,  at  an 
average  of  $11.00  per  front  foot.  Years  of 
experience  in  selling  La  Grange  property  makes 
us  certain  that  more  than  100  per  cent,  can  be 
realized  by  improving  and  retailing  this  property. 
The  title  to  this  property  is  held  by  the  Chicago 
Title  and  Trust  Company  as  Trustee,  and  all 
money  is  received  and  paid  out  by  them. 

Shares  in  the  Association  are  $100  each. 

For  particulars  call  or  address, 

GITY    OFFICE  LA  GRANGE    OFFICE 

100   WASHINGTON  STREET  5TH    AWE,,   LA  GRANGE 


....TELEPHONE    5754.... 
u 


<gf"  »»*^^^ 

&>      OFFICES",^        ric.n*  **   ,    VJ> 

. .  735  ^738  J      dJEAI?B9Rfl  Si 
UNITY  BUILDING    _^ 

TELEPIfOKmtomiflf/CAG  O^ 


Intelligent  Atoning, 


can  help  you  on  this  —  it  is  our  bus- 
iness  —  our  clients  are  successful  — 
formerly  small  advertisers  are  now  among- 
the  largest  —  our  advice  brings  results. 
Estimates  and  other  information  relative  to  the  placing  of 
•*  Intelligent  Advertising"  cheerfully  furnished  intending  ad- 
vertisers. Advertisements  designed  and  proofs  submitted  free 
of  charge.  The  "Advertiser's  Guide"  to  leading  newspapers 
and  magazines  mailed  free.  ADDRESS, 

CHAS.  H.  FULLER'S  ADVERTISING  AGENCY, 

112  Dearborn  Street,  CHICAGO. 

50O  TEMPLE   COURT    BUILDING,    NEW    YORK    CITY, 

HENRY    DECKER.  MANAGER. 


ADDRESS,    UNTIL    MAY    1,    1893,    69     DEARBORN     STREET. 

rtr 


SAFEST,  FASTEST  and  FINEST  TRAINS  IN  AMERICA 

IUTN  VIA 

Baltimore  &Qi  Raw 


NEW  YORK,  PHILADELPHIA,  BALTIMORE 
AND  WASHINGTON. 

All  trains  vestibuled  from  end  to  end,  and  pro- 
tected by  Pullman's  Anti-Telescoping  Appliance, 
including  baggage  cars,  day  coaches,  parlor  cars 
and  sleepers. 


THE  BALTIMORE  &  OHIO  RAILROAD 

Maintains  a  Complete 
Service  of  Vestibuled 
Express  Trains 

BETWEEN 

NEW  YORK, 
CINCINNATI, 
ST.  LOUIS 
and  CHICAGO, 

EQUIPPED  WITH 

PULLMAN 
PALACE 

SLEEPING  CARS 
Running  Through  With- 
out Change. 

ALL 

B.  &  O.  TRAINS 

BETWEEN  THE 

EAST  AND  WEST 

— RUN  VIA — 

WASHINGTON. 


PRINCIPAL  OFFICES. 

gS^WAS^S0'^'11*"-  8£:Mvi^Ta2Mb. 

Cor 79th  &  Chestnut  Sts,  Phil,  P..  193  Clark  Street  Chicago  111. 

Cor.  Baltimore  &  Calvert  Sts.,  Bal.,  Md.      105  Broadway,  St.  Louis,  Mo. 
1351  Pennsylvania  Avenue,  Washington,  D.  C. 

CHAS.  O.  SCULL,  GHN-L  PAS«.  Aar 


J.  7.    ODELL.   GEN-.   MQR. 


IVID. 


IV 


MARSHALL  FIELD  ft  Co 

State  and  Washington  Streets,  Chicago. 


Probably  of  more  importance  to  ladies  than  any  other  point  of 
interest  in  Chicago,  is  the  retail  house  of  MARSHALL  FIELD  &  Co. 
Rated  as  it  is  among  the  largest  in  the  world,  it  is  by  far  the  most 
complete  and  most  handsomely  equipped  in  Chicago,  and  a  shopping 
headquarters  for  the  larger  portion  of  its  residents.  To  strangers  a 
most  cordial  welcome  is  extended.  Waiting  rooms,  check  rooms, 
retiring  rooms,  and  all  possible  conveniences  are  offered  to  those 
who  care  to  enjoy  them.  To  patrons  it  has  to  recommend  it 

LARGE  STOCK  OF  DRY  GOODS,  ETC. 
LOW  (the  lowest)  PRICES 
and  ABSOLUTE  TRUSTWORTHINESS. 


GEORGE  M.  BOGUE.  HAMILTON  B.  BOQUE.  HARRY   W.  CHRISTIAN. 

BOGUE  &  COMPANY, 

Real  Estate  floenoy 

Rooms  203  to  209  Real  Estate  Board  Building, 

59  DEARBORN  STREET,  CHICAGO- 

ESTABLISHED  1867. 


BUY  AND  SELL  REAL  ESTATE  ON  COMMISSION, 

PROPERTY  MANAGED, 

INTERESTS  OF  NON-RESIDENTS  CAREFULLY  ATTENDED  TO 
RENTS  COLLECTED,  LOANS  NEGOTIATED, 

A    LARGE    LIST   ALWAYS    ON    HAND    OF 

INVESTMENT  PROPERTIES, 

RESIDENCES,  VACANT   FOR   IMPROVING. 

ACRES  RIPE  FOR  SUB-DIVIDING. 

Agents  for  the  World  Renowned   Grant   Locomotive  Works' 

Addition  to  Chicago. 
The  only  Locomotive  Works  west  of  Pittsburg.    600  men  no-w  employed. 


MANY  HOUSES  HAVE  BEEN  BUILT— MORE  ARE  NEEDED. 
NOW  IS  THE  TIME  TO  BUY  A  LOT. 

IT  IS  THE  BEST  INVESTMENT  AROUND  CHICAGO. 


Send  for  Plat  and  get  Free  Tickets. 


LOTS,   &5OO    flND    UPWARDS. 


(ocp^rt  Opticians  .  .  .  « 


FIT  EYES  AT 


38  E.  MADISON  ST.,  CHICAGO. 


OSCAR  D.  WETHERELL,  Preset. 
MELVILLE  E.  STONE,  Vice  Pres't. 


D.  A .  MOULTON,  Cashier. 

C.  C.  SWINBORNE,  Aes't  Cashier. 


The  Globe  National  Bank 


OP  CHICAGO. 


Capita!  and  Surplus,     -      $1,080,000,00 
CENTRAL  HALL,  THE  ROOKERY, 

ADAMS  AND  LA  SALLB  STREETS. 


DIRECTORS. 


MELVILLE  E.  STONE, 
GUSTAVUS  F.  SWIFT, 
JAMES  L.  HIGH, 
BERNARD  A.  ECKHART, 
JAMES  H.  PEARSON, 
AMOS  GRANNIS, 


ALSON  E.  CLARKE, 
WILLIAM  H.  HARPER, 
SAMUEL  H.  SWEET, 
EVERETT  W.  BROOKS, 
DON.  A.  MOULTON, 
ROBERT  L.  HENRY, 


OSCAR  D.  WETHERELL. 

VII 


ESTABLISHED  1857. 

J.  B.  CHAMBERS  *  CO. 

IMPORTERS, 
DIAMONDS,  RUBIES,  SAPPHIRES, 

EWWERflLDS,  FBftRLS, 
SET,  LOOSE  «ND  MOUNTED  TO  ORDER. 


AMERICAN       WfTTGHES       FOREIGN 
JEWELRY  NOVELTIES 

STERLING  SILVER  SOUVENIR  SPOONS, 

WEDDING  AND  ANNIVERSARY  GIFTS, 

CLARK  AND  MADISON  STREETS. 

RICE  &  WHITACRE  MFG.  CO, 
Engines,  Boilers 

Steam 

Power 

Plants. 
Steam  and 
Hot  Water 
Heaters. 

47  SOUTH  CANAL  STREET 
....  GHIGAGO-.. 

VIII 


THE 

STANDARD  GUIDE 

TO 

CHICAGO 


ILLUSTRATED 


WORLD'S  FAIR  EDITION 
•893 


WRITTEN  AND  COMPILED  BY 

JOHK    J.     KLINN 


COMPILER  op  THE  OFFICIAL  GUIDE  BOOKS  TO  THE  WORLD'S 

COLUMBIAN  EXPOSITION;   CONDENSED  GUIDE  TO 

CHICAGO,  HAND  BOOK  OF  CHICAGO 

BIOGRAPHY,  ETC. 


'Not  in  the  Arabian   Nights'  Entertainments,  though   bathed  in  all   the  glorious 

colorings  of  Oriental  fancy,  is  there  a  tale  which  surpasses  in 

wonder  the  plain,  unvarnished  history  of  Chicago." 


CHICAGO 
THE    STANDARD    GUIDE    CO. 

358    DEARBORN    STREET 


Entered  according-  to  the  act  of  Congress, 
BY 

THE  STANDARD  GUIDE  CO. 
JOHN  J.  FLINN,  W.  S.  SHEPPARD, 

President.  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

In  the  Office  of  the  Librarian  of  Congress, 
at  Washington,  D.  C. 

All  Rights  of  Translation  Reserved. 


THE    LARGEST    ESTABLISHMENT    DEVOTED    EXCLUSIVELY    fO    HIGH    GRADfc 
LITHOGRAPHY    IN   THE   WEST. 


WM.  8.  OROUTT,  QEN.  Ma*. 


LITHOGRAPHERS^ 


BELDKN  F.  CULVER 

DEALER  ON  COMMISSION  IN 


REAL  ESTATE. 


PROPERTY  OF  NON-RESIDENTS 
TAKEN  CHARGE  OF  AND 
THEIR  INTERESTS  PROTECTED. 


CAREFUL  ATTENTION  GIVEN  rQ  fjporUnrn     Of 

TO  THE  PAYMENT  OF  TAXES  U^  1/Odl  UUJ  Ol. 

AND  SPECIAL  ASSESSMEN  TS.  CHICAGO. 

XIII 


INVESTMENTS. 
LOANS. 


RENTING. 
INSURANCE. 


XIV 


TO 

THE  CHILDREN  OF  CHICAGO 
IN  GENERAL, 

AND  TO 
MY  OWN   LITTLE  CHILDREN 

IN   PARTICULAR, 
WHO,  IF  THE   LORD  SPARES  THEM   UNTIL 

THEY  SHALL  HAVE  ATTAINED 
THE    ALLOTTED    SPAN    OF    LIFE, 

WILL  SEE  THIS  CITY 
THE  GREATEST  METROPOLIS  ON  THE  GLOBE. 

THIS   VOLUME 
IS   AFFECTIONATELY   DEDICATED 

BY 
THE  COMPILER. 


THIS  BOOK 
IS    DIVIDEDD    INTO    THRBE    F>ARTS. 


PART       I.      THE  GUIDE— TEN  TRIPS  AROUND  THE  CITY,   PAGE 
23. 

PART     II.      GENERAL  INFORMATION,  PAGE  123. 

PART  III.      THE  APPENDIX  — STATISTICAL  INFORMATION,  PAGE 
539. 


MORTGAGES  AND 
REAL  ESTATE 

INVESTMENTS 

MONEY  TO  LOAN, 


o<lt>o 


TELEPHONE,    MAIN    877. 

Oor.  TJnd.er  First  USTatiozial 

CMICAGO, 

XVII 


ANDREW  DUNNING 

Real  -Estate-  Investments 

92    LA    SALLE    STREET, 

CHICAGO. 


/  BELIEVE  I  HAVE  SOME  CHOICE  BARGAINS.      , 

IT  WILL  COST  YOU  NOTHING  TO  SEE  THEM. 


SPECIALTIES. 

ACRE  TRACTS  for  investment,  subdivision  or  syndicate 
purposes. 

Parcels  of  ten  or  more  LiOTS  at  genuine  wholesale  prices,  for 
investors,  retailers  and  builders. 

INCOME  PROPERTY  paying  eight  to  ten  per  cent.,  net. 


I  recommend  investments  in  the  NORTHWEST  SECTION  of 
Chicago,  where  prices  have  not  been  "boomed";  but  where  the 
rapid  progress  of  improvements  during  1892  and  increased  trans- 
portation facilities  warrant  the  belief  that  the  history  of  the 
Southside  is  repeating-  itself  there. 


WRITE    FOR    CIRCULARS. 

XVIII 


INDEX  TO  ILLUSTRATIONS. 


PAGE. 

American  Radiator  Co.'s  Sales- 
room     297 

Andrews,  A.  H.  &  Co.'s  Bldg 169 

Art  Institute 85 

Ashland  Block 29 

Ashland  Boulevard 305 

Athenaeum  Building '. .  112 

Auburn  Park,  view  in 411 

Auditorium  Bldg, Facing  Part  I 

Auditorium,Studeoakerand  Chi- 
cago Club  Bldgs 73 

Aurora  Woi-ks,  Aurora  Smelting 

and  Refining  Co 505 

Benedict,George  H.&  Co.'s  build- 
ing   211 

3erwyn,  Residence  in 413 

Jerwyn,  Suburb  of,  Railway  Sta- 
tion    277 

Bird's  Eye  View  World's  Colum- 
bian Exposition. ..Facing  Preface 

Boyce  Bldg 43 

Carpenter    George    B.  &  Co.'s..  207 
C.,  B.  &  Q.    General  Ticket  Office  183 

Central  Masic  Hall 61 

Chamber  of  Commerce  Bldg 91 

Chicago  Beach  Hotel 321 

Chicago  Cripple  Creek  Gold  Min- 
ing Co 507 

Chicago    Raw    Hide    Mfg.  Co.'s 

Bldg  253 

Chicago  River,  Near  its  Mouth . .     25 

Clark  and  Randolph  Street 551 

Clark  Street,  North  from  Madi- 
son        365 

Conover  Piano  Co.'s  Office  and 

Salesroom 357 

Conover  Piano  Co.'s  Works 349 

Continental  National  BankBuild- 

ing J55 

Columbus  Buggy  Co.  Repository.  537 
Columbus  Buggy  Co.'s  Works...  467 

Columbus  Bldg.  64 

Daily  News,  Counting  Room 387 

Dale  &  Sempill's  Drug  Store 243 

Davis  &  Rankin  Bldg  &  Mfg.  Co. 

Interior 325 

Dearborn  Passenger  Station 223 

Deering  Harvesting  Works 511 

Douglas  Monument 147 

Donohue  &Henneberry (In  Front)  XL 

Drexel  Fountain 65 

Evening  Journal  Bldg. 388 

Evening  Post  Bldg 391 

First   National   Bank,  (Office  of 

Dunlap,  Smith  &  Co.) 151 

Frank's   Collateral   Loan  Bank, 

Interior 293 

Friedman,  J.  &  Co.'s  Bldg 177 

FRONTISPIECE— Chicago  Has 

Arisen Facing  Title  Page 

Garfield  Park,  A  View  in 215 

Germaiiia  Club  House 377 

Gormully    &   Jeffery  Mfg.  Co.'s 

Works 235 

Grand  Central   Station 273 

Grant  Locomotive  Works 519 


PAGE. 

Grant  Monument 120 

Great  Northern  Hotel 80 

Gross'  Suburbs,  Locations  of 418 

Gross'  Suburbs,  Views  in 421 

Hardy's   Subterranean    Scenery 

Theater  (two  views) 136 

Hartford  Bldg 38 

Haymarket  Square 373 

Herald  Bldg 113 

Herald  Office,  Interior 393 

Hill,  F.  H.  Co.'s  Bldg 285 

Home  Insurance  Bldg 142 

Hooley's  Theatre,  Interior 189 

Hotel  Pfister,  Milwaukee 485 

Illinois  Central  Railroad  Depot .  451 
Illinois    Central    Railroad   Map, 

Showing  Entrance  to  City 465 

Indian  Monument,  Lincoln  Park  317 

Inter-Ocean  Bldg 37 

John  M.  Smyth  Bldg.,  Exterior. . .  313 
John  M.  Smyth  Bldg.,  Interior  ...   117 
Kaestner,  Charles  &  Co.'s  Fac- 
tories   219 

Keeley  Institute,  Laboratory  and 

Office 329 

Keeley    Institute,    Taking    the 

Treatment .     337 

Keeley  Institute,  Waiting  for  the 

Train  333 

Kimball,  The  W.  W.,  Bldg 109 

Kimball,  W.  W.  Co.'s  Piano  and 

Organ  Works  265 

La  Grange,  Views  in 425 

Lake  Michigan,  Scene  on 69 

La  Salle  Statue 143 

La  Salle  St.,  So.  of  Randolph 361 

Lees  Bldg 137 

Libby  Prison,  National  Museum.  133 

Lincoln  Monument 309 

Lincoln  Park,   Clark  Street  En- 
trance  161 

Lincoln     Park,    Lily    Beds    and 

Schiller  Monument 249 

Manhattan  Bldg 70 

Map    Showing     Chicago's    Geo- 
graphical position 369 

Marshall    Field's    Retail    House 

(State  Street  Bldg) 187 

Masonic  Temple 53 

McCormick  Harvesting  Machine 

Co.'s  Works 261 

Me Vicker's  Theatre,  Interior  ..     125 

Mead  <fe  Coe,  Interior  of  office 526 

Medinah  Temple   198 

Michigan  Boulevard     57 

Model  Apartment  House 193 

Monadnock  Bldg         86 

Monarch  Cycle  Co.'s  Works 528 

North  Side  Water  Tower  281 

North-Western  Railway  Depot. .   105 

Oakwood  Sanitarium,  Views 530 

Orcutt  Co.'s  Bldg 239 

Owings  Bldg 30 

Palmer  House 75 

Pettibone,  P.  F.  &  Co.'s  Bldg 289 

Police  Monument 101 


XIX 


PAGE. 

Pontiac  Bldg 102 

Post  Office  and  Custom  House ...    33 

Public  Library  Bldg 81 

Pullman  Administration  Bldg. . .  157 

Pullman  Bldg 77 

Pullman,  Engine  House  and  Wa- 
ter Tower 443 

Pullman  Presbyterian  Church.. .  227 

Pullman,  The  Boulevard 439 

Prairie  Avenue 245 

Produce  Cold  Storage  Exchange.  269 

Relic  House.  353 

Remington  Typewriter  Office 257 

Ritchie,  W.  C.  &  Co.'s  Bldg 191 

Ritchie,  W.  C.  &  Co.'s,  Interior...  535 

Rock  Island  Depot 97 

Rookery  Bldg  131 

Sawyer-Goodman  Co.'s  Mills  and 

Shipping  Docks 231 

Schiller  Theatre  Bldg 129 

Security  Bldg 54 

Skandinaven  Bldg 341 

Southern  Pacific  Railway  Scenes  473 

South  Water  Street 49 

State,  North  from  Madison  St  . . .     45 
State,  South  from  Palmer  House  513 


PAGE. 

Staver  &  Abbott  Repository 537 

Stone  Bldg 126 

St.Vincent's  Infants'  Asylum          203 

Tacoma  Bldg 96 

Thayer    &    Jackson    Stationery 

Co.'s  Bldg 195 

The  Temple 89 

Thomson-Taylor  Spice  Co.'s  Bldg  165 

Title  &  Trust  Bldg     48-173 

Tribune  Bldg 41 

Union  National  Bank,  Interior..    93 

Union  Stock  Yards 301 

Union  Stock  Yards,  Clay,  Robin- 
son &  Co 495 

Unity  Bldg 24 

U.  S.  Appraiser's  Bldg 107 

Venetian  Bldg 118 

Wabash  Ave.  and  Jackson  St 381 

Western  Bank  Note  Bldg 199 

Western  Refrigerating  Company, 

Interior 345 

W.  J.   White's    Pleasm-e  Yacht, 

"Say  When  ?" 480 

Women's  Temple 59-89 

Yost  Mfg.  Co.,  Toledo,  Ohio 480 


INDEX  TO  ADVERTISERS. 


(FRONT  PART  OP  BOOK.)      PAGE. 

Andrews  &  Piper XXII 

Baltimore  &  Ohio  R.  R IV 

Bogue  &  Co VI 

Calkins,  T.  E.  Engraving  Co Ill 

Chambers,  J.  B.  &  Co VIII 

Charles  H.  Fuller's  Adv.  Agency.  Ill 

Cooper,  H.  N.  &  Co H 

Cronkrite,  B.  F.  &Co        XIV 

Donohue  &  Henneberry XXXIX 

Dunlap,  Smith  &  Co XVII 

Dunning,  Andrew XVIII 

Evening  Journal      XLI 

Field,  Marshall  &  Co V 

Fowler's  Optical  Institute VII 

Globe  National  Bank VII 

Henry  Dibblee  Co XXI 

La  Grange  Land  Association L 

Orcutt  Comp'y.  Lithographers.  XIII 
Pratt  &  Ely  (Opp.  Auditorium) 

Engraving XLIX 

Remington  Standard  Typewriter.  I 
Rice  &  Whiteacre  Mfg.  Co . .  . .  VIII 
Thomson  &  Taylor  Spice  Co ...  XLIII 

Tribune,  The  Chicago 

...  Inside  of  Front  Cover 

(BODY  AND  BACK  OP  BOOK.) 

Allen,  Gasette  &  Opdyke 560 

American  Conservatory 555 

Andrews'  "Gem"  Folding  Bed...  563 

Bearing  Engraving  Co 580 

Benedict,  George  H.  &  Co     .  574 

Bent,  George  P.,  Crown  Pianos 
and  Organs.        Inside  Back  Cover 

Carpenter,  George  B.  &  Co 565 

C.,  B.  &  Q.  Railroad 182 

Chicago  Cripple  Creek  Gold  Min- 
ing Company 583 

Chicago  Athengeum 

Inside  Back  Cover 

Chicago  Raw  Hide  Mfg.  Co 573 

Chicago,  Rock  Island  &  Pac.  Ry .  572 
Chicago  Watchmaker's  Institute  556 


PAGE. 

Chicago  &  North- Western  Ry 577 

Clarke,  B.  F. 557 

Continental  National  Bank 154 

Corn  Exchange  Bank  554 

Daily  News,  The  Chicago 386 

Dale&Sempill 242 

Dunlap  Hat 554 

Ellsworth  &  Jones 559 

Evening  Post 390 

Forsyth  Lands  579 

Gendron  Iron  Wheel  Company..  559 

Greenebaum  Sons 561 

Gross,  S.  E.  &  Co.     . .     419 

Hair?  J.  A.  &  S.  G 558 

Herald,  The  Chicago 395 

Hotel  Pfister,  Milwaukee 581 

Illinois  Central  R.  R.  Map 465 

Kaestner  &  Co 584 

Manz  &  Co 576 

Mason  &  Davis  Co 561 

Merrick's  Spool  Cotton 555 

Meyer  &Finck 567 

Michigan  Central  Railroad         . .  571 

Mid-Continent  Publishing  Co 560 

Northern  Assurance  Co 121 

Northern  Pacific  Railroad 570 

Peabody,  Houghteling  &  Co 553 

Peele,  C.  D.  M 582 

Photo-Tint  Engraving  Co  578 

Plankinton  Hotel,  Milwaukee.,..  556 

Pridmore,  W.  A 122 

Relic  House 558 

Ritchie,  W.  C.  &  Co 569 

Sawyer-Goodman  Co  562 

Southern  Pacific  Company 566 

Tourjee  Consera  vtory  of  Music . .  556 

Union  National  Bank 575 

Union  Pacific  Railway 564 

Vierling,  McDowell  &  Co 555 

White,  W.  J.  Chewing  Gum 481 

Wood  Brothers   557 

Yost  Mfg.  Co.,  Toledo,  Ohio 489 


N  \ 


ANSON  8.  HOPKINS,  B.  E.  SUNNY,  J.  G.  SANBORN, 

Pres.  and  Gen'I  Mgr.  Vice-Pres.  Sec'y  and  Treas. 


THE  HENRY  DIBBLEE  COHPANY 


ESTABLISHED   1873. 


INCORPORATED  1886. 


DESIGNERS  AND   MANUFACTURERS 
BANK  AND  OFFICE  INTERIORS   . 


FURNITURE  AND  DECORATIONS 


MANTELS,  GRATES,  TILES,  MOSAICS 


SALESROOMS  AND  MANUFACTORY 

stud.  ISO  ^v£IctLig-£irL 

CHICAGO 


CORRESPONDENCE   SOLICITED 
XXI 


Do  You  Want  a  Home  or  an  Investment 

WHERE  BY  REASON  OF  THE  ERECTION  OF  MANY  CHOICE 
RESIDENCES, 

Values  are  Rapidly  and  Legitimately  Enhancing? 

IF  SO,  DO  NOT  PURCHASE  UNTIL  YOU  HAVE  SEEN 


AIY10NG  ITS  MANY  ADVANTAGES  ARE  : 

LOCATION .    Only  nine  and  one-half  miles  from  City  Hall  on  the  C.,  B. 

&  Q.  R.  R.  and   the  Wisconsin  division  of  the  Illinois 

Central. 

TRANSPORTATION.    Half-hourly  trains  make  the  run  in  twenty- 
-    eight  minutes— less  time  than  is  required  to 
reach  most  desirable  residence  districts  in  Chicago  by  street  car. 
FARE.    Only  eight  cents. 


UNIFORM    IMPROVEMENTS.    Our  building  restrictions  are  such 

-    that  every  purchaser  is  absolutely 

assured  that  his  neighborhood  can  suffer  no  detraction  by  reason  of 

interior  improvements. 
NO   SALOONS.    Liquor  is  prohibited  by  every  deed. 

WATER.    An  artesian  well  supplies  pure  excellent  water. 

SEWERS.    Sewers  are  now  laid  on  several  streets,  and  a  large  force  of 
-     men  are  completing  the  system  as  rapidly  as  the  work  can  be 

done. 
ELECTRICITY.    Street  and  house  lighting  is  by  electricity. 

CHURCHES,  SCHOOLS    and  many  social  organizations  afford  the 
—    privileges  desired  by  every  community  of 

refinement. 

HEALTH  FULNESS.    Ask  any  resident  of  BERWYN  and  he  will 
assure  you  that  the  conditions  of  air,  drainage, 
water,  etc.,  are  such  as  to  render  it  remarkably  healthful. 
FOLIAGE.    Elms  and  maples  of  twenty  years  growth  line  the  streets, 
and  are  one  of  BER  WYN'ti  greatest  attractions. 


Modern  Residences,  $3,000  to  $10,000.        Choice  Lots,  $22.00  to  $32.00  per  foot. 
PAYMENTS. 


ANDREWS  &  PIPER,  OWNERS, 

185  Dearborn  Street,  Suite  51. 

XXII 


GENERAL    INDEX. 


[SEE  ALSO  "INDEX    TO    ILLUSTRATIONS,"   "INDEX   TO   TEN  DAILY 
TRIPS,"  AND  "INDEX  TO  ADVERTISERS."] 


Abattoirs 362 

Abendpost 383 

Abstracts  of  Title 362 

Acacia  Club 260 

Academy  of  Music 123 

Academy  of  Sciences.  123 
Academy  of  Sciences 

Library 347 

Adams  Express  Bldg.  166 
Adolph  Loeb  &  Bro. . .  158 

Advance 400 

Advertising  Agencies  499 
Aeolus  Club.              . . .  260 
Alexian  Brothers  Hos- 
pital   320 

Alhambra  Theatre 123 

Allen's  Academy.        .  279 
Allen,  Cassette  &  Op- 
dyke     500 

Alley  Elev.  R.  R.     .     .247 
Amateur  Press  Club, 
The  Chicago..     ..   .267 

Ambulances 364 

American  Cities,  Pop- 
ulation of  1890     ...  380 
American     Conserva- 
tory of  Music  292 

American  Education- 
al Aid  Ass'n.         ...     210 
American    Exchange 

National  Bank.  . .  .  152 
American  Ex.  Bldg.  166 
American  Radiator 

Company 500 

American  Trust  and 

Savings  Bank.         ..   158 
Amusement  and  Rec- 
reation    123 

Anarchy      364 

Anarchist  Monument  312 
Anarchist  Revenge 

Circular 380 

Andersen  Bust..  314 
Andrews,  A.  H.  &  Co..  500 
Anshe  Maariv  Ceme- 
tery   200 

Annexation 232 

Annexed  Districts ....  232 


Apollo  Club 251 

Appendix 541 

Arbeiter  Zetiung 384 

Architectural      Iron 

Works 500 

Architectural   Sketch 

Club 251 

Area  of  Chicago 232 

Argonaut  Club 251 

Armour  Flats  ...        .  311 
Armour  Institute  Bldg  166 

Armour  Institute 300 

Armour    Institute, 

Departments  of 302 

Armour  Institute,  Ex- 
terior .    .  302 
Armour  Institute, 

Girls  Department. ..  300 
Armour  Institute, 

Gymnasium      . .  302 
Armour  Institute,  Li- 
brary  300 

Armour  Institute,  Li- 
brary  347 

Armour  Institute,  ob- 
ject of     302 

Armour  Institute,  pre- 
sentation of     302 

Armour  Institute — 
Training  School   .   .  300 

Armour  Mission 210 

Armour    Mission    Li- 
brary   ..347 

ArmourMissionTrain- 

ing  School 210 

Armstrong  Bust  . .    . .  314 

Art  Bldg  (old) 140 

Art  Collection 140 

Art  Institute,  Art  Mu- 
seum      140 

Art     Institute,    Art 

School.  .  .     142 

Art     Institute    Bldg 

(new)    166 

Art  Institute,  Collec- 
tions, etc  141 

Art  Institute,Popular- 

ityof 141 

Art  Museum 123 

Arts  and  Sciences 140 

XXIII 


Art  Students'  League.  145 

Ashland  Block 167 

Ashland  Blvd 431 

Ashland  Club 251 

Astronomical  Observ- 
atories       145 

Asylums  and  Homes..  204 
Atchison,    Topeka    & 

Santa  Fe  System...  449 
Athletic  Association.  248 
Athletic  Club  Bldg...  167 
Athletic  Club  Houses.  247 

Athenaeum  Bldg  167 

Athenaeum,  The  Chi- 
cago.             279 

Athenaeum,  The  Chi- 
cago, Library 347 

Atlantic  Hotel         ....  324 
Atlas  National  Bank.  152 

Auburn  Park 412 

Auditorium  Annex,  or 
Congress  Hotel  Bldg  171 

Auditorium  Bldg 168 

Auditorium  Hotel  ...  324 
Auditorium  Hotel  An- 
nex   324 

Auditorium  Theatre . .  123 
Augustana  Hospital.  320 

Aurora 412 

Austin 414 

A  u  s  t  r  o  -  H  ungarian 

Cemetery 200 

Avenue  Savings  Bank  158 
Ayer's  Bldg 171 


Back  Lot  Societies  of 

Evanston 259 

Baggage,  Express,Ad- 

dress& Telephones.  367 
Baggage,  How  Cared 

for. ...  364 

Baltimore  &  Ohio  R.R.  449 

Ball  Alleys      250 

Banks  and  Banking. .   149 
Banking  Business, Sta- 
tistics concerning. .  541 
Bank  of  Commerce . . .  158 
Bank  Clearings 541 


GENERAL  INDEX. 


Bankers'  Club. 251 

Banks,  Condition  of, 

1892 541 

Banking     Houses    of 
Chicago,  Capital, 

Surplus,  etc.     149 

Banking    Houses    of 
Chicago,  classes  of.  149 

Banks,  National 152 

Bankers  Nat' IBank..  152 
Banks,  State  and  Pri- 
vate  156 

Banks  Worth  Visiting  364 

Banner  of  Gold 400 

Baptist  Churches 225 

Baptist  Hospital 320 

Baptist  Missionary 

Training  School 303 

Barlow's  Pavilion.  . .  124 
Base  Ball  Clubs  .  ..248 
Base  Ball  (Indoor 

Clubs) 250 

Battle  of  Gettysburg 

Cyclorama        124 

Baths,  Public  and  Pri- 
vate    364 

BethHamedrash 

Cemetery 200 

Beer  and  Breweries . .  364 
Belford's  Magazine...  400 

Belvedere  Flats 311 

Benedict,  Geo.H.&  Co  500 

Bennett  Hospital 320 

Bennett  Medical  Col- 
lege  291 

Berwyn         414 

Births,  1892 548 

Beseda  (Boh.  Reading 

Club) 259 

Bible  Institute 220 

Bi-Chloride  of  Gold,  a 

misnomer 331 

Bird's  Eye  Views    of 

Chicago 364 

Bird's  Eye  Views  ...  124 
Blaisdell  — Preisch 

Conserv.  of  Music .    294 
B'nai  Abraham  Ceme- 
tery     200 

B'nai    Shilom    Ceme- 
tery  200 

Board  of  Trade 270 

Board  of  Trade  Clear- 
ings, 1892     545 

Board  of  Trade  Cor- 
ners   364 

Board  of  Trade  Bldg..  171 
Board  of  Trade (open) 

Bldg 186 

Board  of  County  Com- 
missioners  274 

Board  of  Trade  Gal- 
lery   366 


Board  of  Trade,  Open.  366 
Boarding    Houses, 

Hints  to  Strangers. .  34 
Boat  and  Yacht  Club.  248 
Boating  andYachting  366 
Bon  Ami  Club  of  Wil- 

mette 264 

Book     and     News 

Stands 379 

Boulevards.   429 

Boyce  Building     171 

Brainard's  Musical 

World   400 

Breadstuff  Transac- 
tions   545 

Brickmaker,  The.    .   .  400 

Bridewell 233 

Bridges  and  Viaducts  233 

Brigg's  House  326 

Brother     Jonathan 

Bldg  171 

Brookdale     414 

Bryan  Block 171 

Bucket  Shops 366 

Buena      Park     S.    S. 

Yacht  Club 251 

Builders  and  Traders 

Exchange 270 

Building    Operations 

since  1881     542 

Buildings,  Architec- 
ture and  Construc- 
tion   163 

Buildings,    Cost     of 

Steel  Construction.  164 
Buildings,  the  Great, 

of  1892  542 

Buildings,  The  Great, 

Cost  of 542 

Building  and  Loan  As- 
sociations   366 

Buildings,    The    Not- 
able Structures        .  163 
Building  Society  Club  252 
Building   Transac- 
tions       542 

Bureau  of  Justice 210 

Burke's  European 

Hotel 326 

Burning  of  Chicago . .  368 


Cable  Companies.  ...  236 
Cable  Power  Houses.  241 
Cable  Railways,Char- 

acter  of     237 

Cab  Rates 32 

California     Pioneers, 

W.  Ass'n  of 263 

Calkins,T.  E.,  Engrav- 
ing Co 501 

Calumet  Bldg 172 

XXIV 


Calumet  Club 252 

Calumet  Electric  Sys- 
tem   241 

Calumet  Flats 31 1 

Calumet  Heights. ...  414 
Calvary  Cemetery  ...  201 
Cambridge  Flats  .  ...  311 
Carette  Company ,The 

Chicago 502 

Carleton  Club 260 

Carleton  Flats  311 

Carolina  Hotel 326 

Carpenter,  Geo.  B.  & 

Co 501 

Carpentry  and  Build- 
ing   401 

Casino  Club  of  Edge- 
water  264 

Catholic    (Roman) 

Churches 228 

Cavalry,  Troop  A 359 

Caxton  Bldg 172 

Cemeteries 200 

Central  Blvd  431 

Q  entral    Church 

(Swing's) 226 

Central  Detail     435 

Central  Manufactur- 
ing Block 172 

Central  Music  Hall...  124 
Central  Music  Hall 

Bldg 172 

Central  Trust  and 

Savings  Bank.   . .        158 
Central  Union  Block.  172 
Chamber    of   Com- 
merce   Bldg.      (See 

Guide) . .  172 

Chambers,  J.  B.  &  Co.  502 
Character  of  Great 

Buildings 28 

Charities 202 

Charities,  cost  of 202 

Charities,  Leading  In- 
stitutions    210 

Charities,locations  of  202 
Charities,  Miscellane- 
ous   209 

Charities,  names  and 

numbers  of 202 

Charitable  Societies  .  209 
Charles  Henrotin.   ...   158 
ChebraGemilathChas- 
adim  Ubikar  Cholim 

Cemetery... 201 

Chebra  Kadisha  Ubi- 
kar Cholim  Ceme- 
tery   201 

Chemical  Bank  Elder. .  172 
Chemical  Nat'l  Bank .  152 

Chicago  23 

Chicago  Academy  of 
Sciences 146 


•GENERAL  INDEX. 


Chicago,  area  and 
water  frontage  of  .  :26 

Chicago  as  a  Railway 
Center 448 

Chicago  Astronomical 
Society  145 

Chicago  Athenaeum..  279 

Chicago  Athenaeum 
Library 347 

Chicago  Beach  Hotel.  326 

Chicago  Bible  Society  220 

Chicago  Branch,  I.  T. 
&M.  Library 347 

Chicago.Burlington  & 
Quincy  R.  R 450 

Chicago  Carrette  Co. .  502 

Chicago  Central  Rail- 
road   452 

Chicago  City  Railway 
Company 238 

Chicago,  Climate  of...    27 

Chicago  Club 252 

Chicago  College  of 
Law 291 

Chicago  College  of 
Pharmacy 291 

Chicago  College  of  Vo- 
cal and  Instrument- 
alart  294 

Chicago  Conservatory  294 

Chicago  Cottage  Or- 
gan Co 503 

Chicago  Daily  News. .  385 

Chicago  Daily  News 
Fresh  Air  Fund 210 

Chicago,  Distance  of 
from  ether  cities 367 

Chicago  Edison  Power 
Houses .  366 

Chicago  Fire  Cyclo 
rama  ...  . .  124 

Chicago, Foreign  Born 
Citizens  in  26 

Chicago,  Foundation 
Soil  of 26 

Chicago  Free  Kinder- 
garten Association.  210 

Chicago,  General  In- 
troduction to 23-31 

Chicago  General 

Street  Ry.  Co.. 244 

Chicago,    Geographi- 
cal Position  of      .   .     24 
Chicago  Great  West- 
ern   Railway..         ..  452 
Chicago,  Harbor  of  . .     27 
Chicago,  Historical 

Sketch  of    30 

Chicago  Home  for 

Crippled  Children..  212 
Chicago      Homoeo- 
pathic Medical  Col- 
lege   291 


Chicago  Industrial         '  Chicago,  Sons  of     .... 
School  for  Girls.     ..  303  I  Chicago     Stock     Ex- 


Chicago  Kitchen  Gar- 
den Association 303 

Chicago  Lake  Traffic.    27 

Chicago  Lake  View  & 

Sub.  Ry 244 

hicago,  Length  and 
Width  of     26 

Chicago  Life  Saving 
Station 356 

Chicago  Light  356 

Chicago  Literary  Club  260 

ChicagoManualTrain- 
ing  School 303 

Chicago,  Milwaukee , 
&St.  Paul  Ry 453 

Chicago  Municipal 
Government  ...  27 

Chicago  Musical  CoP 
lege 294 

Chicago  National 
Bank 152 

Chicago  Nursery  and 
Half  Orphan  Asy- 
lum   210 

Chicago  Opera  House  126 

Chicago  Opera  House 
Block 186 

Chicago  Orphan  Asy- 
lum   212 

Chicago  Pharmaceu- 
tical College 291 

Chicago  Policlinic  ...  212 

Chicago,  Population 
of 23 

Chicago  Press  Club ...  256 

Churches,  Principal, 
Locations  of 225 

Chicago  Public  Libra- 
ry  352 

Chicago  Public  School 
System 295 

Chicago,  Rank  with 
Other  Cities 23 

Chicago, Rapid  growth 
of 24 

Chicago,  Rawhide 
Mfg.  Co.,  The 504 

Chicago  Real  Estate 
Board 270 

Chicago  Relief  and 
Aid  Society  212 

Chicago  River  and  its 
branches  24 

Chicago,  Rock  Island 

I      &  Pacific  Ry 454 

j  Chicago, Sewerage  and 
Drainage  of 27 

Chicago,  Sides  or  Div- 
isions of 24 

Chicago     Society    o  f 

Artists 144 

XXV 


change        270 

Chicago     Stock     E  x- 

change,  Business...  541 
Chicago    Theological 

Seminary -307 

Chicago    Trust    and 

Savings  Bank 158 

C.      Union     Elevator 

and  Tunnel  Co   246 

Chicago  University.    286 
Chicago      University 

Library     355 

Chicago      Veterinary 

College  ..     291 

Chicago    Watch- 
makers' Institute...  301 
Chicago     Women's 

Club     .266 

Chicago  Zouaves.    ...  360 
Chicago  &  Alton  Rail- 
road  455 

Chicago   and  Aurora 
Smelting  &  Refining 

Company 504 

Chicago    &    Calumet 

Terminal  Ry.  Co 456 

Chicago  &  Eastern  111. 

Railroad    457 

Chicago  &  Evanston 

Electric  Line 244 

Chicago  &Grand 

Trunk  Ry     457 

Chicago    &  Northern 

Pacific  R.  R 459 

Chicago  &Nor  th-     . 

Western  Ry 459 

Chicagske  Listy  ....     384 
Chickering  Music  Hall  126 

China  Town  366 

Chinese  Theatre  126 

Christian  Churches...  225 
Christian  End.  Juv.  So- 
cieties         ...    220 

Christian  End.  Soc.  of 

Cook  Co 220 

Christian  End.Unions 

of  Chicago 220 

Christian     Organiza- 
tion  220 

Chrysanthemum  Show  366 

Church  Club     260 

Churches 224 

Ch  u  r  c  hes,   Leading, 

Location  of     .         . .  225 
Churches  of  Ante-Fire 

.Days 224 

Churches,  Popular...  225 
Church  Home  for  Aged 

Persons 212 

Cicero  &  Proviso  Elec- 
tric Lines 244 


GENERAL   INDEX. 


Cincinnati 479 

Cisco  Bldg 172 

City  and  County  Fi- 
nances  543 

City  and  Environs 408 

City  Charter 366 

City  Clerk's  Office- 
Salaries  229 

City  Collector's  Office 
—Salaries 229 

City  Comptroller's  Of- 
fice—Salaries. ...  229 

City  Department 
Chiefs  228 

City  Elevated  Ry.  Co.  244 

City  Engineering  De- 
partment—Salaries. 229 

City  Express,  Address 
and  Telephones.  .  .  367 

City  Feed  Offices ...   .229 

City  Fire  Department 
—Salaries 229 

City  Hall  Bldg.  (See 
Guide)  172 

City  Hall  Employes' 
Office— Salaries  ...  229 

City  Health  Depart- 
ment—Salaries   230 

City  Law  Department 
—Salaries 230 

City  Map  Department 
—Salaries 230 

City  Missionary  So- 
ciety   221 

City  Officers' Salaries.  228 

City  or  Municipal  Af- 
fairs   228 

City  Parks 233, 430 

City  Police  Court— Sal 
aries 230 

City  Police  Depart- 
ment—Salaries. 230 

City  Public  Works  De- 
partment— Salaries.  232 

City  Railway  Service, 
Cable  and  Horse 
Lines.... 236 

City  Railway  Service, 
Electric  Lines  ....  241 

City  Railway  Service, 
Elevated  Lines 246 

City  Sewerage  De- 
partment—Salaries. 230 

City  Special  Ass.  De- 
partment—Salaries. 232 

City  Street  Depart- 
ment—Salaries   232 

City  Telephones 378 

City  Telephone  De- 
partment—Salaries. 232 

Citizen,  The 401 

Citizens'  Bank  BJdg  .  172 

Clan-nae-gael  Guards  360 


Clarenden  Club 260 

Clark  Street  Theatre .  126 
Clay,  Robinson  &  Co.  494 

Cleveland .  482 

Cleveland, Cincinnati, 
Chicago  &  St.  Louis 

Ry 461 

Clifton  House  ...  . .  326 
Clocks  of  the  City  ...  374 

Club  Libraries 347 

Clubs-Athletic,  Sport- 
ing, etc 247 

Club  s — Gentlemen's 

and  family 251 

Clubs— Literary 259 

Club  Litteraire  Fran- 

caise 259 

Clubs— Social       260 

Clubs,  State  Social  Or- 
ganizations   262 

Clubs— Suburban 261 

Clubs— Women's 266 

Cobb's  Bldg 172 

Cobb's  Library 347 

Coin,  Foreign,  How  to 

Exchange 371 

Coin,  Value  of  in  U.  S. 

Money    371 

College  of  Dental  and 

Oval  Surgery 291 

College  of  Dental  Sur- 
gery, The  Chicago..  291 
College  of  Physicians 

and  Surgeons  291 

Columbia  Nat'l  Bank.  152 
C  o  1  u  m  b  i  an  Central 

Hotel      .  ...  326 

Columbia  Theatre  ...  126 

Columbus 482 

Columbus  Buggy  Co. .  504 

Columbus  Club 252 

Columbus     Memorial 

Building 174 

Commerce  Building. .  174 
Commerce  of  Chicago  543 
Commercial  Building  174 

Commercial  Club 252 

Commercial  Ex- 
changes   268 

Commercial  E  x- 
changes,  Miscella- 
neous   271 

Commercial  Hotel 326 

Commercial  National 

Bank 152 

Commercial  National 

Bank  Bldg 174 

Como  Building 174 

Comptoir  Nationel 

d'Escompt  de  Paris.  158 
Concordia  Cemetery . .  201 
Conference  Club  of 

Evanston 264 

XXVI 


Cong,  of  N.  S.  Ceme- 
tery  201 

Congregational  Oub.  260 
Congregation  al 

Churches 225 

Congress  Hotel 324 

Connecticut,  Sons  of.  263 

Conover  Piano 503 

Continental  Hotel 326 

Continental  National 

Bank 152 

Conservatories 127 

Consulates  in  Chicago  372 
Cook  County  Chicago 

Lancers 360 

Cook    County     Court 

House 274 

Cook  County  Hospital  320 
Cook  Co'ty  Judiciary  276 
Cook  County  Normal 

School 296 

Cooper,  H.  N.  &Co..   .  506 

Corbin  Building 174 

Coroner's  Inquest,  1892  548 
Corn  Exchange  Bank.  158 
Cosmopolitan  Club  of 

Evanston 266 

Cost  of  County  Insti- 
tutions   272 

Council  Bluffs 482 

Counselman  Bldg 174 

County  Homes 408 

County  Board 274 

County  Government.  272 
County  Hospital  ..  ..  320 
County  Insane  Asylum  274 
County  Insts.— salary 

lists        272 

County  Jail     v-.  275 

County  Judiciary 276 

County    Officers,  Sal- 
aries 1892 550 

County  Poor  House . . .  275 
County  School  statist- 
ics   294 

Court  House  Bldg  (see 

Guide) 174 

Credit  Company,  The.  401 
Crerar,  The  John  Li- 
brary  348 

Crib  and  Breakwater 

Lights 356 

"Crib"   The 367 

Cricket  Clubs 248 

Criminal  Court  Bldg  174 
Cripple  Creek  Mining 

Co 50g 

Criterion  Theatre  172 

Cronin  Monument       .  314 
Cronkrite,  B.  F.  &  Co.  508 
"Crown,"  Pianos  and 
Organs 509 


GENERAL   INDEX. 


Cycling,  Boating  Club 
Houses     247 

Drainage  Canal 
Channel  278 

Eleemosynary     S  u  p- 
port  234 

Cycling  Clubs.                 248 

Drainage  Canal,  cost 

Electric  Club               .    252 

Culver,  Belden  F  509 
Cummins,  B.  F.  &  Co  .  .  509 
Curling  Club   248 

of  276 
Drainage    Canal,    di- 
mensions, capacity, 

Electric  Club  Library  347 
Electric  Fountains  ...  127 
Electric  Lights     .  .  .  .,  234 

Currv,  Charles                509 

etc     .278 

Electric  Li^ht  System  234 

Drainage    Canal,    re- 

versingriver's  flo'v    278 

Elevation  of  Railroad 
Tracks                           367 

Daily  National  Hotel 

Drainage  Canal, 
scheme  of            .  .        276 

Elevators,  Grain  ...  372 

Elo-in                                    416 

Reporter               .    .  .     385 

Drainage  Canal,  sew- 

Elgin National  Watch 

Daily  News  385 

age  276 

Co  367 

Daily  News  Bldg            175 

DrainageCanal, 

Elks  Club                      ..  252 

Daily  News  Fresh  Air 

source  of  polution.  .  279 

Ellsworth  Bldg  175 

Fund   210 
Daily  Sun  TheChic'go  384 

Drainage      and    Ship 
Canal                              276 

Ellsworth's     Chicago 
Zouaves                         360 

Dakota  Flats  311 
Daniel     O'ConnelPs 
Statue  .                           314 

Drake  Fountain  314 
Dramatic  Journal, 
The  Chicago               .  401 

Ellsworth  &  Jones  515 
Ellsworth   Monument  314 
Ely  Biiilding                     175 

Danish  Lutheran  Or- 
phans'  Home  212 

Drexel  Boulevard  432 
Drexel  Fountain   ....  314 

Emergency  Hospital..  320 
Englewood     Infant 

Dauphin  Park     415 
Davis  &  Rankin  509 
Day    Nurseries    and 
Creches  205 

Dreyer,  E.  S.  &  Co.  ...  158 
Drinking  Fountains..  314 
Drives  127 
Drovers'  Journal,  The 

Nursery   .  .212 
Episcopal  Churches  .  .  226 
Episcopal    (Reformed 
Churches)  226 

Dearborn     or    North- 
Western  Observat'y  145 

Chicago     384 
Drovers'   National 

Epstean's  New  Dime 
Museum        .             .  127 

Deaths,  1892  550 
Deering,  William  &  Co  510 
De  La  Salle  Institute     280 

Bank  153 
Drunkenness,     cure 
of                                     330 

Epworth  League  221 
Equitable  Bldg  175 
Erie  Lines                         462 

Delaware,  Sons  of  ...  263 
Department     of    Mis- 

Dry Docks  367 
Dunlap  Hat,  The       .  .  515 

Erring  Woman's  Ref- 
uge    212 

souri  Headquarters  356 
Depots,  Locations  of    408 

Dunlap,  Smith  &  Co..  515 
Dunnin~r    415 

Evan.  Ass'n  of  N.  A. 
(German)           225 

DesMoines  482 
Desota  Block                   175 

Dwight,  Illinois,  The 
Keeley  Institute  330 

Evan.  Luth.  (German 
Churches)      22"6 

Detective  Agencies.  .  .   367 
Detention       Hospital 

Dwight,  Keeley  Insti- 
tute    330 

Evan.  Luth.    (Danish 
Churches)     226 

for  the  Insane  275 
Detroit                                 482 

Evan.   Luth.   (Norwe- 
gian Churches)  226 

Dexter  Bldg  175 
Dime  Savings  Bank      158 

E 

Evan.  Luth.  (Swedish 
Churches)                      226 

Diseases   Fatal   1892      550 

Eagle  The  Chicago    .  401 

Evanston                          417 

Dispatch.The  Chicago  381 
Dispensaries                    205 

Economist,  The   402 
Edgewater               .  .  .     415 

EvanstonClub  266 
Evanston  Boat  Club  .  266 

Distance    of   Chicago 
from    other    Princi- 
pal Cities  367 

Edison  Power  Houses  366 
Education—  Academic 
and  Collegiate  ...   .  279 

Evanston    Country 
Club  266 
Evanston  Live-Saving 

Dog  Exhibitions              127 

Education  —  Business 

Station      ...       .          356 

Donohue  &  Henneber- 

Colleges  .  ...290 

Evanston  Zouaves  .  .  .  360 

ryBldg.  (See  Guide)    175 
Double  Chloride  of 

Education—  Law  290 
Education     Medical      291 

Evening  Journal  389 
Evening  Post                   389 

Gold  Cure  330 
Douglas  Blvd  431 
Douglas  Club  262 
Douglas  Monument..  314 
Douglas  Park         431 
Douglas  Park  Club..     262 

Education—  Musical..  292 
Education—  Public  ...  291 
Education-  -Technical 
Training            ..      .299 
Education—  Theologi- 
cal Colleges          .  .   .  307 

Evening  Post  Bldg.  .  .   176 
Exchange  Bldg  176 
Excursion     by    Cable 
and  Electric  Cars..   128 
Excursions     by    Rail 
and  Water         127 

Downer's  Grove  415 
Dr.  Keeley's  Discovery  330 
Drainage    Canal,    fu- 
ture work  of          .278 

Eggleston  ...416 
Eighth  Day's  Trip           88 
Eleemosynary     Insti- 
tutions       234 
XXVII 

Exhibitors'  Union  Ho- 
tels    326 
Expenses   and    Reve- 
nues of  Cook  Co  272 

GENERAL  INDEX. 


Express,  Baggage, Ad- 
dress and  Telephone  367 

Express*  Companies, 
Location  and  Tele- 
phones   367 

Exposition  Graphic, 
The  . .  . .  402 


Farm  Tools,  The 403 

Farmer's  Review,The  403 
Farragut  Monument.  314 

Fat  Stock  Shows 130 

Federal  Representa- 
tion   308 

Feehanville  Training 

School 306 

Fellowship  Club 252 

Fencing   and  Boxing 

Clubs 248 

Field,  Marshall*  Co's 

Bldgs 184 

Fifth  Day's  Trip 68 

Figaro,  The 403 

Finch  Monument 315 

Fire,  The  Chicago  . .     368 

Fire  Department 310 

Fire     Dept.,   -Central 

Alarm  Office  310 

Fire     Dept.,     Central 

Engine  Houses 310 

Fire  Dept., Equipment 

and  Force 310 

Fire  Dept.,  Head- 
quarters  and  Organ- 
ization   310 

Fire    Dept.,    Pension 

Fund 311 

Fire  of  1871 368 

Fire  of  1874   370 

Fire  Losses,  1892 548 

Fire  Relics 370 

Fire  Relic  Museum.. .  130 

First  Day's  Trip 34 

First  National  Bank.  153 
First    National  Bank 

Bldg.  (see  Guide) ...  176 
First    Nat'l    Bank    of 

Englewood 153 

First  Regiment  Ar- 
mory    358 

First  Regiment 

Battery  D  359 

First  Regiment I.N.G.  358 

Fishing  Clubs 250 

Fishing  and  Summer 

Resorts 370 

Flats    or    Apartment 

Houses 311 

Floating  Hospital 320 

Foreign  Banks, 
Names  and  Loca- 
tions of...  ..  152 


Foreign  Book  Club  . .  267 
Foreign  Cities,  Popu- 
lation of 380 

Foreign  Coin,  value  of 

in  U.S.  Money 371 

Foreign     Consuls    in 

Chicago         372 

Foreign    Mails,  Clos- 
ing of... 436 

Foreign  Money  Order 

System 437 

Foreigners,  Informa- 
tion for  in  regard  to 

Coin.  371 

Foreman  Bros  . .    159 

Forest    Home    Ceme- 
tery  201 

Foundlings  Home 212 

Frazer&  Chalmers...  516 
Free  Employment 

Bureaus,  306 

Free  Hospitals 208 

Free  Kindergartens..  206 
Free  Labor  Bureau...  212 

Free  Library 352 

Free  Nurses 206 

Free  Reading  Rooms.  352 
Free    Sons    of  Israel 

Cemetery 201 

Freie  Presse 392 

Friedman,  J.  &  Co  ...  516 
Fort  Dearborn  Memo- 
rial Statue 315 

Fort   Dearborn  Nati- 
onal Bank 153 

Fort  Sheridan  358 

Fortnightly    Club    of 

Chicago 267 

Fortnightly    Club    of 

Evanston.          267 

Forty  Club 254 

Fountains,  Monu- 
ments, Statues, 312 

Fourth  Day  'a  Trip. . . ,    60 
Fowler,  E.  S.  &  W.  S...  516 

Fox  Lake  417 

French  Literary  Club  259 
Fruit  Buyers  Associ- 
ation  271 

Fruit  and  Vegetable 

Dealers  Association  271 
Fuller,     Charles     H., 
Advertising  Agency  499 

Fullerton  Block  176 

Fulton  St.  Market 372 

Furniture,  The 403 


Gaff  Bldg 176 

Gage  Park 432 

Galena      482 

Galesburg    482 

XXVIII 


Garfield  Blvd 432 

Garfleld  Park     432 

Garfield  Park  Museum  148 

Gar?baldi  Guards 360 

Garrett  Biblical  Insti- 
tute   284 

Gault  House 326 

Gendron    Iron  Wheel 

Co      517 

Geographical  Center.  234 
German  American  Mil- 
ler, The 403 

German  Hospital 322 

German   Lutheran 

Cemetery 201 

German  Old  Peoples 

Home 213 

German  Press  Club..  254 
German  Veterans  ...  360 
Germania  Manner- 

chorClub 254 

Generous Chicagoans  372 

Gillespie  Bldg  176 

Gillette*  Taylor 517 

Girls'  Industrial 
School.South  Evans- 
ton  304 

Girl's  Mutual  Benefit 

Club 268 

GlenEllyn 417 

Glenwood      Training 

School..- :..  306 

Globe,  The  Daily 385 

Globe  National  Bank.  153 
Globe  Savings  Bank . .   159 
Gold  Cure,  spurious  .  331 
Goodrich  Line  Steam- 
ers   346 

Good  Samaritan  So- 
ciety   213 

Goose  Island 372 

Gore's  Hotel 326 

Gormully    &    Jeffery 

Mfg.  Co 517 

Graceland  Cemetery.  201 
Graham  and  Morton 

Trans.  Co 344 

Grand  Boulevard,  ...  432 
Grand  Opera  House  .  130 
Grand  Pacific  Hotel..  326 
Grand  Pacific  Hotel 

Bldg 176 

Grand  Trunk  Ry 462 

Grain  Elevators   372 

Grain     Elevators, 

Capacity  of 546 

Grain,  Flour  and  Pro- 
duce Statistics  546 

Grain,  Flour  and»Pro- 
duce  Transactions..  545 

Grant  Club 254 

Grant  Locomotive 
Works  ..,518 


GENERAL  INDEX. 


Grant's    Statue 

Galena 315 

Grant's  Statue,  Lin- 
coln Park  315 

Graphic,  The 403 

Great  Buildings  of 

Chicago 163 

Great  Buildings,  How 

Constructed  28 

Great  Buildings,Steel 

Frame  System 28 

Great  Buildings  o  f 

1892 542 

Great  Clocks  of  the 

City 374 

Great  Northern  Hotel  327 
Great  Northern  Hotel 

Bldg  176 

Greenebaum  Sons, 

Bankers 159 

Gross,  Samuel  E., 

Personal  Sketch  of .  420 

Grossdale  417 

Gross  Park 422 

Grosse  Point  Lights  356 
Groveland  Apartment 

Bldg 311 

Groveland  Building..  176 
Guardian  Angel 

Orphan  Asylum  ...  213 
GuaranteeCo  ofN.  A.  159 
Guide  to  all  Parts  of 

theCity 34 

Guide,  First  Day  34 

Guide,  Second  Day . . .  43 
Guide,  Third  Day....  52 
Guide,  Fourth  Day ...  60 

Guide,  Fifth  Day 68 

Guide,  Sixth  Day  ....  76 
Guide,  Seventh  Day . .  79 
Guide,  Eighth  Day ...  88 
Guide,  Ninth  Day....  99 
Guide, Tenth  Day.  ...  110 

Gun  Clubs 250 

Gunning,  R.  J.  &  Co...  520 

H 

Hack  Rates ..     32 

Hahnemann  Hospital  322 
Hahnemann  Medical 

College 291 

Halls  of  Science 146 

Hamilton  Club     254 

Hammond ...  422 

Hammond  Library ...  347 

Hand-Ball  Courts 250 

Hans  Christian  Ander- 
sen Monument 316 

Harbor  Lights  ...  356 
Harbor,  The  Chicago.  374 
Harding  Bldg 176 


Hardy's    Subterra- 
nean Theatre  137 

Hardy's  Theatre 138 

Hartford  Bldg  176 

Harvard  Club 262 

Harvard  University 

Club 254 

Harvey 423 

Ha verly's  Casino 131 

Havlin's  Theatre 131 

Hay  market  Bldg...  .  178 
Haymarket  Massacre  374 
Haymarket  Square...  374 
Haymarket  Theatre..  131 
Hebrew  Benev.  Soc'y 

Cemetery .    201 

Hebrew  Charity Ass'n  213 
Hell  Gate  Crossing  ..  374 
Helping  Hand,  The..  213 
Henry  DibbleeCo.,The  520 

Herald  Bldg 178 

Herald,  The  Chicago.  392 
Hermitage  (change  to 

"Waubansee")  Club  254 
Hibernian  Rifles.  ..  360 
Highland  Park  Club..  266 

Hill,  F.  H.  Co 520 

Hinsdale   423 

Hirsch  Monument  . .  316 
Historical  Society  Li-  348 

brary 

Historical    Society 

Rooms         131 

Holy    Family  Orphan 

Asylum 213 

Home  for  Cripples 214 

Home  for  Incurables.  214 
Home    for   Self -Sup- 
porting Women 214 

Home  for  the  Friend- 
less  214 

Home  for  Unemployed 

Girls 214 

Homes  for  Working 

Women. 214 

Home  Insurance  Bldg.  178 
Home  Missionary  and 
ChurchExt.  Soc'y..     221 

Home  Nat'l  Bank 153 

Homoeopathic  Hospt'l  320 
Home  of  Industry  ...  216 
Home  of  Providence. .  216 
Home  of  the  Aged.  . .  216 
Honore  Bldg.  (See 

Guide)        179 

Hooley's  Theatre 131 

Horse  Associations  . .  250 
Horse  Market     .   .     . .  374 
Horse  Ry.  Companies  236 
Horse  Show,  the  Chi- 
cago   131 

Hospitals 319 

Hospital  Bldprs 179 

XXIX 


Hospitals,    Character  319 

of 

Hospitals,     complete 

list  of  208 

Hospitals    for    Women 

and  children 320 

Hotels 324 

Hotel     Accommoda- 
tions   324 

Hotel  Brevoort 327 

Hotel  Bldgs.. 179 

Hotels,  ch  aracter  of . .  324 

Hotel  de  Lincoln 311 

Hotel  Drexel     327 

Hotel  Endeavor 327 

Hotel  Grace 327 

Hotels,  hints  to  stran- 
gers     32 

Hotel  Pfister,  Milwau- 
kee   484 

Hotel  Thomson 327 

Hotel  Vendome 311 

Hotel  Wellington  ....  327 

Hotel  Woodruff 327 

Houghton  Flats 311 

House  of  Correction . .  233 
House    of    the    Good 

Shepherd 216 

Rowland  Block 179 

Hide  and  Leather  Na- 
tional Bank 153 

Hyde  Park  Club  254 

Hyde  Park  Conserva- 
tory    .  280 

Hyde  Park  Hotel 327 

Hyde    Park    Literary 

Club 268 

Hyde    Park    Lyceum 

Library 348 

Hull  House  216 

Humboldt  Blvd 432 

Humboldt  Park 432 

Humboldt  Statue.          316 
Hunting,  Fishing  and 

Gun  Clubs 250 

Hussars,  The  Chicago.  359 


Ideal  Club 262 

Idlewild  Club  of  Evan- 

ston 266 

Illinois  Asylum  for 
Feeble  Minded  Chil- 
dren   478 

Illinois  Central    Hos- 
pital for  the  Insane,  478 
Illinois  Central  R.  R..  463 
Illinois  Chart.  Eye  and 

Ear  Infirmary 478 

Illinois  Club 254 

Illinois  College  of 
Pharmacy 291 


GENERAL  IXDEX. 


Illinois  Eastern  Hos- 
pital for  the  Insane.  478 
Illinois    Institute  for 

Deaf  and  Dumb         479 
Illinois    Institute  for 

the  Blind 478 

Illinois     National 

Guard 358 

Illinois N.  ETospital 

for  the  Insane  479 

Illinois  School  of  Agri. 
and  Manual  Train- 
ing School  for  Boys.  306 
Illinois  School  Statis- 
tics      295 

Illinois  Soldiers'  and 

Sailors'  Home  479 

Illinois  Soldiers' 

Orphans'  Home 479 

Illinois  Staats  Zei- 

tung 392 

Illinois S.  Hospital 

for  the  Insane     ...  479 
Illinois  S.Penitentiary  479 
Illinois  State  Peniten- 
tiary           479 

Illinois  State   Reform 

School  479 

Illinois    Steel    Com- 
pany   521 

Illinois  Towns     487 

Illinois  Tract  Library  348 
Illinois  Trust  and  Sav- 
ings Bank     159 

Imports,  Value  of 549 

Illinois     Women's 

Press  Association  .  268 
Independ't  Churches.  226 
Indian     Groupe,  Lin- 
coln Park  316 

Indiana  Club 255 

Indiana,  Sons  of 263 

Indiana  Towns 487 

Indianapolis  482 

Indoor    Base    Ball 

Clubs 250 

Industrial   Bank  of 
Chicago  ...  ...   159 

Industrial  School  for 
Girls    .  ...  303 

Industrial  Training 

Schools  216 

Industries  of  Chicago  544 
Inebriate  Asylums  . . .  320 
Inebriety  a  Disease..  339 

Inebriety,  Cure  of 330 

Ingleside  Flats 311 

Ingraham  Free  Hos- 
pital    322 

Inland  Architect 404 

Inland  Printer 404 

Insane    and   Paupers 
of  Cook  County 548 


Insane     Asylum, 

County 274 

Insane  Detention  Hos- 
pital  275 

Institute  of  Building 

Arts 280 

Insurance    Exchange 

Bldg 179 

Inter-Ocean  Bldg  179 

Inter-Ocean,  The 394 

Inter-State  Exposition  375 

Interior,  The 404 

Internal  Revenue  Col- 
lections   549 

International  Bank...  160 
International    Money 

Order  System 437 

Intramural  Service. . .  236 
Intramural  Traffic,  in- 
crease of 237 

Iowa  Towns 487 

Iron  Age,  The 404 

Iroquois  Club 255 

Irving  Club  of  Irving 

Park 266 

Irving  Park 423 

Irving,  Green  &  Co. . .  521 

Isabella  Bldg 179 

Ivanhoe    Club    of 

Evanston 266 

Ivanhoe  Flats 311 


Jackson 483 

Jackson  Blvd 433 

Jackson  Park 433 

Jail  Diet 375 

Jail,  The  Countv 275 

James  H.Walker  Bldg  179 
Jefferson  Park  ..  423 

Jenkins,  Kreer&Co..  522 
Jewish  Synagogues..  226 
Jobbing  Business  of 

Chicago 544 

John  A.  Logan  Club. .  255 
John  Brown's  Fort. . .  132 
John  Crerar  Library . .  348 
John  M.  Smyth  Bldg..  179 
John  V.  Farwell  Bldg  180 

Joliet 423 

Josephinum,  The  280 

Journal,  Evening  ....  389 
Judiciary  of  Cook 

County 276 


Kaestner,  Chas.  <fc  Co.  522 

Kansas  City 483 

K  e  e  1  e  y    Institute- 
Branches  336 

XXX 


K  e  e  1  e  y    Institute- 
Daily  Life  at  Dwight  340 
K  e  e  1  e  y    Institute- 
Diseases  Treated. . .  332 
K  e  e  1  e  y    Institute— 
Dr.  Keeley's  Discov- 
ery     330 

Keeley  Institute — 
General  Informa- 
tion    330-343 

Keeley  Institute- 
Important  Informa- 
tion  334 

Keeley    Institute- 
Inebriety  a  Disease  339 
Keeley    institute-^ 

Ladies'  Home 335 

Keeley  Institute- 
Location  of  Parent 

House 330 

Keeley    Institute — 

Mild  Treatment,  ..  336 
Keeley  Institute — 

Parent  House 335 

Keeley     Institute — 

Patients 342 

Keeley,    Institute- 
Result  of  Treatment  334 
Keeley     Insti  tute— 
Rules  and    Regula- 
tions      338 

Keeley  Institute,The.  330 

Keeley  League 343 

Keeley  Remedies — 
Fraudulent  Imita- 
tions    331 

Keeley  Remedies- 
Government  recog- 
nition of  334 

Keeley    Remedies — 

How  Discovered  332 
Keeley  Remedies— 

Spurious  GoldCTires  331 
Keeley  Remedies,  The  332 
Keeley,  The  Leslie  E. 

Co 336 

Kenilworth  Flats 311 

Kenosha 423 

Kent  Bldg 180 

Kenwood  Club 255 

Kenwood  Institute ...  282 
Kenwood  Physical 

Observatory 145 

Keokuk     483 

Kimball  Hall  Bldg....   180 
Kimball,  The   W.  W. 

Bldg 180 

Kimball,  W.W.  Co....   522 
King  Alfonso  Hotel. ..  327 
Kitchen  Garden  Ass'n  303 
Knickerbocker  Monu- 
ment       316 

Koch  Bldg 180 


GEXEKAL   ISDEX. 


Kohl    &    Middleton's  463 

Museum 133 

Kosciusko  Monument  312 
Kuh,  Nathan  &  Fisher 
Bldg 180 


Labor  Library 348 

Labor  Temple 180 

Lafayette  Bldg 180 

Lafayette  Club     262 

Lager  Beer  Riots 375 

La  Grange 424 

La  Grange  Club  . .   . .  266 
Lake  and  River  Fron- 
tage   234 

Lake  Bluff 424 

Lake   Excursions 344 

Lake  Forest 424 

Lake  Forest  Univer- 
sity   282 

Lake  Geneva  Fresh 

Air  Association  . .  .212 
Lake  M.  and  Lake  S. 

Trans.  Co        346 

Lake  Shore  &  Michi- 
gan Southern  Ry 466 

Lake  Shore  Drive ...   .  433 

Lake  Steamers 344 

Lake  Street  Elevated 

R.R 246 

LakeTides 343 

Lake  Trips  (short)....  344 

Lake  Trips  (long) 384 

Lakes  and  Rivers  in 

Chicago 234 

Lakeside  Bldg 180 

Lakeside  Club 255 

Lake  Villa 424 

Lakota  Hotel  327 

Lakota  Hotel  Bldg. 
(misspelled  "Dako- 
ta")   175 

La  Salle  Bldg 180 

La  Salle  Club 255 

La  Salle  Monument. ..  316 

Law  Building 180 

Law  Institute  Library  348 
Leading  and   popular 

Preachers 224 

Leading  and  popular 

Ministers 224 

Leavenworth 483 

Lees  Building 180 

Legal  Adviser 404 

Leiter  Bldg   (see 

Guide) 180 

Leland  Hotel 327 

Leland  Hotel  Bldg.. ..  181 
Lemont ,  424 


Lemont  Stone  Quar- 
ries   : . .  375 

Length  and  Width  of 

Chicago 234 

Lexington  Hotel 328 

Lexington  Hotel  Bldg  181 
Lewis  Institute  .  .  282 
Libby  Prison  National 

War  Museum 132 

Libraries— Free    346 

Libraries  of  Chicago.  346 
Libraries,  volumes 

contained  in 346 

Library  Club 259 

Life  Saving  Stations..  356 
Light  Hose,  The  Chi- 
cago  356 

Lighthouses 356 

Lighting  the  city 236 

Lincoln 483 

Lincoln  Club 255 

Lincoln  Park 433 

Lincoln  Park  Palace 

Apartment  House..  311 
Lincoln  Monument...  316 
Lincoln  Nat'l  Bank ...  153 
Lincoln  Street  M.  E. 

Free  Library 384 

Linnaen  Hospital...    .  322 
Literary  Club,The  Chi- 
cago   260 

Little  Hell        375 

Live  Stock  Market ....  490 
Live  Stock   Transac- 
tions    546 

Location  of  Chicago 
with  regard  to  other 
principal  cities.  ..  367 

Lodging  Houses 376 

Logan  Statue 316 

Longest  Street 236 

Lotus  Social  Club 262 

Louisiana,  Sons  of. . .  263 

Louisville 483 

Louisville,   New    Al- 
bany &  Chicago  Ry.  468 
Luddington  Bldg...    .  181 
Luggage,  How  Cared 

For 364 

Lumber    Business   of 

Chicago       376 

Lumber  District  376 

Lumber  Trade  Jour- 
nal   404 

Lumbermen's  Asso. . .  271 
Lyceum  Theatre  134 

M 

Mac-Donald,  Charles..  524 
Madison  Hall  Bldg...  181 
Madison  Street  Opera 

Houfte 134 

XXXI 


Mail,  The  Evening ...     384 

Maine,  Sons  of 263 

Major  Block   .    .    181 

Mailer's  Bldg 181 

Mailer's   Jackson   St 

Bldg    181 

Manhattan  Bldg 184 

Manual   Training 
School  for  Boys,  The 

Chicago 303 

Manual  Training 
Schools  and  Colleges  299 

Manz  &  Co 523 

Margaret  Etter  Creche 

Kindergarten 217 

Marine  Bldg 184 

Marine  Interests 547 

Marine  Traffic   o  f 

Chicago 517 

Market  Squares 376 

Marquette  Club 255 

Marquette  Hotel 328 

Marriages       378 

Marriage  Licenses.   .  549 
Marshall  Field  &  Co's 

New  Retail  Bldg....  184 
Marshall  Field  &  Co's 

Retail  Bldg  ...  184 

Marshall  Field  &  Co's 

Wholesale  Bldg 184 

Marshall  Field  &  Co's 

Old  Wholesale  Bldg.  184 
Martha  Washington 

Home         320 

Mason  &  Davis  Co ....  523 
Masonic  Orphan's 

Home        217 

Masonic  Temple  Bldg 

(See  Guide) 184 

Massachusetts  Society  263 

Mayer  Bldg 185 

Mayors  of  Chicago 378 

Mayor  and  City  Coun- 
cil  228 

May  wood 424 

McCormick  Block. ...     185 
McCoy's  European 

Hotel 328 

McCormick    Harvest- 
ing Co  524 

McGormick    Theolog- 
ical Seminary  ...   .  307 
McCormick  The  o. 

Semy.  Library 348 

Me Vicker's  Theatre..  134 
Me Vicker's  Theatre 

Bldg 185 

Mead&  Coe 527 

Meadowcrof t  Bros . .   .  160 
Medical   Club,  Sotith 

Side 25(5 

Medinah  Temple  Bldg  185 
Mercantile  Bldg 185 


GENERAL,  INDEX. 


Merchant's  Bldg 185 

Merchant's  Loan  and 

Trust  Co    160 

Merchant's    National 

Bank 153 

Mercy  Hospital 322 

Metal  Worker,  The...  405 
Methodist  Church  Blk  185 
Methodist    Epis.  (Bo- 
hemian Churches) ..  226 
Methodist    Episcopal 

Churches 226 

Methodist  Epis.  (Ger- 
man Churches) ....  226 
Methodist  Epis.  (Nor- 
wegian Churches) . .  228 
Methodist  Epis. (Swed- 
ish Churches) 228 

Metropolitan     E 1  e  v  . 

R.  R 247 

Metropolitan     N  a  t '  1 

Bank 156 

Meyer  &    Finck,  Mil- 
waukee    484 

Michael    Reese    Hos- 
pital  322 

Michigan  Ave.  Blvd..  434 
Michigan  Central ...  .  468 

Michigan  Towns 487 

Michigan,  Sons  of 263 

Mid-Continent    Pub- 
lishing Co 527 

Midway  Plaisance          434 

Military     356 

Military  Organiza- 

tions 359 

Milk  Suppy  of  Chicago  378 

Milwaukee         483 

Milwaukee  Ave.  Elev. 

Road 246 

Milwaukee  Ave.  State 

Bank   160 

Ministers,leading  and 

popular 224 

Minneapolis 486 

Minneola  Bldg 185 

Minneola  Club 262 

MinnettClub 262 

Minstrels        134 

Minuette  Club 262 

Miscellaneous     Infor- 
mation   362 

Monadnock  Bldg  (See 

Guide) 185 

Monadnock    Building 

Annex 185 

Monarch  Cycle  Co 527 

MontaukBldg     186 

Montreal    Hotel,    The  328 

Morgan  Park  426 

Morgan  Park  Theo. 

Senary.  Library 348 

Morgue 236 


Monon  Bldg 186 

Moody 's  Church 226 

Morris  Porter  Hos- 
pital  322 

Mosher  Hotel        328 

Mosher  Hotel  Bldg  ..  186 
Mount  Greenwood 

Cemetery 201 

Mount  Hope  Cemetery  201 
Moses  Montefiore 

Cemetery 201 

Mount  Olive  Cemetery  202 
Mount  Olivet  Ceme- 
tery   202 

Mulligan  Monument. .  316 

Munchausen  Club 262 

Municipal    Govern- 
ment .  228 

Municipal  Telephones  378 
Museum  of  Antiquities  148 
"Music" 405 

N 

Naperville 427 

National  Bank  of  Am- 
erica   156 

Nafl  Bank  of  Illinois  156 
Nat'l  Bank  of  the  Re- 
public   156 

Nat'l    Banks,  capital, 

surplus  of ,  etc 149 

Nat'l    Banks,    names 

and  locations  of . . .  149 
Nat'l  Builder,  The ....  405 
Nat't  Conservatory  of 

Music 294  i 

Nat'l     Homeopathic 

College 292  | 

Nafi  Hotel  Reporter.  385 
Nationalists'   Club     .  265 
Nat'l  Live  Stock  Bank  156 
Nat'l  Political  Conven- 
tions in  Chicago 378 

Natural  Gas 378 

Natural  History  Mu- 
seum    134 

Naval  Academy 306 

Nederlander,De  405 

Newberry  Library...  350 

New  Era  Bldg 186 

News  and  Book  Stands  379 
News  Boys  and  Boot 

Blacks  Home 217 

Newsboys'  Club 262 

Newspaper     Circula- 
tion  383 

Newspaper  Libraries.  351 
Newspaper  Mail  Mat- 
ter  383 

Newspapers     383 

Newspaper  Tele- 
phones       378 

XXXII 


Newspapers —Week  1  y 
and  other  Publica- 
tions  400 

News  Record.The  Chi- 
cago   396 

New  York,  Sons  of...  263 

New  Windsor  Theatre  134 

Ninth  Day's  Trip 99 

Nixon  Bldg 186 

Norden 405 

Normal  School,  Cook 
Co 296 

North  Chicago  Street 
Railway  Co 238 

Northern  Assurance 
Co.  of  London.  529 

Northern  Pac.  Ry 470 

Northern  Trust  Co....  162 

North  Pac.  Asso 263 

North  Shore  Club  ...  262 

North  Shore  Electric 
Line 244 

North  Side  Turner 
Hall 140 

North-Western  Chris- 
tian Advocate  405 

Northwestern  College 
of  Dental  and  Oval 
Surgery 284 

Northwestern  Law 
School 284 

Northwestern  Medi- 
cal School 284 

North-Western  N  a  - 
tional  Bank  .  ...  156 

Northwestern  Ora- 
torical League  283 

Northwestern  School 
of  Pharmacy 284 

Northwestern  Univer- 
sity   283 

Northwestern  Univer- 
sity Library 351 

Northwestern  Univer- 
sity, Schools  and 
Colleges 283-284 

Northwestern  Library 
Bldg 284 

Northwestern  L  u  m  - 
bermen  405 

Nurses,  Training 
Schools  for 206 


Oakland  Club 255 

Oakland  Nat'l  Bank . .  156 

Oak  Park   427 

Oak  Park  Club 266 

Oaks  Club  of  Austin . .  266 
Oakwood  Boulevard  . .  434 
Oakwoods  Cemetery . .  203 


GENERAL  INDEX, 


Oakwood     Springs 

Sanitarium 529 

Occident 406 

Odd  Fellows  Orphans 

Home  217 

Office  Buildings,  etc..   163 

Ogden  Boulevard 434 

Ogden  Residence 379 

Ogden  Statue 318 

Ohavey      S  c  h  o  1  o  m 

Cemetery      202 

Ohio  Society 264 

Old  Colony  Building..   186 
Old  People's  Home  ...  217 

Old  University 379 

Olio  Club 268 

Olympic  Theatre 134 

Omaha         486 

Omnibuses 379 

Ontario  Flats     .    312 

Open  Board  of  Trade.  271 
Open  Board  of  Trade 

Bldg 186 

Opera  House  Block...  186 
Orange  Judd,  Farmer.  406 
Orcutt  Company, The.  531 
Orrington  Lunt  Libr- 
ary      284 

Otis  Bldg 188 

Ottawa  Club  262 

Outdoor  Sports 379 

Outlying  Chicago 407 

Owings  Building   (See 

Guide) 188 

Owings,  F.  P.  Block..   188 
Oxford  Bldg 188 


Packing  Companies..  494 
Packing  Town,  Sights 

iii  496 

Pain's  Pyrotechnic 

Spectacles  140 

Palace  Coach  379 

Palette  Club 268 

Palmer  House  328 

Palmer  House  Bldg. . .  188 

Papyrus  Club  260 

Park  Club 255 

Park  Commissionei-s.  429 

Park  Concerts 1X5 

Park  Conservatories.  430 

Park  System 429 

Park  Theatre  135 

Parks  and  Public 

Squares 430 

Parks  and  Squares 

(area)  ...  430 

Parks,  How  to  Reach 

Them 429 

Parks,  North  Side  ...  430 
Parks,  South  Side 429 


Parks,  West  Side...  .  430 
Part    II— General   In- 
formation   123 

Pasteur  Institute...    292 
Peabody,Houghteling 

&  Co  ..    .   .. 162 

Peck  Bldg 188 

Pennsylvania  Lines..  473 
Pensions  Paid  in  Chi- 
cago          549 

Pennsylvania,  Sons  of  264 
People's    Church 

(Thomas') 226 

People's  Institute 380 

People's  Theatre 135 

Permanent  Circus 135 

Peterson  &  Bay 162 

Pettibone,  Mulliken  & 

Co.'s  Works     531 

Pettibone,  P.  F.  Co 532 

Piister  Hotel,  Milwau- 
kee    484 

Phoenix  Bldg 188 

Phoanix  Club 256 

Photo-tint     Eng.    Co. 

The  533 

Plankington     House, 

Milwaukee 484 

Plaza  Apartment  Bldg  312 
Police  Bureau  of  Iden- 
tification   435 

Police  Department...  435 
Police   Detective   De- 
partment  435 

Police  Force,  charac- 
ter of  435 

Police  Force,  strength 

of 435 

Police  Headquarters.  435 

Police  Matrons 435 

Police  Monument  318 

Police  Patrol  System . .  436 
Policemen's     Benevo- 
lent Association         436 
Polytechnic  Schools 

and  Colleges  299 

Pontiac  Building  (See 

Guide) 188 

Poor  House,The  Coun- 
ty            275 

Population  of  Ameri- 
can Cities        380 

Population  of  Foreign 

Cities 380 

Popxilation    of  Towns 

around  Chicago .  487 

Population  Statistics, 

1892    ...  549 

Portland  Block 188 

Postage,  Rates  of        .  437 
Postal  Money  Order 

System    438 

Postal  Officers  438 

XXXIII 


Post,  Evening 389 

PostOffire 436 

Post  Office  Branches..  436 
Post  Office  Building 

(See  Guide)    188 

Post  Office  Foreign 

Mails 436 

Post   Office    Informa- 
tion   436 

Post   Office    Jurisdic- 
tion of 436 

Post  Office  Statistics, 

1892     519 

Potomac     Apartment 

Bldg 188 

Potomac     Apartment 

House .312 

Poverty  in  Chicago...  236 
Practitioners  Club...  256 

Prairie  Farmer 406 

Prairie  Flats     312 

Prairie  State  National 

Bank 156 

Preachers,       Leading 

and  Popular 242 

Presbyt'n  Churches..  228 
Presbyterian  Hospital  323 
Press  Club  Library....  352 
Press  Club  of  Chicago.  256 

Presto,  The 406 

Pridmore,  W.  A  . . .  .532 
Private  Banks,Names 

and  Locations  of....  150 
Produce  Exchange...  271 
Provident  Hospital . .  323 
Public  Charity  .  .  .236 
Public  Deaf  Mute 

School 298  • 

Public  Houses 382 

Public  Institute  Li- 
braries    354 

Public  Kindergartens  298 
Public  Library         ...     &52 
Public  Library  Bldg..   188 
Public  Manual  Train- 
ing Schools  296 

Public  Night  Schools  299 
Public  School  Attend- 
ance, Teachers,  etc.  296 
Public    School  Build- 
ings    .  298 

Public  School  Fads  .  295 
Public  Schoolfor  Blind 

Children 299 

ublic    School  Organi- 
zation  298 

Public  School,  Physi- 
cal Culture 298 

Public  School  Rooms    298 
Public  School  Salaries  299 
Public  School  Statis- 
tics  550 

Public  School  System  295 


GENERAL  INDEX. 


Public  School  System, 
cost  of 296 

Public  School  Tea- 
chers    299 

Public  Schools,  Com- 
pulsory Education..  296 

Public-Spirited  Chi- 
cagoai  s 372 

Pulaski  Hall  380 

Pullman 427 

Pullman  Building' 189 

Pullman,  General  In- 
formation Concern- 
ing  438-448 

Pullman,  Guide  to 438 

Pullman  Memorial 
Statue 315 

Pullman  Palace  Car 
Company 448 

"Pullman  Palace  Car 
Company,  Business 
of 448 

Pullman  Palace  Car 
Works 438 

Pullman  Putlic  Libra- 
ry   354 


Quincy 486 


Race  Tracks 135 

Racine 427 

Railroad  Accidents  in 

Illinois 552 

Railroad  Earnings, 

Accidents,  etc..  ..  550 
Railroads  and  Where 

They  Lead  To 448 

Railroads  entering 

Chicago 448 

Railroads  in  Illinois, 

Statistics  of. 552 

Railway  Age,  The.  .  406 
Railway  Brotherhood 

Hospital 323 

Railway  Stations 408 

Rand-McNally  Bldg..  190 

Ravenswood 427 

Ravenswood  Public 

Library 354 

Real  Estate  Board ....  270 
Real  Estate  Board 

Bldg 190 

Real  Estate  Sales,  1892  542 
Real  Estate  Transac- 
tions    542 

Real  Estate  Transfers  542 

Reaper  Block  190 

Reform  and  Religious 

Societies...  ..  477 


Relic  House  Curiosi- 
ties   370 

Relic     House,    Loca- 
tion, etc 380 

Relics   of   the   Great 

Fire 370 

Remington       Type- 
writer  533 

Republic  Life  Bldg.. . .  190 
"Revenge Circular"..  380 

Reynolds  Bldg 190 

Rhode  Island  Society  264 

Rice  &  Whitacre 534 

Richelieu  Hotel 328 

RialtoBldg 190 

Riot  of '77 382 

Ritchie,  W.  C.  &  Co...  534 

River  Forest 427 

Riverside ..427 

Rouges'  Gallery  435 

Roman    Catholic 

Churches 228 

Rookery  Bldg 190 

"  Rookery,"  origin  of 

Name 382 

Rosehill  Cemetery  ...  202 
Rosenberg  Fountain.  318 
Roslyn  Place  Apart- 

mentHouse 312 

Royal  Insur.  Bldg 192 

Rubens    Bldg 192 

Rush  Medical  College.  292 

Ryder  Club      262 

Ryerson  Monument..  316 

S 

Salaries  of  Mayor  and 

Chief  City  Officers..  228 
Salaries    of    Subordi- 
nate City  Officers...  229 
Saloons  in  Chicago...  382 

Saracen  Club 260 

Saratoga  Hotel 328 

Sat.  Evening  Herald..  407 
Savings  Banks, names 

and  locations  of     ..    150 
Sawyer-Goodman  Co.  534 

Schaffner&Co  162 

Schiller  Bldg  192 

Schiller  Hotel        328 

Schiller  Monument...  318 

Schiller  Theatre 135 

School  Children's  Aid 

Society 218 

School   for  Deaf   and 

Dumb 218 

School  of  Oratory 284 

School   of  Sacred  Li- 
terature   222 

Scientific   and    other 

Societies 477 

Scottish  Guards 360 

XXXIV 


Second  Day's  Trip 43 

Second  Reg't,  Band..  359 
Second Reg't Armory.  359 
Second  Reg't,  I.  N.  G.  359 

Security  Bldg 193 

Servite  Sisters  Indus'l 

Home  for  Girls 218 

Seventh  Day's  Trip ...     79 
Seven  O'clock  Club . . .  256 
Shakespeare  Monu- 
ment     318 

Sheridan  Club     256 

Sheridan  Road 382 

Sheridan  Statue 318 

Sherman  House 328 

Sherman  House  Bldg.  329 

Shields  Statue 168 

Ship  Canal 317 

Ship    Canal,    general 

plan  of 276 

Shipping,  Statistics..  547 
Sinai  Con.  Cemetery. .  202 

Single  Tax  Club 256 

Sixth  Day's  Trip 76 

Skandinaven,  The 396 

Sky-Scrapers 382 

Slaughter,  A.  O.  &Co.  163 
Smyth,  John  M.  Bldg.  179 

Societies 477 

Society  for  the  Pro.  of 
Phys.Cult.  and  Cor- 
rect Dress 268 

Soldiers  Monument. . .  319 

Sons  of  Chicago 263 

Sons  of  Connecticut . .  263 

Sons  of  Delaware 263 

Sons  of  Indiana 263 

Sons  of  Louisiana 263 

Sons  of  Maine 263 

Sons  of  Massachusetts  263 

Sons  of  Michigan 263 

Sons  of  New  York        .  263 

Sons  of  Ohio 264 

Sons  of  Pennsylvania  264 
Sons  of  Rhode  Island.  264 
Sons  of  Vermont  . .  .  264 
South  Chicago  Public 

Library 354 

South  Englewood  427 

South  Evanston 428 

South  H  a  1  s  t  e  d  St. 

Bridge 382 

South  Side  Electric 

Lines   . . .      238 

South  Side  Medical 

Club  256 

South  Side  Railway 

Service 238 

South  Side  rapid  Tran- 

sitRy 247 

South  Water  Street 

Commercial  Club...  258 
Southern  Hotel 328 


GENERAL   INDEX. 


Southern  Pacific  R.  R. 

'  System 472  j 

St.  Boniface  Cemetery  202 
St.    Elizabeth's     Hos- 
pital     323 

St.  Ignatius  College  . .  286 
St.  Ignatus  College 

Library 354 

St.  Joseph     486 

St.   Joseph's    Asylum 

for  Boys  218 

St.   Joseph's  Prov. 

Orphan  Asplum 218 

St.  Joseph's  Home 218 

St.  Joseph's  Hospital.  323 
St.    Joseph's    Female 
Orphan  Asylum  . .  .  218  | 

St.  Louis   486 

St.  Luke's  Free  Hos- 
pital   323 

St.  Mary's  Block 194 

St.    Mary's    Training 
School  for  Boys....  306 

St.  Paul 487 

St.  Pauls  Home  for 

News  Boys 281 

St.  Vincent's  Asylum.  323 
St.  Vincent's  Matern- 
ity Hospital 323 

St.  Xavier's  Academy  286 
Staats  Zeitung  Bklg. .  194 
StaatsZeitung.Thelll.  392 

Standard,  The 407 

Standard  Club  258 

Standard  Theater 137 

State    Banks,    Names 

and  Locations  of 150 

State   Bank    of  C h  i- 

cago 163 

State  Institutions....  478 
State  Reformatory  for 

Boys     306 

Statistical  I  n  f  o  r  in  a- 

tion 541 

Statistics,  Miscellane- 
ous   548 

Staver  &  Abbott  Mfg. 

Co  536 

Steam  Railroads  Sub- 
urban Service 237 

Stock  Exchange 270 

Stock  Exchange Bldg.  194 
Stock  Exchange  Bldg 

(New) 194 

Stock  Yards 490 

Stock  Yards  Transac- 
tions         546 

Stone  Bldg  194 

Strangers,  Advice  to..  31 
Street  Car  Companies  236 

Studebaker  Bldg 194 

Springfield         487 

Springfield  Bldg 191 


Subterranean  Theater  137 
Suburban  Chicago....  407 

Suburban  Railway 

Lines  and  Depots     .  408 
Suburban  Steam  Rail- 
way Service     . .    ....  237 

Suburban  Theaters...  138 
Suburban  Towns         .  409 
Suburban  Towns,  Dis- 
tance and  how  to 

Reach   409 

Sunset  Club 258 

Sunday  Post 397 

Sunday-School  Librar- 
ies  355 

Swedish  Theo.  Semin- 
ary   28-1 ; 

T 

Tacoma  Bldg 194  ! 

Talcott  Fountain 319 

Tattersalls'  Club 251 

Tattersalls'  Horse  Ex- 
change   271 

Taxable  Val.  of  Cook 

Co.  Property  ...  276 
Technological  Inst...  148 
Telegraph  Service  ...  382 

Telephone  Bldg 194 

Telephones  .    .  .382 

Telephones.  Gen'l  Ex.  367 
Telephones,  Local  Ex.  367 
Telephones,Municipal  378 
Telephones,  News- 

paper 378 

Temperance     Temple 

(see  Guide)  ...  .  194 
Temple  Coxirt  Bldg.. .  194 

Temple,  The 194 

Ten   Daily   Trips 

Around  the  City  ...     34 

TennisClubs         251 

Tenth  Day's  Trip 110 

Teutonic  Bldg  ....  196 
Thayer  &  Jackson 

Stationery  Co 536 

Theatre  Trains 383 

Third  Day's  Trip  ..  52 
Thirty-Fifth  St.  Blvd..  434 
Thomas  Orchestra...  140 
Thomson -Tayl  or 

Spice  Co 538 

Tides  in  the  Lake 383 

Times  Bldg     196 

Times,  The  Chicago..  398 
Timmerman  Opera 

House     138 

Tippecanoe  Club 258 

Title,  Abstracts  of  ...  362 
|  Title  and  Trust  Bldg..  196 

i  Toledo    487 

Tourjee    Conserv.   of 

Music 294 

XXXV 


Towns    Around    Chi- 
cago, How  to  Reach 

Them 487 

Trade  of  Chicago,  1892  543 
Trade  of  Chicago 

since  1850 543 

Trader's  Bldg 196 

Training    School    for 

Boys,  Glen-vood 306 

Tremont  House 328 

Tremont  House  Bldg.  196 
Tribune  Bldg  ....  196 
Tribune,  The  Chicago  398 
Tributary  Cities  and 

Towns 479 

Tues.  Reading  Club. .  260 
Twentieth  Century 
Club.. 260 

u 

U.  S.  Appraisers  Bldg.  196 
U.     S.     Army    Head- 
quarters   356 

U.  S.  Courts  in  Chi- 
cago    310 

U.  S.  Custom  House 

Bldg 196 

U.  S.  Express  Bldg ....  196 
U.  S.  Marine  Hospital  324 
U.  S.  Officers  in   Chi- 
cago  310 

UlichEvan.  Luth. 

Orphan  Asylum 218 

Uncle  Tom's  Cabin  134-140 

Union  Bldg      196 

Union    Business  Col- 
lege   290 

Union    Catholic    L  i  - 

brary 385 

Union  Club 258 

Union  College  of  Law.  295 
Union  League  Club ...  215 
Union  League  Club 

Library.. 355 

Union    National 

Bank 95,156 

Union  Pacific  System  474 

Union  Park     434 

Union  Signal 407 

Union  Stock  Yards  .  490 
Union  Stock  Yards, 

Clay,  Robinson  &  Co  494 
Union    Stock    Yards, 

Desci'iption  of 490 

Union     Stock    Yards 

Exchange  ....  494 

Union    Stock    Yards, 

Guide  to     490 

Union     Stock    Yards 

Transactions 546 

Union   Stock    Yards, 

Wood  Bros 496 

Union  Veteran  Club, .  258 


GENERAL  INDEX. 


Unity  Bldg 197 

Uniting  City  and 

County 236 

University  of  Chicago  286 
University  of  Chicago, 

Bldgs 288 

University  of  Chicago, 

Donations  to  ...  287 
University  of  Chicago, 

General  Status 

of 286-288 

University  of  Chicago 

Library 355 

University  of  Chicago, 

List  of  Bequests 287 

University  of  Chicago, 

New    Departure    in 

Education 288 

University  of  Chicago, 

Preparatory  School.  290 
University  of  Chicago 

Rockefeller  Gifts...  287 
University  of  Chicago 

Observatory 146 

University  of  Chicago, 

The  Faculty 288 

University  of  Chicago, 

The  Yerkes  Gift  ...  287 
University,  The  Old, . .  379 
University  of  Illinois  .  290 
University  of  Illinois. 

Alumni  Club  258 

University  Club  258 

University  School 290 

Universalist,  The 407 


Valuation  of  Taxable 
Cook  Co.  Property . .  276 

Van  Buren  Bldg 197 

Venetian  Bldg 197 

Vendome  Hotel  Bldg . .  197 

Vermont,  Sons  of 264 

Vessels,  Arrivals  and 

Clearances 547 

Vessels  Built  in  Chi- 
cago ....    548 

Vessels  owned  in  Chi- 
cago    548 

Veteran    Clubs  and 

Society  362 

Victor  Hugo  Monu- 
ment          319 

Victo  ria  Hotel 328 

Vierling,  McDowell  & 

Co. 500 

Villages  near  Chicago  407 

Virginia  Hotel 328 

Virginia  Hotel  Bldg  .  197 

Visitors  Arrival 31 

Vital  Statistics    550 

Von  Linne   Statue 319 

Vulcan  Iron  Works..  538 


w 

Wabash  R.  R.  Com- 
pany           476 

Waifs'.  Mission  220 

Waldheim Cemetery..  202 

Walker  Museum 149 

Ward  Area  of  Chicago  233 
Washington  Blvd  . .  .434 
Washington  Heights.  428 
Washington  Park  .  434 
Wash'gton  Park  Club.  259 
Washingtonian  Home  320 
Watchmaker's  Insti- 
tute.  304 

Water  Supply,  T  e  m  - 

perature 499 

Water    Towers,    Des- 
cription of 499 

Water  Works  ..497 

Water     Works,    Des- 
cription of 489 

Water    Works,    Four 
Mile     Tunnel     and 

Crib 497 

Water  Works,  How  to 

Reach  Them      .    ...  497 
Water  Works,  Pump- 
ing   Station 497 

Water  Works,  Source 

of  Supply.  ...  498 

Waubansee  Club  (see 
Hermitage  Club....  254 

Waukegan 428 

Waukesha 428 

Waverly  Theatre 140 

Wax  Works 140 

Webster  Club. 262 

Wentworth  Monum'nt  319 
Wesley  Hospital  .  324 
West  Chicago  Street 

Railroad  Co 240 

West     End    Women's 

Club 268 

West     Side    Theatre 

Bldg     197 

West.    Asso.    of    Cal. 

Pioneers  263 

Western  Ave.  Blvd ....  434 
Western  Bank  Note 

and  Eng.  Co.,  The. . .  538 
Western    Bank-  Note 

Bldg 197 

Western  Industry, 

Wealth  and  Trade . .  499 
Western     Refrigerat- 
ing Co 539 

Western  Reserve  Ho- 
tel       330 

Western    Theological 

Seminary 308 

Western  Theo.  Semy. 

Library 355 

XXXVI 


West  Twelfth  St.  Blvd  434 
Western  Wheel  Wks..  539 

Wheeler  Bldg .198 

White,  W.  J.  Chewing 

Gum  Factory  ...  539 
White  W.  J's  Yacht. . .  540 

Whitechapel  Club 259 

Whiting,  Indiana 428 

Wholesale  Bldgs    198 

Wholesale      Business 

of  Chicago 544 

Willard  Hall   383 

William  of  Orange 

Statue 319 

Wilmette 429 

Wilson  Bldg 198 

Winnetka 429 

Wisconsin  Central 

Lines 476 

Wisconsin  Towns 487 

Woman's  Christian 

Temp.  Union (Nat'l)  224 
Woman's  Hospital  324 
Woman's  Temple  (See 

Guide)    ...         194 

Women's  Christian 
Temp.  Union  (Cen- 
tral)   222 

Women's  Club,  The 

Chicago 266 

Women's    Club    of 

Evanston .268 

Women's  Medical  Col- 
lege   292 

Women's  Medical 

School 292 

Women's  Suffrage 

Club 268 

Wood  Brothers 496 

Woodlawn  Park  Club.  266 
World's  Fair  Hotel. ...  330 


Yerkes' Fountain, The  319 
Yerkes'  Telescope  . . .  146 

Yost  Mfg.  Co 540 

Young  Men's  Ch.  Assn  222 

Y.  M.  C.  A.  Bldg 198 

Y.  M.  C.  A.  Libraries.  355 
Young  Men's  Christ'n 

Asso.  (Scand.) 222 

Y.  M.  C.  A.  of  Engle- 

wood  Bldg 200 

Y  o  u  n  g  Women's 

Christian  Assoc....   222 


Z  i  o  11    Congregation 

Cemetery 202 

Zouaves,  The  Chicago  360 
Zouaves,  Ellsworth  .  360 
Zouaves.TheEvanston  360 
Zoologica1  Gardens . .  104 


INDEX  TO  THE  TEN  DAILY  TRIPS. 

PAGE. 

THE  GUIDE.— TEN  DAILY  TRIPS  ABOUND  THE  MARVELOUS  CITY.  .  .  ?...       28 

INTRODUCTION.— CHICAGO— ITS  RANK  WITH  OTHER  GREAT  CITIES- 
PRESENT  POPULATION — INCORPORATION  AND  LOCATION,  page  23. 
RAPID  GROWTH— SIDES  OR  DIVISIONS,  page  24.  DIVISION  POPULA- 
TION—FOREIGN-BORN CITIZENS— CENSUS  STATISTICS— PRIVATE  AND 
PAROCHIAL  SCHOOLS— AREA  AND  WATER  FRONTAGE— LENGTH  AND 
WIDTH  OF  THE  CITY— GEOLOGICAL— THE  i  FOUNDATION  SOIL— TOPO- 
GRAPHY, page  26.  SEWERAGE  AND  DRAINAGE— CLIMATE— HARBOR  OP 
CHICAGO— MARINE  STATISTICS— MUNICIPAL  GOVERNMENT— SALARIES 
OF  MUNICIPAL  OFFICERS,  page  27.  ARCHITECTURE— CHARACTER  OF 
GREAT  BUILDINGS— How  GREAT  BUILDINGS  ARE  CONSTRUCTED— THE 
STEEL  FRAME  SYSTEM,  page  28.  HISTORICAL,  page  30.  FIRE  OF  1871— 
FIRE  IN  1874 31 

THE  ARRIVAL,  page  31.  Hack  Rates— Cab  Rates— Hotels  in  Chicago- 
Family  Hotels— Good  rooms,  page  32.  A  private  boarding  house 34 

FIRST  DAY.— Starting  from  the  Adams  st.  steps  of  the  Post  Office— We 
look  about  us — Three  times  burned  out — Workings  of  the  Post  Office — 
The  Federal  Ruin— H.  H.  Honore— His  Career  and  Children- 
Kinsley's— Railway  Ticket  Office  District— Scalpers— Lakeside  Build- 
ing— Owings  Building — Washington  Hall — Secret  Societies — Adams 
Express  Building — Commercial  National  Bank — Stock  Exchange — 
European  Hotels — Typical  Restaurants — The  Working  Girls  of  Chi- 
cago—First  National  Bank— The  Tribune  Corner— "School  Section" 
Property  34 

SECOND  DAY.  — Dearborn  and  Madison  Sts.— The  Hartford  Building- 
Home  of  the  Inter-Ocean — Portland  Block — Grannis  Building — Bank- 
ing Houses  on  Dearborn  St. — The  Unity  Building — McCormick 
Block — Boyce  and  University  Buildings — Tremont  House— Dearborn 
St.  Bridge — A  Manufacturing  District — The  Odor  of  Soap — View 
down  Dearborn  St.  from  the  Viaduct— Through  the  Crush  of  S.  Water 
St.— The  Fruit,  Vegetable  and  Poultry  Market— Busy  Scenes— State 
St.  from  the  Bridge— What  Potter  Palmer  Did  for  it 43 

THIRD  DAY.— The  Great  Masonic  Temple— Twenty  Stories  High— De- 
scription of  the  Exterior  and  Interior — The  Magnificent  Vestibule— A 
City  in  Itself —Masonic  Halls— From  the  Roof  Garden— Four  States 
Within  the  Range  of  Our  Vision— The  City  of  Chicago  Spread  Out 
Before  us  Like  an  Open  Book — Birdseye  Views  to  the  North,  West  and 
South — Points  of  Interest— Studying  the  Geography,  Topography  and 
Architecture  of  the  City  at  an  Elevation  of  nearly  Three  Hundred 
Feet 52 

FOURTH  DAY,— The  Elevator  Service  of  the  Masonic  Temple— A  De- 
scription that  Fits  all  the  Great  Buildings — Marvelous  Speed — Recent 
Improvements— Interesting  Figures— Central  Music  Hall— Music 
Colleges— The  Young  Lady  Pupils— Termini  of  the  Horse  and  Cable 
Car  Lines— Marshall  Field  &  Co.— The  New  Building— Something 
About  the  House— The  Great  Retail  Stores  of  State  St.— Corner  Drug 
Stoi-es — What  They  Do  in  Chicago — Buck  &  Raynor's  arid  South  to 
Adams  St 60 

FIFTH  DAY.— State  St.  South  of  Adams— Some  Great  Houses- -Siegel, 
Cooper  <fe  Go's — A  Bazaar  of  All  Nations — Taking  a  Marginal  View  of 
Old  "Cheyenne"— The  Auditorium— Description  and  History  of  the 
XXXVII 


PAGE. 

Great  Structure — Looking1  up  at  it  from  the  Lake  Front — Looking 
Down  from  Its  Tower— Another  Birdseye  View— The  Chicago  Har- 
bor—Four Mile  Crib — Future  of  the  Basin — A  Line  of  Magnificent 

Public  Buildings— The  Auditorium  Hotel  and  Annex  Building 68 

SIXTH  DAY.— Wabash  Ave.— A  Thoroughfare  in  a  State  of  Transition- 
Changes  of  Recent  Years — Residences  Give  Way  to  Business  Blocks 
—The  Handsomest  Street  in  Chicago— Special  Lines  of  Trade  Group- 
ed—The Carriage  District,  Varnish  District,  etc.— Kimball  Building 
and  Kimball  Hall— A  Popular  Composer— Grea  t  Millinery  and  Grocery 
Houses— Gunpowder  and  Cigars 76 

SEVENTH  DAY.— The  City  Hall  and  Court  House— History  of  these 
Great  Buildings — The  Court  House  Bell — What  the  Structures  Cost 
—A  Trip  Through  City  Hall— The  Health,  Detective,  Fire  Alarm, 
Mayor's  Offices,  etc. — The  Central  Station — Reporters'  Room— The 
Public  Library— Over  to  the  Court  House— The  Recorder's,  Sheriff's, 
Coroner's,  Treasurer's,  and  Other  Offices — The  Courts — Divorce  Day 
—Motley  Crowds  in  Attendance 79 

EIGHTH  DAY.— Down  La  Salle  from  Lake  st.— An  Avenue  of  Commercial 
Palaces  —  Marine  Building  —  Jackson  Hall — Metropolitan  Block — 
"Uncle  Jesse"  and  "Uncle  Phil  "—Merchants'  Building — Union 
Building — Chamber  of  Commerce  Building — Its  Beautiful  Interior — 
Marble,  Mosaics  and  Bronze— Tacoma  Building— Otis,  Major,  Repub- 
lic. Bryan  Buildings — The  Temple — Description  of  the  Beautiful 
Structure  —  Calumet  and  Home  Insurance  Buildings —The  Union 
National  Bank  —  Armour  &  Co. — The  Rookery  — Board  of  Trade  Dis- 
trict   88 

NINTH  DAY.— The  Board  of  Trade  District  After  the  Fire— A  Tough 
Neighborhood  —  Through  "Cheyenne"  and  the  "Levee" — In  the 
Depths  of  the  Slums  —  South  Clark  st.  Dives  —  Lodging  Houses — 
"Reconstructed  Cheyenne  "—The  Great  Structures  of  S.  Dearborn  st. 
— A  Thoroughfare  Lined  with  Sky  Scrapers — Chinatown — North  on 
Clark  st.  —  Gambling  Houses  —  Would-be  Sports  —  Bunco  Steerers— 
Confidence  Men — Dale  <fe  Sempill's  Corner — A  Great  Meeting  Place — 
Survey  from  Clark  and  Madison  sts.— North  on  Clark  st.  to  the 
Bridge....- 99 

TENTH  DAY.— A  Circuit  Around  the  Business  Center,  Through  the 
Wholesale  Dry  Goods  District,  Winding  up  on  the  West  Side— The 
Savings  Bank  Failures — Newspaper  Row — Arend's  Kumyss — Great 
Jobbing  Houses— Over  the  Madison  St.  Bridge— Looking  Toward  the 
Setting  Sun— Section  Lines— The  John  M.  Smyth  Building— A  great 
Establishment— The  Haymarket— The  Halsted  St.  Corner— By  Cable 
Car— End  of  Our  Ten  Days' Journey 101 

[See  "GENERAL  INDEX."] 


XXXVIII 


DONOHUE  & 

HENNEBERRY 


Printers 
Engravers 
Publishers 
Book  Binders  and 
School  Supplies 

of  all  kinds 


407=425  Dearborn  Street 

Chicago 


xx  :: 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

DONOHUE  &  HENNEBERRY  BUILDING,  407-425  DEARBORN  ST. 
[See  "Guide.'1] 


CHICAGO 
EVENING 
JOURNAL 


IB  the  Oldest  Newspaper  in  Chicago,  and 
the  Best  Family  Paper  in  the  Northwest. 

It  is  Republican  in  Politics  and  contains 

^m  LATEST  MARKET  REPORTS 

|     J  FULL  TELEGRAPHIC  SERVICE 

ALL  THE   LOCAL   NEWS 

Without  sensationalism,  or  matter  that  cannot  safely 
be  read  by  any  member  of  the  family. 

It  is  the  favorite   Family  Paper   of    the  World's 
Fair  City. 

JOHN  R.  WILSON, 

Publisher. 


XLI 


ALEX.  M.  THOMSON,  PRES. 
E.  A.  DOWNS,  V.-PRES.  JAS.  THOMSON,  SEC'Y  AND  TRHAS. 


THOMSON  &  TAYLOR  SPICE  Go. 


-IMPORTERS  OF- 


Coffees,  Spices,  Indigos,  Seeds 


MANUFACTURERS  OF 

ROAST  AND  GROUND  COFFEES,  SPICES, 

FLAVORING  EXTRACTS, 
DRY  AND  LIQUID  BLUING,         HOPS  AND  SAGE. 


66,  63.  70,  72    MICHIGAN    AVENUE,  COR.   LAKE, 

CHICAGO. 

XLIII 


OTUART     STATIONERY    OO. 


245  antf  247  State  Street,  near  Jackson 

CHICAGO 


ACCOUNT    BOOK 

For  Bankers,  Manufacturers,  Merchants, 
Railroads,  Insurance  Companies,  Etc. 
Largest  assortment  of  high  grade  blank 
books.  Special  forms  to  order  on  short 
notice. 

GOOD  PRINTING 

Everything  needed  for  office  or  advertising 
purposes.  Bank  and  commercial  work 
of  every  kind. 


LITHOGRAPHING 

Checks,  drafts  certificates  of  deposit,  stock  certificates,  bills  of 
ef  change,  investment  bonds,  etc. 

STATIONERY 

O  nplete  office  outfits.  We  are  headquarters  for  everything  in  this 
line,  and  understand  thoroughly  the  requisites  of  a  banking 
office  or  mercantile  counting  room. 

First  Class  Stock,  Fine  Work  and  Reasonable  Prices 


fHAYER    &    JACKSON    STATIONERY    CO.,    CHICAGO 

XLIV 


PREFACE  TO   EDITION   FOR   1893. 


Changes,  which  in  an  ordinary  city  and  under  ordinary  circumstances 
it  would  require  half  a  century  to  bring  about,  have  occurred  in  Chicago 
since  the  first  volume  of  THE  STANDARD  GUIDE  was  compiled  three  years  ago. 
Our  population  has  grown  from  1,098,576  to  over  1,500,000.  Magnificent  new 
buildings  covering  miles  of  frontage  have  been  erected.  Some  of  the  leading 
streets  and  one  entire  section  of  the  city  have  undergone  a  complete  meta- 
morphosis. A  city  of  palaces  has  arisen  in  Jackson  Park.  New  transporta- 
tion lines,  urban  and  suburban,  have  been  established,  and  the  old  oneshave 
been  extended  and  improved.  A  hundred  new  hotels  have  sprung  out  of  the 
ground  as  if  by  magic.  Places  of  amusement  have  quadrupled  in  number. 
The  land-marks  of  three  years  ago  have  disappeared  to  make  room  for 
structures,  the  like  of  which  are  to  be  found  nowhere  else,  and  in  the  busi- 
ness center  of  the  city  entire  squares  have  been  completely  transformed. 

I  have  endeavored  to  keep  pace  with  the  changes  and  improvements 
occurring  on  every  side.  The  present  volume  is  a  complete  revision  of  THE 
STANDARD  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO.  Experience  has  taught  me  that  in  the  arrange- 
ment of  the  book  many  alteratians  might  be  made  which  would  increase  its 
value  to  the  public.  I  have  made  these  alterations,  while  preserving  in 
every  instance  the  features  which  made  the  editions  of  1891  and  1892  popular 
at  home  and  abroad.  Thousands  of  new  and  interesting  facts  are  introduced 
without  increasing  the  bulk  of  the  volume. 

I  have  not  deemed  it  advisable  to  include  in  this  volume  anything  in  the 
nature  of  a  guide  to  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition.  That  could  not  be 
done  without  greatly  increasing  the  size  of  the  book,  or  intruding  upon  the 
space  allotted  to  departments  having  special  reference  to  Chicago.  The 
Standard  Guide  Company  issues  guides  to  the  World's  Fair,  of  my  compila- 
tion, which  fully  cover  the  great  exposition  and  all  it  contains  in  handy  forms 
and  at  popular  prices. 

Once  again  I  acknowledge  cheerfully  and  publicly  the  invaluable  serv- 
ices rendered  me,  all  unconsciously  perhaps,  by  the  writers  for  the  Chicago 
press.  They  have  penetrated  and  scoured  every  nook  and  corner,  byway 
and  highway,  of  this  great  city,  to  obtain  information  for  the  readers  of 
their  newspapers,  and  I,  in  turn,  have  sifted,  condensed  and  arranged  this 
information  for  the  readers  of  THE  STANDARD  GUIDE.  In  this  connection,  I 
also,  want  to  thank  the  officers,  and  especially  the  secretaries,  of  public  and 
private  institutions,  clubs,  societies,  etc.,  for  much  valuable  information 
furnished  me,  and  for  the  uniform  courtesy  with  which  they  have  received 
and  treated  my  appeals  for  assistance  in  this  compilation. 

THE  STANDARD  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO,  I  am  glad  to  be  able  to  say,  has  met 
with'a  most  gratifying  reception.  It  has  been  successful  beyond  my  antici- 
pations. Whatever  it  is,  it  represents  my  best  thoughts  and  my  best 
energies. 

CHICAGO.  1893.  JOHN  J.  FLINN, 


GUIDES  AND  HAND=BOOKS. 

THE  TIMELY  AND  POPULAR    PUBLICATIONS   OF  THE  STAN- 
DARD GUIDE  COMPANY. 

RETAIL. 

The    Standard    Guide    to    Chicago  (fully  illustrated,    flexible 

cloth) $1 .00 

The   Standard   Guide   to   Chicago  (fully   illustrated,  flexible 

morocco) 2.00 

Guide  to  Chicago  (limp  cloth,  partly  illustrated) 50 

Complete  Guide  to  Chicago  (cloth,  condensed  edition) 25 

Guide  to.  Chicago  (paper,  condensed  edition) 10 

Hand-Book  of  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition  (fully  illus- 
trated, paper) 50 

Hand-Book  of  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition  (fully  illus- 
trated, cloth) 75 

Hand-Book  of  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition  (fully  illus- 
trated, morocco) 1 .00 

Guide  to  the  World's  Fair  Grounds  and  Buildings  (illustrated, 

paper,  English  edition) 10 

Guide  to  the  World's  Fair  Grounds  and  Buildings  (illustrated, 

paper,  German  edition) 10 

Guide  to  the  World's  Fair  Grounds  and  Buildings  (illustrated, 

paper,  French  edition) 10 

The  Best  Things  to  be  Seen  at  the  World's  Fair  (fully  illus 

trated,  paper) 25 

Souvenir  Views  from  the  World's  Fair  (beautiful  engravings).        .10 

Souvenir  Views  from  Chicago  (beautiful  engravings) 10 

IN    PREPARATION. 

Flinn's  Hand-Book  of  Chicago  Biography  (illustrated  with 

portraits,  cloth)  2 . 50 

Flinn's  Hand  Book  of  Chicago  Biography  (illustrated  with 

portraits,  sheep) 3 . 30 

Flinn's  Hand-Book  of  Chicago  Biography  (illustrated  with 

portraits,  morocco) 5 . 00 

All  of  the  above  publications,  with  the  exception  of  the  con- 
densed guides,  are  beautifully  illustrated  and  embellished  with  maps. 
Peddlers,  agents,  retail  and  wholesale  dealers  supplied.  ADDRESS, 

FLINN   &  SHEPP^RD, 

(The  Standard  Guide  Company.) 

358  Dearhorn  Street,  -  CHICAGO,  U.  S.  A. 

XLVI 


EDWARD  S.  ELY.  JACOB  C.  PRATT. 

PRATT  &  ELY 

REAL  ESTATE  AGENTS 
132  LA  SALLE  ST. 
*^.  CHICAGO. 

and  management  of  Chicago  and  adjacent  Real  Estate, 
tals,  insurance,  and  attending  to  all  details. 

r  of  carefully  answering  all  questions  as  to  Chicago  and 
state. 

fe  loans  without  expense  to  the  lender. 

are  protected  by  prompt  payment  of  taxes,  and  keep  the 
made  through  us,  fully  informed  as  to  all  matters  regard- 
for. 

Arith  us  any  property  you  have  for  sale  or  for  rent. 

ence  as  to  the  opportunities,  in  Chicago,  for  safe  invest- 
tisfactory  income. 

XLIX 

'.    &§  €w   «  **l  * 

•§  s 

8     §":  -g-g  .s    §§|  s 

m         £   v       ^  -JJ      ^      """  '   O             O 

ab/) 
c 

t                                           2            ^1%       &*.•%•£*-*  '"23 

t2  *c5 

«                                 3        ^               8      8*          °  §      ° 

8'>> 

s      .2^^^     ujs«     ^ 

r/5 

1)      4-J 

ti  G 

®                                                           UJ                K^     c3           c§  "^           03           D  *"^     hO        *S 

*>  o> 

g                   g^esSu^^.s.s 

1  s 

£                                        Q         Q         Q)     Q             Q) 

Q 

ui                                     ui        ^          ^          ^     ^               ^ 

» 

LA  GRANGE  LAND  ASSOCIATION 

TELEPHONE,  MAIN  5333. 
132  La  Salle  Street,  CHICAGO. 

CAPITAL,  $2,000,000. 

20,000  SHARES,  $100   EACH. 


CHICAGO  TITL.E  &  TRUST  COMPANY,  Trustee. 


This  Association  controls  over  80,000  front  feet  of  choice  residence  and 
business  property,  costing  less  than  $10  per  foot,  which  can  be  retailed 
at  $30  per  foot  and  upward. 

The  land  is  located  in  the  beautiful  village  of  LA  GRANGE,  one  of 
Chicago's  choicest  suburbs,  which  is  on  the  west  of  Chicago,  and  distant 
from  the  center  of  Chicago  only  27  minutes  via  the  C.,  B.  &  Q.  R.  R. 

LA  GRANGE  is  improved  in  a  thorough  and  substantial  manner,  with 
complete  sewer,  water  and  electric-lig-ht  systems;  beautiful  trees  and 
macadamized  streets. 

LA  GRANGE  has  a  population  of  more  than  5,000  people,  which  is 
rapidly  increasing.  (For  further  descriptive  matter  of  LA  GRANGE,  see 
page  424  of  "THE  STANDARD  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO.") 

THE  LA  GRANGE  LAND  ASSOCIATION  is  formed  upon  a  plan 
to  erect  buildings  for  rent,  which  vvri  11  earn  dividends  upon  all  shares,  thus 
enabling1  the  Association  to  hold  its  large  estate  through  the  Trustee,  The 
Chicago  Title  &  Trust  Company ,  and  to  sell  the  property  gradually  as  the 
growth  of  Chicago  and  La  Grange  make  it  required  by  the  public,  in  this 
manner  obtaining  the  best  prices. 

The  shares,  which  are  $100  each,  will  prove  a  very  profitable  invest- 
ment. 

The  Trustee,  The  Chicago  Title  &  Trust  Company,  cash  capital,  $1,500,- 
000,  receives  and  pays  out  all  money,  and  signs  and  issues  the  certificates 
Of  shares  of  THE  LA  GRANGE  LAND  ASSOCIATION. 

Any  one  who  will  carefully  investigate  the  property,  and  the  organiza- 
tion of  the  Association,  will  become  convinced  of  the  investment  value  of 
the  shares,  and  that  the  Association  is  formed  on  a  basis  of  trusteeship, 
which  secures  to  the  investor  a  proper  administration  thereof. 

Full  particulars  given  and  property  shown  by  the 

LA  GRANGE  LAND  ASSOCIATION, 
E.  HUNTIN3TON  PRATT,  132  LA  SALLE  STREET, 

SECRETARY.  CHICAGO. 

EXECUTIVE  COMMITTEE. 
E.  HUNTINGTON  PRATT, 

HENRY  N.  COOPER, 

GEORGE  I.  TALBOT, 

DANIEL  W.  BALDWIN, 

JACOB  C,  PRATT. 


Pf\RT  1. 


THE    GUIDE— TEN    DAILY   TRIPS  AROUND  THE 
MARVELOUS  CITY. 


CHICAGO. 

Not  in  the  Arabian  Nights'  Entertainments,  though  bathed  in  all  the 
glorious  colorings  of  Oriental  fancy,  is  there  a  tale  which  surpasses  in  won- 
der the  plain,  unvarnished  history  of  Chicago.  And  it  is  probable  that  even 
the  elastic  credulity  of  childhood,  which  from  generation  to  generation  has 
accepted,  without  question,  the  impossible  adventiires  of  Aladdin,  Ali  Baba 
and  Sinbad  the  Sailor,  would  be  sorely  strained  if  confronted  with  the  story 
which  the  most  prosaic  historian  of  this  remarkable  city  is  called  upon  to 
tell.  Chicago  is  one  of  the  wonders  of  modern  times.  Her  progress 
amazes  mankind.  There  is  not  on  record  an  achievement  of  human  intellect, 
skill  and  industry  that  will  bear  comparison  with  the  transformation  of  a 
dismal  swamp,  in  the  midst  of  a  trackless  desert,  within  the  span  of  a  human 
life,  into  one  of  the  mightiest  and  grandest  cities  on  the  globe.  Chicago, 
ITS  RANK  WITH  Cook  County,  State  of  Illinois,  United  States  of  America,  is 

OTHER  GREAT    the  second  city  on  the  American  continent  in  point  of  pepu- 

CITIES.          lation  and  commerce.  Among  the  cities  of  the  civilized  world, 

it  is  only  outranked  in   population  by  London,  Paris  and  New  York,  in  the 

order  named.    The  U.  S.  census  taken  in  June,  1890,  placed  the  number  of 

inhabitants   at    1,098,576.     The    school    census,  taken   at  the  same    time, 

generally  believed   to    be   far  more    reliable,    increased    the   number   to 

PRESENT         1,208,669.    Since   then   new  districts  have   been  annexed  to 

POPULATION.  the  city,  and  the  former  ratio  'of  increase  has  been  more 
than  maintained,  so  that  a  conservative  estimate  of  the  population  of 
Chicago,  in  the  summer  of  1893,  brings  the  figures  up  to  1,500,000. 
The  City  of  Chicago,  incorporated  March  4,  1837,  comprised  "the  district 
of  country  in  the  County  of  Cook,  etc.,  known  as  the  east  l/2  of  the  south- 
west %  of  section  33,  township  40  north,  range  14  east  ;  also  the  east  %  of 
sections  6,  7,  18  and  19,  all  of  fractional  section  3,  and  of  sections  4,  5,  8,  9  and 
INCORPORATION  fractional  section  10  (except  the  southwest  fractional  % 
AND  LOCATION,  thereof,  occupied  as  a  military  post,  until  the  same  shall 
become  private  property),  fractional  section  15;  sections  16,  17,  20  21,  and 
fractional  section  22,  township  39  north,  range  14  east."  Since  then  there 


24 


GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


have  been  twelve  extensions  of  the  city  limits.    The  rapid  growth  of  Chicago 
RAPID  has  been  an  enigma  to  those  who  have  not  intelligently  inves- 

GROWTH.  tigated  the  conditions  which  have  led  to  it.  In  reality  it  has 
only  kept  pace  with  the  country  of  which  it  is  the  natural  commercial  cen- 
ter. Situated  as  it  is  on  the  southwest  shore  of  Lake  Michigan,  in  41  '  r?2'  X. 
at.  and  87°  52'  W.  long.,  854  miles  from  Baltimore,  the  nearest  point  on  the 

Atlantic  seaboard,  and  '^,417 
miles  from  the  Pacific  ocean, 
directly  on  the  highways  from 
East  to  West  and  from  the 
Great  Northwestern  States  to 
the 

GEOGRAPHICAL  Atlantic ;  hav- 
POSITION.  ing  all  the  ad- 
vantages of  a  seaport  town 
combined  with  those  of  a 
great  inland  feeder,  it  is  not 
to  be  wondered  at  that  within 
the  space  of  half  a  century  it 
grew  from  a  mere  hamlet  to 
the  dimensions  of  a  great 
metropolis.  Before  we  take 
up  our  daily  trips  around  the 
city,  there  ai'e  a  few  points 
which  I  desire  to  impress 
upon  your  mind,  so  that  you 
may  have  an  intelligent  un- 
derstanding of  the  magni- 
tude, geography,  commerce 
and  architecture  of  the  city, 
as  well  as  of  the  divisions  of 
population. 

CHICAGO  RIVER  The    m  a  i,n 
AND  ITS        stem    of     the 
BRANCHES.      Chicago  river, 
with  its  two  branches,  north 
and  south,  divide  the  city  of 
Chicago   into    three    "Divis- 
ions," or  "Sides,"    viz.:    the 
South  Side,  or  South    Divis- 
ion; West  Side,  or  West  Division;  North  Side,  or  North  Division.    Popularly 
.SIDES  OR        the  term  "Sides"  is  used.    The  municipal  term  is  "Divis- 
DIVISIONS.       ion,"  while  legally  they  are  called  "Towns."  that  is,  before 
annexations  were  made,  the  South,  West  and  North  Divisions  were  separate 
townships.    New  townships  have  since  been  added  to  each  of  the  sides.  For 
instance,  Hyde  Park  and  Lake  have  been  added  to  the  South  Division,  Lake 
View  to  the  North,  and  a  portion  of  Cicero  and  Jefferson  to  the  West  Division. 


UNITY  BUILDING.— See  Buildings. 


26  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

The  population  of  the  South  Division,  according  to  the  school  census  of 
DIVISION        1892,  was  515,736;  of  the  West  Division,  645,428;  of  the  North 
POPULATION.      Division,  276,846.    Germans  lead  among  the  foreign  born  peo- 
ple of  Chicago;  the  Irish  come  next  and  are  followed  by  the  Scandinavians, 
Bohemians  and  Poles.    Every  nationality  on  earth  is  represented  here.    It 
FOREIGN-BORN    is  claimed  that  fully  one-third  of  the  population  is  of  for- 
CITIZBNS.       eign  birth.     Nearly  two-thirds  are  of  direct  foreign  origin. 
CENSUS          The  persons  over  21  years  of  age  number  895,847;  under  21 
STATISTICS.      years,  542,163;  between  14  and  21,  138,616;    between  6  and  14, 
191,180;  between  4  and  6,  68,280;  under  4  years,  144,085.    The  number  between 
12  and  21  years,  not  able  to  read  or  write  English,  was  4,458;  the  number 
under  21  years,  obliged  to  work   and   who   could  not  attend  school,  was 
41,946;  the  number  between  7  and  14  who  do  not  attend  school,  was  8,732. 
PRIVATE  AND    The  number  in  kindergartens  was  4,968 ;  number  in  private 
PAROCHIAL       schools,  6,575;  number  in  church  or  parochial  schools,  51,442; 
SCHOOLS.        number  in  business  colleges,  9,271 ;   number  of  colored  per- 
sons of  all  ages,  19,754;  number  of  Mongolians  of  all  ages,  1,476.    Chicago,  in 
1835,  had  an  area  of  2.55  square  miles ;  in  1893  ithas  an  area  of  182  square  miles. 
AREA  AND        The  city  has  a  frontage  on  Lake  Michigan  of  22  miles,and  a  riv"- 
WATER          er  frontage  of  about  58  miles,22>4  miles  of  which  are  navigable. 
FRONTAGE.       The  distance  between  N.  Seventy -first  St.,  being  the  northern 
city  limits,  and  One  hundred  and  Thirty-ninth,  being  the  southern  city  limits, 
is  24  miles.    The  city  at  its  broadest  point  is  10.5  miles  in  width.    State  st.  is 
LENGTH  AND     the  longest  thoroughfare  in  the  city,  running  from  North 
WIDTH  OF  THE  ave.  on  the  North  side,  to  the  southern  city  limits,  18  miles. 
CITY.  Eighty-seventh  is  the  longest  street  running  east  and  west, 

extending  the  entire  width  of  the  city.  The  geographical  center  of  the  city 
of  Chicago  is  located  at  the  intersection  of  Ashland  ave.  and  Thirty-ninth 
st.  The  site  of  the  business  portion  of  Chicago  was  originally  a  marsh.  It 
is  believed  that  Lake  Michigan  covered  at  one  time  almost  the  entire  sur- 
GEOLOGICAL.  face  occupied  by  the  present  city.  Beneath  the  marshy  soil 
is  a  blue  clay,  and  underneath  this  is  a  quicksand.  A  leading  engineer 
maintains  that  Chicago  is  built  upon  a  crust  less  than  thirty  feet  thick,  and 
that  the  weight  of  the  massive  structures  which  have  been  and  are  being 
erected,  may  prove  sufficient  at  some  time  to  break  through.  The  result 
would  be  a  disintegration  of  the  foundation  soil  upon  which  these  buildings 
now  stand  and  a  general  collapse.  This  view,  however,  is  not  entertained 
THE  by  engineers  generally,  although  the  crust  theory  is  admit- 

FOTJNDATION     ted.    Water  is  struck  at  a  depth  of  about  eight  feet.    Found- 
SOIL.  ations  are  made  generally  by  driving  long  piles  into  the  soggj 

soil  or  by  overlaying  it  with  steel  rails  crossed  and  recrossed,  which 
are  filled  in  with  cement,  so  as  to  secure  a  uniform  pressure. 
The  city  of  Chicago  is  level,  but  not  fiat.  There  are  considerable  rises  here 
and  there,  the  most  noticeable  being  the  ridge  which  traverses  the  southern 
TOPOGRAPHY,  portion  west  of  Hyde  Park  to  the  Indiana  line.  All  difficulties 
in  the  way  of  sewering  have  been  overcome  long  since  by  skillful  engineering. 
The  Chicago  river  which  originally  emptied  into,  now  flows  from  the  lake. 


THE   GUIDE.  2? 

The  sewage  is  carried  by  the  river,  in  great  part,  to  a  canal  which  conducts 
SEWERAGE       it  through  the  interior.  It  finally  finds  its  way  into  the  Illinois 
AND  DRAINAGE,  and  Mississippi  rivers.    The  drainage  of  the  city  is  an  inter- 
esting subject,  and  the  plans  for  future  work  in  this  connection  are  of  great 
magnitude  and  involve  the  expenditure  of  many  millions.    The  climate  of 
CLIMATE.        Chicago  is   healthful   and   beautiful,  though  the  weather 
sometimes  goes  to  extremes  in  summer  and  winter.    The  air  is  cool   and 
bracing  through  most  of  the  summer  and  hot  nights  are  very  rare.      The 
mean  barometric  pressure  during  a  period  of  ten  years  was  discovered  by 
the  U'  S.  Signal  Office  to  have  been  29.303  inches ;  the  mean  annual  tempera- 
ture, 40.068;    the  mean  annual  precipitation,  36.64  inches,   and  the  mean 
annual   humidity  of    the    air,  70.9,   100  representing  complete  saturation. 
The  maximum  annual  precipitation  averaged  about  46  inches  during  this  per- 
iod. The  highest  mean  temperature  was  51.40  degrees,  the  lowest  45.42  degrees. 
HARBOR  OF      The  Chicago  River  is  an  unattractive  stream,  but  a  view 
CHICAGO.         from  one  of  the  bridges  which  cross  it,  during  the  season  of 
navigation,  is  interesting.    The  scenes  at  Rush  St.,  Clark  St.,  Dearborn  St., 
Wells  st.,  Lake  St.,  Randolph  St.,  Washington  st.,  Madison  st.,  Adams  St., 
Jackson  st.,  Van  Buren  st.  or  Twelfth  st.  bridges  are  nearly  always  animated. 
It  will  be  a  surprise  to  the  stranger,  whether  American  or  foreign,  to  learn 
MARINE          that  the  arrivals  and  clearances  of  vessels  at  Chicago  harbor 
STATISTICS,      exceed  those  of  New  York  by  fully  50  per  cent. ;  that  they  are 
nearly  as  many  as  those  of  Baltimore,  Boston  and  New  York  combined,  and 
that  they  are  a  fraction  of  over  60  per  cent,  as  many  as  all  the  arrivals  and 
clearances    in  Baltimore,  Boston,  New  York,  New  Orleans,  Philadelphia, 
Portland  and  San  Francisco.     Chicago  has  also  fully  25  per  cent,  of  the 
entire  lake  carrying  trade,  as  compared  with  the  total  arrivals  and  clear- 
ances in  Buffalo,  Detroit,  Duluth,  Erie,  Huron,  Grand  Haven,  Milwaukee, 
Ogdensburgh,  Sandusky  and  Marquette.     The  government  of  the  city  of 
MUNICIPAL       Chicago  is  vested  in  a  Mayor,  elected  for  two  years,  salary 
GOVERNMENT.    $7,000;  and  a  city  council  <?om posed  of  68  aldermen,  or  two 
from  each  of  the  34  wards,  who  receive  a  per  diem  for  actual  services,  the 
total  of  wThich  amounts  to  about  $20,000  annually.    One  alderman  is  elected 
for  each  ward  in  alternate  years.    The  mayor  is  assisted  in  the  performance 
D  SALARIES  or     of  his  duties  by  heads  of  departments  and  bureaus,  as  follows : 
MUNICPAL        Comptroller,  salary  $5,000;  Treasurer,  including  assistants, 
OFFICERS.        $25,000,  and  interest  on  city  deposits,  his  right  to  the  latter 
being  in  dispute;  City  Clerk,  $3,500;  Commissioner  of  Public  Works,  $5,000; 
City  Engineer,  $3,500;  Counsel  of  Corporation,  $6,000;  City  Attorney,  $5,000; 
Prosecuting  Attorney,  $4,000;  General  Superintendent  of  Police,  $5,000;  Chief 
Marshal  of  Fire  Department,  $5,000;  Superintendent  of  Fire  Alarm  Telegraph, 
$3,675;  Commissioner  of  Health,  $4,000;  City  Collector,  $4,000;  Superintendent 
of  Special  Assessments,  $3,500;  Superintendent  of  Street  Department,  $3,500: 
Mayor's  Secretary,  $2,500;  Mayor's  Assistant  Secretary,  $1,500.    The  muni- 
cipal government  of  Chicago  is  conducted  upon  a  more  economical  scale 
than  that  of  any  great  city  in  the  world.    The  salaries  paid  its  highest  and 
most  important  officials  do  not  compare  in  amount  with  the  salaries  received 


28  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

by  lea-Tin^  employes  of  corporations  or  of  prominent  commercial  houses. 
ARCHITECTURE.  The  architecture  of  the  city  of  Chicago  is  striking  and  pecul- 
iar. It  has  been  the  subject  of  world-wide  discussion  for  several  years  past. 
The  term,  "Chicago  architecture,"  has  become  a  familiar  one  to  the  archi- 
tects of  the  universe,  ana  a  word  coined  for  the  purpose  of  expressing  the 
idea,  "Chicagoesque,"  has  now  come  into  common  use.  The  traveled  stran- 
ger, to  whom  the  great  cities  of  the  world  are  familiar, -however  he  may 
become  impressed  with  the  manners  and  customs  of  our  people,  or  with 
their  methods  of  doing  business,  and  however  loath  he  may  be  to  admit  the 
justice  of  our  claims  to  pre-eminence  in  other  respects,  must  acknowledge 
that  this  is  the  best  built  city  in  the  universe  to-day.  For  nearly  twenty 
years,  or  since  the  great  fire  of  1871  swept  over  the  business  center  of  the 
city  and  laid  it  in  ruins,  architecture  in  Chicago  has  been  steadily  advanc- 
CHARACTER  OF  ing,  until  we  are  enabled,  in  this  World's  Fair  year,  to  point 
GREAT  out  some  of  the  grandest  achievements  of  the  art  to  be 
BUILDINGS.  found  on  the  face  of  the  earth.  The  character  of  the  great 
buildings  erected  dimng  recent  years  in  Chicago  demonstrates  that  archi- 
tects have  i-isen  to  the  highest  plane  of  constructive  knowledge.  It  is  not 
enough  to  use  the  material  guaranteed  by  the  maker,  but  Chicago's  archi- 
tects themselves  employ  engineers  for  the  special  purpose  of  examining  and 
testing  each  and  every  piece  and  passing  their  individual  opinion  upon  it, 
HOW  GREAT  in  a  written  report,  and  only  such  as  is  accepted  by  these 
BUILDINGS  ARE  engineers  is  used  in  the  buildings.  So  essential  and  neces- 

CONSTRUCTED.  sary  is  this  department  of  architectural  engineering  consid- 
ered, that  specialists  are  sent  to  the  mills  which  furnish  the  iron  and  steel 
structural  shapes  and  beams  for  buildings,  and  the  metal  is  not  only  tested 
in  the  ingot,  but  the  strength  of  resistance  is  ascertained  for  every  finished 
beam.  The  result  of  all  this  gives  to  Chicago  buildings  which  are  not  only 
theoretically  safe,  but  known  to  absolute  certainty  to  be  safe  down  to 
the  last  cubic  foot  of  masonry  and  the  last  cubic  inch  of  steel.  In  this 
respect  Chicago  is  unique,  and  it  is  a  common  remark  in  eastern  and  for- 
eign cities,  among  those  actively  engaged  in  building,  that  Chicago  to-day 
erects  the  best  built  structures  ever  known,  and  with  the  notable  dis- 
tinction that  she  does  it  with  the  closest  economy  in  material  and  time. 
That  is  to  say,  that  it  is  a  fact  that  in  Chicago  buildings  the  quality  is  bet- 
ter, the  distribution  of  material  is  more  skillful  and  the  buildings  are  natur- 
ally more  reliable.  The  buildings  have  all  been  constructed  fire-proof  to  a 
degree  surpassing  those  erected  under  old  methods.  Not  only  ai-e 
steel  and  iron  used  for  supports,  for  girders  and  for  joists,  but  they 
are  covered  with  fire-clay,  which  is  so  disposed  that  air  chambers 
are  left  next  to  the  iron  or  steel  in  every  case,  making  it  impos- 
sible for  the  metal  to  be  overheated  even  by  the  hottest  fires. 
THE  While  many  of  the  largest  and  handsomest  of  Chicago's 

STEEL  FRAME    buildings  are  constructed    solidly  of  stone,  a  new  system 

SYSTEM.        has  found  much  favor  here,and  is  being  generally  followed  now 

in  the  construction  of  the  mammoth  buildings  known  as  "sky-scrapei-s"  which 

have  given  Chicago  a  new  celebrity.    This  is  known  as  the  steel'  frame  sys- 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

ASHLAND  BLOCK,  N.  E.   COR.  CLARK  AND  RANDOLPH  STS. 
[See  Page  167.] 


GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 


tern,  the  structure  proper  being  erected  from  the  foundation  entirely  inde- 
pendent of  the  walls,  which  consist  of  a  mask  of  terra-cot ta  or  other  mater- 
ial, not  intended  to  serve  as  a  support  for  the  edifice  in  any  way.  The  floors 
consist  of  steel  beams  with  arched  terra  cotta  tile- work  filled  in  between 
them,  and  covered  either  with  the  usual  floor  boards,  or  with  ornamental 
tiles  or  mosaic  woi'k.  The  partitions  are  built  of  hollow  terra  cotta  tiles. 
As  little  wood  as  possible  is  used,  so  that  these  tall  structures  are  as  nearly 

fire-proof  as  they  can  be 
made.  Owing1  to  the  character 
of  the  ground  on  which  Chi- 
cago is  built,  the  construction 
of  the  foundations  of  large 
buildings  is  a  much  more 
serious  problem  than  in  most 
large  cities.  Water  is  en- 
countered at  a  very  slight 
depth  below  the  surface  of 
the  ground.  Piling  was  at 
first  used,  but  experience  de- 
monstrated that  it  did  not 
form  a  satisfactory  founda- 
tion. The  method  now  em- 
ployed is  the  formation  of  a 
solid  sub-structure  of  steel 
beams  or  rails  and  concrete. 
The  steel  pieces  laid  cross- 
wise are  of  a  length  propor- 
tioned to  the  weight  they 
will  have  to  sustain,  and  are 
imbedded  in  concrete.  Other 
beams  or  rails  are  then  laid 
lengthwise,  with  concrete 
filled  in,  and  thus  several 
layers  are  placed  in  position 
until  the  foundation  is  com- 
pleted. Hundreds  of  tons  of 
steel  may  thus  be  imbedded 
in  Chicago  earth  before  the 
walls  of  a  building  are  on 
a  level  with  the  surface. 

And  now,  something  about  Chicago's  history.  It  is  a  wonderful  story, 
HISTORICAL,  though  a  brief  one.  The  salient  facts  are :  Chicago  was  first 
settled  about  1779,  its  first  settler  being  a  fugitive  San  Domingoan  slave 
named  Point  De  Sable.  It  was  known  as  Chicago  Portage  for  many  years. 
The  original  name  of  the  city  was  Checagow,  as  pronounced  by  the  French. 
Its  earliest  residents  were  French  Canadian  fur  traders.  Its  first  citizen  of 
prominence  was  John  Kinzie.  Fort  Dearborn  was  constructed  here  in  1803. 


OWINGS  BUILDING.— See  Buildings. 


THE   GUIDE.  31 

It  was  destroyed  during1  the  war  of  1812  by  the  Indians  in  August  of  that 
year,  after  the  garrison  had  been  massacred  on  the  Lake  shore  in  the  loca- 
lity of  the  neighborhood  now  known  as  Oakland.  The  fort  was  rebuilt  in 
1814.  Illinois  was  admitted  to  the  union  in  1818.  Chicago  was  incorporated 
as  a  city  on  March  4,  1837.  Three  and  a  third  square  miles  of  this  city  were 

FIRE  OF  1871.  burned  over  in  1871 ;  17,450  buildings  were  destroyed ;  98,500 
persons  were  rendered  homeless ;  200  were  killed  and  the  direct  and  imme- 
diate loss  was  over  $190,000,000.  The  insurance  recovered  amounted  to 
$44,000,000.  One  year  after  the  fire  many  of  the  best  business  blocks  in  the 
city  were  rebuilt ;  five  years  after  the  fire  the  city  was  handsomer,  archi- 
tecturally speaking,  than  ever;  ten  years  after  the  fire  all  traces  of  the 

FIRE  IN  1874.  calamity  had  disappeared.  The  second  great  fire  in  Chicago 
occurred  on  July  14,  1874.  This  conflagration  swept  over  a  district  south  of 
Twelfth  st.  and  east  of  State  St.,  which  had  escaped  the  fire  of  '71.  Although 
18  blocks,  or  60  acres,  were  burned  over,  and  although  600  houses  were  des- 
troyed and  the  loss  was  close  to  $4,000,000,  the  calamity  was  never  as  deeply 
regretted  as  it  would  have  been  had  the  district  been  a  safe  one  near  the 
heart  of  the  city.  The  houses  were  nearly  all  wooden  and  were  a  continual 
menace.  This  district  was  soon  rebuilt  in  a  substantial  manner.  There  have 
been  at  intervals  labor  and  communistic  riots  in  Chicago.  Nothing  that  has 
occurred,  however,  has  served  to  check  the  wondroiis  growth  and  prosper- 
ity of  the  city. 

Nearly  every  subject  touched  in  the  above  epitome,as  well  as  every  subject 
touched  in  the  following  daily  trips  around  the  city,  is  referred  to  elsewhere 
in  this  volume,  more  exactly  and  sometimes  in  greater  detail.  I  believe  I 
have  now  given  you  such  information  as  will  enable  you  to  understand 
many  of  the  things  which  it  will  be  my  pleasure  to  tell  you  of  during  our 
daily  excursions. 


THE  f\RRIW\L. 

From  whatever  direction  you  may  come,  before  your  train  reaches  the 
city,  you  will  be  approached  by  one  of  Parmelee's  uniformed  agents,  who 
will,  if  you  desire  it,  take  up  your  railroad  baggage  checks,  giving  you 
checks  or  receipts  in  exchange  for  the  same,  and  undertake  to  deliver  your 
trunks  or  small  baggage  to  any  hotel  or  to  any  part  of  the  city  within  the  old 
limits  for  fifty  cents.  Or,  he  will  give  you  checks  for  the  transfer  of  your  bag- 
gage to  any  of  the  railroad  depots  in  the  city  from  which  it  may  be  re-checked 
to  any  of  the  suburban  villages  or  towns  within  or  without  the  corporate  lim- 
its of  the  city.  Each  additional  trunk,  twenty-five  cents.  For  fifty  cents  he  will 
give  you  a  ticket  which  will  entitle  you  to  transfer  by  omnibus  or  transfer 
coach  to  any  other  railroad  depot,  or  to  any  hotel  in  the  center  of  the  city. 
The  Parmelee  company  is  perfectly  responsible  and  its  agents  may  be  trusted 
fully.  The  stranger  arriving  in  Chicago  for  the  first  time,  if  in  doubt  as  to 
the  course  to  be  pursued,  on  leaving  the  train  should  consult  the  uniformed 
depot  agents,  or  depot  policemen,  who  may  be  depended  upon  for  reliable 
information.  Hansom  cabs,  coupes,  hacks,  carriages,  etc.,  have  stands  out- 


32  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

side  every  depot.    Before  entering  a  vehicle,  make  an  arrangement  with  the 
driver,  so  that  there  may  be  no  misunderstanding. 

Hack  Rates.— For  conveying,  one  or  two  passengers  from  one  railroad 
depot  to  another,  or  for  a  distance  not  exceeding  a  mile,  $1.00;  for  conveying 
one  or  t\vo  passengers  any  distance  over  one  mile  and  less  than  two  miles, 
$1.50;  for  each  additional  passenger  of  same  party  or  family,  50  cents;  for 
two  passengers  any  distance  exceeding  two  miles,  $2.00.  For  each  addi- 
tional passenger  of  same  party  or  family,  50  cents ;  children  between  5  and 
14  years  of  age,  half  fare.  For  use  per  day  of  hackney  coach  or  other  vehicle 
drawn  by  two  horses,  with  one  or  more  passengers,  $8.00.  For  use  of  any 
such  vehicle  by  the  hour,  with  privilege  of  going  from  place  to  place  and 
stopping  as  often  as  may  be  required,  first  hour,  $2.00;  each  additional  hour, 
or  fraction  thereof,  $1.00.  Traveling  baggage  carried  free. 

Cab  Bates. — An  ordinance  passed  by  the  city  council  in  November,  1892, 
provides  that  the  rates  of  fare  to  be  demanded  by  the  owners  or  drivers  of 
cabs  or  other  vehicles  drawn  by  one  horse  or  other  animal  for  the  convey- 
ance of  passengers,  shall  not  be  more  than  50  cents  a  mile,  or  fraction 
thereof,  for  one  or  two  passengers,  and  25  cents  for  each  additional  passen- 
ger for  the  first  mile  or  fraction  thereof.  The  charge  by  the  hour  shall  not 
exceed  75  cents,  and  25  cents  additional  for  each  quarter  hour  after  the  first 
hour.  In  the  case  of  a  vehicle  being  engaged  by  the  hour  and  discharged  at 
a  distance  from  its  stand,  the  driver  will  have  the  right  to  charge  for  the 
time  necessary  to  return  to  his  stand.  In  case  of  attempted  imposition  or 
exorbitant  charges,  call  a  policeman. 

Hotels  in  Chicago  may  be  divided  into  three  classes.  The  first-class 
includes  such  houses  as  the  Auditorium,  Richelieu,  Leland,  Great  Northern, 
Victoria,  Palmer,  Grand  Pacific,  Sherman,  Tremont,  Wellington,  etc.,  etc. 
The  second-class  includes  such  houses  as  Gore's,  Kuhn's,  Windsor,  Grand 
Union,  Saratoga,  Brevoort,  Burke's,  etc.  The  third-class  includes  the  cheap 
grade  of  hotels  to  be  found  on  Clark  and  State  sts.  and  Wabash  ave.  on  the 
South  side,  Madison,  Van  Buren  and  other  streets  on  the  West  side,  and  on 
Wells,  Clark  and  other  streets  on  the  Noi-th  side.  First-class  rates,  $3.00 
per  day  and  up ;  second-class  rates,  $2.00  per  day  and  up ;  third-class  rates, 
$1.00  per  day  and  up.  Outside  of  either  of  the  classes  mentioned  above  there 
are  a  large  number  of 

Family  Hotels,  so  called,  because  they  cater  less  to  commercial  transients 
than  to  regular  hotel  boarders.  Among  these  might  be  mentioned  the  Drexel, 
Woodruff,  Hyde  Park,  Holland,  Lexington,  Metropole,  Virginia,  Plaza,  etc. 
Arrangements  are  usually  made  for  accommodations  at  the  family  hotels  for 
terms  running  from  a  week  to  a  month.  The  visitor  must  bear  in  mind  that 
the  hotels'of  Chicago  are  divided,  in  a  general  sense,  into  two  classes— those 
conducted  on  the  American  and  those  conducted  on  the  European  plan.  In 
the  American  hotels  the  rate  per  day  includes  table  fare  also ;  in  the  Euro- 
pean hotels  the  rate  per  day  covers  rooms  only. 

Good  Rooms  in  the  leading  European  hotels,  or  hotels  where  rooms  and 
meals  are  paid  for  separately,  can  be  obtained  for  from  $1.00  to  $3.00  per 
day.  At  many  respectable  hotels  of  an  unpretentious  class  good  rooms  may 


J 


34  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

be  had  from  50-to  75  cents  per  day.  Restaurant  meals  may  be  had  at  from 
25  to  50  cents.  Hotel  meals  are  serve-.!  at  from  50  cents  to  $1.00.  Should  you 
prefer 

A  Private  Boarding  House,  you  will  have  no  difficulty  in  finding  one  where 
you  may  procure  a  room  with  board  at  from  $5.00  to  $10  per  week.  At  the 
latter  figure,  excellent  accommodations  may  be  obtained  in  any  of  the  best 
neighborhoods  of  the  city.  Boarding  houses  may  be  found  advertised  in 
large  numbers  in  the  daily  newspapers.  If  you  advertise  for  a  boarding 
house,  you  will  receive  numerous  responses.  Select  some  place,  if  possible, 
south  of  Twenty-second  st.,  and  east  of  Wabash  ave. ;  don't  be  afraid  of 
going  too  far  south;  North  of  Chicago  ave.,  and  east  of  Wells  st.;  don't  be 
afraid  of  going  north  or  northeastward ;  west  of  Ashland  ave.,  or  south  of 
Madison  to  Jackson  or  north  of  Madison  to  Park  ave. ;  the  farther  west  the 
better.  Don't  be  afraid  of  getting  away  from  the  center  of  the  city.  Rapid 
transit  is  available  in  all  sections  and  points  of  interest  are  brought  within 
easy  access  by  cable  and  elevated  railroads.  Having  installed  yourself  at 
a  hotel,  a  boarding  house,  or  at  the  home  of  a  friend,  and  put  your 
affairs  in  order,  you  will  doubtless  be  prepared,  and  even  anxious  to  seethe 
city.  If  you  will  follow  me  during  the  next  10  days  I  will  try  to  point  out 
everything  of  interest  and  to  give  you  all  the  information  I  have  been  able 
to  collect  concerning  the  places  we  visit  and  the  sights  we  see. 


FIRST    DfVY. 

Starting  from  the  Adams  st.  Steps  of  the  Post  Office— We  Look  About  Us— 
Three  Times  Burned  Out — Workings  of  the  Post  Office — The  Federal 
Ruin— H.  H.  Honore— His  Career  and  Children  —  Kinsley's— Railway 
Ticket  Office  District— Scalpers— Lakeside  Building— Owings  Building- 
Washington  Hall— Secret  Societies— Adams  Express  Building— Commer- 
cial National  Bank— Stock  Exchange— European  Hotels— Typical  Res- 
taurants—The Working  Girls  of  Chicago— First  National  Bank— The 
Tribune  Corner— " School  Section"  Property. 

We  will  make  our  starting  point  the  first  morning  of  our  journey  on  the 
front  steps  of  the  custom  house  and  post  office,  between  Clark  and  Adams 
sts.  There  is  no  spot  in  the  city  as  unlike  Chicago  as  this.  We  are  in  front 
of  the  least  Chicagoesque  structure  that  could  have  been  selected.  As  time 
goes  here,  it  was  only  a  short  while  ago  that  this  building  was  erected  by 
the  United  States  Government.  The  great  fire  of  1871  had  swept  everything 
before  it  in  the  city's  center.  Granite  and  iron  melted  in  its  path.  The  great 
stone  structure  then  occupied  as  a  post  office,  on  the  N.  W.  Cor.  of  Dearborn 
and  Monroe  sts.,  went  down  on  that  fateful  Sunday  night.  When  the  smoke 
had  cleared  away  the  granite  walls  were  standing  but  the  interior  was 

A  Mass  of  Ruins.— A.  little  later  an  enterprising  theatrical  manager  util- 
ized the  walls  as  a  frame  for  a  theater.  On  that  corner  stood 

The  Adelphi.—It  proved  to  be  the  most  commodious  theatrical  auditorium 
we  had  in  Chicago  for  many  years.  It  became  Haverly's  theater  later  on, 


THE  GUIDE.  35 

and  Patti  sang  from  its  stage  before  an  audience  composed  of  the  elite  of 
Chicago.  Still  later  on  the  First  National  bank  secured  a  lease  of  the 
grounds  (it  is  "school  section"  property  and  the  fee  belongs  to  the  munici- 
pality) and  erected  the  present  magnificent  First  National  bank  building  on 
the  site.  The  stone  used  in  the  bank  building  is  the  same  that  walled  in  the 
the  old  post  office.  After  the  fire  the  post  office  was  moved  to  Wabash  ave., 
south  of  Twelfth  st.  Here  it  was  again  burned  out  in  the  fire  of  1874.  The 
next  move  was  into  the 

Honore  Block  directly  opposite  us  on  the  northwest  corner  of  Adams  and 
Dearborn  sts.  Here,  during  Christmas  week  of  1877,  the  Post  Office  was 
again  burned  out.  The  fire  which  drove  the  post  office  out  of  the  building 
was  one  of  the  most  wicked  ever  witnessed  in  Chicago.  The  weather  was 
intensely  cold.  During  its  progress  the  firemen  moved  around  encased  in 
crystallized  vapor,  and  had  all  the  appearance  of  animated  icicles.  The 
water  congealed  almost  before  it  reached  the  burning  building,  and,  striking 
the  walls,  it  formed  magnificent  figures  in  ice  on  every  window  cap  and 
cornice.  The  figures  in  ice  were 

Fantastic  and  Beautiful,  and  the  moonlight  streaming  down  upon  the 
building  produced  colors  which  gave  the  structure  the  appearance  of  a 
scene  from  the  Arabian  Nights.  Driven  out  of  the  Honore  Block,  the  post 
office  secured  quarters  in  the  uncompleted  building  before  which  we  are 
now  standing.  Architecturally  and  mechanically  this  great  structure  has 
been  a  failure  from  the  first.  Although  costing  in  the  neighborhood  of 
$5,000,000,  it  has  been  an  eyesore  to  the  people  of  Chicago,  a  perfect  blot  upon 
the  architectural  beauty  of  the  city,  and  inconvenient,  inadequate  and 
nnsafe  for  the  purposes  to  which  it  is  dedicated.  When  erected  it  was  sup- 
posed to  be  large  enough  to  meet  the  demands  of  the  Chicago  postal  service 
for  fifty  years  to  come.  Inside  of  ten  years  it  proved  to  be  too  small.  Before 
the  roof  was  on  the  walls  began  to  settle  unevenly;  apertures  through 
which  the  daylight  and  moonlight  streamed,  were  noticeable.  Before  it  was 
a  year  in  service  the  girders  sprung  and  the  costly  tile  flooring  began  to 
loosen  up  and  clatter  beneath  the  feet  of  the  thousands  who  daily  thronged 
the  immense  lobbies.  Aside  from 

The  General  Post  Office  and  its  branches,  there  are  about  sixty  indepen- 
dent post  offices  within  the  corporate  limits  of  the  city  of  Chicago,  each  one 
having  its  own  postmaster,  and  each  one  reporting  directly  to  the  Post  Office 
Department  at  Washington.  The  Postmaster  receives  $6,000  per  annum ;  the 
salaries  of  the  Assistant  Postmaster  and  his  Superintendents  of  Departments 
run  from  $2,400  to  $3,000.  The  salaries  of  clerks  and  accountants  run  from 
$800  to  $1,700,  while  the  salaries  of  carriers  run  from  $600  to  $1,000,  according 
to  length  of  service.  Uncle  Sam  is  an  exacting  employer  and  not  a  particu- 
larly generous  one.  In  no  department  of  the  government  are  his  servants 
paid  well.  Yet,  positions  in  the  post  office  are  sought  after,  and  he  has  no 
difficulty  in  securing  good  men  at  the  prices  named.  The  hours  are  long.  In 
this  post  office  particularly  the  work  is  very  hard,  and  the  employes  for 
the  most  part  are  confined  during  working  hours  to  very  unhealthy 
quarters.  They  have  built  some  iron  and  glass  annexes  on  the  Dearborn  st. 


36  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

front,  in  order  to  secure  more  room.  But  under  no  circumstances  can  the 
present  building  be  made  to  accommodate  the  business  properly  and  a  great 
new  post  office  building,  to  be  located  probably  on  the  lake  front,  is  among 
the  certainties  at  an  early  day.  Yoii  will  notice  that  there  is  a  perfect 
stream  of  life  flowing  through  these  lobbies.  All  around  you  are  signs  which 
direct  you  to  the  windows  or  to  the  departments  you  are  in  search  of. 
Through  the  carriers  entrance,  you  may  look  in  upon  the  distributing  depart- 
ment. That  is  a  busy  hive  in  there.  The 

Distributors  and  the  Carriers  whom  you  see  loading  up  for  their  trips,  are 
bright  looking,  active  men  and  pleasant  fellows,  as  a  rule.  Hourly  deliver- 
ies are  now  made  in  some  portions  of  the  business  center.  Some  of  these 
carriers  have  all  they  can  do  to  serve  one  of  the  great  office  buildings.  In 
some  of  the  great  office  buildings,  two  and  three  carriers  are  constantly 
employed  delivering  the  'mails.  The  days  have  long  since  passed,  in  Chi- 
cago, when  one  cai*rier  can  serve  a  district  covering  a  block  in  the  business 
center.  The  early  morning  mail  is  sent  out  by  a  carrier  who  takes  letters 
only.  He  is  immediately  followed,  over  the  same  route,  by  another  carrier 
who  takes  registered  letters.  Another  follows  him  with  newspapers,  pack- 
ages, etc.  It  used  to  be,  in  the  old  days,  that  the  carrier  would  deliver  his 
route  and  refill  his  bag  with  letters  from  the  boxes  on  his  way  back  to  the 
post  office.  Now  wagons  are  employed  in  the  latter  branch  of  the  service. 
It  is  not  an  unusual  thing  for 

A  Ton  of  Mail  to  be  taken  from  one  of  the  office  buildings  in  a  day.  The 
carrier  no  longer  collects  the  mail.  He  reports  back  to  the  office  for  his  next 
trip  as  speedily  as  possible.  Neither  does  he  find  time  to  arrange  the  mail 
for  his  route.  He  finds  it  arranged  for  him  by  persons  employed  for  that 
purpose.  If  he  has  been  too  long  upon  his  trip,  or  does  not  report  back  on 
time,  he  is  fined.  There  are 

Automatic  Clocks  in  the  office.  As  he  leaves  he  takes  a  key  from  the  "  in '' 
hook,  turns  it  in  the  clock  and  hangs  it  on  the  "out  "  hook.  This  registers 
the  exact  moment  of  his  leaving  the  office  and  the  exact  moment  of  his 
returning.  It  keeps  his  record.  If  he  has  wasted  any  time  during  the  day, 
it  is  discovered  at  night  and  he  is  "  docked  "  for  it.  No,  I  would  not  advise 
any  young  man  to  seek  employment  in  the  post  office.  Down  stairs  is  the 
newspaper  department.  To  the  left  are  the  money  order  and  registry  depart- 
ments. To  the  right  are  the  delivery  windows,  lock  boxes,  mailing  chutes, 
retail  and  wholesale  stamp  departments,  etc.,  etc.  To  our  right  as  we  turn 
toward  Adams  st.  again,  is  the  Postmaster's  office  and  next  door  to  him 
may  be  found  the  assistant  postmaster.  At  the  top  of  the  building  is  the 
chief  post  office  inspector,  the  personal  representative  of  the  Postmaster 
General.  We  are  again  on  the  steps  of  what  has  come  to  be  called 

"  The  Federal  Ruin."— I  mentioned  the  fire  in  the  Honore  biiilding.  The 
Honore  building  is  now  the  Marquette  hotel.  That  is  011  the  corner  to  onr 
right.  In  the  old  days  H.  H.  Honoi-e  was  one  of  Chicago's  most  prominent 
men.  He  was  an  optimist  in  real  estate  matters.  Had  he  been  in  the  mar- 
ket a  few  years  later  he  might  perhaps  have  been  known  as  a  plunger.  He 
was  a  man  of  great  ideas.  He  believed  in  Chicago's  future.  He  believed 


[Engraved  for  the  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

THE  INTER-OCEAN  BUILDING,  MADISON  AND  DEARBORN  STS. 
[See  "  Newspapers."] 


38 


GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


that  there  was  nothing  too  good  or  too  great  for  her.  He  was  right,  but  he 
was  a  little  ahead  of  his  time.  He  built  the  Honore  block.  It  was  a  marvel 
of  architectural  beauty  in  those  days,  and  was  considered  one  of  the  great- 
est buildings  of  America.  It  is  still  a  handsome  building,  but  it  is  dwarfed 
by  the  magnificent  structures  which  have  risen  in  its  neighborhood. 

H.  H.  Honore  built  the  structure  on  the  same  side  of  Dearborn  st.  just 
one  block  above,  now  known  as  the  Howland  block.  He  was  one  of  the  pro- 
jectors of  Ashland  blvd.  on  the  West  side,  and  when  he  laid  out  that  beauti- 
ful residence  avenue,  people  said  he  was  mad.  It  was  so  far  away  from  the 

center  of  the  city.  He  was 
the  originator  of  the  idea 
which  has  since  prevailed  so 
universally,  of  makftig  a 
street,  an  avenue  or  a  boule- 
vard, or  creating  a  suburb, 
before  offering  property 
along  its  line  or  within  its 
limits  for  sale.  With  this 
idea,  he  brought  treesalready 
full  grown  from  the  interior 
and  planted  them  along  Ash- 
land blvd.  He  laid  out  the 
street,  the  parkways  and  put 
in  the  stone  walks.  He  drew 
a  line  beyond  which  no  build- 
ing should  project.  He  made 
it  compulsory  on  the  part  of 
purchasers  that  no  building 
below  a  certain  cost  should 
be  erected.  He  was  just  on 
the  point  of  receiving  the 
reward  which  his  great  enter- 
prise and  phenomenal  fore- 
thought deserved,  when 

The  Crash  of  '73  struck 
the  city  like  a  tornado,  and 


HAKTFORD  BUILDING — See  Buildings. 


shattered  the  fortunes  of 
thousands  of  Chicago's  best 
and  brightest  business  men.  H.  H.  Honore  never  fully  recovered. 
Many  who  went  .down  with  him  managed  to  pull  through,  and  are  to-day 
among  our  wealthiest  men.  He  died  not  very  long  ago.  His  sons  are  now 
in  the  real  estate  business  in  this  city.  Bertha  Honore  Palmer,  wife  of 
Potter  Palmer  (the  millionaire  hotel  man  and  property  owner)  and  Presi- 
dent of  the  Board  of  Lady  Managers  of  the  World'sColumbian  Exposition, 
a  cultured,  distinguished  and  beautiful  woman,  is  his  daughter.  Another 
daughter  is  the  .wife  of  U.  S.  Minister  Frederick  Grant,  now  representing 
this  Government  at  the  Court  of  Vienna.  Directly  opposite  us  is 


THE   GUIDE.  39 

Kinsley's.—  Everybody  in  Chicago,  rich  and  poor,  knows  Kinsley's. 
Kinsley's  is  a  landmark.  The  poor  know  it,  because  they  hear  so  milch 
about  it,  and  not  because  of  any  personal  experience  they  ever  had  with  it. 
It  is  the  Delmonico's  of  Chicago.  Mr.  Kinsley  has  been  what  is  known  as  a 
caterer  to  the  epicurean  taste  of  tipper  tendom  in  Chicago  for  a  great  many 
years.  He  accumulated  a  great  deal  of  money  by  serving  swell  meals  to 
swell  people,  or  people  who  wanted  to  be  known  as  swells.  It  has  been  for 
many  years,  and  is  now,  quite  the  thing  to  drop  into  that  structure  with  the 
yellow  awnings  and  pay  $7.50  for  a  dinner  that  you  might  get  some  place 
else  for  perhaps  $2.25,  or  less.  This  reminds  me  that  within  a  stone's  throw 
of  us,  are  now  located  the 

Ticket  Offices  of  all  the  great  trunk  lines  of  railways  centering  in  Chicago. 
The  movement  down  this  way  began  about  five  years  ago,  and  it  has  con- 
tinued until  the  old  railway  ticket  center,  in  the  vicinity  of  the  Sherman 
House,  is  almost  deserted  by  agents.  But  from  Jackson  st.,  around  the  cor- 
ner, or  the  Grand  Pacific  hotel  to  the  Court  House,  on  both  sides  of  Clark  St., 
you  will  find  all  of  the  ticket  offices  with  a  very  fair  sprinkling  of  scalpers, 
offices.  The  scalper  does  a  thriving  business.  His  signs  are  hanging  on 
the  outer  walls.  He  has  cheap  tickets  for  everywhere.  He  will  buy  your 
tickets,  if  you  have  any  to  sell,  and  give  you  a  fair  price  for  them.  If  you 
want  a  mileage  ticket,  you  can  get  it,  and  he  will  show  you  how  to  work 
yourself  off  on  the  conductor  under  any  alias.  To  our  left  also,  but  diagon- 
ally across  from  the  C.,  B.  &  Q.,  building,  is  the 

Lakeside  Building.— I  am  not  a  very  old  man  nor  a  very  old  Chicagoan, 
but  I  can  remember  the  time  when  the  Lakeside  building  was  the  one  great 
business  structure  in  this  section  of  the  city.  It  may  be  called  the  pioneer 
of  office  buildings.  For  many  years  it  was  too  far  removed  from  the  center 
to  be  popular,  and  about  the  time  that  the  center  itself  moved  toward  the 
south,  it  became  too  old  to  be  popular.  It  is  an  old-fashioned  structure ;  that 
is,  it  is  an  old-fashioned  structure  from  a  Chicago  point  of  view.  It  was  put 
up  after  the  great  fire  of  '71.  It  is  hard  to  realize  now  that  even  at  that  late 
date  passenger  elevators,  or  "lifts,"  as  you  call  them  abroad,  were  not  intro- 
duced into  buildings.  The  Lakeside  building  had  no  passenger  elevator 
until  three  or  four  years  ago.  If  you  wanted  to  go  to  the  roof  you  had  to 
climb  the  stairway.  From  the  beginning  it  seems  to  have  been  the  center 
for  siibscription  book  publishers.  It  was  for  many  year,  and  continues  to 
be  yet,  to  a  certain  extent,  the  rendezvous  for  book  agents.  Here  you  may 
find  the  book  agent  off  duty,  if  it  could  be  imagined  that  anybody  would  look 
^for  a  book  agent  for  any  reason  or  under  any  circumstances.  The  book 
agent  may  be  seen  in  the  Lakeside  building  in  fatigue  uniform.  He  does  not 
wear  his  satchel  nor  his  insinuating  smile..  Beneath  the  Lakeside  building 
is  a  magnificent  restaurant  conducted  by  Mr.  George  Williams,  familiarly 
and  pleasantly  knor.vn  to  the  politicians  of  Cook  county.  To  our  right,  diag- 
onally across  from  the  Marquette  hotel,  is  the 

Owings  Building.— This  is  one  of  the  most  beautiful  of  the  great  office 
buildings.  Its  architecture  is  peculiar,  and  the  piqued  formation  of  its  roof 
distinguishes  it  very  strongly  from  its  surroundings.  The  facade  is  striking 


40  GUIDE  TO   CHICAGO. 

and  unique.  The  work  over  the  main  entrance  is  particularly  attractive, 
the  carving  being  some  of  the  finest  to  be  seen  on  any  building  in  the  city. 
To  the  south  of  the  Owings  building  are  a  number  of  office  structures,  all 
great  in  size  but  of  no  particular  prominence  among  the  magnificent  struc- 
tures which  are  to  be  seen  in  this  neighborhood.  On  the  opposite  corner  of 
Dearborn  and  Adams  sts.  is  "The  Fair"  one  of  the  great  general  merchan- 
dise establishments  of  Chicago.  Opposite  "The  Fair"  in  the  center  of  the 
block  on  Adams  st.  is  an  unpretentious  looking  building  known  as 

Washington  Hall. — The  name  has  very  little  signification  when  one  comes 
to  consider  the  objects  to  which  this  building  is  devoted.  It  is  one  of  many 
buildings  of  the  same  character  in  Chicago.  It  is  a  structure  divided  into 
halls  of  various  sizes  for  the  accommodation  of  secret  societies.  Washington 
and  Lincoln  halls  are  two  of  the  largest.  Here  there  are  secret  society  meet- 
ings every  night  in  the  week.  The  lodges  rent  the  halls  for  one,  two,  three 
or  four  nights  a  month,  as  the  case  may  be.  In  these  halls  there  are  nightly 
meetings  of  Masons,  Odd  Fellows,  Knights  of  Pythias,  Knights  and  Ladies  of 
Honor,  Red  Men,  Foresters,  Order  of  the  Iron  Hall,  Royal  League,  Patriotic 
Sons  of  America  and  benefit  societies.  Chicago  has  over  one  thousand 
lodges  of  secret  societies.  The  Masonic,  of  course,  is  the  oldest  and  most 
respectable;  the  Odd  Fellows  come  next;  the  Knights  of  Pythias  next.  The 
Foresters  are  very  strong  and  so  is  the  Royal  Arcanum.  Mutual  benefit 
associations,  with  insurance  departments,  are  very  popular  among  the  peo- 
ple. We  have  now  taken  in  everything  of  interest  to  our  right  and  left  as  far 
as  our  vision  extends.  Let  us  take  a  walk  north  from  Adams  on  Dearborn 
st.  Passing  the  Dearborn  street  front  of  the  Fair,  we  reach  the 

Adams  Express  Building.  This,  was  among  the  first  of  the  great  office 
structures  erected  here.  It  is  a  modern  building  in  every  respect  and  ele- 
gantly finished  from  bottom  to  top.  The  building  is  owned  by  the  Adams 
Express  company,  and  the  general  office  of  the  company  is  located  on  the 
first  floor.  The  next  is  the  Commercial  National  bank  building,  another 
beautiful  structure  of  the  modern  class.  The  main  floor  is  occupied  by  the 

Commercial  National  Bank. —  Bankers  and  brokers  occupy  the  lower 
floors.  The  upper  portion  of  the  building  is  given  over  to  miscellaneous 
office  tenants  The  Commercial  Natjonal  bank  counting  room  is  worthy  of 
a  visit.  The  interior  is  beautiful.  Across  the  street  on  the  opposite  corner 
is  the  Stock  Exchange  building.  The  lower  story  of  this  structure  is 
given  up  entirely  to  stock  operators  and  brokers. 

The  Stock  Exchange  has  quarters  here  and  I  would  advise  a  visit  to  one 
of  its  morning  sessions.  Stock  operation  has  grown  immensely  in  Chicago 
within  recent  years.  Nearly  everything  in  the  speculative  line  is  listed 
here  now.  The  operations  in  local  stocks,  and  particularly  in  street  railway 
shares,  are  frequently  very  extensive.  Immediately  north  of  the  Stock 
Exchange  is  the  Saratoga  hotel.  This  and  the  Windsor,  just  above,  are  the 

Favorite  Stopping  Places  of  the  better  class  of  country  merchants  and 
shoppers.  The  small  towns  within  a  radius  of  500  miles  contribute  largely 
to  the  patronage  of  the  Saratoga  and  the  Windsor.  While  I  am  on  this  sub- 
ject I  might  mention  the  Grand  Union,  which  is  directly  opposite  the  Wind- 


~ 


43  GUIDE  TO   CHICAGO. 

sor.  The  prices  charged  for  rooms  run  from  $1.00  to  $2.50  per  day.  The  three 
hotels  mentioned  are  conducted  exclusively  on  the  European  plan  and  the 
g-uests  take  their  meals,  as  a  rule,  in  the  Saratoga  or  the  Thompson  restau- 
rants. The  Saratoga  is 

A  Typical  Chicago  Restaurant  as  regards  its  size  and  the  manner  in  which 
it  is  conducted.  Such  restaurants  are  numerous  in  Chicago.  They  are 
suitable  for  the  reception  of  all  classes,  ladies  and  gentlemen,  and  are  con- 
ducted on  that  thoroughly  independent  American,  or,  to  put  it  more  plainly, 
Chicago  principle,  which  distinguishes  them  from  restaurants  in  any  other 
city  in  the  country.  Probably  nowhere  else  can  young  girls  or  young  ladies 
shopping  down  town  or  employed  in  offices  or  stores,  enter  a  restaurant 
without  exciting  less  attention  than  in  Chicago.  Young  men  and  women," 
and  old  men  and  women  for  that  matter,  jostle  each  other  in  the  struggle  for 
existence  and  independence  in  Chicago.  Dtiring  business  hours,  at  least, 
young  men  and  women  meet  upon  a  common  level.  The  courtesy  which 
distinguishes  the  American  in  all  his  relations  with  womankind,  whether 
in  the  drawing  room  or  on  the  palace  railway  car,  extends  to  the  daily 

Relations  betiveen  the  Sexes  in  Chicago.  The  shop  girl,  the  stenographer 
or  the  female  bookkeeper  is  treated  with  as  much  consideration  as  the 
daughter  of  the  merchant  prince  or  millionaire.  Familiarity,  such  as  one 
would  suppose  might  follow  the  constant  intercourse  of  the  sexes,  does  not 
breed  contempt  in  Chicago  business  circles  where  men  and  women  are 
thrown  together.  The  self-respecting  girl  is  respected  everywhere,  and  the 
Chicago  young  man  is  always  ready  to  take  off  his  hat  to  the  young  woman 
who  carries  herself  as  a  young  lady,  whether  she  works  behind  the  counter 
or  at  the  typewriter.  But  this  is  a  digression. 

Thompson's  Restaurant  is  a  peculiar  institution.  Originally  occupying 
one  store  room  in  the  Tribune  Building,  it  has  extended  down  the  block  to 
the  alley.  I  don't  pretend  to  say  how  many  thousand  men  and  women  are 
fed  here  every  day.  If  I  should  say  six^thousand  people  take  their  luncheons 
here  between  the  hours  of  11  and  3  o'clock  daily,  I  don't  think  that  the  figure 
would  be  an  exaggeration.  Across  the  street  from  the  Stock  Exchange  is  the 

First  National  Bank  Building. — It  is  a  magnificent  structure.  It  is  not 
nearly  as  high  as  many  of  the  buildings  I  will  point  out  to  you,  nor  are  there 
as  many  architectural  adornments  to  be  found  on  its  facade.  But  it  has  an 
air  of  strength  and  solidity  which  must  excite  your  admiration.  You  would 
griess  it  to  be  a  bank  building  even  if  I  hadn't  told  you  so.  Let  us  go  inside. 
We  find  ourselves,  after  passing  up  a  low  flight  of  marble  stairs,  standing  at 
the  entrance  of  what  is  claimed  to  be  the  largest,  most  convenient,  and  most 
elegant  banking  room  in  the  world.  Mr.  Gage  was  the  first  choice  of  the 
projectors  and  stockholders  in  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition  for  its 
head.  He  was  its  first  president.  He  positively  declined  to  serve  a  second 
year  because  of  the  immense  amount  of  business  uf  a  private  character 
pressing  upon  him.  He  was,  however,  from  the  inception  of  the  enterprise 
to  its  successful  conclusion,  what  may  properly  be  called  Its  right-hand 
man.  On  the  S.  E.  cor.  of  Madison  and  Dearborn  sts.  stands  the 


THE   GUIDE. 


Tribune  Building.— [See  "Newspapers.'1]  This  building  and  all  the  other 
buildings  on  the  block  surrounded  by  Dearborn,  Madison,  State  and  Monroe 
sts.  occupy  what  is  known  as  school  section  property.  In  the  early  days 
sections  of  land  were  set  apart  in  every  township  as  school  property,  the 
revenues  from  which  were  to  be  devoted  to  the  free  education  of  children. 
This  was  a  wise  and  a  patriotic  provision.  The  system  has  obtained 
thi'oughout  nearly  all  the  states  of  the  union,  but  particularly  in  the  West. 

As  the  needs  of  the  school 
boards  increased  and  the 
erection  of  buildings  in  local- 
ities away  from  the 

School  Sections  became 
necessary,  much  of  this  prop- 
erty had  to  be  parted  with. 
The  money  derived  from 
sales  was  devoted  to  the 
erection  of  school  buildings, 
and  to  r  ^eeting  the  expenses 
of  public  education.  As 
Chicrgo  grew,  the  property 
became  immensely  valuable 
and  the  disposition  to  part 
with  it  very  materially  less- 
ened. The  valuable  blocks 
and  lots  were  retained.  The 
use  of  the  property  upon 
which  the  First  National 
bank  stands  was  given  to  the 
U.  S.  Government  to  accom- 
modate the  custom  house  and 
post  office.  When  the  Gov- 
e  r  n  me  n  t  abandoned  that 
site  it  reverted  to  the  city 
and  became  a  part  of  the  so- 
c  ailed  "school  section." 
All  of  this  property  is  leased 
by  the  city-to  the  holders  and 
is  subject  to  periodical  ap- 
praisements. The  revenue 

derived  from  it  is  very  great,  but,  of  course,  not  sufficient  to  meet  the 
present  expenses  of  public  education  in  this  city.  Of  public  education  and 
what  it  costs  I  will  tell  you  in  another  part  of  the  book. 


BOYCE  BUILDING.—  See  Buildings. 


SECOND    DflY, 

Dearborn  and  Madison  Sts.— The  Hartford  Building— Home  of  the  Inter- 
Ocean — Portland  Block — Grannis  Building — Banking  Houses  on  Dear- 


44  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

born  St.— The  Unity  Building— McCormick  Block— Boyce  and  University 
Buildings — Tremont  House— Dearborn  St.  Bridge  —  A  Manufacturing 
District — The  Odor  of  Soap — View  Down  Dearborn  St.  from  the  Viaduct- 
Through  the  Crush  of  South  Water  St.— The  Fruit,  Vegetable  and  Poultry 
Market— Busy  Scenes— State  St.  from  the  Bridge— What  Potter  Palmer 
Did  for  It. 

The  intersection  of  Dearborn  and  Madison  sts.,  where  we  parted  yester- 
day, is  one  of  the  busiest  in  the  city.  The  great  new  buiding  which  rises  on 
the  southwest  corner  is  known  as 

The  Hartford. — On  this  corner  a  magnificent  structure  was  erected 
immediately  after  the  great  fire  of  1871.  It  was  architecturally  ornate  and 
presented  many  features  which  made  it,  in  its  exterior,  pleasing  to  the  eye. 
The  facade  was  relieved  here  and  there  by  beautiful  ornamentation  and  statu- 
ai\y.  It  was  one  of  the  old  pattern  buildings,  however,  the  first  story  being 
raised  several  feet  above  the  sidewalk.  Like  many  others  of  this  character, 
it  had  to  make  way  before  its  time  for  the  mammoth  office  structures  which 
are  now  found  in  the  business  center  of  the  city.  The  old  building  would 
have  been  an  ornament  to  any  city.  It  is  spoken  of  as  old,  whereas  at  the 
time  of  its  destruction  it  had  not  lived  through  twenty  years.  The  building 
which  takes  its  place,  as  you  see,  is  an  elegant  structure.  The  first  story  is 
of  stone  and  the  remainder  of  the  fourteen  stories  of  terra  cotta.  It  cost 
over  $600,000.  The  first  floor  was  rented  before  the  foundations  were  laid, 
for  $60,000  per  annum.  It  is  occupied  by  the  Chemical  National  bank.  On 
the  opposite  corner  is  the 

Inter-Ocean  Building. — [See  "Newspapers."]  The  corner  which  is  siir- 
mounted  by  a  clock  tower  was  built  in  to  give  a  harmonious  appearance  to  the 
wings  which  front  on  Dearborn  and  Madison  sts.  The  buildings  which  are  thus 
united  wei*e  entirely  reconstructed  with  the  view  of  giving  the  Inter-Ocean 
a  home.  This,  of  course,  was  the  principal  object,  but  another  was  the  trans- 
formation of  what  had  become  old-fashioned  buildings,  into  a  modern  office 
structure.  The  Inter-Ocean  business  office  on  the  corner  is  one  of  the  most 
attractive  in  the  city.  I  have  nothing  of  particular  interest  to  tell  you  con- 
cerning the  buildings  in  the  block  north  of  Madison  st ,  until  we  come  to  the 
Portland  Building  on  the  southeast  corner  of  Dearborn  and  Washington 
sts.  This  is  an  imposing  structure  of  modern  design.  Built  soon  after  the 
fire,  the  Portland  block  stands  as  a  monument  to  the  energy  of  capitalists 
whose  faith  in  the  future  of  Chicago  was  not  shaken  by  that  overwhelming 
misfortune.  They  had  no  scruples  about  placing  $200,000  in  this  structure, 
which  has  always  ranked  as  a  popular  building  for  the  old  and  conservative 
men  engaged  in  professional  and  mercantile  pursuits.  Next  door  is  the 

Grannis  Building  —Here  is  to  be  found.on  the  first  floor,  the  National  Bank 
of  Illinois,  of  which  Mr.  George  Schneider  is  President.  This  is  one  of  the 
most  substantial  financial  institutions  in  the  country.  The  banking  room 
is  worthy  of  a  visit.  Radical  improvements  in  the  Equitable  building  on 
the  corner  directly  opposite  are  contemplated  as  this  edition  goes  to  press. 
On  the  northeast  corner  is  the  banking  house  of 


40  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

E.  S.  Dreyer  c€  Co. — Mr.  Dreyer  is  among  the  most  prominent  of  Chicago's 
private  bankers.  He  is  an  advanced  thinker  and  is  prominent  in  real  estate 
matters.  On  the  northwest  corner  is  the  private  banking  house  of  Meadow- 
croft  Bros.,  an  old  established  and  reliable  concern.  Just  north  of  E.  S. 
Dreyer's  is  the  Stewart-Clark  building,  and  adjoining  this  is  the  Chemical 
bank  building,  a  handsome  structure,  owned  by  the  Abstract  Safety  Vault 
Company.  We  now  come  to 

The  Unity  Building,  a  sixteen  story  structure  of  steel  and  glass  and  one 
of  the  most  graceful  specimens  of  modern  commercial  architecture  to  be 
seen  here.  This  building  bears  a  name  which  is  familiar  to  all  old  Chica- 
goans.  The  former  Unity  building  was  considered  a  first-class  office  structure 
after  the  great  fire,  but  it  soon  passed  into  the  fourth  or  fifth  class.  The  Unity 
building  is  noted  particularly  for  its  beautiful  golden  vestibule,  and  the 
marble  stairways  which  rise  on  either  side.  Every  floor  in  the  building  is 
finished  alike  in  marble.  The  entire  building  is  heated  and  lighted  with 
electricity  for  tenants.  It  is  the  property  of  the  present  governor  of  the 
State  of  Illinois.  A  great  new  skyscraper  will  be  erected  to  adjoin  this  build- 
ing after  the  Fair.  This  building  will  take  the  place  of 

The  McCormick  Block  which  stands  on  the  southeast  corner  of  Randolph 
and  Dearborn.  The  McCormick  block  has  for  many  years  been  the  home  of 
large  real  estate  concerns,  advertising  agencies  and  weekly  newspapers.  It 
long  stood  out  in  bold  relief  as  one  of  the  finest  office  buildings  in  Chicago. 
Lately  it  had  to  be  entirely  renovated  in  order  to  secure  tenants.  It  has 
many  modern  improvements  now,  but  still  lacks  the  essential  attractions  of 
a  first-class  office  building.  On  the  opposite  side  of  the  street,  the  southwest 
coraer  of  the  alley  between  Washington  and  Randolph  sts.  stands 

The  Boyce  Building.— This  structure  replaces  the  old  Stewart-Bentley 
building,  which  was  biiilt  soon  after  the  fire.  On  the  opposite  corner  of  the 
alley  is  the  University  Club  building,  an  elegant  business  structure,  the  top 
floors  of  which  are  occupied  by 

The  University  Club,  a  club  made  up  of  the  graduates  of  the  various 
universities  resident  in  Chicago.  On  the  N.  W.  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Ran- 
dolph sts.  is 

The  Borden  Block,  another  of  the  great  structures  which  have  been 
thrown  into  the  shade  by  the  skyscrapers.  To  our  right  as  we  go  north  on 
Deai'born  st.  is 

The  Tremont  House,  one  of  the  most  beautiful  buildings  we  have  to  pre- 
sent to  the  visitor,  although  it  is  by  no  means  considered  now  a  modern 
building.  The  Tremont  House  dates  back  to  the  time  when  Chicago  was 
little  more  than  a  village.  It  has  three  times  been  destroyed  by  fire.  The 
present  building,  from  an  architectural  point  of  view  as  well  as  from  an 
artistic,  is  far  more  pleasing  to  the  eye  than  many  of  the  greater,  though 
rather  bare  and  bald  structures  which  have  been  erected  in  its  vicinity. 
The  old  style  ornamentation  of  the  exterior  is  a  relief  to  one  who  is  com- 
pelled to  gaze  upon  the  severe  plainness  of  many  of  the  most  important 
buildings  of  the  city.  The  hotel  has  long  been  a  favorite  one  for  families, 
although  it  caters  to  commercial  guests.  It  is  furnished  beautifully  and 


THE   GUIDE.  47 

has  250  rooms.  The  property  belongs  to  the  Couch  estate.  The  .hotel  is 
conducted  by  Alvin  Hurlburt  and  W.  S.  Eden,  who  are  also  managers  of  the 
Great  Northern,  farther  down  the  street.  We  have  now  reached  a  point  on 
Dearborn  st.  \vhei*e  interest  in  the  buildings  ceases.  A  ^lock  farther  to  the 
north  South  Water  st.  is  reached,  and  that  is  an  interesting  thoroughfare 
for  the  visitor  at  any  time  of  the  day  or  at  any  season  of  the  year.  I  speak 
of  it  later  on.  We  might  pass  over 

The  Dearborn  St.,  Bridge  which  will  carry  us  into  the  North  side.  Over 
the  bridge  it  is  Dearborn  ave.  The  street  from  the  bi'idge  to  Chicago  ave., 
which  intersects  it  about  a  half  mile  to  our  north,  has  fallen  into  that  state 
of  transition  where  the  resident  householder  drops  out  and  the  boarding 
house  keeper  steps  in.  Dearborn  ave.,  on  either  side  is  lined  with  boarding 
houses  of  the  good,  bad  and  indifferent  classes.  There  is  a  nice  view  of  the 
river  front  from  the  Dearborn  St.,  bridge.  From  this  point  you  can  see  the 
crowd  surging  across  the  State  st.  bridge  on  the  east  and  the  Clark  st. 
bridge  on  the  west.  If  you  walk  to  the  next  corner  to  'the  north,  and  then 
in  an  easterly  direction,  you  will  be  taken  into  a  great  center  of  industry 
where 

The  Odor  of  Soap  largely  prevails.  All  through  this  district  are  manu- 
facturies  and  warehouses,  mostly  of  that  character  which  employ  heavy 
trucks  and  drays,  and  which,  in  turn,  contribute  to  the  tearing  up  of  pave- 
ments and  the  production  of  mud.  I  will  not  ask  you  to  penetrate  this  sec- 
tion now,  but  you  can  do  so  at  your  leisure.  From  Kinzie  and  Dearborn  sts.  to 
the  north  pier  there  are  some  immense  establishments  which  are  worthy  of 
a  visit,  the  most  notable  being  on  River  st.  where  Kirk's  great  soap  fac- 
tory is  located.  The  Dearborn  st.  viaduct  and  bridge  are  at  a  considerable 
elevation  above  the  common  street  level  of  the  city.  From  the  bridge  or 
viaduct  you  have 

A  Magnificent  View  south  on  Dearborn  St.,  north  on  Dearborn  ave.,  or 
east  or  west  along  the  river  front.  To  your  left  you  see  the  towering  struct- 
ures of  the  grocery  district.  The  site  of  old  Fort  Dearborn  is  covered  now 
with  massive  buildings,  almost  wholly  devoted  to  the  grocery  and  kindred 
lines  of  trades.  Pointing  skyward  above  them  all  is  the  great  Masonic  Tem- 
ple, with  its  twenty  stories  surmounted  by  a  roof  garden.  People  walking  on 
the  roof  of  this  building  taking  a  bird's  eye  view  of  the  city  below,  look  like 
flies  at  this  distance.  The  great  Unity  Building  down  Dearborn  st  ,  is 

A  Towering  Silhouette  against  the  leaden  sky,  The  Ashland  block,  on  the 
Cor.  Clark  and  Randolph  sts.,  and  the  Schiller  building,  both  to  your  right, 
the  great  Monadnock  structure  further  to  the  south,  and  the  equally  great 
Manhattan,  still  further  down,  with  the  shadowy  forms  of  the  Monon  and  the 
Pontiac,  all  rise  before  you.  If  the  atmosphere  is  clear,  you  have  a  full  per- 
spective of  Dearborn  st.  to  the  Polk  st.  depot,  with  its  graceful  tower,  a 
thoroughfare  that  is  lined  with  more  great  buildings  than  any  other  perhaps 
in  the  world.  But,  retracing  our  steps,  we  will  endeavor  to  penetrate  one 
block  at  least  of 

South  Water  Street.— This  street  for  a  half  a  dozen  blocks  is  given  over 
wholly  to  the  vegetable,  fruit  and  poultry  trade.  It  is  the  great  market  of 


•IN 


GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 


distribution  for  the  fruit  growers  of  the  south  and  west,  and  for  the  market 
gardeners  and  the  poultry  raisers  of  all  sections  of  the  country.  We  find  it 
in  a  state  of  blockade,  as  usual.  It  is  a  matter  of  surprise  to  people  unac- 
quainted with  this  street  that  a  wagon  or  a  human  being,  having  once  got- 
ten into  the  tangle,  can  possibly  ever  get  out  of  it.  It  would  be  ail  your  life 
is  worth  to  venture  down  the  middle  of  it,  and  you  can  only  pass  along  the 
sidewalks  by  climbing  over  fruit  boxes,  chicken  crates  and  barrels.  There 
is  a  mixed  odor  here  of  strawberries,  onions,  California  grapes,  Florida 

oranges,  pickles,  saner- 
kraut,  hay,  wet  straw,  fish 
and  eggs  of  uncertain  age. 
The  warehouses  on  the 
north  side  of  the  street  back 
upon  the  river,  which,  of 
course,  proves  to  be  a  valu- 
able adjunct  to  the  business 
done  here.  The  river  is 

A  Mighty  Sewer,  and 
serves  to  carry  away  a 
great  deal  of  the  perishable 
matter  that  has  perished, 
in  transit  or  in  stock.  All 
business  done  along  here 
is  strictly  "on  commis- 
sion." The  fruit  growers, 
vegetable  growers,  market 
gardeners  and  poultry 
raisers  of  the  South  and 
West  consign  their  produce 
for  sale  here.  Generally  it 
is  sold  at  the  market  price 
before  night  sets  in,  and 
the  net  results  are  for- 
warded with  striking 
promptness  before  the  biisi- 
ness  of  the  day  is  ended.  A 
day's  business  constitutes 
an  epoch  on  South  Water 
st.  Every  day  opens 

practically  with  a  new  stock  on  hand  and  closes  with  remittances  to  the 
consignors.  The  produce  received  this  morning,  particularly  if  it  is  perish- 
able, must  be  sold  out  and  removed  at  some  price  before  night.  Along 
here,  particularly  as  we  approach  the  corner  of  State  st.,  are  the  great 

Italian 

Depots  for  Oranges  and  Bananas.— These  are  wholesale  supply  houses. 
Immense  quantities  of  tropical  and  semi-tropical  fruit  are  distributed  in 
Chicago.  Refrigerator  cars  bring  these  fruits  from  the  Atlantic,  the  Gulf 


TITLE  AND  TRUST  BUILDINGS. —  SEE  BUILDINGS. 


50  GUIDE    TO   CHICAGO. 

and  Pacific  ports.  Throug-hcmt  the  summer  long-  trains  arrive  from  California 
and  Louisiana  loaded  down  exclusively  with  fruits  or  melons.  It  is  not  an 
unusual  thing  for  75  and  100  car  loads  of  California  pears  and  peaches  to 
arrive  in  a  single  day.  Business  opens  up  on  South  Water  st.  long  before 
the  city  in  general  is  awake.  Through  the  small  hours  of  the  night  the 
refrigerator  cars  lying  in  the  railroad  yards  are  being  emptied  into  trucks. 
These  trucks  convey  the  fruit  and  vegetables  to  the  South  Water  st.  com- 
mission men.  Here,  as  early  as  3  o'clock  in  the  morning,  the  street  is 

Alive  with  Buyers  and  Sellers.— Marketing  is  done  for  the  great  hotles  of 
Chicago  usually  before  daylight.  The  thousands  of  fruit  stands  throughout 
the  city  obtain  their  supplies  here,  as  well  as  the  thousands  of  vegetable 
dealers,  before  the  business  of  the  city  is  under  way.  There  are  long  hours 
for  everybody  doing  business  on  South  Water  st.  Proprietors  and  employes 
are  usually  at  their  posts  from  4  o'clock  in  the  morning  until  6  o'clock  in  the 
evening.  The  butter  and  egg  exchange,  the  produce  exchange,  the  rooms  of 
the  Fruit  Growers'  Association,  where  heavy  transactions  take  place,  are 
all  located  in  this  vicinity.  The  great  meat  markets  of  the  city  are  located 
elsewhere,  and  we  wrill  come  to  them  by  and  by.  Now  let  us  start  from 

The  State  Street  Bridge,  and  before  we  are  through  with  this  day's  trip 
we  will  endeavor  to  do  a  portion,  at  least,  of  the  great  retail  thoroughfare 
of  Chicago.  State  St.,  as  it  opens  out  before  us  from  the  slight  elevation  on 
which  we  stand,  is  one  of  the  grandest  commercial  arteries  in  the  world.  In 
the  introduction  to  these  trips  I  have  mentioned  the  fact  to  you  that 

State  St.  is  the  longest  thoroughfare  in  the  city,  extending  as  it  does, 
from  North  ave.  to  the  southern  limits,  a  distance  of  eighteen  miles.  We 
have  nothing  to  do  with  State  St.,  north  of  the  bridge  to-day.  It  is  of  State 
st.  to  the  south  that  I  want  to  speak.  There  are  streets  in  Paris,  especially 
those  converging  from  the  Grand  Opera  House,  which,  by  reason  of  the 
unifoi-mity  of  the  style  of  architecture  so  closely  adhered  to  during  the  last 
empire,  present  a  more  pleasing  view  at  first  sight,  than  does  State  st.,  from 
this  point.  This  very  uniformity  in  style  soon  becomes  tiresome,  and  the 
visitor  is  half  inclined  to  wish  that  it  were  broken  here  and  there,  no  matter 
how. 

If  You  Are  from  Paris,  State  st.  will  remind  you  of  the  Avenue  de  1'Opera, 
or  of  the  Avenue  Malsherbes,  from  the  steps  of  the  Madelaine ;  if  from  Berlin, 
Friedrich  Strasse  or  Leipzieger  Strasse  will  be  recalled  to  your  mind ;  If 
from  Vienna,  you  will  see  a  resemblance  to  some  sections  of  the  Ring 
Strasse;  if  from  London,  Regent  st.  may  be  suggested;  if  from  Dublin, 
a  part  of  Sackville  st.,  although  you  will  miss  the  Nelson  monument.  All  cf 
the  great  streets  of  the  world  to-day  bear  a  strikli_,>  resemblance  to  each 
other,  although  there  is  in  reality  a  vast  difference  between  them.  But  let 
us  be  moving.  On  our  left,  between  the  river  and  South  Water  st.,  is 

The  Central  Market,  about  the  nearest  approach  we  have  in  these  days 
to  a  public  market  house  in  Chicago.  This  is  in  the  nature  of  a  shamble, 
conducted  to  some  extent  on  the  English  system.  It  has  not  proved  altogether 
popular  or  successful.  We  pass  South  Water  st.  and  pause  for  a  momen  t 
to  look  east  and  west.  It  is  confusion  on  either  side.  Moving  south  we  po-— 


THE    GUIDE.  51 

the  great  wholesale  grocery  establishment  of  Reid,  Murdoch  &  Co.  This  is 
their  principal  but  not  their  only  warehouse.  East  of  here,  on  Michigan 
ave.,  extending-  to  Central  ave.,  they  have  several  large  warehouses.  We 
pass  a  number  of  pi-ominent  concerns,  among  them  the  immense  glass  and 
queensware  house  of  Pitkin  &  Brooks,  at  the  N.  E.  Cor.  State  and  Lake  sts. 
We  pass 

Lake  Street,  formerly  the  great  retail  street  of  the  city.  Before  the  fire 
Lake  st.  was  what  State  st.  is  to-day.  The  principal  dry  goods  houses  were 
located  upon  it.  It  is  now  given  over  to  the  hardware,  cutlery,  leather,  rub- 
ber and  machinery  trades.  We  are  now  in  the  center  of  what  was  formerly 
the  South  Market  square  of  the  city.  Here,  in  other  days,  stood  a  market 
house  after  the  fashion  of  the  time,  in  which  was  located  a  police  station  and 
a  volunteer  fire  company's  apparatus.  [See  "  Market  Squares."]  The  fact  that 
this  portion  of  State  st.  was 

Once  a  Market  Square,  accounts  for  its  great  width.  But  it  does  not 
explain  how  the  street  came  to  be  widened  as  far  south  as  Madison  st.  There 
was  a  movement  on  foot  years  ago  to  increase  the  width  of  the  street  to  the 
south  line  of  Madison.  Meetings  of  citizens  and  special  meetings  of  the  city 
council  were  held  for  the  purpose  of  promoting  this  scheme.  Resolutions 
were  adopted  and  meaningless  ordinances  were  passed,  looking  to  the 
desired  end.  A  certain  man  owned  the  greater  part  of  the  frontage  on  the 
west  side  of  State,  between  Madison  and  Randolph  sts.,  where  all  those  ele- 
gant buildings  are  standing  now.  Property  was  not  quite  so  valuable  then 
as  it  is  now,  but  a  lot  on  State  st.  represented  a  small  fortune  even  in  those 
days.  The  man  who  owned  this  frontage  was  a  quiet,  thoughtful  business 
man  then,  as  he  is  now.  His  name  was  and  is 

Potter  Palmer.— While  the  citizens  meetings  and  the  city  council  meet- 
ings were  passing  resolutions  and  enacting  meaningless  ordinances,  Mr. 
Palmer  was  developing  a  plan  for  the  widening  of  State  St.,  in  his  own 
mind.  This  plan  was  a  simple  one.  He  carried  it  out  by  presenting  the  city 
of  Chicago  with  the  frontage  taken  from  his  own  lots  necessary  to  give  this 
section  of  State  st.  a  uniform  width.  It  was  done  so  quickly  and  so  quietly 
that  the  citizens  and  the  city  council  were  taken  by  surprise.  The  sacrifice 
made  by  Mr.  Palmer  for  the  public  good  was  a  great  one.  Every  foot  of  the 
property  he  so  generously  gave  away  represented  a  large  sum  of  money. 
Nobody  has  ever  heard  him  speak  of  it,  however;  only  old  citizens  remember 
it  now.  Potter  Palmer's 

Public  Spirit  and  generosity  made  State  st.  what  it  is  to-day,  for  if  it  had 
not  been  widened  the  retail  business  would  have  long  since  sought  another 
avenue  not  far  away ;  and  while  I  am  on  this  subject  I  want  to  say  to  you, 
not  exactly  what  I  think  about  Potter  Palmer,  but  what  all  Chicagoans,  who 
know  anything  aboxit  the  man,  feel.  His  influence  has  always  been  a  mighty 
if  a  silent  force  in  the  development  of  this  great  city.  He  has 

-L\V'<v/'  Lost  Faith  in  Chicago. — Time  and  again  his  counsel,  his  judgment 
and  his  purse  have  saved  the  credit  of  the  community  abroad.  When  the 
reaction  which  followed  the  civil  war  set  in,  when  values  became  demor- 
alized, when  the  shrinkage  in  prices  destroyed  the  capital  of  sonic  of  the 


52  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

strongest  houses  in  existence  here,  Potter  Palmer  stood  as  firm  as  a  rock 
between  our  merchants  and  bankruptcy,  and  induced  their  creditors  to 
make  fair  and  honorable  terms.  After  the  great  fire,  though  one  of  the 
heaviest  sufferers,  he  was  among  the  first  to  step  into  the  debris  and  pro- 
claim that  Chicago  should  not  only  be  rebuilt,  but  that  she  should  arise 
from  her  ashes  greater  and  grander  than  ever.  The  story  of  the 

Rebuilding  of  the  Palmer  House,  which  we  will  see  further  down  the 
street,  if  properly  told  would  read  like  a  fairy  tale.  By  day  and  by  night, 
under  the  blaze  of  the  sun,  and  in  the  glare  of  torches  and  calcium  lights, 
the  work  never  ceased  until  the  magnificent  structure  was  completed. 
Practically  penniless  then,  and  for  years  afterward,  Potter  Palmer  com- 
manded unlimited  credit  at  home  and  abroad.  The  man's  integrity  was  his 
capital,  and  it  secured  for  him  the  means  whereby  he  has  been  enabled, 
during  the  past  twenty  years,  not  only  to  retrieve  the  fortune  he  had  lost  in 
a  single  night,  but  to  build  up  a  new  and  a  greater  one. 


THIRD    Df\Y. 

The  Great  Masonic  Temple— Twenty  Stories  High— Description  of  the  Exter- 
ior and  Interior— The  Magnificent  Vestibule— A  City  in  Itself— Masonic 
Halls — From  the  Roof  Garden — Four  States  Within  the  Range  of  Our 
Vision — The  City  of  Chicago  Spread  Out  Before  Us  Like  an  Open  Book — 
Birdseye  Views  to  the  North,  West  and  South — Points  of  Interest — Study- 
ing the  Geography,  Topography  and  Architecture  of  the  City  at  an  Ele- 
vation of  nearly  Three  Hundred  Feet. 

To-day  we  devote  to  the  great  Masonic  Temple,  towering  skyward  above 
us.  This  is  the  highest  building  in  Chicago.  The  roof  garden  at  the  top  is 
three  stories  higher  than  the  tower  of  the  Auditorium.  It  is  the  most  mar- 
velous stucture,  taken  as  a  whole,  in  the  center  of  the  business  district.  The 
site  it  covers  measures  170  feet  on  State  st.  by  114  feet  on  Randolph  st.,  and  is 
entirely  surrounded  by  streets  and  alleys.  The  building,  twenty  stories  or 
265  feet  high,  rests  on  cement  and  iron  foundations,  extending  far  out  into 
the  adjacent  thoroughfares,  and  the  superstructure  is  of  steel  and  perfectly 
Fire- Proof  from  Bottom  to  Top.^-The  first  three  stories,  as  you  see,  are 
faced  with  dressed  red  Montello  granite  from  Wisconsin,  with  glimpses 
of  carving,  the  corners  being  ornamented  with  electral  layers.  The  remain- 
ing stories  are  faced  with  gray  brick  that  is  indistinguishable  from  granite, 
each  measuring  4x5x14  inches.  Between  the  sixteenth  and  seventeenth 
stories  terra  cotta  of  the  same  shade  is  used.  No  particular  style  of  archi- 
tecture can  be  predicated  of  this  building,  though  the  arches  visible  on  some 
parts  of  the  gigantic  facade  suggest  the  Romanesque.  The  design  presents 
a  faint  resemblance  of  a  main  building  in  the  center  with  wings  on  each 
side.  These  wings  terminate  in  steep  gables  on  the  east  and  west  fronts, 
connected  by  the  steep  roof  of  the  central  portion  of  the  structure.  There 
are  seventeen  stories  below  the  cornice  and  three  above  it.  The  windows  of 
the  second  and  sixteenth  stories  are  combined  in  gro  ips  of  two  with  deep 


I 


[.Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

MASONIC  TEMPLE,  STATE  AND  RANDOLPH  ST$. 

[See  "  Guide."] 


54 


GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


Roman  arches.    The  seventeenth  story  is  treated  separately  from  the  rest 
of  each  facade. 

The  Entrance  is  through  an  immense  granite  arch  28  feet  wide  and  42 
feet  high,  in  the  center  of  the  State  st.  front.    This  gorgeous  edifice  has  a 

magnificent  interior  court, 
the  floor  of  which  measures 
90  feet  north  and  south  by 
45  feet  east  and  west.  The 
walls  of  this  court  are 
faced  from  bottom  to  top 
with  different  colored  mar- 
bles and  at  the  east  side  of 
it  a  bronze  staircase  as- 
cends from  the  ground 
floor  to  the  roof.  The  in- 
terior finish  of  the  building 
is  of  mosaic  floors,  mai'ble 
and  onyx  walls  and  old  oak 
wood- work.  East  of  the 
court,  disposed  in  a  semi- 
circle, are  fourteen  pass- 
enger and  two  freight  eleva- 
tors, running  from  the 
basement  to  the  top  and 
making  the 

Round  Trip  Every  Three 
Minutes. — Thewhole  build- 
ing is  heated  by  steam  and 
supplied  with  electrical 
and  pneumatic  connections 
in  great  profusion.  The 
basement  is  devoted  to  an 
immense  cafe,  with  its 
appurtenances  and  wait- 
ing rooms,  toilet  rooms, 
coal  rooms  and  boiler 
rooms.  Perhaps  the  most 
surprising  and  interesting 
thing  that  can  be  said  about 
this  magnificent  building 
is  that  every  floor  of  it 
from  the  pavement  to  the 
eleventh  floor  inclusive  is 
SECURITY  BUILDING.— See  Buildings.  Fitted  up  for  Shops.— 

There  are  also  four  shop- 
like  booths  on  the  floor  of  the  court.  Above  the  sixteenth  floor,  and  beneath 
the  roof,  everything  is  sacred  to  Masonry.  On  the  seventeenth  floor,  the 
entire  south  wing,  50x109  feet  in  size,  is  devoted  to  a 


THE   GUIDE.  55 

Drill  Hall  for  the  Knights  Templar.— The  similar  space  on  the  north  wing 
is  divided  between  the  Blue  Lodge  rooms.  The  intermediate  room  on  the 
State  st.  front,  40x83  feet  in  size,  is  a  banqueting  hall.  On  the  eighteenth 
floor,over  the  drill  hall,  is  a  gorgeous  consistory  room,  with  arched  roof  and 
galleries  on  three  sides.  Over 

The  Banqueting  Hall  are  parlors.  Over  the  Blue  Lodge  rooms,  is  the 
Apollo  Commandery  Preceptory.  In  the  remaining  two  stories  are  a  num- 
ber of  smaller  rooms.  Even  here  the  description  does  not  end,  for  on  the 
roof  of  the  building  there  are 

Hanging  Gardens  covered  with  a  glass  roof  and  walls  thrjt  rival  the 
abode  of  the  gods.  We  will  probably  find  refreshments  up  there,  but  every- 
thing that  inebriates  is  remorselessly  excluded.  From  this  roof  garden  may 
be  obtained  the  most 

Comprehensive  View  of  Chicago  and  vicinity  within  the  reach  of  the 
visitor.  It  will  take  us  an  hour  or  two  to  go  through  the  shops  fronting  for 
eleven  stories  on  the  interior  court.  Here  we  find  bazars  o* 'every  descrip- 
tion, millinery  and  jewelry  shops,  hairdressers'  establishments,  elegantly 
fitted  up  offices  of  physicians  who  make  specialties  of  ear  and  eye  diseases, 
and  offices  of  professional  men  generally.  A  half  day  really  ought  to  be 
given  to  a  study  of  the  Masonic  Temple.  We  will  take  one  of  the  elevators. 
By  paying  25  cents  each  we  are  admitted  to 

The  Roof  Garden  at  the  top.  To  the  east  stretches  the  blue  waters  of 
Lake  Michigan.  We  can  plainly  discern  the  outlines  of  the  Michigan  coast 
on  the  other  side  of  the  horse-shoe  bend.  To  the  south  is  the  shore  line  of 
Indiana.  In  front  of  us  and  for  miles  to  the  north,  is  the  shore  line  of  Illi- 
nois. In  the  dim  distance,  but  clearly  visible,  is  the  shoreline  of  Wisconsin. 
So  that 

Four  States  of  the  American  Union  are  within  the  range  of  our  vision. 
Michigan  City  is  plainly  visible  across  the  lake,  as  is  also  South  Chicago 
and  the  numerous  manufacturing  suburbs  of  the  great  Calumet  region. 

The  White  City  in  Jackson  Park  is  almost  at  our  feet.  Jackson  Park 
itself  looks  very  contemptible  compared  with  the  vast  area  of  territory  be- 
neath our  gaze.  The  great  buildings  of  the  World's  Fair,  look  like  toy 
houses.  The  Manufactures  and  Liberal  Arts  building,  which  is  large 
enough  to  accommodate  the  houses  and  inhabitants  of  a  village  of  five  thous- 
and people,  looks  little  larger  than  a  shed  and  not  much  more  attractive. 
The  Illinois,  Government  and  Administration  buildings  with  their  beautiful 
and  graceful  towers  look  squatty  and  mean.  The  great 

Neticork  of  Railroad  lines  at  our  feet  resemble  silken  threads,  and  the 
trains  moving  along  the  lake  shore  on  the  Illinois  Central  look  ridiculously 
small.  The  buzz  of  the.  great  city  reaches  us  here,  but  it  is  simply  a  buzz. 
We  are  away  from  the  roar  and  jumble  and  confusion  of  the  streets  below. 
To  the  north,  and  almost  beneath  our  feet  also,  are  the  Chicago  ave.  Water' 
Works,  the  beginning  of  the  great  Lake  Shore  Drive.  The  Lake  Shore  Drive 
is  -.imply  a  country  road  as  we  look  at  it  from  this  point,  and  it  runs  into 
^'Icoln  Park  which  appears  to  be  only  a  moderate  sized  bit  of  forest  and 
*  rubbery.  Beyond  is  lake  View  and  Edgewater, 


56  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

We  Can  See  the  Cemeteries  of  Graceland  and  Rose  Hill  plainly.  There  is 
Ravenswood,  Rogers  Park  and  Evanston.  Those  large  dark  spots  are  the 
University  buildings.  Beyond  on  the  lake  shore  is  Wilmette,  Winnetka  and 
we  can  imagine  at  least,  that  we  see  Lake  Forest,  Kenosha  and  Waukegan. 
Now  let  us  turn  our  backs  on  Lake  Michigan  and  take 

A  Birdseye  Vieiv  of  the  city.  I  will  try  to  point  out  for  you  the  objects 
and  places  of  greatest  interest.  A  little  to  the  northwest,  apparently  jxist 
below  us,  is  the  central  station  of  the  North- Western  railway.  This  is  the 
railway  which  penetrates  the  great  suburban  districts  to  the  north,  north- 
west and  west  of  Chicago.  You  can  plainly  discern  the  broad  black  path- 
ways over  which  its  tracks  run  and  diverge  from  the  depot  at  the  corner  of 
Wells  and  Kinzie  sts.  The  tracks  leading  to  the  right  pass  in  a  northeasterly 
direction  toward  the  lake  shore.  Where  you  see  a  plainly  denned  spur  run- 
ning toward  the 

North  Branch  of  the  River  away  out  in  a  north  westerly  portion  of  thecitj-, 
is  Clybourne  Junction,  where  the  Wisconsin  Division  of  the  road  begins. 
From  this  point  the  Milwaukee  Division,  after  crossing  the  river  at  Deering 
station,  takes  an  almost  northeasterly  direction,  passing  through  Gross 
Park,  Ravenswood,  Rose  Hill,  Rogers  Park,  South  Evanston,  Evanston  and 
Wilmette,  and  from  this  point  to  Milwaukee  the  road  hugs  the  lake  shore. 
The  district  which  this  division  of  the  North-Western  penetrates  for  15  miles 
north  of  Chicago  proper  you  will  notice  is  dotted,  almost  covered,  with  subur- 
ban residences.  This  is  destined  to  be  to  Chicago  what  the  Hudeon  River 
district  is  to  New  York. 

lieyond  Lincoln  Park  to  the  left  you  see  the  marble  monuments  and  tomb- 
stones of  Rose  Hill  reflecting  the  sunlight.  To  the  north  you  behold  another 
cemetery  close  to  the  lake  shore.  This  is  Calvary.  Closer  to  you  is  Graceland 
and  severa'l  smaller  cemeteries  used  by  foreigners  as  their  special  burying 
grounds.  The  roadway  which  passes  by  these  cemeteries  is  Clark  st.  for  a 
distance  and  then  Evanston  av.  It  finally  becomes  Chicago  av.  until  it  leaves 
Evanston  when  it  is  known  as  the  Milwaukee  road.  In  olden  times  this  road 
from  Chicago  hundreds  of  miles  northward  was  known  as  the  Green  Bay 
road.  It  is  the  road  traversed  by  the  pioneers  and  early  settlers  of  the  north- 
v/est.  Near  the  Clybourne  Junction  on  the  bank  of  the  river  are  the  great 
,gricultural  implement  works  of  the 

William  Deering  Company. — This  is  called  Deering  station.  It  is  sur- 
rounded by  great  terra  cotta  and  brick  works,  and  down  the  river  about 
a  half-mile  southeast  from  the  Deering  works  you  can  plainly  discern  the 
North  Chicago  rolling  mill  of  the  Illinois  Steel  company.  This  is  one  of  the 
greatest  steel  works  in  the  world.  On  the  banks  of  the  north  branch  of  the 
river  are  distilleries,  breweries  and  immense  elevators.  You  can  plainly 
see  the 

Name  of  Armour  on  one  of  these  elevators.  This  is  the  greatest  grain 
storage  warehouse  in  the  city.  Another  line  of  railroad  crosses  the  North- 
Western  track  at  the  Kinzie  street  bridge  and  penetrates  the  great  manufac- 
turing districts  of  the  North  side,  finally  emerging  into  the  country  at 
Buena  Park.  This  line  passes  through 


58  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Beautiful  Edgeirater,  Birchwood  and  other  elegant  suburbs  directly  on 
the  lake  shore,  before  it  meets  and  runs  parallel  with  the  North-Western 
road  at  Evanston.  This  is  the  Evanston  division  of  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee 
<fe  St.  Paul  railway.  You  will  notice  that  the  river  makes  a  curve  to  our 
right,  apparently  surrounding  a  strip  of  territory  extending  qxiite  a  distance 
to  the  northwest.  This  strip  is  surrounded  by  docks  and  is  covered  with  . 
immense  lumber  yards  and  coal  sheds.  It  is  known  as 

Goose  Island,  and  you  will  plainly  see  why  it  has  been  given  that  pecu- 
liar name.  It  is  shaped  almost  precisely  like  the  body  of  a  goose.  The  time 
is  not  very  far  back  when  property  on  Goose  Island  might  have  been  pur- 
chased very  cheaply,  but  it  is  now  valuable.  Every  inch  of  it  is  covered.  You 
can  easily  distinguish  the  tower  of  the  North  side  water  works.  This  was  for 
years  the  principal  pumping  station  of  Chicago's  water  system.  Directly 
opposite  to  it,  out  in  the  lake,  is 

The  Original  Crib. — A  tunnel  leads  under  the  lake  from  the  crib  to  the 
water  works,  and  another  tunnel  under  the  city  from  this  water  works  to 
the  West  side  pumping  station  at  the  foot  of  Ashland  ave.  This  is  only  one 
of  several  tunnels  through  which  lake  water  is  now  conveyed  to  Chicago. 
[See  "  Water  Works."]  Close  to  the  North  side  water  works  is  the  steeple  of 
The  Roman  Catholic  Cathedral.— Near  by  is  the  Sacred  Heart  Convent, 
following  Chicago  ave.  westwardly  you  notice  a  peculiarly  shaped  brick 
building  on  the  corner  of  LaSalle  ave.  This  is 

Moody' 's  Tabernacle,  a  church  built  for  and  named  after  the  great  evan- 
gelist, by  his  admirers  in  Chicago.  It  is  conducted  on  the  Evangelistic  plan 
and  has  one  of  the  largest  Sundayschools  in  the  city.  Not  very  far  on  this 
side  of  it  is  the  beautiful  little 

St.  Vincent's  Asylum  for  foundlings  and  deserted  children.  Beyond,  and 
almost  directly  to  the  west,  are  the  buildings  of  the  McCormick  Seminary 
the  Presbyterian  University  of  Chicago.  Out  in  this  direction,  and  beyond 
the  crowded  city,  we  see  the  suburbs  of  Maplewood,  Avondale,  Grayland, 
and  to  the  extreme  northwest  the  Bohemian  cemetery. 

Looking  Westwardly,  we  can  trace  the  line  of  boulevards  which  connects 
the  western  parks  with  the  south  and  north  park  systems.  This  is  Humboldt 
Park  to  the  right,  Garfield  Park  directly  to  our  west,  and  Douglass  Park  to 
our  left.  Out  in  this  direction  you  see  numerous  suburbs,  among  which  are 
Austin  and  Oak  Park.  West  of  Garfield  Park  are 

The  Grant  Locomotive  Works,  and  to  the  left  are  the  lines  of  the  Chicago, 
Burlington  <fe  Quincy,  the  Atchison,  Topeka  &  Santa  Fe  and  other  railroad 
lines.  Coming  nearer  toward  the  center  of  the  city,  we  can  plainly  see 
Western  ave.,  which  for  many  years  was  a  sort  of  boundary  line.  Now  there 
appears  to  be  as  much  of  the  city  west  as  there  is  east  of  it.  We  notice  a 
boulevard  extending  almost  from  the  river  to  Garfield  Park.  That  is  Wash- 
ington blvd.  The  green  spot  about  a  mile  from  the  river  is  Union  Park. 
From  this,  running  south  to  Twelfth  st.  blvd.,  is  Ashland  blvd.,  the  most 
beautiful  of  the  West  side  residence  avenues.  A  little  to  the  left  and  east  of 
Union  Park  is  Jefferson  Park.  The  latter,  as  well  as  Union  Park,  you  will 
notice,  is  well 


THE 


59 


Surrounded  by  Church  Spires.— That  is  the  Union  Park  Congregational 
church,  which  rises  from  the  corner  of  Washington  and  Ashland  blvds.  It 
has  one  of  the  largest  congregations  in  the  city.  South  of  it  is  the 

Third  Presbyterian  Church,  a  beautiful  edifice.  Following  Ashland  blvd. 
to  the  south,  we  see  the  West  side  pumping  works,  and  here  we  find  our- 
selves gazing  into  the  great  lumber  district  of  the  city,  which  occupies  many 
square  miles  of  territory.  To  the  east  and  south  are  the 

Union  Stock  Yards.— Those  buildings  are  the  great  packing  houses,  and 
the  long  lines  of  pens  are  plainly  visible.  Directly  north  of  the  Union  Stock 
Yards  is  Bridgeport,  and  north  of  this,  on  Twelfth  St.,  we  see  the  steeple  of 

The  Jesuit  Church.— The 
Bridgeport  and  Union  Stock 
Yards  districts  are  given  up 
almost  wholly  to  manufac- 
tories. Down  there  are  the 
great  glue  works,  soap  works, 
rendering  mills,  packing  houses 
and  cold  storage  warehouses, 
all  connected  nearly  or  re- 
motely with  the  live  stock 
trade.  At  Bridgeport  begins 
the 

Illinois  and  Michigan  Canal 
which  runs  parallel  with  the 
Chicago  &  Alton  railway 
through  the  great  quarries  of 
Lemont.  Along  this  line  is  to 
be  constructed  the  great  shir) 
and  drainage  canal.  Coming 
down  a  little  closer  we  catch 
a  glimpse  of  Halsted  st.  and 
our  eye  is  attracted  to  the 
stately  buildings  which  rise  to 
the  west  of  it  on  Madison  st. 
On  the  left  side  is 

The  John  M.  Smyth  Build- 
ing and  on  the  right  the  Haymarket  building.  Closer  still  is  the  river 
spanned  by  swinging  bridges  at  intervals  and  filled  with  shipping.  Now 
we  are  in  the  heart  of  the  South  side,  and  the  great  structures  of  the 
business  portion  of  city  are  seen  on  every  side.  The  fourteen  story  struc- 
ture to  our  left  is  the  Security  building  on  the  cor.  of  Fifth  ave.  and  Madi- 
son st.  One  block  east  is  the  Tacoma  building,  also  fourteen  stories  in 
height.  South  of  it  is  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Association  building, 
on  La  Salle  st.,  a  beautiful  structure,  and  south  of  that  is 

The  Woman's  Temple. — Then  comes  the  Calumet  building,  the  Home 
Insurance  building,  the  Insurance  Exchange,  the  Rookery,  the  great  build- 
ings of  the  Board  of  Trade  district,  the  Board  of  Trade  building  itself,  the 


WOMANS'  TEMPLE.— See  Buildings. 


60  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Rialto  and  the  Chicago,  Rock  Island  and  Pacific  depot.  In  a  parallel  line 
with  these  buildings,  a  little  to  the  right  are  the  Ashland,  Schiller,  Unity, 
Chicago  Opera  House,  Cook  County  Abstract,  Hartford,  Chamber  of  Com- 
mei-ce,  Monadnock,  Great  Northern,  Manhattan,  Monon,  Ellsworth  and 
Pontiac  buildings.  Farther  towards  the  east  and  beginning  almost  at  our 
feet  are  the  Central  Music  Hall,  Marshall  Field's  retail  house,  Venetian  and 
Columbus  buildings  and  the  great  Leiter  building  occupied  by  Siegel,  Cooper 
&  Co.  farther  to  the  south.  The  great 

Hotel  Edifices  and  Churches  of  the  South  side,  lining  Michigan,  Wabash 
aves.  and  State  st.,  as  well  as  the  beautiful  boulevards  which  connect  with 
Washington  and  Jackson  Park,  and  the  magnificent  residences  of  Prairie 
and  Calumet  aves.  and  Michigan  blvd.  are  plainly  seen.  Jackson  Park 
with  its 

World 's  Fair  Buildings  and  Midway  Plaisance  with  its  villages,  natatori- 
ums  and  towers,  Washington  Park  and  Washington  Park  race  course  appear 
to  be  only  a  stone's  throw  away.  To  the  south  of  Washington  Park,  which 
is  plainly  recognizable  by  its  great  grand  stand,  is  Oak  woods  Cemetery.  To 
the  right  is  Englewood,  to  the  left  Grand  Crossing  and  South  Chicago. 
Further  south  on  the  shore  of  Lake  Calumet  is 

Beautiful  Pullman  and  opposite  to  it  is  Irondale.  Around  about  Lake 
Calumet  are  numerous  manufacturing  suburbs.  The  little  body  of  water  to 
the  east  is  Hyde  Lake.  Just  east  of  that  is  Wolf  Lake,  a  part  of  which  is 
within  the  limits  of  Chicago  and  a  part  in  the  State  of  Indiana.  East  of  this 
again  is  Lake  George.  I  would  advise  you  to  spend  an  hour  or  so  on  this 
roof  studying  the  geograjhy  of  the  city  and  taking  in  the  points  of  interest 
as  you  can  only  see  them  irom  this  elevation. 


FOURTH     DfVY. 

The  Elevator  Service  of  the  Masonic  Temple — A  Description  that  Fits 
All  the  Great  Buildings— Marvellous  Speed  — Recent  Improvements- 
Interesting  Figures— Central  Music  Hall— Music  Colleges— The  Young 
Lady  Pupils— Termini  of  the  Horse  and  Cable  Car  Lines— Marshall  Field  & 
Co. — The  New  Building — Something  About  the  House — The  Great  Retail 
Stores  of  State  St.— Corner  Drug  Stores— What  They  Do  in  Chicago- 
Buck  &  Raynor's  and  South  to  Adams  St. 

I  believe  you  obtained  a  very  fair  idea  of  the  "lay"  of  the  city  from  the 
roof  garden  of  the  Masonic  Temple.  Before  we  abandon  that  building  alto- 
gether, and  continue  our  trip  down  State  St.,  I  think  I  ought  to  tell  you 
something  of  its  passenger  elevator  system.  Largest  of  any  single  elevator 
plant  in  the  world,  it  leaves  behind  that  of  any  other  in  Chicago.  Even  those 
of  the  great  Eiffel  tower,  of  Paris,  and  the  World  building,  of  New  York,  do 
not  compare  with  it.  The  passenger  elevator  systems  in  operation  in  the 
great  office  buildings  of  Chicago  are  all  interesting.  In  our  trips  around  the 
city  I  will  not  stop  hereafter  to  talk  of  them  to  you,  but  will  make  this 
description  and  information  concerning  the  Masonic  Temple  system  answer 


62  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

for  all.  In  construction  ;he  system  is  to  a  certain  extent  similar  to  that  in 
use  in 

The  Eiffel  Tower,  but  with  a  new  and  important  contrivance,  the  inven- 
tion of  Kemierly  Bryan,  chief  engineer  of  the  Hale  Elevator  company,  whose 
system  was  used  in  the  Eiffel  tower.  The  Eiffel  tower  has  two  elevators. 
The  Temple  has  seventeen — fourteen  for  passengers  and  three  for  freight. 
The  fourteen  elevators  are  capable  of  carrying  seventy  thousand  persons 
every  day  at  the  least  calculation.  They  are  run  on  the  hydraulic  principle 
and  the  pumping  apparatus  used  in  connection  therewith  is  capable  of 
supplying  water  every  day  to  a  town  of  sixty  thousand  inhabitants.  This 
calculation  is  made  on  the  basis  of  the  water  supply  of  most  large  cities. 
The  Masonic  Temple  elevators  do  not  run  so  high  as  those  of  the  Eiffel  tower, 
but  they  go  higher  than  those  of  the  other  great  office  buildings  of  this  city, 
including  the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  the  Rookery,  the  Auditorium  tower, 
and  than  those  in  the  Philadelphia  City  Hall  tower  and  the  World  building 
dome  in  New  York  city.  In  the  Eiffel  tower  the  distance  run  by  the  eleva- 
tors was  480  feet ;  in  the  Temple  the  distance  is  258  feet.  The  machines  in 
the  Eiffel  tower  were  built  to  carry  7,500  pounds  weight  each  trip,  but  there 
were  only  two  of  them.  In  the  Temple  the  fourteen  are  intended  to  carry 
2,500  pounds  each  every  trip. 

The  Wire  Ropes  used  in  the  Masonic  Temple  elevators  would,  if  stretched 
out,  reach  a  distance  of  sixteen  miles.  There  are  also  used  chains  in  con- 
nection with  them  that  would  in  one  length  stretch  over  a  distance  of  3,920 
feet.  The  amount  of -water  that  passes  through  the  pumping  machines  every 
day  would  make  a  trout  pond  240  feet  long,  100  feet  wide  and  5  feet  deep. 
The  water  which  goes  through  the  cylinders,  however,  is  not  wasted.  It  is 
constantly  circulated  between  the  cellar  and  roof  of  the  big  building.  Down 
in  the  cellar  there  is  tank  room  for  30,000  gallons  of  water;  the  roof  is 
intended  to  store  20,000  gallons.  Three 

Great  Pumping  Machines,  capable  of  accommodating  60,000  people  with 
water  are  constantly  engaged  pumping  the  water  to  the  roof,  down  from 
which  it  again  descends,  exerting  a  hydraulic  pressure  of  140  pounds  to 
the  square  inch  to  set  the  cars  flying  on  their  trips.  The  term  flying  is  hardly 
too  strong  to  express  the  speed  of  the  elevators.  They  go  up  and  down  at 
the  rate  of  750  feet  a  minute,  or  nearly  9  miles  an  hour.  Each  elevator  makes 
a  trip  every  three  minutes,  and  each  trip  covers  516  feet.  If  the  distance 
covered  by  the  fourteen  passenger  elevators  were  in  a  continuous  line,  it 
would  reach  to  a  length  of  7,224  feet.  The  elevators  make 

Twenty  Trips  an  Hour. — One  of  the  main  points  in  the  elevators  in  an 
economic  way  is  a  contrivance  to  balance  the  enormous  weight  of  the  sus- 
pending ropes.  In  ordinary  elevators  considerable  hydraulic  power  is  wasted 
in  lifting  the  ropes.  This  is  called  a  dead  weight.  To  offset  this,  chains  con- 
nected with  weights  are  attached  to  the  bottom  of  the  cars  so  that  a  counter- 
poise is  always  maintained  between  the  ropes  and  the  chains,  no  matter  at 
what  point  the  car  may  be  during  transit.  This  and  the  securing  of  abso- 
lute safety  in  traveling,  starting  and  stopping  were  some  of  the  big  problems 
to  be  considered  in  the  running  of  elevators  to  such  a  height.  The  gravity 
wedge 

Safety  Apparatus  is  used.  This  is  an  attachment  that  if  the  ropes  should 
break  will  be  forced  into  the  wooden  guides  and  stop  the  downward  force 
of  the  car.  The  more  heavily  laden  the  car  is  the  more  strongly  will  the 
safety  apparatus  be  thrust  into  the  guides  and  the  more  firmly  wrill  it  hold. 
The  cars  are  of  iron,  handsomely  designed,  and  each  is  six  feet  square.  So 
much  for  the  Masonic  elevator  service.  The  service  of  many  of  the  other 
great  buildings  of  the  city  will  attract  your  attention  and  admiration  on  our 
rounds.  The  service  in  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  building,  the  Rookery 
building,  the  Woman's  Temple,  the  Unity  building,  the  Manhattan  building, 
the  Monadnock  building,  and  in  fact  in  all  of  the  great  office  buildings  is 
perfect.  Notwithstanding  that  hundreds  of  thousands  of  people  are  carried 
daily  in  these  elevators,  and  that  during  business  hours  they  are  fr  quently 
crowded, 


THE   OtTIPE.  63 

Accidents  Are  Very  Rare. — When  they  occur,  they  are  almost  invariably 
due  to  the  carlessness  of  passengers,  who  leave  the  car  before  it  stops,  or 
attempt  to  enter  it  while  in  motion.  Leaving  the  Masonic  Temple  behind 
us  we  come  to 

Central  Music  Hall  on  the  opposite  corner  of  State  and  Randolph  sts. 
This  elegant  structure  was  erected  by  a  number  of  public  spirited  capital- 
ists, whose  interest  was  aroused  by  the  late  George  B.  Carpenter,  a  brilliant 
and  indefatigable  young  man,  who  had  accomplished  almost  a  life's  work 
in  the  way  of  creating  and  encouraging  a  taste  for  a  high  order  of  musical 
and  literary  entertainments  in  Chicago,  before  he  was  stricken  down.  He 
lived  to  see  the  Central  Music  Hall  dream  realized,  but  passed  away  before 
he  could  reap  the  reward  of  his  labors.  His  death  was  mourned  by  his  as- 
sociates, and  regretted  by  the  entire  community.  The  Central  Music  Hall 
(See  "Buildings"  and  "Amusements")  like  other  structures  in  this  city, 
which  a  few  years  ago  were  looked  upon  and  pointed  out  with  justifiable 
pride,  is  to-day,  speaking  from  an  architectural  point  of  view, 

Cast  Into  the  Shade,  by  newer  and  more  magnificent  edifices;  but,  never- 
theless, it  will  remain  for  many  years  to  come  an  ornament  to  the  neighbor- 
hood in-  which  it  stands.  Walking  south  we  pass  the  great  retail  houses 
which  we  see  on  either  side  of  the  street,  as  far  as  the  eye  can  reach.  These 
have  all  grown  up  during  a  remai'kably  brief  period.  The  oldest  of  them, 
in,  comparison  with  European  houses,  are  merely  in  their  infancy.  This  is 

A  Busy  Street. — We  will  have  to  stand  close  to  the  edge  of  the  sidewalk, 
or  be  carried  along  by  the  crowd.  I  don't  think  you  ever  saw  so  many  well 
dressed  people  anywhere.  Most  of  them  are  ladies.  There  is  a  good  deal  of 
what  the  world  calls  style  to  be  seen  along  here  at  all  hours  of  the  day.  Just 
now  the  young  ladies  are  pouring  out  of 

The  Chicago  College  of  Music,  located  in  the  Central  Music  Hall  building. 
This  institution  is  conducted  under  the  management  of  Dr.  F.  Ziegfeld  and  a 
board  of  directors  consisting  of  Dr.  H.  W.  Thomas,  William  M.  Hoyt,  Gen. 
Charles  Fitz  Simons,  Dr.  Philip  H.  Matthei,  N.  K.  Fairbank,  W.  W.  Kimball, 
J.  Harlev  Bradley,  Julius  Rosenthal  and  F.  Ziegfeld,  Jr.  The  faculty  is  a 
large  one  and  is  said  to  be  one  of  the  best  in  the  country.  The  college  has 
graduated  some  of  the  leading  musicians  of  the  country.  The  young  ladies 
you  see  coming  out  now  evidently  belong  to  the  junior  class.  Every 
one  of  them  carries  a  roll  of  music  bound  up  in  a  patent  leather  case 
in  Jier  dainty  hand.  This  evening,  should  you  chance  to  be  on  one  of 
the^, venues  or  boulevards,  you  will  hear  her  entertaining  her  fond  parents, 
or  perhaps  her  fond  lover,  with  some  elementary  exercises.  Young  ladies, 
I  believe, 

No  LongerPlay  the  "Maiden's  Prayer''''  or  the  "Monastery  Bells,"  as  they 
did  in  my  time.  I  hear  that  they  have  dropped  even  the  "Thunderstorm" 
which  used  to  involve  the  crossing  of  hands  and  the  screwing  of  the  hurri- 
cane pedal  to  the  parlor  floor.  Chicago  is  quite  a  musical  center.  There  are 
a  number  of  very  large  conservatories  of  music  located  here.  One  of  the 
largest  is  to  be  found  in  the  Auditorium  building.  Here  young  ladies  and 
gentlemen  are  trained  for  the  concert  hall  and  the  stage.  While  we  are  here 
I  might  as  well  tell  you  that  this  is  the  starting  point  or  termini  of  nearly 
all  the  South  and  West  side 

Horse  and  Cable  Car  Lines  and  of  many  of  the  north  side  lines.  We  find 
ourselves  in  front  of  the  dry  goods  palace  with  the  name  of 

Marshall  Field  &  Co.— This  house  is  familiarly  known  to  the  ladies  of 
Chicago  and  the  West,  as  Field's.  You  have  heard  of  Field's  before.  Every- 
body in  this  country  has,  and,  in  commercial  circles  at  least,  the  house  is 
known  throughout  the  civilized  world.  It  is  not  only  the  greatest  dry  goods 
establishment  in  this  country,  but  the  greatest  first-class  dry  goods  establish- 
ment in  the  universe.  This  is  the  State  st.  front  of  the  establishment.  It 
extends  from  the  Central  Music  Hall  to  the  corner  of  Washington  st.  FieM's 
extends  the  entire  length  of  the  block  on  Washington  st.  to  Wabash  ave. 
The  building  erected  here  for 


GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 


Field,  Letter  &  Co.,  after  the  great  fire  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1877. 
The  Singer  Sewing  Machine  company,  which  owned  it,  rebuilt  the  structure 
It  was  purchased  by  Field,  Leiter  &  Co.  shortly  afterward.  It  has  been  pro- 
nounced one  of  the  most  elegant  of  our  commercial  buildings.  Architect- 
urally, it  is  a  handsome  structure,  being  relieved  by  ornamentation  which 
adds  greatly  to  its  beauty.  When  it  was  rebuilt,  there  was  not  a  dry  goods 
concern  in  Chicago,  it  was  thought,  which  had  capital  sufficient  to  under- 
take the  renting  of  it,  with  the  exception  of  Field,  Leiter  &  Co.  That  was 

less  than  fifteen  years  ago. 
Now  there  are  several  dry 
goods  houses  occupying 
more  space  than  i  s  con- 
tained within  this  single 
building.  Marshall  Field 
&  Co.,  although  they  have 
added  the  floors  of  adjoin- 
ing buildings  from  time  to 
time,  long  since  found 
themselves  badly  crowded 
within  its  walls.  Hence  the 
erection  of 

The  New  Building  on 
Wabash  ave.  and  Wash- 
ington st.,  with  which  this 
is  connected  by  a  marble- 
lined  tunnel  beneath  and 
by  arches  over  Holden 
Place,  the  alley  which  sepa- 
rates the  two.  The  new 
Field  building  is  nine 
stories  high.  It  covers  a 
ground  space  150x108  feet 
and  is  of  thoroughly  fire 
proof  construction.  It  is 
a  handsome  steel  frame 
structure,  faced  with 
pressed  brick  and  terra 
cotta.  Fluted  and  polished 
granite  blocks  are  used 
for  the  first  three  stories. 
All  the  most  modern 
methods  of  construction, 
combining  strength  and 
beauty,  were  used  in  the 
erection  of  this  building. 
The  type  of  architecture  is 
what  is  known  as 

Th  e  Spanish  Renaiss- 
ance.— There  are  handsome 
entrances  from  three 
fronts.  In  the  interior  are 
a  dozen  elevators,  some  of 
which  are  used  exclusively 
for  the  upper  five  stoi'ies. 
The  structure  is  practically 


COLUMBUS  BUILDING.— See  Buildings. 


two  buildings.  The  first  four  stories  are  used  for  mercantile  purposes  and 
the  upper  five  stories  are  arranged  for  offices.  The  cost  of  this  addition  to 
the  Field  retail  store  was  about  $800,000.  The  wholesale  house  of  Marshall 
Field  &  Co.  is  located  on  Fifth  ave.,  Adams,  Franklin  and  Quincy  sts.,  and 
is  one  of  the  most  massive  and  beautiful  structures  in  the  wholesale  center. 
The  latter  building  should  be  visited  by  all  means.  We  will  see  it  later 
on.  Something  of 


GG  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

The  Business  of  Marshall  Field  <f-  Co.  may  be  interesting  to  you.  Twenty 
years  ago  it  was  the  leading  di-y  goods  house  in  the  West  and  its  annual 
business  amounted  to  about  $8,000,000.  This  business  amounts  to  about 
$50,000,000  annually  now.  No  other  house  in  the  country  can  approach 
these  figures.  The  field  covered  by  the  vast  trade  of  Marshall  Field  &  Co.  is 
the  West  to  the  Pacific  coast,  and  the  South  to  the  Gulf.  New  York  houses 
control  the  eastern  market.  Marshall  Field,  the  senior  member  of  the  firm, 
is  credited  with  being  worth  $25,000,000.  You  are  now  in 

The  Fashionable  Retail  Center  and  to  your  left  and  right  as  you  pass 
south  are  some  of  the  most  attractive  retail  stores  in  the  United  States. 
But,  before  passing  on,  let  me  call  your  attention  to 

The  Columbus  Building,  the  elegant  structure  on  the  S.  E.  Cor.  of  State 
and  Washington  sts.  This  is  one  of  the  newest  of  our  great  edifices  and  is 
intended  as  a  memorial  of  the  Columbus  quadri-centennial.  It  is  thirteen 
stories  high  and  is  magnificently  finished,  both  as  regards  its  interior  and 
exterior.  Its  cost  was  $800,000.  The  establishment  of 

Carson,  Pirie,  Scott  &  Co.,  on  the  S.  W.  Cor.  of  Washington  and  State 
sts.,  is  one  of  the  most  elegant  dry  goods  houses  in  the  city.  This  was  for- 
merly "Gossage's,"  by  which  name  it  became  celebrated  throughout  the 
entire  West.  Carson,  Pirie,  Scott  <fe  Co.  were  the  owners  and  managers  of 
the  store  for  several  years  before  the  name  of  "  Gossage  "  was  dropped  to 
make  room  for  their  own.  In  the  meantime  they  had  established  themselves 
as  a  retail  dry  goods  firm  by  conducting  a  first-class  house  on  the  West  side, 
and  later  one  of  the  largest  and  most  fashionable  concerns  in  the  city  at  the 
N.  E.  Cor.  of  Wabash  ave.  and  Adams  St.,  the  building  now  occupied  by 
Revell,  the  furniture  merchant. 

The  Old  li  Gossage"  House  was  but  a  small  concern  in  comparison  with 
the  mammoth  institution  that  now  covers  about  half  a  block — five  acres  of 
flooring.  No  visitor  to  Chicago,  male  or  female,  should  fail  to  enter  the  mag- 
nificent silk-room  of  this  house,  which  is  situated  on  the  corner.  This  depart- 
ment covers  the  site  of  the  First  National  bank  building  of  other  days.  The 
structure  was  remodeled  at  an  enormous  cost  by  Carson,  Pirie,  Scott  &  Co., 
and  the  first  floor  fitted  up  as  the  most 

Magnificent  Silk  Salesroom  in  the  world.  All  that  taste,  money  and  inge- 
nuity could  do  was  brought  into  play  here,  and  the  result  is  a  veritable  mar- 
ble hall  such  as  but  few  of  the  stately  palaces  of  the  old  world  can  equal  in 
grandeur.  The  entire  establishment  is  tastefully  fitted  up  and  ranks  among 
the  most  reliable,  as  well  as  the  most  fashionable  dry  goods  houses  in  the 
country.  On  the  same  side  of  the  street,  just  south,  is  the  large  general  store 
of 

Fish,  Joseph  &  Co.,  which  enjoys  a  large  patronage.  This  was  formerly 
Pardi'idge's  main  store.  Next  door  south  is  the 

Boston  Store. — The  greatest  bargain  establishment  of  this  section.  This 
store  is  crowded — thronged  is  a  better  word — from  morning  until  night.  On 
the  opposite  side  of  State  st.  are  Stevens'  silk  house,  Wilson  Bros,  (who 
insist  upon  selling  what  they  call  "gent's"  furnishing  goods),  and  Man- 
del  Bros,  dry-goods  house.  The  latter  extends  through  to  Wabash  ave.  In 
the  next  block  are  a  large  number  of  dry-goods,  boot  and  shoe,  kid  glove  and 
musical  houses,  all  of  which  may  be  termed  first-class,  but  none  of  which 
rise  exactly  to 

The  Dignity  of  Eminence  in  their  peculiar  lines.  Here  is  the  cheap  jewelry 
center  also,  where  platedThings  will  be  found  that  will  pass  muster  almost 
in  any  crowd,  but  you  want  to  stand  on  the  corner  for  a  while  and  notice 
the  surging  tides  of  humanity  which  sweep  by  here  from  all  points  of  the 
compass.  Are  there 

Corner  Drug  Stores  where  you  come  from?  No?  Well,  you  don't  know 
how  convenient  they  are!  Here  in  Chicago  we  have  sevei'al  corner  drug 
stores— several  hundred,  I  should  say.  It  is  a  cold  corner  that  hasn't  got  its 
drug  store!  Do  they  all  sell  drugs  exclusively?  Oh,  dear,  no!  They  sell 
drugs  least  of  all.  The  drug  stores  of  Chicago  haven't  gone  quite  so  far  as 


THE   GUIDE.  67 

the  dry  goods  stores,  but  their  range  is  long  and  their  field  is  wide.  As  yet 
they  have  not  begun  to  handle  anvils  or  agricultural  implements,  but  the 
tendency  is  in  that  direction.  The  modern  Chicago  drug  store  deals  in  cut- 
lery, amateur  painter's  supplies,  dispenses  mineral  waters,  liquids  of  all 
shades  and  of  every  degree  of  specific  gravity;  handles  face  powders  and 
postage  stamps ;  receives  orders  for  daily  papers ;  communicate  telephone 
messages;  orders  coal  or  calls  a  carriage;  acts  as  an  advertising  agency; 
solicits  book  orders ;  keeps  constantly  on  hand  a  large  and  varied  assort- 
ment of  society  stationery,  sells  chewing  gum ;  has  a  large  cigar  patronage ; 
keeps  a  city  directory ;  provides  a  waiting  room  for  people  who  have  engage- 
ments with  each  other ;  carries  on  a  traffic  in 

Bottled  Goods  for  Family  Use;  and  sometimes  fills  prescriptions.  And 
they  do  all  these  things  well.  There  has  lately  been  a  cry  raised  against 
the  druggists  because  it  is  claimed  that  prescriptions  cannot  be  correctly 
or  safely  compounded  by  a  young  man  who  is  called  away  from  his  mortar 
every  few  minutes  to  change  a  dime,  sell  a  stick  of  gum,  or  order  a  cab  by 
telephone.  Yet  but  few  of  us  die  annually  from  prescription  clerks'  mistakes. 
At  least,  if  many  of  us  die  from  this  cause,  we  don't  know  it.  Of  course, 
there  are  a  number  of  sudden  deaths  here  dai'y,  and  a  disease  frequently 
takes  a  strange  turn,  which  even  the  physician  cannot  account  for,  after 
the  medicine  he  prescribed  is  administered ;  but  it  wouldn't  be  fair  to  say 
that  the  prescription  clerk  was  responsible  for  these  things  until  we  had 
positive  proof  of  it.  This  positive  proof  we  may  be  able  to  obtain  in  the 
next  world,  perhaps.  Certainly  not  in  this.  But  we  are  now  in  one  of  the 
best  known  corner  drug  stores  in  Chicago.  This  is  called 

Buck  &  Baynor's  Corner. — I  wouldn't  undertake  to  tell  you  how  many 
hundreds  of  thousands  of  people  have  met  here,  or  in  front  of  this  little  drug 
store,  by  appointment.  There  are  two  such  places  in  the  city.  The  other  is 
Dale  &  Sempill's,  on  the  N.  E.  cor.  of  Clark  and  Madison  sts.  We  will  meet 
there  later  on.  But  I  suppose  that  it  wouldn't  be  out  of  the  way  to  estimate 
that  a  thousand  persons  meet  on  this  corner  by  previous  engagement  every 
day.  They  meet  for  all  sorts  of  purposes.  Ladies  who  are  shopping  and 
who  lose  each  other  in  the  crowd,  have  a  tacit  agreement  that  they  will 
meet  here  at  a  certain  hour.  Ladies  meet  their  husbands  here  in  order  to 
get  a  supply  of  pin  money.  Ladies  sometimes  meet  the  husbands  of  other 
ladies  here.  Lovers  meet  sweethearts  here.  Men  meet  men  here  (but  not 
often).  It  ic  a  general  rendezvous — a  public  trysting- place.  Opposite 
Bnck  &  Raynor's  is 

Schlessinger  cfe  Mayer's  dry  goods  house,  which  has  grown  wonderfully 
during  recent  years,  and,  judging  from  the  crowds  which  we  see  passing  in 
and  out  of  its  doorways,  seems  to  be  receiving  a  very  liberal  share  of 
patronage  just  now.  On  the  same  side  of  the  street,  farther  down,  are  some 
fashionable  shoe  houses,  and  near  the  corner  is  the  Palais  Royal  glove 
store,  conducted  extremely  on  the  Parisian  plan.  Just  west  of  Buck  &  Ray- 
nor's, on  Madison  st.,  is 

Me  Vicker's  Theatre,  the  oldest  and  one  of  the  best  theatrical  houses  in 
the  city  (see  "  Amusements"),  on  the  first  floor  of  which  is  Plow's  caiidy  and 
soda  water  establishment,  quite  a  favorite  resort.  Opposite  Me  Vicker's  is 
the  Madison  Street  theatre,  a  place  of  amusement  of  the  hysterical  order, 
which  commands  a  large  patronage  from  young  men  and  women  of  the  hys- 
terical class.  The  attractions  produced  are  usually  those  which  are  long 
on  exclamation  points  and  short  on  wardrobes.  It  is  the  aim  of  the  Chicago 
managers  to  please,  and  this  place  pleases  a  very  large  class.  Just  east  of 
State,  on  Madison  St.,  is  Abbot's  art  supply  house,  and  the  celebrated  optic- 
ian establishment  of 

Fowler  Bros.,  places  which  you  should  visit.  Just  below  Buck  &  Ray- 
nor's corner,  on  State  St.,  is  Frank  Bros',  dry  goods  house,  a  large  establish- 
ment of  good  standing,  and  next  we  pass  a  number  of  attractive  fronts, 
(among  them  that  of  Burley  &  Co.,  a  gi'eat  queenswai-e  house),  reaching  at 
the  N.  W.  Cor.  State  and  Monroe  sts.  the  great  musical  instrument  estab- 
lishment of 


68  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Lyon  d-  Healy. — This  is  a  place  worth  entering  and  you  ought  to  do  so  at 
the  close  of  our  day's  trip.  Diagonally  opposite  is 

The  Palmer  House,  occupying  the  greater  part  of  the  block  (see  "Hotels"). 
This  is  one  of  the  most  elegant  buildings  in  Chicago  and  has  always  been 
admired  by  visitors.  I  would  suggest  that  you  step  inside  to  take  a  view  of 
the  rotunda  from  the  Entresol  balcony,  and  of  the  beautiful  parlors  and  the 
bridal  chamber  on  the  second  floor.  Opposite  the  Palmer,  on  Monroe  St.,  is 
the  old  club  house  of  the  Chicago  club  (see  "Clubs"),  now  occupied  by  the 
Columbus  chib.  Under  the  Palmer  are  elegant  retail  stores.  Opposite,  on 
the  S.  W.  Cor.  of  State  and  Monroe  sts.,  is  the  Columbus  dry  goods  house,  and 
adjoining  it  is 

The  Bee  Hive,  a  popular  dry  goods  establishment.  The  next  places  of 
interest  we  come  to  occupy  three  of  the  corners  at  the  intersection  of  State 
and  Adams  sts. — "The  Fair,"  the  "Leader,"  and  Berry's  candy  palace.  "The 
Fair"  I  have  already  spoken  of.  "The  Leader"  is  conducted  on  a  similar 
plan.  Berry's  candy  palace  is  quite  a  gorgeous  institution.  There  is  per- 
haps a  little  too  much  gorgeousness  about  it  to  suit  your  taste.  In  the  base- 
ment below  is 

The  American  Restaurant,  also  given  over  to  sumptuous  display.  If  you 
step  down  here  you  will  find  yourself  walled  in,  as  it  were,  with  mirrors. 
The  entire  interior  appears  to  be  covered  with  looking-glasses,  and  for  a 
moment  you  are  blinded  with  the  glare  of  reflected  electricity.  It  is  a  first- 
class  restaurant.  You  will  probably  desire  to  visit  some  of  the  places  which 
I  have  pointed  out  to  you.  I  leave  you  to  do  so  at  your  leisiare. 


FIFTH  Df\Y. 

State  St.  South  of  Adams— Some  Great  Houses— Siegel,  Cooper  &  Co.'s— A 
Bazaar  of  All  Nations— Taking  a  Marginal  View  of  Old  "Cheyenne"— 
The  Auditorium — Description  and  History  of  the  Great  Structure — 
Looking  up  at  it  from  the  Lake  Front — Looking  Down  From  Its  Tower 
— Another  Birds-Eye  View — The  Chicago  Harbor — Four  Mile  Crib — 
Future  of  the  Basin— A  Line  of  Magnificent  Public  Buildings— The 
Auditorium  Hotel  and  Annex  Building. 

State  st.  is  interesting  all  the  way  down,  but  only  during  the  past  year 
or  two  have  the  great  retail  houses  considered  it  a  desirable  thoroughfare 
south  of  Adams  st.  Now  the  tendency  is  strongly  in  this  direction.  There 
are  numerous  first-class  houses  in  the  next  two  blocks.  We  pass  a  number 
of  them  before  reaching  Spaulding's  jewelry  and  art  establishment,  on  the 
S.  E.  Cor.  of  Jackson  st. ;  we  pass  the  great  Stationery  and  Job  Printing 
House  of 

Tfiayer  &  Jackson;  we  pass  numerous  furniture  and  art  stores,  and  at 
the  corner  of  Van  Buren  st.  we  come  to  the  immense  general  merchandise 
house  of 

Siegel,  Cooper  &  Co.— This  concern  occupies  the  Leiter  building,  which 
extends  from  Van  Buren  to  Congress  st.,  and  back  to  the  alley  between  State 
st.  and  Wabash  ave.,  covering  an  entire  block.  It  is  eight  stories  high,  and 
has  a  greater  floor  area  than  any  other  retail  house  in  the  city.  The  build- 
ing is  of  massive  granite  blocks  and  is  severely  plain  in  its  exterior.  It  is 
relieved,  however,  by  the  beautiful  line  of  immense  plate  glass  windows 
which  encircle  the  entire  first  floor,  and  in  which  magnificent  displays  of 
dry-goods,  stationery,  books,  toys,  and  novelties  of  all  kinds  are  made. 
Siegel,  Cooper  &  Co.  have  arranged  the  interior  in  a  unique,  convenient  and 
pleasing  manner.  You  will  be  interested  in  here  for  it  is  a  veritable 


>  r-i 

X  E? 
•4 

53 


GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 


Bazaar  of  all  Nations.-l  believe  you  will  agree  with  me  that  it  is  the  great- 
est establishment  of  the  kind  under  one  roof  you  have  ever  seen.  It  really 
contains  as  much  as  an  ordinary  local  exposition.  Everything  from  a  pound 
of  porterhouse  steak  to  a  sealskin  sacque,  or  from  a  spool  of  cotton  to  a 
complete  outfit  of  furniture  and  carpeting  for  a  hotel,  may  be  purchased 
here.  There  are  employment  agencies,  dental  parlors  and  barber  shops 
here.  There  is  also  a  magnificent  restaurant  in  the  basement,  Van  Buren 
st.  front.  It  will  require  considerable  of  your  time  to-day  to  walk  through 
the  floors  of  this  immense  establishment.  If  we  move  down  State  st.  to  the 
corner  of  Congress  we  will  obtain  a  view  of  the  section  of 

Old  "Cheyenne"  which 
has  not  undergone  any  very 
material  change  for  the  bet- 
ter, but  which  is  destined 
within  a  few  -years  to  be  one 
of  the  best  built  sections  of 
the  city.  Just  below  us  on  the 
left  are  the  Peoples  and  Park 
Theatres  two  places  of  amuse- 
ment given  over  to  the  pro- 
duction  of  the  sensational 
drama.  On  the  other  side  of 
the  street'are  Dime  Museums. 
Nearly  every  block  has  its 
variety  theatre  or  concert 
hall.  Saloons  of  a  question- 
able or  unquestionable 
character  seem  to  have  a 
monopoly  of  the  street  front- 
age. Down  here 

Black  and   White  mingle 

Bl  K3  tSH  H  W  09  H  El  81  f  HI  almost  indiscriminately. 
V  HI  KM  HEElElS  fit  Wl  HI  Ml  The  upper  floors  of  the  stores 
at.  lIEi  Hi9Po|  Hra  HI  H  which  are  not  given  over  to 
1  WPB^iffli3HHb!ri|  r-o-oms,  furnished  and  un- 
363  1  3  -a  furnished,  are  occupied  as 

I  HB'-ffifll'ilSH.RPlR    m     hotels.    A  short  distance  be- 
[J  I   SrJ'  Wj1*^.  '  *  -    tiVILjn'7s*g!)yi!iy|0»n  jZi     low    is   Harrison   St.,    which 
.  tU  Eflfe rali£Tite^KMNHiiBEMBa     runs  from  the  lake  to  the 

prairie  west  of  the  city. 
Then  comes  Polk  st.,  and 
about  a  block  and  a  h  a  1  f 
from  the  corner  is  the  Dear- 
born  or  Polk  st.  station, 
where  a  large  number  of  rail- 
roads have  their  terminals. 
|  See  Railroads  and  Railroad 
Depots.]  The  railroads  em- 
ploy great  numbers  of 
colored  porters  and  these 

have  their  rooms  or  their  boarding  houses  in  the  vicinity.  Tiirning 
down  Congress  St.,  we  pass  the  present  terminus  of  the  Elevated  railway, 
which  will  take  you  to  the  southern  portion  of  the  city  or  to  the  World's 
Fair  grounds.  [See  "  City  Railways."]  A  loop  is  to  be  built  farther  northjfor 
the  accommodation  of  passengers  over  this  line.  On  the  next  corner  to  our 
left  below  and  extending  for  an  entire  block,  is 

The  Famous  Auditorium.— [See  "  Buildings."]  This  building  is  described 
elsewhere,  but  I  may  give  you  a  few  facts  concerning  the  beautiful  and 
mammoth  structure  here.  It  has  a  total  street1  frontage  on  Wabash  ave., 
Michigan  ave.  and  Congress  st.  of  710  feet;  height  of  main  building  (10  stories), 
145  feet ;  height  of  tower  above  main  building  (8  floors),  95  feet ;  height  of  Ian- 


MANHATTAN  BUILDING.— See  Buildings. 


THE   GUIDE.  71 

tern  tower  above  main  tower  (2  floors),  30  feet;  total  height,  270  feet;  size  of- 
tower,  70x41  feet;  the  foundations  cover  almost  two  and  a  half  times  greater 
area; 

Weight  of  Entire  Building,  110,0(ky  tons;  weight  of  tower,  15,000  tons; 
exterior  material,  first  and  second  stories  granite,  balance  of  building  stone ; 
interior  material,  iron,  brick,  terra  cotta,  marble,  hardwood  finish,  etc.; 
cost  of  iron  work,  about  $600,000;  number  of  brick  in  building,  17,000,000; 
mimber  of  square  feet  of  Italian  marble  mosaic  floors,  50,000  (containing 
about  50,000  pieces  of  marble,  each  put  in  by  hand);  number  of  square 
feet  of  terra  cotta  (arches  and  partitions),  800,000;  number  of  square  feet  of 
wire  lath,  175,000;  number  of  square  feet  of  plate  glass,  60,000;  number  of 
miles  of  gas  and  water  pipes,  25;  mimber  of  miles  of 

Electric  Wires  and  Cable,  230  ;number  of  miles  of  steel  cable  for  remov- 
ing scenes  on  stage,  1 1 ;  number  of  electric  .ights,  10,000;  number  of  dynamos, 
11;  number  of  electric  motors  for  driving  ventilating  apparatus  and  other 
machinery,  13;  number  of  hydraulic  motors  for  driving  machinery,  4 ;  num- 
ber of  boilers,  11;  number  of  pumping  engines,  21 ;  number  of  elevators,  13; 
number  of  hydraulic  lifts  for  moving  stage  platforms,  26.  The  Auditorium 
building  includes;  1st — The  Auditorium,  permanent  seating  capacity,  over 
4,000;  for  conventions,  etc.,  (for  which  the  stage  is  utilized)  about  8,000.  2d — 
Recital  hall,  seats  500.  3d — Business  portion  consists  of  stores  and  136  offices, 
part  of  which  are  in  the  tower.  4th — Tower  observatory,  to  which  the  pub- 
lic are  admitted  (25  cents  for  adults,  15  cents  for  children).  The 

United  States  Signal  Service  occupies  part  of  'he  seventeenth,  eighteenth, 
and  nineteenth  floors  of  the  tower.  These  departments  of  the  building  are 
managed  by  the  Chicago  Auditorium  association.  5th — Auditorium  hotel; 
400  guest  rooms.  The  grand  dining  room  (175  feet  long)  and  the  kitchen, 
are  on  the  top  floor.  The  magnificent  banquet  hall  is  built  of  steel,  on  trusses 
spanning  120  feet  over  the  Auditoriiim.  [See  "Auditorium  Hotel."]  The  hotel 
is  leased  and  managed  by  the  Auditorium  Hotel  company,  J.  H.  Breslin,  of 
New  York,  president;  R.  H.  Southgate,  vice-president  and  manager.  The 
Auditorium  has 

Several  Entrances,  but  the  main  one  is  on  Congress  st.  The  arches  spring 
from  four  marble  columns  whose  immense  size  is  lost  sight  of  in  the  general 
effect.  Passing  through  the  bronze  doors,  the  spectator  finds  himself  in  a 
court  whose  beauties  compare  with  anything  in  the  building.  Marble, 
bronze  carvings,  stained  glass  and  gold  have  been  fashioned  into  a  design 
worthy  of  the  structure  of  which  it  forms  a  part.  The  floor  is 

Inlaid  with  Marble  Mosaic  work  in  intricate  designs.  Huge  polished 
shafts  of  glittering  marble  are  set  off  by  carvings  and  bronzes.  A  thousand 
people  are  easily  accommodated  in  it.  The  idea  of  the  construction  of  a 
great  building  of  this  character  was  first  made  public  before  the  Commer- 
cial Club,  in  an  address  delivered  by  Ferdinand  W.  Peck,  the  originator  of 
the  enterprise,  May  29,  1886.  The  idea  was  received  with  great  favor  at 
once,  and,  on  December  4th,  of  the  same  year,  a  stock  company  was  organ- 
ized to  carry  it  into  execution.  There  are  now  nearly  300  citizens  among  the 
stockholders.  We  can  see 

The  Auditorium  at,  Its  Best  from  a  point  in  the  Lake  Front  Park  on  a 
line  with  Polk  st.  From  this  location  an  almost  perfect  perspective  can  be 
obtained.  The  walls  loom  up  over  the  surrounding  buildings  like  some 
great  cliff  over  the  scraggy  pines  which  cling  around  its  base.  The  tower 
is  seen  in  its  true  proportions  and  stands  out  sombre  and  grim.  It  requires 
no  stretch  of  the  imagination  to  picture  the  muzzles  of  guns  protruding 
from  the  windows  beneath  the  masonry  of  the  cornice.  From  the  Lake  the 
Auditorium  and  the  Masonic  Temple  are  the  first  objects  that  break  the 
monotony  of  the  horizon,  as  the  incoming  steamer  plows  its  way  toward 
the  city.  The 

Vieicfrom  the  Tower,  seventeen  stories  above  the  street  level,  is  in  many 
respects  more  enchanting  than  that  from  the  Masonic  Temple  roof  garden. 
It  will  cost  you  25  cents  to  be  admitted  to  the  balconies  of  the  tower,  but  it 


72  GUIDE    TO   CHICAGO. 

is  worth  the  money  and  the  time  you  may  give  it.  Two  thousand  square 
miles  of  water  are  spread  out  before  you  from  the  point  of  observation. 
Michigan  City,  half  hid  by  the  sand  hills,  which  line  the  eastern  coast,  is 
plainly  revealed  on  a  clear  day.  South  Chicago  lays  almost  at  your  feet. 
Evanston  is  in  view,  and  its  University  buildings  can  be  picked  out  by  those 
familiar  with  the  place.  Below  you  is  the  city 

A  Seeming  Ocean  of  Smoke,  with  half  obscured  buildings,  showing  their 
domes  and  battlements  out  of  the  clouds,  as  if  vainly  striving  for  one  breath 
of  fresh  air.  Out  over  the  lake  the  air  is  clear  as  the  blue  of  the  sky  above 
it,  and  undefiled  as  the  waves  which  curl  into  foam  below  it.  Michigan  blvd. 
melts  away  into  a  perspective,  in  which  the  long  lines  of  lamp-posts  and 
shade  trees  merge  into  nothingness.  Over  a  lumdred  and  fifty  feet  below  is 
the  broad  roof  of  the  Auditorium  and  the  skylights  which  surmounts  the 
hall.  The  spii*e  of  the  average  church  would  not  reach  that  skylight.  Here 
it  is  that  the  United  States  signal  service  has  established  its  station.  It  may 
be  considered  safe  to  say,  that  the  local  station  occupies  the  highest  arti- 
ficial altitude  of  any  in  the  country.  I  cannot  very  well  drag  you  away  from 
the  Auditorium  tower  until  I  shall  have  pointed  out  to  you 

The  Four  Mile  Crib,  from  which  Chicago  may  now  be  supplied  with 
130,000,000  gallons  of  water  d'aily,  in  addition  to  her  stipplies  through  the 
other  tunnels,  if  this  quantity  should  be  requii'ed.  [See  "  Water  Works."  |  And 
I  must  point  out  to  you  also  the  roofs  of  the  great  structures  in  our  vicinity, 
for  but  little  more  than  the  roofs  can  be  seen.  To  our  right  down  there,  on 
the  lake  front,  is  the  new  depot  of  the  Illinois  Central  Railroad.  [See  "Rail- 
road Depots."]  It  is  a  handsome  structure.  Follow  the  track  with  your  eye 
along  the  shore  to  the  north,  passing  the  beautiful 

Arf  Institute  [See  "  Buildings"],  and  you  will  see  the  last  evidence  of  the 
great  Chicago  fire.  That  pile  of  debris  at  the  foot  of  Lake  st.  is  all  that 
remains  of  the  old  Illinois  Central  depot,  destroyed  in  the  fire  of  1871. 
Extending  into  the  Lake  is  the  north  pier.  At  the  extremity  of  it  is  Chicago 
Light.  [See  "  Lighthouses."]  You  see  a  queer  craft  moored  to  the  pier. 
This  is  the  Argonaut,  the  home  of  the  Argo  club.  [See  "  Clubs."]  The  great 
pier  at  our  feet  was  constructed  for  the  accommodation  of  the 

Henry  Syndicate  Steamers,  which  had  the  privilege  granted  them  of  land- 
ing passengers  from  the  city  at  the  World's  Fair.  You  obtain  a  splendid  view 
from  here  of  the  numerous  excursion  steamers  and  sailing  craft,  either  mov- 
ing up  or  down  the  basin,  or  moored  to  the  shore.  That  long,  dark  line  you 
see  running  parallel  with  the  shore  is  called 

The  Government  Breakwater,  or  Pier. — It  was  constructed  at  an  immense 
expense  to  the  National  treasury  for  the  protection  of  our  shore  line.  It  was 
also  designed  to  inclose  a  harbor,  but  Chicago  has  long  since  outgrown  a 
harbor  of  this  size.  For  years  the  ownership  of  a  large  portion  of  the  sub- 
merged land  in  this  basin,  or  harbor,  was  in  dispute  between  the  city  of 
Chicago  and  the  Illinois  Central  Railroad  company.  It  was  taken  from  court 
to  court  until,  in  the  autumn  of  1892,  it  was 

Decided  in  Favor  of  the  City  by  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  United  States, 
a  legal  victory  that  gave  widespread  satisfaction  in  Chicago.  The  case,  as 
finally  decided,  granted  the  ownership  to  Chieago  of  the  land  along  the  lake 
front,  together  with  the  part  of  the  harbor  extending  from  the  north  pier  at 
the  mouth  of  the  river,  soTith  for  a  distance  of  about  one  and  four-fifth  miles, 
and  from  the  shore  one  mile  into  the  lake.  This  constitutes  an  area  of  about 
1,050  acres  and  is  valued  at  873,000,000.  It  was  decided  that  the  Illinois  Cen- 
tral was  entitled  only  to  its  right  of  way  of  200  feet  along  the  lake  shore. 
Riparian  rights  were  denied  it  but  some  property  which  it  acquired  by  fill- 
ing, or,  rather,  which  it  reclaimed  from  the  lake  at  great  expense,  during  the 
litigation,  was  finally  granted  the  company.  I  have  given  the  valuation  of 

The  Submerged  Lands  above  at  about  $73,000,000.  This  is  about  the 
figure  placed  vipon  it  by  real  estate  appraisers,  at  its  value  in  case  it  were 
thrown  into  the  market,  divided  into  blocks,  lots,  etc.  A  much  higher  valu- 
ation, however,  is  placed  upon  it  by  others.  The  pi-obability  is  that  it  will 


f^K^4 


74  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

never  be  thrown  into  the  city  for  sale  as  business  property.  There  was 
much  talk  of  filling'  it  or  piling:  it  for  the  accommodation  of  the  World's  Fair 
buildings  when  the  question  of  a  site  was  being  discussed,  but  for  various 
reasons  the  idea  was  abandoned.  There  has  been  much  talk  of  construct- 
ing 

Docks  for  Shipping  along  the  shore  line,  but  this  has  also  met  with  gen- 
eral disfavor.  It  is  believed  that  if  the  docks  were  constructed  on  the  outer 
edge,  and  warehouses  erected  in  connection  with  them,  the  traffic  thus  cre- 
ated and  centered  here  would  cause  such  a  congestion  in  the  heart  of  the 
city  as  to  greatly  interfere  with  the  ti-ansaction  of  business.  It  is  more  than 
probable  that  the  great  basin  will  be  filled  in  and 

Transformed  into  a  Beautiful  Park  to  be  connected  with  the  present 
Lake  Front  Park  by  viaducts  over  the  railroad  tracks,  which  latter  will  be 
sunk  far  below  their  present  grade.  This  would  be  a  realization  of  a  Chi- 
cago dream.  Her  people  have  long  wanted  such  a  park  near  the  center  of 
the  city.  Great  public  buildings  will  rise  from  the  present  Lake  Front  Park, 
facing  on  Michigan  blvd.  The  Art  Institute  is  there  already;  below  it  to 
the  left,  covering  the  site  of  old  Dearborn  Park  is  the 

New  Public  Library  Building.— The  new  Post-Office  and  Custom  House 
will  be  erected  probably  opposite  the  Library.  The  Crearar  Library  is  to 
be  located  on  Michigan  blvd.  in  this  vicinity.  A  great  museum,  to  be  filled 
with  treasures  from  the  Columbian  Exposition,  will  be  erected  close  by. 
There  are  already  on  the  boulevard  in  this  section,  the  Auditorium,  the 
Chicago  Club  building,  the  Victoria  Hotel,  the  Richelieu  Hotel,  the  Leland 
Hotel,  the  Art  Institute  already  alluded  to,  the  Athletic  Club  House,  the 
Pullman  building, 

The  Press  Club  Building,  the  Public  Library  and  other  beautiful  struct- 
ures  of  a  public  or  semi-public  character,  which  constitute  a  frontage  of 
marble,  granite,  terra  cotta,  brick,  steel  and  glass  such  as  you  have  not 
seen  and  will  no :  see  in  any  other  city  in  the  world.  To  see  these  buildings 
we  will  have  to  get  down  to  the  street  level,  but  you  will  be  anxious  to  view 
the  Auditorium  theatre  lobbies;  perhaps  you  will  care  to  visit  Professor 
Kayzer's  conservatory  of  music.  At  any  rate  you  will  not  leave  the  Audi- 
torium until  you  shall  have  seen  the  hotel.  That  great  building  on  the  cor- 
ner is  the 

Auditorium  Hotel  Annex,  or  Congress  hotel.  It  is  ten  stories  high.  The 
exterior  features  are  three  round  bays  running  up  through  the  building  and 
a  heavy  overhanging  cornice.  This  graceful  structure  was  erected  to 
accommodate  the  overflow  from  the  Auditorium  hotel.  The  building  is 
thrown  entirely  into  suites,  parlors  and  sleeping  rooms.  The  two  buildings 
are  connected  by  a  beautiful  marble-lined  and 

Electric  Illuminated  Tunnel  under  Congi-ess  st.  Before  leaving  the  Audi- 
torium hotel,  I  will  ask  you  to  note  the  magnificent  rotunda  with  its  gor- 
geous pillars  and  frescoing,  the  elegant  parlors,  and  the  banquet  and  dining 
halls  at  the  top  of  the  building.  You  may  take  the  elevators  to  any  floor. 
No,  you  will  not  be  intei'fered  with.  It  is  a  public  house,  and  all  that  is 
asked  of  you  is  that  you  conduct  yourselves  as  you  would  in  a  private  house. 
[See  "Auditorium,"  "Auditorium  Theatre,"  "Auditorium  Hotel,"  and  "Audi- 
torium Hotel  Annex."]  When  you  shall  have  visited  these  hotels,  we  might 
take  a  stroll  through  the  Lake  Front  Park,  from  which  we  will  obtain  a 
splendid  view  of  the  Michigan  boulevard  frontage,  as  far  south  as  Lake  Park 
row.  Leaving  the  Auditorium  we  walk  north  on  Michigan  ave.,  passing  the 
beautiful  Studebaker  building  [see  "Buildings"],  the  old  Art  Institute  [see 
"Buildings"],  the  Victoria,  Richelieti  and  Leland  hotels  [see  "Buildings  " 
and  "  Hotels  "J ,  the  Chicago  Athletic  Club  building,  and  on  oiir  right  the 
magnificent 

New  Art  Institute.— [See  "  Buildings."]  This  building  is  one  that  will 
cause  you  to  pause  for  a  while.  We  pass  on  our  left  the  great  Pullman 
building.  [See  "Buildings"  and  " Pullman, "|  the  Chicago  Fire  cyclorama, 
and  at  Washington  St.  we  come  to  the  new  Public  Library  building.  [See 
"Buildings."]  It  is  not  necessary  for  rne  to  give  you  descriptions  of  these 


THE   GUIDE. 


nt  structures.  Turn  over  the  pages  and  you  will  find  them  all 
described  in  alphabetical  order.  If  we  go 

Xorth,  of  Randolph  tff."fff,  on  Michigan  ave.,  we  will  land  in  the  heart  of 
the  grocery  district,  or  wo  may  find  ourselves  on  the  Rush  st.  bridge,  from 
which  we  can  see  the  docks  of  the  Goodrich  and  Graham  &  Morton  and  other 
lake  steamship  companies.  [See  "  Water  Transportation."]  A  pleasant  trip 
across  the  lake  to  St.  Joseph,  Mich.,  or  up  the  lake  to  Milwaukee,  Wis.,  may 
be  taken  any  morning  or  any  evening  from  these  docks.  The  steamers  are 
built  for  rough  service  because  weather  as  stormy  as  any  experienced  on  the 
ocean  is  frequently  met  with  on  the  lake.  They  are  elegantly  furnished  and 
are  perfectly  safe. 

A  Trip  to  Milwaukee  should  be  taken  by  all  means  before  you  leave  the 
city.  Start  in  the  morning,  if  possible.  If  the  day  is  clear,  you  will  have  a 
splendid  view  of  the  entire  water  front  of  Chicago  from  the  lake.  All  the  way 
to  Milwaukee  the  steamer  keeps  within  sight  of  the  shore,  and  you  will  see 
the  beautiful  suburbs  which  dot  the  coast  between  the  two  cities.  Milwaukee 
is  in  itself  worthy  of  a  visit.  It  is  beautifully  situated,  rising  to  quite  an 
elevation  above  Lake  Michigan.  [See  "Tributary  Cities  and  Towns."  |  If  we 


THE  PALMER  HOUSE.— See  Buildings. 

walk  west  on  Randolph  st.,  and  south  on  Wabash  ave.  we  will  still  be  in  a 
section  of  the  wholesale  district  given  over  to  heavy  merchandise.  On  the 
corner  of  Randolph  st.  and  Wabash  ave.  is  the  great  lithographing  estab- 
lishment of 

The  Orcutt  Company.— Across  the  avenue  is  the  wholesale  grocery  house 
of  Franklin,  McVeagh  &  Co.  Should  we  follow  Wabash  ave.  to  the  north  we 
would  land  at  the  Rush  st.  bridge  again.  I  won't  take  you  down  this  way, 
because  the  streets  are  filled  with  heavy  wagons,  the  drivers  are  not  in  the 
best  of  humor  always,  and  the  sidewalks  as  a  rule  ai-e  pretty  well  covered 
with  barrels  and  boxes  and  merchandise  of  a  miscellaneous  character,  which 
is  being  handled  on  skids  between  the  wagons  and  the  warehouse  fronts. 
There  are  some  great  concerns  in  this  section,  among  the  foremost  being  the 
Hibbard,  Spencer  &  Bartlett  company,  dealers  in  hardware  and  cutlery. 
There  are  great  grocery  houses  and  drug  houses  down  this  way.  If  we  go 
north  as  far  as  River  st.  we  will  come  to  the  house  of  Hoyt  &  Company, 
upon  which  we  will  find  an  inscription  telling  us  that  it  occupies  the 


70  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Site  of  Old  Fort  Dearborn.— Beyond  is  the  great  soap  factory  of  the  Kirks, 
alluded  to  before.  I  will  leave  you  here  to  decide  for  yourself  whether  it  is 
worth  while  to  take  the  risk  of  being  crushed  to  death  or  run  over,  but  before 
parting  with  you  I  would  suggest  that  you  visit  some  of  these  great  ware- 
houses if  you  would  like  to  get  an  idea  of  the  methods  pursued  by  Chicago 
business  men.  You  will  be  treated  courteously,  but  don't  get  in  the  way. 


SIXTH  Df\Y. 

Wabash  Ave— A  Thoroughfare  in  a  State  of  Transition— Changes  of  Re- 
cent Years— Residences  Give  Way  to  Business  Blocks— The  Handsom- 
est Street  in  Chicago— Special  Lines  of  Trade  Grouped— The  Carriage 
District,  Varnish  District,  etc— Kimball  Building  and  Kimball  Hall— A 
Popular  Composer— Great  Millinery  and  Gi-ocery  Houses— Gunpowder 
and  Cigars. 

Dickens  tells  us  in  one  of  his  novels  of  a  London  thoroughfare  which  at  the 
time  of  his  story  was  passing  through  that  unhappy  stage  of  transition  when 
people  had  begun  to  abandon  it  as  a  residence  street,  but  as  yet  other  people 
had  not  looked  upon  it  as  a  desirable  avenue  for  trade.  For  nearly  twenty 
years  Wabash  ave.  has  been  going  down  hill  as  a  i-esidence  street.  There  has 
never  been  any  doubt  but  that  some  day  it  would  become  one  of  the  great" 
est  commercial  avenues  of  the  city ;  yet  up  to  five  years  ago  the  process  of 
transformation  south  of  Van  Buren  st.  was  exceedingly  slow.  For  many 
years  the  ground  laid  bare  by  the  great  fire  of  July,  1874,  was  permitted  to 
lie  vacant,  the  owners  being 

Uncertain  as  to  the  Future. — There  was  no  demand  for  handsome  resi- 
dences north  of  Twenty-second  st.  and  rentals  sufficient  to  justify  the  erec- 
tion of  large  business  blocks  could  not  be  obtained.  The  ground  was  too 
valuable  for  small  buildings,  so  that  the  street  remained  at  a  standstill.  The 
Auditorium  enterprise,  however,  attracted  attention  to  South  Wabash  ave., 
and  during  the  past  years  real  estate  transactions  on  that  thoroughfare 
have  been  very  active.  Down  on  this  avenue,  but  too  far  south  for  our  pur- 
poses, is  Havlin's  cozy  theatre,  and  here,  near  Sixteenth  st.,  is  the  Libby 
Prison  museum.  You  will  probably  visit  both  of  these  places,  as  well  as  the 
numerous  houses  of  entertainment  which  are  open  day  and  night  along  this 
thoroughfare.  Among  these  are  the  cycloramas,  the  Battle  of  Getty.sburg 
being  an  established  attraction ;  the  John  Bi'own  fort,  the  Subterranean 
theatre,  Haverly's  casino,  etc.  [See  "Amusements."]  Elegant  buildings-are 
making  their  appearance  all  through  this  section  now.  They  are  not  of  the 
sky  scraper  order,  but  they  are  architecturally  beautiful  and  meet  a  demand 
which  is  growing  in  this  vicinity  for  retail  houses.  I  have  always  looked 
upon  Wabash  ave.  as 

The  Finest  Business  Street  in  Chicago.— It  is  of  greater  uniform  width 
than  any  of  the  others  in  the  center  of  the  city  and  the  buildings  north  of 
Congress  st.  are  almost  of  uniform  height.  Looking  north  from  the  Audito- 
rium, magnificent  buildings  line  the  avenue  on  either  side  as  far  as  the  eye 
can  reach.  Some  of  the  most  beautiful  commercial  structures  in  the  city  are 
to  be  seen  along  here.  To  the  south  and  north  of  the  Auditorium  building 
we  pass  through  the  carriage  district.  It  is  remarkable  how  the  different 
departments  of  trade  finally  become  consolidated.  Here  we  find  one  carriage 
repository  after  another.  Then  we  step  right  into  the  varnish  district,  where 
a  score  of  firms  are  engaged  in  the  varnish,  paint  and  oil  traffic.  Another 
distinctive  district  merges  into  this.  It  is  occupied  by  dealers  in  marble  and 
wooden  mantels,  picture  mouldings,  etc,,  and  here,  between  241  and  263,  we 
find  ourselves  in  a  hive  of  subscription  book  publishers.  But  don't  be^fright- 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
THE  PULLMAN  BUILDING,  S.  W.  COR.  MICHIGAN  AVE.  AND  ADAMS  ST. 

[See  Pages  74  -189.] 


78  GUIDE    TO    CHICAGO. 

ened.  The  safest  place  on  the  battle-field  is  under  the  ammunition  wagon' 
We  must  hurry  along  here.  The  show  windows  :<_iv  seductive  and  \\on> 
meant  to  detain  us.  Let  us  drop  into  the  different  store-rooms  and  see  the 
displays  of  books,  paintings,  engravings,  ornamental  marble  work,  fine  fur- 
niture, etc.,  etc., which  are  temptingly  arranged  all  along  here.  We  reach  the 
magnificent 

W.  W.  Kimball  building,  in  which  is  located  Kimball  hall,  one  of  the 
finest  structures  on  the  avenue.  [See  "Kimball  Hall." j  The  Kimball  and 
the  building  adjoining  are  occupied  by  music  teachers  principally,  and  by 
persons  connected  with  the  imisic  trade.  Kimball  hall  is  upstairs,  over  the 
handsome  warerooms  of  the  W.  W.  Kimball  Company.  Passing  up  the  ave- 
nue we  stand  here  and  there  admiringly  in  front  of  the  picture  store  and  iur- 
niture  store  windows,  of  which  there  are  many,  and  we  find  the  day  wearing 
rapidly  away  as  we  pass  from  Wirts  &  Sholle's  into  O'Brien's  art  gallery. 
Although  State  st.  has  monopolized  the  retail  dry  goods  trade  for  many 
years, 

James  H.  Walker  &  Co.  have  so  established  themselves  down  here  now 
that  customers  leave  the  big  thoroughfare  to  the  west  naturally  and  no 
longer  feel  that  they  are  going  out  of  their  way  when  they  step  over  to 
Wabash  ave.  Alexander  H.  Revell's  furniture  house  is  close  by.  Before  we 
leave  this  corner  of  Adams  st.,  I  want  to  call  your  attention  to  the  establish- 
ment of  the 

Root  &  Sons  Music  Company.— This  house  was  founded  by  the  popular 
composer,  George  F.  Root,  whose  songs  you  have  either  sung  yourself  or 
listened  to  in  the  good  old  days.  It  is  one  of  the  largest  music  houses  in  the 
country.  At  No.  204  we  find  Brentano's,  the  Chicago  branch  of  one  of  the 
leading  book  and  periodical  houses  of  the  world.  Brentano's  establish- 
ments may  be  found  in  London,  Paris  and  New  York.  Here  you  will  find  any- 
thing that  is  standard  in  foreign  and  domestic  literature,  guide-books, 
periodicals,  newspapers,  etc.  The  next  block  is  given  over  to  picture  stores, 
photographers,  publishers,  fancy  goods  dealers,  cloak  and  suit  estab- 
lishments, etc.,  and  the  windows  are  all  attractive.  The  great  millinery 
house  of 

Keith  &  Co.  is  at  our  right  as  we  pas.s  up,  and  it  seems  to  be  the  gather- 
ing place,  just  at  present,  of  all  the  milliners  in  the  country.  They  are  here 
making  their  fall  purchases.  One  after  another  now  we  pass  smaller  but  no 
less  attractive  millinery  stores,  that  branch  of  trade  having  found  a  center 
in  this  vicinity.  Yes,  they  are  all  wholesale  houses,  exclusively.  S.  A. 
Maxwell's  well  known  house  is  passed,  and  in  the  vicinity  are  a  number  of 
publishers  and  fancy  goods  stores.  The  monotony  is  broken  by  the  great 
family  grocery  house  of 

Charles  H.  Slack.— This  is  a  concern  of  genuine  Chicago  proportions. 
It  i*  one  of  the  largest,  handsomest  and  most  complete  retail  grocery 
houses  on  the  continent.  The  show  windows  are  themselves  a  treat.  Now 
we  pass  the  headquarters  of  the  American  Baptist  Publication  Society  and 
the  American  Tract  Society,  and  we  find  ourselves  entering  the  great  pub- 
lishing and  book  house  of 

A.  C.  McClurg  &  Co.,  which  has  grown  up  with  Chicago  and  occupies 
a  position  second  to  few  of  the  great  publishing  concerns  of  the  world. 
Here  you  will  find  several  floors  of  wide  area  given  over  to  the  display  of 
books  and  high  class  engravings.  A.  C.  McClurg  &  Co.  publish  extensively 
themselves  and  are  prepared  to  furnish  anything  from  a  single  volume  to 
an  outfit  for  a  public  library.  This  is  a  great  resort  for  people  of  literary 
taste,  and  I  am  proud  to  say  that  Chicago  people  of  literary  taste  are  very 
numerous.  There  is  a  large  number  of  interesting  houses  along  here. 
Here  is 

The  Tobey  Furniture  Company,  which  is  one  of  the  most  conspicuovis  con- 
cerns on  the  avenue,  partly  because  it  is  one  of  the  largest,  partly  because 
of  its  beautiful  front  and  partly  because  of  its  elegant  window  display.  This 
building  was  occupied  for  a  longtime  as  the  branch  house  of  A.T.  Stewart  & 


TIIK    C.UIDK.  79 

Co.  That  firm  came  out  West  with  the  idea  that  it  would  dose  up  a  number 
of  the  «rreat  Chicago  houses  which  were  outline  oft'  its  business  behind  the  • 
ears.  Finding  that  it  couldn't  close  up  the  Chicago  houses  it  did  the  next 
best  thing  and  closed  up  itself.  Afterward  the  great  store  rooms  were  occu- 
pied as  a  wholesale  hardware  concern,  now  out  of  existence,  bxit  it  remained 
for  the  Tobey  Company  to  give  the  corner  life  and  animation,  and  it  is  now 
one  of  the  establishments  which  is  making  Wabash  ave.  a  popular  street. 
Across  the  street  is  an  establishment  well  known  throughout  the  country 
and  in  Europe,  where  its  buyers  are  often  met  with.  This  is  the  house  of 

D.  B.  Fisk  &  Co. — Magnificent  both  as  to  exterior  and  to  interior.  It  is  a 
wholesale  millinery  house  of  the  highest  order,  antl  goods  are  shipped  from 
here  north,  south,  east  and  west  in  quantities  which  I  wouldn't  dare  to  esti- 
mate. But  wherever  you  go  you  hear  of  D.  B.  Fisk's  millinery,  and  wherever 
D.  B.  Fisk's  millinery  goes  the  loving  husband  and  the  indulgent  father  pays 
the  freight.  On  the  corner  diagonally  opposite  is  the  China,  glass,  porcelain, 
Dresdenware,  etc.,  etc.,  establishment  of 

French,  Potter  &  Wilson.— The  window  display  is  magnificent,  but  it  is 
only  a  hint  of  the  beautiful  and  the  pretty  and  the  costly  things  to  be  seen 
inside.  Nearly  everything  here  is  imported.  There  are  some  beautiful  lamps, 
some  charming  vases,  some  elegant  dinner  and  tea  sets;  but  we  must  move 
on  for  the'present.  You  can  come  back  and  take  your  own  time  later  in 
the  day.  We  now  come  to  the  business  college  of  Bryant  &  Statton.  This 
institution  has  turned  out  more  thoroughly  equipped  young  business  men 
than  any  other  in  the  country  Many  of  the  most  successful  merchants  in 
Chjcago  to-day  have  received  their  training  here.  It  will  be  worth  your 
while  to  go  up  and  take  a  stroll  through  the  college.  We  are  now  on  the 
outskirts  of  the  wholesale  grocery  district,  and  we  begin  to  see  evidences  of 
it  in  the  nvimber  of  cigar  signs,  gunpowder  signs,  etc.  I  don't  know  why 
gunpowder  and  wholesale  groceries  should  always  flock  together,  but  they 
do.  There  are  some  stove  establishments  and  wholesale  drug  stores  and 
chemist  supply  houses  here,  but  we  are  in  the  midst  of  the  wholesale  tobacco 
and  cigar  men  generally  speaking,  and  these  go  hand  in  hand  with  the  men 
who  handle  teas,  coffees,  sugar  and  molasses.  Here  is  the  Frazer  Lubrica- 
tor Company,  of  which  Mr.  George  B.  Swift,  formerly  Commissioner  of  Public 
Works,  is  president,  and  a  perfect  row  of -tea  houses.  In  Doggett's  building, 
at  No.  34,  there  is  about  a  hundred  commission  firms  doing  business  in  every 
branch  of  trade  related  nearly  or  remotely  to  the  grocery  business— from 
minced  meats  to  tallow  candles. 


SEVENTH    Df\Y 

The  City  Hall  and  Court  House— History  of  these  Great  Buildings— The  Court 
House  Bell— What  the  Structures  Cost— A  Trip  Through  City  Hall— The 
Health,  Detectives,  Fire  Alarm,  Mayor's  Offices,  Etc.—  The  Central  Sta- 
tion—Reporters' Room— The  Public  Library— Over  to  the  Court  House— 
The  Recorder's'  Sheriff's,  Coroner's,  Treasurer's  and  Other  Offices— The 
Courts — Divorce  Day — Motley  Crowds  in  Attendance. 

To-day  we  make  the  City  Hall  our  starting  point.  This  building,  and  the 
Cook  Coiinty  Court  House  adjoining,  stand  upon  the  site  of  the  Court  House 
destroyed  in  the  great  fire  of  1871.  The  old  Court  House  stood  in  the  center 
of  the  block  and  was  surrounded  by  a  green  lawn  in  the  nature  of  a  park. 
It  was  a  handsome  building  as  buildings  went  in  those  days,  and  had  a 
tower  in  which  there  was  a  clock  and  a  great  bell.  This  bell  rang  out  in  dole- 
ful peals  on  the  fatal  Sunday  night  in  October,  1871,  almost  up  to  the  moment 
the  tower  became  enveloped  in  flames.  After  the  fire  the  bruised  and 


80 


GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


Battered  Bell  was  taken  from  the  ruins  by  an  enterprising  firm  and 
worked  up  into  souvenirs — watch  charms,  breast  pins,  etc.,  which  found  a 
ready  sale  and  commanded  good  prices.  So  great  was  the  demand  that 
several  hundred  tons  of  old  bell  metal  were  consumed  in  supplying  it  before 
the  intelligent  public  began  to  suspect  that  there  was  anything  wrong.  The 
foundations  of  the  new  Court  House  were  laid  in  1875.  The  labor  troubles 
incident  to  the  hard  times  in  1877  induced  the  city  government  to  begin  work 
on  the  City  Hall  in  that  year.  The  building  was  commenced  under  the 
administration  of  Mayor  Heath  and  finished  under  the  administration  of 
Mayor  Harrison.  It  is 

A  Stately  Pile,  as  you  perceive,  and  its  architecture  would  be  called 
Grecian  by  a  person  not  over  particular  in  regard  to  such  matters.  Although 

its  general  style  has 
been  subjected  to 
much  severe  criti- 
cism, it  is  some- 
thing in  its  favor  to 
say  that,  notwith- 
standing the  numer- 
ous magnificent 
piles  which  have 
been  erected  in  its 
neighborhood  dur- 
ing recent  years,  it 
is  still  t'ne  most 
Striking  and,  alto- 
gether, the  hand- 
somest structure  in 
the  city.  These  re- 
marks are  applic- 
able, of  course,  to 
the  Court  House, 
which  indesigmand 
finish  differs  very 
little  from  the  City 
Hall.  If  anything, 
the  Court  House  is 
a  little  the  hand- 
somer of  the  two, 
because  the  city  was 
retrenching  when 
the  City  Hall  was 
being  constructed, 
and  a  number  of 
costly  details  which 
entered  into  the 
Court  House  were 
dropped.  The  City 
Hall  building  as  it  is 
to-day  cost,  exclus- 
ive of  the  ground 
upon  which  it  stands,  very  nearly  $1,800,000.  The  cost  of  the  Court  House 
exceeds  the  figure  by  nearly  $1,000,000,  but  that  much  money  additional  didn't 
go  into  the  structure.  A  great  part  of  it  was  used  in  bribery,  in  election 
expenses  and  in  riotous  living. 

If  the  Walls  Could  Speak  they  would  tell  the  story  of  the  most  corrupt 
period  in  the  history  of  Cook  county  politics.  Some  of  the  living  ex-county 
commissioners,  by  the  way,  could,  if  they  felt  inclined,  tell  it  just  as  well. 
But  this  is  a  digression.  The  City  Hall  occupies  half  the  block  bounded  by 
Washington  st.  on  the  south,  Randolph  st.  on  the  north,  La  Salle  st.  on  the 
west  and  Clark  st.  on  the  east.  We  enter  it  from  the  Washington  st.  side, 
passing  into  the  tunnel-like  corridor  which  runs  the  entire  length  of  the  base- 


GREAT  NORTHERN  HOTEL.— See  Buildings. 


82  OTTDK    TO    CHTCAfiO. 

ment  from  Washington  to  Randolph  st.  The  first  offices  to  our  left  ar?  +hose 
occupied  by 

The  Health  Department.— Here  the  Commissioner  of  He?ith,  a  gentleman 
appointed  by  the  Mayor  is  in  charge.  He  has  a  large  corps  of  assistants, 
and  from  those  rooms  the  sanitary  condition  of  the  city  is  supposed  to  be 
regulated.  The  health  department  looks  after  ou_  back-yards,  our  back 
alleys  and  our  back  streets,  where  nobody  else  appears  to  be  interested.  It 
also  takes  a  peep  into  our  great  factories,  sees  that  work-shops  are  not 
over-crowded,  and  protects  the  better  classes  from  infection  arising  out  of- 
the  districts  occupied  by  the  other  classes-  It  also  vaccinates  us  on  demand, 
and  sends  us  to  the  small-pox  hospitals  at  times,  if  we  have  neglected  the 
modern  precaution  of  inoculation.  But  small-pox  in  Chicago  is  very  rare, 
and  the  "  pest  house  "  keeper  of  late  years  has  been  living  a  life  of  ease  and 
drawing  the  salary  of  a  sinecure.  If  you  will  step  inside  they  will  tell  you 
that  Chicago  is  the  healthiest  city  on  earth.  Only  eighteen  out  of  every 
thousand  of  us  die  or  get  run  over  or  fall  down  elevator  shafts  every  year. 
Just  across  the  corridor  to  your  right  is  the 

City  Detective  Office. — The  people,  and  more  especially  the  newspapers,  of 
Chicago,  are  inclined  to  be  cynical.  You  will  probably  hear  that  the  city 
detectives  are  organized  for  the  purpose  of  allowing  criminals  to  escape, 
and  that  the  safest  place  for  a  thief  is  under  the  very  nose  of  one  of  the 
municipal  sleuths,  but  you  must  pay  no  attention  to  this  kind  of  talk,  for, 
while  the  detectives  capture  thousands  of  rogues  every  year,  they  are  sel- 
dom spoken  of  unless  in  connection  with  the  escape  of  some  criminal.  The 
city  detectives  do  a  great  deal  of  really  creditable  work  that  the  public  is 
never  informed  of.  The  real  clever  men  in  the  detective  department  are 

Modest  and  Unknown,  so  that  when  somebody  points  out  to  you  on  the 
street  a  person  with  the  make-up  of  a  Vidoq  and  calls  him  one  of  the  shrewd- 
est sleuths  on  the  force,  you  may  assume  that  this  person  is  a  detective  for 
parade  purposes  only.  Inside  the  detective  department  is 

The  "  Sweat-Box,"  where  criminals.or  suspected  criminals,  are  subjected 
to  the  "pumping"  process  before  they  are  regularly  committed.  Some  out- 
rages have  been  committed  in  this  same  "sweat-box,"  and  it  isn't  popular 
with  the  people.  It  smacks  of  the  inquisition,  and  the  methods  sometimes 
pursued  in  "pumping"  prisoners  are  repugnant  to  the  American  idea  of 
fair  play.  The  detectives  dress  in  plain  clothing.  They  are  generally  picked 
from  the  police  force  proper  and  are  presumed  to  be  intelligent  men.  Across 
the  corridor  to  the  left  is  the 

Central  Police  Station — This  is  in  reality  a  sub-station  of  the  First  pre- 
cinct, but  at  the  same  time,  by  reason  of  its  situation,  is  the  most  important 
police  station  in  the  city.  In  olden  times  —  that  is,  about  thirty  years 
ago — when  Lake  st.  was  the  leading  thoroughfare  of  the  city,  the  handsom- 
est men  on  the  police  force  were  detailed  for  duty  upon  its  crossings.  These 
men  composed  what  came  to  be  known  as 

"  The  Lake  Street  Squad."— Later  on,  as  the  city  grew  and  other  streets 
became  as  great  as  Lake  and  even  greater,  additional  details  of  a  like  charac- 
ter were  drawn  from  the  force  proper.  Then  the  railroad  depots  and  bridges 
demanded  men.  Finally  the  various  squads  were  consolidated  into  the  Central 
Detail.  The  police  of  this  station  perform  day  duty  in  the  center  of  the  city, 
exclusively.  They  have  charge  of  the  bridges,  railroad  depots,  public  places 
generally  and  street  crossings.  In  the  night  they  are  relieved  by  patrolmen 
from  the  First  precinct  station.  There  is  a  procession  of  visitors  to  the 
central  station  all  day  long.  The  great  majority  of  minor  crimes  are  com- 
mitted in  the  business  district.  Pick-pockets,  sneak-thieves,  confidence  men, 
etc.,  arrested  by  the  detectives,  are  brought  in  here.  Here  also  reports  are 
received  from  all  the  precinct  stations.  We  are  shown  into 

The  Reporters'  Boom,  where  reporters  of  the  city  press  maybe  found  from 
morn  till  night,  from  night  till  rosy  morn,  waiting  and  watching  for  the 
reports  which  come  over  the  telephone,  or  are  handed  in  by  special  messen- 
gers from  the  various  precinct  stations.  Here  the  first  news  of  accidents, 
murders  and  crimes  generally  is  received.  When  a  crime  or  accident  of 


THE   GUIDE.  83 

unusual  importance  is  reported,  the  representatives  of  the  press  immediately 
notify  their  city  editors  by  telephone,  and  are  relieved  of  further  responsi- 
bility, as  men  are  dispatched  from  the  newspaper  offices  to  the  scene  of  the 
occurrence.  Minor  affairs  only,  as  a  rule,  are  followed  up  by  the  police  report- 
ers, who  are  expected  to  remain  at  or  near  their  posts  constantly  until 
relieved.  Many  of  the  leading-  journalists  of  the  city  have  begun  as  police 
reporters.  The  central  station  is  a  great. 

School  for  Newspaper  Men,  as  there  is  an  opportunity  hero  of  becoming 
acquainted  with  evei'y  phase  of  metropolitan  existence.  Along  the  COTTI- 
dor  various  other  offices  are  devoted  to  the  affairs  of  the  police  department 
but  the  work  done  is  principally  clerical  and  uninteresting.  To  our  left  as 
we  move  toward  the  north  are 

The  Fire  Alarm  Offices. — These  are  interesting  to  visitors.  Here  all 
alarms  of  fire  are  received,  and  from  these  offices  all  alarms  are  sounded 
on  the  gongs  of  the  numerous  engine-houses.  There  are  no  alarm  bells  in 
the  city.  The  apparatus,  as  you  see,  is  beautiful;  its  operation  is  marvel- 
ous. At  first  sight,  all  those  instruments  of  shining  brass  and  nickel,  ever 
maintained  at  the  highest  state  of  polish,  may  appear  complicated,  but  to 
the  operators  they  are  simplicity  itself.  While  you  are  looking  on,  the 
simple  turning  of  a  switch  may  arouse  the  entire  fire  department,  an-l  for  that 
matter  the  entire  city ;  but  you  have  no  knowledge  that  perhaps  a  neigh- 
borhood is 

In  a  State  of  Panic,  for  the  silent  fluttering  of  a  hand  on  one  of  the  dials,  or 
the  almost  imperceptible  clicking  of  an  instrument  no  large  rthan  your  hat  are 
meaningless  to  you.  While  the  fire  department  is  battling  with  the  "demon 
destroyer,"  as  the  country  reporter  loves  to  call  it,  arid  a  howling,  crazy 
mob  is  being  held  in  check  by  the  police,  the  operator  sits  here  in  peace  and 
quiet,  waiting  for  the  "out"  signal,  which  is  sometimes  too  long  delayed  for 
the  good  of  the  piiblic  and  the  happiness  of  the  fire  insui'ance  companies. 
We  can  spend  an  hour  in  here  very  pleasantly  and  very  profitably,  if  the 
operators  are  not  too  busy  to  talk.  We  walk  to  the  end  of  the  corridor,  as- 
cend one  flight  of  stairs  to  the  first  floor,  and  move  toward  the  south  along 
a  higher  and  a  brighter  corridor.  To  our  left  is 

The  City  Collector's  Office,  where  clerical  work  only  is  performed,  the 
city  collector  being  a  person  who  has  much  to  do  with  licenses,  brewers  and 
saloon-keepers,  but  across  the  the  hall  are 

The  Water  Offices,  several  in  number,  and  all  more  or  less  crowded  during 
business  hours.  Here  we  pay  our  water  rates,  make  complaints  about  leak- 
ages, arrange  for  supplies,  etc.  Turn  to  "V/ater  Works"  in  this  book, 
notice  the  statistics  of  the  department,  and  you  will  comprehend  what  an 
immense  amount  of  business  all  these  clerks  transact  every  day.  A  little 
further  on  are  the  offices  of  the 

Department  of  Public  Works. — Hei*e  the  entire  machinery  connected  with 
the  public  works  of  the  city  of  Chicago  is  operated.  This  includes  so  much 
that  it  would  require  half  a  day  to  tell  you  all  about  it.  The  Public  Works 
department,  however,  cares  for  our  streets,  our  sewers,  our  bridges,  our  via- 
ducts, etc. ;  besides,  it  plans  and  executes  all  improvements  and  supervises 
the  operation  of  corporations,  such  as  street  car  companies,  gas  companies, 
electric  companies,  etc.,  whenever  these  corporations  are  granted  franchises 
to  tear  up  or  occupy  our  streets,  and  that  means  a  great  deal  more  than  you 
will  be  able  to  understand  during  a  brief  visit  to  Chicago,  for  private  cor- 
porations are  granted  privileges  here  that  they  would  not  dare  ask,  perhaps, 
in  the  city  you  came  from.  The  rest  of  this  floor  is  given  up  to  the  bureau 
offices,  the  Comptroller's  offices,  etc.,  of  no  particular  interest  to  you. 
Taking  one  of  the  elevators  at  the  northern  end  of  the  building  to  the  next 
floor,  we  find 

The  Mayor's  Office  at  our  right.  The  mayor's  office  consists  of  a  suite  of 
rooms.  The  outer  office  is  occupied  by  private  secretaries.  Then  comes  an 
immense  reception  room,  and,  back  of  this  is  the  sanctuary.  Here  the  mayor 
of  the  gi'eat  city  of  Chicago  entertains  his  most  distinguished  callers.  Alder- 


84  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

men  who  happen  for  the  moment  to  be  in  touch  with  him,  and  perhaps,  now 
and  then,  but  not  often,  an  ordinary  citizen  who  has  a  request  to  make  or  a 
grievance  to  ventilate.  A  great  deal  depends  upon  the  man  who  happens  to 
be  mayor  at  the  time  you  call.  He  may  be  an  agreeable  gentleman  who 
hasn't  forgotten,  and  doesn't  forget,  that  he  is  the  paid  servant  of  the  peo- 
ple, or  he  may  be  an  individual  who  believes  he  is 

Mayor  by  Divine  Right,  was  born  to  the  position  and  has  really  done  the 
people  a  great  kindness  by  consenting  to  fill  it.  But  whatever  his  ideas  may 
be,  he  is  not  robed  in  scarlet,  as  are  the  mayors  of  some  little  European 
cities,  nor  is  he  waited  on  by  a  uniformed  attendant.  He  is  usually  a  plain 
man — sometimes  very  plain — who  can  be  easily  approached  by  the  common 
people.  The  next  floor  is  given  over  to  bureau  and  department  offices.  On 
the  fourth  floor  is 

The  Council  Chamber,  a  large  and  handsome  assembly  room  where  the 
sixty-eight  aldermen  meet  and  legislate  for  the  people.  The  remainder  of 
this  floor  is  occupied  by 

The  Public  Library,  which  is  described  in  this  book.  We  will  be  able  to 
spend  the  remainder  of  the  day  very  pleasantly  here,  if  we  can  intei-- 
est  the  librarian  or  one  of  his  assistants  in  our  behalf.  There  are  more 
books  circulated  by  this  library  now  than  by  any  other  in  the  United  States, 
not  even  excepting  Boston's.  The  collection  of  books  is  very  complete  and 
is  being  added  to  annually.  At  the  present  rate  of  increase  we  will  have  one 
of  the  largest  libraries  in  the  world  within  a  very  few  years.  I  have  not 
called  your  attention  to  the 

Crowds  in  the  City  Hall,  because  it  wasn't  necessary.  You  have  been 
jostled  by  them  at  every  stage  of  our  trip.  What  so  many  men  are  doing 
here  all  day  long  I  can't  tell  you,  because  I  don't  know.  But  they  are  to  be 
found  here  every  day,  hanging  around  the  corridors,  with  no  apparent  aim 
in  life,  and,  judging  from  the  faces  of  most  of  them,  without  much  hope  of  a 
hereafter.  A  great  many  of  them  are  political  "wire-pullers,"  "workers  in 
the  wards,"  "friends"  of  the  office  holders,  etc.  The  fact  that  they  have 
some  connection  in  some  mysterious  way  with  men  occupying  influential 
positions  prevents  the  police  from  arresting  them  on  charges  of  vagrancy. 
If  you  wish,  we  will  take  a  look  at 

The  Cells  in  the  Basement,  also  at  the  collection  of  stolen  goods  in  the 
hands  of  the  custodian.  This  will  not  require  much  time,  because  the  cells 
are  not  very  numerous  here  nor  is  the  custodian's  collection  particularly 
interesting.  We  will  go  over  to 

The  Court  House,  entering  this  building  also  from  the  Washington  st. 
side.  And  here  it  might  be  remarked  that  the  main  entrance  to  the  Court 
House  is  up  a  flight  of  granite  steps  in  the  center  of  the  structure  on  Clark 
st.  The  main  entrance  to  the  City  Hall  is  by  a  similar  flight  of  steps  on  La 
Salle  st.  Both  entrances  are 

Grand  in  Proportion  and  beautiful  in  design.  But  it  is  more  convenient 
to  begin  at  the  very  bottom.  We  enter  another  tunnel-like  corridor,  and 
before  proceeding  farther,  I  might  as  well  tell  you  that  the  entire  building  is 
occupied  by  the  various  county  offices  and  courts ;  that,  immense  as  it  is,  it 
fails  to  accommodate  all  of  them,  some  of  the  offices  and  courts  being  located 
in  the  Criminal  Court  building  on  the  North  side,  and  that  two  additional 
stories  are  to  be  put  on  this  building.  How  it  will  look  with  two  additional 
stories  I  don't  know.  It  is  claimed  that 

The  Symmetry  of~the  Structure  will  be  destroyed.  Certain  it  is  that  if  two 
stories  are  not  also  added  to  the  City  Hall  the  latter  building  will  present  an 
extremely  dumpy  and  unsatisfactory  appearance.  The  original  design  was 
never  carried  out.  There  was  to  be  a  great  dome  over  the  united  buildings. 
The  city  and  county  failed  to  agree  to  the  expenditure  of  the  requisite  money, 
and  the  dome  was  dropped  out.  With  a  six-story  Court  House  and  a  four- 
story  City  Hall,  of  course  a  dome  in  the  future  will  be  out  of  the  question, 
unless  the  City  Hall  side  of  it  is  to  be  supported  on  props.  This  might  be 
picturesque,  but  it  would  hardly  be  considered  in  the  light  of  an  artistic 


86 


GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


triumph.  Yet,  Chicago  has  passed  through  so  many  ordeals  unscathed  that 
we  have  reason  to  hope  the  Court-House-City-Hall  question  will  be  settled  to 
everybody's  satisfaction  in  the  end.  Passing  a  number  of  uninteresting 
county  offices  we  come  to  the 

County  Recorder's  Office,  where  all  transfers  of  real  property  in  Cook 
county  are  registered.  As  settlement  of  questions  of  ownership  must  finally 
be  determined  by  the  records  of  this  office,  its  importance  will  be  under- 
stood, The  great  fire  of  1871  destroyed  all  the  records  of  Cook  county  and  it 
was  a  herculean  task  to  restoi-e  them.  The  most  important  of  these  records, 
of  course,  were  those  upon  which  the  ownership  of  real  estate  was  estab- 
lished or  proved.  Many  thousands  of  deeds  were  also 

Lost  in  the  Great  Fire,  so  that  endless  confusion  and  litigation  might 
have  resulted  had  there  not  been  in  existence  here  private  institutions  which 

kept  abstracts  of  all  land  or 
real  estate  titles.  [See 
"Abstracts  of  Title."  |  These 
assisted  very  materially  in 
straightening  things  out, 
and,  with  the  aid  of  expeits 
in  the  business,  the  county 
was  soon  in  possession  once 
more  of  complete  records. 
The  business  of  the  Recor- 
der's office  is  extremely  dry 
and  tedious,  yet  you  will  be 
interested  in  watching  the 
people  who  are  constantly 
handing  in  deeds  and  mort- 
gages through  a  little  win- 
dow to  be  recorded,  and  con- 
stantly receiving  them 
through  another  little  win- 
dow after  they  have  been 
recorded.  Most  of  them  are 
lawyers'  clerks,  real  estate 
dealers  and  money  brokers. 
Passing  other  offices  of  minor 
importance,  we  come  to 
those  occupied  by 

The  Sheriff,  at  the  ex- 
t  r  e  m  e  northeastern  corner 
of  the  building.  The  Sheriff 
is  elected  by  the  people,  as 
perhaps  you  know,  and  has 
the  peace  and  good  order  of 
the  county  in  h  i  s  especial 
charge.  Yet,  as  the  city  of 
Chicago  covers  the  greater 
part  of  the  county  just  now,  or  at  least  the  most  important  part  of  it,  the 
police  duties  of  the  Sheriff  are  rather  limited.  He  looks  after  the  jail  and 
the  courts,  his  deputies  being,  as  it  were,  like  the  sand  on  the  sea  shore. 
The  bailiffs  are  his  iinderlings,  and 

The  Litigant  is  His  Victim— From  the  sheriff's  offices  all  siimmonses  of 
the  state  courts  are  served.  One  of  the  duties  of  this  official  is  to  hang  a 
man,  for  example's  sake,  periodically.  But  he  does  this  by  contract,  as  he 
does  nearly  everything  else,  from  the  feeding  of  jail  prisoners  to  the  sup- 
pression of  public  tumults.  In  the  basement,  near  the  sheriff's  office,  we 
also  find 

The  Coroner's  Office.— The  coroner  has  a  number  of  deputies  [see  "  Coro- 
ner's Inquests  "],  and  in  a  big  city  like  Chicago  they  are  all  kept  busy.  There 
are  sudden  deaths,  suicides,  deaths  from  accident,  homicides  and  murders 


MONADNOCK  BUILDING. —  See  Buildings. 


THE    GUIDE.  87 

to  be  investigated,  and  the  coroner  or  his  deputies  must  be  on  hand  before 
Ihe  funerals  take  place.  The  deputies  must  be  acquainted  with  ail  lan- 
guages and  must  speak  many  of  them,  the  English  tongue,  strange  as  it  may 
appear,  being  the  least  requisite  in  the  transaction  of  their  business.  This 
might  be  explained  easily  by  saying  that  the  great  majority  of  the  working 
people  of  the  city,  among  whom  accidents  are  the  most  frequent,  are  for- 
eigners. Climbing  a  flight  of  stairs,  we  reach  the  first,  or 

Main  Floor  of  the  Court  House.— Here  the  County  Clerk's  office  invites  our 
attention  because  of  the  multitude  of  clerks  we  see  inside,  nearly  every  one 
of  whom  wears  a  light  blonde  mustache.  The  fact  that  the  county  clerk  is 
invariably  a  German  or  an  Irishman,  perhaps  accounts  for  this.  The  clerks 
are  nice  young  men,  as  a  rule,  and  will  answer  any  questions  you  may  put 
to  them,  if  they  understand  your  language.  In  the  county  clerk's  office  we 
find  the  marriage  license  clerk.  [See  "Marriage  Licenses."]  It  will  be 
interesting  to  remain  here  awhile  and  take  note  of  the  persons  who  apply 
for  legal  permission  to  wed.  Most  of  them  are 

Oaivky  Young  Men. — Why  they  should  be  gawky  it  is  hard  to  say,  but  a 
young  man  who  is  naturally  easy  in  his  manner  becomes  a  gawk  when  he 
has  any  business  of  this  kind  on  hand.  He  isn't  used  to  it,  and  he  is  afraid 
that  something  will  happen  to  prevent  the  consummation  of  his  wishes. 
Many  are  widowers  who  are  willing  to  take  another  risk,  and  not  a  few  are 
men  who  have  been  divorced  for  cause.  He  is  a  very  rare  sort  of  man  who 
can  not,  somehow,  somewhere  or  sometime  find  a  mate,  and  we  see  here  all 
sorts  and  conditions  of  male  humanity— from  the  bandy-legged  to  the  hump- 
backed—who have  proposed  and  have  been  accepted.  Our  next  stopping 
place  is 

The  County  Treasurer' suffice. — I  wrill  have  to  ask  you  to  refer  to  the  in- 
dex that  you  may  acquaint  yourself  with  the  condition  of  Cook  county 
finances.  This  is  no  place  for  dry  details,  nor  for  figures.  We  pay  our 
taxes  here ;  we  pay  a  great  deal  of  money  into  the  County  Treasurer's  hands 
for  taxes  every  year,  and  he  pays  a  great  deal  out  to  meet  the  current  and 
other  expenses  of  county  government.  If  all  the  money  received  and  paid 
out  had  been  honestly  applied  during  the  past  twenty-five  years,  we  might 
have  had  a  gold-burnished  dome  on  the  top  of  the  City  Hall  and  Court  House 
buildings  to-day,  besides  a  number  of  other  things  equally  desirable  if  not 
quite  so  ornamental.  But  the  tax-payers  are  not  grumbling.  In  view  of  all 
the  circumstances  they  congratulate  themselves  that  even  a  small  percent- 
age of  the  revenue  has  been  used  for  public  purposes.  Of  late  years  the 
stealing  has  not  been  so  great,  principally  because  the  opportunities  have 
not  been  so  numerous.  The  County  Treasurer's  office  is  one  of  the  most  in- 
teresting in  the  Court  House,  for  here  we  find  people  who  have,  by 

Honest  Toil  and  Industry,  secured  solid  property,  cheerfully,  though  not 
voluntarily,  contributing  their  share  towards  the  payment  of  public  expenses. 
Men  and  women,  old  and  young,  are  here,  native  and  foreigner,  with  their 
tax  bills  in  one  hand  and  their  purses  or  rolls  of  money  in  the  other,  await- 
ing their  turns  in  the  long  lines  that  radiate  from  the  different  windows. 
Going  up  another  flight  of  stairs  we  find  ourselves 

Among  the  Courts. — Including  the  County  and  Probate  courts  there  are 
nineteen  halls  of  justice  in  the  Court  House.  Some  of  these  are  Superior  and 
some  Circuit  courts.  The  difference  between  them  you  would  not  appreciate 
if  told.  They  have  practically  equal  jurisdiction.  Only  the  civil  courts,  how- 
ever, are  held  here.  The  criminal  courts  are  held  on  the  North  side  in  the 
Criminal  Court  building.  The  court  rooms,  together  with  the  Superior  and 
Circuit  Court  Clerk's  offices,  occupy  the  second,  third  and  fourth  floors  of  the 
Court  House.  The  court  rooms  are  all  handsomely  finished.  They  are 
generally  crowded.  If  you  see  one  you  see  all.  Saturday  is  given  over  to 

Divorce  Cases  in  the  Superior  Court,  and,  if  your  taste  lies  in  that  direc- 
tion, you  might  spend  a  highly  enjoyable  day  listening  to  the  tt  stimony  and 
looking  at  the  complainants,  witnesses  and  other  spectators.  The  court 
crowd  is  always  a  motly  one,  and  mostly  a  rather  interesting  one.  There 
are  men  and  women  who,  like  little  Miss  Flight,  spend  day  after  day  in  these 


88  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

courts,  with  no  oilier  object  in  view  than  the  satisfaction  of  an  insane  or  an 
idle  curiosity.  They  will  listen  to  the  dreariest  testimony  with  a  degree  of 
interest  that  fills  the  wearied  juror  and  jaded  judge  with  shame. 


EIGHTH    DfVY. 

Down  La  Salle  from  Lake  St.— An  Avenue  of  Commercial  Palaces— Marine 
Building— Jackson  Hall— Metropolitan  Block—"  Uncle  Jesse"  and  "  Uncle 
Phil"— Merchants  Building— Union  Building— Chamber  of  Commerce 
Building— Its  Beautiful  Interior— Marble  Mosaics  and  Bronze— Tacoma 
Building— Otis,  Major,  Republic,  Bryan  Buildings— The  Temple— Descrip- 
tion of  the  Beautiful  Structure— Calumet  and  Home  Insurance  Build- 
ings—The Union  National  Bank— Armour  &  Co.— The  Rookery— Board  of 
Trade  District. 

To-day  I  propose  that  we  shall  begin  on  Lake  St.  and  walk  sou  oh  on 
La  Salle  st.  toward  the  Board  of  Trade.  We  will  try  to  reach  that  building 
before  night,  but  there  will  be  many  attractions  to  detain  us  on  the  way — 
among  them  some  of  the  grandest  and  greatest  buildings  on  the  globe. 
La  Salle  is  now,  and  has  been  for  many  years,  the  money  street  of  the  city. 
It  is  a  street  given  over  almost  exclusively  to  banking,  brokerage,  insur- 
ance, real  estate  and  general  office  purposes.  Dearborn  st.  is  its  only  rival. 
It  is  safe  to  say  that  there  is  a  greater  amount  of  business  transacted  on 
La  Salle  than  on  any  street  in  the  city.  All  this  business,  outside  of  the 
transactions  on  the  Board  of  Trade,  is  done  in  offices,  and  to  meet  the 
demand  for  offices  the  immense  and  elegant  structures  which  line  the  street 
on  either  side  were  erected.  Before  reaching  these,  however,  we  must  notice 
the 

Marine  Building,  on  the  N.  E.  Cor.  Lake  and  La  Salle,  not  so  much  on 
account  of  its  size  and  beauty,  but  because  of  the  associations  connected 
with  it.  The  building  was  originally  erected  to  accommodate  "  The  Marine 
Bank,"  at  one  time  a  great  financial  institution,  at  the  head  of  which  was 
the  late  John  Young  Scammon.  The  building,  which  has  recently  been  enlarged 
and  reconstructed,  is  owned  by  the  Marine  association,  which  is  composed 
of  Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  Henry  C.  Durand,  John  H.  Dwight  and  C.  H.  Ham- 
ill.  It  is  a  seven-story  structure,  architecturally  ornate  and  perfect  in  all 
its  appointments  and  conveniences.  To  our  right,  near  the  mouth  of  the 
tunnel,  we  come  upon  a  three-story  building,  No.  49,  under  the  cornice  of 
which  we  see  the  name  "Jackson  Hall."  This  was 

"Long"1  John  Went  worth'1 8  Contribution  to  the  rebuilding  of  Chicago.  It 
will  not  be  deemed  unkind  to  the  memory  of  the  dead,  but  rather  the  state- 
ment of  an  historical  fact,  when  I  tell  you  that  perhaps  there  has  never  lived 
in  Chicago  a  man  with  the  means  of  doing  much  within  his  grasp,  who 
did  less  for  the  material  benefit  of  the  city  than  "Long"  John  Wentworth. 
And  it  would  not  be  worth  while  to  speak  of  this  here,  were  it  not  for  the 
other  historical  fact  that  during  the  greater  part  of  his  lifetime  "Long" 
John  Wentworth  talked  like  a  man  who  had  biiilt  the  city  at  his  own  expense 
and  presented  it  ready-made  to  the  public.  On  the  opposite  side  of  the  street, 
across  the  mouth  of  the  timnel,  is 

The  Metropolitan  Block,  a  fine  building  of  the  fire  period,  but  hardly  up 
to  the  present  standard.  Just  over  the  way,  No.  48,  is  the  office  of  the 
Spaulding  Lumber  Company.  Here  you  will  see,  at  his  desk,  in  a  little  ante- 
room, the  Hon.  Jesse  Spaulding,  millionaire  lumberman,  formerly  collector 
at  this  port,  and  a.  man  of  great  prominence  and  large  influence  on  the 
Republican  eidt;  of  politics.  A  plain  man  is 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
"THE  TEMPLE,"  LA  SALLE  AND  MONROE  STS. 

[See  Pages  94-194-] 


90  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

"  Uncle  Jesse"  as  he  is  familiarly  called,  and  as  hard  a  worker  as  you 
will  find  on  the  street.  "Uncle  Jesse"  and  "Uncle"  "Phil"  Armour — the 
twenty-millionaire,  whom  we  will  see  farther  down — are  great  chums  and 
mutual  admirers.  A  genuine  regard,  bordering  upon  school  boy  affection, 
exists  between  them.  These  two  men  might  have  left  off  Work  ten  years  ago 
with  fortunes  large  enough  to  make  themselves  and  their  families  comfort- 
able during  all  the  years  of  their  lives,  but  they  are  happier  at  their  desks 
than  they  could  possibly  be  anywhere  else.  On  our  right,  at  the  S.  W.  Cor. 
of  Randolph  st.,  is  the  remodeled 

Lafayette  Building,  where  you  will  find  a  number  of  ocean  steamship 
agencies  and  the  French  consul.  Here  is  the  private  banking  house  of 
Peterson  &  Bay.  On  the  opposite  side  of  the  street,  for  an  entire  block,  is 
the  La  Salle  st.  front  of  the  City  Hall.  To  your  right,  on  the  corner  of  the 
alley,  is  the 

Merchants  National  Bank,  which  occupies  a  building  made  notorious  in 
1877  by  the  failure  of  the  State  Savings  Institution,  of  which  D.  D.  Spencer 
was  president.  The  failure  of  this  bank  caused  great  distress  among  a  very 
large  number  of  industrious  working  people,  and  resulted  in  two  or  three 
suicides.  Spencer  fled  to  Europe,  and  lived  in  the  vicinity  of  Stuttgart  for 
several  years.  He  returned  to  Chicago  recently,  a  broken-down  man.  The  fail- 
ure of  the  State  Savings  Institution  was  followed  by  the  closing  of  the  Fidel- 
ity Savings  bank,  the  Merchants,  Farmers  and  Mechanics  ("Bee  Hive") 
Savings  bank,  and  some  others,  and  brought  savings  institutions  generally 
into  disrepute.  The  bank  at  present  occupying-  the  building  is  one  of  the 
most  substantial  in  the  country.  [See  "  Merchants  National  Bank."]  On  the 
N.  W.  Cor.  of  Washington  st.  is  the 

Merchants  Building,  in  which  is  located  the  National  Bank  of  America, 
one  of  our  leading  banking  houses.  [See  "  National  Bank  of  America."]  The 
Merchants  building1  was  erected  shortly  after  the  fire,  when  sandstone  was 
the  favorite  building  material,  and  when  it  was  customary  to  carry  the  main 
floor  to  some  height  above  the  street  level.  It  was  one  of  the  finest  buildings 
in  the  city  until  the  new  era  of  architecture  set  in.  Directly  across  Wash- 
ington  st.,  on  the  next  corner  to  our  right,  is 

The  Union  Building,  which  will  be  replaced  before  the  close  of  1894  by 
the  new  Stock  Exchange  building,  to  be  erected  by  the  Peck  estate.  The  Ex- 
change finds  itself  cramped  for  room  in  its  present  quarters.  The  new  building 
will  be  one  of  the  handsomest  in  the  city.  The  Union  building  has  been  one 
of  the  most  familiar  in  the  city,  because  for  years  the  lower  and  upper  floors 
were  occupied  as  the  main  Western  Union  telegraph  office.  In  1892  the 

Western  Union  Telegraph  Company  purchased  the  Phoenix  building  [see 
"Buildings,"]  on  Jackson  st.,  opposite  the  Grand  Pacific  Hotel,  where  the 
central  office  is  now  located.  Many  banking  institutions  have  occupied  the 
first  floor  of  the  Union  building.  The  headquarters  of  the  Military  Division 
of  the  Missouri  were  located  on  the  fourth  floor  of  this  building  for  many 
years,  and 

General  Phil.  Sheridan  occupied  the  corner  room  of  that  story  facing 
Washington  and  La  Salle  sts.  from  the  completion  of  the  building  after  the 
fire  until  his  assumption  of  the  generalship  of  the  army.  The  Union  National 
Bank  occiipied  the  corner  of  the  first  floor  for  a  number  of  years,  and  it  was 
during  this  time  that  W.  F.  Coolbaugh,  its  president,  committed  suicide  at 
the  foot  of  the  Douglas  monument.  Across  the  street,  on  the  S.  E.  Cor.  of 
Washington  and  La  Salle,  is  the  famous. 

Chamber  of  Commerce  Building.-- This  structure  occupies  the  site  of  the 
old  Chamber  of  Commerce  which  was  erected  immediately  after  the  fire  and 
which  was  occupied  by  the  Board  of  Trade  until  the  great  commercial  edi- 
fice at  the  foot  of  the  street  was  completed.  The  new  Chamber  of  Commerce 
building  is  in  many  respects  the  finest  commercial  struc-Uire  in  the  world 
and  certainly  one  of  the  grandest  office  buildings  in  the  United  States.  The 
property  upon  which  it  stands  cost  $650,000  and'  the  building  itself  has  cost 
Messrs.  Hannah,  Lay  &  Co.,  the  owners,  over  $1,000,000.  Standing  upon  the 


THE   GUIDE. 


91 


mosaic  floor  on  the  first  story  in  the  center  of  the  building,  throwing  back 
your  head  and  looking  up,  you  will  see 

Twelve  Balconies  with  their  bronzed  railings,  rising  in  perfect  sym- 
metry above  you.  Away  at  the  top  and  crowning  this  grand  central  court, 
is  probably  the  largest  skylight  in  the  world.  It  is  a  plate-glass  arch,  thirty- 
five  feet  wide  and  108  feet  long,  and  its  weight  is  supported  on  iron  and 
copper  frames  which  rest  upon  iron  trusses.  The  frame  is  bronzed  and 
finished  handsomely.  Through  this  mammoth  window  in  the  roof 

A  Perfect  Flood  of  Light  penetrates  the  central  court,  so  that  the  interior 
of  the  building  is  almost  as  brightly  illuminated  as  the  exterior  during  the 
day.    As  you  look  up,  if  your  neck  will  bear  the  strain,  you  will  notice  that 
not  a  post  or  a  pillar  is  visible  along  the  sides  or  between  the  twelve  balcon- 
ies, other  than  those  at  the 
north  and    south  ends,   the 
intervening    stretch    being 
perfectly  clear  and  free  from 
obstruction.    The  twelve 
balconies  are  supported  on 

The  Cantilever  Principle. 
— There  are  500  office  rooms 
in  this  structure,  every  one 
of  which  is  perfectly  lighted. 
The  thirteenth  floor  isfinished 
as  handsomely  as  the  first. 
You  will  notice  that  the  mar- 
ble used  in  the  wains  coting 
from  top  to  bottom  is  per- 
fectly matched,  the  grain 
running  through  from  slab  to 
slab  as  perfectly  as  it  did  in 
its  native  Italian  quarry.  All 
of  this  marble  was  quarried 
in  Italy  and  finished  in 
Belgium.  The  mosaic  floors 
contain  millions  of  separate 
marble  blocks  and  present  a 
beautiful  as  well  as  a  novel 
sight  to  the  visitor.  The  ceil- 
ing of  the  main  entrance  is  a 

Charming  Bit  of  Mosaic 
Work  ;  the  bronze  railings 
and  elevator  shaft  gratings 
are  all  highly  finished.  Eight 
passenger  cars  and  two 
great  freight  cars  are  con- 
stantly moving  up  and  down 
between  the  thirteen  stories 
of  this  magnificent  structure. 
We  will  go  to  the  top,  the 
time  consumed  in  the  trip  being  a  minute  and  a  quarter,  counting  stopp- 
ages. Looking  down,  the  people  on  the  floor  of  the  court  below  seem  like 
pigmies. 

The  Height  Makes  Us  Dizzy,  and  we  move  away  from  the  bronze  railing 
fearing  that  the  natural  but  unaccountable  temptation  to  throw  ourselves 
over  it  may  gain  the  mastery  of  us.  The  Chamber  of  Commerce  building  is 
a  city  within  itself.  There  are  more  people  doing  business  inside  its  walls 
than  you  will  find  in  many  prosperous  towns,  and  the  amount  of  business 
transacted  here  daily  equals  that  done  in  some  of  the  most  pretentious 
communities  in  the  country.  Every  branch  of  commerce  and  nearly  every 
profession  is  represented  here.  We  can  spend  a  couple  of  hours  here  very 
pleasantly,  strolling  along  the  different  balconies  and  taking  observations 


CHAMBER  OP  COMMERCE. —  See  Buildings. 


92  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

of  the  multitude  of  people  who  are  constantly  streaming  into  and  out  of  the 
elevator  cars.  Leaving  the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  we  find  that  it  is  almost 
noon,  and  we  will  take  a  lunch  at  Kern's  across  the  way,  or  at 

Kohlsaat's,  on  the  corner  of  the  court,  east  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce 
building.  In  either  place  we  will  witness  an  interesting  sight.  Thousands 
of  business  men,  clerks,  etc.,  flock  to  these  and  similar  restaurants  in  the 
business  center  daily,  where  they  partake  of  hasty  luncheons,  made  up 
principally  of  sandwiches,  beans,  pie,  coffee  and  buttermilk.  The  food  is 
generally  well  prepared,  but  it  is  eaten  in  haste,  as  a  rule,  which  does  much 
toward  ruining  the  health  and  souring  the  dispositions  of  our  people.  As  we 
move  down  LaSalle  St.,  after  luncheon,  we  pass  on  our  right 

The  Mercantile  Building.— Here  we  find  the  old  and  respectable  banking 
house  of  Greenbaum  &  Sons  [see  Greenbaum  &  Sons] ,  and  on  the  corner  of 
the  alley  just  south  the  other  equally  respectable  banking  house  of  A.  Loeb 
&  Bro.  On  the  N.  E.  Cor.  Madison  and  La  Salle  is  the  beautiful 

Tacoma  Building,  towering  above  its  surroundings  to  the  dizzy  height 
of  fourteen  clear  stories.  This  was  among  the  first  of  the  modern  sky- 
scrapers erected  in  Chicago.  The  corner  which  it  occupies  was  for  years 
covered  by  a  tumble-down  brick  building  put  up  in  haste  after  the  fire.  It 
was  wiped  out  to  make  room  for  the  "Tacoma."  We  must  spend  some 
time  in  this  building,  going  to  the  top  by  elevator  and  walking  down.  From 
the  twelfth  story  we  are  able  to  obtain  a  splendid  bird's-eye  view  of  the 
city,  and  we  can  see  far  out  on  Lake  Michigan,  if  the  smoke  isn't  too  dense. 
This  is  a  colony  of  offices.  [See  "Buildings."]  What  all  the  people  who 
occupy  the  offices  do,  will  be  a  source  of  wonder  to  the  visitor  throughout 
this  and  several  other  trips,  but  as  they  are  all  occupied  and  pay  high  rent- 
als, it  is  presumed  that  they  are  doing  something  to  coax  the  almighty  dollar 
in  their  direction.  Otherwise  they  would  seek  cheaper  quarters  or  establish 
themselves  on  the  curb-stone  in  front.  Crossing  Madison  st.  we  find  on  the 
S.  W.  Cor. 

The  Otis  Building.— The  building  belongs  to  a  branch  of  the  Otis  family, 
a  family,  by  the  way,  which  owns  some  of  the  most  desirable  real  estate  in 
the  city.  It  is  a  building  of  the  fire  period,  not  up  to  present  requisites, 
althoiigh  by  reason  of  its  central  location,  it  is  well  and  profitably  ten- 
anted. On  the  S.  E.  Cor.  is 

The  Major  Block,  another  fine  structure  of  the  same  period.  For  years 
this  ranked  as  one  of  the  finest  buildings  of  the  city.  In  any  other  city  it 
would  rank  as  a  great  building  now,  but  it  is  overshadowed  by  the  giants 
in  its  neighborhood.  Just  east  of  the  Major  Block,  on  the  corner  of  Arcade 
ct.  is  the  new 

T.M.  C.A. Building,— This  building  covers  a  lot  which  has  52  feet  frontage 
on  La  Salle  St.,  and  185  feet  frontage  on  Arcade  court,  all  but  75  feet  of  which 
is  abundantly  lighted  either  by  the  street  or  a  thirty  foot  court.  Two-thirds 
of  the  space  within  this  building  is  utilized  for  association  purposes  and 
the  remainder  is  given  over  to  offices,  The  ground  floor  on  La  Lalle  st.  is 
rented  for  stores.  The  association  uses  two  stories  on  the  La  Salle  ,st.  side. and 
seven  stories  in  the  rear  on  Arcade  ct.  It  is  a  building  within  a  building, 
the  architectural  arrangement  providing  for  separate  entrances  on  both 
sides  for  the  association  and  for  those  who  rent  offices,  so  that  the  two 
classes  of  tenants  have  no  connection  with  each  other.  From  the  seventh,  or 
gymnasium  floor,  where  the  association's  rooms  end,  there  is  a  square  light 
shaft,  18  x  29  feet,  running  to  the  top  story,  so  that  the  interior  of  the  building 
resembles  the  Rookery  in  its  facilities  for  light.  The  building  and  the  prop- 
erty it  stands  upon  represents  an  investment  of  about  $1,400,000.  This  struct- 
ure is  fully  described  elsewhere.  [See  "Buildings."]  The  people  we  pass 
are  as  interesting  as  the  buildings.  We  are  apt  to  be  jostled  against  the 
famous  produce  and  grain  operators  at  any  point  now  and  we  will  not  know 
it  unless  we  have  a  previous  acquaintance  with  their  personal  appearance. 
On  this  street  many  millionaires  have  their  offices.  We  must  say  a  word 
about  the 


94  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Bryan  Block  before  we  go  any  farther  or  we  will  forget  it.  Bryan  Block 
is  another  of  the  back-number  great  buildings  of  the  city.  I  very  well  re- 
member that  fifteen  years  ago  it  was  pointed  out  with  pride ;  now  it  isn't 
pointed  out  at  all.  It  is  oecupied,  however,  by  the  agencies  of  great  insur- 
ance companies,  real  estate  men,  bankers,  brokers,  etc.,  and  its  central 
location  makes  it  one  of  the  most  valuable  pieces  of  property  iu  the  city. 
Some  day  a  great  building  will  occupy  the  site,  for  the  ground  upon  which 
it  stands  is  far  too  valuable  for  a  five-story  edifice.  Across  the  street  is 
the 

Old  Republic  Life  Building.— The  insurance  company  from  which  it 
derived  its  name  has  long  since  gone  out  of  existence.  This  building  was 
used  by  the  Custom  House  and  United  States  courts  for  several  years  after 
the  fire,  or  until  the  present  government  building  was  erected.  Now  it  is 
an  office  building.  Here  are  located  the  rooms  of  the  Builders'  Exchange, 
as  well  as  the  offices  of  Dunn's  Commercial  Agency.  On  the  corner  below, 
just  east  of  the  Rep\iblic  building,  is 

The  Nixon  Building,  the  only  structure  in  the  business  part  of  the  city 
which  escaped  destruction  in  the  great  fire.  A  £lab  is  embedded  in  the 
building  informing  you  of  that  fact.  It  was  not  completed  at  the  time,  how- 
ever. [See  "Buildings"].  We  are  now  at  the  cor.  of  La  Salle  and  Monroe 
sts.  This  is  the  southwest  corner  of  the  streets  named.  Here  a  few  years 
ago  Marshall  Field  laid  the  foundations  for  a  great  office  building.  A  legal 
dispute  arose  between  him  and  his  from  business  partner,  Mr.  Letter,  who 
owned  property  adjoining,  the  facts  concerning  which  it  is  not  necessary 
for  you  to  know,  and  the  work  was  abandoned.  The  lot  was  fenced  in  for 
three  or  four  years,  3  nd  finally 

The  Women's  Christian  Temperance  Union  secured  a  ninety-nine  year 
lease  of  the  property  from  Mr.  Field,  organized  a  syndicate  with  sufficient 
capital  and  began  the  erection  of  a  structure  to  be  known  as  the  Temper- 
ance Temple.  The  familiar  name  of  this  building  now,  however,  is 

"  The  Temple." — The  Temple,  as  it  now  stands,  is  one  of  the  sights  of 
Chicago,  and  the  equal  of  any  one  of  the  many  magnificent  structures  that 
now  adorn  the  city.  In  style  it  is  a  combination  of  the  old  Gothic  and  the 
more  modern  French.  For  the  first  two  stories  the  material  used  is  gray 
granite  with  a  dash  of  pink  running  through  it.  Above  that  is  used  pressed 
brick  and  terra  cotta.  This  harmonizes  nicely  with  the  granite,  taking  on 
a  tone  and  color  the  same,  with  the  exception  that  it  is  a  darker  pink.  The 
frontage  on  La  Salle  st.is  190  feet,  while  on  Monroe  st.  it  is  90  feet.  In  shape 
the  Temple  is  somewhat  novel  and  might  be  likened  to  the  letter  H.  It  con- 
sists of  two  immense  wings  united  by  a  middle  portion,  or  viaculum.  On 
LaSalle  st.  is  a  court  70  feet  long  and  30  feet  wide,  and  on  Monroe  st.  a  simi- 
ilar  one  of  the  same  length  and  18  feet  deep.  Facing 

The  Grand  Entrance  and  arranged  in  a  semi-circle  are  eight  great  eleva- 
tors, and  from  the  front  court  rise  two  grand  stairways  leading  clear  to  the 
top  of  the  building.  A  central  hall  extends  north  and  south  on  each  floor  and  a 
transverse  one  also  extends  into  the  wings.  The  lower  courts  and  halls  are 
resplendent  with  marble  mosaic  paving,  while  plain  marble  is  used  in  the 
upper  halls.  In  height  the  temple  is  a  "sky-scraper,"  extending  thirteen 
stories  towards  the  heavens.  A  peculiar  and  pleasing  effect  has  been 
gained  by  causing  the  building  line  to  retreat  at  the  tenth  story  where  the 
immense  roof,  containing  three  stories,  commences,  breaking  as  it  ascends, 
into 

Gothic  Turrets.— On  the  granite  around  the  grand  entrance  are  carved 
the  coats  of  arms  of  the  various  States  of  the  union.  Upon  the  corner  stone 
is  engraved  the  national  legend  of  the  W.  C.  T.  U.  "  For  God,  for  Home  and 
Native  Laud,  1890."  On  the  reverse  is  the  W.  C.  T.  U.  monogram  and  beneath, 
'•organized  1874."  Such  is  the  general  appearance  of  this  noble  structure. 
The  purposes  for  which  it  is  utilized  are  manifold.  On  the  lower  floor  are 
located  three  banks  and  a  memorial  hall,  known  as 

Willard  Hall.— It  is  needless  to  say  that  the  name  is  in  honor  of  Francis 
Wlllard.  The  audience  room  will  easily  seat  800  people  without  the  galleries 


THE   GUIDE.  95 

and  is  as  entirely  shut  off  from  the  rest  of  the  building  as  though  it  were  not 
in  it.  The  entrance  is  through  a  wide  hall  opening  off  Monroe  st.  It  is  a*n 
amphitheatre  in  shape  and  in  the  center  is  a  beautiful  fountain.  Nearly 
every  window  in  it  is  a  handsome  memorial  one,  and  from  numerous  pedes- 
tals rise  the  busts  of  illustrious  persons  who  have  lived  and  died  for 

The  Cause  of  Temperance. — The  hall  and  the  entrance  leading  to  it  are 
used  as  tablets  on  which  to  inscribe  the  names  of  those  who  have  sub- 
scribed the  sum  of  $100  or  over  to  the  building  fund.  In  a  large  vault  opening 
off  the  hall  will  be  kept  a  record  of  the  work  done  in  each  State  in  the  Union. 
In  short,  Willard  hall  is  intended  to  be  to  the  temperance  cause  what  West- 
minster Abbey  is  to  England's  great  celebrities.  The  Woman's  National 
Publishing  house  find  headquarters  there,  as  well  as  the  W.  C.  T.  U.  Most 
of  the  building,  however,  is  rented  and  the  income  from  this  source  is  $25,000 
a  year.  It  might  be  mentioned  that  little  wood  has  been  used  in  the  con- 
struction and  the  building  is  perfectly  fire- proof.  Work  was  begun  in  July, 
1890,  and  The  Temple  was  ready  for  occupancy  in  the  month  of  May,  1892. 
The  entire  cost  was  about  $1,000,000.  Further  south  on  La  Salle  St.,  at  No. 
187,  is 

The  Calumet  Building,  a  magnificent  modern  office  structure,  and  one  of 
the  first  of  the  great  buildings  erected  after  the  locating  of  the  Board  of 
Trade  at  the  foot  of  the  street.  The  Calumet  would  be  a  more  striking  piece 
of  architecture  to-day  if  it  were  not  so  close  to  some  others  which  are  still 
more  striking.  For  instance, 

The  Home  Insurance  Building  at  No.  205,  just  south  of  the  Calumet,  on 
the  same  side  of  the  street.  [See  "Buildings."]  This  magnificent  pile  was 
originally  nine  stories  in  height,  but  two  additional  stories  were  added  in 
1890-91,  making  it  one  of  the  tallest  structures,  as  well  as  one  of  the  most 
graceful,  in  the  city.  The  grand  entrance  on  La  Salle  st.  is  one  of  peerless 
beauty — a  veritable  marble  hall,  and  a  portal  such  as  no  palace  in  Europe 
can  boast  of.  The  entire  building  from  the  first  to  the  eleventh  floor  is  wains- 
coted in  Italian  marble  of  the  finest  vein,  and  is  beautifully  matched  and 
polished.  Messrs.  Ducat  &  Lyon  have  had  the  management  of  the  magnifi- 
cent edifice  in  charge  from  its  inception  to  the  present  time.  As  you  enter 
the  building  two  flights  of 

Marble  Stairways  face  you,  both  leading  to  an  entresol,  on  the  right  of 
which  is  the  Union  National  bank  [see  "  Union  National  Bank,"]  and  on  the 
left  the  counting  houses  of  Arm  our  &  Co.  The  Union  National  Bank  interior 
is  perhaps  the  most  beautiful  in  Chicago.  The  ceiling  is  supported  by  great 
bronzed  columns.  The  furniture  and  fixtures  are  all  rich  and  elegant,  and 
were  provided  by  the  house  of  A.  H.  Andrews  &  Co. 

The  Union  National  Bank  ranks  among  the  first  of  the  great  financial 
institutions  of  the  city.  It  is  a  bank  that  has  been  especially  favored  in 
having  had  for  its  presidents,  some  of  Chicago's  ablest  and  most  exper- 
ienced financiers,  and  to  this  is  mostly  due  its  prompt  rush  to  the 
front  line  of  the  city  banks,  and  its  maintenance  of  that  position  for  so 
many  years.  The  first  president  was  William  F.  Coolbaugh,  who  at  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  November,  1877,  was  succeeded  by  Calvin  T. 
Wheeler.  On  the  expiration  of  its  original  charter  December  30,  1884,  the 
bank  was  re-organized,  and  under  its  new  charter,  W.  C.  D.  Grannis  was 
chosen  president,  and  John  J.  P.  Odell, 'vice-president.  Mr.  C.R.  Cumminga 
was  made  president  in  1886,  but  took  no  active  part  in  the  management  of 
the  bank.  Upon  his  retirement 

Mr.  John  ./.  P.  Odell  became  president  and  has  continued  in  that  position 
up  to  the  present  date.  Mr.  Odell  has  been  identified  with  the  banking  busi- 
ness of  Chicago  since  1865,  and  for  twenty-seven  years  has  been  connected 
with  the  Union  National,  having  entered  its  service  in  1866,  as  bookkeeper 
and  in  the  interval  filled  almost  every  intermediate  position  of 
responsibility  in  the  bank.  Let  us  walk  across  the  entresol  and  enter  the 
counting-room  of  Armour  &  Co.  This  is  one  immense  office — taking  in  the 
entire  first  floor  space  of  the  north  wing  of  the  building.  Did  you  ever  see 
such  a  hive?  There  must  be  three  lumdred  employes  of  all  grades  here,  the 


96 


GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


majority  of  whom  are  writing  at  little  desks  arranged  in  a  manner  sug- 
gestive of  the  school-room.  A  great  many  of  those  who  are  not  writing  are 
managers  of  departments  and  these  are  talking  business  to  callers.  You 
cannot  see  anybody  unless  you  are  announced  by  young  men  standing  near 
the  door.  They  call  the  person  you  want  to  see.  The  person  you  want  to 
see  has  other  callers  and  you  must  wait.  The  central  figure  in  this  great 
room,  of  course,  is 

Mr.  P.  D.  Armour. — He  sits  at  a  table  desk  to  the  left,  and  may  be 
engaged  in  looking  over  a  newspaper,  or  in  conversation  with  a  visitor  or 
one  of  his  department  managers.  Whatever  he  is  doing  he  has  a  pleasant, 

benevolent,  kindly  expres- 
sion on  his  face,  and  his 
face  is  the  index  to  his 
character.  Mr.  Armour,  to- 
ward the  close  of  1892,  pre- 
sented the  city  of  Chicago 
with  the  Armour  Manual 
Training  School,  which, 
with  its  endowment, 
amounted  to  the  princely 
sum  of  $1,700,000.  [See 
"  Armour  Mission "  and 
"  Armour  Institute."]  The 
name  of  Armour  &  Co.  is 
familiar  to  the  people  of 
all  countries.  It  is  inter- 
esting to  notice  with  what 
perfect  system  the  estab- 
lishment is  conducted.  Of 
course,  we  don't  see  the 
bustling  side  of  it  in  the 
counting  house;  we  must 
go  to  the  stock  yards  for 
that.  [See  "  Union  Stock 
Yards."] 

The  Northwestern  Ma- 
sonic Aid  Association,  of 
Chicago,  the  largest  insur- 
ance company  in  Illinois, 
and  the  second  largest 
simiTar  organization  in 
the  world,  has  its  home 
office  in  this  building,  occu- 
pying nearly  all  of  the 
tenth  floor,  which  is  re- 

Suired  for  the  accommoda- 
on  of  its  immense  busi 
ness.  Here  is  received  and 
disbursed  to  the  widows 
and  orphans  of  its  deceased 
members  about  $2,000,000 
annually.  A  visit  to  their 
offices  will  be  of  interest,  for  there  can  be  seen  the  thorough  system  neces- 
sary to  the  successful  prosecution  of  the  business  of  life  insurance.  And 
the  president,  Daniel  J.  Avery,  or  the  secretary,  J.  A.  Stoddard,  will  give 
us  a  cordial  welcome,  for  they  invite  inspection  of  their  business.  On  the 
opposite  side  of  the  street,  up  one  flight  of  stairs,  in  a  plainly  furnished 
office  overlooking  Adams  St.,  we  might  find  the  millionaire, 

George  L.  Dunlap,  who  during  recent  years  has  practically  retired  from 
active  service,  although  he  is  still  a  power  in  the  money  center.  On  the 
S.  W.  Cor.  of  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts.  is  the  beautiful 


TACOMA  BUILDING. — See  Buildings. 


98  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Insurance  Exchange  Building,  which  ranks  among  the  noblest  of  the 
Board  of  Trade  group  of  office  buildings.  Its  facade  is  sufficiently  orna- 
mental to  attract  our  attention,  but  it  is  tasteful  and  elegant.  The  building 
has  a  handsome  main  entrance.  To  the  right,  on  the  main  floor  is  the 
Continental  National  bank,  a  great  financial  institution;  to  the  left  is  the 
Columbia  National  bank.  These  banking  rooms  are  richly  furnished,  and 
are  worth  visiting.  The  Continental  is  one  of  the  oldest,  the  Columbia  one 
of  the  youngest  of  our  National  banks.  Around  the  corner  on  Adams  st.  is 
the  Rand-McNally  building,  in  which  were  located  the  headquarters  of  the 
World's  Fair  previous  to  their  removal  to  Jackson  Park.  Across  the  street, 
on  the  S.  E.  Cor.  of  La  Salle  and  Adams  st.,  is  the 

Rookery  Building.— How  it  came  by  this  odd  name  is  explained  else- 
where. [See  "  Miscellaneous."]  Chicago  people  are  not  exactly  settled  in 
their  minds  as  to  whether  the  Rookery  or  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  is  the 
finest  office  building  in  the  city.  The  Rookery  is  the  larger,  however,  and 
in  many  respects  the  most  elegant  of  our  office  structures.  It  cost,  exclu- 
sive of  the  grounds  upon  which  it  stands  (the  property  of  the  municipality), 
very  nearly  $1,500,000.  It  is  finished  in  the  most  expensive  fashion  through- 
out. There  isn't  a  cheap  feature  connected  with  it.  The  grand  rotunda  is 
in  itself  a  beavitiful  bit  of  architecture,  but  the  building  to  be  properly 
appreciated  must  be  taken  as  a  whole.  There  are  few  commercial  struct- 
ures in  the  world  that  compare  with  it  in  size,  in  elegance  or  in  convenience. 
There  are  three  distinct  groups  of  elevators,  two  on  the  La  Salle  st.  and  one 
on  the  Monroe  st.  side,  and  the  people  occupying  the  top  floors  are  practi- 
cally as  well  situated,  so  far  as  accessibility  is  concerned,  as  those  on  the 
first  floor.  The  mosaic  work  in  the  structure  is  superb.  Like  the  Chamber 
of  Commerce  and  the  Home  Insurance  buildings,  the  wainscoting  is  all  of 
Italian  marble.  Every  room  is  lighted  perfectly.  There  is  not  the  slightest 
jar  felt  here,  and  those  in  the  upper  stories  are  practically  removed  from 
the  noise  and  bustle  of  the  streets  below.  There  are  over  five  hundred  offices 
here,  all  occupied,  the  tenants  being  principally  Board  of  Trade  men,  agents 
of  eastern  and  foreign  mercantile  houses,  agents  of  manufacturing  con- 
cerns, real  estate  dealers,  brokers  and  lawyers.  [See  "Buildings."]  Here 
is  located  the  Globe  National  Bank,  one  of  the  most  prosperous  of  our 
great  money  institutions.  As  we  leave  the  Rookery,  we  are  in  the  center 
of  the  Board  of  Trade  district  and  we  are  surrounded  by  massive  struct- 
ures. Opposite  is  Mailer's  building,  the  Gaff  building  and  the  Counselman 
building,  all  great  structures,  towering  upward  from  ten  to  twelve  stories. 
To  our  left,  as  we  move  south,  is  the  Grand  Pacific  hotel  [see  "Hotels"], 
and  facing  us  the 

Board  of  Trade  Building.— [See  "Board  of  Trade  Building."]  It  is  only 
necessary  for  me  to  show  you  up  the  main  stairway  and  leave  you  here  for 
the  next  two  hours.  You  are  just  in  time  to  see  the  Board  in  full  operation. 
From  the  gallery  you  will  have  a  perfect  view  of  the  floor.  After  you  leave 
there  you  will  have  time  to  go  through  the  Rialto  building  in  the  rear,  and, 
perhaps,  to  see  the  great  buildings  which  line  Pacific  ave.  on  the  one  side 
and  Sherman  st.  on  the  other.  Among  the  structures  worthy  of  a  visit  are 
the  Phoenix  building,  which  faces  the  Grand  Pacific ;  the  Grand  Pacific 
itself;  the  Traders  building,  10  Pacific  ave.;  the  Commerce  building,  16 
Pacific  ave. ;  the  Open  Board  building,  24  Pacific  ave. ;  the  Brother  Johna- 
than  building,  2  Sherman  st. ;  the  Wheeler  building,  6  Sherman  st.  and  the 
Royal  Insurance  building,  situated  on  Jackson  st.  between  La  Salle  and 
Fifth  ave.,  and  at  the  head  of  Sherman  st.,  almost  opposite  the  Board  of 
Trade.  The  Royal  Insurance  building,  in  accordance  with  the  latest  dic- 
tates of  modern  architecture,  is  composed  of  a  pressed  brick  rear  with  an 
imposing  facade  of  brown  sandstone  carved  into  beautiful  figures.  The 
style  may  be  termed  Ionic,  with  an  admixture  of  Corinthian  on  the  lower 
floors,  where  the  windows  and  main  entrances  are  arched  and  sculptured  in 
many  fanciful  designs.  The  interior  appointments  are  on  a  scale  of  mag- 
nificence in  keeping  with  the  interior  design.  The  offices  are  large,  well 
lighted  and  well  ventilated.  This  building  practically  fronts  on  two  streets 
— Jackson  and  Quincy.  By  the  time  you  have  visited  these  buildings  you 


THE   GUIDE.  99 

will  need  rest.  (It  will  aid  you  greatly  during  this  trip  to  study  the  depart- 
ments in  this  volume  under  headings  "Board  of  Trade,"  "Board  of  Trade 
Building,"  "  Buildings,"  "  Banks,"  "Commercial  Exchanges."  and  the  "Ap- 
pendix.")   * 

NINTH    Df\Y. 

The  Board  of  Trade  District  After  the  Fire— A  Tough  Neighborhood— Through 
"  Cheyenne  "  and  the  "  Levee  "—In  the  Depths  of  the  Slums— South  Clark 
Street  Dives— Lodging  Houses— "  Reconstructed  Cheyenne  "—The  Great 
Structures  of  South  Dearborn  Street— A  Thoroughfare  Lined  with  Sky- 
scrapers— Chinatown— North  on  Clark  Street — Gambling  Houses- 
Would-be  Sports— Bunco  Steerers— Confidence  Men— Dale  &  Sempill's 
Corner— A  Great  Meeting  Place— Survey  from  Clark  and  Madison  Streets 
—North  on  Clark  Street  to  the  Bridge. 

Before  leaving  the  Board  of  Trade  district,  a  few  words  concerning  that 
portion  of  the  city  may  be  of  interest  to  you.  The  great  |fire  of  1871  left  the 
neighborhood  perfectly  bare  as  far  south  as  Harrison  st.  For  nearly  ten  years 
after  the  fire  the  only  buildings  of  prominence  in  that  section  of  the  city  were 
the  Grand  Pacific  hotel  and  the  Chicago,  Rock  Island  &  Pacific  depot.  The  lat- 
ter could  be  seen  plainly  from  Madison  st.  The  block  in  front,  now  covered 
by  the  Board  of  Trade  and  the  Rialto  buildings,  was  vacant.  To  the  east 
was  Pacific,  then  known  as  "Biler,"  ave.,  one  of  the  most  disreputable 
streets  in  the  city,  built  up  with  hastily  constructed  tenements  which  were 
occupied  by  the  most  depraved  of  men  and  women,  black,  white  and  mixed. 
The  name 

"  Biler  "  Avenue,  originated  in  the  mispronunciation  of  "  Boiler"  a  nick- 
name given  to  the  street,  because  of  the  number  of  locomotives  belonging  to 
the  Rock  Island  and  Lake  Shore  roads  which  puff  day  and  night  along  its  west- 
ern edge.  Next,  to  the  east,  came  South  Clark  st.,  a  thoroughfare  given  over 
to  low  saloons,  pawnbrokers'  shops,  "fences"  for  thieves,  concert  saloons, 
dance  houses,  low  groggeries  and  bagnios.  East  of  Clark  st.  was  Fourth  ave., 
another  street  surrendered  almost  entirely  to  the  lowest  class  of  scarlet 
women.  One  high  building  stood  on  the  street  and  was  occupied  in  part  by 
the  Religio-Philosophical  Journal.  Its  editor,  a  man  named  Pike,  was  mur- 
dered at  his  desk  in  this  building,  about  the  time  I  am  speaking  of.  East  of 
Fourth  ave.,  was  Dearborn  st.,  a  "no  thoroughfare,"  and  without  a  build- 
ing worth  mentioning,  although  squatters  had  taken  possession  of  it  from 
Jackson  st.  south  to  Polk  st.  East  of  Dearborn  st.  was  Third  ave.,  a  street 
of  dives  and  bagnios  just  a  trifle  lower  than  any  yet  named.  Then  came 
State  st.,  which,  from  Van  Buren  to  Twenty-second  st.  was  occupied  by  the 
very 

Scum  of  the  Population,  and  utterly  abandoned  to  crime  and  criminals. 
The  entire  district,  from  VanBiiren  st.  south  to  Twenty-second  st.,  and  from 
the  railroad  tracks  to  and  including  the  east  line  of  State  st.,  was  in  the 
hands  of  thugs,  thieves,  murderers  and  prostitutes.  In  the  midst  of  it  was 
the  Harrison  st.,  or  "Armory"  police  station,  and  the  policemen  who  were 
sent  out  to  do  patrol  duty  in  this  section  were  frequently  brought  back  on 
stretchers.  There  were  portions  of  the  district  which  no  policeman  would 
dare  to  enter  alone  in  the  daytime,  and  which  it  would  have  been  suicidal 
for  him  to  enter  in  the  night-time.  Some  of  the  bravest  officers  on  the  force 
were  shot  or  stabbed,  or  beaten  so  badly  that  they  were  never  again  able  to 
perform  their  duties.  The  territory  received  the  name  of 

"Cheyenne." — This  name  was  given  to  it  because  when  the  Union  Pacific 
railroad  was  being  constructed,  and  for  several  years  afterward,  Cheyenne 


100  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

was  the  wickedest  town  on  the  line.  To-day  Cheyenne  is  a  peaceable  and 
prosperous  little  city  and  its  people  have  retaliated  by  dubbing  the  only 
disorderly  part  of  their  town  "Chicago."  South  State  st.  was  known  for 


"  The  Levee,"-  a  name  which  still  clings  to  it  in  police  circles,  although 
it  has  gone  through  an  almost  complete  transformation,  physically  and 
morally.  The  name  "  Levee  "  was  used  because  the  levees  of  the  Mississippi 
river  towns  bore  the  reputation  of  being  generally  tough,  and  because  they 
were  and  are  the  haunts  of  a  vicious  class  of  negroes.  The  entire  negro 
population  of  Chicago  gravitated  toward  "Cheyenne"  and  the  "Levee" 
before  and  after  the  great  fire,  and  South  Clark  and  South  State  sts.,  to-day 
are  much  frequented  by  colored  people. 

A  Mighty  Change  has  come  over  this  district  during  a  decade.  Pacific  ave. 
is  no  longer  given  over  entirely  to  the  vicious  and  criminal  classes  as  formerly, 
although  I  wouldn't  advise  you  to  take  your  evening  walks  on  the  southern 
part  of  it.  Many  magnificent  commercial  structures  now  line  this  thorough- 
fare. On  the  avenue,  opposite  the  Rock  Island  depot,  is  Marshall  Field  & 
Co.'s  barn,  a  splendid  building  in  itself  and  devoted  to  the  use  of  the  firm's 
magnificent  draught  horses  and  the  men  who  care  for  them.  This  building 
has  been  enlarged  during  recent  years  and  I  am  told  that  some  of  the  upper 
floors  are  used  for  the  storage  of  "reserve  stock."  In  view  of  the  fact  that 
the  firm  has  the  largest  wholesale  building  in  the  city ;  that  it  occupies  its 
old  wholesale  store  as  a  warehouse  for  reserve  goods,  and  that  it  carries 
constantly  an  immense  amount  of  stock  in  the  U.  S.  bonded  warehouses, 
this  will  strike  you  as  being  strange.  But  it  seems  as  though  it  is  difficult 
for  Marshall  Field  &  Co.  to  find  storage  room  enough.  A  trip  down 

South  Clark  St.  will  be  interesting-  The  morals  of  this  thoroughfare 
have  not  improved  very  much  during  recent  years.  Modern  improvements 
have  steadily  encroached,  however,  upon  the  rookeries  which  have  lined 
this  artery  since  the  fire,  and  now  south  of  Jackson  St.,  we  find  some  hand- 
some structures  of  the  most  modern  type,  notably  the  Hotel  Grace,  Gore's 
hotel  and  McCoy's  hotel.  But  further  to  the  south  are  the  dens  and  dives 
that  have  made  the  street  infamous.  Just  here,  at  the  S.  E.  Cor.  of  Van 
Buren  and  Clark  sts.,  is  the  Pacific  Mission.  For  years  it  was  Jerry  Mon- 
roe's "Pacific  Garden,"  and  a  resort  of  the  vilest  of  the  vile.  A  few  doors 
below,  a  Polish  Jew,  named 

Lesser  Freidberg,  kept  a  pawn-broker's  shop  and  "fence"  for  thieves 
about  eleven  years  ago.  One  night  the  branch  house  of  E.  S.  Jaffrey  &  Co., 
of  New  York,  which  occupied  the  .building  on  Fifth  ave.  between  Madison 
and  Washington  sts.,  now  The  Mail,  office,  was  entered  by  burglars  and 
robbed.  The  stolen  goods  were  placed  in  a  wagon,  which  was  driven  to 
Freidberg's.  Just  as  the  burglars  were  unloading  it,  a  police  officer  named 
Race  came  along.  His  suspicions  were  aroused,  and  he  attempted  to  cap- 
ture one  of  the  thieves  supposed  to  be  Johnny  Lamb.  The  thiel  shot  him 
dead,  right  here,  in  front  of  the  shop,  jumped  into  the  wagon  and  drove  off. 
Lamb  and  another  thief  named  "Sheeny  George"  were  arrested,  tried,  con- 
victed and  sentenced  to  be  hanged,  but  escaped  all  punishment  for  this 
crime  finally.  Freidberg  was  sent  to  the  penitentiary  for  five  years.  He 
was  a  wealthy  man  at  the  time  of  his  arrest.  The  last  time  I  saw  him  he 
was  mending  convict's  clothing  in  the  penitentiary  at  Joliet,  about  the  most 
humiliating  work  that  could  possibly  be  assigned  him.  He  came  out  and 
found  that  his  wife  had  secured  a  divorce.  His  property  was  all  gone. 
He  was  arrested  a  short  time  ago  for  vagrancy.  There  is  a  moral  here, 
but  you  may  not  see  it. 

Pawn-brokers''  Shops  and  Clothing  Stores  kept  by  Polish  Jews  are  to  be 
found  all  along  here.  Wherever  you  find  poverty  and  vice  you  will  also  find 
pawn-brokers'  shops.  They  seem  to  pull  together.  I  don't  know  how  many 
of  them  are  "  fences  "  for  thieves  now,  but  you  may  rest  assured  that  some 
of  them  are.  Only  a  short  time  ago  just  such  an  institution  us  that  man- 
aged by  the  late  Mr.  Fagin  was  broken  up  down  here.  In  this  instance  the 
fence-keeper's  name  was  Levi.  Here  we  pass  concert  saloons  conducted  by 
a  class  of  men  who  bear  a  name  which  I  need  not  mention.  Here  also  we 


i 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
POLICE  MONUMENT,  HAYMARKET  SQUARE. 

[See  Page  3 1 8.1 


103 


GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 


come  upon  "gin  mills,"  conducted  by  bloated  and  murderous-looking  ruffi- 
ans, who  will  first  stupify  and  then  rob  you,  if  you  give  them  a  chance.  It 
is  in  these  dives  that  men  are  "doped."  If  there  were  fewer  of  them  there 
would  be  fewer  "floaters"  picked  up  in  the  Chicago  river,  Here  we  pass 
the  brothels  and  bagnios,  where  depraved  women,  white  and  black,  pursue 
their  avocations  and  carry  on,  in  company  with  the  males  of  their  class, 

Nightly  Orgies  that  are 
either  unseen  or  unnoticed 
by  the  police.  Respectable 
people  are  not  in  much 
danger  down  here,  for  the 
very  good  reason  that  re- 
spectable people  are  sel- 
dom to  be  found  loitering 
around  this  neighborhood. 
We  are  in  the  slums.  It 
was  quite  the  "fad"  in 
fashionable  circles  not  long 
since  to  "  go  slumming," 
and  the  city  detectives  were 
frequently  requested  to 
conduct  a  party  of  young 
ladies  and  gentlemen 
through  the  vicious  parts 
of  the  city.  It  is  no  longer 
a  "fad,"  although  the 
practice  has  by  no  means 
died  out.  Such  an  excur- 
sion has  its  advantages  as 
well  as  its  drawbacks. 
While  a  young  lady  cannot 
very  well  see  anything 
during 

A  "Slumming"  Trip 
that  is  not  repugnant  to 
her  finer  sensibilties,  and 
while  she  will  see  much 
that  is  shocking,  or  ought 
to  be,  to  her  modesty,  yet 
she  will  learn  that  the 
path  of  vice  is  a  thorny  one, 
'  and  that  her  fallen  sisters 
are  more  in  need  of  her 
pity  than  they  are  deserv- 
ing of  her  scorn.  While  the 
great  majority  of  the  lewd 
women  of  the  city  spring 
from  the  lower  ranks  of 
society,  and  are,  as  a  mat- 
ter of  f  act,born  into  vicious- 
ness,  a  great  number  of 
them  are  girls  who  were 
well  born,  well  reared  and 
well  educated.  The  causes 
of  their  downfall  are  in- 
numerable, and,-strange  as  it  may  appear,  but  very  few  of  them  can  trace 
their  ruin  back  to  the  deceit  or  perfidy  of  man.  In  not  an  inconsiderable 
number  of  instances  these  fallen  women  who  came  from  the  higher  walks  of 
society  owe  their  misfortune  primarily  to  an  ambition,  unsupported  by  an 
ability,  to  shine  as  actresses.  We  might  walk  all  over  this  district,  and  find 
merely  a  repetition  of  the  scenes  which  surround  us  now.  In  a  little  while 
we  will  leave  the  district  and  the  subject  behind  us.  But  first  let  us  call 
your  attention  to 


PONTIAC  BUILDING. — See  Buildings. 


THE   GUIDE.  103 

The  Lodging  Houses.— There  are  cheap  lodging-  houses  scattered  through-' 
out  the  city.  There  are  some  on  the  North  side  and  some  on  the  West  side, 
but  the  lowest  class  of  lodging  houses  are  located  down  this  way.  Here  the 
wearied  traveler  may  secure  a  night's  lodging  for  five  cents.  That  is,  by 
going  down  into  the  cellar  and  paying  over  a  nickel  to  the  proprietor,  he 
will  be  permitted  to  climb  into  one  of  the  bunks  ranged  in  tiers  along  either 
side  of  the  dismal  cavern.  The  bunk  is  without  mattress  or  bedding.  It  is 
simply  the  soft  side  of  a  pine  board.  But  it  beats  walking  the  streets.  If  it 
be  winter,  there  is  a  blazing  fire  in  a  stove  which  stands  in  the  middle  of 
the  cellar.  If  it  be  summer,  the  cellar  is  cool.  No  robberies  are  ever  com- 
mitted in  these  cellars,  for  obvious  reasons.  There  are  no  signs  cautioning 
guests  to  place  their  jewelry  and  money  in  the  office  safe.  Such  a  caution 
would  be  looked  upon  as  heartless  and  bitter  irony.  But  there  are 

Cellars  where  the  traveler,  for  ten  cents,  may  secure  a  bunk  with  a  straw 
mattress.  These  are  considered  among  the  patrons  of  the  five-cent  cellars 
palaces  of  guilded  luxury.  Again,  there  are  lodging  houses  where  a  bedstead 
—a  real  bedstead — with  real  bedding  and  real  bed  covering — may  be  secured 
per  night  at  the  uniform  rate  of  fifteen  cents.  And  a  single  room  can  be 
rented  for  twenty-five  cents.  But  only  the  aristocrats  of  "Cheyenne"  and 
the  ' '  Levee  "  squander  their  money  for  twenty-five  cent  rooms.  Twenty-five 
cents,  to  most  of  the  lodging-house  patrons,  means  three  drinks  of  barrel- 
house whisky,  a  free  lunch,  a  cigar  and  a  bed.  No  portion  of  the  city  has 
undergone  a  more  complete  transformation  and  reformation  during  the  past 
ten  years  than  that  section  which  is  penetrated  on  the  north  by  Fourth  ave., 
Dearborn  st.  and  Third  ave.  As  before  remarked.  Dearborn  st.,  up  to  ten 
years  ago,  was  not  even  opened.  To-day  it  is  lined,  from  Adams  to  Polk  st., 
with  some  of  the 

Most  Magnificent  Buildings  in  the  city.  The  post  office  and  custom  house, 
sometimes  called  the  government  building,  stood  practically  alone  here  for 
many  years,  except  that  it  was  faced  by  the  Grand  Pacific  hotel  and  the 
Lakeside  building  on  the  west,  and  by  the  Honore  block  on  the  north.  Now 
it  is  hemned  in  on  all  sides  by  palatial  structures.  On  the  S.  E.  Cor.  Adams 
and  Dearborn  is  the  beautiful  Owings  building,  which  rises  to  the  height  of 
fourteen  stories,  presenting  a  novel  and  interesting  innovation  in  architect- 
ural design.  Just  north  of  the  building,  and  directly  opposite  the  post  office, 
is  the  sixteen-story  steel  building,  which  is  known  as  the 

Great  Northern  Hotel.— This  is  now  one  of  the  largest  first-class  hotels  of 
Chicago.  It  is  all  finished  in  the  highest  style  of  art  and  conducted  as  a 
high-class  commercial  hotel  on  the  European  and  American  plans.  On  the 
S.  W.  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Jackson  sts.  is  * 

The  Great  Monadnock  Building.— This  mammoth  structure  is  sixteen 
stories  high,  and  is  composed  of  steel,  granite,  marble  and  pressed  brick. 
Unlike  most  of  the  recently  built  office  structures,  it  is  what  is  known 
as  a  solid  building;  that  is,  the  interior  depends  upon  the  massive  walls 
instead  of  being  an  independent  frame.  On  the  Jackson  and  Dearborn  st. 
fronts  two  sets  of  bay  windows  run  from  the  second  story  to  the  top.  The 
fotindations  and  walls  are  said  to  be  the  heaviest  of  any  building  in  the  city. 
This  structure  was  erected  as  an  office  block  for  the  Brooks  estate.  Origi- 
nally it  was  called  the  Monadnock  and  Kearsarge  building,  but  only  the  for- 
mer name  was  retained  upon  its  completion.  The  completion  of  the  south- 
ern addition  to  the  Monadnock,  which  faces  upon  Van  Buren  st.,  makes  this 
the  greatest  office  buildings  in  the  city,  if  they  are  to  be  considered  as  one 
structure.  Considering  both  these  structures  as  one  (although  the  southern 
part  is  built  upon  an  entirely  different  principle),  it  has  a  total  street  front- 
age of  940  feet.  The  cost  of  the  grounds  and  both  buildings  was  in  the 
neighborhood  of  $3,000,000.  The  Chicago,  Alton  &  St.  Louis,  the  Michigan 
Central  and  many  other  railway  and  railway  supply  offices  are  located  here. 
Diagonally  opposite,  at  the  N.  E.  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Van  Buren  sts.,  is  the 

Old  Colony  Building,  erected  by  the  Bartlett  estate,  which  cost  about 
$600,000.  This  is  one  of  the  handsomest  office  buildings  in  the  city.  [See 
"  Buildings."]  Passing  a  number  of  great  buildings,  we  come  to 


104  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

The  Manhattan  Building.— This  colossal  fire-proof  structure  overtopped 
until  recently  every  other  office  building- in  the  city  by  at  least  three  stories. 
Being  situated  on  the  leading  business  and  financial  street  in  Chicago,  near 
the  post  office,  depots  and  Board  of  Trade,  with  which  it  is  connected  by  pneu- 
matic tubes,  it  has  become  a  very  popular  structure.  It  cost  $800,000.  It 
has  sixteen  stories  and  basement  of  solid  masonry  and  an  inner  frame  of 
steel  and  iron,  incased  in  terra  cotta.  The  interior  is  embellished  with  orna- 
mental bronze  and  antique  copper,  polished  marble  and  jasper  wainscoting, 
mosaic  floors  and  ornamental  ceilings.  The  small  amount  of  woodwork 
that  enters  into  the  structure  is  antique  oak.  The  appointments  as  to  ele- 
vator service,  electric  light,  heat  and  general  conveniences  embrace  every 
improvement  known  to  modern  science. 

The  Monon  Building  farther  to  the  south  on  the  right,  is  a  very  handsome 
and  popular  office  building,  and  is  occupied  by  persons  more  or  less  related 
to  the  printing  and  publishing  business.  The  cost  of  the  Monon  was  $500,- 
000. 

The  Cctxton  Building  deserves  our  attention.  This  elegant  structure,  at 
328  to  334  Dearborn  St.,  is  one  of  three  buildings,  of  its  kind,  erected  in  this 
city.  It  is  thoroughly  fire-proof  throughout,  constructed  of  steel  beams  and 
girders.  The  walls  are  of  terra  cptta  and  pressed  brick,  of  the  best  quality, 
and  the  partitions  are  of  hollow  tile.  The  offices  are  large  and  commodious 
and  in  their  plans  especial  care  has  been  taken  to  finish  them  in  a  manner 
affording  the  greatest  convenience  and  comfort  to  the  occupants.  Just 
south,  on  the  corner  of  Harrison  and  Dearborn  sts.,  is  the 

Pontiac  Building.— This  is  another  wonderful  structure,  fourteen  stories 
in  height,  and  constructed  entirely  of  steel.  A  large  number  of  publishers 
may  be  found  here.  The  Graphic,  The  Exposition  Graphic,  The  Figaro,  The 
Western  British  American,  Farm  Tools,  Furniture,  Orange  Judd  Farmer,  and 
other  literary  and  trade  and  class  newspapers  are  issued  from  this  building. 
Here  also  is  located  the  Credit  Company,  publisher  of  The  Credit  Review, 
Bankers'  and  Attorneys'  Register,  etc.  In  this  building  is  located  the  pub- 
lishing offices  of  The  Standard  Guide  Company  (Flinn  and  Sheppard),  pub- 
lishers of  "  THE  STANDARD  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO,"  "  HAND  BOOK  OF  THE  WORLD'S 
COLUMBIAN  EXPOSITION,"  GUIDE  TO  THE  WORLD'S  FAIR  GROUNDS  AND  BUILD- 
INGS," in  English,  French  and  Gern>an;  "THE  BEST  THINGS  TO  BE  SEEN  AT 
THE  WORLD'S  FAIR,"  "CONDENSED  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO,"  "HAND  BOOK  OP 
CHICAGO  BIOGRAPHY,"  etc.,  all  standard  reference  books,  besides  numerous 
souvenirs.  Directly  across  the  street  from  the  Pontiac  is  the  great 

Ellsworth  Building,  fronting  on  Dearborn  st.  and  Plymouth  Place  (form- 
erly Third  ave.).  This  is  a  fourteen  story  structure  of  pressed  brick  finished 
in  granite,  constructed  on  the  steel  frame  plan  [see  "Buildings"]  and  is 
intended  to  accommodate  printers,  binders  and  publishers.  Further  south, 
to  our  left,  we  come  to  the  great  building  occupied  by 

Donahue  &  Henneberry,  the  printers,  binders  and  publishers.  This  was 
one  of  the  first  of  the  great  office  buildings  erected  on  South  Dearborn  st.  It 
has  a  frontage  also  on  Third  ave.  It  is  eight  stories  in  height  and  finished 
after  the  most  modern  fashion.  The  upper  part  of  the  building  is  occupied  by 
the  various  departments  of  Donohue  &  Henneberry 's  establishment-counting 
rooms,  offices,  book-rooms,  com  posing  rooms,  bindery  room,  etc.  The  lower 
floors  are  given  over  to  numerous  publishing  firms,  newspaper  offices,  adver- 
tising offices,  printers'  supplies,  offices,  etc.  The  immense  basement  is  occu- 
pied by  Donohue  &  Henneberry's  presses— book,  job,  newspaper,  etc.,  of  the 
latest  and  most  approved  make.  The  firm  of  Donohue  &  Henneberry's  is 
one  of  the  most  prominent  in  the  United  States.  It  turns  out  an  immense 
number  of  bound  volumes  annually,  besides  catalogues  and  other  printed 
matter  of  the  higher  grade.  Leaving  Donolme  &  Henneberry's  we  find  our- 
selves in  front  of  the  beautiful  Dearborn  station.  Let  us  retrace  our  steps  to 
Clark  and  Adams  sts.  We  are  again  in  front  of  the  post  office.  That  is  the 
bust  of 

George  B.  Armstrong,  founder  of  the  United  States  railway  mail  service. 
He  was  a  Chicago  man  and  his  memory  is  revered  by  all  post  office  employes- 


10(3  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

They  contributed  the  money  which  paid  for  this  memorial.  If  we  go  down 
Clark  st.  we  will  pass  a  section  which  seems  to  have  been  given  over  to 
Polish  Jews,  engaged  in  the  clothing  trade.  The  employes  of  these  concerns 
accost  you  as  yoii  pass,  and  if  you  give  them  the  least  encouragement,  they 
will  drag  you  into  their  shops  and  compel  you  to  buy  whether  you  want  to 
or  not.  The  block  south  of  Jackson  swarms  with  these  fellows.  Below 
here  is 

China  Town  [see  "China  Town"],  where  the  Mongolians  appear  to  be 
obtaining  quite  a  foothold.  Below  this  section  are  the  slums  already 
alluded  to,  which  extend  south  to  and  beyond  the  Twelfth  st.  viaduct.  The 
vicinity  of  this  viaduct  is  the  resort  of  the  most  degraded  classes,  male  and 
female,  to  be  seen  in  Chicago. 

"  Barrel  Nouses,"  where  a  vile  concoction  called  whisky,  but  which  is  in 
fact,  a  preparation  of  raw  alcohol,  or  high  wines  and  tobacco  juice, 
is  sold  at  five  cents  per  glass.  These  barrel  houses  produce  the  most  aban- 
doned looking  wretches  you  ever  set  your  eyes  upon.  As  we  walk  north 
from  the  Cor.  Clark  and  Adams  sts.,  we  pass  the  railroad,  ticket  and  scalp- 
er's offices  already  alluded  to,  as  well  as  a  number  of  quite  genteel  clothing 
establishments  and  restaurants.  The  restaurants  are  pretty  thick  around 
here  and  they  are  all  doing  a  riishing  business.  Everything  is  a  little  more 
genteel  here  than  further  down  the  street.  The  pawn  -shop  up  this  way  is 
no  longer  a  pawn-shop.  It  is  a  "  loan  office."  The  saloon  is  a  refreshment 
hall,  with  marble  walls  and  marble  floors,  and  elegant  mirrors  and  oil 
paintings.  The  "bum"  is  not  found  in  this  vicinity,  where  whisky  is  fif- 
teen and  twenty  cents  a  drink. 

Splendid  Business  Lunches  are  served  free  in  the  saloons,  and  the  bar- 
keepers wear  spotless  linen  and  genteel  smiles.  I  do  not  think  it  advisable 
to  point  out  to  you  the  entrances  to  the  mimerous  gambling  houses  which  line 
this  thoroughfare.  I  don't  think  it  any  part  of  my  duty  as  guide  to  '•  steer  " 
you  against  a  brace  game  or  a  square  game.  If  you  are  inclined  in  the 
direction  of  faro,  roulette  or  poker,  you  do  not  need  to  be  told  where  to  find 
these  games  in  full  blast.  I  never  knew  an  amateur  gambler  in  my  life  who 
couldn't  scent  the  lair  of  the  tiger  and  hear  the  rattle  of  the  chips  afar  off, 
By  some  sort  of  intuition  or  natural  attraction,  unaccounted  for  in  my 
philosophy, 

Gamblers,  Professional  and  Amateur,  are  certain  to  find  a  common  meet- 
ing place.  They  will  have  no  difficulty  in  finding  all  the  amusement  they 
want  here,  at  any  time  of  the  day  or  night.  Of  course,  you  understand,  as 
I  do,  that  gambling  is  suppressed  in  Chicago.  The  Mayor  and  Superintend- 
ent of  Police  unite  in  the  opinion  that  there  is  no  gaming  for  money  going 
on  in  the  city,  and  that  ought  to  settle  it.  Yet,  we  have  been  brushing  up 
against  well-dressed  gamblers  and  would-be-sports  for  the  past  hour.  I 
have  spoken  of  the 

"  Would-be- Sports." — These  are  altogether  about  as  contemptible  a  class 
of  young  men  as  you  will  be  unfortunate  enough  to  come  in  contact  with 
during  your  visit.  They  are  -found  principally  on  the  west  side  of  Clark 
between  Adams  and  Washington  sts.  They  dress  nattily  and  spend  their 
time  in  posing,  generally  near  the  entrances  to  the  gambling  houses.  As  a 
rule  they  are  the  sons  of  well-to-do  parents.  They  do  not  find  it  necessary 
to  work  for  a  living.  The  one  ambition  of  their  useless  lives  is  to  be  pointed 
out  as  gamblers.  They  are  not  gamblers,  however.  They  haven't  got  brains 
enough  to  be  gamblers  of  the  professional  species.  The  men  who  follow 

Gambling  as  a  Business  haven't  got  time  to  pose.  Usually  they  are  not 
over  proud  of  their  calling  and  have  no  desire  to  be  pointed  out  as  sports. 
They  work  hard  for  all  they  get,  just  like  other  people.  If  they  make  gains 
to-day,  they  are  likely  to  suffer  losses  to-morrow.  They  have  their  anxieties 
like  the  rest  of  us.  Most  of  them  have  families.  Many  of  them  have  nice 
wives  and  interesting  children.  Some  of  them  live  in  highly  respectable 
neighborhoods.  They  gamble  only  as  a  pure  matter  of  business,  and  not 
because  they  are  infatuated  with  the  green  cloth  or  the  surroundings  of  the 
gaming  table.  You  don't  see  these  men  posing  in  front  of  the  saloons  or 


THE   GUIDE. 


107 


gambling  house  entrances,  as  I  said  before.  They  haven't  got  time.  Neither 
they  flash  do 

Alaska  Sparklers,  nor  wear  lavender  pantaloons,  nor  light  kid  gloves 
nor  spend  their  time  in  "mashing"  the  foolish  maidens,  just  past  schoo. 
age,  whom  you  may  see  tripping  by  here  in  the  hope  of  catching  smiles 
from  the  would-be  sports.  There  are  other  young  men  along  this  street  and 
around  these  corners  who  would  also  like  to  be  known  as  gamblers.  They 
are  only  thieves,  however,  and  of  the  lowest  order.  They  are  cowardly 
thieves — fellows  who  rob  drunken  men,  or  who  can  be  hired  to  commit  any- 
thing in  the  nature  of  a  small  crime.  Some  of  them  are  "  Bunco  Steerers," 
ruffians  who  worm  themselves  into  the  confidence  of  strangers,  and  induce 

them  to  visit  disreputable 
gaming  houses  where  they 
are  certain  to  be  robbed. 
They  do  this  business  for  a 
commission. 

The  "Confidence"  Man 
proper  I  can  not  point  out 
to  you,  for  if  he  be  a  confi- 
dence man,  worthy  of  the 
name,  there  is  nothing  about 
his  appearance  or  his  man- 
ners to  indicate  that  fact. 
But  you  may  be  certain  that 
he  is  here,  some  where,  and 
looking  for  a  victim.  He 
seldom  makes  a  mistake. 
Before  night  some  fool  will 
cash  the  check  he  carries 
with  him,  or  advance  money 
on  the  warehouse  receipts 
which  he  will  produce  at  the 
proper  moment.  The  most 
famous  gambling  house  on 
the  street  for  years  was  "The 
Store,"  kept  by  Michael  C. 
McDonald,  N.  W.  Cor.  Clark 
and  Monroe  sts.  McDonald 
coined  money  there. 

He  is  a  Millioniare  Now 
and  one  of  the  principal 
stockholders  and  managers 
of  the  Lake  Street  Elevated 
Railroad.  Besides,  he  is  an 
influential  politician,  and  in 
his  time  has  made  and 
unmade  a  large  number  of 
local  statesmen.  The  gam- 
bling houses  now  in  existence 
are  scattered  throughoiit 
U.  S.  APPRAISERS  BUILDING.  -See  Buildings.  this  neighborhood.  The  most 

prominent  of  them  is  the  place 

conducted  by  a  pei'son  namec"  Hankins  near  by.  There  is  a  magnificent  saloon 
and  sporting  men's  resort  in  the  vicinity  .conducted  by  a  gentleman  named  Mr. 
Harry  Varnell.  We  will  let  you  find  this  place  and  several  other  places  of 
the  same  kind,  if  you  are  seeking  them.  For  the  present  we  will  leave  the 
sporting  men  and  the  sporting  men's  resorts  and  step  across  Madison  street 
to  a  corner  that  is  full  of  present  and  historic  interest  to  the  Chicagoan. 
This  was  formerly  known  as  "Dale's,"  it  is  now  favorably  and  familiarly 
known  as 

Dale  &  SempilVs. — I  don't  believe  there  is  a  corner  in  this  great  city 
which  is  better  known.  This  has  been  the  case  during  all  the  years  I  can 


108  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

remember  in  Chicago.  Mr.  Dale  was  a  gentleman  everybody 'liked.  He 
kep*  open  house  for  the  public,  and  hundreds  and  thousands  of  people  have 
occupied  the  seats  pi'ovided  for  those  who  are  destined  to  wait  for  other 
people.  Mr.  Dale  is  succeeded  by  Mr.  Sempill,  another  gentleman  of  the 
same  hospitable  disposition.  You  do  not  feel  that  you  are  intruding  when 
you  drop  in  here  to  wait  for  the  friend  who  never  comes,  or  to  keep  an 
appointment  with  the  man  who  has  been  unavoidably  delayed.  Dale  & 
Sempill  do  a  great  business  while  you  are  waiting.  You  are  bound  to 
admire  the  manner  in  which  the  business  is  managed,  and  your  admiration 
extends  to 

The  Elegant  Soda  Fountain,  where  the  thirst  of  countless  thousands 
is  quenched  annually.  It  is  well  worth  while  to  spend  a  little  time  here,  if 
only  to  watch  the  crowds  as  they  pass  by.  There  is  a  procession  of  human- 
ity moving  past  the  door,  and  you  will  wonder,  as  I  have  wrondered  hundreds 
of  times,  where  all  these  people  come  from  and  where  they  are  going  to. 
Dale  &  Sempill's  is  known  as  "The  City  Drug  Store."  It  is  conducted  on  a 
high  class  plan.  I  would  rather  trust  a  prescription  to  one  of 

Mr.  Sempill's  Young  Men  than  to  any  young  man  I  know  of,  for  his 
employes  are  graduates  of  colleges  of  pharmacy;  but  more  than  that,  they 
receive  a  training  here  which  qualifies  ihem  for  the  delicate  business  that 
they  have  to  perform.  Let  us  stand  on  Dale  &  Sempill's  corner  a  minute  or 
two.  We  are  likely  to  be  jostled,  but  here  is  a  good  point  of  observation. 
To  the  south  is  Clark  St.,  a  busy  thoroughfare  in  which  there  is  constantly 

A  Surging  Mass  of  Humanity.— That  is  the  Grand  Pacific  hotel  away 
down  there,  and  just  pelow  it  are  "McCoy's "  and  other  hotels  of  the  second 
order.  On  the  corner  opposite  is  the  Grace  hotel,  or  Hotel  Grace,  whichever 
way  you  would  put  it.  To  the  north  is  Clark  st.  also.  From  the  bridge, 
which  we  see  in  the  distance,  to  the  south  it  is  "South  Clark  street."  There 
is  the  magnificent  Ashland  block,  the  Sherman  house,  the  Court  house  and 
the  Chicago  Opera  house,  all  great  buildings.  To  the  east  we  look  down 
Madison  st.,  which  is  as  densely  crowded  at  all  hours  of  the  day  and  night 
as  any  thoroughfare  in  the  city.  There  is  Wabash  ave.,  State  st,  and  Dear- 
born st.  crossing  it  at  right  angles,  and  we  notice  a  blockade  of  street  cars, 
hansom  cabs  and  wragons  at  every  intersection.  You  must  keep  your  wits 
about  you  at  these  crossings.  The  policemen  will  do  their  best  for  you,  but 
their  best  sometimes  is  not  enough  to  prevent  some  unfortunate  person 
from  getting  under  the  wheels.  That  is  McVicker's  theatre,  and  this  side 
of  it  is  the  Tribune  building.  Across  the  street  is  the  great  Hartford  build- 
ing, and  opposite  is  the  Inter-Ocean  building.  The  buildings  in  our  imme- 
diate vicinity  are  not  "imposing"  but  they  are  all  handsome  business 
houses.  There,  diagonally  across,  is 

"  Chambers'  Corner,"  one  of  the  most  familiar  landmarks  in  the  city. 
Chambers'  jewelry  house  is  an  establishment  that  received  the  stamp  of 
public  approval  many  years  since.  It  is  conducted  on  a  plan  which  aims, 
first,  to  win  the  confidence  of  the  people  and  next  to  respect  it.  You  cannot 
get  less  than  your  money's  worth  in  Chambers',  whether  you  buy  a  ring,  a 
watch  or  a  diamond  necklace.  The  windows,  you  see,  are  surrounded  by 
people ;  they  always  are ;  they  always  have  been,  ever  since  I  can  remember. 
Next  door  west  is  Browning,  King  <fe  Co.'s  clothing  establishment.  Just  west 
is  Burke's  hotel,  and  beneath  it  is  the  beautiful  Chicago  oyster  house, 
where  you  avoid  the  bad  odor  of  the  basement  restaurants.  West  again 
is 

RevelVs  Book  Store  and  publishing  house,  a  place  to  go  to  for  high-class 
literature  of  all  kinds,  and  particularly  for  religious  publications,  bibles, 
etc.  You  can  get  anything  you  want  in  the  religious  publication  line  at 
Revell's  Just  west  of  this  is  one  of  the  great  La  Salle  st.  office  buildings, 
and  then  comes  La  Salle  st.  itself,  over  which  we  have  traveled,  On  the 
other  side  of  Madison  st.  is  the  Tacoma.  We  will  move  north  on  Clark  st. 
and  on  the  N.  W.  Cor.  Clark  and  Washington  sts.  we  find  the 

Opera  House  Block.— This  is  one  of  the  most  imposing  structures  in  the 
City,  eleven  stories  in  height,  erected  in  1885,  on  the  site  of  the  old  Tivoli 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

THE  W.  W.  KIMBALL  BUILDING,  243-253  WABASH  AVE. 

[See  Page  180  and  "  Wesfern  Industry."] 


110  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Garden,  once  a  popular  resort.  Situated  in  the  center  of  this  vast  pile  of 
masonry  is  the  opera  house.  The  building  is  fire-proof  throughout,  and  is 
the  property  of  the  Peck  estate.  [See  " Buidings "  and  "Amusements."] 
On  the  southeast  corner  is  the 

Methodist  Church  Block. — This  is  on  the  outside  a  business  structure, 
given  over  to  offices,  stores,  etc. ;  but  in  the  bddy  of  the  building  is  an  audi- 
torium where  the  services  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church  are  held  regu- 
larly. The  property  belongs  to  that  denomination  and  is  very  valuable. 
Just  around  the  corner  to  the  right,  on  Washington  st.,  is  the  magnificent 

Cook  County  Abstract  and  Title  Building,  one  of  the  most  superbly  fin- 
ished office  structures  in  the  city.  The  first  floor  is  occupied  by  the  bank- 
ing house  of  Herman  Schaffner  <fe  Co.,  a  solid  private  financial  institution. 
[See  "  Buildings "  and  "Banks."]  On  the  northwest  corner  is  the  Court 
House,  and  on  the  northeast  corner  is  the  Reaper  block,  built  by  the  late 
Cyrus  H.  McCprmick  shortly  after  the  great  flre.  It  derives  its  name  from 
the  business  in  which  Mr.  McCormick  was  engaged — the  manufacture  of 
reapers.  After  passing  up  Clark  st.  by  the  Grand  Opera  house  and  taking 
a  look  at  the  Sherman  house,  we  find,  ourselves  opposite  the  new  Ashland 
block,  a  graceful  building,  and  just  east  of  this,  on  Randolph  st.,  is  the 
magnificent  Schiller  theatre  building.  [See  "Amusements"  and  "  Build- 
ings."]   

T&NTtt  DfVY. 

A  Circuit  Around  the  Buisness  Center,  Through  the  Wholesale  Dry  Goods 
District,  Winding  up  -on  the  West  Side— The  Savings  Bank  Failures- 
Newspaper    Row— Arend's    Kumyss — Great  Jobbing  Houses — Over   the 
Madison  St.  Bridge— Looking  Toward  the  Setting  Sun— Section  Lines— 
The  John  M  Smyth  Building— A  Great  Establishment— The  Haymarket— 
The  Halsted  St.  Corner— By  Cable  Car— End  of  Our  Ten  Days'  Journey. 
We  will  make  a  beginning  where  we  left  off  yesterday,  at  the  corner  of 
Randolph  and  Clark  sts.    The  Court  House  and  City  Hall  are  on  our  left  as 
we  move  to  the  west.    Passing  the  Sherman  House  we  come  to  the  Fidelity 
Bank  building.    This  structure  is  occupied  by  a  private  banking  firm  now. 
There  are  also  safety  vaults  here.    I  remember  the  time   when  the  scenes 
inside  and  outside  of  this  building  were  as  wild  as  any  I  have  ever  beheld 
in  Chicago.    This  was  during  the  savings  bank  panic  in  1877. 

John  C.  Haines  was  the  president  of  the  Fidelity,  and  he  paid  out  money 
as  long  as  he  could ;  but  the  line  of  frightened  depositors  lengthened  put 
hour  after  hour  and  day  after  day,  until  finally  he  ran  out  of  funds.  In  the 
meantime  the  States  Saving  Institution,  around  the  corner  to  the  left,  and 
the  "Bee  Hive,"  around  the  corner  to  the  right,  had  closed  their  doors. 
There  was  "  intense  excitement "  as  the  newspapers  say,  but  even  this  blew 
over  in  time  and  the  bank  crash  was  soon  forgotten.  Next  door  to  the 
Fidelity  is  the  entrance  to  Hooley's  theatre.  [Se"e  "Amusements."]  A  little 
further  on  and  we  come  to  the  most  dangerous  street  crossing  in  the  city. 
This  is  where  the  West  Side  cable  cars  turn  from  La  Salle  st.  where  the  North 
Side  cable  cars  enter  and  leave  the  tunnel,  and  where  two  processions  of 
horse  cars  are  continuously  moving  east  and  west  on  Randolph  st.  Strange 
that  so  few  accidents  occur  here.  It  is  due  to  the  fact  that  the  danger  is 
realized  by  pedestrians,  that  policemen  are  constantly 

On  the  Alert,  and  that  drivers  and  gripmen  keep  their  wits  about  them 
while  passing  these  corners.  [See  "  Hell  Gate  Crossing."]  To  our  left  as  we 
walk  toward  the  east  is  Heath  &  Milligan's  paint  and  oil  establishment.  Mr. 


THE   GUIDE.  .  Ill 

Monroe  Heath,  the  senior  proprietor,  was  formerly  mayor  of  Chicago,  and 
he  is  the  man  who  restored  the  finances  of  the  city  and  established  the  credit 
of  the  municipality  abroad  after  the  dull  period  which  followed  the  fire  and 
the  panic  of  1873.  Along  here  are  a  number  of  similar  concerns  and  business 
houses  not  particularly  worthy  of  our  attention.  On  the  N.  E.  Cor.  of  Ran- 
dolph and  Fifth  ave.  is  the  Briggs  House  [see  "Hotels"],  and  on  the  Cor. 
Washington  st.  and  Fifth  ave.  is 

The  Times  Building,  from  which  is  published  the  Times,  the  FreiePresse, 
and  several  other  weil-known  publications.  On  the  opposite  corner  is  the 
stately  and  beautiful 

Staats-Zeitung  Building, where  the  Staats-Zeitung  newspaper  is  published. 
[See  "Newspapei-s."]  On  the  S.  E.  Cor.  of  Washington  st.  and  Fifth  ave.  is 
the  great  Teutonic  building,  one  of  those  steel  ribbed  affairs  which  seem  to 
reach  to  the  clouds.  [See  "Buildings.")  Walking  east  on  Washington  st., 
to  our  right  we  behold  the  new  office  building  of 

The  Evening  Post,  a  handsome  structure  in  which  is  published  one  of  the 
best  evening  papers  in  the  United  States,  and  just  two  doors  east  of  it  is  the 
elegant 

Herald  Building,  a  decided  improvement  upon  the  surrounding  architec- 
ture and  one  of  the  handsomest  structures  erected  in  Chicago  during  recent 
years.  Returning  to  Fifth  ave.,  just  around  the  corner  to  our  left  is  the  build- 
ing formerly  occupied  by  the  Arbeiter-Zeitung.  It  was  here  that  the  con- 
spiracy which  culminated  in  the  Haymarket  massacre  was  hatched;  here 
Spies  was  arrested,  and  here  were  discovered  great  quantities  of  bombs  and 
infernal  machines.  [See  "  Haymarket  Massacre."]  Near  the  alley  to  our 
left,  is  the  Dispatch  office.  On  the  corner  of  the  alley  opposite  is  the  Globe 
office,  and  on  the  other  corner  is  the  Mail  office.  Across  the  street  is 

The  Daily  Neivs  Office,  which  extends  over  a  large  portion  of  the  block. 
The  building  occupied  by  the  editorial  and  mechanical  departments,  a  new 
and  handsome  one,  is  in  the  rear,  fronting  on  the  alley.  This  is  one  of  the 
most  complete  newspaper  buildings  in  the  country.  The  Daily  News  Count- 
ing room  fronts  on  123  Fifth  ave.  It  is  an  elegant  office.  The  News  Record 
(morning  issue  from  the  same  office)  has  its  counting  room  around  the 
corner  on  Madison  street.  [See  "Newspapers"  and  "Buildings."]  You 
will  be  permitted  to  visit 

The  Press  Rooms  of  the  different  newspaper  offices  at  seasonable  hours, 
and  I  cannot  suggest  anything  that  will  interest  you  more  than  the  process 
of  stereotyping  and  printing  in  one  of  these  big  publication  offices.  We  have 
now  reached  the  intersection  of  Madison  st.  and  Fifth  ave.,  another  crowded 
and  dangerous  crossing,  and  we  will  step  into  Arend's  and  take  a  glass  of 
his  refreshing  and 

Incomparable  I'nmyss. — A  wonderful  drink  is  Kumyss.  Of  all  summer 
drinks,  or  winter  drinks  either,  for  that  matter,  it  is  the  most  refreshing  and 
the  most  healthful.  I  have  been  a  sufferer  from  dyspepsia  myself  and  I 
know  what  I  am  talking  about.  When  nothing  else  in  the  wide  world  would 
conduct  itself  properly  in  my  stomach  I  sought  Kumyss  and  found  relief. 
Dr.  Arend  is  a  public  benefactor,  and  I  say  this  much  about  his  Kumyss 
without  hope  of  reward,  excepting  in  the  consciousness  that  I  have  given 
publicity  to  a  great  truth.  Arend's  Kumyss  is  to  be  found  in  all  the  leading 
hospitals  of  the  city  now,  and  upon  the  tables  of  the  best  families.  Directly 
across  the  street  our  attention  is  called  to 

The  Security  Building,  on  the  N.  E.  Cor.  Madison  and  Fifth  ave.  The 
structure  is  one  of  the  finest  in  the  city.  It  is  fourteen  stories  high  and  cost 
between  $250,000  and  $400,000.  The  first  three  stories  are  of  granite,while  the 
upper  floors  are  of  pressed  brick  and  terra  cotta.  [See  "Buildings."] 
Should  we  walk  down  Fifth  ave.  from  this  point  we  woiild  find  ourselves  very 
soon  in  the  midst  of  the  wholesale  dry  goods,  clothing,  boot  and  shoe  and 
notion  district,  but  we  must  approach  it  by  another  route.  Before  leaving 
this  corner  I  want  to  call  your  attention  to  the  general  book  and  news 
agency  of 


112 


OUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


Charles  Curry,  at  the  opposite  side  of  Madison,  near  La  Salle  st.  Mr.  Curry 
will  furnish  you  with  anything  in  the  line  of  current  literature,  the  newest 
novels,  the  best  magazines,  the  latest  story  papers,  etc.  He  has  another  place 
in  the  Central  Music  Hall  block,  on  State  st.  Mr.  Curry  is  a  young  man  who 
has  made  himself  and,  contrary  to  the  rule  in  such  cases,  he  has  made  him- 
self well.  These  corners  are  noted  principally  for  barber  shops  and  tailor- 
ing establishments.  Madison  and  Fifth  ave.  has  been  for  years  the  point  at 
which  the  wholesale  men  and  the  newspaper  men  of  the  district  have  met 
on  a  common  level,  either  in  the  barber  shop  or  in  the  sample  rooms  which 
abound  here.  After  luncheon  we  will  start  from  the  corner  of  Madison  and 

Clark  sts.  and  walk  west.  The 
corner  itself— or  rather,the  four 
corners  —  we  have  seen  before. 
About  the  center  of  the  block 
to  our  left  is  Burke's  Euro- 
pean hotel,  and  beneath  it  is 
the  Chicago  Oyster  house,  a 
very  large,  a  very  beautiful 
and  a  very  popular  restaurant 
with  business  people.  They 
feed  about  two  thousand  peo- 
ple here  every  day.  Opposite 

Hotel  Brevoort,  recently 
enlarged  [see  "Hotels"],  a 
central  meeting  place  for 
wholesale  men  and  country 
merchants.  Next  to  it  is  the 
Tacoma,  the  first  floors  of 
which  are  occupied  as  stores, 
the  inevitable  drug  store 
being  located  on  the  corner. 
Berry,  the  Candy  Man,  has 
one  of  his  numerous  branch 
shops  here.  I  might  as  well 
tell  you  once  for  all  that  you 
will  find  Berry's  candy  shops 
everywhere  throughout  the 
city.  The  proprietor  of  these 
places  has  made  a  great  deal 
of  money  by  giving  people 
taffy — at  a  reasonable  price 
per  pound — and  a  handsome 
new  building  on  West  Madison 
st.  and  Ashland  ave.  testifies  to 
the  fact.  Across  the  street 
from  the  Hotel  Brevoort  is 
an  entrance  to 

Farwell  Hall,  a  celebrated 
assembly  room,  and  the  Young 
Men's  Christian  Association. 
Farwell  hall  in  its  time  has 
held  many  notable  gather- 
ings. It  was  here  that  P.  P.  Bliss,  the  composer  of  sacred  music  and  sweet 
singer,  delighted  vast  audiences  day  after  day  for  months  during  the  great 
Moody  and  Sankey  revival  period.  Yes,  he's  dead.  Went  down  with  his 
wife  and  a  score  of  others  in  the  horrible  Ashtabula  railway  accident.  Here 
Moody  and  Sankey  have  held  forth  frequently,  and  here  also 

Francis  Murphy  has  preached  gospel  temperance  to  rmiltitudes.  Others 
equally  well-known  have  been  heard  from  the  platform,  among  them  no  less 
a  personage  than  George  Francis  Train.  It  was  in  Farwell  hall  that  the 
bolt  occurred  among  Republicans  which  resulted  in  the  defeat  of  Grant  and 
the  nomination  of  Garfield  in  1880. 


ATHEN.EUM  BUILDING.— See  Buildings. 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

CHICAGO  HERALD  BUILDING,  154-158  WASHINGTON  ST. 

(.See  Page  178  and  "  Newspapers."] 


114  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

The  Young  Men's  Christian  Association  Building  covers  the  site  now, 
with  an  entrance  from  Madison  st.,  as  formerly.  [See  "Buildings."]  Pass- 
ing over  La  Salle  st.,  we  come  upon  the  fronts  of  two  blocks  of  buildings 
which  will  probably  be  transformed  during  the  next  three  years.  This  part 
of  Madison  st.  is  not  up  with  the  times.  Restaurants,  billiard  halls,  saloons, 
second-hand  book  stores,  news  stands,  etc.,  monopolize  it. 

Crossing  Fifth  Avenue,  we  enter  upon  the  outskirts  of  the  wholesale 
district.  This  district  at  present  may  be  bounded  as  follovs:  By  Fifth  ave. 
on  the  east,  the  river  on  the  west,  Randolph  st.  on  the  north,  and  Van  Buren 
st.  on  the  south.  There  are  two  wholesale  districts,  however,  and  they  are 
so  far  apart  that  it  will  be  many  years  before  the  entire  jobbing  business 
is  centered  in  one  locality.  To  find  room  for  it,  it  will  be  necessary  to  cross 
the  river  to  tne  West  side.  A  movement  in  this  direction  has,  in  fact, 
already  begun,  but  the  large  houses  which  have  located  on  Canal,  Clinton, 
West  Washington  and  West  Randolph  sts.  up  to  this  time  are  mostly  in  the 
machinery  and  machinery-supply  trade. 

The  Great  Dry-Goods  Houses  are  now  all  located  in  what  is  known  as 
the  New  Wholesale  District,  into  which  we  are  about  to  enter.  The  old 
wholesale  district  extends  along  Wabash  ave.,  from  Van  Buren  st.  north  to 
the  river,  and  here  there  are  jobbing  houses  in  almost  every  line  (except 
wholesale  dry-goods)  from  millinery  to  grocery.  Moving  west  on  Madison 
st.  we  pass  several  blocks  of  buildings  that  are  passing  through  a  change. 
The  wholesale  trade  has  been  gradually  drifting  away  from  this  street  to 
the  south.  The  retail  trade  is  just  now  taking  a  fancy  to  it.  That  barn-like 
structure  on  the  N.  E.  Cor.  of  Madison  and  Market  sts,  was  formerly  occu- 
pied by  Marshall  Field  &  Co.,  as  their  wholesale  house.  It  is  now  simply 

A  Storage  Warehouse,  and  an  eye-sore  to  property  owners  in  the  vicinity. 
The  streets  to  the  left  are  all  built  up  elegantly,  and  the  great  wholesale 
boot  and  shoe,  clothing  and  dry-goods  houses  may  all  be  visited  in  a  day's 
trip  along  Fifth  ave.,  Franklin  and  Market  sts.  to  VanBuren,  and  along 
Monroe,  Adams,  Jackson  and  VanBuren  sts.,  from  Fifth  ave.  to  the  river. 
A  tremendous  amount  of  business  is  being  done  in  this  section.  A  stranger 
will  be  received  courteously  in  a  majoritjrof  the  leading  houses. 

J,  V.  Farwell  &  Co.'s  great  establishment  is  worthy  of  a  visit,  and  so  is 
Field's,  but  there  is  more  or  less  of  interest  to  be  found  in  all  the  houses  of 
this  section,  and  it  would  hardly  be  of  value  to  the  visitor  to  point  out  par- 
ticular establishments.  I  must,  however,  call  your  attention  to  the  archi- 
tecture of  this  section.  You  will  notice  that  it  differs  very  materially  from 
that  of  any  other  section  of  the  city.  Take  the  Farwell  building,  for 
instance,  a  specimen  of  modern  commercial  constniction  of  the  plain  school, 
and  compare  it  with  the  massive  structures  occupied  by  Marshall  Field  <fe 
Co.  and  James  H.  Walker  <fe  Co.  The  latter  building  is  a  beautiful  one. 
Among  the  most  familiar  names  you  will  see  down  this  way  is  that  of  Henry 
W.  King  <fe  Co.,  wholesale  clothiers.  Their  quarters  are  spacious  and  their 
facilities  unlimited.  This  is  one  of  the  greatest  clothing  establishments  in 
the  world.  Carson,  Pirie,  Scott  &  Co.'s  new  wholesale  house  is  also  down 
this  way.  Walking  west  on  Adams  st.,  we  pass  the  beautiful  general  office 
of  the  Chicago,  Burlington  &  Quincy  Railroad  Company.  We  must  enter 
these  great  buildings  as  we  come  to  them,  of  course.  A  whole  day  might  be 
given  to  Marshall  Field's,  and  we  would  have  to  spend  a  week  in  this  district 
if  we  were  to  do  full  justice  to  the  trip.  I  have  hurried  you  around  it,  point- 
ing out  only  the  most  prominent  houses.  Leaving  the  wholesale  house  dis- 
trict we  will  start  westward 

From  the  Madison  Street  Bridge.— There  is  a  new  and  handsome  steel 
bridge  here  now  which  was  thrown  open  to  the  public  during  1891.  The  old 
bridge,  which  did  service  here  for  over  a  quarter  of  a  century,  was  moved 
down  the  river  to  Washington  st.,  where  it  connects  two  new  viaducts  and 
makes  Washington  st.,  east  and  west,  a  thoroughfare.  One  of  the  tunnels 
through  which  the  cable  cars  pass  runs  beneath  the  river  there.  The  new 
Madison  st.  bridge  is  one  of  the  finest  swing  bridges  erected  in  the  city. 
For  years  the  old  bridge  was  inadequate,  but  the  moving  of  it  was  postponed 


THE   GUIDE.  115 

from  time  to  time  because  of  a  dread  that  .any  change  would  upset  the  busi- 
ness of  the  West  and  South  sides,  discommode  the  public  and  cause  block-' 
ades  over  the  other  swing  bridges  near  by.  Within  the  past  few  years, 
however,  new  bridges  have  been  constructed  at  Jackson  and  Adams  sts. 
Besides  these  improvements  the  switching  of  the  West  Division  Railway 
cars 

Under  the  Tunnel  greatly  relieved  the  strain  \ipon  the  Madison  st. 
bridge,  so  that  of  late,  while  the  travel  over  here  is  immense  at  all  hours  of 
the  day,  and  particularly  in  the  morning  and  in  the  evening,  it  is  by  no 
means  as  great  as  formerly.  It  would  be  an  interesting  sight  for  you  to 
stand  here  on  a  summer's  evening  about  the  time  the  business  houses  and 
factories  of  the  South  Side  are  discharging  their  throngs  of  employes,  and 
also  about  the  time  the  workingmen  of  the  West  Side  are  moving  toward 
their  homes  in  other  parts  of  the  city.  It  has  been  the  case  for  a  number  of 
years,  that  just  about  this  time,  when  the  street  cars  were  overflowing  with 
passengers  and  following  each  other  up  at  intervals  of  less  than  one-eighth 
of  a  minute  apart,  that  a  lumber  schooner,'  or  half  a  dozen  of  them,  and 
perhaps  a  propeller  or  two,  would  demand  the  opening  of  the  draw.  I  have 
seen  the  blockade  extend  from  State  st.  to  the  bridge  on  the  east,  and  from 
the  bridge  to  Halsted  st.  on  the  west  at  such  times.  It  would  be  no  exag- 
geration to  say  that  millions  of  dollars'  worth  of  time  has  been  lost  here  by 
business  people  during  the  last  quarter  of  a  century. 

The  Cable  Loop  has  been  a  great  relief  to  the  public  generally.  The  con- 
struction of  a  new  four-track  steel  bridge  here  has  not  only  greatly  facilitated 
traffic  between  the  West  and  South  sides,  but  has  done  much  toward  build- 
ing up  what  ought  to  be  the  greatest  artery  in  the  city— Madison  st.  From 
the  bridge  to  the  city  limits  and  beyond,  the  thoroughfare  upon  which  we 
are  about  to  enter  is  called 

West  Madison  St.— There  is  an  old  saying  in  this  city  that  Halsted  st. 
extends  from  Milwaukee  to  Cairo,  and  with  equal  truth  it  might  be  said,  that 
Madison  st.  extends  from  Lake  Michigan  to  Burlington,  Iowa.  These  streets 
like  many  other  of  the  leading  thoroughfares  of  the  city,  are  what  are  known 
as  section  lines.  They  follow  the  line  of  the  original  surveysmade  here  years 
before  Chicago  had  developed  even  into  a  third-class  town.  All  over  Chi- 
cago we  find  that  the  old  country  roadways  have  been  preserved  in  these 
later  days  as  streets.  For  instance,  before  we  had  railways  in  this  country 
we  had 

The  Green  Bay  Road,  which  extended  from  Chicago  into  the  Lake  Superior 
country.  At  present  it  is  known  as  N.  Clark  st.  as  far  as  the  city  limits,  as 
EvanstOn  ave.  for  a  distance,  and  again  as  Chicago  ave.  until  we  reach  the 
point  beyond  our  suburban  line,  where  it  is  still  known  as  the  Green  Bay 
road.  Milwaukee  ave.  used  to  be  the  old  Milwaukee  road.  Blue  Island  ave. 
was  the  Blue  Island  road  and  Lake  ave.,  on  the  South  side  was 

The  Military  Eoad  which  led  from  Fort  Dearborn  to  the  nearest  garrisons 
in  existence  on  the  border,  among  them  Detroit.  Madison  st.  to-day  extends 
through  the  township  of  West  Chicago,  and  through  Cicero.  I  do  not  know 
where  it  ends,  because  I  have  never  seen  the  end  of  it,  but  it  loses  itself 
miles  from  here  somewhere  in  the  prairies  to  the  west.  For  three  miles  west 
of  the  bridge  it  is  a  business  street.  When  the  great  fire  of  1871  laid  the 
South  side  in  ashes,  the  greater  part  of  the  West  side— in  fact  all  of  it  except 
the  small  district  in  the  vicinity  of  the  barn  where 

Mrs.  O'Leary's  Coiv  gave  the  fatal  kick,  was  untouched.  Up  to  this  time 
Madison  st.  was  occupied  on  either  side  by  small  frame  residences  of  the 
semi-genteel  character,  and  a  great  many  people  doing  business  on  the 
South  side  lived  in  these  houses.  Before  the  people  of  Chicago  had  recov- 
ered their  senses  after  the  conflagration,  these  West  side  residents  had  com- 
menced tearing  the  fronts  out  of  their  homes  and  transforming  them  into 
shops.  From  the  bridge  to  Ashland  ave.  something  like  three  hundred  Madi- 
son st.  residences  were 

Transformed  Into  Stores  in  less  than  three  weeks  to  meet  the  demands 
of  South  side  business  people.  Not  only  on  Madison  st.,  but  in  fact  on  all 


116  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

the  streets  contiguous  to  the  river,  private  residences  were  transformed 
into  business  houses,  into  boarding  houses  and  into  hotels.  As  the  South 
side  was  re-built,  many  of  the  people  who  had  taken  up  temporary  quarters 
in  the  West  division  moved  back,  and  for  four  or  five  years  there  was  a  large 
number  of  vacant  shops  on  this  side  of  the  river ;  but  the  West  side  had 
experienced  the  flavor  of  a  business  boom,  and  during  the  past  twenty  years 
its  mercantile  interests  have  continued  to  expand,  until  to-day,  while  all  the 
district  between  the  river  and  Ashland  ave.  is  not  given  over  to  business 
houses,  it  is  almost  entirely  so.  To  our  left  as  we  leave  the  viaduct  is 

The  Union  Depot. — The  ground  covered  by  this  railway  station  extends 
from  Madison  st.  on  the  north  to  Van  Buren  st.  on  the  south,  and  covers 
about  a  block  in  width  along  the  river  front.  It  is  one  of  the  handsomest  in 
the  country,  and  its  train  shed  is  the  largest  in  existence.  On  the  west  side 
of  Canal  st.,  and  particularly  in  the  vicinity  of  Madison,  is  a  block  of  build- 
ings, which  has  long  been  not  only  a  disgrace  to  the  west  division  of  the 
city,  but  to  all  Chicago.  It  is  covered  in  part  by  tumble-down  frame  build- 
ings, and  in  part  by  lodging-houses  of  the  lowest  description,  and  the  vicin- 
ity is  the  resort  of  idlers,  thieves  and  vagabonds  generally.  The  lodging- 
houses  have  frequently  been  the  scenes  of  crimes  which  have  shocked  the 
community,  and  they  have  been  as  well  a  menace  to  the  general  peace  of 
the  city  in  times  of  riot  and  disorder.  In  these  lodging  houses,  also,  have 
been  colonized  at  various  times  men  who  have  been  hired  to  do 

Disreputable  Work  at  the  Polls.— To  our  right  is  the  old  Washington  hotel, 
a  landmark  which  will  shortly  disappear  to  make  room  for  an  elegant  block 
of  buildings.  Beyond  this,  at  the  N.  W.  Cor.  of  Canal  st.,  is  a  handsome 
European  hotel,  and  further  on  is  the  Gait  House,  one  of  the  oldest  and 
best  known  hotels  in  the  city.  From  this  point  to  Union  st.  there  is  not 
much  to  be  seen  that  reflects  credit  on  the  West  side,  or  that  will  interest 
the  visitor.  Opposite  Union  st. 

Madison  Hall  has  been  erected.  This  structure  cost  $200,000.  [See 
"Buildings."]  It  is  seven  stories  high.  Adjoining  this  structure  stands 
the 

John  M.  Smyth  Building.— THE  STANDARD  GUIDE  for  1891,  contained  an 
engraving  and  a  description  of  the  John  M.  Smyth  building  on  West  Madison 
st.  The  book  was  scarcely  issued  before  this  handsome  structure  was  de- 
stroyed by  fire.  Upon  the  ruins  has  arisen  a  building  far  more  costly  and 
elegant  in  every  detail  than  its  predecessor.  It  is  the  handsomest  structure  in 
Chicago  devoted  to  the  retail  furniture  trade, and  the  most  imposing  structure 
on  this  side  of  the  river.  It  is  eight  stories  in  height  and  cost  over  $300,000. 
The  building  has  a  frontage  on  West  Madison  st.  of  205  feet,  the  end  wings 
having  each  a  frontage  of  forty  feet  extending  back  to  a  depth  of  180  feet  to 
School  st.  in  the  rear,  while  the  center  portion  with  a  frontage  of  125  feet,  is 
125  feet  deep  thus  leaving  a  court  for  shipping  purposes.  The  court  is 
covered  by  a  trussed  glass  roof .  The  exterior  of  the  first  two  stories  is  built 
of  tool  dressed  blue  Bedford  stone.  Above  this  Bedford  stone  is  used.  The 
feature  of  the  front  is 

A  Grand  Central  Entrance,  being  a  double  arch  forty  feet  wide.  The 
rest  of  the  front  is  chiefly  of  plate-glass  windows,  no  iron  being  visible  on 
the  outside.  The  central  part  of  the  building,  125x125,  contains  a  grand 
vestibule,  finished  in  marble.  The  main  offices  are  situated  on  the  first 
floor.  These  with  the  entire  interior  are  elaborately  and  beautifully  finished. 
Two  grand  stairways  lead  to  the  upper  floors  and  in  addition  there  are  two 
passenger  and  four'freight  elevators.  The  interior  finish  is  of  mill  construc- 
tion, long  leaf  Georgia  pine  timbers,  which  are  used  in  the  floor,  being  four 
inches  thick,  and  a  finish  of  maple.  The  building  is  warmed  by  steam,  while 
300  arc  electric  and  600  incandescent  together  with  innumerable  gas  jets 
flood  it  with  light.  The  burning  of  the  John  M.  Smyth  building  filled  the 
whole  neighborhood  with  disaster.  It  was 

One  of  the  Most  Wicked  Fires  ever  witnessed  on  the  West  Side.  The  fire 
crossed  the  street  to  the  buildings  opposite,  several  of  which  were  reduced 
to  ruins,  and  for  a  time  the  new  and  magnificent  Haymarket  building  seemed 


118 


GUIDE    TO   CHICAGO. 


doomed  to  destruction.  While  the  fire  was  at  its  height  and  half  a  million 
dollars  worth  of  property  was  going  up  in  smoke,  Mr.  Smyth  was  approached 
by  a  reporter  of  a  morning  paper  and  asked  what  he  thought  of  it.  He  said 
in  reply,  "As  soon  as  we  can  remove  the  debris,  we  will  put  up  a  much 
handsomer  building."  The  debris  was  scarcely  cleared  away  before  the 
work  of  erecting  the  new  structure  had  begun.  John  M.  Smyth  was  the 
originator  of  what  has  come  to  be  known  as 

The  Installment  Idea.— 
From  a  small  beginning  his 
establishment  has  grown  until 
it  is  the  largest  of  its  kind  in 
the  world.  Years  ago  Mr. 
Smyth  was  a  newspaper  man, 
but  he  left  that  business  be- 
fore the  great  fire.  He  is  a 
well-read,  scholarly,  r  o  fi  11  e  d 
gentleman,  a  splendid  con- 
versationalist, and  one  of  the 
most  popular  men  in  Chicago. 
For  years  he  has  been  promi- 
nent in  politics,  a  pursuit 
which  he  has  followed  more 
foi*  recreation  than  for  profit. 
He  is  usually  to  be  found  in  his 
office  'from  early  in  the  morn- 
ing until  late  at  night,  but  is 
never  so  rushed  with  business 
that  he  fails  to  meet  his  callers 
with  an  affable  smile,  nor  al- 
lows them  to  depart  without  a 
courteous  hand-shake.  You 
will  be  interested  by 

A  Visit  to  this  Building.— 
Every  floor  is  an  exhibition  in 
itself.  It  would  be  impossible 
to  compute  the  number  of 
customers  of  this  establish- 
ment, but  it  is  estimated  that 
John  M.  Smyth  has  given  a 
start  to  over  75,000  young 
married  people  during  the 
past  fifteen  years.  In  all  this 
time  there  has  never  come  to 
light  a  single  instance  wherein 
the  house  of  John  M.  Smyth 
has  been  gviilty  of  anything  in 


VENETIAN  BUILDING.—  See  Buildings. 


posed  the  slighest  hardship 
upon  an  honest  man  or 
woman,  or  where  it  has  failed 
in  the  faithful  and  most  scru- 
pulous performance  of  a  con- 
tract.  The  house  employs  a 
perfect  army  of  salesmen. 
You  should  walk  through  the  immense  establishment.  It  has  attractions 
for  people  of  all  ages  and  sexes.  Across  the  street  is 

The  Haymarket  Building,  in  which  is  located  the  Hayrnarket  theatre. 
[See  "Amusements."']  The  intersection  of  Madison  and  Halsted  sts.  reminds 
us  forcibly  of  the  intersection  of  Madison  and  Clark  sts.,  which  we  saw  the 
other  day.  Clothing  stores  occupy  three  corners  and  a  drug  store  the  fourth. 
From  this  point  to  the  dry  goods  establishment  of 


THE    GUIDE.  119 

P.  F.  Ryan  &  Co..  Madison  and  Peoria  sts.,  there  isn't  much  to  attract  our 
attention.  Here,  however,  far  removed  from  the  recognized  business  center, 
is  a  large  concern  which  compares  very  favorably  with  the  State  st.  and 
Wabash  ave.  houses.  It  is  a  beaiitiful  dry  goods  store,  and  judging  from 
the  crowds  inside,  we  must  presume  that  it  is  prosperous.  At  Morgan  and 
Madison  js  the  piano  house  of  Adam  Sehaaf.  Then  we  pass  the  large  furni- 
ture concerns  of  Ulick,  Bourke,  Moore  Bros.,  and  others,  and  find  ourselves 
walking  by  long  rows  of  attractive  retail  stores.  We  reach  Throop  st.  and 
the  Waverly  theatre,  Loomis  st.  and  the  West  Side  natatorium,  and  finally 
find  ourselves  at  Ogden  ave.,  where  we  see  more  pretentious  structures, 
among  them  the  Washingtonian  Home  and 

The  Stone  Building,  situated  on  the  triangular  strip,  bounded  by  Madi- 
son, Ogden  and  Ashland  aves.  We  will  take  the  cable  here  and  after  a  trip 
of  two  miles,  passing  block  after  block  of  handsome  buildings,  the  west  Madi- 
son st.  power-house  and  other  points  of  interest,  we  arrive  at  Garfield  Park. 
Just  beyond  here  we  may,  if  we  wish,  take  the  Cicero  electric  line,  which  will 
carry  us  ten  miles  into  the  country  through  some  of  the  prettiest  of  our 
praii'ie  sxiburbs.  [See  "Amusements"  and  "City  Railway  Service."]  Gar- 
field  Park  as  well  as  all  the  parks  on  the  West  side  of  the  river  has  been 
greatly  improved  of  late.  They  are  beautifxil,  all  of  them,  and  everything 
points  in  the  direction  of  their  becoming  fully  as  attractive  as  their 
south  and  north  side  neighbors  in  the  near  future.  Owing  to  the 
arrangement  of  this  volume  it  has  been  necessary  to  speak  of  the  parks  in 
one  department.  It  is  not  necessary  that  I  should  accompany  you  on  a 
trip  to  these  parks,  so  I  will  leave  you  to  wander  around  Garfield  Park  to- 
day, hoping  that  you  will  secure  a  conveyance  and  visit  Humboldt  and 
Douglas  parks  as  well.  They  are  all  connected  by  wide  and  beautiful 
boulevards.  A  cheap  and  a  pleasant  way  for  a  small  party  to  visit 
these  parks  is  to  engage  an  open  carriage,  which  may  be  secured  at 
from  $8.00  to  $12.00  per  day.  If  you  have  a  driver  of  ordinary  intelligence, 
he  will  take  you  to  all  points  of  interest.  Luncheon  may  be  had  at 
any  of  the  parks.  [See  "  Drives."] 

We  have  now  come  to  the  end  of  our  Ten  Days'  Trip  around  the  city.  I 
have,  as  a  rule,  kept  you  within  the  business  section.  I  might  have  taken  you 
over  to  the  North  side,  shown  you  the  water  works,  lake  shore  drive,  Lin- 
coln Park,  the  library  and  club  buildings,  etc.,  etc. ;  but  all  of  these  are  fully 
described  in  the  pages  which  follow.  I  might  have  taken  you  into  the  man- 
ufacturing and  residence  districts,  out  to  the  beautiful  suburbs,  through 
the  boulevards,  over  the  park  system,  etc.,  but  all  these  are  described  in 
their  proper  order;  and  after  being. in  Chicago  ten  days,  with  the  aid  of  THE 
STANDARD  GUIDE,  I  am  satisfied  yoir.will  be  able  to  arrange  daily  excursions 
which  will  be  more  enjoyable,  perhaps,  than  any  I  could  make  up  for  you 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
THE    GRANT    STATUE,    LINCOLN    PARK. 

[See  page  315.! 


(ESTABLISHED  1836.) 


NORTHERN 

ASSURANCE  COMPANY 

ABERDEEN.         I         LONDON. 


United  States  Department  Offices: 

BOSTON,  CHICAGO,  CINCINNATI, 

NEW     YORK,  SAN     FRANCISCO. 


Losses  paid  since  organization,   -    $38,000,000 
Losses  paid  in  United  States,     •       7,775,000 


Northwestern   Department: 

\VM.  D.  CROOKK,  Manager, 

226    La  Salle    Street,    CHICAGO. 

Colorado,  Dakotas,   Illinois,   Iowa,   Kansas,   Michigan,   Minnesota,   Missouri,   Montana, 
Nebraska,   New  Mexico,  Wisconsin,  Wyoming. 


CHICAGO  OFFICE: 

1  TO    LA  SALLE    STREET. 

TELEPHONE,  MAIN   1520. 

CHARLES  NELSON  BISHOP,      -      City  Manager. 


W.  A.  PRIDMORE, 

CHICAGO 

REAL  ESTATE 

INVESTMENTS. 

Property  Rented,  Taxes  Paid,  Special  Attention  Given  to  Care  of 
Property  for  Non-residents. 

LOANS 


In  Any  Amount  from  $1,000  to  $100,000  on  CHICAGO  REAL 
ESTATE,  at  Current  Market  Rates. 


MORTGAGES  for  sale  netting  investor  six  and  seven  per  cent. 
CAPITAL  WANTED. 


CORRESPONDENCE  SOLICITED. 


I  15  Dearborn  Street,  Rooms  123  and    I  24, 

TELEPHONE  MAIN  2350. 


SOUTHSIDE  OFFICE: 

Cor.  Cottage  Grove  Avenue  and  47th  Street, 

TELEPHONE,  OAKLAND  67. 


Pf\RT  II. 


GENERAL  INFORMATION. 

AMUSEMENT  AND  RECREATION. 

The  visitor  will  not  lack  for  opportunities  of  enjoying  himself  to  his 
heart's  content  in  Chicago,  no  matter  in  what  direction  his  taste  may  hap- 
pen to  lie.  In  addition  to  such  amusements  as  may  be  termed  strictly 
American,  we  have  presented  to  us  here  constantly  the  leading  attractions 
of  European  cities.  Whatever  is  popular  abroad  speedily  finds  its  way  to 
Chicago,  to  be  tested  here  at  least.  Chicago  during  recent  years  has 
become  a  dramatic  center  of  the  first  rank.  Many  new  plays  are  produced 
here  every  season  for  the  first  time.  Architecturally  the  amusement  houses 
of  Chicago  are  the  best  in  the  United  States;  the  interior  decorations,  the 
scenery  and  the  stage  fittings  of  our  theatres  are  unsurpassed.  Aside  from 
the  theatres  there  are  numerous  opportunities  for  enjoyment  afforded  by 
museums,  art  galleries,  picture  galleries,  drives,  excursions,  zoological 
gardens  park  concerts,  etc.,  all  of  which  are  mentioned  under  this  heading. 

Academy  of  Music.— Located  on  the  west  side  of  South  Halsted,  near 
West  Madison  st.  Take  Madison  st.  cable  line.  H.  R.  Jacobs,  manager. 
It  is  conducted  as  a  comedy  and  high-class  vaudeville  theatre.  The  interior 
is  one  of  the  finest  in  the  city,  the  furnishings  being  beautiful.  It  was  twice 
destroyed  by  fire  and  twice  completely  remodeled.  The  theatre  seats  1,800. 

Academy  of  Sciences. — Location,  Lincoln  Park.  Take  North  Clark  or 
North  Wells  st.  cable  line.  When  open,  a  splendid  collection  of  birds,  mam- 
mals, insects,  and  such  natural  curiosities  as  belong  to  an  institute  of  this 
kind.  Free.  [See  "Chicago  Academy  of  Sciences."] 

Alhambra  Theatre.— Located  at  the  Cor.  State  st.  and  Archer  ave.  H.  R. 
Jacobs,  manager.  Take  State  st.  cable  line.  This  theatre  was  opened  by 
Miss  Emma  Juch,  the  prima  donna,  in  1890.  It  is  one  of  the  handsomest  in 
the  city.  The  theatre  has  a  grand  entrance  on  State  st.  and  another  entrance 
on  Archer  ave.,  both  leading  inward  through  a  business  block  to  a  large 
court,  from  which  a  spacious  lobby  opens  into  the  main  foyer.  The  audi- 
torium, constructed  upon  the  most  approved  modern  system,  is  wide  but  not 
deep,  and  has  a  seating  capacity  of  2,500  aside  from  the  twelve  boxes.  The 
lower  floor  seats  750,  the  balcony  550,  and  the  gallery  1,200.  The  ornamenta- 
tion of  the  interior  above  the  boxes,  balconies  and  stage  front  and  ceiling, 
is  Moorish  in  design,  and  the  colors  are  salmon  and  shrimp  pink  with  inter- 
mediate shades.  The  stage  is  forty-five  feet  deep  and  has  an  opening  of 
twenty-five  feet.  Conducted  as  a  first-class  theatre. 

Art  Museum. — Located  on  Michigan  ave.,  opposite  Adams  st.  Until  its 
new  building  is  completed  the  museum  is  in  temporary  quarters  at  202  Mich- 
igan ave.  Magnificent  exhibit  of  paintings,  statuary,  curios,  etc.  Some  of  the 
paintings  exhibited  are  very  costly  and  rare,  [See  "Buildings  "  and  "Art."J 
A  half  day  can  be  spent  pleasantly  and  profitably  here. 

Auditorium  Theatre. — The  theatre  of  the  Auditorium  building;  location, 
Wabash  ave.  and  Congress  st.  The  audience  room  of  the  theatre  is  reached 

123 


124  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

from  Congress  st,  near  the  corner  of  Wabash  ave.  A  grand  vestibule  with 
ticket  offices  on  right  and  left  side,  leads  to  a  mosaic  paved  lobby.  The  low 
vaulted  ceiling,  pillared  by  shapely  towers  and  jetted  with  electric  lights 
give  it  an  unique  appearance.  Several  large  cloak  rooms  range  along  one 
side,  and  from  the  other,  broad  marble  stairs,  protected  by  solid  bronze 
balusters,  reach  to  the  foyer.  This  part  of  the  house  is  of  ample  dimensions, 
and  richly  furnished.  Two  large  retiring  rooms  for  ladies  and  smokers  ad- 
join on  the  south  end,  both  decorated  and  furnished  with  dainty  taste.  The 
house  contains  forty  boxes,  supplied  with  luxurious  chairs  and  sofas  and 
hung  with  curtains  of  delicately  tinted  plush.  There  are  4,050  seats,  about 
1,500  of  which  are  located  in  the  parquet.  Above  the  parquet  are  the  first 
and  second  balconies  and  the  gallery.  The  two  latter  portions  of  the  house 
can  be  closed  down  for  special  occasions  by  iron  curtains  worked  by  a  wind- 
lass and  chains — an  ingenious  arrangement  and  very  useful  at  times.  Over 
5,500  incandescent  lamps  are  used  in  the  theatre  and  stage.  The  general 
color  treatment  of  the  walls,  ceiling  and  pillars  is  yellow  in  various  shades. 
The  effect  produced  when  the  electric  lamps  are  lit  is  extraordinarily  impres- 
sive. The  orchestra  pit  has  accommodations  for  100  players.  A  special 
feature  is  the  great  organ,  which  contains  7,193  pipes  and  is  divided  into 
seven  parts.  This  organ  is  concealed  behind  the  north  wall.  Frequent 
organ  recitals  are  given  at  popular  prices.  The  equipment  of  the  stage  is 
most  complete.  Open  almost  nightly. 

Barlow's  Pavilion.— A  combination  of  beer  garden,  restaurant  and  vari- 
ety entertainment.  Location,  1923  Archer  ave. 

Base  Ball,  Cricket,  Tennis,  Foot  Ball,  Bicycle  Exhibitions,  Etc.— During 
the  season  all  manner  of  out-door  games,  professional  and  amateur.  (See 
announcements  in  daily  papers.)  Base  ball  attracts  large  crowds.  [See 
"  Clubs,"  "  Athletic  and  Sporting."] 

Bird's  Eye  Views. — Chicago  may  be  seen  from  the  roof-garden  of  the 
Masonic  Temple,  twenty  stories  high  (25  cents) ;  from  the  tower  of  the 
Auditorium,  seventeen  stories  high  (25  cents),  and  from  the  Board  of  Trade 
tower,  equal  to  fifteen  stories  high  (free) . 

Battle  of  Gettysburg  Cyclorama.  —  Located  at  the  Cor.  Wabash  ave. 
and  Panorama  pi.  Take  Wabash  ave.  cable  line.  This  magnificent  cyclor- 
ama  has  been  one  of  the  leading  attractions  of  Chicago  for  several  years, 
and  hundreds  of  thousands  of  people  have  seen  and  admired  it.  The  building 
in  which  the  painting  is  exhibited  is  similar  to  those  in  the  leading  conti- 
nental cities  of  Europe.  Open  day  and  evening.  Admission,  50  cents; 
children,  half  price. 

Casino.— [See  "Haverly's  Casino."] 

Central  Music  Hall.—  Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  State  and  Randolph  sts.  It 
has  a  seating  capacity  of  2,000,  and  is  the  cosiest  and  most  comfortable  hall 
in  the  country.  Much  space  is  given  to  foyer  and  aisles,  and  to  ample 
facilities  for  entrances  and  exits.  It  is  tastefully  decorated  and  furnished, 
and  its  acoustic  properties  have  been  pronounced  perfect  by  the  great  lyric 
artists,  and  the  speakers  who  have,  from  time  to  time,  appeared  upon  its 
stage.  The  graceful  curve  of  the  galleries  is  a  feature  of  the  house,  and  no 
seat  is  undesirable  by  reason  of  its  imperfect  view  of  the  stage,  or  distance 
from  it.  As  originally  intended,  the  hall  is  occupied  on  Sunday  mornings 
by  the  Central  Church  congregation,  presided  over  by  Prof.  Swing,  and  for 
the  purpose  of  religious  services  there  is  provided  a  magnificent  organ. 
[See  "  Buildings."]  Open  almost  nightly. 

Chicago  Fire  Cyclorama.— This  magnificent  cyclorama  presents  in  a  very 
truthful  and  striking  manner  the  scenes  and  incidents  of  the  great  Chicago 
fire  of  1871.  The  hour  chosen  is  early  Monday  morning  and  the  point  of  view 
the  site  of  old  Fort  Dearborn.  Before  the  observer,  to  the  southwest,  is  the 
business  portion  of  the  city,  a  crumbling  mass  of  ruins;  to  the  northv/est 
may  be  seen  a  thousand  acres  of  a  veritable  sea  of  fire,  while  along  the  lake 
shore  are  tens  of  thousands  of  people  in  a  mad,  furious  flight  for  safety.  The 
cyclorama  is  open  day  and  evening.  Admission,  50  cents;  children,  25  cents. 


126 


GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 


Chicago  Opera  House.— Located  in  the  Chicago  Opera  House  building,  a 
magnificent  structure,  S.  W.  Cor.  Clark  and  Washington  sts.,  opposite  the 
Court  House.  John  W.  Norton  &  Co.,  proprietors.  The  production  of  the 
spectacular  is  made  a  specialty  here.  The  prices  range  from  50  cents  to  $1.50, 
according  to  location,  and  the  boxes  are  $10,  $12  and  $14  on  the  lower  floor, 
and  $8  and  $10  in  the  upper  tier.  The  theatre  has  a  seating  capacity  of  about 
2,500.  The  proscenium  opening  is  36  feet  wide  and  the  height  from  the  stage 
to  the  "gridiron"  is  70  feet. 

Chickering  Music  Hall.— Formerly  Weber  Music  hall.  Located  on  Wabash 
ave.  and  Adams  st.  Chickering,  Chase  Bros.  Co.,  managers.  Seating  capac- 
ity, 400;  stage,  28x20;  no 
scenery.  Frequent  high- 
class  concerts  are  given 
during  the  season. 

Chinese  Theatre.—  Lo- 
cation near  World's  Fair 
grounds,  between  Sixty- 
third  and  Sixty-fourth 
sts.  Built  by  the  Wah 
Yung  company;  capital 
stock,  $80,000.  The  build- 
ing  was  planned  by  a 
Chicago  architect  and 
is  a  handsome  one  of  the 
oriental  pattern.  Native 
Chinese  performers  ap- 
pear. 

Clark  Street  Theatre. 
—  Located  on  the  east 
side  of  North  Clark  st., 
near  the  bridge.  For- 
merly McCormick's  hall, 
later  the  Casino.  Has 
been  remodeled  and  re- 
fitted in  a  first-class  man- 
ner. H.  R.  Jacobs,  mana- 
ger. A  popular  light 
comedy  and  vaudeville 
theatre. 

Columbia  Theatre.  — 
Located  at  the  south  side 
of  Monroe  between  Clark 
and  Dearborn  sts.,  close 
to  all  the  leading  hotels 
and  convenient  to  rail- 
road depots  and  street 
car  terminals.  Proprie- 
tors, Al.  Hayman  and  Will 
J.  Davis.  This  theatre  is 
the  successor  of  "  Hav- 


STONE  BUILDING.— See  Buildings. 


erly's,"  successor  of  the  "Adelphi,"  which  occupied  the  old  post  office 
building  on  Monroe  and  Dearborn  sts.,  the  present  site  of  the  First 
National  bank  building.  Haverly  opened  the  new  theatre,  giving  it  his 
name,  on  September  12,  1882,  with  Robson  and  Crane  in  "Twelfth 
Night."  Business  reverses  having  compelled  Haverly  to  retire  from 
the  management,  a  new  company  was  formed,  and  the  theatre  was 
re-christened  the  "Columbia"  by  Miss  Ellen  Terry,  during  an  engage- 
ment of  Henry  Irving,  in  1885.  The  interior  of  the  Columbia  is  beautiful, 
the  decorations  being  at  once  rich  and  pleasing.  The  house  is  practically 
fire-proof,  but  numeroxis  exits  are  provided  so  that  the  theatre  may  be  emp- 
tied in  a  few  minutes  in  case  of  a  panic  arising  from  any  cause.  The  house 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  127 

is  illuminated  by  electricity.  Dimensions:  The  buildingois  70x190  feet,  six 
stories  in  height;  stage,  70x54  feet;  proscenium  opening,  34  feet  -syide;  seat- 
ing capacity,  2,400.  Admission,  25  cents,  50  cents,  75  cents,  $1.00  and  $1.50, 
according  to  location.  Boxes,  $10,  $12  and  $15. 

Criterion  Theatre. — Located  on  Sedgwick  and  Division  sts.,  North  side; 
C.  S.  Engle,  lessee;  Alf.  Johnson,  business  manager.  Seating  capacity, 
1,800.  Conducted  as  a  theatre  of  the  light  comedy  and  burlesque  character. 
Has  a  large  neighborhood  patronage.  ;. 

Conservatories.— Magnificent  conservatories,  located  in  all  of  the  great 
parks  of  the  city,  are  open  to  the  public,  free  of  charge,  winter  and  summer. 
The  collections  of  native,  foreign,  tropical  and  semi-tropical  plants  and 
flowers  are  extensive,  costly  and  beautiful. 

Dog  Exhibitions.— Exhibits  of  blooded  dogs  are  given  annually,  under 
the  auspices  of  the  Kennel  Club.  These  are  known  as  "Bench  Shows." 
(See  daily  newspapers  for  announcements.) 

Drives. — There  are  three  systems  of  magnificent  drives  in  and  around 
Chicago,  which  may  be  denominated  the  Southern,  Northern  and  Western. 
The  southern  begins  at  Randolph,over  Michigan  ave.  and  Michigan  blvd,from 
which  the  carriage  may  diverge  at  14th  st.  south  on  Prairie  or  Calumet  aves., 
or  at  39th  st.  south  on  Grand  orDrexel  blvds.,  and  through  the  beautiful  and 
shaded  avenues  of  the  South  Park  system  and  villages  embraced  in  the  town- 
ship of  Hyde  Park.  A  pleasant  evening  drive  might  be  mapped  out  as  follows : 
South  on  Michigan  blvd.  to  Oakland  blvd.,  east  on  Oakland  to  Grand  blvd., 
south  on  Grand  blvd.  to  Washington  Park,  through  Washington  Park,  western 
drive,  around  the  southern  extremity,  by  Washington  Park  race  course,  past 
the  conservatory  and  flower  gardens,  north  on  Drexel  blvd.,  west  on  Oak- 
land blvd.  to  Grand  blvd.,  north  on  Grand  blvd.  to  35th  st.,  east  on  35th  st. 
to  Michigan  blvd.,  north  on  Michegan  blvd.  The  northern  drive  properly 
begins  at  the  water  works,  foot  of  Chicago  ave.,  north  on  Lake  Shore  drive 
through  Lincoln  Park,  around  the  lakes  and  monuments  and  may  be 
extended  northward  on  Sheridan  drive  by  Graceland  Cemetery,  Buena  Park, 
Edgewater  and  Evanston.  A  pleasant  evening  drive  would  be  over  the 
Lake  Shore  drive  to  Lincoln  Park,  west  on  North  ave.  to  Humboldt  blvd., 
south  on  Humboldt  blvd.  to  Humboldt  Park,  and  east  over  Milwaukee  ave., 
one  of  the  most  remarkable  thoroughfares  in  the  city  to  the  South  side. 
The  western  drive  properly  begins  at  Halsted  st.,  west  on  Washington  blvd. 
to  Garfield  Park,  around  Garfield  Park  to  the  extreme  southwestern  corner, 
by  the  Chicago  Driving  Park,  over  Douglas  blvd.  to  Douglas  Park,  around 
Douglas  Park  to  Ogden  blvd.,  over  Ogden  blvd.  to  West  12th  street  blvd., 
east  on  West  12th  street  blvd.  to  Ashland  blvd.,  south  on  Jackson  blvd.  to 
the  business  center.  In  the  course  of  these  drives  the  principal  residence 
districts  of  the  three  main  divisions  of  the  city  will  be  penetrated. 

Electric  Fountains. — The  Yerkes  electric  fountain  at  Lincoln  Park  is  in 
operation  usually  two  evenings  each  week.  The  electric  fountains  at 
Jackson  Park  are  permanent  attractions  for  that  portion  of  the  city.  [See 
"  Yerkes  Electric  Fountain."] 

Epstean's  New  Dime  Museum,  located  on  the  north  side  of  Randolph  st. 
near  Clark  st.  Louis  Epstean,  proprietor.  A  first-class  museum  of  the  kind, 
containing  numerous  curiosities,  novelties  in  the  way  of  human  and  animal 
natural  freaks,  wax  works,  electric  contrivances,  etc.  Very  amusing  to 
children.  Admission  10  cents. 

Excursions. — Excursions  by  cable  or  rail  may  be  taken  throughout  the 
season  to  the  various  points  of  interest,  summer  resorts,  fishing  and  hunt- 
ing grounds,  within  a  radius  of  500  miles  of  Chicago.  There  are  many  beauti- 
ful places  within  a  few  hours  of  Chicago,  notably  the  lakes  of  northern 
Illinois,  western  Indiana  and  southern  Wisconsin.  Fox  lake,  and  the  numer- 
ous lakes  in  the  vicinity,  Geneva  lake  and  other  charming  spots,  are  close  at 
hand.  Take  Chicago  <fe  North-western,  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul,  or 
Wisconsin  Central  for  northern,  northwestern  and  western  summer  resorts, 
Waukesha  and  Oconomowoc  are  but  a  short  distance,  and  Minnetonka  may  be 


128  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

reached  over  night.  Steamboats  make  daily  and  hourly  excursions  to  all 
points  on  the  chain  of  great  lakes.  Boats  leave  Rush  St.,  State  st.  and  Clark 
st.  bridges,  as  well  as  piers  on  the  lake  front,  for  short  and  long  trips. 

Excursions  by  Cable  and  Electric  Cars. —  During  the  summer  months, 
when  open  cars  are  used,  there  is  a  great  deal  of  enjoyment  and  a  great 
deal  of  fresh  air  to  be  obtained  by  taking  a  cable  car  on  one  of 
the  main  lines.  The  South  side  cars  will  take  you  to  the  southern  extrem- 
ity of  the  city.  You  may  visit  Washington  Park,  Jackson  Park  (the  Expo- 
sition), Oakwoods  cemetery,  Drexel  or  Grand  boulevards,  or  you  may  get  off 
within  a  block  or  two  of  any  of  the  finest  residence  streets  of  the  South  side, 
within  an  hour  after  leaving  the  center  of  the  city,  for  five  cents.  You  may 
visit  Garfield  or  Douglas  Parks  by  taking  the  West  Madison  st.  line,  or  Hum- 
boldt  Park  by  taking  the  Milwaukee  ave.  line.  The  North  side  lines  take 
you  to  Lincoln  Park,  and  you  may  reach  the  northern  suburbs  by  horse  or 
electric  extensions.  A  very  pleasant  and  a  very  cheap  excursion  for  an 
afternoon  is  via  the  West  Madison  st.  line  to  West  Fortieth  st.,  and  thence 
over  the  Cicero  and  Proviso  Electric  railway  line  to  the  beautiful  suburbs 
which  have  risen  on  the  western  prairies.  There  are  four  different  lines  of 
the  road,  making  in  all  twenty-one  miles  of  track.  Where  the  Madison  st. 
cable  line  ends,  at  Fortieth  st.,  begins  the  electric  road.  To  the  passenger 
who  for  the  first  time  rides  over  this  line,  is  revealed  many  pleasant  sur- 
prises. From  the  Madison  st.  cars  is  obtained  a  far-reaching  view  across 
the  country.  The  range  of  vision  takes  in  street  upon  street  of  handsome 
cottage  homes;  further  away  rise  the  tall  chimneys  of  some  of  America's 
largest  manufacturing  industries.  Turning  at  West  Forty -eighth  st.,  the 
cars  dart  along  until  pretty  Moreland  is  reached.  The  broad  streets  of  this 
little  town  are  lined  with  beautiful  homes.  A  little  further  and  fair  Austin 
is  revealed.  The  songs  of  praise  of  this  "sweetest  village  of  the  plain,''  have 
been  so  widely  sung  that  scarce  a  person  but  who  has  heard  of  its  beauties. 
'Tis  like  one  great  park.  Its  streets  are  broad  and  smooth  as  a  billiard 
table.  Rows  of  big  trees  line  the  streets,  standing  high  in  the  air,  as  if 
guarding  from  intrusion  the  broad  lawns  which  reach  back  to  the  costly 
residences.  Just  west,  with  no  apparent  dividing  line,  is  Ridgeland,  also 
famous  for  its  beauty  and  handsome  homes.  Then  comes  Austin's  only 
rival.  While  not  a  well  known  as  its  neighbor,  Oak  Park  is  considered 
by  many  the  ideal  suburb.  With  its  macadamized  streets,  parks  and 
costly  dwellings,  high  class  schools,  elegant  churches,  electric  lights, 
perfect  water  and  sewer  system,  coupled  with  a  naturally  fine  location, 
being  on  high  elevation — in  truth,  little  is  left  to  be  desired.  One  to 
decide  between  the  merits  of  the  two  rivals  would  have  a  difficult 
problem  to  solve.  At  Harlem  ave.,  which  forms  the  dividing  line  between 
Oak  Park  and  River  Forest,  the  cars  turn  to  the  south  and  rush  along 
until  that  most  unique  village,  Harlem,  is  reached.  This  place  boasts 
of  being  the  wealthiest  municipality,  in  proportion  to  its  size  and 
population,  in  all  Illinois.  It  would  be  difficult  indeed  to  find  a 
more  beautiful  picture  than  that  presented  to  the  view  from  the 
corner  of  Desplaines  ave.  and  Madison  st.  What  changes  eighty  years  have 
made  here.  Once  this  was  the  headquarters  of  the  powerful  Pottawatomie 
nation.  The  classic  Desplaines  river,  not  very  long  ago,  bore  on  its  bosom 
many  an  Indian  canoe,  and  might,  could  it  speak,  tell  thrilling  stories  of 
the  redskins'  powwow,  of  battles  won  and  lost,  and  romantic  courtships. 
Here,  even  to  this  day,  is  pointed  out  on  the  banks  of  the  river  the  spot  from 
where  Wenanka,  a  lovely  Indian  maiden,  whose  pale-face  lover  proved 
faithless,  plunged  into  the  turbid  waters  and  drowned  her  sorrow  and  her- 
self. Here  is  the  ancient  burying  ground  of  this  tribe,  and  the  curiosity- 
seeker  or  the  builder  often  stumbles  into  a  grave  where  repose  the  remains 
of  braves  whose  deeds  won  for  them  renown  centuries  ago.  It  is  all  changed 
now.  Where  once  these  scenes  were  enacted,  on  pleasant  days,  are  to  be 
seen  dozens  of  family  groups,  hunting  and  fishing  parties.  Here  too  are 
some  of  the  most  famous  cemeteries  in  the  world,  Waldheim,  where  lie 
buried  under  a  monument,  whose  inscription,  "  Our  silence  will  prove  more 
effective  than  words,"  has  passed  into  the  history  of  anarchy  as  the  utter- 


[Engraved  for  the  Standard  Guide  Company.J 

SCHILLER  THEATRE,  RANDOLPH,  NEAR  CLARK  ST. 

[See  Page  135.] 


130  GUIBT5   TO   CHICAGO. 

ance  of  a  martyr — Spies,  Lingg  and  their  associates.  Forest  Home  and 
Coneordia,  together  with  others,  are  all  within  Harlem's  limits.  Another 
public  institution  is  the  Memorial  German  Old  People's  Home.  Just  across 
the  Desplaines  river  is  Maywood,  which  partakes  of  the  natural  beauties 
of  the  country,  and  is  rapidly  being  developed  into  a  manufacturing1  town. 
In  Ridgeland  is  the  main  car  barn,  the  power  house  and  repair  shops  of  the 
company.  In  the  erection  of  this  plant  many  innovations  have  been 
included.  The  repair  shop  contains  every  convenience.  It  is  60x210  feet 
in  size  and  three  stories  high.  It  also  contains  the  general  offices  of  the 
company,  together  with  hall  for  gymnasium  and  reading  rooms  for  the  use 
of  the  employes.  The  car  barn  is  200x200  and  has  a  capacity  of  100 
cars.  The  power  house  is  fitted  with  every  modern  improvement,  making 
the  whole  system  the  most  complete  and  perfect  of  any  electric  road  of  its 
size  in  the  world.  [See  "  City  Railway  Service."] 

Fat  Stock  Shows.— Under  the  auspices  of  the  State  Board  of  Agriculture, 
held  annually  in  magnificent  buildings  erected  at  a  cost  of  $150,000,  near 
Transit  House,  Union  Stock  Yards.  Take  South  Halsted  st.  or  State  st. 
cars,  or  C.,  R.  I.  &  P.  R.  R.  The  building  is  rectangular,  52x150  feet  in  size, 
two  and  one-half  stories  high.  It  was  erected  with  a  view  first  to  solidity, 
and  secondly  to  comfort  of  man  and  beast.  There  is  an  amphitheatre  with 
a  seating  capacity  of  3,000  persons,  and  stalls  for  500  animals.  The  walls 
are  of  brick  and  the  roof  is  supported  by  steel  spars.  The  track  for  exhibi- 
tion purposes  is  400  feet  long.  Since  the  structure  is  also  used  for  large 
stock  sales  when  not  in  the  hands  of  the  State  Agricultural  Society,  it  is 
equipped  with  several  suites  of  offices  for  the  transaction  of  business.  The 
whole  structure  is  lighted  by  electricity  and  heated  by  steam. 

Fire  Relic  Museum.— Known  as  the  "Relic  House."  Located  on  north 
Clark  st.,  north  of  main  entrance  to  Lincoln  Park,  A  splendid  collection 
of  relics  of  the  great  fire.  A  delightful  place  to  spend  an  hour  or  so.  Re- 
freshments are  served. 

German  Theatre.— [See  "Schiller Theatre."] 

Grand  Opera  House.— Centrally  located  on  the  east  side  of  Clark  st., 
between  Randolph  and  Washington  sts.,  opposite  the  Court  House,  close  to 
all  the  leading  hotels  and  convenient  to  railroad  depots  and  street  car  termi- 
nals. Harry  L.  Hamlin,  manager.  This  popular  place  of  amusement  is  one 
of  the  leading  first-class  theatres  of  Chicago  and  the  West.  The  shape  of 
the  auditorium  is  so  admirable,  u,nd  the  acoustic  properties  so  perfect,  that 
there  is  actually  not  one  undesirable  seat  in  the  house.  The  appointments 
and  furnishings  are  most  luxurious  and  elegant;  in  this  respect  it  gives  one 
the  impression  of  a  modern  drawing-room,  rather  than  the  ordinary  place  of 
amusement.  The  chairs  are  of  the  latest  pattern,  wide  and  roomy,  cushioned 
in  the  seat,  back  and  arm,  and  covered  entirely  with  handsome  plush.  The 
aisles  are  wide,  and  lead  directly  to  ample  exits;  there  is  unusual  space 
between  the  rows  of  seats,  a  point  of  great  importance  when  the  comfort  of 
an  audience  is  considered.  The  carpets  and  draperies  are  of  the  very  finest 
qualities  procurable,  and  these,  together  with  the  chairs  and  wall  decor- 
ations, are  in  the  softest  and  most  harmonious  colors.  The  drop  curtain  is 
a  work  of  art,  painted  by  the  celebrated  artist,  Walter  Burridge.  The  stage 
is  large,  and  fitted  with  most  approved  appliances.  Both  auditorium  and 
stage  are  lighted  by  incandescent  and  electric  lamps.  Owing  to  its  admir- 
able shape  and  oozy  decorations,  the  Grand  is  apparently  of  moderate  size, 
but  in  reality  it  is  a  large  theatre,  its  seating  capacity  being  exceeded  by 
that  of  only  one  Chicago  theatre.  There  are  eight  handsome  proscenium 
boxes.  The  attractions  presented  at  the  Grand  are  uniformly  first-class  and 
of  a  high  order  of  excellence.  It  is  especially  adapted  to  comedy,  light  opera 
and  drama  of  the  modern  school.  The  care  taken  by  the  management  to 
rigorously  exclude  anything  in  the  slightest  degree  objectionable  has  con- 
tributed largely  to  making  the  Grand  Opera  house  a  favorite  family  resort. 
Visitors  will  find  it  a  pleasant  house  in  summer,  the  ventilation  being  per- 
fect. The  regular  prices  range  from  25  cents  to  $1.50;  boxes,  $8  to  $12;  gen- 
eral admission  50  cents. 


GENERAL  INFORMATION. 


131 


Casino. — Located  on  Wabash  ave.,  near  Adams  st.  This  is  con-  • 
ducted  after  the  manner  of  the  Berlin  Panopticon,  and  is  an  exhibition  of 
wax  works.  Delightful  place  to  spend  an  hour.  There  are  minstrel  per- 
formances every  afternoon  and  evening.  Col.  J.  H.  Haverly,  director;  Maze 
Edwards,  manager.  Admission  to  all  parts  of  the  house,  25  cents;  children, 
15  cents.  Reserved  seats,  25  and  50  cents  extra. 

Ifavlin's  Theatre.— Located,  on  the  west  side  of  Wabash  ave.,  between 
Eighteenth  and  Twentieth  sts.  John  A.  Havlin,  lessee ;  J.  S.  Hutton,  mana- 
ger. This  was  originally  Baker's  theatre.  It  is  a  popular  resort  and 
deservedly  so.  The  theatre  building  is  quite  an  ornament  to  the  section  of 
the  city  in  which  it  is  located,  and  the  theatre  is  conducted  as  a  high-class 
place  of  amusement.  Seating  capacity,  2,000;  stage,  50x65;  proscenium 

opening,  36  ;  to  loft,  67. 
The  building  is  fire-proof 
and  was  constructed  at  a 
cost  of  $300,000. 

Haymarket  Theatre.— 
Located  on  the  north 
side  of  west  Madison  st., 
between  H  a  1  s  t  e  d  and 
Union  sts.,  West  side. 
Take  West  Madison  st. 
cable  line.  Will  J.  Davis, 
Manager.  This  is  one  of 
the  handsomest  and 
largest  houses  in  the  city. 
Its  seating  capacity  is 
2,475;  stage  48x90  feet. 
Its  interior  i  s  modern. 
The  theatre  is  constantly 
presenting  attractions  of 
a  meritorious  and  high 
order.  Admission,  15,  25, 
50, 75  cents,  and  $1 ;  Davis' 
Turkish  chairs,  $1.50; 
boxes,  $5  to  $10. 

Historical  Society 
Rooms.  —  Dearborn  ave. 
corner  Ontario  st.  His- 
torical library,  collect- 
ions of  historical  por- 
traits, Indian  and  fire 
relics,  etc.  Painting  con- 
tributed by  the  artists  of 
London  in  commemora- 
tion of  the  great  fire,  from 
which  the  frontispiece 
of  THE  STANDARD  GUIDE 
for  1893  is  taken.  Free. 

Horse  Show,  The  Chicago.— Held  in  the  great  Tattersalls  building,  Dear- 
born, between  Sixteenth  and  Seventeenth  sts.  [See  announcements  in  daily 
newspapers.] 

Hooley's  Theatre. — Located  on  the  north  side  of  Randolph  between  La 
Salle  and  Clark  sts.,  opposite  the  Court  House;  close  to  the  leading  hotels, 
and  convenient  to  railroad  depots  and  street  car  terminals.  Richard  M. 
Hooley,  proprietor  and  manager;  Harry  J.  Powers,  business  manager. 
Hooley's,  before  the  great  fire  of  1871,  occupied  the  present  site  of  the  Grand 
Opera  House.  Originally,  it  was  "Bryan's  Hall,"  built  in  1860,  and  opened 
by  the  Hans  Balatka  Orchestra.  In  the  fall  of  1870  the  theatre  passed  into 
the  hands  of  R.  M.  Hooley.  It  was  opened  January  2,  1871,  by  this  vet- 
eran manager,  with  "Hooley's  Minstrels,"  as  the  attraction.  Negro  min- 
strelsy was  then  in  its  glory,  and  Hooley's  was  one  of  the  best  troupes  in 


ROOKERY  BUILDING.— See  Buildings. 


132  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

existence  at  the  time.  Giacometti's  tragedy  was  on  the  bill  as  the  attrac- 
tion for  the  week  beginning-  October  9,  1871,  but  before  the  sun  had  arisen 
on  the  morning  of  that  day  Hooley's  theatre  was  a  blackened  ruin  in  the 
midst  of  a  wilderness  of  ruins.  On  October  17,  1872,  the  present  theatre  was 
opened  by  the  Abbott-Kiralfy  Company  in  the  "Black  Crook."  Once,  for 
only  a  brief  period,  however,  Mr.  Hooley's  name  disappeared  from  connec- 
tion with  this  theatre.  Mr.  Hooley,  upon  regaining  possession,  remodeled 
and  refitted  the  theatre,  and  twice  since  that  time  it  has  undergone  almost 
a  complete  transformation.  It  is  generally  known  as  "Hooley's  Parlor 
Home  of  Comedy,"  and  the  title  conveys  a  proper  idea  of  the  popular  family 
resort.  The  seating  capacity  of  the  theatre  is  1,500;  the  stage  is  42x62;  pro- 
scenium opening  33x34;  height  to  "gridiron,"  62  feet.  The  theatre  is  also 
supplied  with  the  latest  patent  smoke  and  fire  escape  and  ventilator.  The 
auditorium  is  furnished  with  "  Hooley's  Opera  Chair,"  and  lighted  through- 
out by  the  latest  incandescent  electric  system.  Hooley's  Theatre  has  the 
reputation  among  theatrical  managers  as  being  the  most  successful  and 
popular  in  the  United  States. 

John  Brown's  Fort.— Location  1341  Wabash  ave.  The  little  brick  building 
which  John  Brown  defended  as  a  fort  bravely  but  hopelessly  in  1859  against 
the  combined  forces  of  the  government  and  the  State  of  Virginia.  Enclosed 
in  a  frame  building  that  is  of  a  novel  design,  this  almost  sacred  relic  of  days 
just  preceding  the  civil  war,  may  be  seen.  The  fort  was  moved  here  princi- 
pally through  the  instrumentality  of  Ex-Congressman  A.  J.  Holmes,  of  Iowa, 
who  has  served  as  Sergeant-at-arms  of  the  House.  The  building  was  pur- 
chased by  a  syndicate  after  much  difficulty,  as  the  people  of  Harper's  Ferry 
were  unwilling  to  part  with  it.  Before  the  removal,  the  building  was  torn 
down  with  the  utmost  care,  the  various  parts  being  boxed  separately.  Upon 
its  arrival  in  Chicago  it  was  erected  with  equal  care  and  the  supervising 
architect  is  authority  for  the  statement  that  the  slightest  difference  can  not 
be  found  in  the  construction  of  the  building  since  its  removal.  It  is  a  plain, 
substantial  one-story  brick  building  with  a  gable  roof  and  open  belfry.  It 
was  part  of  the  United  States  gun  factory  and  arsenal,  built  at  Harper's 
Ferry  in  1832.  Its  dimensions  are  25  feet  long,  15  feet  wide,  and  the  walls 
are  14  feet  high.  There  are  two  large  square  windows  in  each  end,  and 
semi-circular  transoms  over  each  of  the  wide  doorways,  both  of  which  are  on 
one  side.  Large  double  doors .  of  wood  with  heavy  iron  plate  fronts  once 
swung  open  for  the  men  who  toiled  for  Uncle  Sam  in  the  little  building.  In 
the  war  one  set  of  the  doors  was  taken  away,  but  the  other  set  remains, 
almost  rusted  from  its  hinges.  The  building  is  divided  by  a  solid  brick  wall 
into  two  rooms.  The  smaller  John  Brown  used  as  a  prison  during  all  his 
fighting  in  the  larger  one. 

Kohl  &  Middleton's  Museums. — Located  on  Clark,  near  Madison  st.,  and 
on  State  near  Van  Buren  st.  Dime  Museums  with  cheap  theatrical  attach- 
ments. 

Libby  Prison  National  War  Museum.  — Located  on  Wabash  ave.  between 
Fourteenth  and  Sixteenth  sts.  One  of  the  principal  permanent  attractions 
of  the  city.  Open  daily  from  9  a.  m.  to  10  p.  m.,  including  Sunday.  The 
building,  one  of  the  most  famous  prisons  in  the  Southern  Confederacy  in 
1861  and  1865,  was  transported  from  Richmond,  Va.,  in  1889,  and  stands  to-day 
as  a  lasting  monument  to  the  valor  exhibited  by  both  sections,  "The  North 
and  the  South."  Within  its  enclosure  is  stored  the  most  wonderful  collect  ions 
of  historical  war  relics  associated  with  the  most  expensive,  desperate  strug- 
gle for  the  maintenance  of  National  supremacy  which  history  records.  The 
Confederacy  display  excites  especial  interest,  covering,  as  it  does,  parapher- 
nalia, camp  and  garrison  eqxiipage  of  every  description  used  by  the  Con- 
federate Army,  original  documents  written  by  Jefferson  Davis,  General 
Robert  E.  Lee,  Stonewall  Jackson,  Hill,  Early,  Pemberton,  Price,  and  others 
during  passions  engendered  by  civil  strife.  Portraits  in  oil  of  all  the  lead- 
ing generals  and  statesmen  who  were  prominently  identified  in  the  war  for 
and  against  the  Union.  The  finest  collections  extant  of  ancient  and  modern 
shot  and  shell,  heavy  ordinance,  arms,  portable  forges,  supply  wagons,  and 
horse  equipments,  and  the  original  carriage  owned  and  used  by  President 


134  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

Lincoln  during-  his  administration.  The  original  flag  which  floated  from 
the  flag-staff  of  the  Merrimac  in  her  assault  on  the  U.  S.  fleet  in  Hampton 
Roads,  Va.,  March  8th,  and  9th,  1862.  Nothing  could  be  more  astonishing 
than  this  priceless  display.  It  vividly  illustrates  American  heroism,  is  an 
educator,  encourages  patriotism  and  should  be  visited  by  everyone  imbued 
with  patriotic  motives  and  love  of  country.  The  false  deep-seated  prej- 
udice which  existed  when  the  prison  was  first  opened  has  vanished  as  the 
patronage  attracted  amply  attests.  There  is  nothing  in  the  exhibit  which 
has  the  least  tendency  to  create  animosity  or  bitterness,  and  a  visit  will 
prove  to  the  most  sceptical  that  the  collection,  is  not  only  historical,  but 
the  most  wonderful  and  interesting  in  the  country. 

Uncle  Tom's  Cabin.— The  habitation  of  Mrs.  Stowe's  hero,  removed  here 
from  Natchitochas,  La.,  is  one  of  the  attractions  inside  the  Libby  Prison 
enclosure. 

Lyceum  Theatre. — Located  on  Desplaines  St.,  between  Madison  and 
Washington  sts.  T.  L.  Grenier,  proprietor.  A  variety  theatre. 

Madison  Street  Opera  House. — Located  on  the  north  side  of  Madison  st., 
opposite  McVicker's  theatre.  Sam  T.  Jack,  manager.  Seating  capacity, 
1,400;  stage,  22x68;  proscenium  opening,  37;  height  to  gridiron,  13;  to  loft, 
19.  Open  the  year  around ;  two  performances  daily.  Devoted  entirely  to 
burlesque. 

Me  Vicker's  Theatre.—  Madison  St.,  between  State  and  Dearborn  sts.  The 
McVicker  Theatre  Co.,  proprietor;  J.  H.  McVicker,  president  and  manager; 
L.  L.  Sharpe,  assistant  manager  and  secretary ;  H.  G.  Somers,  treasurer. 
McVicker's  theatre  is  considered  the  handsomest  and  most  complete  theatre 
in  the  United  States.  It  was  originally  opened  November  5,  1857,  Mr.  J.  H. 
McVicker  taking  the  part  of  "Cousin  Joe"  in  the  initial  performance.  The 
theatre  was  rebuilt  in  1871,  and  opened  in  August,  only  to  be  burned  to 
the  ground  by  that  memorable  conflagration  of  October  5,  1871.  Nothing 
daunted,  Mr.  McVicker  again  reconstructed  his  theatre,  and  it  was  opened 
for  the  third  time  August  15,  1872.  Mr.  McVicker  always  looking  to  advance 
the  interests  of  his  art,  and  having  the  welfare  and  comfort  of  the  theatre- 
going  public  at  heart,  entirely  remodeled  the  theatre,  putting  in  all  the 
modern  conveniences  and  improvements;  and  on  July  1, 1885,  thefourthnew 
McVicker  theatre  was  thrown  open  to  the  public,  and  they  united  with  the 
press  in  proclaiming  it  the  handsomest  and  safest  theatre  building  in  the 
United  States.  On  the  morning  of  August  26,  1890,  it  was  again  destroyed 
by  fire.  Mr.  McVicker  was  away  from  the  city  at  the  time,  but  immediately 
upon  his  return  preparations  were  commenced  for  rebuilding,  and  on  March 
30, 1891, the  handsomest  theatre  in  the  United  States  was  opened  for  inspection. 
There  are  two  historic  features  in  the  theatre  which  alone  are  worth  the 
price  of  admission.  They  are  bas-reliefs,  one  representing  the  "Massacre 
of  Fort  Dearborn;"  the  other,  "La  Salle's  Discovery  of  Illinois."  These 
were  furnished  by  Johannes  Gelert.  the  sculptor,  and  are  considered  among 
his  best  works.  McVicker's  theatre  is  now  in  its  thirty-sixth  year,  and  is 
probably  the  widest  known  play  house  in  America.  It  always  has  the  best 
class  of  entertainments,  and  one  will  siirely  find  amusement  here. 

Minstrels. — Negro  minstrel  performances  are  given  every  afternoon  at  2 
and  every  evening  at  8,  at  Haverly's  Casino,  Wabash  ave.,  near  Adams  st. 
[See  "  Haverly's  Casino."] 

Natural  History  Museum.— Projected.  Location,  Garfield  Park,  West  side 

New  Windsor  Theatre.— Located,  at  North  Clark  and  Division  sts.  Take 
North  Clark  st.  cable  line.  M.  B.  Leavitt,  proprietor ;  Ben  Leavitt,  manager. 
Seating  capacity,  2,000.  Stage,  49x70  feet;  proscenium  opening,  43  feet; 
height  to  gridiron,  22  feet;  loft,  65  feet.  This  is  a  beautiful  little  theatre, 
it  conducted  in  a  first-class  manner  and  is  very  popular  with  North  side 
residents. 

Olympic  Theatre. — Located  on  Clark  st.,  north  of  Randolph,  opposite 
Sherman  house.  Originally  "  New  Chicago  theatre."  Variety  or  vaudeville 
performances.  Prices  cheap. 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  135 

Park  Concerts. — During  the  summer  months  open  air  concerts  are  given 
on  certain  evenings  of  the  week  in  all  of  the  great  parks  of  the  city.  The 
finest  bands  and  orchestras  are  employed  for  these  occasions.  Free.  [See 
announcements  in  daily  newspapers.] 

Park  Theatre.—  Located  on  State,  between  Congress  and  Harrison  sts. 
J.  D.  Long,  proprietor  and  manager.  This  is  a  strictly  variety  theatre. 
Seating  capacity,  1,500;  stage,  35x40. 

People's  Theatre. — Located  on  the  east  side  of  State  St.,  between  Congress 
and  Harrison  sts.  Jo.  Baylies,  lessee  and  manager.  Conducted  as  a  combi- 
nation theatre. 

Permanent  Circus. — During  the  World's  Fair  and  afterward  it  is  proba- 
ble that  a  permanent  circus  will  be  conducted  in  the  city.  The  location 
cannot  be  given  at  this  time. 

Race  Tracks, — There  are  three  race  tracks  in  or  near  the  city,  two  of 
which  have  continuous  meetings  throughout  the  year,  rain,  hail  or  snow. 
The  most  prominent  as  well  as  the  most  respectable,  is  the  Washington  Park 
course.  Location,  south  of  Washington  Park,  near  Midway  Plaisance.  Take 
Illinois  Central  railroad,  South  Side  Elevated  railroad,  or  Cottage  Grove 
ave.  cable  line.  There  is  a  beautiful  drive  to  this  track  via  Drexel  or  Grand 
boulevards,  through  Washington  Park.  The  Chicago  Racing  association  has 
its  meetings  at  Hawthorne,  just  outside  the  city  limits.  Races  every  day  in 
the  year ;  five  or  more  races  daily.  Books  made  on  foreign  races.  This  is 
purely  a  gambling  enterprise  but  the  sport  is  good.  Special  race  trains  via 
Illinois  Central  and  C.,B.  &  Q.  railroads  to  grand  stand  in  twenty-five  min- 
utes. Illinois  Central  trains  leave  depot,  foot  of  Randolph  st-,  at  8:30  A.  M., 
12M.,  1:10 P.M.,  1:20  p.  M.  and  2  P.  M.,.  stopping  at  Van  Buren  st.,- Wabash 
ave. , Twenty-third  st. ,Halsted  st. ,  and  Ashland  ave.  Returning  trains  leave  the 
race  track  at  4:40  P.  M.  and  immediately  after  the  races.  C.,  B.  &  Q.  trains 
leave  Union  depot  at  12:15  and  1:05  P.M.  Regular  train  leaving  depot  at  2:20 
will  transfer  passengers  for  the  track  at  Hawthorne  station.  Returning 
trains  will  leave  race  track  at  12:50  p.  M.,  4:50  p.  M.,  stopping  at  Blue  Island 
ave.,  and  immediately  after  the  races.  Return  tirkets  (both  roads),  25  cents. 
The  Indiana  Racing  association  holds  its  meetings  at  Roby,  or  One  Hundred 
and  Eighth  st.  and  Indiana  blvd.,  outside  city  limits.  Here  there  is  racing 
every  day  in  the  year  also,  and  pool  selling  is  freely  indulged  in.  Take 
Pittsburg  &  Fort  Wayne  trains  at  11 :45  A.  M.,  or  12:30  and  1 :00  P.  M.  Admis- 
sion to  the  grand  stand,  50  cents. 

Schiller  Theatre.— Location,  Randolph  st.  between  Clark  and  Dearborn. 
The  highest  and  finest  theatre  building  in  the  vrorld.  Anson  S.  Temple, 
lessee  and  manager.  The  entrance  from  the  street  is  through  a  marble 
paved  lobby,  wide,  convenient,  and  comfortable.  At  the  right,  in  a  marble 
nook,  is  the  box  office.  Entering  through  the  main  door  way  is  the  main 
lobby,  off  of  which  are  three  coat,  cloak  and  the  toilet-rooms.  On  either 
side  marble  stairways  lead  to  the  main  floor  of  the  auditorium.  The  aisles 
are  easy,  and  reached  from  the  foyer  and  from  corridors,  leading  from  the 
foyer  to  the  boxes,  on  either  side  of  the  auditorium.  There  are  six  lower 
(no  upper)  boxes,  three  on  each  side,  large  and  commodious,  and  arranged 
for  throwing  two  or  three  into  one,  for  the  convenience  of  theatre  parties. 
There  are  1,270  seats  in  the  house,  all  so  placed  that  every  seat  commands  a 
clear  and  unobstructed  view  of  the  stage.  A  remarkable  feature  is  the 
absence  of  pillars  from  the  interior,  while  the  sight  lines  and  acoustic  prop- 
erties are  not  excelled  in  the  world.  The  proscenium  opening  is  semi-circu- 
lar, and  from  this  extends  outward  a  series  of  semi-circular  arches  that 
gradually  enlarge  and  widen  until  they  reach  the  side  walls.  Beneath  these 
arches  on  either  side  rising  from  the  parqxiette  floor,  are  the  boxes.  Above 
the  boxes  are  sculptures,  decorations,  original  in  conception,  tasteful  and 
exquisite  in  workmanship  and  execution.  The  boxes  and  bas  reliefs  are 
enclosed  by  a  heavy  gold  border,  and  the  effect  is  of  framed  pictures.  The 
lighting  is  so  arranged  that  it  is  both  brilliant  and  soft,  and  the  lamps  so 
placed  that  all  glare  of  lights  in  the  eyes  of  the  audience  is  avoided.  There 
are  two  curtains,  the  outer  one  being  of  woven  asbestos,  and  decorated  with 


THE  GROTTO. 


EXTERIOR  VIEW. 
[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

ir-ktMC     CTTDT-CTJ  -0    A  VTI7  A  VT     C/-  U  XT  I?  13  V    TU  T?  A  TO  IT 


GENERAL,  INFORMATION. 


137 


* 


admirable  taste  in  the  prevailing  tints  of  the  decorations  of  the  house. 
The  drop  curtain  is  very  effective,  while  the  colors  harmonize  with  the  inter- 
ior  decorations.  "  Genius  Crowning  Intellect,"  is  the  theme  of  the  picture 
contained  in  a  medallion  occupying  the  center  of  the  curtain.  The  stage, 
40x80  feet  in  size,  is  complete  and  perfect  in  every  detail  of  its  appointment. 
The  dressing-rooms  are  convenient  and  commodious.  The  scenery  is  from 
the  brushes  of  the  best  artists. 

Standard  Theatre.— Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Halsted  and  Jackson  sts.  Jacob 
Litt,  Lessee  and  manager.  Seating  capaciy  2,000  Admission  from  10  cts. 
to  $1.00.  First-class  melodrama,  opera,  burlesque  and  variety. 

Subterranean  Theatre.— Location,  the  east  side  of  Vabash  ave.  just 
south  of  16th  st.,  occupies  space  on  the  surface  of  100  feet  front  by  175  feet 
deep ;  owned  by  the  Hardy  Subterranean  Scenery  Company ;  incorporated ; 
capital  $300,000.  The  projector,  Hippolyte 
Hardy  of  Paris,  France,  based  his  hopes  for 
the  success  of  this  enterprise  on  the  theory 
that  "If  the  people  are  so  eager  for  an 
opportunity  to  go  1,000  feet  up  in  the  air 
by  means  of  a  tower,  to  be  lost  half  of  the 
time  in  fog  and  clouds  and  see  absolutely 
nothing,  why  not  give  them  a  chance  to 
descend  into  the  bowels  of  the  earth, 
where  they  can  enjoy  the  sights  at  all  times 
and  in  any  weather?"  He  figured  that  it 
was  .impossible  to  take  sight-seers  1,000 
feet  below  the  earth's  surface  without  the 
means  of  a  mechanical  device,  producing 
a  physical  impression  on  the  body,  while 
cleverly  devised  movable  scenery  makes  the 
impression  lasting  through  optical  illu- 
sion. After  two  years  of  hard  work,  he  had 
his  plans  perfected  and  covered  by  Letters 
Patent,  and  then  like  all  men  with  original 
ideas  and  important  plans,  he  came  to 
Chicago  with  both  and  organized  a  stock 
company  to  carry  out  his  undertaking. 
The  officers  of  the  company  are:  A.  W. 
Cobb,  President;  Hippolyte  Hardy,  Vice- 
president  and  Manager;  J.  D.  Lynch,  Sec- 
retary and  Treasurer;  C.  E.  Clark,  A. 
MacKay,  O.  Lockett  and  T.  Whitfield, 
Directors. 

THE    HABDY    SUBTERRANEAN    SCENERY 
LEES  BUILDING.— See  Buildings.  COMPANY  give  to  the  sight-seers  an  oppor- 
tunity to   see   the  marvels  hidden  under 

ground  by  descending  in  elevator  cars  to  depths  never  before 
reached.  Stopping  at  different  places  (to  what  will  appear  as  the 
real  openings  of  tunnels,  drifts  or  cuts  on  the  sides  of  the  main 
shaft)  and  showing  at  each  stop  divers  scenes,  such  as:— The  won- 
derful sewers  of  Paris,  The  Lowest  Tunnels  of  Quartz  Mines,  with  real 
miners  at  work- An  explosion  of  coal  gas  in  a  coal  mine— Caverns  inhabited  by 
prehistoric  men— A  scene  in  the  catacombs  of  Rome,  during  the  persecution 
of  Christians — The  mysterious  depths  of  our  Inland  Sea,  with  real  divers  at 
work  on  a  sunken  wreck.  Though  the  elevator  car  (a  minature  theatrical 
hall  itself,  accommodating  comfortably  100  people)  only  moves  up  and  down 
in  a  shaft  about  15  to  20  feet  deep,  the  illusion  is  made  perfect  by  a  combi- 
nation of  mechanical  devices  thoroughly  protected  by  Letters  Patent  in  the 
United  States,  and  the  effect  produced  is  a  real  descent  about  1,000  to  1,200 
feet  under  the  surface  of  the  earth.  The  elevator  car  moves  into  the  center 
of  a  circular  platform  carrying  different  stages  arranged  with  appropriate 
scenery  and  living  actors.  The  platform  turns  on  rails  and  is  made  to 
revolve  and  bring  successively  each  scene  in  sight  of  the  elevator  car  at  the 


138  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

different  stops  made  by  the  car  in  its  descent.  The  rlucicar  platform  sup- 
porting the  stages  and  their  actors,  are  eight  feet  above  the  level  of  the 
street,  and  occupy  a  space  of  about  70  feet  square.  It  is  enclosed  in  a  build- 
ing 100x175  feet,  composed  of  a  main  floor  8  feet  above  ground  and  a  basement 
excavated  7  feet  below  the  street  level.  A  trip  underground  is  made  every 
fifteen  minutes  from  10  in  the  morning  until  11  at  night.  Actors  play  on  each 
scene  at  the  different  depths  during  the  following  hours :  from  10  to  1,  2  to  6, 
and  8  to  11.  The  entrance  fee  during  the  performance  is  50  cents,  children  25 
cents.  During  other  hours  the  entrance  fee  is  25  cents,  children  10  cents. 

HABDY'S  THEATRE. — The  access  to  the  subterranean  scenery  descend- 
ing platform  is  had  by  means  of  a  set  of  self-climbing  stairs,  a  device  of  the 
most  novel  and  amusing  sort,-  which  elevate  visitors  to  the  level  of  the  main 
floor  hall.  They  pass  then  through  an  aisle  of  the  most  original  and  attrac- 
tive hall  ever  built.  It  is  a  "chamber  of  stalactites,"  arranged  so  as  to  be 
used  as  a  theatre.  The  stage  is  hidden  behind  a  mammoth  cascade.  The 
opening  of  the  proscenium  is  obtained  by  suddenly  shutting  off  the  water 
and  causing  the  fall  of  part  of  the  rocks  of  the  cascade.  On  this  stage  variety 
performances  of  the  highest  order,  in  the  style  of  the  best  "Cafe  Chantant," 
of  Paris,  are  given  every  afternoon  and  evening,  including  Sundays.  This 
place  is  the  rendezvous  of  well-to-do  people,  who  spend  there  a  pleasant 
evening,  smoke  good  cigars  and  have  the  best  of  refreshments  or  lunches, 
while  enjoying  delightful  music,  dances,  songs,  and  the  most  wonderful 
acrobatic  feats.  This  is  truly  the  most  novel  and  picturesque  auditorium 
that  has  ever  been  built,  and  the  management  has  spared  no  pains  to  secure 
the  most  artistic  and  original  attractions  that  money  can  obtain.  Visitors 
to  the  subterranean  scenery  are  able,  when  they  have  accomplished  the 
trip  underground,  to  spend  the  balance  of  the  matinee  or  evening  in  the 
Hardy  theatre  in  the  most  enjoyable  manner.  The  admission  to  the  Hardy 
theatre  is  50  cents;  reserved  seats,  75  cents  and  $1.00.  Hippolyte  Hardy 
is  the  general  manager  of  both  places.  The  plans  of  the  building  were 
drawn  by  architect  Henry  Ives  Cobb.  Its  cost  passes  $80,000.  The  machin- 
ery, with  its  foundation  and  structural  iron,  has  cost  $75,000.  The  elevator 
and  the  hydraulic  machinery  were  built  by  the  Crane  Elevator  Co.,  upon  the 
plans  of  P.  W.  Hermans,  chief  engineer.  The  scenery,  designed  and  exe- 
cuted after  Mr.  Hardy's  plans,  is  due  to  the  brush  of  B.  J.  Austen,  the  famous 
London  scenic  artist,  author  of  so  many  beautiful  panoramas  well  known 
in  this  country.  The  cost  of  decoration  and  scenery  painting  amounts  to 
$25,000.  Chicago  is  the  only  city  in  the  world  that  can  boast  to-day  of  the 
most  novel  combination  of  two  such  picturesque  and  wonderful  theatres, 
built  together,  one  underground  and  the  other  on  top,  so  that,  as  in  most 
other  things,  it  can  hold  the  claim  for  originality  and  enterprise. 

Suburban  Theatres. — A  number  of  the  surrounding  suburbs,  towns  and 
cities,  where  Chicago  visitors  are  likely  to  spend  their  nights  and  a  portion 
of  their  time  during  the  day,  are  well  provided  with  opera  houses,  music- 
halls,  etc.  Entertainments  are  of  nightly  occurrence  at  such  places  as 
Aurora,  Evanston,  Joliet,  D wight,  Kenosha,  Waukegan,  etc.,  as  well  as  in 
the  smaller  suburbs,  like  Englewood,  Hyde  Park,  Ravenswood,  Morgan  Park, 
Chicago  Lawn,  Austin,  Chicago  Heights,  etc. 

Timmerman  Opera  House. — Located  at  the  corner  of  Sixty-third  st.  and 
Stewart  ave.  Take  train  at  Van  Buren  st.  depot,  Van  Buren  and  Sherman 
sts.,  or  State  st.  cable  line  to  Englewood.  The  building  in  which  the  theatre 
is  located  is  the  most  imposing  one  in  Englewood.  It  is  named  after  its 
projector,  Ben  Timmerman,  and  its  cost  was  $100,000.  The  auditorium  is  on 
the  ground  floor,  and  in  beauty  and  richness  of  furnishings,  and  decora- 
tions, is  equal  to  any  theatre  in  the  city.  Silk,  velvet  and  plush  draperies, 
in  harmonious  shades,  add  to  the  elegance  of  the  luxurious  interior.  The 
aisles  are  wide  and  the  seat  rows  are  arranged  with  sufficient  width  between 
to  insure  the  comfort  of  auditors.  Twelve  hundred  persons  may  find  seats 
— the  first  floor  and  balcony  being  provided  with  opera  chairs — and  several 
hundred  others  may  see  the  stage  from  "standing  room,"  should  they  so 
elect.  The  house  is  lighted  by  incandescent  electric  lights,  and  is  heated  by 


140  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

steam,  a  late  device  in  ventilation  being  employed.  First-class  attractions 
are  presented  here  from  time  to  time. 

Uncle  Torres  Cabin.— Said  to  have  been  the  habitation  of  Mrs.  Stowe's 
hero,  may  be  seen  at  the  Libby  Prison  National  Museum. 

Waverly  Theatre.— Located  on  West  Madison  st.,  between  Throop  and 
Loomis  sts.,  West  side.  Take  W.  Madison  st.  cable.  Seating  capacity 
1,400;  stage  40x60.  A  comedy  and  vaudeville  theatre. 

Wax  Works. — A  splendid  exhibition  of  wax  works  is  open  daily  at 
Haverly's  Casino,  Wabash  ave.  near  Adams  st.  [See  "Haverly's  Casino."] 
Wax  works  are  also  exhibited  at  Epstean's  new  Dime  Museum,  Randolph 
near  Clark  st. 

Zoological  Gardens.— A.  delightful  place  of  amusement  for  adults  and 
children  during  the  spring,  summer  and  autumn  months.  Location,  Lincoln 
Park.  Take  North  Clark  st.  or  Wells  st.  cable  cars.  The  collection  of  ani- 
mals, birds,  etc.,  is  one  of  the  finest  in  the  world.  Admission  free.  [See 
"Lincoln  Park."] 

Other  Places  of  Amusement.— In  addition  to  the  places  mentioned  there 
are  various  other  places  and  forms  of  amusement.  Summer  night  concerts 
are  given  by  the  Theodore  Thomas  and  other  orchestras.  Pain's  Pyrotechnic 
Spectacles  are  presented  during  the  summer  months.  There  are  numerous 
beer  gardens  and  concert  halls.  North  Side  Turner  hall  is  a  favorite  Sunday 
afternoon  resort  for  German  Americans  and  others.  Balloon  ascensions, 
Circus  performances,  Mammoth  concerts  at  the  Exposition,  and  the  Expo- 
sition itself,  with  its  thousands  of  novel  attractions  swell  the  bill  of  fare. 

ARTS  AND  SCIENCES. 

The  new  Art  Institute  of  Chicago  is  located  on  Michigan  ave.,  the  main 
entrance  facing  Adams  st.  This  beautiful  structure  is  described  under  the 
heading  "  Buildings."  The  old  Art  Institute,  located  at  the  S.  W.  Cor. 
Michigan  ave.  and  Van  Buren  st.,  has  become  the  propety  of  the  Chicago 
Club,  but  the  picture  and  sculpture  galleries  will  probably  remain  there 
until  the  close  of  the  Columbian  Exposition. 

Art  Institute  of  Chicago,  Art  Museum. — Located  on  Michigan  ave.  oppo- 
site Adams  st.  Until  the  new  building  is  ready  for  occupation,  however, 
the  museum  will  be  in  temporary  quarters  at  202  Michigan  ave.,  and  the 
art  school  at  302  Wabash  ave.  Incorporated  May  24,  1879.  Officers :  Charles 
L.  Hutchinson,  president;  James  H.  Dole,  vice-president;  Lyman  J.  Gage, 
treasurer;  N.  H.  Carpenter,  secretary;  W.  M.  R.  French,  director.  Execu- 
tive Committee:  Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  A.  A.  Sprague,  James  H.  Dole, 
Charles  D.  Hamill,  John  C.  Black,  M.  A.  Ryerson,  T.  W.  Harvey.  Trustees: 
Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  Samuel  L.  Nickerson,  David  W.  Irwin,  Mar- 
tin A.  Ryerson,  William  T.  Baker,  Eliphalet  W.  Blatchford,  Nathaniel  K. 
Fairbank,  James  H.  Dole,  Albert  A.  Sprague,  John  C.  Black,  Adolphus  C. 
Bartlett,  J.  J.  Glessner,  Charles  D.  Hamill,  Edson  Keith,  Allison  V.  Armour, 
Homer  N.  Hibbard,  Marshall  Field,  George  N.  Culver,  P.  C.  Hanford  and 
T.  W.  Harvey. 

ABT  BUILDING  (OLD).— The  old  Art  Institute  building  (see  illustration) 
has  been  pronounced  by  critics  one  of  the  finest  specimens  of  modern 
architecture  in  Chicago.  It  is  built  of  stone;  has  a  beautiful  facade,  is 
splendidly  located,  lighted  perfectly,  and  is  one  of  the  attractive  edifices  of 
the  lake  front.  The  Art  Institute  owes  its  origin  and  prosperity  to  the  dis- 
interested and  energetic  services  of  a  few  Chicago  gentlemen,  who  have 
expended  upon  it  not  only  a  great  deal  of  their  private  means,  but  much  of 
their  time  during  the  past  ten  years. 

ART  COLLECTION.— There  are  now  in  the  Art  Institute  thirteen  pictures 
from  the  collection  of  Prince  Demidoff,  together  with  one  by  Holbein  from 
the  May  collection  in  Paris,  which  constitute  a  group  of  old  Dutch  masters 
of  such  value  and  interest  as  perhaps  has  never  before  crossed  the  ocean, 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  141 

They  are  a  part  of  the  permanent  collection  of  the  Art  Institute,  the  pur- 
chasers relying  on  the  generosity  of  the  friends  of  the  Art  Institute  to  pay 
for  them  and  present  them  to  the  museum.  Some  have  already  been  so  pre- 
sented. Several  of  these  pictures,  such  as  the  examples  of  Hobbema  and 
Van  Ostade  are  among  the  most  important  known  works  of  the  masters  and 
all  are  important  pictures  in  perfect  preservation.  The  masters  represented 
are  Hobbema,  Van  Ostade,  Rembrandt,  Franz  Hals,  Ruysdael,  Van  Mieris, 
Holbein,  Teniers,  Van  Dyck,  Rubens,  Jan  Steen,  Adr.  Van  de  Velde,  Terburg 
and  Zeeman.  The  presence  of  this  group  of  pictures  is  sufficient  to  give  our 
collection  good  standing  among  American  museums  and  their  acquisition 
is  a  most  important  step.  The  private  collection  of  pictures  belonging  to 
Mr.  Albert  A.  Munger  is  deposited  in  the  Art  Institute  galleries  and  consti- 
tutes a  very  valuable  feature.  It  consists  of  modern  pictures  and  includes 
examples  of  Gerome,  Munkacsy,  Makart,  Fromentin,  Michetti,  de  Neuville, 
and  many  other  recognized  masters. 

POPULARITY  or  THE  INSTITUTE.— As  an  evidence  of  the  popularity  of  the 
Art  Institute  among  the  people,  the  following  facts  are  given :  During  the 
year  1891-92  the  aggregate  attendance  of  visitors  to  the  museum  was  138,511, 
and  the  admission  fees  and  catalogue  sales  amounted  to  $4,270.95 ;  number 
of  visitors  paid  admission  fees,  13,633;  number  on  free  days,  105,382;  number 
of  visitors,  students,  artists,  etc.,  admitted  free  on  other  days  (estimated), 
6,000;  total  admission,  138,511;  average  number  of  visitors  on  Saturdays 
(free  all  day),  1,039;  average  number  of  visitors  on  Sundays,  open  1  to  5 
(free),  965;  current  expenses,  $43,850.60;  cash  donations,  $25,685.03.  The  bal- 
ance sheets  of  the  institute  show  the  receipts  and  expenditures  to  have 
been  about  $90,000. 

COLLECTIONS  OWNED  AND  LOANED.— The  value  of  the  collections  now  in 
the  keeping  of  the  institute,  partly  the  property  of  the  Art  Institute,  but 
chiefly  loans,  considerably  exceeds  $500,000.  Large  additions  are  being 
made  annually  to  the  collections  in  the  galleries  and  museum.  The  princi- 
pal accessions  to  the  collections  during  the  last  year  have  been :  A  collec- 
tion of  ancient  glass  and  other  antique  objects,  presented  by  John  H. 
Dwight,  George  Schneider  and  other  gentlemen.  Marble  statue,  "Sleeping 
Infant  Faun,"  by  Edward  C.  Potter,  presented  by  Charles  H.  Wacker.  Oil 
painting,  "The  Family  Concert,"  by  Jan  Steen,  presented  by  T.  B.  Black- 
stone.  Statue  in  metal,  Henry  IV  when  a  child,  presented  by  Martin  L.  Ryer- 
son  and  C.  L.  Hutchinson.  Bronze  statue,  "Teucer,"  by  Hamo  Thornycroft, 
presented  by  George  A.  Armour.  Collection  of  painted  fans  and  Persian 
embroideries,  presented  by  the  Chicago  Society  of  Decorative  Art.  Collec- 
tion of  Egyptian  antiquities,  presented  by  H.  H.  Getty  and  C.  L.  Hutchinson. 

COLLECTION  OF  CASTS.— A  proposition  has  been  made  to  the  World's 
Columbian  Exposition  by  the  French  government  to  send  to  the  Fair,  as  a 
part  of  the  national  exhibit,  an  extensive  collection  of  architectural  casts, 
reproductions  from  the  collection  in  the  Trocadero,  in  Paris,  these  casts  to 
remain  permanently  in  Chicago,  provided  the  Columbian  Exposition  will 
pay  a  part  of  the  expense.  This  proposition  has  been  accepted  and  an  arrange- 
ment has  been  made  by  which  the  whole  collection  will  become  the  property 
of  the  Art  Institute  at  the  close  of  the  Fair,  upon  paying  a  certain  propor- 
tion of  the  share  of  the  Columbian  Exposition.  This  amount  has  been 
appropriated  by  the  trustees.  The  collection  of  casts  thus  secured  is  unsur- 
passed of  its  kind,  either  in  quality  or  extent,  and  its  presence  in  Chicago 
almost  insures  the  permanence  and  success  of  the  school  of  architecture 
which  we  have  already  ventured  to  found.  Measures  to  secure  other 
important  collections  in  a  similar  way  are  in  progress,  and  it  cannot  be 
doubted  that  our  museum  will  be  greatly  enriched  through  the  Fair.  (Visit- 
ors to  the  Art  Institute  will  be  provided  with  catalogues  of  the  entire  col- 
lection.) 

PRIVATE  ART  COLLECTIONS.— The  private  art  collections  of  Chicago  are 
very  numerous  and  very  extensive.  This  is  strikingly  evident  at  each  re- 
curring exhibit  of  loaned  pictures  at  the  Art  Institute  or  elsewhere.  The 
annual  exhibits  at  the  Inter-State  Exposition,  now  a  thing  of  the  past,  by 


142 


GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 


reason  of  the  changes  necessary  pending  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition, 
have  grown  from  year  to  year,  until  they  rank  among  the  best  in  the  coun- 
try. In  the  Art  Institute  building  on  the  Lake  Front,  these  annual  exhibi- 
tions will  be  continued.  This  building  was  ei*ected  in  connection  with  the 
Columbian  Exposition,  but  is  constructed  in  such  a  manner  as  to  be 
acceptable  to  the  city  as  a  pernament  building  after  the  exposition  closes. 
The  art  galleries  of  the  Illinois  Club,  the  Chicago  Club,  the  Marquette  Club, 
the  Calumet  Club,  and  especially  of  the  Union  League  Club,  are  becoming 
very  valuable.  The  Vincennes  Gallery  of  Fine  Arts,  3841  Vincennes  ave., 
(take  Illinois  Central  train  to  Oakland  station,  Thirty-ninth  st.)  is  open  at 

all  times,  free  to  visitors. 
There  are  many  beautiful 
collections  in  the  private 
mansions  of  the  South  side. 
The  largest  and  best  private 
collections  in  the  city,  at 
present,  are  those  of  Albert 
A.  Hunger,  James  W.  Ells- 
worth, Mrs.  Henry  Field,  S. 
M.  Nickerson,  P.  C.  Hanford, 
C.  L.  Hutchinson  and  Charles 
T.  Yerkes.  The  more  im- 
portant of  his  pictures  were 
pui-chased  by  Mr.  Yerkes  in 
1890,  during  a  visit  to  Europe, 
when  he  devoted  himself  to 
the  study  and  selection  of 
pictures.  The  pictures  are 
first-class  examples  of  the 
masters  of  the  Dutch  school, 
Rembrandt,  Van  Dyck, 

Ostade?'  Gerard  Dcfw* '  R  Jy  s" 
dael,  and  Wonwerman  being 
represented.  From  the  last 
century  there  is  a  head  by 
Grenze,  and  from  the  later 
schools  there  are  important 
pictures  by  Millet,  Diaz, 
Daubigny,  Detaille,  Ziem, 
Vibert,  Albert  Stevens, 
Willems,  Charlemonte,  and 
others. 

ART  INSTITUTE  OF  CHICA- 
GO ART  SCHOOL.— Located 
temporarily  in  the  Giles 
Building,  302  Wabash  ave. 
Incorporated  May  24,  1879. 
Officers:  Charles  L.  Hutchin- 
son, president;  James  H. 
Dole,  vice-president;  Lyman 
J.  Gage,  treasurer;  N.  H. 
Carpenter,  secretary;  W. 
M.  R.  French,  director. 

Teachers:  W.  M.  R.  French,  director;  John  H.  Vanderpoel  and  Frederick  W. 
Freer  and  Miss  A.  D.  Kellogg,  drawing  and  painting,  life  and  antique ;  Miss 
Caroline  D.  Wade,  still  life  classes;  Miss  Lydia  P.  Hess,  antique  and  Satur- 
day classes;  Miss  Pauline  A.  Dohn,  antique;  N.  H.  Carpenter,  perspective; 
LoradoTaft,  modeling;  Louis  J.  Millet,  ai-chitecture  and  designing;  Walter 
F.  Shattuck,  architecture  and  mathematics;  Miss  Grace  Dutton  Long, 
assistant  in  designing;  Charles  E.  Boutwood,  Louis  O.  Jurgensen  and 
Edward  W.  Hoehn,  evening  classes.  ARRANGEMENT  OF  CLASSES.— Arrange- 
ment of  classes  is  as  follows:  Head  and  costumed  life  class;  drawing  and 


HOME  INSURANCE  BUILDING. 


Buildings. 


144  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

painting  from  the  costumed  model,  daily,  9  to  12  a.  m.,  1  to  4  p.  m.  Nude  Life 
Class:  Drawing  and  painting  from  the  nude  daily.  Women,  8:30  to  12  a.  m., 
men,  1  to  4  p.  m.  Painting  from  Still  Life:  Oil  and  water  color,  daily,  9  to 
12  a.  m.,  1  to  4  p.  m.  Classes  in  the  Antique:  Drawing  from  the  cast,  ele- 
mentary and  advanced,  daily,  9  to  12  a.  m.,  1  to  4  p.  m.  Modeling:  Monday, 
Wednesday  and  Friday,  1  to  4  p.  m.  Room  open  for  practice  daily,  9  to  12  a. 
m.,  and  1  to  4  p.  m.  Perspective:  The  last  six  weeks  of  the  Fall  and  Winter 
terms,  Wednesday  and  Friday,  3  to  4  p.  m.  Saturday  Sketching  Class: 
Saturday,  9  to  12  a.  m.  This  class  is  free  to  all  students.  Artistic 
Anatomy:  Fall  and  Spring  terms,  12:30  to  1 :30  p.  m.  Monday  and  Wednesday. 
Ornamental  Designing:  Daily.  9  to  12  a.  m.,  1  to  4  p.  m.  Saturday  Class.— 
Intended  for  children  and  teachers ;  Miss  Lydia  P.  Hess,  teacher,  assisted 
by  Miss  Matilde  Vanderpoel,  Miss  Jeanette  Buckley,  Miss  Bertha  S.  Menzler, 
Miss  Jean  Miner,  Miss  Kate  Burton,  Miss  Margaret  Davies,  Miss  Augusta 
Mott,  Miss  Ada  Walter,  Miss  Louisa  Russell.  Evening  Life  and  Antique 
Classes:  Monday,  Wednesday  and  Friday  evenings,  7  to  9:30;  Charles  E 
Bout  wood,  Louis  O.  Jurgensen  and  Edward  W.  Hoehn  teachers.  Class  Lec- 
tures on  the  Construction  and  Relation  of  the  Human  Features:  The  last 
eight  weeks  of  the  fall  and  winter  terms,  12:30  to  1  p.  m.,  Tuesday  and 
Thursday ;  J.  H.  Vanderpoel,  lecturer.  Architectural  Class:  Daily,  9  to  12  a. 
m.,  1  to  4  p.  m.  For  particulars  of  this  class  see  special  circular.  Class 
Lectures  on  Antique  Sculpture:  During  winter  term,  4  to  5  p.  m.,  Lorado 
Taft,  lecturer.  Composition:  Inspection  of  compositions,  Friday  noon,  J. 
H.  Vanderpoel.  Drawing  from  Objects  in  Pen-and-ink  and  Pencil:  Daily  3 
to  4  p.  m.  Afternoon  Sketch  Classes:  From  life  in  any  medium,  daily,  4  to  5 
p.  m.,  wholly  managed  by  students,  and  open  to  the  whole  school.  The 
school  room  opens  from  8:30  a.  m.  to  5  p.  m.  Regular  school  hours,  9  to  4  p. 
m.  Fall  term,  September  26  to  December  17.  Winter  term,  December  26  to 
March  18;  Spring  term,  March  20  to  June  10.  Pupils  may  enter  the  elemen- 
tary class  at  any  time  without  examination.  Tuition  fees  admitting  students 
to  all  classes  for  which  they  are  qualified,  are :  Every  day  each  week  for  one 
term,  $25;  three  days  each  week,  for  one  term,  $20;  two  days  each  week,  for 
one  term,  $15 ;  evening  life  class,  $P  a  term ;  evening  antique  class,  $6  a  term ; 
Saturday  class,  10  to  12  a.  m.,  $5  a  term.  In  the  architectural  class,  students 
are  received  only  for  the  full  time,  $25  for  a  term  of  12  weeks.  Pupils  are 
required  to  furnish  their  own  material,  except  easefs  and  drawing  boards, 
which  are  furnished  free.  The  cost  of  drawing  material  is  about  $4,  and  the 
cost  of  material  for  painting  about  $10  a  term.  Board  for  non-resident  stud- 
ents may  be  obtained  at  from  $4  to  $5  per  week. 

OBJECT  OF  ART  INSTITUTE. — The  object  of  the  Art  Institute  is  to  maintain  a 
school  and  museum  of  art.  The  art  school  re-opens  its  classes  Sept.  26,  1892, 
for  its  fourteenth  year.  Th«  museum  contains  a  large  and  carefully  selected 
collection  of  casts  of  sculpture,  pictures,  drawings,  marbles  and  other 
objects  of  art,  to  which  students  have  free  access.  Advanced  pupils  are 
permitted  to  study  in  the  galleries  of  the  museum.  Students  also  enjoy  the 
use  of  a  library  of  works  upon  fine  art,  and  of  the  principal  art  journals. 
The  school  rooms  are  among  the  best  arranged  and  best  lighted  in  the 
country.  Every  student  is  expected  to  hand  in  examples  of  the  month's 
work  at  the  end  of  every  four  weeks,  to  be  inspected  by  the  board  of  teachers 
and  returned  with  written  comment  and  advice.  There  are  exhibitions  of 
students'  work  every  year. 

CHICAGO  SOCIETY  OF  ARTISTS.— Rooms  located  on  the  seventh  floor  of  the 
new  Athenaeum  building,  16  to  26  Van  Buren  st.  There  are  fourteen  studios 
fitted  up  for  the  purpose  of  the  society.  Officers:  Pres.,  Chas.  E.  Boutwood; 
vice-pres.,  Edger  Cameron;  sec'y,  A.  F.  Brooks;  financial  sec'y.  and  treas., 
Wm.  W.  Vernon.  Directors :  Edger  Cameron,  Wm.  Schmedtgen,  A.  F.  Brooks, 
Jules  Guerin,  Herbert  E.  Butler,  E.  J.  Wagner,  Chas.  E.  Boutwood.  Member- 
ship consists  of,  professional  artists,  associates,  and  annual  members.  It 
holds  four  exhibitions  annually,  all  of  which  are  open  to  the  public,  free  of 
charge.  "  The  Charles  T.  Yerkes  prizes,"  $300  and  $200,  for  the  best  oil  paint- 
ings exhibited  by  local  artists,  are  awarded  at  the  spring  exhibition  in  April. 
This  exhibition  is  not  confined  to  the  membership  of  the  society,  but  is  open 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  145 

to  all  competitors.  Besides  the  pictures  for  sale  in  the  various  exhibitions, 
there  is  a  portfolio  of  sketches  by  local  artists  always  open  for  inspection 
in  the  rooms  of  the  society. 

ART  STUDENTS'  LEAGUE. — A  society  comprised  of  students  of  the  Art 
Institute,  holds  frequent  meetings  for  friendly  intercourse  and  improve- 
ment. 

Astronomical  Observatories. —  The  Astronomical  Society  of  Chicago, 
was  organized  in  Bryan'sHall,  Dec.  8,  1862.  The  object  of  the  society  was 
to  found  and  maintain  an  astronomical  observatory  as  an  integral  part  of 
the  old  University  of  Chicago.  J.  Y.  Scammon  had  agreed  to  pay  for  the 
erection  of  a  building  in  which  to  house  the  apparatus.  William  H.  Wells, 
the  Superintendent  of  the  Public  Schools  of  Chicago,  who  had  often  lectured 
on  astronomy  before  coming  here  from  the  East,  was  one  of  those  named 
from  the  platform  in  Bryan  Hall  in  the  first  list  of  members.  He  and  one 
or  two  others  discovered  that  the  largest  refracting  telescope  in  the  world, 
recently  made  by  the  firm  of  Alvan  Clark  &  Sons  to  the  order  of  a  university 
in  Louisiana,  was  thrown  back  on  the  hands  of  the  makers  through  ina- 
bility to  pay  for  it.  A  little  agitation  sufficed  to  convince  the  other  gentle- 
men interested  that  the  Chicago  Astronomical  Society  ought  to  secure  that 
telescope  if  possible,  and  in  the  ensuing  February  (1863)  it  was  purchased 
for  the  society  by  Thomas  Hoyne,  a  member,  who  made  a  special  visit  to 
the  East  for  that  purpose.  The  telescope  came  here  as  soon  as  the  building 
could  be  finished  for  its  reception,  and  until  September,  1873,  its  ISVi-inch 
object  glass  and  18-foot  focal  length  marked  it  as  the  biggest  in  the  world, 
while  it  was  also  universally  conceded  to  be  the  best  at  the  date  named.  A 
telescope  of  twenty-six  inches  diameter  was  later  mounted  at  the  National 
Observatory  in  Washington,  and  since  then  successive  improvements  have 
left  the  Chicago  instrument  far  in  the  rear  so  far  as  size  is  concerned.  The 
biggest  refracting  telescope  in  existence  is  the  one  at  the  Lick  Observatory 
in  California,  the  object  glass  of  which  is  thirty-six  inches  in  diameter,  but 
when  the  40-inch  glass  ordered  for  the  new  university  is  mounted  in  posi- 
tion Chicago  will,  for  the  second  time,  have  the  largest  and  best  telescope 
in  the  known  world.  Of  those  who  resolved  thirty  years  ago  to  form  an 
astronomical  society  T.  B.  Bryan,  who  owned  the  hall  in  which  the  meeting 
was  held  (on  Clark  St.,  opposite  the  Court  House),  N.  S.  Bouton,  W.  W.  Boy- 
ington,  E.  B.  McCagg,  W.  H.  Turner,  L.  B.  Sidway,  E.  W.  Blatchford,  George 
C.  Walker  and  C.  F.  W.  Yunge  still  survive  (1893).  The  telescope  is  now 
mounted  in  the  observatory  of  the  Northwestern  University.  a,t  Evanston, 
a  suburb  of  Chicago. 

CHICAGO  ASTRONOMICAL  SOCIETY. — President,  Elias  Colbert;  secretary,  H. 
C.  Ranney;  treasurer,  Murray  Nelson;  director,  Professor  G.  W.  Hough. 
This  society  was  organized  in  November,  1863.  It  owns  the  celebrated 
"Dearborn  University"  telescope,  the  object  lens  of  which  was  made  by 
Alvin  Clark,  and  which  is  now  in  possession  of  the  Northwestern  University 
at  Evanston. 

"DEARRORN"OR  NORTHWESTERN  OBSERVATORY. — The  observatory  is  a 
stone  building  eighty-one  feet  in  length  by  seventy-one  feet  in  breadth, 
includes  a  dome  for  the  great  equatorial  telescope,  a  meridian  circle  room, 
a  library,  and  eight  additional  rooms  for  other  purposes.  The  great  Dear- 
born telescope,  an  equatorial  refractor,  was  made  by  Alvan  Clark  &  Sons, 
of  Cambridge,  Mass.,  in  1861.  This  instrument  was  the  largest  refractor  in 
the  world  until  a  few  years  ago,  and  now  has  a  few  superiors.  The  observa- 
tory will  be  open  to  visitors  on  Thursday  evening  of  each  week  by  previous 
arrangement  with  the  director.  Visitors  may  also  be  admitted  at  other 
times  by  making  special  arrangements  with  the  president  of  the  university 
or  the  director  of  the  observatory.  The-  location  of  the  observatory  is  on 
the  lake  shore,  about  half  a  mile  north  of  the  main  buildings  of  the  uni- 
versity. 

KENWOOD  PHYSICAL  OBSERVATORY. — One  of  the  best  equipped  astronomi- 
cal stations  in  the  country.  Dedicated  1892.  The  observatory  is  located  at 
Grand  blvd.  and  Forty-sixth  St.,  and  is  the  gift  of  W.  E.  Hale,  of  the  Hale 
Elevatory  Company,  to  his  son,  George  E.  Hale,  recently  graduated  from 


140  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

college.  Young  Mr.  Hale  has  been  a  devoted  student  of  astronomical 
science  for  several  years,  and  his  enthusiasm  so  interested  his  father  that 
the  latter  determined  to  build  an  observatory  which  could  justly  be  so 
called.  The  observatory  is  unique  as  being- the  first  private  investment  of 
the  kind  in  the  city.  The  building  and  telescope  represent  an  outlay  of 
about  $20,000.  The  building  is  a  finely  decorated  structure  of  two  stories. 
A  revolving  dome  surmounts  the  whole  and  electric  lights  from  special 
dynamos  furnish  illumination.  The  telescope  is  a  twelve-inch  refracting 
equatorial.  It  was  built  especially  to  carry  the  spectroscope.  The  total 
length  of  the  instrument  is  22 ^  feet.  The  rotating  dome  is  26l/2  feet  in 
diameter.  The  telescope  was  built  by  Warner  &  Swasey,  of  Cleveland,  O. 
The  spectroscope  was  manufactured  by  J.  A.  Brashear,  of  Allegheny  City, 
Penn. 

.  YERKES  TELESCOPE  OR  UNIVERSITY  OF  CHICAGO  OBSERVATORY.— In  1892 
Charles  T.  Yerkes,  president  of  the  North  and  West  side  cable  street  railway 
systems,  and  a  very  wealthy  man,  surprised  the  public  by  making  a  voluntary 
contribution  of  $500,000  for  the  purchase  of  a  telescope  for  the  University  of 
Chicago,  the  understanding  being  that  the  princely  donation  would  meet  the 
cost  of  the  greatest  astronomical  instrument  ever  erected.  The  glass  is  to 
be  a  40-inch  one,  4  inches  larger  than  that  of  the  Lick  Observatory  in 
California.  It  is  to  be  constructed  by  Warner  and  Swasey  of  Cleveland,  O., 
who  designed  and  built  the  famous  thirty-six-inch  Lick  telescope  and  the 
twenty-six-inch  telescope  for  the  new  naval  observatory  at  Washington. 
The  Lick  telescope  is  now  the  largest  in  the  world,  but  the  great  Yerkes 
instrument  will,  when  completed,  exceed  it  in  power  by  25  per  cent.  The 
tube  will  be  seventy-five  feet  long  and  will  weigh  about  six  tons,  and  the 
instrument  complete  not  less  than  sixty  tons.  [See  "  University  of  Chi- 
cago,"  also  "  Private  Art  Collections  "  and  "  Yerkes  Electric  Fountain."] 

Halls  of  Science. — Two  great  museums  are  to  be  erected  in  Chicago,  each 
of  which  will  in  all  probability  be  thrown  open  to  the  public  shortly  after 
the  close  of  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition. 

ACADEMY  OF  SCIENCES.— Founded  in  1857  and  incorporated  in  1859.  One 
of  the  most  flourishing  of  Chicago's  societies  previous  to  the  great  fire  of 
'71,  in  which  its  entire  collection,  of  priceless  value,  was  lost.  Afterthe  fire 
a  new  building  for  the  collection  was  erected,  but  the  society  was  compelled 
to  part  with  it  owing  to  the  heavy  debts  which  it  had  to  bear.  It  has  had  a 
chequered  career  for  the  past  twenty  years,  but  notwithstanding,  it  has 
kept  on  adding  to  its  collection  of  birds,  mammals,  etc.  It  was  given  space 
for  its  collection  in  the  old  Inter-State  Exposition  building  for  several  years, 
but  the  demolition  of  that  structure,  to  make  room  for  the  new  Art  Institute, 
left  it  once  more  without  a  home.  Work  will  be  commenced  this  year,  how- 
ever, on  a  great  building  for  the  Academy,  to  be  located  inside  the  main 
entrance  to  Lincoln  Park,  opposite  Centre  st.  The  North  Park  Commission- 
ers have,  in  addition  to  granting  the  site  for  the  building,  donated  $25,000 
per  annum  to  the  Academy  of  Sciences  under  certain  unimportant  stipula- 
tions. There  are  many  advantages  in  favor  of  Lincoln  Park  as  the  site  for 
the  new  building.  The  park  is  the  most  easily  accessible  one  from  the  heart 
of  the  city;  it  is  more  largely  attended  than  any  one  of  the  others  of  our 
magnificent  system.  The  poor  flock  to  the  park  every  day  in  the  week,  par- 
ticularly Sundays.  Matthew  Laflin,  a  wealthy  resident  of  Chicago,  donated 
$75,000  toward  the  erection  of  the  building.  The  new  building  has  been  care- 
fully considered  with  reference  to  a  future  enlargement,  which  may  be 
placed  at  the  rear  if  so  desired.  The  plans  show  a  dignified  and  appropriate 
exterior,  three  stories  in  height,  with  Spanish  tile  roof.  The  first  story  is  of 
brown  stone,  with  pressed  brick  and  terra  cotta  alcove,  massive  and  rich 
cornice  crowning  the  whole.  An  elaborate  entrance  arch  leads  to  the  main 
stair  hall,  35  feet  wide  and  55  feet  long,  with  marble  wainscoting  and  floor, 
and  ornamental  stairs  on  each  side  leading  to  the  second  story.  This  hall 
is  spacious  and  well  lighted,  and  with  the  objects  that  may  be  placed  on 
view,  there  will  be  formed  a  dignified  vestibule  to  the  rest  of  the  building. 
To  the  right  on  the  first  floor  is  an  auditorium  45x58  feet  in  size,  and  to  the  left 
are  the  well-arranged  offices  of  the  Park  Commissioners,  and  also  the  offi- 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

DOUGLAS    MONUMENT,   DOUGLAS    PARK, 

[See  Page  314.] 


148  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

ces  and  laboratory  of  the  Academy.  In  the  second  story  is  a  single  large 
room  127x57  feet.  This  is  the  museum,  and  a  gallery  12  feet  in  width  sur- 
rounds it  on  all  sides.  The  museum  is  lighted  on  all  sides  and  from  a  sky- 
light and  is  designed  to  show  such  specimens  as  may  be  placed  in  it  to  the 
best  advantage,  the  lofty  center  nave  with  encircling  gallery  being  the  best 
form  for  a  nmseum  of  natural  history.  The  basement  will  be  well  lighted, 
and  has  been  arranged  for  work  and  storage  rooms  and  toilet  apartments. 

GARFIELD  PARK  MUSEUM. — The  failure  of  the  West  Park  Board  to  secure 
the  location  of  the  Academy  of  Sciences  at  Garfleld-Park  [see  "Parks,"] 
resulted  in  a  movement  looking  to  the  erection  of  a  great  museum  in  the 
West  Division  of  the  city.  The  general  impression  in  Chicago  is  that  two  or 
more  great  museums  may  be  filled  from  the  Columbian  Exposition.  A 
building  costing  $100,000  will  be  erected  in  Garfield  Park  and  filled  with  rel- 
ics of  this  country  from  the  time  of  the  Aztecs  down  to  the  present.  The 
building  will  be  five  stories  high,  but  beyond  this  nothing  definite  has  been 
decided  about  it.  The  park  commissionens  will  appropriate  $200,000  and 
expect  some  wealthy  and  public-spirited  citizens  to  contribute  an  equal 
sum.  A  site  has  been  settled  upon  for  the  building  in  the  platting  of  the 
new  part  of  Garfield  Park  south  of  Madison  st.  It  is  the  intention  that  the 
building  shall  face  Madison  st.,  and  will  be  south  of  it  about  100  feet.  South 
of  the  building  will  be  the  parade  ground  of  the  park. 

MUSEUM  OP  ANTIQUITIES. — When  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition  was 
finally  allotted  to  Chicago,  one  of  the  paramount  questions  arising  from  its 
distinction  was :  What  monument  shall  the  city  build  in  honor  of  the  great 
event?  Many  monuments  were  suggested.  One  was  a  colossal  group  on  the 
lake  front.  Another,  one  of  the  beautiful  buildings  to  be  erected  for  the 
fair  itself.  Others  comprehended  -varieties  of  structure ;  but  all  agreed 
that  the  witness  of  Chicago's  pride  in  her  glory  as  the  representative  of  the 
nation  and  of  the  nations  in  the  quadricentennial  of  the  discovery  by  Colum- 
bus of  a  new  world  should  at  least  be  approximately  worthy.  Public  opinion 
has  gradually  crystallized  in  one  direction  and  toward  one  massive  pile, 
whose  architectural  grandeur  should  be  matched  by  the  intrinsic  value  of 
its  contents — in  a  word,  it  is  practically  resolved  that  the  city  of  Chicago 
shall  found  in  connection  with  the  fair  a  museum  of  antiquities  which  shall 
approach  from  the  beginning,  and  in  time  equal,  and  possibly  surpass,  the 
most  famous  in  the  western  world.  The  site  of  the  museum  will  be  the  lake 
front.  In  this  museum  will  be  collected  the  casts  which  Greece  contributed, 
with  the  assistance  of  the  World's  Fair  management,  to  the  Columbian 
Exposition. 

TECHNOLOGICAL  INSTITUTE. — At  a  meeting  of  the  Western  Society  of 
Engineers  held  in  March,  1892,  in  Chicago,  a  decision  was  reached  to  join 
other  societies  in  establishing  here  a  Technological  Institute  to  cost  $250,000. 
The  proposition  made  was  that  capitalists  and  philanthropists  of  Chicago 
would  contribute  liberally  to  the  construction  of  such  an  educational  insti- 
tution, to  cost  $250,000,  divided  as  follows:  Physical  laboratory  buildings, 
$150,000;  museum  of  mechanical  arts,  $50,000;  additional  equipments,  $50,000; 
The  report  continued :  The  Chicago  University  has  offered  to  start  at  once 
a  complete  technological  institute  and  to  furnish  the  necessary  grounds 
gratis  and  to  pay  all  expenses,  such  as  salaries,  if  the  citizens  of  Chicago 
will  give  to  them  the  buildings  above  proposed  and  the  apparatus  and 
museum  as  above  suggested.  The  university  has  already  secured  $150,000 
for  a  chemical  laboratory  and  proposes  to  begin  at  once  expending  $15,000 
annually  in  engineering  courses.  It  will  spend  annually  $10,000  in  the 
mathematical  department,  $12,000  in  the  chemical  department,  $15,000  in  the 
engineering  department,  and  $37,000  yearly  in  what  is  properly  technological 
education.  This  was  discussed  favorably  and  the  president  was  authorized 
to  appoint  a  committee  of  seven  to  act  in  this  connection. 

WALKER  MUSEUM.— Located  on  the  campus  of  the  University  of  Chicago. 
This  museum  is  the  gift  of  Mr.  George  C.  Walker,  one  of  the  oldest  members 
of  the  Chicago  Academy  of  Science.  The  museum  costa$100,000  and  is  one  of 
the  most  attractive  buildings  on  the  campus.  It  is  three  stories  high  and 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  149 

fire-proof.  The  bunding  is  constructed  of  New  Bedford  brown  stone  and  is 
situated  southeast  of  the  center  of  the  University  grounds,  near  Lexington 
ave.  Its  dimensions  are  120  by  50  feet,  and  the  general  style  of  architecture 
is  in  harmony  with  the  lecture  and  divinity  halls  of  the  college.  The  in- 
terior is  finished  in  red  oak  and  hard  maple.  On  the  first  floor  are  the  offices 
of  the  curator  in  charge  of  the  museum,  and  the  remainder  of  the  building 
is  devoted  to  the  display  of  specimens  and  to  a  laboratory  for  their  prepa- 
ration. The  building  was  designed  especially  for  the  careful  perservation 
of  the  treasures  to  be  committed  to  its  care  and  is  well  lighted  by  large 
windows.  The  museum  is  open  to  the  public  as  well  as  to  the  students  of 
the  University.  The  building  is  situated  in  the  center  of  a  group  of  college 
institutions,  among  which  are :  Kent  Chemical  Laboratory,  Ryerson  Phy- 
sical Laboratory  and  Museum,  Field  Biological  Laboratory,  the  Laboratory 
of  Geology  and  Mineralogy  and  the  great  museum  and  laboratory  of  the 
University  itself. 

BANKS  AND  BANKING. 

The  banking  houses  of  Chicago  may  be  divided  into  three  classes :  (1) 
National  Banks,  organized  under  the  National  Banking  Laws  of  the  United 
States  and  subject  to  government  supervision.  (2)  State  Banks,  organ- 
ized under  the  laws  of  the  State  of  Illinois,  and  subject  to  State  super- 
vision. (3)  Private  Banks,  conducted  by  individuals  or  firms,  and  subject 
to  general  laws.  Many  of  the  state  banks  are  also  chartered  as  Savings 
Banks.  Again,  there  are  branches  of  Foreign  Banks  established  here.  Bank 
failures  are  so  rare  in  Chicago  that-they  may  be  said  to  be  unknown  here. 
There  have  been  no  failures  of  great  consequence  since  1877.  The  total  capital 
of  the  twenty  six  National  banks  of  Chicago,  as  reported  on  Dec.  9,  1892  was 
$23,300,000;  the  total  surplus  profits  of  these  banks  were  $13,966,325.  The 
increase  in  capital  of  Chicago  National  banks  is  shown  by  these  figures.  In 
December,  1885,  the  total  capital  was,  $12,410,000;  in  December  1887,  $15,800,- 
000;  in  December,  1889,  $16,250,000;  in  December,  1891,  $21,241,680.  In  December, 
1885,  the  surplus  profits  of  all  the  National  banks  then  in  existence  were, 
$3,987,551;  in  December,  1887,  they  had  increased  to  $6,500,404;  in  December, 
1889,  to  $8,826,415,  and  in  December,  1891,  to  $12,469,164.86.  The  condition  of 
the  state  banks  doing  business  in  Chicago  as  exhibited  by  the  last  report 
of  the  auditor  of  state,  shows  their  total  resources  to  have  been  $88,200,554. 
Their  capital  stock  was  $12,577,000.  The  total  deposits  were  $69,162,884.  This 
report  was  accepted  as  a  favorable  one.  Savings  deposits  have  increased 
since  Nov.  14,  1891,  to  Oct.  26,  1892,  in  the  sum  of  $4,349,013. 

NATIONAL  BANKS.— NAMES  AND  LOCATIONS  OF.— The  National  Banks  of 
Chicago,  with  their  location,  are  as  follows  [These  banks  open  at  10  A.M. 
and  close  at  3  P.M.,  except  on  Saturdays,  when  they  close  at  2  P.M.  Through 
the  summer  months  and  by  general  arrangement  they  may  close  at  1  P.M.  on 
Saturdays,  or  earlier.] :  American  Exchange  National,  Monadnock  bl  dg., 
Dearborn  and  Jackson ;  Atlas  National,  La  Salle,  S.  W.  Cor.  Washington ; 
Bankers  National,  Masonic  Temple;  Chemical  National,  Madison  and 
Dearborn  sts. ;  Chicago  National,  Dearborn  St.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Monroe ;  Columbia 
National,  La  Salle  St.,  Cor.  Quincy ;  Commercial  National,  Dearborn  st.,  S. 
E.  Cor.  Monroe;  Continental  National,  La  Salle  St.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Adams;  Dro- 
vers National,  4,207 S.  Halsted  st.;  First  National,  Dearborn  St.,  N.  W.  Cor. 
Monroe ;  First  National  of  Englewood,  63rd  and  Yale  sts. ;  Fort  Dearborn 
National,  Adams  Exp.  bldg.,  187  Dearborn  st. ;  Globe  National,  Rookery 
bldg.,  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts.;  Hide  and  Leather  National,  Madison  st.,  S. 
E.  Cor.  La  Salle;  Home  National,  184  W.  Washington  st.;  Lincoln  National, 
59  N.  Clark  st.;  Merchants  National,  80  and  82  La  Salle;  Metropolitan 
National,  La  Salle  st.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Monroe;  National  Bank  of  America,  La 
Salle  st.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Monroe;  National  Bank  of  Illinois,  115  Dearborn  st. ; 
National  Bank  of  *he  Republic,  La  Salle  st.,  Cor.  Quincy;  National  Live 
Stock  Bank,  Union  Stock  Yards;  Northwestern  National,  S.  E.  Cor.  La  Salle 


150  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

and  Adams  sts. ;  Oakland  National.  3,961  Cottage  Grove  ave. ;  Prairie  State 
National,  110  W.  Washington  st. ;  Union  National,  La  Salle  St.,  N.  E.  Cor. 
Adorns. 

STATE  BANKS— NAMES  AND  LOCATIONS  OF.— The  state  banks  of  Chicago, 
with  their  locations,  are  as  follows  [These  banks,  with  few  exceptions,  close 
at  3  P.  M.  daily]  :  American  Trust  and  Savings  Bank,  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Madi- 
son sts.;  Bank  of  Commerce,  88  to  192  La  Salle  st.;  Commercial  Loan  and 
Trust  Co.,  115-117  La  Salle  st. ;  Corn  Exchange  Bank,  217  La  Salle  st. ;  Garden 
City  Banking  and  Trust  Co.,  La  Salle  st.,  Cor.  Randolph;  Hibernian  Banking 
Association,  Clark  st.,Cor.  Randolph;  Home  Savings  Bank,  184  West  Wash- 
ington st. ;  Hyde  Park  Bank,  Lake  ave.  and  Fifty-third  st. ;  Illinois  Trust  and 
Savings  Bank,  Cor.  La  Lalle  and  Adams  sts. ;  Industrial  Bank,  645  Blue  Island 
ave.;  International  Bank,  110  La  Salle  St.;  Merchants  Loan  and  Trust  Co., 
Washington  St.,  Cor.  Dearborn ;  Milwaukee  Avenue  State  Banking  Co.,  409- 
411  Milwaukee  ave. ;  Royal  Trust  Co.,  167  Jackson  st. ;  State  Bank  of  Chicago. 
Lake  st.,  Cor.  La  Salle ;  The  Jennings  Trust  Co.,  185  Dearborn  st. ;  The  North- 
ern Trust  Co.,  Washington  st..  Cor.  La  Salle;  Northwestern  Bond  and  Trust 
Co.,  175-179  Dearborn  st. ;  Union  Trust  Co.,  Dearborn  st.,  Cor.  Madison;  West 
Chicago  Bank,  365  Western  ave. ;  Wetherell  Bank,  Thirty-first  st.  and  Michi- 
gan ave. 

PRIVATE  BANKS,  NAMES  AND  LOCATIONS.— The  private  banks  of  Chicago, 
with  their  names  and  locations,  are  as  follows  [These  banks  and  banking 
houses  are  open  usually  through  the  regular  business  hours,  from  9  a.  m.  to 
5  p.  m.] :  C.  C.  Adsit,  28—6  and  8  Sherman  st.;  R.  C.  Alden  &  Co.,  Pullman 
bldg. ;  Breese  &  Cummings,  111-113  Monroe  st. ;  Baldwin  &  Farnum,  Board  of 
Trade  bldg. ;  C.  V.  Banta,  Jr.,  Stock  Exchange  bldg. ;  Edward  L.  Brewster  & 
Co.,  Dearborn  st.,  Cor.  Monroe;  Campbell  &  Campbell,  Room  120  Illinois 
Bank  bldg.;  Cahn  &  Straus,  128  La  Salle  st.;  H.  Classenius  &  Co.,  82  Fifth 
ave. ;  William  O.  Cole  &  Co.,  140  Washington  st. ;  Counselman  &  Day,  238-240 
La  Salle  St.;  Charles  B.  Crombie,  115  Monroe  st. ;  Dominick  &  Dickerman, 
115-117  Monroe  St.;  E.  S.  Dreyer&Co.,  Dearborn  st.,  Cor.  Washington;  Albert 
Durham,  179  La  Salle  st. ;  Dwiggins,  Starbuck  &  Co.,  221  La  Salle  st.;  W.  N. 
Evans,  158  Dearborn  st. ;  Farson,  Leach  &  Co.,  115  Dearborn  st. ;  Foreman 
Bros.,  128-130  Washington  st. ;  Fred  G.  Frank  &  Bro.,  99  Washington  st.; 
Greenebaum  Sons,  116-1 18  La  Salle  st.;  Henry  &D.S.  Greenebaum,  92  La  Salle 
st. ;  C.  Granville  Hammond,  1  Sherman  st. ;  N.  W,  Harris* Co.,  163- 165  Dearborn 
st. ;  Chas,  Henrotin,  169  Dearborn  st. ;  Herman  Herbst,  167  Dearborn  st. ;  Hink- 
ley  &  Tilden,  502  West  Madison  st. ;  Hunt,  Edward  S.  Adams  Express  bldg. ; 
Jamieson  &Co.,  187  Dearborn  st. ;  Kennett,  Hopkins  &  Co.,  1  Board  of  Trade 
bldg. ;  Edward  Koch,  158  Dearborn  st. ;  B.  B.  Lamb,  Stock  Exchange  bldg. ; 
George  A.  Lewis  &  Co.,  132  LaSalle  st. ;  Lobdell.  Farwell  &  Co.,  213  Dearborn 
st. ;  A.  Loeb  &  Bro.,  120  LaSalle  st. ;  H.  E.  Lowe  &  Co.,  Stock  Exchange  bldg. ; 
Leopold,  Mayer  &  Son,  157  Randolph  st. ;  Meadowcroft  Bros.,  Washington  st., 
Cor.  Dearborn;  Muncipal  Investment  Co.,  First  National  Bank  bldg.;  C.  L. 
Niehoff&Co.,  49  LaSalle  st. ;  Peterson  &  Bay,  Randolph  st.,  Cor.  LaSalle; 
W.  T.  Rickards  &  Co.,  71  Dearborn  st. ;  Herman  Schaffner  &  Co.,  100-102  Wash- 
ington st.;  P.  E.  Stanley,  Chemical  Bank  bldg.;  Schaar,  Koch  <fe  Co.,  2603 
Halsted  st. ;  Schwartz,  Dupee  &  McCormick,  2  Board  of  Trade  bldg. ;  Lazarus 
Silverman,  93-95  Dearborn  st. ;  A.  O.  Slaughter  &  Co.,  111-113  LaSalle  st. ;  Sny- 
dacker  &  Co.,  Dearborn  St.,  Cor.  Randolph;  H.  C.  Speer.  237  LaSalle  st.; 
Townsend,  J.  J.,  Adams  Express  bldg. ;  Union  Investment  Co.,  The  Inter- 
Ocean  bldg.;  Valentine  &  McAvoy,  184  Dearborn  st.;  Walker  &  Co..  21 
Pacific  ave. ;  Walker  &  Wrenn,225  LaSalle  st. ;  Wasmansdorff  <fe  Heinemann, 
145-147  Randolph  st. ;  A.  W.  Wheeler,  167  Dearborn  st. ;  Wilson  &  Sturges, 
Rookery  bldg. ;  William  B.  Wrenn,  82  Washington  st. ;  John  S.  Woollacott, 
119  Dearborn;  Wise,  Henry,  611  Stock  Exchange  bldg.;  Wright,  Geo.  E., 
Stock  Exchange  bldg. 

SAVINGS  BANKS.— The  Savings  banks  (many  of  which  are  included  in  the 
list  of  State  banks),  with  their  localities,  are  as  follows:  American  Trust 
and  Savings  Bank,  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Madison  sts. ;  Central  Trust  and  Savings 
Bank,  155  Washington  st. ;  Chicago  Trust  and  Saving  Br,nk,  122  and  124 
Washington  st. ;  Dime  Savings  Bank,  104  and  106  Washington  st. ;  Globe  Sav- 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
FIRST  NATIONAL  BANK  BUILDING. 
%      [Office  of  Dunlap,  Smith  &  Co.] 


152  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

ings  Bank,  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Jackson  sts. ;  Hibernian  Banking  Association, 
Clark  st.  Cor.  Randolph ;  Home  Savings  Bank,  Halsted  st.  Cor.  Washington ; 
Illinois  Trust  and  Savings  Bank,  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts. ;  Prairie  State 
Savings  and  Trust  Co.,  45  South  Desplaines  st.;  Union  Trust  Co.,  Dearborn 
St.,  Cor.  Madison. 

FOREIGN  BANKS. — The-foreign  banking  houses  having  branches  in  this  city 
are  as  follows:  Bank  of  Montreal,  Womanis  Temple;  Bank  of  Nova  Scotia. 
Dearborn  near  Adams,  st. ;  Scandinavian  Exchange  Bank,  58  La  Salle  st. ; 
Comptoir  National  d'Escompte  de  Paris,  84  and  86  Washington  st. 

BANKS,  NATIONAL. 

There  are  twenty-six  national  banks  in  Chicago,  the  united  capital 
of  which,  at  the  close  of  1892,  was  $23,300,000;  surplus  fund,  $13,966,325. 
These  banks  are  in  the  hands  of  the  leading  financiers,  merchants  and 
manufacturers  of  the  city,  are  organized  under  the  national  banking  laws 
and  are  subject  to  government  supervision.  [N.  B. — The  figures  given, 
with  relation  to  capital  stock,  surplus  funds  and  undivided  profits,  are 
those  returned  to  the  United  States  Comptroller  in  the  last  report  of  the 
National  Banks  for  1892. 

American  Exchange  National  Bank. — Organized  May,  1886.  Present  offi- 
cers; John  B.  Kirk,  president;  Wm.  C.  Seipp,  vice-president;  G.  F.  Bissell, 
second  vice-president ;  A.  L.  Dewar,  cashier;  R.  M.  Orr,  assistant  cashier. 
Capital,  $1,000,000;  surplus  fund,  $200,000;  undivided  profits,  $144,655.47.  Loca- 
tion, Monadnock  bldg.,  Dearborn  and  Jackson  sts. 

Atlas  National  Bank.— Officers :  President,  W.  C.  D.  Grannis ;  vice-presi- 
dent, C.  B.  Farwell ;  cashier,  S.  W.  Stone ;  assistant  cashier,  W.  S.  Tillotson. 
Directors :  Uri  Balcom,  R.  C.  Clowry,  C.  B.  Farwell,  R.  J.  Bennett,  Joseph 
Austrian,  W.  C.  D.  Grannis,  J.  C.  McMullin,  A.  A.  Munger,  Wm.  M.  Van 
Nortwick,  C.  P.  Libby,  J.  T.  Chumasero. 

Bankers  National  Bank.— Organized  1892.  Present  officers :  E.  S.  Lacey , 
president;  D.  B.  Dewey,  vice-president;  John  C.  Craft,  cashier;.  Capital, 
$1,000,000.  Location,  Masonic  Temple. 

Chemical  National  Bank. — Successor  to  the  Chemical  Trust  and  Savings 
Bank,  founded  May,  1880.  Location,  Hartford  bldg.,  Madison  and  Dearborn 
sts.  Capital,  $1,000,000;  undivided  profits,  $44,755.55.  Present  officers:  J.  O. 
Curry,  president;  A.  T.  Ewing,  vice-president;  C.  E.  Braden,  cashier;  G.  E. 
Hopkins,  assistant  cashier. 

Chicago  National  Bank.— Officers :  President,  John  R.  Walsh;  cashier. 
William  Cox;  assistant  cashier,  F.  M.  Blount.  Directors:  A.  McNally, 
Adolph  Loeb,  H.  H.  Nash,  C.  K.  G.  Billings,  F.  Madlener,  Ferd.  W.  Peck,  J. 
R.  Walsh.  Capital,  $500,000:  surplus  fund,  $500.000;  undivided  profits,  $104.- 
879.88.  Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Monroe  sts. 

Columbia  National  Bank.— Opened  for  business  February  16,  1891.  Pres- 
ent officers:  L.  Everingham,  president;  W.  G.  Bently,  vice-president;  Zimri 
Dwiggius,  cashier;  J.  T.  Greene,  assistant  cashier.  Directors:  Malcolm 
McNeill,  E.  S.  Conway,  H.  D.  Cohn,  C.  W.  Needham,  Peter  Kuntz,  J.  D.  Allen, 
L.  Everingham,  W.  G.  Bently,  Z.  Dwiggins  and  J.  M.  Starbuck.  Capital, 
$1,000,000;  surplus  fund,  $15,000;  undivided  profits,  $83,406.55.  Location, 
Insurance  Exchange  bldg.,  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts. 

Commercial  National  Bank.— Location  southeast  cor.  of  Dearborn  and 
Monroe  sts. ;  organized  December,  1864.  Present  officers :— Henry  F.  Eumes, 
president ;  O.  W.  Potter,  vice-president ;  John  B.  Mayer,  cashier ;  D.  Vernon, 
assistant  cashier.  Capital,  $1,000,000.  Surplus  fund  $1,000,000.  Undivided 
profits  $257,667.25. 

Continental  National  Bank.— Organized  March  5,  1883.  Present  officers 
—Directors :  John  C.  Black,  Calvin  T.  Wheeler,  Richard  T.  Crane,  Henry  C. 
Durand,  William  G.  Hibbard,  Henry  Botsford,  James  H.  Dole,  George  H. 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  153 

Wheeler,  J.  Ogden  Armour,  Isaac  N.  Perry ;  president,  John  C.  Black ;  second 
vice-president,  Isaac  N.  Perry ;  cashier,  Douglas  Hoyt;  assistant  cashier, 
Ira  P.  Bowen.  Banking  house,  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts.  Semi-annual  divi- 
dends of  3  per  cent,  are  paid  January  first,  and  July  first.  Capital  $2,000,000; 
surplus  fuud,  $350,000;  undivided  profits,  $232,865.66.  Location,  southwest 
cor.  of  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts.  M.  Calvin  T.  Wheeler,  one  of  Chicago's  fore- 
most business  men  and  financiers,  was  the  organizer  of  this  bank  and  its 
first  president.  He  was  succeeded  in  1887  by  Mr.  Black,  who  has  been  con- 
nected with  the  bank  since  its  organization.  He  was  its  first  cashier,  and 
was  actively  instrumental  in  perfecting  the  system  inaugurated  for  the 
transaction  of  the  business  of  the  bank  with  the  greatest  convenience  to  its 
customers. 

Drovers  National  Bank.— Organized,  1883.  Present  officers:— S.  BrinthaU 
president;  John  Brown,  vice-president;  W.  H.  BrinthaU,  cashier.  Capital, 
$250,000;  surplus  fund,  $50,000  ;undivided  profits,  $52,646.22.  Location,  Union 
Stock  Yards. 

First  National  Bank.— Organized,  November,  1863.  Present  officers  : 
Lyman  J.  Gage,  president;  James  B.  Forgan,  vice-president;  Richard  J. 
Street,  cashier.  Directors:  Saml.  M*.  Nickerson,  E.  F.  Lawrence,  S.  W.  Aller- 
ton,  F.  D.  Gray,  Norman  B.  Ream,  Nelson  Morris,  James  B.  Forgan,  L.  J. 
Gage,  Eugene  S.  Pike,  A.  A.  Carpenter.  Capital,  $3,000,000;  surplus  fund, 
$2,000,000;  undivided  profits,  $1,436,305.69.  Location,  northwest  Cor.  Dearborn 
and  Monroe  sts. 

First  National  Bank  of  Englewood. — Present  officers:  J.  R.  Embree, 
president;  E.  L.  Roberts,  vice-president;  Frank  B.  Warren,  cashier;  Direct- 
ors, J.  J.  Nichols,  J.  M.  Johnson.  C.  H.  Nights,  H.  P.  Murphy,  W.  H.  Sharp, 
C.  H.  Caldwell,  V.  E.  Prentice.  E.  L., Roberts,  J.  R.  Embree,  Capital,  $100,000; 
surplus  profits,  $12,274.  Location,  Englewood,  Chicago. 

Fort  Dearborn  National  Bank. — John  A.  King,  president;  L.  A.  Goddard, 
cashier.  Capital,  $500,000;  surplus  fund,  $50,000;  undivided  profits,  $33,754.21. 
Location,  187  Dearborn  st. 

Globe  National  Bank.— Commenced  business  Dec.  22,  1890.  Capital' 
$1,000,000,  surplus,  $80,000.  Present  officers:  Oscar  D.  Wetherell.  president; 
Melville  E.  Stone,  vice-president;  D.  A.  Moulton,  cashier;  C.  C.  Swinborne, 
assistant  cashier.  The  ai rectors,  comprising  well-known  business  men  and 
capitalists,  are  as  follows:  Melville  E.  Stone,  late  editor  the  Chicago  Daily 
News',  Gustavus  F.  Swift,  president  Swift&Co.  packers;  William  H.  Harper, 
manager  Chicago  &  Pacific  Elevator  Company:  Robert  L.  Henry,  president 
Keystone  Palace  Horse-Car  Co.;  James  H.  Pearson,  capitalist;  Everett  W. 
Brooks,  lumber  manufacturer;  James  L.  High,  attorney-at-law;  Amos  Gran- 
nis,  contractor;  Oscar  D.  Wetherell.  Location,  The  Rookery,  LaSalle  and 
Adams  sts. 

Hide  and  Leather  National  Bank. — Organized  in  1872,  received  its  charter 
as  a  National  Bank  in  1878.  Present  officers:  Charles  F.  Grey,  president ; 
H.  A.  White,  vice-president;  Thos.  L.  Forrest,  assistant  cashier.  Capital, 
$300,000;  resources,  $2,113,318.05;  surplus  fund,  $100,000;  undivided  profits, 
$16,024.28.  The  individual  deposits  amounts  to  $1,317,568. 67.  Directors,  George 
C.  Benton,  William  L.  Grey,  C.  H.  Morse,  Hugh  A.  White,  J.  V.  Taylor,  George 
M.  Lyon,  P.  P.  Mathews,  Charles  F.  Grey,  O.  F.  Fuller.  Location  of  banking 
house,  LaSalle  and  Madison  sts. 

Home  National  Bank.— Officers:  A.  M.  Billings,  president;  J.  C.  McMullin. 
vice-president;  H.  H.  Blake,  cashier.  Capital,  $250,000;  surplus  fund,  $100,- 
000;  undivided  profits,  $181,500.11.  Location,  184  W.  Washington  st. 

Lincoln  National  Bank.— Organized  March,  1887.  Present  officers:  V.  C- 
Price,  president;  E.  S.  Noyes,  cashier;  J.  R.  Clarke,  assistant  cashier. 
Capital,  $200,000;  surplus,  undivided  profits  and  dividends,  unpaid  at  last 
report,  $23,666.48.  Location,  59  N.  Clark  st. 

Merchants  National  Bank.— Organized  December,  1863.  Present  officers: 
Chauncey  J.  Blair,  president;  Frederick  W.  Crosby,  vice-president;  Henry 
A.  Blair,  second  vice-president;  John  C.  Neely,  cashier.  Directors:  C.  J. 


CONTINENTAL 

NATIONAL  BANK, 

LA  SALINE  STREET,  COR.   ADAMS, 
CHICAQO, 


Capital  and  Surplus,  $2,4OO,OOO.OO 


A  General  Foreign  Exchange  Business  Transacted, 


OFFICERS. 

JOHN  C.  BLACK,  President. 
ISAAC  N.  PERRY,  Second  Vice-President. 
DOUGLASS  HOYT,  Cashier. 
IRA  P.  BOWEN,  Assistant  Cashier. 
ALVA  V.  SHOEMAKER,  Second  Ass't  Cashier. 

DIRECTORS. 

JOHN  C.  BLACK.  CALVIN  T.  WHEELER. 

WILLIAM  G.  HIBBAR.  RICHARD  T.  CRANE. 

GEORGE  H.  WHEELER.  HENRY  C.  DURAND. 

HENRY  BOTSFORD.  JAMES  H.  DOLE. 

J.  OGDEN  ARMOUR.  ISAAC  N.  PERRY. 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
CONTINENTAL  NATIONAL  BANK  BUILDING. 

LSee  Insurance  Exchange  Building,  Page  179,  and  "  Bankr"] 


150  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Blair,  William  Blair,  H.  A.  Blair,  W.  F.  Blair,  M.  A.  Ryerson,  F.  W.  Crosby. 
Capital,  $500,000;  surplus,  $1,500,000;  undivided  profits  at  last  report,  $384,- 
573.67.  Location,  80  and  82  La  Salle  st. 

Metropolitan  National  Bank.— Organized  May  12,  1884.  Present  officers: 
E.  G.  Keith,  president;  Wm.  Deering-,  vice-president;  W.  D.  Preston,  cashier; 
H.  H.  Hitchcock,  assistant  cashier;  Edw.  Dickinson,  second  assistant 
cashier.  Directors:  Wm.  Deering,  A.  C.  Bartlett,  Edson  Keith,  W.  J.  Wat- 
son, E.  T.  Jeffery,  John  Dupee,  E.  Frankenthal,  G.  B.  Shaw,  E.  G.  Keith,  W. 

D.  Preston,  W.  A.  Fuller.    Capital,  $2,000,000;  surplus  fund,  $1,000,000;   undi- 
vided profits,  $121,642.97.    Location,  La  Salle  and  Monroe  sts. 

National  Bank  of  America. — Organized  January  1, 1883.  Present  officers, 
Isaac  S.  Lombard,  president;  Martin  B.  Hill,  vice-president;  Edward  B. 
Lathrop,  cashier;  Chas.  A.  Tinkham,  assistant  cashier.  Capital  stock,  $1,000,- 
000;  surplus  fund,  $250,000;  undivided  profits,  $45,908.62.  Location,  La  Salle 
and  Monroe  sts. 

National  Bank  of  Illinois. — Organized  July,  1871.  Present  officers:  George 
Schneider,  president;  W.  A.  Hammond,  cashier;  Carl  Moll,  assistant  cashier; 
Henry  D.  Field,  2d  assistant  cashier.  Directors,  S.  B.  Cobb,  Walter  L.  Peck, 
Wm.  R.  Page,  George  E.  Adams,  Charles R.  Corwith,  W.D.  Kerfoot,  Frederick 
Mahla,  R.  E.  Jenkins,  Albert  A.  Munger,  William  A.  Hammond,  George 
Schneider.  Capital  stock,  $1,000,000;  surplus,  $1,000,000;  undivided  profits  at 
last  report,  $123,255.78.  Location,  111,  113,  115  and  117  Dearborn  st. 

National  Bank  of  the  Republic.—  Organized  August,  189r.  Present  offi- 
cers: President,  John  A.  Lynch;  vice-president,  A.  M.  Rothschild;  cashier, 
W.  T.  Fenton.  Capital,  $1,000,000;  surplus  fund,  $25,000;  undivided  profits, 
$58,429.60.  Average  deposits  per  month  over  $2,000,000.  Location,  La  Salle 
St.,  south  of  Quincy. 

National  Live  Stock  Bank.— Present  officers:  Levi  B.  Doud,  president; 
George  T.Williams,  vice-president;  Roswell  Z.  Herrick,  cashier;  Gates  A. 
Ryther,  assistant  cashier.  Directors:  John  B.  Sherman,  Levi  B.  Doud,  Irus 
Coy,  Geo.  T.  Williams,  Roswell  Z.  Herrick,  Daniel  G.  Brown  and  Samuel 
Cozzens.  'Capital,  $750,000;  surplus  fund,  $500,000;  undivided  profits,  $128,- 
235.85.  Location,  Union  Stock  Yards. 

Northwestern  National  Bank.— Organized  August,  1864.    Present  officers : 

E.  Buckingham,  president;  W.  F.  Dummer,  vice-president;   F.  W.  Gookin, 
cashier;    F.  W.  Griffin,  assistant  cashier.    Directors:  Ebenezer  Bucking- 
ham,  Edward  E.   Ayer,  William  F.   Dummer,   Marshall  M.   Kirkman,   and 
Franklin  H.  Head.     Capital,  $1,000,000;    surplus  fund,  $500,000;   undivided 
profits,  $134,889.54.    Location,  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts. 

Oakland  National  Bank.— Present  officers :  Horace  B.  Taylor,  president ; 
Authur  W.  Allyn,  vice-president;  J.  J.  Knight,  cashier.  Capital,  $50,000; 
surplus  fund,  $5.000;  undivided  profits,  $12,127.45.  Location,  3,961  Cottage 
Grove  ave. 

Prairie  State  National  Bank.— Present  officers :  James  W.  Scoville,  pres- 
ident; George  Woodland,  vice-president;  George  Van  Zandt,  cashier.  Cap- 
ital, $200,000;  surplus  fund,  $9,000;  undivided  profits,  $1,246.07. 

Union  National  Bank.  —  Organized,  December  1864.  Present  officers: 
John  J.  P.  Odell,  president;  David  Kelley,  vice-president;  August  Blum, 
cashier;  W.  O.  Hipwell,  assistant  cashier.  Paid  up  capital,  $2,000,000;  sur- 
plus fund,  $750,000;  undivided  profits,  $140,000.  The  deposits  of  the  Union 
National  average  above  $10,000,000.  This  bank  has  always  ranked  among 
the  most  wisely  managed  financial  institutions  of  the  country.  It  has  had 
a  succession  of  able  financiers  for  its  presidents.  [See  "Guide."]  Location, 
Home  Insurance  bldg.,  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts. 

BANKS,  STATE  AND  PRIVATE. 

Many  of  the  leading  state  and  private  banking  houses  of  the  city  are 
referred  to  below.  Some  of  the  state  banks  operate  upon  capital  as  large 


158  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

as  the  leading  national  banks.    The  state  banks  are  under  state  control. 
The  private  banks  are  subject  to  general  laws. 

Adolph  Loeb  &  Bro.,  Bankers. — Established  over  thirty-three  years  ago, 
s:'nce  which  time  the  house  has  been  doing  an  extensive  nortgage  loan, 
real  estate  and  general  banking  business.  The  house  was  founded  by 
Adolph  Loeb,  am  shortly  afterward  he  associated  with  himself  his  brother 
William.  Two  years  ago  Julius  Loeb  and  Edward  G.  Pauling  were  admitted 
into  the  firm.  Loeb  &  Bro.  are  bankers  of  large  capital  and  the  very  high- 
est standing  i-n  Chicago  commercial  circles. 

American  Trust  and  Savings  Bank. — Organized  under  the  laws  of  the 
State  of  Illinois,  1889.  Capital,  $1,000,000;  surplus,  $150,000.  Present  officers : 
G.  B.  Shaw,  president;  Franklin  H.  Head,  vice-president:  J.  R.  Chapman, 
cashier;  W.  L.  Mover,  assistant  cashier.  Directors:  William  J.  Watson, 
T.  W.  Harvey,  Adolph  Kraus,  Franklin  H.  Head,  S.  A.  Maxwell,  J.  H.  Pear- 
son,  C.  T.  Trego,  Ferd  W.  Peck,  William  Deering,  G.  B.  Shaw,  V.  A.  Watkins 
E.  L.  Lobdell,  C.  T.  Nash,  Joy  Morton,  George  E.  Wood,  William  Kent,  S.  A| 
Kent.  Location  of  banking  house,  Owings  bldg.,  Dearborn  and  Adams  sts] 
Avenue  Savings  Bank.—  Location,  Thirty-first  st.  and  Michigan  ave.  This 
institution  is  owned  by  George  L.  Magill,  its  president,  and  Louis  Kruse, 
its  cashier.  It  pays  4  per  cent,  interest  to  saving  depositors. 

Bank  of  Commerce.— Incorporated,  March  9,  1891,  as  successor  to  the 
private  banking  house  of  Felsenthal,  Gross  &  Miller.  Capital  stock  paid  up, 
$500,000.  Location,  108  LaSalle  st. 

Central  Trust  and  /savings  Bank. — Present  location,  Washington  st.  and 
Fifth  ave.  Cash  Capital,  $200,000.  In  banking  department  receives  deposits 
subject  to  check.  In  savings  department  receives  deposits  of  $1.00  and  up- 
ward, 4  per  cent  per  annum. 

Charles  Henrotin,  Banker  and  Broker. — One  of  the  founders  of  the  Chi- 
cago Stock  Exchange,  and  one  of  the  heaviest  brokers  in  local  and  outside 
stocks  in  Chicago.  A  promoter  of  some  of  the  largest  enterprises  of  the 
times.  Location  of  banking  house,  169  Dearborn  st. 

Chicago  Trust  and  /Savings  Bank. — Under  the  supervision  of  the  State  of 
Illinois,  organized  May,.  1885.  Capital  paid  in,  $400,000.  Present  officers: 
D.  H.  Tolman,  president;  P.  E.  Jennison,  cashier.  Location  of  banking 
house,  N.  E.  Cor.  Washington  and  Clark  sts.  [N.  B.— This  banking  house 
has  been  the  subject  of  a  vast  amount  of  most  unfavorable  criticism.  Its 
president,  D.  H.  Tolman,  has  been  frequently  charged  with,  and  sued  in  the 
courts  for,  alleged  unfairness  in  business  and  sharp  practice  in  dealing 
with  his  clients.] 

Comptoir  National  d'Escompt  de  Paris.— Agency  at  84  and  86  Washington 
st.  This  bank,  which  is  one  of  the  largest  financial  institutions  in  the 
world,  has  a  paid-up  capital  of  75,000,000  francs.  Its  head  office  is  in  Paris, 
but  it  has  branches  in  all  the  principal  cities  of  France;  also  in  Australia, 
India,  China  and  Madagascar. 

Corn  Exchange  Bank.  —  Organized  1872;  re-organized  1879;  capital, 
$1,000,000;  siirplus,  $1,000,000.  Present  officers:  Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  presi- 
dent; Ernest  A.  Hamill,  vice-president ;  Frank  W.  Smith,  cashier.  Directors: 
Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  Byron  L.  Smith,  Charles  Counselman,  Sidney  A. 
Kent,  John  H.  Dwight,  Edwin  G.  Foreman,  Ernest  A.  Hamill,  Charles  H. 
Wacker,  B.  M.  Frees,  Charles  H.  Schwab,  Edward  B.  Butler.  The  Corn 
Exchange  is  one  of  the  "great  banking  houses  of  the  city  and  for  over 
eighteen  years  has  ranked  among  the  leading  financial  institutions  of  the 
West.  Location  of  banking  house,  Rookery  bldg.,  Adams  and  LaSalle  sts. 
Dime  Savings  Bank. — Organized  under  State  supervision;  incorporated 
April,  1869.  Thisi  is  exclusively  a  savings  bank,  and  ranks  high  among 
Chicago's  financial  institutions.  Location  of  banking  house  and  safety 
vaults,  104-106  Washington  st. 

E.  S.  Dreyer  <fe  Co.,'  Bankers.— Established  over  twenty  years  ago,  and 
one  of  the  leading  banking  houses  of  the  city.  The  firm  is  composed  of  E. 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  159 

•  Dreyer  ami  Robert  Berger.  A  specialty  is  made  of  mortgage  loans,  though 
the  house  does  a  general  banking  business.  Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Dear- 
born and  Washington  sts. 

Foreman  Bros.,  Bankers. — Founded  thirty  years  ago,  by  the  father  of  the 
present  proprietors  of  the  house,  Edwin  G.  Foreman  and  Oscar  G.  Foreman. 
A  banking  institution  that  has  maintained  a  high  standing  through  the 
adverse  as  wen  as  prosperous  times  in  Chicago  history,  for  over  a  quarter 
of  a  century.  Foreman  Bros,  receive  deposits,  buy  and  sell  mortgages  and 
other  investment  securities,  and  make  a  specialty  of  loans  on  real  estate. 
Location  of  banking  house,  128  and  130  Washington  St.,  near  Chamber  of 
Commerce,  opposite  City  Hall. 

Globe  Savings  Bank.— Organized,  1890.  Capital  paid  in  1200,000.  Savings 
accounts  bear  interest  at  4  per  cent  per  annum.  Four  interest  days  each 
year — January  1st,  April  1st,  July  1st,  October  1st.  Deposits  on  or  before 
the  4th  of  the  month  bear  interest  from  the  1st.  C.  W.  Spalding,  president; 
Edward  Hayes,  vice-president;  J.  P.  Atgeld,  second  vice-president;  W.  S. 
Loomis,  assistant  cashier. 

Greenebaum  Sons,  Bankers. — Location  Nos.  83  and  85  Dearborn  st.  This 
house  was  established  nearly  forty  years  ago  by  the  senior  member  of  the 
firm,  Mr.  Elias  Greenebaum,  who  with  his  three  active  sons,  H.  E.  Greene- 
baum, M.  E.  Greenebaum,  and  J.  E.  Greenebaum  comprise  the  firm.  So 
many  years  of  heavy  increasing  growth  have  naturally  built  up  an  immense 
patronage  for  this  bank.  All  the  various  branches  of  a  conservative  bank- 
ing business  are  transacted  by  this  firm.  In  the  line  of  loans  they  have 
earned  great  distinction.  Being  the  oldest  bank  in  this  branch  of  the  busi- 
ness, having  made  a  specialty  of  negotiating  loans  on  Chicago  real  estate 
since  the  very  infancy  of  our  great  city,  they  have  largely  aided  in  making 
Chicago  what  it  is  to-day.  First  class  Chicago  mortgages  are  popular  and 
desirable  investments,  combining  safety  and  a  fair  rate  of  interest.  Having 
long  experience  and  available  capital  they  are  always  able  to  select  the  best 
securities  for  investors,  whose  interests  are  carefully  and  promptly  attended 
to;  they  can  also  give  favorable  terms  to  borrowers.  Besides  dealing  in 
investment  securities,  bonds,  etc.,  they  buy  and  sell  foreign  exchange  and 
issxie  letters  of  credit  available  in  the  principal  cities  of  the  world. 

Guarantee  Company  of  North  America.— Established  1872.  Head  office, 
Montreal.  Location  in  Chicago,  The  Temple.  Total  assets,  $755,946. 
Directors  for  Chicago: — L.  J.  Gage,  president  First  National  Bank;  R.  R. 
Cable,  president  Chic.  R.  I.  &  P.  R.  R. ;  Hon.  J.  Russell  Jones,  ex-pres.  West 
side  Ry. ;  C.  T.  Wheeler,  ex-president  Continental  National  Bank;  W.  D. 
Preston,  cashier  Metropolitan  National  Bank. 

Illinois  Trust  and  Savings  Bank. — Organized  under  the  laws  of  the  State 
of  Illinois,  August,  1887.  Capital  stock  paid  in,  $2,000,000;  surplus,  $1,500,OOJ; 
additional  liabilities  of  its  stockholders,  $1,000,000;  total  amount  pledged  for 
the  security  of  depositors,  $5,500,000.  Present  officers:  John  J.  Mitchell, 
president;  John  B.  Drake,  vice-president ;  William  H.  Mitchell,  2d  vice-presi- 
dent ;  W.  H.  Reid,  3d  vice-president ;  James  S.  Gibbs,  cashier ;  B.  M.  Chattel, 
assistant  cashier.  Directors:  L.  Z.  Leiter,  William  G.  Hibbard,  John  B. 
Drake,  John  J.  Mitchell,  John  McCaffery,  J.  C.  McMullin,  W.  H.  Reid,  William 
H.  Mitchell,  D.  B.  Shipman.  Among  the  stockholders  of  the  bank  are  the 
wealthiest  capitalists  and  merchants  of  Chicago,  including  L.  Z.  Leiter,  J. 
Russell  Jones,  Marshall  Field,  Albert  Keep,  Philip  D.  Armour,  Robert  Law, 
J.  C.  McMullin.  Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts. 

Industrial  Bank  of  Chicago.—  Located  in  its  new  fire-proof  building,  652 
Blue  Island  ave.,  near  the  corner  of  Twentieth  st.  Commenced  business 
August  10,  18°1.  A  general  banking  business  is  transacted.  Situated  in  the 
most  Important  industrial  district  in  Chicago,  three  miles  southwest  from 
the  business  center,  and  has  a  population  of  over  80,000,  the  need  of  a  bank 
here  has  long  been  felt  by  the  leading  lumbermen,  manufacturers  and  busi- 
ness men  and  is  now  fully  appreciated  by  liberal  support.  This  institution 
also  conducts  the  Industrial  Safety  Vaults,  having  one  of  the  finest  burglar 
and  fire-proof  vaults  in  the  city,  with  a  capacity  of  2,000  boxes.  The  bank  is 


160  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

governed  by  the  following-  board  of  directors:  Louis  Hutt,  lumberman; 
B.  M.  Hair,  of  Hair  &  Ridgeway,  lumbermen  and  box  makers;  W.  O.  Good- 
man, of  Sawyer,  Goodman  &  Co.,  lumbermen;  J.  B.  Goodman,  of  Sawyer, 
Goodman  &  Co.,  lumbermen;  A.  H.  Andrews,  of  A.  H.  Andrews  &  Co.,  manu- 
facturers of  office  furniture;  H.  D.  Cable,  president  of  the  Chicago  Cottage 
Organ  Co. ;  D.  S.  Tate,  lumberman ;  John  G.  Schaar  and  General  A.  L. 
Chetlain.  Its  officers  are :  President,  A.  L.  Chetlain ;  first  vice-president, 
Louis  Hutt;  second  vice-president,  B.  M.  Hair;  cashier,  John  G.  Schaar; 
assistant  cashier,  J.  E.  Henriqnes. 

International  Bank. — Organized  October  21,  1868,  as  the  International 
Mutual  Trust  Company,  and  was  changed  to  its  present  name  in  1871.  The 
first  officers  were:  Frances  A.  Hoffman,  president;  Julius Busch,  vice-presi- 
dent ;  and  Rudolph  Schloesser,  cashier.  Present  officers :  B.  Loewenthal, 
president ;  Leo.  Fox,  vice-president ;  Bernhard  Neu,  cashier.  Mr.  Loewenthal, 
the  president,  became  connected  with  the  bank  in  1870. 

Meadowcroft  Bros.,  Bankers.  —  Established  1860.  This  banking  house 
offers  every  facility  for  individuals  or  merchants  who  contemplate  opening 
an  account  or  making  changes.  Aside  from  the  ordinary  conveniences  of 
having  banking  connections  the  depositor  can  make  his  selection  from 
diffei-ent  classes  of  deposit  contracts,  either  certificates  bearing  interest  or 
special  deposits  with  interest.  Those  desiring  safe  investment  for  their 
funds  can  be  supplied  with  good  real  estate  securities,  or  have  orders  for 
any  bonds  or  stocks  executed.  The  bank  is  enabled  to  offer  the  advantages 
of  European  correspondents,  both  in  buying  and  selling.  Location,  N.  W. 
Cor.  Dearborn  and  Washington  sts. 

Merchants  Loan  and  Trust  Company.— Organized,  under  the  laws  of  the 
State  of  Illinois,  in  1857.  Capital,  $2,000,000;  surplus,  $1,000,000;  undivided 
profits,  $613,430.  The  trustees  are :  Marshall  Field,  C.  H.  McCormick,  John 
DeKoven,  Albert  Keep,  John  Tyrrell,  Lambert  Tree,  J.  W.  Doane,  P.  L.  Yoe, 
George  M.  Pullman,  A.  H.  Burley,  E.  T.  Watkins,  Erskine  M.  Phelps,  Orson 
Smith.  Present  officers :  J.  W.  Doane,  president ;  Orson  Smith,  vice-presi- 
dent; F.  C.  Osborn,  cashier.  This  is  the  oldest  and  one  of  the  greatest 
banking  houses  in  Chicago.  The  Merchants  Loan  and  Trust  Company 
does  the  general  work  of  a  modern  trust  company  and  that  of  a  bank  of 
discount  as  well. 

Milwaukee  Avenue  State  Bank.— Location  Milwaukee  ave.  and  Carpenter 
st.  Take  Milwaukee  ave.  cable  line.  Capital,  $250,000.  Successor  to  the 
banking  house  of  Paul  O.  Stensland  &  Co.,  the  leading  financial  institution 
of  the  northwestern  section  of  the  city.  The  former  bank  had  built  up  a  very 
large  business  with  the  tradespeople  of  Milwaukee  ave.  and  the  great  manu- 
facturing concers  contiguous  to  that  important  thorough  are.  For  this  reason 
it  became  necessary  to  increase  its  capital  stock  and  facilities,  and  an  organ- 
ization under  the  State  banking  laws  was  effected  on  September  15,  1891, 
when  the  Milwaukee  Avenue  State  Bank  was  incorporated.  The  officers  of 
the  bank  are :  President,  Paul  O.  Stensland ;  vice-president,  Andrew  C. 
Lausten ;  cashier,  Charles  E.  Schlytern ;  attorney,  Donald  L.  Morill.  Direc- 
tors: John  P.  Hansen,  F.  H.  Herhold,  William  Johnson,  M.  A.  LaBuy,  A.  C. 
Lausten,  John  McLaren,  Thomas  G.  Morris,  John  Schermann,  John  Smulski, 
Paul  O.  Stensland  and  Soren  D.  Thorson.  The  stockholders  are  all  repre- 
sentative business  and  professional  men.  Among  the  more  prominent  are: 
Franklin  S.  Anderson,  of  John  Anderson  Publishing  Co. ;  John  P.  Hansen, 
cigar  manufacturer;  F.  Herhold  &  Sons,  chair  manufacturers;  A.  J.  John- 
son &  Sons,  furniture  manufacturers;  William  Johnson,  vessel  owner: 
Peter  Kiolbassa,  city  treasurer;  Andrew  C.  Lausten,  president  Northwest- 
ern Lead  &  Oil  Co. ;  Richard  Prendergast,  attorney ;  Morris  Rosenfeld, 
capitalist ;  Jesse  Spaulding,  president  Spaulding  Lumber  Co. ;  Paul  O. 
Stensland,  Soren  D.  Thorson,  of  Central  Manufacturing  Co.,  and  John  R. 
Walsh,  president  Chicago  National  Bank.  The  capital  stock  of  the  bank  is 
$250,000;  undivided  profits  atlast  report,  $29,591.42.  This  bank  does  a  general 
business  and  in  addition  has  a  savings  department.  Teachers,  clerks, 
artisans  and  wage-workers  generally,  will  find  this  a  convenient  and  safe 


162  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

place  for  their  savings.  Deposits  received  in  this  department  in  amounts 
of  one  dollar  and  upwards,  and  interest  allowed  at  the  usual  rates.  This 
bank  sells  exchange  and  money  orders  on  foreign  countries  at  the  lowest 
market  rates.  Drafts,  payable  on  demand,  drawn  on  all  principal  cities  in 
Europe,  and  remittances  made  to  any  address  without  risk  to  the  purchaser. 
Foreign  money  bought  and  sold.  Connected  with  this  bank  are  the  Milwau- 
kee ave.  Safe  Deposit  vaults,  where  private  boxes  for  the  safe  keeping  of 
documents  and  other  valuables,  are  rented  at  $5.00  per  year,  Entrance 
through  the  bank.  The  high  standing  and  popularity  of  the  president  of 
the  bank  in  his  capacity  of  a  private  citizen,  brings  to  the  institution,  of 
which  he  is  the  head,  the  confidence  of  the  public.  Mr.  Stensland's  time  is 
given  almost  wholly  to  the  conduct  of  this  institution,  and  it  gives  promise 
of  ranking  among  the  great  banking  houses  of  the  city  before  very  long. 

Northern  Trust  Company.— Organized  under  the  jurisdiction  and  super- 
vision of  the  State  of  Illinois,  August,  1889.  Capital  fully  paid  in  $l,000,OuO. 
Present  officers:  Byron  L.  Smith,  president;  Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  vice- 
president;  Arthur  Heurtley,  cashier;  Frank  L.  Hankey,  assistant  cashier. 
Directors:  A.  C.  Bartlett,  J.  Harley  Bradley,  H.  N.  Higinbotham,  Marvin 
Hughitt,  Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  A.  O.  Slaughter,  Martin  A.  Ryerson,  Albert 
A.  Sprague,  Byron  L.  Smith.  Location  of  banking  house,  Chamber  of  Com- 
merce building,  S.  E.  Cor.  Washington  and  La  Salle  sts. 

Peabody,  Houghteling  &  Co.,  59  Dearborn  st.,  Investment  Bankers. — Some 
years  before  the  fire  of  1871  the  extensive  business  done  by  this  firm  in 
mortgage  loans  upon  real  estate  in  Cook  county  had  its  origin.  Mr.  Benja- 
min E.  Gallup  was  associated  with  Mr.  Peabody  in  the  business,  under  the 
firm  name  of  Gallup  &  Peabody,  until  1875  or  1876.  The  firm  earned  a  high 
reputation  for  ability  and  conservatism,  and  enjoyed  the  confidence  of  a 
large  list  of  investors.  From  and  after  January,  1876,  Mr.  Ga-llup's  connec- 
tion with  the  business  having  terminated,  the  business  was  conducted  under 
the  firm  name  of  Francis  D.  Peabody  &  Co.  Mr.  James  L.  Hough teling  became 
a  partner  in  the  business  January  1,  1885,  and  since  the  name  of  the  house 
has  been  as  indicated  in  the  caption  of  this  sketch.  Their  business  has  kept 
pace  with  the  growth  of  the  city,  and  they  are  now  reputed  to  do  the  leading 
business  in  mortgage  loans  in  this  city.  They  are  known  to  exercise  the 
greatest  care  in  the  valuations  of  real  estate  offered  for  loans,  in  the  exami- 
nation of  titles  and  in  ascertaining  the  character  and  responsibility  of  bor- 
rowers. By  reason  of  their  long  experience,  fair  dealing,  promptness  and 
available  capital,  they  are  enabled  in  all  conditions  of  the  money  market  to 
select  the  best  securities  and  to  deal  with  the  most  responsible  class  of  bor- 
rowers. They  have  contributed  very  largely  in  making  loans  upon  Chicago 
property,  the  most  popular  and  desirable  of  investments.  Their  clientage, 
already  very  extensive,  is  rapidly  growing,  and  embraces  some  of  the  most 
prominent  financial  and  educational  institutions,  both  in  the  East  and  in 
Chicago.  The  first  mortgages  (principal  and  interest  payable  in  gold)  they 
have  constantly  in  hand  are  bought  largely  for  the  investment  of  trust 
funds,  where  safety  and  a  fair  rate  of  interest  can  be  combined. 

Peterson  &  Bay,  Bankers.— Established  1873.  Andrew  Peterson  and  Geo. 
P.  Bay,  owners;  deal  in  investment  securities,  foreign  exchange,  mortgage 
loans,  make  collections  and  do  a  general  real  estate  business.  Location  of 
banking  house,  S.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Randolph  sts. 

Schaffner  &  Co.,  Bankers.— Established  January,  1878.  One  of  the  larg- 
est and  most  responsible  private  banking  houses  in  the  country.  Herman 
Schaffner  and  A.  G.  Becker,  proprietors  and  managers.  Makes  a  specialty  of 
handling  commercial  paper  and  dealing  with  mandfacturing  and  business 
firms.  Annual  business  transacted,  about  $35,000,000.  Its  business  is  not 
confined  to  the  securities  and  paper  of  this  country,  but  is  has  extensive 
foreign  dealings  as  well.  The  firm  has  few  equals  in  the  amount  of  the 
actual  moneyed  transactions  made  in  any  <5f  the  eastern  cities.  The  suc- 
cessful handling  of  the  immense  amount  of  paper  as  shown  by  a  single 
year's  business,  is  as  highly  gratifying  as  it  is  commendatory  of  the  finan- 
cial ability  and  acumen  of  the  members  of  the  firm.  Location,  100  Wash- 
ington st. 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  163 

Slaughter,  A.  0.  &  Co.— Located  at  111-113  LaSalle  st.  (Chamber  of  Com- 
merce bldg.).A.  O.  Slaughter  and  William  V.  Baker,  proprietors.  Mr. 
Slaughter  has  been  in  business  here  for  over  twenty -five  years,  and  is  con- 
sidered the  best  informed  authority  on  railroad  bonds  and  stocks  in  the  city. 
Mr.  Baker  is  of  the  old  firm  of  Baker  &  Parmele,  which  started  as  bankers 
and  brokers  in  1886.  Mr.  Parmele  died  in  May,  1890.  The  firm  of  A.  O. 
Slaughter  &  Co.  was  etablished  in  July,  1890.  This  house  ranks  among  the 
most  solid  and  reliable  institutions  of  Chicago.  Mr.  Slaughter's  prominence 
in  social  and  business  circles  is  indicative  of  the  high  estimation  in  which 
he  is  held  on  all  sides.  Mr.  Baker  takes  a  foremost  position  among  the  skill- 
ful bank  executives  of  the  city.  The  management  of  the  finances  of  many 
great  enterprises  has  been  intrusted  to  this  firm  during  recent  years.  It  is 
considered  one  of  the  most  carefully  conducted  private  banking  establish- 
ments in  the  country. 

State  Bank  of  Chicago.— Located,  at  the  N.  E.  Cor.  LaSalle  and  Lake  sts. 
(Marine  bldg.).  Formerly  the  private  banking  house  of  Haugan  &  Lindgren, 
established  originally  1879.  New  bank  established  February  10,  1891.  Cash 
capital,  $500,000.  Officers:  H.  A.  Haugan,  president;  John.  H.  Dwight,  vice- 
president;  John  R.  Lindgren,  cashier. 

BUILDINGS,  THE  NOTABLE  STRUCTURES. 

During  our  ten  days  trip  around  the  city,  we  have  seen  many  of 
the  great  structures  which  have  made  Chicago  famous  abroad.  Some  of 
these  were  described  at  length,  others  merely  noticed  as  we  passed  by  them. 
A  complete  list  of  the  notable  public  and  private  structures  of  the  city  is 
given  below,  with  something  of  their  dimensions,  architecture  and  history. 
A  great  deal  of  interesting  information  regarding  the  Chicago  or  "Chicago- 
esque"  type  of  architecture,  the  method  of  constructing  the  steel  frame 
buildings,  etc.,  will  be  found  in  the  Ten  Days  Trip,  or  guide  department  of 
this  volume.  [For  statistical  matter  with  reference  to  real  estate  and  build- 
ings, see  "Appendix."] 

STEEL  CONSTRUCTION. — Chicago  is  rapidly  becoming  a  city  of  steel  from 
the  enormous  quantity  of  that  material  used  in  the  great  down -town  build- 
ings. This  extensive  use  of  rolled  steel  for  the  skeletons  of  massive  sky- 
scrapers has  not  only  revolutionized  the  style  of  building,  but  it  has  as  well 
created  anew  industry.  The  Chicago  Opera  House  "was  the  first  fire  proof 
building  in  the  city  in  which  this  radical  departure  in  building  rules  was 
made.  The  floor  beems  were  those  first  used  of  steel.  The  columns  were  of 
cast  iron.  Then  followed  the  Rookery,  Counselman,  Gaff  and  Board  of  Trade 
buildings,  all  with  steel  beams  and  cast  iron  columns.  But  steel  is  gradu- 
ally replacing  cast  iron  for  columns.  The  Rand-McNally  building  was  the 
first  in  which  steel  was  used  exclusively.  But  the  Monadnock,  Pontiac, 
Caxton,  Northern  Hotel,  Masonic  and  Temperance  Temples,  the  new 
Athletic  Club  building,  the  Ashland  building,  the  Cook  County  Abstract 
building  and  the  Fair  building,  are  all  steel  structures.  The  steel  used 
besides  the  beams  and  columns  is  found  in  the  frames  of  bay  windows,  roof 
work,  supports  for  roofs— in  fact,  everything  that  assists  in  holding  the 
weight  of  the  building.  The  foundations  also  are  of  steel. 

WHERE  THE  STEEL  COMES  FROM. — This  steel  comes  from  various  points. 
Almost  all  the  heavy  steel  rails  used  in  foundations  are  made  by  the  Illinois 
Steel  Company  here  in  Chicago.  These  are  the  regular  rails  in  use  on  rail- 
ways. Rails  are  made  to  weigh  from  sixty  to  eighty  pounds  to  the  yard  in 
length.  The  seventy-five  pound  rails  are  the  ones  used  in  foundations.  Those 
foundations  are  laid  deep,  of  tiers  of  rails  crossed,  and  are  extended  always 
into  the  street  or  alley  beyond  the  building  line,  the  distance  varying  accord- 
ing to  the  height  and  weight  of  the  building.  To  illustrate:  Under  the 
Fair  building  foundation  rails  reach  out  twelve  feet  under  the  street  and 
nine  feet  under  the  alley.  Of  the  steel  beams  90  per  cent,  comes  from  Pitts- 


164  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

burg,  from  the  mills  of  Carnegie,  Phipps  &  Co.  and  Jones  &  Laughlin.  A 
heavy  trade  in  beams  is  also  done  in  Pottsville,  Pa. ;  Trenton,  N.  J.,  and 
Phoenixville,  Pa.  Certain  sizes  of  steel  beams  are  made  by  the  Illinois 
Steel  Company. 

COST  OF  STEEL  BuiLDiNG.-*-Steel  columns  and  beams  are  worth  $75  a  ton 
delivered  in  Chicago.  The  combination  price  of  steel  beams  is  $3.20  a  hun- 
dred pounds  without  any  fittings,  Chicago  delivery.  Small  materials  in  steel 
for  such  as  windows  and  roof  work  cost  from  3  to  5  cents  a  pound.  The 
price  on  steel  varies  but  little,  as  the  mills  have  an  agreement  and  there  are 
but  trifling  deviations.  As  to  relative  cost  of  a  steel-ribbed  building  to-day 
and  one  of  the  best  styled  structures,  say,  ten  years  ago,  the  modern  one  is 
the  more  expensive,  for  labor  is  costlier  now  than  then.  What  really  gave 
birth  to  this  steel  style  of  construction  was  the  fact  that  none  of  the  down- 
town Chicagoaris  wanted  to  leave  the  center  of  the  city.  Land  space  grew 
more  valuable  and  taller  buildings  became  a  necessity.  The  principal 
advantage  of  steel  ones  over  the  old  style  construction  is  that  the  building 
can  be  made  higher  with  safety.  The  style  is  lighter  and  stronger  than  the 
old  method,  too.  Steel  is  succeeding  cast  iron.  This  is  largely  due  to  the  fact 
that  there  is  no  practicable  way  of  testing  cast  iron,  while  there  is  of  steel. 
None  of  the  manufacturers  have  ever  made  a  machine  to  test  cast  iron. 
Cast  iron  columns  are  cast  hollow  while  lying  horizontally.  The  metal 
which  is  poured  in,  by  running  round  the  core  to  the  bottom  first,  may 
press  the  core  upward,  so  that  on  cooling  the  upper  side  of  the  column 
may  be  thinner  than  the  under  side.  Again,  there  may  be  air  bubbles 
form  between  two  currents  of  molten  metal.  What  inspection  is  made  is 
to  look  for  those  two  defects.  One  method  to  determine  the  thickness  is  to 
bore  small  holes  through  the  column,  but  there  is  absolutely  no  way  to  dis- 
cover those  air  bubbles.  The  only  other  test  is  to  set  the  column  on  end  and 
bring  an  enormous  hydraulic  pressure  to  bear  on  it.  Cast  iron  columns  are 
fastened  together  in  the  building  by  bolts  screwed  on,  while  steel  columns 
are  riveted  together  in  the  building  with  red-hot  rivets.  This  makes  the 
structure  more  solid. 

TESTING  STEEL  COLUMNS.— The  manner  of  testing  steel  is  thorough.  The 
steel  used  is  the  Bessemer,  and  is  rolled  between  wheels  under  a  tremendous 
pressure.  Air  bubbles  are  pressed  out.  The  columns  are  not  round".  They 
are  made  in  plate  form  and  riveted.  They  can  be  seen  on  all  sides  so  as  to 
determine  their  thickness.  The  inspection  is  elaborate.  The  inspectors  take 
a  quantity  of  ore  out  of  each  "blow"  and  test  it  as  to  the  quality  of  the 
steel  it  will  make.  If  it  is  not  up  to  the  requirements  bxiilders  take  no  steel 
made  from  that  "blow."  It  is  inspected  and  tested  again  when  the  steel  is 
made  and  again  while  it  is  being  put  together,  and  if  found  defective  at  any 
point  it  is  not  used.  Again,  every  piece  of  structural  steel  is  numbered;  not 
only  that,  but  the  ore  is  designated  that  shall  go  into  a  certain  piece  of 
steel.  So  thoroughly  is  this  followed  in  detail  and  recorded  that  a  builder  by 
referring  to  his  office  record  can  trace  back  the  course  of  any  piece  of  steel 
in  a  building  through  the  three  stages  of  inspection,  back  to  its  original  ore 
shape.  In  case  of  an  accident  he  could  thus  locate  the  responsibility. 

INSPECTION  OF  STEEL. — One  of  those  inspections  tests  the  breaking  power 
of  the  steel,  and  builders  load  a  building  above  one-fifth  of  that  breaking 
power.  In  calculating  so  as  to  insure  safety,  they  figure  first  on  the  straight 
downward  pressure,  then  on  the  resistance  of  the  wind.  Besides  this,  on 
the  tops  of  all  these  big  office  buildings  are  great  water  tanks  to  furnish 
water  to  run  elevators  and  for  the  bowls,  as  the  city  water  pi-essure  does 
not  drive  water  to  the  top  of  the  sky-scrapers.  Those  full  tanks  are  of  tre- 
mendous weight.  There  must  be  extra  support  for  their  weight.  Then  the 
strain  on  an  elevator  is  enormous  at  times.  If  filled  with  people,  it  is  going 
down  rapidly  and  suddenly  stops,  the  columns  supporting  that  elevator 
must  be  extra  strong  or  something  will  break.  There  are  dozens  of  things  that 
must  be  allowed  for.  It's  a  trade,  a  profession  by  itself,  and  there's  plenty 
of  room  for  thinking  in  it.  Every  precaution  is  taken  to  guard  against 
accident  and  to  assure  safety;  that  is  to  say,  among  those  architects  and 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

THOMSON  TAYLOR  SPICE     CO'S  BUILDING. 

[See  "  Western  Industry.'" 


166  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

builders  of  the  city  who  have  devoted  great  time  to  this  class  of  structures 
and  whose  names  are  identified  in  the  public  mind  with  this  Chicago  style 
of  architecture. 

Adams  Express  Building.— Location,  east  side  of  Dearborn  st.,  between 
Monroe  and  Adams  sts.  A  beautiful  office  structure  of  massive  proportions. 
Elegantly  finished. 

American  Express  Building. — Location,  south  side  of  Monroe  st.,  between 
Dearborn  and  State  sts.  A  massive  solid  granite  structure  erected  by  the 
American  Express  Company  for  the  accommodation  of  its  central  office,  and 
as  an  office  building. 

Armour  Institute. — Location,  Armour  ave.  near  33d  st.  Five  stories  high. 
Cost,  $500,000.  [See  "  Armour  Training  School."]  The  new  building  faces  the 
Armour  Mission  and  the  Armour  Flats.  Absolutely  no  expense  has  been 
spared  in  its  erection.  There  is  a  beautiful  and  lavish  use  of  marble,  the 
wainscoting  being  of  that  material  on  every  floor,  and  marble  columns  and 
arches  appearing  in  profusion.  In  the  basement  is  placed  the  electric 
plant,  and  here  are  located  the  students  in  forging  and  iron  work.  On  the 
first  floor  is  a  superbly  lighted  library,  sixty  feet  square.  Wood- working 
rooms  and  the  rooms  for  reception  and  for  the  president  of  the  institute  are 
also  located  here.  On  the  second  floor  are  the  chemical  laboratory,  the 
chemical  lecture  room,  the  physical  laboratory,  the  physical  apparatus 
roDm,  the  physical  lecture  room,  and  electrical  rooms.  The  third  floor  is 
used  by  students  in  free-hand  drawing,  mechanical  and  architectural  draw- 
ing, and  in  commerce  and  business.  The  fourth  floor  is  devoted  to  the 
domestic  sciences — there  being  departments  of  cooking,  dressmaking,  milli- 
nei-y,  and  kindred  studies.  On  this  floor  are  also  recitation,  lecture,  and 
class  rooms.  At  one  end  01  the  fifth  floor  is  the  gymnasium— 60x53  feet.  At 
the  other  end  is  the  technical  museum.  Connecting  the  two  are  dressing-rooms 
for  the  gymnasium  and  elaborate  tath-rooms  fitted  up  in  white  marble. 

Art  Institute.— Location,  Lake  Front,  site  of  the  old  Inter-State  Exposi- 
tion building,  main  entrance  foot  of  Adams  st.  Within  easy  walking  dis- 
tance of  all  railroad  stations,  street  car  terminals,  hotels,  etc.,  in  the  heart 
of  the  business  center.  This  magnificent  structure  takes  the  place  of  the 
old  Art  Institute,  Michigan  ave.  and  Van  Buren  st.,  which  has  passed  into 
the  possession  of  the  Chicago  Club.  The  design  of  the  new  institute  was 
prepared  by  architects  Shipley,  Rutan  and  Coolidge,  in  accordance  with 
the  ideas  of  the  Committee  on  Buildings.  The  structure  has  a  frontage  of 
320  feet  on  Michigan  ave.,  the  main  depth  is  175  feet,  with  projections  mak- 
ing 208  feet.  The  plan  is  that  of  a  parallelogram.  It  consists  of  two  stories ; 
the  first  being  devoted  to  plaster  casts,  sculptures,  busts,  models,  etc. ;  the 
second  to  pictures,  being  lighted  by  skylights  from  above.  The  main  gal- 
leries are  27  feet  wide  and  the  second  galleries  12  feet  wide.  The  main 
staircase  is  directly  in  front  as  the  visitor  enters.  On  one  side  is  a  lecture 
room  capable  of  seating  1,000  people,  and  on  the  other  a  library  in  which 
are  kept  the  reference  books  pertaining  to  art.  The  plan  of  the  picture  gal- 
leries is  similar  to  that  of  the  statuary  halls  below,  except  that  most  of  the 
rooms  are  lighted  by  skylights.  The  whole  building  is  constructed  of  Bed- 
ford limestone,  with  a  base  of  granite  extending  to  the  water  table.  The 
lower  portion  is  rusticated  as  far  as  the  top  of  the  first  floor.  Above  this  is 
a  plain  band  of  chiseled  stone,  and  surmounting  this  are  panels  filled  with 
statuary.  Surmounting  this  are  an  entablature  and  cornice  richly  deco- 
rated, the  effect  of  which  is  highly  increased  by  the  plain  surface  below. 
The  idea  of  the  interior  is  to  keep  the  main  masses  plain  and  simple,  group- 
ing the  richness  in  certain  places  which  are  important  in  the  design  of  the 
building.  The  roof  is  of  copper  and  glass  and  presents  an  ornate  and 
artistic  appearance.  The  entrance  hall  is  marble,  and  the  principal  feature 
is  the  grand  staircase,  which  is  fifty  feet  square.  This  is  lighted  by  a  large 
skylight  overhead,  and  an  arcade  is  formed  by  arches  on  all  four  sides. 
The  marble  work  of  the  staircase  is  white,  and  the  decoration  is  in  keeping 
with  it.  The  vestibule  is  in  marble  and  mosaic,  and  beyond  this  is  the 
entrance  hall,  which  is  in  marble  with  mosaic  floors  and  ceiling.  The  <?:il- 


•:,  \KiiAL  INFORMATION.  167 


levies  lead  out  from  this  from  either  side,  and  are  entered  through  arched 
opening's.  The  plans  provided  for  the  use  of  hollow  brick  inner  walls  over- 
laid with  one  and  one-half  inch  planks,  covered  with  canvass,  which  allows 
heavy  pictures  to  be  screwed  to  the  walls  where  most  convenient.  The 
building  is  lighted  by  electricity,  and  all  modern  improvements  are  used. 
It  has  been  decided  by  the  Art  Institute  Trustees  not  to  build  the  grand 
staircase  and  central  wing  until  after  the  close  of  the  World's  Fair.  The 
present  staircase  is  a  double  one,  eight  feet  wide,  and  will  furnish  ample 
room.  The  building  stands  as  far  back  from  the  Michigan  ave.  sidewalk  as 
it  <-an  be  placed,  and  furnish  room  for  a  roadway  between  it  and  the  Illinois 
Central  tracks.  The  entrance  to  the  vestibule  is  through  three  arched 
openings.  The  funds  for  the  construction  of  the  Art  Museum  were  derived 
from  three  sources.  The  Art  Institute,  by  the  sale  of  its  old  building  to  the 
Chicago  Club,  realized  $275,000;  the  World's  Fair  Directory  contributed 
$200,000,  and  Charles  L.  Hutchinson,  president  of  the  Art  Institute,  raised 
by  private  subscription  $120,000.  This  makes  a  total  of  $595,000. 

Ashland  Block.  —  Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Clark  and  Randolph  sts.  Planned 
by  Architect  D.  H.  Burnham.  Property  leased  from  A.  G.  Alexander,  of 
Louisville,  Kentucky,  by  R.  A.  Waller,  of  this  city,  and  L.  Broadhead,  of 
Kentucky,  for  a  term  of  years.  This  building  is  sixteen  stories  high,  with 
a  frontage  on  Clark  st.  of  140  feet  and  80  feet  on  Randolph  st.  The  exterior 
is  classical.  The  windows  of  the  lower  stories  are  recessed  and  end  in  an 
arch  at  the  third  story.  The  principal  entrance  is  from  Clark  st.  and  is 
twenty-one  feet  wide.  This  extends  to  a  height  of  two  and  a  half  stories 
and  is  finished  in  terra  cotta  of  a  delicate  design.  The  first  story  has  eight 
stores  on  the  Clark  st.  side  and  three  on  Randolph  st.  The  second  floor 
contains  several  spacious  banking  rooms  17  feet  high  and  the  remaining 
floors  are  divided  into  about  350  offices.  Seven  elevators  are  placed  in  the 
rear  hall  of  the  building.  This  building  was  ready  for  occupancy  in  May, 
1892. 

Athenaeum  Building.—  Location,  18  to  26  Van  Buren  st.  A  magnificent 
structure  erected  for  the  Athenaeum  ("  The  Peoples  College  ").  A  portion 
of  the  building  is  given  up  to  art  studios,  the  Chicago  Society  of  Artists, 
etc.  [See  "  Educational."] 

Athletic  Club  Building.  —  Location,  Michigan  ave.,  between  Madison  and 
Monroe  sts.  The  building  was  just  about  completed  when  afire  very  nearly 
destroyed  it.  It  would  have  been  wholly  destroyed  were  it  not  a  fire-proof 
structure.  As  it  was,  however,  the  walls  and  floors  were  practically  unin- 
jured, although  everything  of  a  combustible  nature  in  the  interior  went  up 
in  smoke.  The  idea  of  organizing  the  Chicago  Athletic  Association  and  pro- 
viding for  it  a  suitable  home  originated  with  one  or  two  of  its  present  mem- 
bers in  January,  1889.  The  object  of  the  association  is  to  encourage  manly 
sports  and  to  promote  physical  culture.  Its  present  membership  is  about 
2,000,  including  many  of  the  leading  business  and  professional  men  of  the 
city.  The  building  was  begun  in  February,  1891  ;  it  contains  the  largest  and 
best  equipped  athletic  club  house  in  the  United  States,  and  its  cost  was  over 
$500,000.  The  ground  upon  which  it  stands  measures  80x172  feet.  The  build- 
ing is  of  a  substantial  character,  with  a  front  of  yellowish  brick  and  gray 
stone  in  Venetian  style,  with  tall  diamond-cut  windows  covering  the  fourth 
and  fifth  floors,  which  are  thrown  into  one  so  as  to  give  ample  height  to  the 
gymnasium.  The  eighth  story  has  balconies  large  enough  to  set  tables  and 
chairs  upon  for  those  who  want  to  enjoy  the  fresh  air  and  the  prospect  upon 
Lake  Michigan.  That  floor  is  used  for  the  dining  rooms.  The  ninth  and 
tenth  stories  have  no  windows,  being  lighted  by  skylights,  as  they  are  set 
apart  for  the  ball  courts.  The  basement  contains  eight  bowling  alleys, 
reaching  under  the  sidewalk  ;  a  shooting  gallery  running  the  whole  depth 
of  the  building;  a  bicycle  storage  room,  with  lockers,  and  connected  by  an 
incline  with  the  bicycle  club  room  on  the  first  floor;  large  storage  and 
repair  rooms  and  the  boilers  and  machinery.  The  first  story  is  reached  by  a 
spacious  vestibule  in  the  center  of  the  front,  with  the  business  office  and 
reception  and  coat  rooms  on  either  side.  A  large  hall  at  the  top  of  the  steps 
opens  into  the  lavatory,  barber  shop  and  dressing  rooms,  back  of  which  are 


168  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

the  Turkish  and  Russian  baths,  a  swimming  tank  measuring  40  by  60  feet, 
and  a  lounging  room.  Another  door  leads  from  the  hall  to  the  bicycle 
clxib  room,  which  has  a  separate  entrance  from  the  street  to  admit 
wheelmen  and  their  machines,  the  object  being  to  make  it  con- 
venient for  bicyclists  to  ride  up  to  the  door  of  the  building,  store  their 
machines,  put  on  their  business  suits  and  leave  their  wheels  there  during 
the  day.  The  second  story  consists  of  a  large  hall  in  front,  with  a  cafe  at 
the  south  end,  separated  by  a  colonnade  and  a  billiard  room  with  six  tables. 
Between  the  two  main  rooms  are  small  apartments  for  the  billiard-markers, 
and  lavatory  and  serving  room.  The  third  floor  contains  a  library  and 
reading  room  at  the  southeast  end,  with  two  club  rooms< adjoining,  lavatory, 
drying  rooms,  linen  room  and  office.  The  rear  half  is*  given  up  to  thirty- 
seven  baths,  with  1,500  lockers  and  106  dressing  rooms.  The  gymnasium 
occupies  the  fourth  and  fifth  stories.  These  rooms  are  used  for  special 
apparatus,  leaving  for  the  gymnasium  proper  a  larger  space  than  is  given 
in  any  other  similar  institution  in  the  country,  The  running  track  is  on  a 
balcony  at  the  height  of  the  fifth  story,  so  as  not  t  o  interfere  with  the  work 
of  gymnasts.  The  length  of  the  track  is  ten  laps  to  the  mile.  The  sixth  and 
seventh  stories  are  occupied  by  bed  rooms,  sixty-six  in  number,  with  the 
necessary  baths  and  other  requisites.  The  eighth  story  is  taken  up  by  din- 
ing rooms,  there  being  one  large  general  dining  room  and  several  private 
rooms,  with  the  store  rooms,  kitchen,  etc.,  in  the  rear.  The  balconies  on 
this  floor  can  be  used  by  dinner  parties.  The  ninth  and  tenth  stories  are 
thrown  into  one  and  contain  two  racquet  courts,  a  tennis  court  and  five 
courts  with  a  parlor  and  marker's  rooms.  Everything  is  finished  with  more 
regard  to  substantiality  than  elegance. 

Auditorium.— Location,  Wabash  ave.  Congress  st.  and  Michigan  blvd., 
within  walking  distance  of  the  principal  hotels,  railroad  stations  and  street 
«?ar  terminals.  Total  street  frontage  on  Wabash  ave.,  Michigan  ave.  and 
Congress  St.,  710  feet;  height  of  main  building  (10  stories),  145  feet;  height 
of  tower  above  main  building  (eight  floors),  95  feet;  height  of  lantern 
towrer  above  main  tower  (two  floors),  30  feet;  total  height,  270  feet.  The 
Auditorium  building  includes:  First— The  Auditorium,  permanent  seat- 
ing capacity  over  4,000;  for  conventions,  etc.  (for  which  the  stage  will 
be  utilized),  about  8,000.  Second— Recital  Hall,  seats  500.  Third— Business 
portion,  consists  of  stores  and  136  offices,  part  of  which  are  in  the  tower. 
Fourth — Tower  Observatory,  to  which  the  public  are  admitted  (25  cents  for 
adults,  15  cents  for  children).  U.  S.  Signal  Service  occupies  part  of  the 
17th,  18th  and  19th  floors  of  the  tower.  These  departments  of  the  building 
are  managed  by  the  Chicago  Auditorium  Association.  Fifth — Auditorium 
Hotel,  has  400  guest  rooms.  The  grand  dining-room  (175  feet  long)  and  the 
kitchen  are  on  the  top  floor.  The  magnificent  banquet  hall  is  built  of  steel, 
on  trusses,  spanning  120  feet  over  the  Aiaditorium.  [See  "  Auditorium 
Hotel."]  The  hotel  is  leased  and  managed  by  the  Auditorium  Hotel  Com- 
pany, J.  H.  Breslin,  of  New  York,  president;  R.  H.  Southgate,  vice-presi- 
dent and  manager. 

AUDITORIUM  ENTRANCE.— The  Auditorium  has  several  entrances,  but  the 
main  one  is  on  Congress  st.  The  arches  spring  from  four  marble 
columns,  whose  immense  size  is  lost  sight  of  in  the  general  effect.  Passing 
through  the  bronze  doors  the  spectator  finds  himself  in  a  court  whose 
beauties  compare  with  anything  in  the  building.  Marble,  bronze  carvings, 
stained  glass  and  gold  have  been  fashioned  into  a  design  worthy  of  the 
structure  of  which  it  forms  a  part.  The  floor  is  inlaid  in  marble  mosaic 
work  of  intricate  designs.  Huge  polished  shafts  of  glittering  marble  are 
set  off  by  carvings  and  bronzes.  A  thousand  people  are  easily  accommo- 
dated in  it. 

AUDITORIUM  LOBBY. — The  first  adequate  idea  of  the  grandeur  of  the  Audi- 
torium and  the  general  style  of  its  decorations  is  obtained  on  entering  the 
lobby.  Here  is  in  itself  a  vast  hall,  with  a  score  of  polished  marble  columns 
supporting  arches,  which  form  a  fine  perspective.  The  floor  is  marble 
mosaic  worked  into  complicated  designs.  An  examination  of  this  floor  and 
a  knowledge  of  the  seemingly  endless  labor  required  to  lay  it  is  instructive 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

A.    H.    ANDREWS    &    CO.,    215    WABASH    AVE. 

[See  "Western  1<dustry."] 


170  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

as  showing  the  magnitude  of  the  work.  For  the  first  time  in  the  United 
States  the  mosaic  has  been  introduced  on  a  large  scale.  Those  who  have 
admired  the  results  attained  in  the  Rookery  building  will  know  what  to 
expect  from  the  Auditorium.  No  more  daring  thing  was  ever  attempted  in 
decorations.  There  was  but  one  precedent.  The  lobby  shows  it  to  advan- 
tage, although  the  effect  is  modified  by  the  more  brilliant  colors  of  the  mar- 
bles. Some  of  the  finest  marble  ever  brought  to  the  United  States  is  utilized 
in  the  construction  of  the  grand  staircases  which  open  from  the  right  side  of 
the  lobby.  The  most  exacting  care  was  taken  in  the  selection  of  this  mar- 
ble. Every  slab  is  a  painting  in  itself.  The  grand  staircase  is  marble, 
mahogany,  bronze  and  gold.  It  is  one  of  the  finest  examples  of  skill  in  the 
United  States.  The  lobby  is  plain  but  none  the  less  beautiful.  The  solid 
ivory  color  of  the  walls  is  kept  from  becoming  monotonous  by  the  use  of  a 
limited  amount  of  gold  leaf.  The  general  impression  is  one  of  vastness  an  ! 
anticipation.  Five  entrances  lead  from  the  lobby  to  the  parquet.  The  grand 
staircase  leads  to  the  foyer,  from  which  point  probably  the  best  general  view 
of  the  hall  can  be  had. 

AUDITORIUM  RECITAL  HALL. — Recital  Hall  is  finished  in  ivory  and  gold, 
and  the  decorations  are  fully  up  to  the  high  standard  fixed  in  the  Auditorium. 
This  hall  is  used  for  rehearsals,  concerts,  lectures,  etc.  Within  the  hall  are 
500  seats,  though  at  first  sight  the  impression  is  that  there  are  not  half  that 
number.  The  sky-light  is  a  pretty  piece  of  work,  in  which  the  stained  glass 
artist  is  seen  at  his  best.  The  shafts  are  decorated  in  gold  ornaments,  and 
in  all  the  room  not  a  line  foils. 

THE  AUDITORIUM.— The  designers  were  not  hampered  for  lack  of  room. 
Their  instructions  were  to  make  a  perfect  opera  house,  and  neither  time  nor 
money  was  spared  in  the  work.  The  distinguishing  triumph  attained  was 
the  designing  of  a  grand  opera  house  with  every  facility  for  entrance  and 
exit.  Eight  thousand  people  can  enter  and  leave  the  building  in  five  min- 
utes. There  are  fourty-four  figures  in  the  proscenium  arch-painting,  and 
every  one  of  them  is  worthy  p,f  an  hour's  study.  The  two  mural  paintings 
are  companion  pieces,  and  help  to  convey  to  the  visitors  the  inspiration  of 
the  artist.  In  the  mural 'paintings,  attempt  has  been  made  to  symbolize 
what  is  poetic  in  e very-day  life ;  the  proscenium  group  or  procession  is  alle- 
gorical, but  not  in  the  line  of  the  hackneyed  subjects  generally  introduced 
in  works  of  the  kind.  Next  to  the  proscenium  arch  the  two  mural  paintings, 
which  fill  the  grand  arches  on  opposite  sides  of  the  opera  house,  form  the 
finest  decorative  features  of  the  Auditorium.  The  two  paintings  conform  to 
the  sentiments  of  the  work  above  the  proscenium;  they  are  twenty-four 
feet  wide  at  the  base  and  twenty  and  a  half  feet  in  height.  On  the  south 
wall  is  "Spring,"  the  morning  of  life.  Below  the  painting  is  the  inscription: 

"Oh,  soft,  melodious  springtime, 

First-born  of  life  and  love." 
On  the  north  wall  is  "  Autumn  and  Winter,"  the  decadence  of  life. 

"  A  great  life  has  passed  into  the  tomb, 
"    And  there  awaits  the  requiem  of  winter's  snow." 

The  stairs  which  lead  into  the  foyer  are  worthy  of  mention.  Massive 
columns  of  marble  stand  on  either  side  of  a  broad  stairway  formed  of  mar- 
ble, bronze  and  rosewood.  The  floor  of  the  foyer  is  laid  in  Italian  mosaic 
work,  which  glows  like  precious  stones  under  the  hand  of  the  polisher.  The 
forty  boxes  are  finished  in  plush  and  silk.  The  drop  curtain,  with  its  hun- 
dreds of  yards  of  satin  and  plush  and  the  beautiful  gold  effect  s  produced 
thereon.  [See  "Auditorium  Theatre."] 

TOWER,  THE  AUDITORIUM. — On  clear,  pleasant  days  the  visitor  can  obtain 
a  magnificent  and  comprehensive  view  of  Chicago  and  its  environs  by  tak- 
ing a  trip  to  the  Auditorium  tower.  From  this  point  the  outlines  of  three 
states  skirting  on  Lake  Michigan  are  visible— Illinois,  Indiana  and  Mich- 
igan. Michigan  City  is  plainly  discernible  to  the  southeast  when  the 
atmosphere  is  clear.  South  Chicago,  with  its  immense  rolling  mills,  seems 
Close  at  hand.  To  the  north,  Gracelapd  and  Rose  Hill  cemeteries,  the  beaxj' 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  171 

tiful  suburban  villages  which  dot  the  north  shore,  and  Evanston,  with  its 
.University  group,  are  plainly  seen.  In  the  summer  season  Lake  Michigan, 
stretching  out  before,  you  presents  an  animated  appearance.  To  the  left, 
almost  at  your  feet,  is  the  mouth  of  the  Chicago  river,  from  which  or  toward 
which  propellers,  schooners  and  excursion  boats  are  constantly  moving. 
Fare  to  top  of  tower,  25  cents.  Take  elevator  at  Congress  street  entrance  to 
the  Auditorium.  Telescopes  are  furnished  free  to  visitors.  [For  other 
information  concerning  the  Auditorium,  see  "The  Guide,"  fifth  day.] 

Auditorium  Annex  or  Congress  Hotel.— Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Mich- 
igan blvd.  and  Congress  St.;  10  stories  high;  little  exterior  ornamentation. 
The  exterior  features  are  three  round  corner  bays,  running  up  through  the 
building  and  the  heavy  overhanging  cornice.  There  are  two  immediate 
bays  on  the  Michigan  ave.  front  and  four  on  the  Congress  st.  front.  The 
building  resembles  the  Lexington  hotel  at  Michigan  blvd.  and  Twenty-sec- 
ond st.  Two  entrances  open  from  the  Michigan  ave.  side.  The  main 
entrance  opens  into  a  lobby  which  is  located  in  the  center  of  the  building 
under  a  light  court  60x80  feet.  The  steam  heating  and  electric  lighting 
plants  are  in  a  building  partially  detached  from  the  main  structure.  It  is 
on  the  south  line  of  the  property  on  a  lot  which  will  be  left  unimproved  to 
give  air  and  light.  A  marble-lined  tunnel  beneath  Congress  st.  connects 
this  building  with  the  Auditorium  hotel.  [See  "  Hotels."] 

Ayers  Building. — Location,  166  to  172  State  st.  Stores  beneath;  business 
and  professional  offices  above.  A  handsome  business  block. 

Board  of  Trade  Building.—  Location,  foot  of  La  Salle  st.,  between 
Pacific  ave.  and  Sherman  st.  The  immense  size  and  architectural  beauty 
of  the  structure  will  attract  the  stranger's  attention.  It  covers  an  area  of 
200  by  174  feet,  and  is  built  of  gray  granite.  The  beautiful  front  is  sur- 
mounted by  a  tower  which  tapers  to  a  pinnacle  322  feet  above  the  pave- 
ment. On  the  top  of  this  tower  is  the  largest  weather-vane  in  the  world,  a 
lake  schooner  15  feet  in  length,  with  rigging  in  proportion.  From  the 
street  belo-vv  it  does  not  appear  to  be  a  fifth  of  this  size.  Visitors  are 
admitted  to  the  tower,  from  which  a  grand  bird's  eye  view  of  the  city  and 
the  lake  may  be  obtained.  On  the  first  floor  are  settling  rooms,  private 
offices,  telegraph  offices,  etc.  Above  these  is  a  great  exchange  hall,  the 
dimensions  of  which  are  174  by  155  feet.  Some  idea  of  the  vastness  of  this 
room  may  be  obtained  from  the  knowledge  that  one  of  the  largest  five-story 
blocks  in  the  city  could  be  accommodated  within  it.  The  interior  decora- 
tions are  elegant.  There  are  two  galleries,  one  for  the  public  and  one  for 
invited  guests.  Admission  to  the  former  may  be  gained  within  business 
hours.  From  this  gallery  a  perfect  view  may  be  had  of  the  operations  on  the 
floor,  operations  which  it  would  be  impossible  to  describe  and  impossible  for 
the  average  visitor  to  understand.  Admission  to  the  floor  is  granted  only  on 
rare  occasions,  and  by  the  secretary  of  the  Board  of  Trade.  The  rear  por- 
tion of  the  building  is  given  over  to  offices. 

Boyce  Building. — Location,  adjoining  the  University  Club  building,  on 
the  west  side  of  Dearborn  st.,  between  Washington  and  Randolph  sts.  This 
structure  replaces  the  old  Stewart-Bentley  building  which  was  built  soon 
after  the  fire,  and  was  torn  down  to  make  room  for  the  new  improvement. 
The  ground  covered  is  40x90  feet.  The  building  is  of  handsome  appearance 
and  is  lighted  from  three  sides.  It  is  surmounted  by  a  high  gabled  roof,  a 
feature  rather  unusual  in  office  buildings,  although  adopted  by  the  architect 
of  the  beautiful  Herald  building.  This  building  cost  $250,000.  It  is  of  steel 
construction  with  a  front  of  brick,  terra  cotta  and  plate  glass.  Five  floors 
are  occupied  by  the  Boyce  Publishing  house.  The  remainder  are  divided 
into  offices. 

Brother  Jonathan  Building. — Location,  2  Sherman  st.,  opposite  Board  of 
Trade.  A  lofty  office  building  of  the  class  erected  in  this  vicinity,  after 
removal  of  Board  of  Trade.  A  fine  structure,  but  lacking  in  the  more  costly 
finish  of  many  recently  erected  office  buildings. 

Bryan  Block.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  of  La  Salle  and  Monroe  sts.  An  old 
fashioned  but  prominent  office  building.  Occupied  principally  by  insurance 
agencies.  To  be  torn  down. 


172  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Calumet  Building. — Location,  La  Salle,  between  Monroe  and  Adams  sts. 
One  of  the  first  of  the  great  office  buildings  erected  in  the  Board  of  Trn.de 
district.  Massive  but  not  as  elegantly  finished  as  its  neighbors. 

Caxton  Building. — Location,  west  side  of  Dearborn  near  Harrison  st., 
a  beautiful  office  building,  occupied  by  printers,  publishers,  etc. 

Central  Manufacturing  Block.— Location,  Market  st.  between  Madison 
and  Washington  sts.  A  great  building  occupied  by  small  manufacturers. 

Central  Music  Hall  Building. — Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  State  and  Randolph 
sts. ;  erected  in  1879  by  a  stock  company,  its  list  of  stockholders  comprising 
many  of  the  wealthiest  and  best  known  citizens  in  Chicago.  Its  object  was 
"  to  promote  religious,  educational  and  musical  purposes,  the  culture  of 
the  arts,  and  to  provide  for  public  amusements  and  entertainments."  The 
leader  in  this  then  novel  enterprise  was  its  first  manager,  the  late  George 
B.  Carpenter,  whose  rare  taste  and  judgment,  as  well  as  his  experience  and 
success  as  a  manager,  well  qualified  him  for  the  task  to  which  he  devoted 
so  much  time  and  thought.  The  architect  chosen  to  embody  these  ideas  in 
plans  for  tho  building  was  Mr.  D.  Adler,  senior  member  of  the  present  firm 
of  Adler  &  Sullivan,  and  so  admirably  adapted  was  the  construction  of  the 
building  for  the  purposes  of  its  erection,  it  immediately  became  widely 
known  for  its  high  standard  of  excellence,  and  has  maintained  its  popular 
favor.  It  has  a  frontage  of  125  feet  on  State  st.  and  150  feet  on  Randolph 
st.,  its  central  location  rendering  it  easily  accessible  from  all  parts  of  the 
city.  It  is  built  of  grey  cut  stone,  has  a  wide  and  massive  entrance  of 
white  marble,  is  six  stories  in  height,  and  contains,  besides  the  large  audi- 
torium from  which  the  building  derives  its  name,  a  small  recital  hall  known 
as  Apollo  Hall,  twelve  stores,  seventy  offices.  [See  "Amusements."] 

Central  Union  Block.—  Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Madison  and  Market  sts. 
extending  to  the  river.  Built  for  the  accommodation  of  light  factories,  man- 
ufacturers, agents,  etc. 

Chamber  of  Commerce  Building.— Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  La  Salle  and 
Washington  sts.;  thirteen  stories  high;  cost,  with  ground,  $1,650,000.  This 
is  one  of  the  most  elegantly  fitted  and  arranged  office  buildings  in  the  city. 
The  floors  all  open  on  to  an  interior  court,  and  the  entire  building  inside  is 
flooded  with  light  from  the  roof.  It  is  unique  in  design,  beautiful  in  con- 
struction. A  full  description  is  given  in  the  "  guide  "  department  of  this 
book. 

Chemical  Bank  Building. — Location,  east  side  of  Dearborn  between 
Washington  and  Randolph  sts.  An  elegant  structure  occupied  by  Greene- 
baum  &  Sons,  bankers,  and  office  tenants.  Owned  by  the  Abstract  Safety 
Vault  Co. 

Cisco  Building.— Location,  84  Washington  st.  A  handsome  office  struct- 
ure. 

Citizens  Bank  Building.— Location,  119  and  121  La  Salle  st.  A  remodeled 
structure. 

City  Hall. — Location,  Washington,  La  Salle  and  Randolph  sts.,  adjoining 
the  Court  House,  and  connected  with  it  by  arcades.  Constructed,  like  the 
Court  House,  on  the  French  renaissance  style  of  architecture.  Constructed 
of  massive  blocks  of  Bedford  stone,  relieved  on  the  exterior  by  plain  col- 
umns of  polished  granite.  The  main  entrance,  on  La  Salle  st.,  is  very  elab- 
orate. The  fault  found  with  this  structure,  as  well  as  with  the  Court  House, 
is  that  it  is  too  heavy  in  construction ;  the  walls  are  so  deep  as  to  prevent 
reception  of  sunlight,  and  a  dark  interior  is  the  result.  The  interior  is 
finished  in  marble;  the  great  staircases  are  of  steel;  the  floor  of  marble 
tiling.  Here  are  located  the  offices  of  the  mayor  and  superintendents  and 
chiefs  of  the  various  city  departments  and  bureaus.  [See  "Court  House.'' 
also  "Guide."] 

Cobb's  Building. — Location,  120  to  128  Deai'born.  An  office  structure  of 
the  flre  period. 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

TITLE  AND  TRUST  BUILDING.      MEAD  &  COE,  ACTS. 

[See   Page    196,   and    "Mead    &    Coe."] 


174  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

Columbus  Memorial  Building.—  Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  State  and  Washington 
sts.  Fourteen  stories  high.  Building  and  groiind  valued  at  $2,000,000.  Two 
floors  are  contained  in  the  ornamental  space  above  the  cornice.  The  build- 
ing covers  a  frontage  of  100  feet  on  State  st.  and  90  feet  on  Washington  st. 
It  is  a  mercantile  and  office  building  combined,  and  at  the  same  time  a  work 
of  the  highest  art.  W.  W.  Boyington,  architect.  Some  of  the  features  of 
this  beautiful  structure  are  unique,  and  all  are  attractive.  On  the  top  of 
the  structure  is  a  glass  globe,  six  feet  in  diameter,  with  the  outlines  of  two 
continents  worked  upon  it  in  colors.  From  sunset  to  sunrise  inside  that 
globe  a  10,000  candle-power  electric  light  burns  at  an  elevation  of  250  feet,  a 
beaco  n  light  that  can  be  seen  in  clear  weather  at  a  distance  of 'fifty  miles  or 
more  Two  beautiful  mosaics,  made  in  Venice  expi*essly  for  this  building, 
orr^y  be  seen  in  the  rear  of  the  two  State  st.  stores.  Each  is  nearly  the  width 
of  the  store  and  is  20  feet  in  height.  One  of  the  designs  represents  the  dis- 
embarkation of  the  discoverer  in  the  new  world,  and  the  other  his  reception 
at  the  court  of  Barcelona  after  his  return.  These  mosiacs  are  pronounced 
by  critics  to  be  magnificently  executed.  The  decorations  of  the  entire  build- 
ing are  elaborate  and  mostly  in  mosiac.  The  main  entrance  is  the  most 
beautiful  of  any  Chicago  building.  The  m6saic  work  is  in  designs  allegori- 
cal of  the  life  of  the  great  discoverer,  all  drawn  expressly  for  this  building. 

Commerce  Building. — Location,  10  Pacific  ave.  One  of  the  great  office 
buildings  peculiar  to  the  Board  of  Trade  district. 

Commercial  Building.— Location,  14  and  16  Pacific  ave.  One  of  the  Board 
of  Trade  group  of  high  office  buildings. 

Commercial  National  Bank  Building. — Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Dearborn  and 
Monroe  sts.  A  beautiful  bank  and  office  building.  [See  "Guide."] 

Como  Building.— Location,  325  Dearborn  st.     A  modern  office  building. 

Corbin  Building^ — Location,  Fifty-first  st.  and  Cottage  Grove  ave. 
Eight  stories  and  basement ;  cost,  $200,000. 

Counselman  Building.— Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Jackson  and  La  Salle  sts., 
opposite  Board  of  Trade.  One  of  the  Board  of  Trade  group  of  high  build- 
ings. 

Court  House. — Location,  Washington,  Clark  and  Randolph  sts.  Designed 
in  French  renaissance  style  of  architecture.  Basement  and  first  story  of 
massive  sand-stone  blocks.  The  front  is  cf  cut  Bedford  stone,  relieved  by 
massive  columns  of  polished  granite,  which  gives  to  the  exterior  a  classic 
appearance.  Heavy  stone  cornices  overhang  each  story.  The  ornamental 
work  is  massive  also,  and  harmonizes  with  the  immense  size  of  the  build- 
ing. The  interior  is  finished  in  polished  granite  and  marble.  The  offices 
and  court  rooms  in  the  building  are  finished  in  hardwood.  Marble  tile 
flooring  is  used  throughout.  The  depth  of  the  massive  walls  prevents  the 
reception  of  sunlight,  as  in  the  newer  structures  of  the  city.  Electricity 
is  used  for  illumination.  Here  are  located  all  of  the  civil  courts  of  the 
county,  the  sheriff's  office,  treasurers  office,  clerk's  office,  etc.  [See 
"Guide."] 

Criminal  Court  Building.— Located,  on  the  north  side  of  Michigan  st. 
between  Clark  st.  and  Dearborn  ave.  The  new  building  covers  the  site 
formerly  occupied  by  the  North  Town  Market  and  latterly  by  the  old  crimi- 
nul  court  building,  razed  to  make  room  for  the  present  structure.  The 
building  has  a  frontage  of  204  feet  on  Michigan  st.  by  75  feet  on  Dearborn  ave. 
It  rests  on  a  foundation  of  Streesville  cement,  and  is  seven  stories 
high.  The  facade  of  the  first  two  stories  is  of  Bedford  stone,  and  the 
remaining  five  stories  are  buff  in  color  and  of  the  same  material,  all  rock- 
faced.  The  main  entrance  is  through  a  twenty-foot  massive  archway 
extending  through  two  stories  and  handsomely  and  elaborately  carved  in 
stone.  The  interior  of  the  building  is  constructed  of  steel  beams  and  tile 
archways  and  partitions  supported  and  encased  by  columns  finished  in 
scagliola,  treated  to  represent  marble.  The  corridors  are  finished  in  mosaic 
and  wainscoted  with  select  marble.  The  building  has  three  general  pas- 
senger elevators  and  one  private  elevator  for  prisoners.  The  basement  is 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  175 

18  feet  high  and  contains  a  battery  of  five  boilers,  engine  and  dynamo  rooms 
and  two  large  storage  vaults.  Here  are  also  toilet  rooms  for  general  use. 
The  first  floor  contains  rooms  of  the  state's  attorney,  clerk  of  the  criminal 
court  and  sheriff's  offices,all  provided  with  large  vaults.  The  five  upper  stories 
are  divided  into  ten  court  rooms,  each  48  feet  square,  with  light  and  air 
from  two  sides;  thirteen  jury  rooms;  ten  waiting  rooms;  ten  judge's  rooms; 
ten  clerk's  rooms  and  ten  large  vaults,  besides  twelve  large  offices  for  gen- 
eral purposes,  all  provided  with  ample  toilet  rooms  and  conveniences.  At 
the  top  of  the  structure  is  a  large  Grand  Jury  room  with  ante-rooms  for 
witnesses.  The  first  criminal  court  building  erected  upon  the  site  was 
destroyed  by  the  gi-eat  fire  of  1871.  Immediately  afterward  the  jail  was 
repaired  for  tempoi-ary  use.  In  December,  1871,  the  Committee  on  City 
Relations  from  the  Board  of  County  Commissioners  held  several  consulta- 
tions on  the  subject  of  the  site  for  the  jail  and  criminal  court  with  the 
mayor  and  corporation  counsel  and  city  council.  After  an  exchange  of 
opinions,  it  was  decided  that  the  structure  was  to  be  placed  on  the  site 
occupied  by  the  old  market  hall,  which  the  city  would  donate  on  thepondi 
tion  that  the  building  should  be  completed  within  a  reasonable  time  and 
never  be  used  for  any  piirpose  other  than  the  one  contemplated ;  the  prop- 
erty to  revert  to  the  city  if  it  was  not  so  used.  Owners  of  adjacent  property 
sold  their  frontage  at  $300  per  foot  on  Dearborn  ave.  and  $250  per  foot  for 
inside  lots,  the  whole  space  occupied  being  280x100  feet,  which  together  with 
the  lot  appropriated  by  the  city  would  give  the  county  a  plot  of  ground 
including  the  10-foot  alley,  of  280x210  feet.  It  was  the  opinion,  at  the  time, 
that  a  building  could  be  constructed  on  this  land  which  would  meet  the 
demands  upon  it  for  all  time  to  come.  The  building  was  ready  for  occu- 
pancy in  May,  1872,  and  on  the  8th  day  of  that  month  prisoners  numbering 
103  were  taken  from  the  old  jail,  among  the  ruins  of  the  court  house,  to  the 
new  jail  on  Michigan  st.  Here  the  anarchists  were  hanged  in  November  of 
1887. 

Daily  News  Building. — Main  building  fronts  on  Calhoun  pi.,  and  was 
constructed  with  special  reference  to  the  needs  of  the  Daily  News  and 
Morning  Record 'newspapers.  The  building  has  a  plain  exterior,  but  the 
interior  is  fitted  up  with  all  the  modern  improvements.  The  press-room  is 
one  of  the  finest  in  the  country,  and  the  composing  and  mailing  rooms  rank 
equally  high.  The  editorial  rooms  are  arranged  principally  with  a  view  to 
convenience.  Main  entrance  through  beautiful  counting  room,  123  Fifth 
ave.  [See  "  Newspapers."] 

Dakota  Hotel  Building. — Location,  Thirtieth  st.  and  Michigan  blvd.  Ten 
stories  high.  Cost  $750,000.  A  magnificent  structure. 

De  Sofa  Block.— Location,  144  to  146  Madison  st.  One  of  the  fire  period 
business  structures. 

Dexter  Building. — Location,  near  corner  of  Adams  and  Dearborn  sts. 
Eight  stories  high.  Cost  $150,000. 

Drexel  Building.—  Location,  80  and  82  Adams  st.    A  handsome  structure. 

Donahue  &  Henneberry  Building.—  Location,  east  side  of  Dearborn,  near 
Polk  st.  One  of  the  greatest  printing  and  publishing  structures  in  the  world. 
Erected  by  Donohue  &  Hennebery,  writh  special  reference  to  their  press, 
composition,  binding  and  book  publishing  business.  [See  "Guide."] 

Ellsworth  Building. — Located  on  the  east  side  of  Dearborn  st.,  near  Har- 
rison ;  a  fourteen-story  structure.    It  fronts  on  Dearborn  st.  and  Plymouth 
Kl.,  (formerly  Third  ave.).    The  lower  floors  are  faced  with  massive  granite 
locks;  the  remainder  with  pressed  brick  and  terra  cotta.     The  building 
is  of  modern  steel  construction,   the   walls  on  either    side  being    merely 
shells.    The  structure  has  entrances  on  Dearborn  st.  and  Plymouth  pi.  and 
is  designed  to  meet  the  demands  of  the  publishing  center.    No  power,  how- 
ever, will  be  used  in  the  building. 

Ely  Building. — Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Wabash  ave.  and  Monroe  st.  A  beau- 
tiful structure  erected  and  occupied  by  Ely,  the  fashionable  tailor. 

Equitable  Building. — Location,  106  to  110  Dearborn  st.  A  well-known 
office  structure;  to  be  remodeled. 


176  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Evening  Post  Building.— Location,  south  side  of  Washington  St.,  near 
Fifth  ave.  A  building  of  the  fire  period  remodelled  to  meet  the  necessities 
of  a  newspaper  publication  house.  A  large  portion  of  the  building,  which 
stretches  back  to  the  alley,  is  used  by  the  Evening  Post,  but  several  of 
the  front  floors  are  fitted  up  for  offices.  Good  light,  Ventilation  and  eleva- 
tor service.  [See  "Newspapers."] 

Exchange  B uilding.— Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Van  Buren  st.  and  Pacific  ave. 
A  great  office  structure. 

First  National  Bank  Building.— Location,  N.W.  Cor.Dearborn  and  Monroe 
sts.  Cost,  $500,000.  First  floor  occupied  by  First  National  bank,  rest  of  floors 
by  office  tenants.  One  of  the  most  solid  looking  structures  in  the  city. 
[See  "Guide."] 

Fullerton  Block.— Location,  90  to  96  Dearborn  st.  One  of  the  fire  period 
office  structures. 

Gaff  Building.— ~Loea,tion,  La  Salle  st.,  west  side,  south  of  Adams  st. 
notable  for  its  narrow  frontage  and  great  height.  One  of  the  lofty  office 
buildings  of  the  Board  of  Trade  district. 

Gillespie  Building.— location,  331  and  333  Dearborn  st.  A  handsome  12 
story  office  structure.  Cost,  $350,000. 

Grand  Pacific  Hotel  Building.— Location,  La  Salle,  Jackson,  Clark  and 
Quincy  sts.,  an  entire  block,  near  Board  of  Trade.  The  Clark  st.  front  faces 
the  general  postoffice.  The  La  Salle  st.  front  faces  some  of  the  immense 
office  buildings  in  the  Board  of  Trade  center.  The  main  entrances  are  on 
La  Salle  and  Clark  sts.  The  ladies'  entrance  is  on  Jackson  st.  This  build- 
ing was  scarcely  completed  in  1871  when  the  great  fire  swept  it  out  of  exist- 
ence in  a  single  night,  although  its  construction  was  almost  wholly  of  iron, 
stone  and  glass.  It  was  immediately  rebuilt  and  opened  to  guests  in  June, 
1873.  Although  acknowledged  to  be  one  of  the  finest  hotels  in  the  world 
when  completed,  it  has  undergone  many  improvements  since  then. 

Great  Northern  Hotel  Building.  —  Location,  Dearborn,  Jackson  and 
Quincy  sts.,  facing  Custom-house  and  postoffice.  A  magnificent  fourteen- 
story  structure,  constructed  on  the  steel-frame  principle,  the  first  of 
the  kind  ever  erected  here  for  hotel-purposes.  The  three  fronts  of  the 
building  are  relieved  by  bay  windows.  The  great  height  and  massive  con- 
struction of  the  building  makes  it  a  notable  one.  It  is  fire-proof,  being 
constructed  entirely  of  steel,  tiling,  fire-brick  and  granite.  The  interior  is 
elegant,  marble  being  freely  used  in  wainscoting,  etc.  The  visitor  will  be 
impressed  with  the  rotunda.  The  barber  shop  is  palatial. 

Groveland  Building.  Location,  Thirty-First  st.  and  Groveland  ave. 
Eight  stories.  Cost,  $300,000. 

Harding  Building. — Location,  south  side  of  Madison,  between  LaSalle 
st.  and  Fifth  ave.  A  remodelled  structure,  occupied  as  store  and  printing 
offices. 

Hartford  Building.— "Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Madison  sts.,  one 
of  the  busiest  street  intersections  in  the  city.  On  this  corner  a  magnificent 
structure  was  erected  immediately  after  the  great  flre  of  1871.  It  was 
architecturally  ornate  and  presented  many  features  which  made  it  in  its 
exterior  pleasing  to  the  eye.  The  facade  was  relieved  here  and  there  by 
beautiful  ornamentation  and  statuary.  It  was  of  the  old  pattern,  however, 
the  first  story  being  raised  above  the  sidewalk.  Like  many  others  of  this 
character,  it  had  to  make  way  before  its  time  for  a  mammoth  office  struct- 
ure. The  old  building  would  have  been  an  ornament  to  any  city.  It  is 
spoken  of  as  old,  whereas  at  the  time  of  its  destruction  it  had  not  lived 
through  twenty  years.  The  first  story  of  the  Hartford  is  of  stone,  and  the 
remainder  of  the  fourteen  stories  of  terra  cotta.  It  cost  over  $600,000.  The 
first  floor  was  rented  before  the  foundations  were  laid,  for  $60,000  per 
annum.  It  is  the  property  of  the  Hartford  Safety  Deposit  Co.  Its  architect 
was  Henry  Ives  Cobb.  Here  is  located  the  Chemical  National  Bank. 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

J.  FRIEDMAN  &  GO'S   BUILDING. 

[See  "Western  Industry."] 


178  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

Haymarket  Building.— Location,  north  side  of  W.  Madison  near  Halsted 
st.  A  handsome  business  block,  in  which  the  Haymarket  Theatre  is 
located. 

Herald  Building.— Location,  154,  156  and  158  Washington  st.,  between  La 
Salle  st.  and  Fifth  ave.  There  is  probably  not  another  building-  devoted  to 
the  publication  of  a  newspaper  in  the  world  equalling  it  in  magnificence, 
and  certainly  there  is  none  other  in  which  so  much  attention  has  been 
given  to  completeness  of  detail.  On  entering  the  imposing  counting  room, 
visitors  will  at  once  notice  the  fine  .Italian  stone  mosaic  with  which  the 
floor  is  hand  inlaid,  the  counter  of  black  Belgian  marble,  surmounted  with 
black  iron,  wrought  in  graceful  designs,  and  the  sixteen  columns  of  genuine 
Sienna  marble ;  also  the  Italian  marble  wainscoting.  They  will  also  be  inter- 
ested in  the  working  of  the  automatic  tubes,  which  convey  advertising  mat- 
ter to  the  composing  room  and  news  matter  to  the  editorial  floor.  Passing 
four  long  distance  telephones,  entrance  is  had  to  the  visitor's  gallery,  over- 
looking ten  Titanic  presses.  Next  in  point  of  interest  is  the  composing 
room,  to  which  the  visitor  ascends  in  either  of  the  two  elevators,  framed  in 
hand  wrought  iron,  and  which  travel  up  a  shaft  walled  from  top  to  bottom 
with  the  finest  Italian  marble.  The  walls  of  the  composing  room  are  white 
enameled,  and  it  is  finished  throughout  in  marble,  iron  and  oak.  Even  the 
type  stands  are  of  iron,  with  the  monogram  of  The  Herald  wrought  in  gold 
in  each,  and  there  are  cases  for  180  men  on  straight  composition,  to  say 
nothing  of  those  employed  on  advertising  copy.  Electric  calls  at  each 
case  connect  with  the  copy-box,  in  the  front  of  which  is  a  perforated  peg 
rack  where  are  assorted  slugs,  numbered  on  both  sides  for  every  composi- 
tor, and  by  which  the  copy  cutter  tells  at  a  glance  what  and  how  many  men 
are  working  on  "time"  copy.  An  aerial  railway  takes  advertising  copy  from 
the  copy  box  to  the  "  ad  "  department,  and  the  proof  from  thence  to  the 
proof-readers.  Electric  call  speaking  tubes  connect  the  principal  depart- 
ments of  the  "building.  The  foreman's  office  is  on  an  elevated  platform, 
from  which  he  can  survey  his  entire  force.  Every  compositor  has  a 
clothes  locker,  and  the  marble  closets  are  unsurpassed  in  elegance  by 
those  of  any  hotel.  Filtered  ice  water,  with  a  solid  silver,  gold-lined 
drinking  cup,  a  restaurant  finished  in  marble  and  oak  and  provided 
with  reading  tables  and  library,  are  other  provisions  for  the  com- 
positors. Four  hundred  electric  lights  illuminate  this  department, 
adjoining  which  is  the  stereotyping  room  with  its  two-ton  metal  pot, 
improved  mailing  machine,  matrix  drying  and  matrix  trimming  machines. 
A  turkish  bath- and  marble- walled  toilet  room  is  one  of  the  luxuries  afforded 
to  the  workers  in  this  room. 

The  editorial  rooms  occupy  the  fourth  and  fifth  floors.  An  electric  call 
on  the  desk  of  each  reporter  connects  with  the  city  editor's  desk,  and  electric 
call  speaking  tube  connections  communicate  with  the  principals  through- 
out the  building.  The  editorial  rooms  cluster  around  a  commodious  library, 
and  in  the  telegraph  room  specially  designed  desks  enclose  typewriters 
and  instruments  for  twelve  operators.  The  art  department  contains  a 
photo-engraving  plant,  complete  in  every  detail,  and  run  by  electric  motors. 
The  appartrrtents  of  the  publisher  of  The  Herald  are  probably  the  most 
luxurious  offices  in  the  world.  Telegraphic  instruments  of  sterling  silver, 
for  his  especial  use,  connect  with  all  the  wires  operated  by  The  National 
Associated  Press,  as  well  as  those  used  by  The  Herald ;  the  electric  call 
speaking  tubes  are  of  silver,  as  also  are  the  electric  light  fittings.  The 
timbered  ceilings,  the  seven  foot  wainscoting,  and  all  the  furnishings  of 
the  room  are  of  solid  mahogany,  and  the  walls  above  the  wainscoting 
are  encrusted  with  matrices  of  The  Herald.  In  the  ante-room  is  a  long 
distance,  portable  desk  telephone,  which  is  the  most  complete  instrument  of 
its  kind  ever  made. 

Home  Insurance  Building. — Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  LaSalle  and  Adams  sts. 
Eleven  stories  high.  One  of  the  most  beautiful  of  the  office  buildings.  The 
grand  entrance  on  LaSalle  st.  is  one  of  peerless  beauty— a  veritable  marble 
hall,  and  a  portal  such  as  no  palace  in  Europe  can  boast  of.  The  entire 
building  from  the  first  to  the  eleventh  floor  is  wainscoted  in  Italian  marble 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  179 

of  the  finest  vein,  and  is  beautifully  matched  and  polished.  Here  is  located' 
the  Union  National  Bank. 

Honore  Building.— New  Marquette  Hotel.  Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  of  Dear- 
born and  Adams  sts.  Erected  by  H.  H.  Honore  after  the  great  fire.  [See 
"Guide."] 

Hospital  Buildings. — The  hospital  buildings  of  Chicago  are  with  few 
exceptions  magnificient  piles.  Among  the  most  noted  are  the  County  Hos- 
pital, Wood  st.,  near  Ogden  ave. ;  Mercy  Hospital,  Twenty-sixth  st.  and 
Calumet  ave.;  Presbyterian  Hospital,  near  County  Hospital;  St.  Joseph 
Hospital,  Garfield  ave.  and  Burling  st. ;  Marine  Hospital,  W.  Halsted  near 
Graceland  ave. ;  Illinois  Childrens'  Eye  and  Ear  Infirmary,  227  W.  Adams; 
Michael  Reese  Hospital,  Twenty-ninth  st.  and  Groveland  ave.;  St.  Lukes, 
1420  Indiana  ave.;  Woman's  Hospital,  Thirty-second  st.  and  Rhodes  ave. 
[See  "Hospitals.'*] 

Hotel  Buildings.— Many  of  the  hotel  buildings  of  Chicago  are  among  the 
most  beautiful  architectural  monuments  of  the  city.  Some  of  these  are 
mentioned  in  the  list  of  great  buildings.  It  would  be  impossible  to  describe 
all  of  them.  [See  "  Hotels."] 

Howland  Block.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  of  Dearborn  and  Monroe  sts.  A 
building  of  the  fire  period.  Occupied  by  bank  and  office  tenants. 

Insurance  Exchange  Building. — Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Adams  and  La  Salle 
sts.,  opposite  Rookery.  Ten  stories  high ;  basement  of  solid  granite,  upper 
stories  of  brick,  Vestibule  fronting  on  La  Salle  St.,  from  which  stairways 
rise ;  is  very  handsome.  The  building  is  elegantly  finished.  Occupied  by 
banks — the  Continental  to  the  right  and  the  Columbia  National  to  the  left, 
on  the  main  floor;  the  upper  stories  are  given  over  to  offices. 

Inter-Ocean  Building.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Madison  and  Dearborn  sts. 
The  corner,  surmounted  by  a  clock  tower,  was  built  to  unite  the  wings 
fronting  on  Dearborn  and  Madison  sts.,  and  the  entire  structure  was 
designed,  both  in  the  erection  of  the  new  portion  and  in  the  reconstruction 
of  the  old,  to  meet  the  necessities  of  a  newspaper  publication  office.  This 
was  the  primary  object  in  view.  Another  was  to  make  it  a  first-class  office 
building;  the  designers  succeeded  in  accomplishing  both  of  these  results. 
The  Inter-Ocean  newspaper  occupies  the  upper  floors  and  a  portion  of  the 
first  floor  of  the  building.  It  is  one  of  the  best  equipped  newspaper  offices 
in  the  country.  The  beautiful  counting  room  on  the  corner  will  attract  the 
visitor's  attention. 

Isabella  Building.— "Location,  Van  Buren  st.,  between  Wabash  and  State 
st.  Ten  stories  high.  Cost,  $200,000. 

James  H.  Walker  Wholesale  Building.— Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Adams  and 
Market  sts.  One  of  the  most  beautiful  of  the  great  buildings  in  the  whole- 
sale dry  goods  center.  A  massive  and  elegant  piece  of  architecture. 

JohnM.  Smyth  Building. —Location,  150  to  166  West  Madison  st.,  between 
Union  and  Halsted,  on  West  Madison  st.  cable  line.  The  greatest  mercan- 
tile structure  on  the  West  side,  and  one  of  the  greatest  in  Chicago.  It  is 
eight  stories  in  height  and  cost  over  $300,000.  The  building  has  a  frontage 
on  West  Madison  st.  of  205  feet,  the  end  wings  having  each  a  frontage  of 
forty  feet  extending  back  to  a  depth  of  180  feet  to  School  st.  in  the  rear,  while 
the  center  portion  with  a  frontage  of  125  feet  is  125  feet  deep  thus  leaving  a 
court  for  shipping  purposes.  The  court  is  covered  by  a  trussed  glass  roof. 
The  exterior  of  the  first  two  stories  is  built  of  tool-dressed  blue  Bedford 
stone.  Above  this  Bedford  stone  is  used.  The  feature  of  the  front  is  a  grand 
central  entrance,  being  a  double  arch  forty  feet  wide.  The  rest  of  the  front 
is  chiefly  of  plate  glass  windows,  no  iron  structure  being  visible  on  the  out- 
side. The  central  part  of  the  building  125x125,  contains  a  grand  vestibule, 
finished  in  marble.  The  main  offices  are  situated  on  the  first  floor;  these 
with  the  entire  interior  are  elaborately  and  beautifully  finished.  Two  grand 
stairways  lead  to  the  upper  floors  and  in  addition  there  are  two  passenger 
and  four  freight  elevators.  The  interior  finish  is  of  mill  construction, 
long  leaf  Georgia  pine  timbers,  which  are  used  in  the  floor,  being  four  inches 


180  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

thick,  and  a  finish  of  maple.  The  building  is  warmed  by  steam,  while  300 
arc  electric  and  600  incandescent  together  with  innumerable  gas  jets 
flood  it  with  light.  [See  '•  Guide."] 

John  V.  Farwell  Building. — Location,  W.  side  of  Market,  between 
Monroe  and  Adams  sts.  A  block  occupied  by  the  wholesale  house  of  John 
V.  Farwell  Co.,  and  by  numerous  other  wholesale  and  jobbing  houses,  prin- 
cipally in  the  dry  goods  and  clothing  lines. 

Kent  Building. — Location,  151  and  153  Monroe  st.  A  building  of  the  office 
class. 

Kimball,  the  W.  W.  Building.— "Location,  243  to  253  Wabash  ave.  erected 
by  the  W.  W.  Kimball  Company,  (Pianos  and  Organs.)  It  has  a  frontage  of 
eighty  feet,  is  seven  stories  high,  and  is  built  of  chocolate-colored  brick, 
with  brown-stone  trimmings.  All  the  walls  are  deadened  and  all  the  floors 
double,  with  cement  filling  and  air-chambers  between.  No  expense  has  been 
spared  to  make  this  one  of  the  strongest  and  most  durable  buildings  of  its 
kind.  The  ware-rooms  and  offices  occupy  the  first  floor;  Kimball  Hall,  with 
two  rooms  adjoining  for  the  exhibition  of  Concert  and  Baby  Grands, 
occupies  the  second  floor.  The  hall  has  a  seating  capacity  of  about  600 
people,  but  it  is  so  arranged  that  the  two  rooms  devoted  to  the  sale  of 
grands  can  be  used  to  enlarge  the  hall  by  means  of  folding  doors,  which  will 
double  the  seating  capacity.  The  five  floors  above  are  furnished  for  offices 
and  studios,  front  and  back,  for  the  use  of  musicians,  teachers,  artists,  etc. 
The  hall  and  ware-rooms  are  ventilated  by  a  special  system  of  exhaust 
ventilation,  by  means  of  which  every  particle  of  air  can  be  changed 
every  fifteen  minutes.  The  temperature  is  controled  by  an  electric  appa- 
ratus, which  acts  automatically  and  can  be  adjusted  so  as  to  furnish  any 
degree  of  heat  required.  All  of  the  elevators  are  run  by  steam  or  water  and 
the  building  is  lighted  throughout  by  incandescent  lights.  The  latest  impro- 
ments  of  all  kinds  in  every  department  have  been  used,  and  every  detail 
carefully  attended  to  in  order  to  make  this  a  model  structure. 

Koch  Building.— Location,  La  Salle  ave.  and  Locust  st.  Six  stories. 
Cost,  $100,000. 

Kuh,  Nathan  &  Fischer  Building.—  Location,  Cor.  Franklin  and  Van 
Buren  sts.  Cost,  $150,000. 

La  Salle  Building.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Madison  and  La  Salle  sts.  A 
great  building  of  the  fire  period.  Remodeled  and  ranks  first-class  as  an 
office  structure. 

Labor  Temple.— Projected.  The  style  of  the  proposed  building  will  be 
after  that  of  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Association's  new  building  on  La 
Salle  st.  It  will  contain  halls,  bath-rooms,  gymnasiums,  reading-rooms 
and  libraries  and  mechanical  training-schools.  Any  extra  space  will  be  used 
for  offices.  To  cost  $1,000,000.  This  building  is  to  be  used  by  the  various 
labor  organizations  as  a  general  headquarters. 

Lafayette  Building.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Randolph  sts. 
A  remodeled  office  building  of  the  first  class. 

Lakeside  Building.— S.  W.  Cor,  Clark  and  Adams  sts.  One  of  the  office 
buildings  erected  after  the  great  fire;  for  a  time  pointed  out  as  a  notable 
structure.  Lacks  many  of  the  modern  improvements;  is  a  handsome 
structure  architecturally.  [See  "Guide."] 

Law  Building. — Location,  west  side  of  Dearborn,  near  Harrison  st.  A 
modern  office  building;  occupied  principally  by  publishers,  printers,  agents 
and  those  allied  to  the  publishing  and  printing  trades. 

Lees  Building. — Location,  just  south  of  Security  bldg.,  on  Fifth  ave.,  near 
Madison  st. ;  a  twelve-story  structure.  Like  the  Seciirity,  the  Lees  bldg.  is 
occupied  principally  by  jobbers,  agencies  and  representatives  of  wholesale 
houses  in  the  dry  goods  and  notion  trades.  The  Lees  bldg.  is  plain  in  con- 
struction. 

Leiter  Building. — Location,  State,  between  Van  Buren  and  Congress  sts. 
The  largest  retail  building  fn  Chicago.  Constructed  very  plainly  of  granite 
blocks;  eight  stories  in  height.  [See  "Guide."] 


GENERAL   INFORMATION  181 

Leland  Hotel  Building. — Location,  Michigan  blvd.  and  Jackson  st,  facing 
Lake  Front  Park.  For  many  years  this  was  known  as  the  Gardner  house, 
but  not  until  its  name  and  management  were  changed  did  it  come  to  be 
reckoned  among  the  great  hotels  of  the  city.  Its  location  is  charming,  on 
one  of  the  finest  boulevards  in  the  city,  overlooking  the  majestic  Lake  Michi- 
gan, and  yet  being  within  easy  access  of  the  entire  business  section,  the 
railroad  depots,  street  car  terminals,  retail  stores,  theatres,  etc.  Numerous 
improvements  have  been  made,  both  in  the  interior  and  exterior  of  the 
building  from  year  to  year. 

Lexington  Hotel  Building. — Location,  Michigan  ave.  and  Twenty-second 
st.  The  hotel  has  a  frontage  of  125  feet  along  Michigan  blvd.  and  161  feet 
along  Twenty-second  st.  It  is  fireproof,  brick  and  terra  cotta  being  used 
in  its  exterior,  and  steel,  iron,  brick  and  cement  in  the  interior.  Wood 
enters  into  the  construction  of  the  building  only  in  the  doors  and  window 
casings.  The  interior  of  the  hotel  is  an  exemplification  of  modern  archi- 
tecture and  decorative  geniiis.  The  rotunda,  which  is  large  and  nicely 
lighted,  is  made  handsome  by  its  appointments.  The  floor  is  laid  with  the 
small  mosaic  block  and  the  room  is  wainscoted  with  African  marble,  rich  in 
design  and  finish.  The  cafe  and  billiard-room  are  on  the  first  floor  on  the 
Twenty-second  st.  side.  The  parlors  of  the  hotel  are  on  the  second  floor, 
and  from  them  extends  a  large  balcony  over  Michigan  blvd.  The  parlors 
are  luxuriously  appointed,  a  feature  being  the  heavy  tapestry  wall  hang- 
ings. Here,  too,  the  ceiling  decorators  have  produced  excellent  effects.  A 
large  onyx  mantel  and  fireplace  attracts  general  attention  and  it  is  said 
that  the  slab  of  onyx  across  its  front  is  the  largest  ever  produced.  At  the 
rear  of  the  parlors  is  a  large  balcony  overlooking  the  rotunda.  The  main 
dining-hall  is  a  large  room  on  the  Twenty-second  st.  side  directly  back  of 
the  ladies'  parlor.  It  is  prettily  decorated  in  dainty  colors  and  looks  most 
attractive  when  under  the  full  blaze  of  the  electric  lights.  On  the  other  side 
of  the  parlor  floor  are  the  ladies'  restaurant,  late  breakfast  room  and  ban- 
quet hall.  The  furnishings  of  the  rooms  above  the  parlor  floor  are  varied, 
no  two  rooms  being  alike.  There  is  a  notable  absence  of  the  red  so  familiar 
in  the  hotels  a  few  years  ago.  The  hotel  has  400  sleeping  rooms,  and  nearly 
300  of  them  overlook  Michigan  ave.  The  building  is  owned  by  the  Lexington 
Hotel  company,  and  E.  A.  Bacheldor  is  the  proprietor.  [See  "  Hotels."] 

Ludington  Building.  —  Location,  Wabash  ave.  and  Hubbard  ct.  an 
eight-story  structure,  for  mercantile  and  office  purposes.  Cost,  $300,000. 

Madison  Hall— Location,  West  Madison  st.  opposite  Union  st.  It  has  a 
frontage  of  96  feet  on  Madison,  and  extends  back  190  feet  to  School  st.  The 
front  elevation  presents  the  Romanesque  style  of  architecture.  The  build- 
ing is  constructed  in  the  form  of  a  double  L,  the  west  walls  extending  back 
60  feet,  and  include  a  handsome  enamel  brick  porch.  It  is  seven  stories 
high,  exclusive  of  the  basement,  the  two  upper  floors  being  fitted  up  for  a 
dancing  pavillion.  The  first  floor  contains  four  stores,  each  17x60  feet,  two 
on  either  side  of  the  main  entrance,  which  are  22  feet  6  inches  wide  an4  22 
feet  high.  The  second,  third  and  fourth  floors  contain  about  50  offices.  A 
seventeen-foot  court  separates  the  office  building  and  theatre,  which  is 
96x112  feet  in  dimensions,  and  fire-proof  throughout.  The  proscenium  open- 
ing is  48x32  feet;  the  stage,  96x48,  the  auditorium,  96x64,  and  foyer,  17x14. 
It  has  a  seating  capacity  of  2,600.  The  stage  has  two  fly  floors  on  either  side, 
and  constructed  iron  rigging  loft,  68  feet  above  the  stage,  supported  by 
Howe  trusses.  Two  open,  and  eight  projecting  boxes,  flank  the  proscenium 
opening,  and  three  spacious  galleries  almost  encircle  the  auditorium.  The 
decoration  is  largely  in  Lincrusta  Walton  and  stucco. 

Major  Block.— S.  E.  Cor.  Madison  and  La  Salle  sts.  A  handsome  structure 
of  the  fire  period,  since  remodelled.  One  of  the  most  familiar  structures 
in  the  city.  An  office  building. 

Mailer's  Building.— Location,  La  Salle  st.  west  side,  south  of  Adams  st. 
One  of  the  great  high  office  buildings  of  the  Board  of  Trade  center.  Interior 
finish  not  so  tasteful  as  that  of  its  neighbors. 

Mailer's  Jackson  St.  Building.— Located,  on  Market  between  Quincy  and 
Jackson  sts.  An  elegant  business  and  office  situation.  Cost,  $300,000. 


The  Burlington  Route. 


©F  the  great  number  of  visitors  to  Chicago,  many  will  have  planned  a  trip  to 
the  further  West,  and  to  those  it  will  be  interesting  to  scan  the  map  given 
below  of  one  of  the  greatest  railway  systems  of  the  world.     THE  BUR LINO- 
TON  ROUTE  it  will  be  noticed  reaches  from  Chicago  every  important  city  in  the 
territory  it  occupies,  and  at  its  terminals, 

ST.  PAUL,  MINNEAPOLIS,  DENVER  AND  KANSAS  CITY, 

It  makes  direct  connection  in  Union  depots  with  the  trains  of  those  lines  running 
to  the  Pacific  Coast  and  Mexico. 

A  MAP  OF  THE  BURLINGTON  ROUTE. 


This  is  the  line  that  has  been  selected  by  the  United  States  Government  to 
carry  the  fast  mail.  It  is  the  shortest  line  (1,025  miles)  between  Chicago  and  Den- 
ver,^nd  its  fast  express  trains  are  so  scheduled  that  but  one  night  is  spent  on  the 
road  between  Lake  Michigan  and  the  Rocky  Mountains.  A  special  feature  of 
THE  BURLINGTON  ROUTE,  aside  from  its  excellence  of  road  bed,  is  the  perfect 
manner  in  which  its  trains  are  equipped.  Vestibuled  Pullman  sleeping  cars, 
reclining  chair  cars,  built  on  Pullman  lines,  and  in  which  seats  are  free,  standard 
day  coaches  and  the  famous  BURLINGTON  ROUTE  dining  cars  are  on  every  through 
train.  Those  who  contemplate  a  trip  to  the  West,  Northwest  or  Southwest  will 
do  well  to  call<at  the  office  of  this  Company,  an  engraving  of  which  appears  on  the 
opposite  page,  at 


211    CLARK    STREET 


Where  the  Ticket  Agent  will  give  all  detailed  information  required,  and  arrange 
for  tickets  and  Pullman  sleeping-car  accommodations. 


184  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Manhattan  Building, — Location,  east  side  of  Dearborn,  south  of  Van 
Buren  st.  A  sixteen  story  building  that  towers  above  its  neighbors.  Solid 
masonry  masking,  a  steel  frame.  The  interior  is  embellished  with  orna- 
mental bronze  and  antique  copper,  polished  marble  and  jasper  wainscoting, 
mosaic  floors  and  ornamental  ceilings.  The  small  amount  of  woodwork 
that  enters  into  the  structure  is  antique  oak.  The  appointments  as  to  the 
elevator  service,  electric  light,  heat  and  general  conveniences  embrace 
every  improvement  known  to  modern  science.  Cost,  $800,000. 

Marine  Building.—  Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Lake  sts.  A  hand- 
some office  structure  called  after  Marine  bank,  which  went  down  in  the 
panic  of  1873.  [See  "  Guide."] 

Marshall  Field  &  Co.'s  New  Building.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Wabash 
ave.  and  Washington  st.  Nine  stories  high.  The  four  upper  floors  are 
arranged  for  offices.  All  of  the  other  floors  are  used  for  the  retail  dry  goods 
trade  in  connection  with  Marshall  Field's  establishment  on  State  and 
Washington  st.  Cost,  $800,000.  This  building  has  a  frontage  on  Washing- 
ton st.  of  150  feet  and  108  feet  on  Wabash  ave.  It  is  a  handsome  steel-frame 
structure  faced  with  pressed  brick  and  terra  cotta.  Fluted  and  polished 
granite  blocks  are  used  for  the  first  three  stories.  The  elevator  service  is 
divided  so  that  the  office  portion  is  served  in  a  different  part  of  the 
building.  Connection  is  made  with  the  original  retail  store  by  means  of 
tunnels,  beneath  the  alley,  which  are  finished  in  marble.  These  passage 
ways  are  made  brilliant  and  attractive  by  the  use  of  electricity.  The  style 
of  architecture  is  the  Spanish  renaissance. 

Marshall  Field  &  Co.'s  Old  Wholesale  Building.— Location,  N.  E.  Cor. 
Madison  and  Market  sts.  A  great,  plain  bi-ick  structure  erected  immedi- 
ately after  the  fire  for  the  accommodation  of  Field,  Leiter  &  Co.'s  [now 
Marshall  Field  «fe  Co.]  wholesale  trade.  Used  for  many  years  as  the  whole- 
sale house  of  this  firm.  Now  used  as  a  "  reserve  stock  "  warehouse. 

Marshall  Field  &  Co.'s  Retail  Building.— Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  State  and 
Washington  sts.  Original  building  erected  by  the  Singer  Sewing  Machine 
company,  after  the  great  fire.  Destroyed  by  fire  winter  of  1877;  re-built  by 
the  Singer  Sewing  Machine  companv  and  purchased  by  Field,  Leiter  &  Co. 
for  $500,000;  now  the  property  of  Marshall  Field.  It  has  been  much  improved 
from  time  to  time.  One  of  the  most  palatial  retail  houses  in  the  world.  The 
architecture  is  a  relief  to  the  eye.  The  building  is  connected  by  marble- 
lined  tunnel  with  Marshall  Field  &  Co.'s  new  building,  Cor.  Wabash  ave. 
and  Washington  st.  [See  "  Marshall  Field  &  Co.'s  New  Building."] 

Marshall  Field  &  Co.'s  Wholesale  Building.— Location,  Fifth  ave.,  Adams, 
Franklin  and  Quincy  sts — a  solid  block.  This  structure  was  completed  in 
1887,  and  it  comprises  probably  the  largest  and  best  arranged  building  for 
mercantile  purposes  in  the  world.  It  occupies  an  entire  block,  bounded  by 
Adams,  Franklin  and  Quincy  sts.,  and  Fifth  ave.,  in  the  heart  of  the  busi- 
ness section.  It  is  of  granite  and  sandstone,  plain  and  substantial.  Chicago 
smoke  has  turned  it  almost  black,  and  it  looks  somewhat  like  one  of  Lon- 
don's old  and  massive  government  buildings.  The  unadorned  structure  bears 
no  external  indication  of  its  use.  There  is  no  announcement  or  sign  upon 
it  save  a  brass  plate  bearing  the  firm  name,  at  the  main  entrance,  on  Adams 
st.  The  interior  is  divided  by  two  thick  parti-walls  into  three  sections,  with 
communication  on  each  floor  through  double  doors  of  heavy  iron.  The 
ground  floor  of  the  middle  section  is  occupied  in  part  by  the  counting  room, 
where  scores  of  clerks,  seated  at  a  vast  array  of  desks,  keep  the  books  of  the 
great  establishment.  In  the  other  sections  and  floors  are  the  goods,  system- 
atically arranged  for  wholesale  trade. 

Masonic  Temple  Building.— Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  State  and  Randolph 
sts.  Twenty  stories  high— the  highest  building  in  the  city.  It  has  a  front- 
age of  170  feet  on  State  st.  by  114  feet  on  Randolph  st.,  and  is  entirely  sur- 
rounded by  streets  and  alleys.  The  building  rests  on  cement  and  iron 
foundations,  extending  far  out  into  the  adjacent  thoroughfares,  and  the 
superstructure  is  of  steel,  and  perfectlv  fire-proof  from  bottom  to  top.  The 
height  of  the  building  is  nearly  265  feet.  The  first  three  stories  are  faced 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  185 

with  dressed  red  Montello  granite,  from  Wisconsin,  with  glimpses  of  carv- 
ing, the  corners  being  ornamented  with  electral  layers.  The  remaining 
stories  are  faced  with  gray  brick  that  is  indistinguishable  from  granite, 
each  measuring  four  by  five  by  fourteen  inches.  Between  the  sixteenth  and 
seventeenth  stories  terra  cotta  of  the  same  shade  is  used.  No  particular 
style  of  architecture  can  be  predicated  of  this  building,  though  the  arches 
visible  on  some  parts  of  the  gigantic  facade  suggests  the  Romanesque. 
The  design  presents  a  faint  resemblance  of  a  main  building;  fronts  are 
finished  in  exactly  the  same  costly  and  elegant  style.  There  are  three  tiers 
of  deeply  recessed  bay  windows  on  each  front,  extending  from  the  third  to 
the  fifteenth  story,  both  inclusive.  The  windows  of  the  second  and  sixteenth 
stories  are  combined  in  groups  of  two,  within  deep  Roman  arches.  The 
seventeenth  story  is  treated  separately  from  the  rest  of  each  facade.  The 
entrance  is  through  an  immense  granite  arch  twenty-eight  feet  wide  and 
forty -two  feet  high  in  the  center  of  the  State  street  front.  [For  full  descrip- 
tion of  this  building,  interior,  elevator  service,  roof  garden,  views  from,  etc. 
see  "Guide"."] 

Mayer  Building.— Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Van  Buren  and  Franklin  sts. 
Seven  stories.  Cost  $250,000. 

McCormick  Block. — S.  E.  Cor.  Randolph  and  Dearborn  sts.  A  recon- 
structed office  building  of  the  fire  period.  S.  E.  Gross  &  Co.  occupy  the  first 
floor.  Chas.  H.  Fuller's  Advertising  Agency  is  located  here, 

Me  Vicker's  Theatre  Building. — Location,  south  side  of  Madison,  between 
Dearborn  and  State  sts.  The  beautiful  office  structure  erected  by  Mr.  J.  H. 
McVicker,  in  front  of  his  elegant  theatre. 

Medinah  Temple. — Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Fifth  ave.  and  Jackson  st.  Henry 
Ives  Cobb,  architect.  A  fire-proof  structure,  twelve  stories  high,  intended 
for  the  use  of  Chicago  Shriners;  cost  $500,000.  The  building  has  a  frontage 
of  110  feet  on  Fifth  ave.  and  115  feet  on  Jackson  st. ;  and  a  frontage  of  60  feet 
on  Quincy  st.  The  two  upper  floors  are  used  exclusively  as  halls;  Ihe 
remainder  of  the  building  is  divided  into  stoi'es  and  offices  for  manufact- 
urers' agents  and  representatives  of  wholesale  business  houses:  It  is  a 
handsome,  massive-appearing  structure.  The  features  of  ornamentation 
are  in  the  two  upper  stories,  while  the  facing  of  the  lower  stories  is  remarka- 
bly plain.  Two  main  entrances  open  into  the  building  from  the  two  street 
fronts.  Each  corner  of  the  building  is  sui-mounted  by  a  large,  open  turret, 
after  the  Moorish  style  of  architecture,  while  the  roof  slopes  sharply  and  is 
covered  with  tile. 

Mercantile  Building.— locution,  N.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Randolph  sts., 
near  the  tunnel  entrance.  A  general  office  building. 

Merchants'  Building.— location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Washington  and  LaSalle  sts. 
It  was  erected  shortly  after  the  fire,  when  sandstone  was  the  favorite  build- 
ing material,  and  when  it  was  customary  to  carry  the  main  floor  to  some 
height  above  the  street  level.  It  was  one  of  the  finest  buildings  in  the  city 
until  the  new  era  of  architecture  set  in.  Has  been  remodeled  and  modern- 
ized, and  now  ranks  as  a  first-class  office  building. 

Methodist  Church  Block.—  Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Clark  and  Washington  sts. 
Notable  particularly  as  a  landmark.  It  has  no  architectural  points  worthy 
of  mention.  Owned  by  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church.  A  congregation 
hall  takes  up  a  large  portion  of  the  interior.  The  site  was  formerly  covered 
by  a  church  edifice. 

Minneola  Building.— Location,  La  Salle  ave.  and  Oak  st.  Seven  stories. 
Cost,  $117,000. 

Monadnock  Building. — Location,  Jackson  st.,  Custom  House  Place,  Dear- 
born and  Van  Buren  sts.  These  are  the  boundaries  of  the  structure  if  the 
southern  addition  is  taken  into  account.  The  latter,  however,  is  quite  unlike 
the  original.  Combined,  this  building  is  the  largest  office  structure  in  the 
city.  [See  "  Monadnock  Annex  "  and  "Guide."  | 

Monadnock  Building  Annex.— The  completion  of  the  southern  addition 
to  the  Monadnoek  building  makes  that  structure  the  greatest  office  building 


186  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

in  the  city.  It  has  a  total  street  frontage  of  940  feet.  The  addition  is  an 
exact  duplication  of  the  present  structure  and  stands  immediately  to  the 
south  fronting  on  Dearborn  and  Van  Buren  sts.,  extending  back  to  Custom 
House  Place  (formerly  Fourth  ave.)  It  has  a  frontage  on  Dearborn  st.  and 
Custom  House  Place  of  200  feet.  The  new  structure  inherits  the  name  of  the 
original,  and  the  consolidated  building  is  known  as  the  Monadnock.  It  was 
the  original  intention  to  name  the  southern  half  of  the  original  building  the 
"  Kearsarge."  This  resulted  in  confusion,  however,  and  the  name  was 
dropped  shortly  after  the  original  Monadnock  was  opened  for  the  reception 
of  tenants.  The  annex,  like  the  original  building,  was  built  by  the  Brooks 
estate  of  Boston,  Mass.  Its  cost  was  $800,000. 

Morion  Building. — Location,  west  side  of  Dearborn  St.,  between  Van 
Buren  and  Harrison  sts.  Fourteen  stories.  A  very  handsome  and  popular 
office  building.  Cost,  $800,000.  Monon  Railway  offices  are  located  here. 

Montauk  Building. — Location,  north  side  of  Monroe  st.,  between  Dear- 
born and  Clark  sts.  The  original  sky-scraper,  though  not  as  higti  as  dozens 
of  others  now.  A  general  office  building. 

Mosher  Hotel  Building.—  Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Wabash  ave.  and  Twenty- 
eighth  st.  An  elegant  structure.  Cost,  $250>000. 

New  Era  Building.— A.  great  structure  erected  in  1892  at  the  intersection 
of  Blue  Island  ave.  and  Harrison  st.,  under  the  superintendence  of  Archi- 
tect Henry  Ives  Cobb ;  one  of  the  great  modern  structures  of  Chicago  and 
the  first  building  of  the  kind  erected  in  this  locality. 

Nixon  Building. — Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Monroe  sts.  A  his- 
toric structure.  This  building  was  almost  completed,  but  unoccupied, 
on  the  night  of  October  8,  1871,  when  the  great  conflagration  swept  over  the 
business  portion  of  the  South  side.  The  walls  and  partitions  were  injured 
very  little,  though  the  buildings  on  every  side  of  it  crumbled  into  ruins  and 
ashes.  It  was  finished  immediately  after  the  fire  and  was  one  of  the  first 
buildings  occupied  in  this  section.  It  bears  this  inscription  on  the  La  Salle 
st.  side: 


THIS  FIRE  PROOF  BUILDING 

WAS  THE  ONLY  ONE  IN  THE  CITY 

THAT  SUCCESSFULLY  STOOD  THE  TEST 

OP 

THE  GREAT  FIRE 
OF  OCT.  8THAND9TH,  1871. 


Old  Colony  Building.— Erected  by  the  Bartlett  estate,  at  the  S.  E.  Cor.  of 
Van  Buren  and  Dearborn  sts.  This  building  covers  the  entire  space  on  the 
corner  which  up  to  1892  was  occupied  by  a  number  of  small  frame  structures. 
In  order  to  release  these  buildings,  it  became  necessary  for  the  Bartlett 
heirs  to  give  the  tenants  $25,000.  The  structure  is  one  of  the  handsomest  in 
the  city  and  cost  $600,000. 

Open  Board  of  Trade  Building.— Location,  Pacific  ave.  opposite  Board 
of  Trade.  A  structure  of  no  uncommon  proportions  or  attractions.  First 
floor  used  as  trading  rooms  by  grain  and  produce  operators,  not  members  of 
Board  of  Trade.  Upper  portion  occupied  as  offices. 

Opera  House  Block. — This  is  one  of  the  most  imposing  structures  in  the 
city,  eleven  stories  in  height,  erected  in  1885  on  the  site  of  the  old  Tivol: 
Gardens,  once  a  popular  resort.  On  the  street  level  are  stores  with 
lofty  ceilings,  and  plate-glass  fronts  that  are  desirable  for  the  display  of 
goods.  In  the  main  lobby  are  six  rapid  elevators,  that  ai-e  constantly 
whizzing  up  and  down  in  their  iron  cages  on  either  side  of  the  entrance. 
The  walls  are  wainscoted  with  slate  and  marble  in  the  most  appi-oved 
fashion,  and  offices  are  arranged  either  single  or  en  suite  to  meet  the 
demands  of  all  professions.  Situated  in  the  center  of  this  vast  pile  of 
masonry  is  the  Opera  House.  The  building  is  fire-proof  throughout  and  is 
the  property  of  the  Peck  estate.  The  first  office  building  in  Chicago  to  go  to 
the  height  of  eleven  stories. 


188  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Otis  Building.— Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  of  Madison  and  La  Salle  sts.  An 
office  building1  of  the  fire  period  which  has  fallen  far  behind  the  times. 
Occupied  by  real  estate  and  insurance  men. 

Owings  Building.—  Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  of  Dearborn  and  Adams  sts., 
opposite  the  Post  Office.  Ai-chitecturally  one  of  the  handsomest  building's  in 
the  city.  The  general  style  vastly  different  from  the  ordinary  office  build- 
ings. Beautiful  facades  on  both  streets;  its  gables  and  portals  being  parti- 
cularly noticeable.  An  office  building.  [See  "Guide."] 

Owings,  F.  P.  Block.— Location,  232  to  236  Fifth  ave.  An  elegant  structure 
in  the  wholesale  dry  goods  district. 

Oxford  Building.— Location,  west  side  of  La  Salle,  between  Washington 
and  Randolph  sts.  A  remodelled  office  building,  with  handsome  exterior. 

Palmer  House  Building.— Location,  State  and  Monroe  sts.  and  Wabash 
ave.  Main  entrance  on  State  st. ;  ladies  entrance  on  Monroe  st.  The  bxiild- 
ing  occupies  abput  one-half  of  the  entire  block.  It  covers  an  area  of  76,550 
square  feet;  is  nine  stories  in  height;  has  708  rooms  and  accommodates 
usually  from  1,000  to  2,400  guests.  The  grand  rotunda  of  the  hotel  is  64  feet 
wide,  106  feet  long  and  36  feet  in  height.  The  dining  room  is  one  of  the  most 
elegant  in  Chicago.  The  parlors  and  waiting  rooms  are  superbly  furnished. 
The  entire  furnishings  and  fittings  of  the  house  are  of  the  first  order.  The 
Palmer  House  is  one  of  the  most  imposing  and  beautiful  structures  in  the 
city.  Mr.  Potter  Palmer  is  the  sole  proprietor  and  manager.  This  magnifi- 
cent hotel  was  destroyed  by  fire,  before  being  completed,  in  1871.  Hardly 
had  the  debris  cooled  off,  however,  ere  Mr.  Palmer  began  the  work  of  exca- 
vation for  the  new  structure.  A  great  part  of  the  time  during  the  rebuild- 
ing operation  workmen  were  employed  day  and'  night,  immense  calcium 
lights  being  used  after  the  sun  went  down.  The  new  Palmer  House  was 
opened  in  the  year  1873.  [See  "  Hotels."] 

Peck  Building.— Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Washington  sts.,  (site 
•  of  Union  Building).  [See  "Stock  Exchange  Building,  New."] 

Phcenix  Building. — Location,  opposite  Grand  Pacific  hotel,  on  Jackson  st. 
A  handsome  ten-story  modern  office  building,  constructed  by  the  Phoenix 
Insurance  company,  but  purchased  in  1892  by  the  Western  Union  Telegraph 
company,  which  has  established  it  central  operating  room  and  offices  here. 
Basement  and  first  floor  constructed  of  red  sand-stone ;  rest  of  brick  and 
terra  cotta.  Has  a  most  attractive  vestibule,  marble-lined,  Jackson  st. 
entrance.  Occupied  exclusively  as  a  bank,  insurance,  railroad  and  general 
office  building. 

Pontiac  Building.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Harrison  sts.  A 
fourteen-story  structure,  property  of  the  Brooks  estate.  Occupied  by  print- 
ters,  publishers,  engravers,  etc.  A  handsome  structure. 

Portland  Block. — Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Washington  and  Dearborn  sts. 
Built  soon  after  the  great  fire,  but  greatly  improved  in  1891;  cost  of  about 
8250,000.  One  of  the  handsomest  buildings  of  this  section  of  the  business 
center. 

Post  Office. — Location,  Dearborn,  Clark,  Adams  and  Jackson  sts.  A  mas- 
sive granite  structure  with  numerous  architectural  and  structural  faults. 
Likely  to  be  removed  to  give  place  to  a  modern  block.  [See  "Guide."] 

Potomac  Apartment  Building. — Location,  Michigan  ave.  and  Thirtieth 
st.  Eight  stories.  A  magnificent  building.  Cost,  $450,000. 

Public  Library  Building.— Location,  Michigan  ave.  Washington  and 
Randolph  sts.  This  building  occupies  what  was  formerly  a  public  square 
but  which  never  rose  to  the  dignity  of  a  park,  although  known  as  one  by  the 
name  of  Dearborn.  It  was  a  remnant  of  the  old  Fort  Dearborn  reservation 
the  use  of  which  was  granted  to  the  city  by  the  Government,  like  the  Lake 
Front  property  across  the  way,  providing  it  should  always  be  reserved  for 
or  devoted  to  public  purposes.  Several  attempts  were  made  to  secure  the 
erection  on  this  site  of  various  buildings  of  a  semi-public  or  semi-private 
character,  but  the  property  was  sacredly  guarded  by  the  city,  and  when  the 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  189 

question  of  erecting  a  Public  Library  Building:  became  serious  and  assumed 
tangible  shape,  the  site  was  freely  granted  for  this  purpose'  The  archi- 
tects, Messrs.  Shipley,  Rutan  &  Coolidge,  were  the  same  who  designed  the 
Art  Institute.  The  building,  which  is  140x400  feet  and  90  feet  in  height,  is 
massive,  and  the  lines  of  the  two  principal  stories  are  taken  as  the  division 
line  in  the  building.  The  building  throughout  is  classic.  The  large  arches 
with  columns  placed  on  a  heavy  course  above  suggested  by  the  ancient 
gateway  at  Athens,  which  separated  the  Roman  from  the  Grecian  City. 
This  colonnade  is  composed  of  colums  of  the  Ionic  order,  interspersed  every 
third  space  by  solid  piers.  The  frieze  that  surmounts  the  colonnade  is  in- 
scribed with  the  names  of  historic  writers.  Above  this  a  ballustrade 
gives  a  light  and  fitting  termination  to  the  delicately  molded  cornice  below. 
The  Washington  st.  entrance  is  one  large  arch  which  shows  a  depth  of 
about  eight  feet.  This  has  been  treated  in  true  Roman  method  with  coffers 
and  suitable  ornamentation.  Above  this  is  a  balcony  supported  by  brackets, 
and  the  panel  which  bears  the  inscription  "  Chicago  Public  Library."  The 
idea  in  the  entrance  was  to  make  it  extremely  rich,  and  offset  this  by  the 
plain  wall  surface  of  the  building.  On  either  side  are  lanterns,  and  above 
shields  bearing  the  municipal  arms.  The  Randolph  st.  entrance  is  also  in 
classic  style,  but  massive  columns  and  entablature  are  used  in  place  of  an 
arch.  This  entablature  forms  the  roof  of  the  portico.  The  intention  through- 
out was  to  give  the  building  as  much  a  monumental  character  as  possible,  at 
the  same  time  keeping  the  openings  very  large,  so  as  to  admit  the  greatest 
possible  amount  of  light,  The  material  in  the  exterior  walls  is  blue  Bedford 
stone,  finely  dressed,  with  the  exception  of  the  water  table,  where  granite 
is  used  of  a  color  in  harmony  with  the  limestone.  The  roof  is  of  copper. 
The  balustrade  on  the  top  of  the  building  is  limestone ;  the  same  as  the 
exterior  walls;  the  divisions  of  the  windows  are  of  iron.  In  the  interior  in 
the  entrance  hall  and  corridors  the  floor  is  of  marble  mosaic.  The  main 
staircase  and  the  walls  of  the  entrance  vestibules,  both  on  Washington  and 
Randolph  sts,,  and  the  corridors  leading  from  them  are  marble.  The  ceiling 
is  of  a  light  cream-colored  terra  cotta,  decorated  artistically.  The  smaller 
stair  cases  are  made  of  iron.  The  delivery -room  is  wainscoted  with  marble 
to  a  height  of  eleven  feet  six  inches.  The  walls  above  this  are  treated  in 
cream-colored  terra  cotta,  modeled  and  decorated,  with  a  low  eliptical  dome 
forming  a  sky-light  over  the  room.  The  floor  in  this  room  is  marble. 
The  large  reading-room  has  a  base  of  marble,  and  the  wall  surface  which  is 
treated  everywhere  in  the  form  of  pilasters,  is  in  light-colored  terra  cotta, 
with  a  modeled  frieze  of  the  terra  cotta,  with  an  enriched  ceiling  of  the  same 
material.  The  large  reference-room  is  treated  in  the  same  material,  but 
with  different  detail.  The  binding-room,  duplicate-room  and  janitor's  room, 
on  the  ground  floor,  are  finished  in  light  brick  with  a  marble  base.  The 
walls  of  the  stack-room  are  built  of  white  enamel  brick  and  the  floor  of 
unglazed  tile,  making  this  room  as  light  and  clean  and  free  from  dust  as 
possible.  The  bound  newspaper  rooms,  the  patent  record  rooms,  the  public 
document-room,  the  station  department-room  and  the  reading  room,  on  the 
ground  floor,  together  with  the  librarian's  room,  secretary's  room  registry 
room  and  cataloguing-room  on  the  main  floor,  and  the  art  rooms,  the  com- 
mittee and  director's  rooms,  the  map-room  and  the  bound  periodical-room 
have  a  dado  of  Keene  cement  and  floors  of  hardwood.  The  walls  above 
the  dado  together  with  the  ceilings,  are  plastered.  Wood  finish,  where- 
ever  used,  is  quartered  oak.  The  floors  are  steel  beams  and  porous  terra 
cotta  or  hollow  tile  arches.  Girders,  wherever  used,  arecai'efully  protected 
by  a  covering  of  terra  cotta,  with  an  airspace  securely  fastened  in  position. 
The  exterior  walls  are  faced  with  hollow  brick,  or  built  with  a  ventilated 
air  space  to  insure  protection  from  dampness. 

Pullman  Building. — Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Michigan  ave.  and  Adams  st. 
This  building  was  erected  by  George  M.  Pullman,  president  of  the  Pullman 
Palace  Car  Company.  It  is  a  massive  and  elegant  structure  nine  stories  in 
height.  It  is  contructed  of  bi-ick  with  granite  and  terra  cotta  ornaments. 
The  ornamental  work  on  the  Adams  st.  facade  consists  of  low  polished 
granite  pillars  which  support  eleven  round  arches,  forming  arcades.  The 


190  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Interior  court  opens  on  Adams  st.  in  the  center  of  the  building.  It  is  one  of 
the  most  beautiful  in  the  city,  and  the  vestibule,  by  which  it  is  entered, 
presents  a  rich  and  elegant  view  to  the  visitor.  Stairways  rise  from  either 
side  of  a  great  semi-circular  arch.  The  Pullman  building  ranks  among  the 
first  architectural  ornaments  of  the  city.  It  is  always  admired  by  visitors. 
The  Pullman  Company  occupy  the  entire  second  floor.  Mr.  Pullman's  office 
is  to  be  found  to  the  left  of  the  vestibule.  The  offices  are  finished  in  hard 
wood  in  which  there  is  a  general  resemblance  to  the  interior  finish  of  the 
finest  Pullman  Palace  Cars.  The  Pullman  offices  are  elegantly  fitted  up. 
From  this  building  is  conducted  the  business  of  the  Pullman  Palace  Car 
Company,  which  extends  over  the  entire  country,  and  into  portions  of 
Europe.  [See  "Pullman."] 

Rand-McNally  Building.— "Location,  Adams  St.,  between  La  Salle  st.  and 
Fifth  ave.  Notable  as  having  been,  during  the  period  of  construction  the 
headquarters  of  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition.  It  has  ten  stories  and  a 
basement,  with  a  frontage  of  150  feet  on  Adams  st.,  extending  back  166  feet  to 
Quincy  st.  The  framework  is  entirely  of  steel,  the  two  fronts  are  fire- 
proofed  with  dark-red  terra-cotta,  in  handsome  designs,  and  the  interior  is 
fire-proofed  with  hard-burnt  fire-clay,  no  part  of  the  steel  being  exposed. 
In  the  center  of  the  building  is  left  a  court  60x66  feet,  having  its  outer  walls 
faced  with  English  white  enamelled  bricks.  Burnham  &  Root  were  the 
architects.  It  contains  15  miles  of  steel-railway-65-pound  rails  in  the  founda- 
tion, besides  the  12-inch  and  20-inch  steel  beams.  There  are  12  miles  of  15- 
inch  steel  beams  and  channels,  2l/2  miles  of  ties  and  angles  in  the  roof;  7 
miles  of  tie  rods;  10 miles  of  Z  steel  in  the  columns;  12  miles  of  steam-pipe ; 
350, 000  rivets  and  bolts;  7  acres  of  floors;  the  boards  of  which  would  reach 
250  miles,  were  they  laid  end  to  end.  The  foundations  contain  1,000  tons  of 
steel,  while  the  beams,  etc.,  will  weigh  2,000tpns,  and  the  columns  700  'tons; 
making  a  total  of  3,700  tons  of  steel  in  this  giant  structure. 

Real  Estate  Board  Building. — Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Dearborn  and  Ran- 
dolph st.  A  reconstructed  office  building;  first-class  in  all  its  appointments. 

Reaper  Block.—  Location,  N.W.  Cor.  of  Washington  and  Clark  sts.  Derives 
its  name  from  the  business  in  which  its  builder,  the  late  Cyrus  H.  McCor- 
mick,  was  engaged,  the  manufacture  of  reapers.  It  is  one  of  the  handsomest 
of  the  old  office  structures,  and  one  of  the  best  known. 

Republic  Life  Building.— Location,  east  side  of  La  Salle,  between  Madison 
and  Monroe  sts.  Built  by  the  insurance  company  from  which  it  derived 
its  name,  long  since  gone  out  of  existence.  This  building  was  used  by  the 
Custom  House  and  United  States  courts  for  several  years  after  the  fire,  or 
until  the  present  government  building  was  erected.  Now  it  is  an  office 
building. 

Reynold's  Building.— Location,  Cottage  Grove  ave.  and  Fifty-second  st. 
Seven  stories.  Cost  $200.000. 

Rialto  Building. — Location,  Van  Buren  st.,  Pacific  ave.  and  Sherman  St., 
directly  in  the  rear  of  the  Board  of  Trade  building,  and  connected  with  the 
latter  by  bridge.  This  is  exclusively  an  office  building,  constructed  with  a 
view  to  accommodating  commission  men.  brokers,  etc.,  doing  business  on 
Change.  The  building  is  constructed  of-  massive  granite  blocks  and  is 
uniform  in  height  with  the  Board  of  Trade. 

Rookery  Building.— Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts.  A 
twelve-story  structure  and  one  of  the  most  beautiful  commercial  buildings 
in  the  world.  It  cost,  exclusive  of  the  ground  upon  which  it  stands  (the 
property  of  the  municipality),  very  nearly  $1,500,000.  It  is  finished  in  the 
most  expensive  fashion  throughout.  There  isn't  a  cheap  feature  connected 
with  it.  The  grand  rotunda  is  in  itself  a  beautiful  bit  of  architecture,  but 
the  building,  to  be  properly  appreciated,  must  be  taken  as  a  whole.  There 
is  not  a  commercial  structure  in  the  world  that  compares  with  it  in  size,  in 
elegance,  or  in  convenience.  There  are  three  distinct  groups  of  elevators, 
two  on  the  La  Salle  st.  and  one  on  the  Adams  st.  side,  and  the  people  occu- 
pying the  top  floors  are  practically  as  well  situated,  so  far  as  accessibility 


192  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

is  concerned,  as  those  on  the  first  floor.  The  mosaic  work  in  the  strtu'tim1 
is  superb.  Like  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  ami  Home  Insurance  buildings, 
the  wainscoting  is  all  of  Italian  marble.  Every  room  in  the  building  is 
lighted  perfectly.  There  is  not  the  slightest  jar  felt  here,  and  those  in  the 
upper  stories  are  practically  removed  from  the  noise  and  bustle  of  the 
streets  below.  There  are  over  600  offices  here,  all  occupied,  the  tenants 
being  principally  Board  of  Trade  men,  agents  of  eastern  and  foreign  mer- 
cantile houses,  agents  of  manufacturing  concerns,  real  estate  dealers,  bro- 
kers and  lawyers.  [See  "Guide."] 

Royal  Insurance  Building. — Location,  Jackson,  near  La  Salle  st.,  run- 
ning from  the  former  to^Quincy  st.  Two  fronts,  ten  stories  high.  Built  of 
red  granite,  with  ornamental  carving.  The  interior  has  a  beautiful  court. 
The  Royal  Insurance  Company  of  London,  is  the  owner. 

Rubens  Building. — Location,  Cass  st.  and  Walton  pi.  Seven  stories;  cost, 
$150,000. 

Schiller  Building. — Location,  north  side  of  Randolph,  near  Clark  st. 
This  is  one  of  the  most  palatial  among  the  great  structures  that  have 
recently  been  erected  in  Chicago.  The  main  entrance  from  the  street  is  in 
the  center  of  the  structure,  and  has  a  width  of  32  feet.  This  leads  to  the 
auditorium  of  the  theatre.  The  floor  and  wainscoting  are  mosaic  and  mar- 
ble. From  the  loggia  one  passes  through  two  vestibules  before  reaching 
the  foyer.  The  ticket  office  is  located  in  the  inner  vestibule.  From  this 
vestibule  four  elevators  are  accessible.  These  are  principally  for  the 
service  of  the  hotel  and  club  room  part  of  the  establishment.  From  the 
foyer  visitors  reach  the  main  body  of  the  house  by  means  of  marble  stairs 
eight  feet  wide.  These  stairs  continue  upward  till  the  floor  of  the  balcony 
is  reached,  whence  tunnels  or  shafts  lead  through  to  the  seats,  as  at  the 
Auditorium,  then  on  to  the  top  of  the  balcony  and  again  still  higher  to  the 
gallery.  The  dimensions  of  the  auditorium,  including  the  foyer,  are  60  by 
90  feet.  It  has  a  seating  capacity  of  1,300  in  round  numbers.  One  balcony 
and  one  gallery  besides  the  main  floor  comprise  the  seating  department. 
Six  boxes  at  the  proscenium  arch  are  on  a  level  with  the  parquet.  There 
are  three  on  each  side.  The  proscenium  arch  is  29  feet  wide  and  30  feet 
high.  The  stage  itsejf  occupies  an  area  40x80  feet,  with  ample  dressing 
room  accommodations  both  above  and  below.  Corridors  at  each  side  of  the 
auditorium  lead  back  to  the  alley  at  the  rear  of  the  building,  and  can  be 
utilized  as  exits  whenever  the  necessity  arises.  The  interior  decoration  of 
the  auditorium  are  of  ornamental  stucco,  and  all  the  stairs  are  marble. 
Immediately  over  the  auditorium  and  stage  enormous  steel  trusses  two 
stories  in  height,  and  with  a  clear  space  of  60  feet  4  inches,  furnish  support 
for  seven  stories  of  hotel  rooms  and  store  rooms.  The  balcony  and  gallery 
are  supported  by  steel  girders  extending  across  the  building  from  wall  to 
wall.  Thus  no  unsightly  columns  and  suspension  rods  appear  in  the  audi- 
torium, as  in  most  theatres  to  obstruct  the  view  of  playgoers.  The  hotel 
part  has  131  bed  rooms.  Then  there  are  thirty-eight  bath  rooms,  so  arranged 
that  they  can  be  used  privately  in  connection  with  the  bed  rooms,  or  semi- 
publicly,  by  throwing  them  open  to  the  corridors.  The  dining  room,  kitchen 
and  working  department,  important  features  of  a  hotel,  are  in  the  ninth 
story.  The  dimensions  of  the  dining  room  are  40x76  feet.  The  hotel  office  is 
on  the  ground  floor  to  the  west  of  the  main  entrance,  and  can  be  entered  by 
means  of  an  entrance  of  its  own.  The  parlors  are  on  the  entresol  floor. 
The  hotel  extends  to  the  top  of  the  tower.  [See  "Amusements"  and 
"Hotels."]  The  Schiller  is  a  fireproof  building  that  is  really  filreproof.  It  is 
built  after  the  skeleton  system  of  steel  construction  and  rests  on  a  foundation 
of  piling  driven  sixty-two  feet  below  the  street  level,  and  covered  with  more 
than  300  tons  of  steel  rails,  I  beams,  and  plate  girders,  all  imbedded  in  con- 
crete of  the  firmest  and  most  durable  kind.  The  foundation  is  a  solid  one 
and  is  capable  of  sustaining  the  weight  upon  it  if  all  the  soil  surrounding  it 
should  be  removed.  The  iron  frame  work  sustains  the  building  and  the 
brick  walls  bear  little  weight  besides  their  own.  The  walls  are  firmly 
anchored  to  the  steel  skeleton,  insuring  absolute  stability.  The  architects 
agree  that  the  Schiller  building  will  stand  motionless  during  the  ninety- 


GENERAL  INFORMATION. 


193 


nine  years  the  ground  it  occupies  is  leased.  The  building  cost  $700,000. 
Five-hundred  thousand  dollars  of  this  sum  is  paid  by  the  sale  of  5,000  shares 
in  the  German  Opera-House  company  of  Chicago,  the  owners,  and  the 
remaining  $200,000 is  paid  for  in  6  per  cent  first  mortgage  bonds  redeemable 
in  twenty  years.  An  effort  was  made  to  provide  offices  suitable  for  any 
class  of  tenants.  The  basement  is  rented  for  $7,500  a  year,  the  theatre  for 
$35,000,  and  the  club  rooms  in  the  twelfth  story  for  $5,000.  The  other  por- 
tions of  the  building  bring  in  a  revenue  of  about  $103,000  a  year.  All  halls 
and  corridors  have  mosaic  floors.  Georgia  and  Italian  marble  are  freely 
used  in  the  stairways  and  corridors.  The  decorations  areelaborate  every- 
where. 

Security  Building.— Lo- 
cation,  S.  E.  Cor.  Madison 
st.  and  Fifth  ave.  A  four- 
teen story  structure,  ar- 
ranged in  the  upper  floors 
for  the  accommodation  of 
attorneys,  real  estate 
agents,  brokers,  architects, 
mercantile  and  manufac- 
turers' agents.  One  of  the 
most  substantial  and  at- 
tractive office  buildings  in 
the  city.  It  is  strictly  fire- 
proof, the  entire  building 
from  foundation  to  roof 
being  composed  of  con- 
crete,  steel  rails,  steel 
beams,  rick,  fireproof  tiling 
and  stone.  There  are  four 
high-speed  elevators. 
Every  floor  has  its  safety 
deposit  vault.  It  is  fur- 
nished with  gas  and  electric 
lights  and  is  steam  heated. 
Thebuildinghasall  modern 
improvements.  The  ex- 
terior is  highly  ornamental, 
presenting  a  much  more 
pleasing  appearance  than 
many  of  the  high  struct- 
ures. The  overhangi n-g 
cornice  i  at  the  top  adds 
greatly  to  its  beauty. 

Sherman  House  Build- 
ing.— Located,  N.  W.  Cor. 
Clark  and  Randolph  sts., 
opposite  the  north  entrance 
to  the  Court  House.  This 
is  a  landmark  and  one  of 
the  historic  structures  of 
the  city,  marking  as  it 
does  the  site  which  has 


MODEL  APARTMENT  HOUSE.— See  Flats,  Etc. 


been  familiar  to  Chicagoans  from  the  earliest  settlement  of  the  place. 
One  of  the  first  mayors  of  the  city  had  his  blacksmith  shop  here,  and  the 
original  Sherman  House  was  erected  on  the  spot  by  Francis  C.  Sherman, 
who  afterward  became  the  fifth  mayor  of  the  city,  in  1836.  This  was  an 
humble  building.  Mr.  Sherman  very  considerably  enlarged,  remodeled  and 
improved  it  in  1861,  and  up  to  the  time  of  the  great  fire  of  1871  it  was  the 
most  pretentious  hotel  in  the  city.  It  fell  before  the  enemy  on  the  night  of 
October  8,  1871,  but  was  soon  rebuilt  as  it  stands  to-day.  The  hotel  takes 
its  name  from  Mayor  Sherman,  and  not  from  the  famous  union  general,  as 
many  suppose. 


194  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

Springfield  Building.— Location,  Wabash  ave.  and  Twelfth  st.  Eight 
stories  high.  Cost,  150,000. 

St.  Mary's  Block.— Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Michigan  st.  and  Wabash  ave. 
Occupies  site  of  St.  Mary's  Catholic  church.  A  business  block. 

Staats  Zeitung  Building. — Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Fifth  ave.  and  Washington 
st.  Erected  by  the  Staat's  Zeitung  (Newspaper)  company,  after  the  great 
fire  of  '71.  One  of  the  most  solid  and  elegant  structures  in  Chicago.  Granite 
is  the  material  used,  and  the  facades,  as  well  as  the  roof  cornices,  are 
relieved  and  embellished  with  statuary.  Home  of  the  Staats  Zeitung. 
[See  "Newspapers."] 

Stock  Exchange  Building. — Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Dearborn,  and  Monroe 
sts.  A  building  of  the  fire  period,  remodeled.  Rather  a  plain,  brick  struct- 
ure. Occupied  by  stock  operators,  brokers,  etc.  Stock  Exchange  to  be 
moved  into  new  Stock  Exchange  bldg.,  S.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Washington 
Sts,  site  of  the  Union  bldg.  [See  "  Stock  Exchange  Building,  New."] 

Stock  Exchange  Building,  New.— Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Wash- 
ington sts. ;  to  occupy  site  of  Union  bldg.  Owned  by  the  Peck  estate.  The 
building  will  be  half  a  block  long  on  La  Salle  St.,  reaching  from  the  alley  to 
the  corner,  a  distance  of  180  feet,  and  100  feet  on  Washington  st.  It  will  cost 
$1.250,000.  It  will  be  a  high,  modern-built  fire-proof  structure,  equal  to  any 
office  building  in  the  city.  The  corner,  100  feet,  is  owned  by  the  Peck  estate. 
The  adjoining  80  feet,  on  La  Salle  St.,  is  leased  for  ninety-nine  years  from 
William  A.Fuller;  the  lease  was  on  the  basis  of  $600,000  for  the  80  feet,or  $7,500 
a  front  foot  at  5  per  cent.  The  building  will  be  all  stone,  or  stone  and  terra 
cotta,  and  the  interior  will  be  of  steel,  finished  in  marble  with  mosaic  floors. 
Nothing  will  be  omitted  in  the  way  of  rich  interior  ornamentation.  The  struct- 
ure will  cost  more  per  cubic  foot  than  any  office  building  in  the  city.  Work 
will  begin  on  it  at  the  expiration  pf  leases  of  present  tenants,  May  1,  1893, 
and  will  be  completed  one  year  from  that  date.  The  total  investment,  land 
and  building,  will  represent  an  outlay  of  $3,000,000. 

Stone  Building.— Location,  intersection  of  Ashland  and  Ogden  aves- 
and  West  Madison  st.  This  structure  one  of  the  handsomest  in  Chicago, 
and  the  first  office  buildings  to  be  erected  on  the  West  side.  The  first  two 
stories  are  of  brown  granite,  with  French  plate-glass  front.  There  is  a 
main  entrance  from  Madison  st.  consisting  of  granite  pillars  supporting  an 
arch.  The  floors  of  the  vestibule  ana  hall  are  of  marble.  The  building  has 
a  frontage  of  66  feet  on  Madison  st.,  97  feet  on  Ogden  ave.,  and  71  feet  on 
Ashland  ave.  The  height  of  building  from  sidewalk  to  main  roof  is  100  feet, 
There  are  two  isets  of  bay  windows  on  the  Ogden  ave.  side  and  one  on  eacn 
of  the  other  sides.  A  circular  tower  crowns  each  corner.  The  architec- 
tural design  is  a  modification  of  the  French  renaissance  known  rs  the  flam- 
boyant. 

Studebaker  Building. — Location,  Michigan  ave.  between  Van  Buren  ana 
Congress  sts.  This  handsome  structure  stands  between  the  Auditorium 
and  the  old  Art  Institute,  now  the  Chicago  Club  bldg.  It  has  an  elegant 
facade,  rising  to  the  height  of  the  Auditorium.  Occupied  by  the  Studebaker 
Bros.,  carriage  manufacturers. 

Tacoma  Building.—  Location,  N.  E.  Cor.  Madison  and  LaSalle  sts.  The 
first  fourteen-story  building  erected  in  the  city,  and  one  of  the  most  grace- 
ful. It  is  of  the  steel  frame,  brick-mask  pattern,  and  has  about  500  office 
rooms. 

Telephone  Building.— Location,203  Washington  st.  Central  office  of  the 
Chicago  Telephone  Co.  A  beautiful  structure. 

Temple,  The.— Sometimes  called  "The  Womans'  Temple,"  and  again 
"The  Temperance  Temple,"  properly,  however,  "  The  Temple."  Location, 
S.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Monroe  sts.  This  structure  is  fully  described  in  the 
"  Guide  "  department.  It  is  constructed  of  granite,  marble,  brick  and  steel ; 
thirteen  stories  high,  and  cost  $1,100,000. 

Temple  Court  Building.— Location,  217  Dearborn  St.,  opposite  the  Post- 
office.  A  handsome  modern  office  structure . 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.! 

THAYER  &  JACKSON   STATIONERY   GO'S   BUILDING. 

[245  and  247  State  St.,  Near  Jackson.] 


196  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Teutonic  Building.— Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Washington  st.  and  Fifth  ave. 
This  building  stands  upon  the  site  of  the  old  Teutonia  building,  in  years 
gone  by  named  after  and  occupied  by  the  Teutonia  Life  Insurance  Co.  It  is  a 
ten  story  structure  and  covers  60x80  feet.  Owners,  W.  C.  Seipp  and  T.  J, 
Lefens.  The  interior  is  beautifully  fitted  up.  The  exterior  is  imposing. 

Times  Building.— Location,  N,  W.  Cor.  of  Fifth  ave.  and  Washington  st. 
Erected  by  Wilbur  F.  Storey  as  the  home  of  The  Chicago  Times  after  the 
great  fire.  Considered  for  many  years  a  wonderfvil  structure  but  now  over- 
shadowed by  many  others.  It  is  occupied  by  The  Times,  The  Freie  Presse 
and  many  other  newspaper  offices,  printing  establishments,  etc. 

Title  and  Trust  Building.— Location,south  side  of  Washington, near  Clark 
st.  A  fourteen  story  structure  erected  for  office  piirposes,  by  the  Cook  County 
Abstract  and  Trust  Co.,  at  a  cost  of  $600,000.  This  building  is  constructed 
on  the  steel  frame  plan,  the  floors  being  entirely  independent  of  the  walls. 
It  is  finished  in  marble  and  hardwood,  has  excellent  elevator  service  and  is 
occupied  by  lawyers,  real  estate  agents  and  brokers,  etc.  The  first  floor  is 
given  up  in  great  part  to  the  banking  house  of  Herman  Schaffner  &  Co. 

Traders'  Building. — Location,  10  Pacific  ave.,  opposite  Board  of  Trade. 
A  great  office  building  for  the  accommodation  of  grain  and  produce  com- 
mission men. 

Tremont  House  Building.— 'Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Lake  and  Dearborn  sts. 
A  beautiful  structure,  built  after  the  fire  of  1871,  as  successor  to  two  other 
houses  of  the  same  name  destroyed  by  fire.  The  faca.Jes  of  the  building  are 
very  attractive.  The  general  style  is  a  relief  from  the  severity  of  plainness 
noticeable  in  many  of  the  great  buildings  of  the  city.  The  interior  is  fitted 
up  with  elegance  and  taste.  [See  "Hotels"  and  "  Guide. '•'] 

Tribune  Building. — Location,  S.  E.  Cor.  Madison  and  Dearborn  sts. 
A  handsome  brown-stone  structure  erected  after  the  fire  of  1871.  Fitted  up 
expressly  for  the  publication  of  a  great  daily  newspaper.  The  basement, 
first  floor  and  three  upper  floors,  as  well  as  offices  on  the  second  floor,  are 
occupied  by  The  Tribune;  the  remainder  as  general  offices.  Though  lacking 
the  height  and  perhaps  much  of  the  architectural  finish  which  characterize 
structures  erected  at  a  later  period,  the  Tribune  building  is  pointed  out  as 
one  of  the  ornaments  of  the  business  section.  The  visitor  will  note  the 
counting  room  on  the  corner,  a  beautiful  business  office.  [See  "News- 
papers."] 

Union  Building. — Location,  S.  W.  Cor.  Washington  and  La  Salle  sts.  A 
great  office  building  erected  after  the  fire.  To  be  torn  down  to  make  room 
for  the  new  Stock  Exchange  bldg.,  to  be  erected  by  the  Peck  estate.  [See 
"Guide,"  and  "Stock  Exchange  Building,  New."] 

U.  S.  Appraiser's  Building. — Location,  Harrison  and  Sherman  sts.  Used 
for  storage,  for  bonded  goods  and  as  offices  for  the  United  States  Appraiser 
in  this  city.  The  principal  entrance  is  on  Harrison  st.  From  foundation 
to  roof  the  structure  is  built  with  a  view  to  solidity  and  strength,  and  the 
contractors  claim  that  it  cannot  be  sufficiently  overloaded  with  merchan- 
dise to  affect  its  stability  in  the  least.  It  is  likewise  fireproof  and 
braced  and  anchored  throughout.  The  interior  finish  is  simple  but  neat 
and  in  keeping  with  the  outward  solid  appearance.  White  oak,  highly  pol- 
ished, is  used  exclusively  for  wood-work,  excepting  the  flooring  in  office 
and  storage  rooms,  where  yellow  pine  is  substituted.  In  the  corridors  tiling 
is  utilized  for  floors,  and  the  walls  here  and  around  the  stairways  is 
imported  yellow  enameled  brick.  The  plastering  is  all  laid  on  fire-proofing. 
Iron  stairways  to  the  left  of  the  main  entrance  and  one  passenger  elevator 
furnish  people  the  means  of  entrance  and  exit.  Two  large  freight  elevators 
are  also  provided  for  the  handling  of  merchandise. 

U.  S.  Custom  House.— [See  "  Post  Office,"  also  "  Guide."] 

U.  S  Express  Building.— Location,  north  side  of  Washington  st.,  between 
Dearborn  and  Clark  sts.  A  remodeled  sti'ucture.  Central  offices  of  the 
United  States  and  Pacific  Express  Companies.  Upper  floor  used  as  offices. 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  197 

Unity  Building. — Location,  Dearborn  st.  near  Washington;  sixteen 
stories  high.  This  is  one  of  the  most  magnificent  of  Chicago's  "sky- 
scrapers," and  is  noted  particularly  for  its  beautiful  interior.  Attracting 
universal  attention  from  citizen  and  stranger  alike,  because  of  its  immense 
height,  it  more  than  repays  an  inspection,  not  only  for  its  beauty  but  what 
modern  architecture  and  science  backed  by  capital  and  determination  to 
excel  can  do  in  making  a  palace  of  a  business  building,  should  the  building 
be  visited  by  strangers.  The  Unity  is  of  steel,  iron,  granite,  brick  and  tile 
construction.  For  two  stories  and  a  half  a  massive  front  of  red  rock-faced 
Bay  of  Fundy  granite  rises,  pierced  by  a  large  Roman  arch,  giving  entrance 
to  the  building,  making  an  impressive  and  graceful  facade.  Above  this  the 
walls  are  of  finest  buff  pressed  brick.  Entering  through  the  great  arch  of 
the  portal,  rising  to  the  height  of  a  story  and  a  half,  the  walls  of  the  outer 
vestibule  are  composed  of  Numidian,  Alps,  Green  and  Sienna  marbles. 
Over  the  inner  door  is  an  artistic  screen  of  glass  and  bronze.  Passing 
through  the  rotunda  the  eye  is  dazzled  by  its  surpassingly  brilliant  beauty, 
designed  in  the  style  of  the  Italian  renaissance.  From  the  floor  of  the 
marble  mosaic  whose  graceful  design  and  harmonious  color  combinations 
are  taken  from  the  best  example  of  the  renaissance  in  the  Old  World,  rises 
walls  of  Italian  marble  to  the  height  of  two  stories.  These  are  broken  at 
the  first  story  by  a  marble  balcony  with  marble  balusters  and  balustrades, 
which  run  around  the  rotunda,  giving  entrance  to  the  first  story  banking 
rooms.  Large  Corinthian  pillars  with  brackets  and  caps  finely  carved  sup- 
port the  balcony  and  ceiling.  To  the  right  a  marble  stairway  with  balus- 
trade of  the  same  design,  leads  up  to  it.  To  the  left  is  the  stairway  leading 
to  the  upper  floors,  next  the  high  speed  passenger  elevators,  whose  lattice 
work  front  in  heavy  silver  plate  is  also  in  the  renaissance.  A  rich  Corin- 
thian cornice  with  consols  gilded,  borders  the  ceiling,  which  is  divided  by 
heavy  marble  beams  into  three  panels  filled  with  rosettes  in  deep  relief 
covered  with  gold  leaf.  The  entire  decorative  work  was  done  by  George  H. 
Nesbot  &  Co.  of  243  Wabash  ave.  this  city.  From  each  panel  are  suspended 
silver  chandeliers  of  graceful  and  unique  design,  whose  electrical  lights 
giving  brilliant  luster  to  the  artistic,  exquisitely  harmonious  blending  and 
contrasts  of  colors  and  material,  make  this  splendid  marble  hall  a  beautiful 
sight.  This  combination  of  marble  and  silver  is  carried  up  the  entire  six- 
teen stories.  The  upper  floors  have  two  corridors  at  right  angles  with  the 
elevators  and  stairway  at  the  point  of  meeting,  giving  the  maximum  amount 
of  convenience  in  access  to  offices,  and  giving  every  room  outside  frontage 
and  abundance  of  daylight.  The  building  has  266  suites  or  800  offices. 

Van  Buren  Building.— Location,  north  side  of  Van  Buren,  between  Fifth 
ave.  and  Franklin  st.  Cost,  $150,000. 

Venetian  Building. — Location,  south  side  of  Washington  st.,  near  State, 
back  of  Columbus  building  and  facing  Marshall  Field's  retail  house.  A 
beautiful  twelve  story  structure,  occupied  by  stores  on  the  first  floor  and 
by  offices  above.  The  offices  are  mainly  occupied  by  medical  specialists  and 
professional  people  generally.  The  building  is  splendidly  lighted  and  fin- 
ished tastefully.  Cost,  $300,000. 

Vendome  Hotel  Building.— Location;  Oglesby  ave.,  Cor.  62d  st.  Eight 
stories  tfigh.  Cost,  $900,000. 

Virginia  Hotel  Building.— Location,  78  Rush  st.,  North  side.  One  of  the 
largest  and  most  beautiful  family  hotel  structures  in  the  country.  [See 
"Hotels."] 

West  Side  Theatre  Buildin g.— Location,  N.  W.  Cor.  Madison  st.  and 
Ogden  ave.  Projected.  To  cost  $200,000. 

Western  Bank  Note  and  Engraving  Co.'s  Building. — Location,  Michigan 
ave.  and  Madison  st.  Erected  in  1891.  Eight  stories  high.  Frontage, 
80x110  feet.  The  exterior  of  the  building  is  free  from  ornamentation  but 
bears  a  solid  appearance,  appropriate  to  the  object  for  which  it  was  erected. 
It  is  absolutely  fire-proof.  The  intei-ior  is  finished  throughout  in  marble  and 
red  oak.  All  of  the  modern  and  scientific- appliances  are  brought  into  play 
for  the  comfort  and  convenience  of  tenants.  The  first  floor  is  given  over  to 


198 


GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 


stores,  the  second,  third  and  fourth  to  offices  and  the  remainder  of  the 
building-  is  occupied  by  the  Western  Bank  Note  and  Engraving  Company. 
[See  "  Western  Bank  Note  and  Engraving  Company."] 

Wheeler  Building.— Location,  6  Sherman  st.  A  building  of  the  general 
Board  of  Trade  district  style,  erected  for  the  accommodation  of  commission 
men,  brokers,  etc. 

Wholesale  Buildings.— The  buildings  located  in  the  two  great  wholesale 
districts  of  the  city  [Wabash  ave.,  from  Monroe  st.  north,  Michigan  ave., 

from  Randolph  st.  south,  Lake 
St.,  South  Water  and  River  sts., 
east  of  State,  comprising  one 
district;  and  the  other  bounded 
by  Fifth  ave.,  Madison  st.,  Van 
Buren  st.  and  the  river],  are, 
•with  few  exceptions,  elegant 
modern  structures.  It  is  im- 
possible to  describe  them  all. 
Those  most  worthy  of  attention 
from  visitors,  are  the  Marshall 
Field  bldg.,  the  Farwell  block, 
the  James  H.  Walker  bldg.,  the 
Henry  W.  King  bldg.,  the  C.  M. 
Henderson  bldg.,  the  Sweet- 
Demster  bldg.,  and  the  C.  P. 
Kellogg  bldg. 

Wilson  Building.— Location, 
Fifth  ave.  and  Jackson  st.  Ten 
stories  high.  Cost  $250,000. 

T.  M.  C.  A.  Building.— Loca- 
tion, east  side  of  La  Salle  st. 
Cor.  of  Arcade  court,  near  Madi- 
son st.  Jenney  &  Mundie,  archi- 
t  e  c  t  s.  The  street  front  is  a 
square  tower  173  feet  high  to  top 
of  cornice  and  228  feet  high  to 
peak  of  roof.  The  main  portion 
containing  the  auditorium, 
gymnasium,  and  association 
offices,  is  in  the  rear  of  the  tower 
on  Arcade  court,  and  is  81  x  121 
feet.  The  three  lower  stories  of 
the  La  Salle  st.  tower  are  of 
gray  granite.  Above  the  granite 
the  material  is  terra  cotta,  as 
near  the  color  of  the  granite  as 
practicable.  The  tower  roof  is 
covered  with  red  tile.  The 
basement  is  used  for  the  work- 
ing department  of  the  building, 
containing  six  boilers,  the 
machinery  for  eight  elevators, 
the  electric  light  plant,  house 
pumps,  and  ventilating  appara- 
tus. In  the  basement  are  three  bowling  alleys  on  Arcade  court  and 
the  body  of  the  great  swimming  tank,  22x71  feet,  that  is  entered 
from  the  first  story  at  the  level  of  the  floor.  The  corner  room  on  the  ground 
floor,  containing  2,800  square  feet  of  floor  space  is  fitted  up  for  an  elegant 
"banking  office.  The  entrance  hall  to  the  offices  and  to  the  auditorium  is  about 
twenty  feet  wide  and  leads  to  four  elevators  for  the  offices  and  to  a  grand  stair- 
case, ten  feet  wide,  for  the  assembly-rooms  and  for  the  auditorium.  The  rest 
of  the  first  story  is  devoted  to  the  great  bathing  establishment,  including  a 


IRP  tBBB(PFlf|fflfinJ3fi 


tlrrr 


flUfrrrrrt 


MEDINAH  TEMPLE.— See  Buildings. 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

WESTERN  BANK  NOTE  BUILDING,   MADISON  ST.  &  MICHIGAN  AVE, 
[See  "  Buildings  "  and  "  Western  Industry."] 


200  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

swimming  tank,  eight  feet  deep  at  one  end  and  four  feet  at  the  other.  This 
tank  is  built  of  steel  plates,  riveted  together  and  lined  with  white  China  tile. 
The  second  and  third  stories  contain  the  parlors  and  principal  rooms  of  the 
association,  the  general  and  private  offices,  the  library,  reading  room,  rec- 
reation room,  lecture  hall,  and  the  great  auditorium,  which  is  a  beautiful, 
well-proportioned,  and  convenient  room,  with  a  seating  capacity  of  205  in 
the  parquet,  420  in  the  parquet  circle  and  344  in  the  balcony.  The  fourth 
and  mezzanine  floor  of  that  part  of  the  building  in  rear  of  the  tower  is  occu- 
pied for  baths  and  lockers  for  the  use  of  those  patronizing  the  gymna- 
sium. The  fifth  and  sixth  floors  are  the  gymnasium.  The  appointments 
and  fittings  of  the  athletic  portion  of  the  association  rooms  are  the  best 
that  are  known  and  have  been  selected  by  experts,  the  architects  and  the 
general  secretary  visiting  all  the  best  association  rooms,  and  the  finest 
athletic  clubs  in  the  country  and  consulted  with  those  best  informed  before 
planning  the  building.  This  portion  of  the  building  excels  anything  of  the 
kind  in  the  country.  The  seventh  floor  is  occupied  by  class-rooms.  The 
tower,  or  front  part  of  the  building,  on  the  fourth  to  the  seventh  floors,  and 
all  of,  the  floor  space  on  the  eighth  to  the  thirteenth  floors,  are  divided  tinto 
offices  of  good  proportions. 

T.  M.  C.  A.  Building  of  Englewood.—This  building  has  a  frontage  of  60 
feet  on  Sixty-third  st.  and  130  feet  on  Princeton  ave.,  in  Englewood.  It  is 
five  stories  high ;  the  first  story  is  of  brown  stone  with  pressed  brick  above 
and  terra  cotta  panels,  with  a  slate  roof.  Connected  with  this  structure 
there  is  a  natatorium  20x70  feet;  in  the  basement  are  bowling  alleys  and  a 
gymnasium  56x50  feet.  The  second  floor  is  devoted  to  association  work  and 
a  large  hall  with  seating  capacity  of  700.  The  third  and  fourth  floors  are 
occupied  as  offices  and  the  fifth  floor  is  used  as  a  dormitory  for  young  men. 
The  total  cost  including  the  ground  was  $100,000. 

CEMETERIES. 

There  are  many  beautiful  burying  grounds  within  the  present  corporate 
limits  of  the  city,  and  in  the  immediate  suburbs.  There  are  no  old  grave- 
yards, or  church-yards,  such  as  may  be  seen  in  the  cities  and  towns  of 
Europe,  or  in  the  older  cities  of  this  continent,  within  the  business  district. 
The  only  remains  of  a  cemetery  to  be  seen  in  the  old  city  is  the  tomb  of  the 
Couch  family,  which  still  holds  its  place  in  Lincoln  park,  a  great  portion  of 
which  covers  the  site  of  an  old  graveyard,  [See  "Lincoln  Park."]  There  are 
no  church-yards  in  existence  in  any  part  of  the  West.  The  different  ceme- 
teries, together  with  the  means  of  reaching  them,  are  pointed  out  below. 

Anshe  Haariv  Cemetery. — Located  at  North  Clark  st.  and  Belmont  ave. 
Take  Evanston  Division  of  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  railroad,  or 
North  Clark  st.  cable  line. 

Austro- Hungarian  Cemetery.— located,  at  Waldheim,  10  miles  from  the 
City  Hall.  Take  train  at  Grand  Central  depot,  via  Chicago  and  Northern 
Pacific  railroad.  Train  leaves  at  12:01  p.  m.  daily,  including  Sundays,  run- 
ning direct  to  the  new  cemetery  station,"  immediately  adjoining  Waldheim, 
Forest  Home  and  the  Jewish  cemeteries.  ["  See  Waldheim  Cemetery."] 

Beth  Hamedrash  Cemetery. — Located  at  Oakwoods,  Sixty-seventh  st.  and 
Cottage  Grove  ave.  Take  Cottage  Grove  ave.  cable  line  or  Illinois  Central 
train,  foot  of  Randolph  or  Van  Buren  st.  [See  "Oakwoods  Cemetery."] 

B'nai  Abraham  Cemetery.  —  Located  one-half  mile  south  of  Waldheim, 
Bine  and  one-half  miles  from  the  City  Hall.  Take  train  at  Grand  Central 
depot,  via  Chicago  and  Northern  Pacific  railroad.  Trains  leave  at  12:01 
daily,  including  Sundays.  [See  "Waldheim  Cemetery."] 

B'nai  Shilom  Cemetery.— Located  on  Noi-th  Clark  st.  and  Graceland  ave. 
Take  North  Clark  st.  cable  line,  or  Evanston  Division  of  Chicago,  Milwaukee 
a-nd  St.  Paul  railroad, 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  301 

Calvary  Cemetery. — Located  south  of  and  adjoining  the  village  of  South 
Evanston,  ten  miles  from  the  City  Hall.  Take  train  at  Wells  st.  depot,  via 
Chicago  &  North-Western  railway,  or  at  Union  depot,  via  Evanston  Division 
of  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  railroad.  This  is  the  largest  and  oldest  of 
the  Roman  Catholic  cemeteries.  It  is  situated  beautifully,  fronting  Sheridan 
road  and  Lake  Michigan.  The  cemetery  is  laid  out  with  great  taste.  There 
are  many  costly  and  handsome  tombs  and  monuments  to  be  seen  here.  Among 
the  latter  is  one  erected  to  the  memory  of  Colonel  Mulligan,  the  hero  of  Lex- 
ington. The  tombs  of  the  "eading  Roman  Catholic  families  of  Chicago  are 
located  here.  This  burying  ground  was  consecrated  in  1861.  The  interments 
have  exceeded  25,000.  Trains  leave  on  both  lines  for  Calvary  at  brief  inter- 
vals daily,  including  Sundays. 

Cemetery  of  the  Congregation  of  the  North  Side.— Located  at  Waldheim, 
ten  miles  from  the  City  Hall.  Take  train  at  Grand  Central  depot,  via 
Chicago  &  Northern  Pacific  railroad.  Trains  leave  at  12:01  daily,  including 
Sundays. 

Chebra  Gemilath  Chasadim  Ubikar  Cholim  Cemetery.— Located,  on  North 
Clark  st.,  south  of  Graceland  Cemetery.  Take  train  on  Evanston  Division 
of  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  railroad,  or  North  Clark  st.  cable  line. 
[See  "Graceland  Cemetery."] 

'  Chebra  Kadisha  Ubikar  Cholim  Cemetery.— located  on  North  Clark  st., 
south  of  Graceland  Cemetery.  Take  train  on  Evanston  Division  of  Chicago, 
Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  railroad,  or  North  Clark  st.  cable  line.  [See  "Grace- 
land  Cemetery."] 

Concordia  Cemetery. — Located  about  nine  miles  west  of  the  City  Hall  on 
Madison  st.  beside  the  Desplaines  river.  [See  "  Forest  Home  Cemetery."] 

Forest  Home  Cemetery. — Located  about  nine  miles  west  of  the  City  Hall 
on  Madison  st.,  beside  the  Desplaines  river.  Concoi'dia  Cemetery  adjoins 
this  burying  ground.  Take  train  at  Grand  Central  depot,  via  Chicago  & 
Northern  Pacific  railroad.  Its  eighty  acres  comprise  a  portion  of  the  ground 
once  constituting  Haase's  park,  a  noted  resort  of  its  day.  This  cemetery  is 
beautifully  situated  and  laid  out  with  great  taste.  The  interments  in  Forest 
Home  Cemetery  and  Concordia  Cemetery  combined  have  numbered  about 
15,000. 

Free  Sons  of  Israel  Cemetery.— located,  at  Waldheim,  ten  miles  from  the 
City  Hall.  Take  train  at  Grand  Central  depot,  via  Chicago  &  Northern 
Pacific  railroad.  [See  "  Waldheim  Cemetery."] 

German  Lutheran  Cemetery.— Located  on  N.  Clark  st.,  S.  E.  Cor.  Graceland 
ave.  Take  N.  Clark  st.  cable  line.  This  cemetery  belongs  to  the  St.  Paul 
and  Emanuel  Lutheran  Cunrches. 

Graceland  Cemetery.— Located  on  North  Clark  st.  five  miles  from  the  City 
Hall.  Take  train  at  Union  depot,  via  Evanston  Division  Chicago,  Milwau- 
kee <fe  SK  Paul  railroad  for  Buena  Park,  the  beautiful  station  of  which 
suburb  faces  the  main  entrance  of  the  cemetery,  or  take  the  North  Clark  st. 
cable  line.  Better  still,  the  visitor  will  enjoy  a  magnificen',  carriage  ride 
by  way  of  the  North  side  Water  Works,  Lake  Shore  Drive,  Lincoln  Park, 
through  Lake  View  and  some  of  the  most  charming  of  the  Northerti  suburbs, 
to  this  cemetery.  The  Graceland  Cemetery  Company  was  organized  under 
a  special  charter  in  1861. 

Hebrew  Benevolent  Society  Cemetery. — Located  south  of  Graceland  Ceme- 
tery and  may  be  reached  in  a  similar  manner. 

Moses  Monteftore  Cemetery.— Located,  at  Waldheim,  ten  miles  from  the 
City  Hall.  [See  "  Waldheim  Cemetery."] 

Mount  Greenwood  Cemetery. — Located  one-half  mile  west  of  Morgan  Park, 
a  suburb,  fourteen  miles  south  of  the  City  Hall.  Take  trains  at  the  Van 
Buren  st.  depot,  via  Chicago  Rock  Island  &  Pacific  Railway. 

Mount  Hope  Cemetery.— Projected ;  to  be  located  at  Washington  Heights, 
south  of  the  city. 


203  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Mount.  Olive  Cemetery.— Located  at  Dunning,  nine  miles  west  of  the  City 
Hall.  Take  train  at  Union  Depot,  via  Chicago,  Milwaukee  and  St.  Paul  rail- 
road. This  is  a  beautiful  cemetery  and  is  the  burying-place  of  Scandinavian 
families.  The  secretary  and  treasurer  is  Mr.  Paul  O.  Stensland. 

Mount  Olivet  Cemetery. — Located  one-half  mile  west  of  the  suburb  of 
Morgan  Park.  Take  train  at  Dearborn  station,  via  Chicago  &  Grand  Trunk 
railway. 

Oakivoods  Cemetery.— Located  on  Sixty-seventh  st.  and  Cottage  Grove 
ave.  Take  Illinois  Central  railroad,  foot  of  Randolph  or  Van  Bui-en  st.,  or 
Cottage  Grove  ave.  ca.ble  line.  This  cemetery  was  laid  out  in  1864.  It 
includes  200  acres  of  ground  beautifully  laid  out  on  the  "lawn  plan."  A 
charming  drive  to  the  cemetery  Is  via  Michigan  and  Grand  blvds.  and  Wash- 
ington Park.  This,  Rosehill  and  Graceland  are  the  three  prominent  native 
Protestant  burying  grounds  of  the  city. 

Ohavey  Emunah  Cemetery.— Located  at  Waldheim,  ten  miles  from  the  City 
Hall.  Take  train  at  Grand  Central  depot,  via  Chicago  &  Northern  Pacific 
railroad.  Trains  leave  at  12:01  P.  M.  daily,  including  Sundays.  [See  "Wald- 
heim Cemetery."] 

Ohavey  Scholom  Cemetery.— Located,  at  Oakwoods,  Sixty-seventh  st.  and 
Cottage  Grove  ave.  Take  Cottage  Grove  ave.  cable  line  or  Illinois  Central 
train,  foot  of  Randolph  or  Van  Buren  st.  [See  "  Oakwoods  Cemetery."] 

Jtosehill  Cemetery.— Located  seven  miles  northeast  of  th^  City  Hall.  Take 
train  at  Wells  st.  depot,  via  Milwaukee  Division  of  Chicago  <fe  North-Western 
raih-oad.  The  Rosehill  Cemetery  Company  was  chartered  February  11, 1859. 
This  burying  ground  covers  at  present  about  500  acres,  but  extensions  can 
be  made.  Two  hundred  additional  acres  have  already  been  platted  and 
improved.  It  is  the  most  beautiful  cemetery  in  the  vicinity  of  Chicago  and 
contains  many  handsome  and  costly  tombs  and  monuments,  the  most  prom- 
inent of  the  latter  being  the  soldiers'  monument  at  the  head  of  the  main 
avenue.  Large  numbers  of  those  who  were  once  the  leading  men  of  the  city 
are  interred  here,  and  the  inscriptions  on  the  tombs  are  interesting  to  the 
student  of  Chicago  history.  The  greenhouses  and  conservatories  of  Rose- 
hill  are  very  handsome  and  extensive.  The  ground  slopes  down  to  the  rail- 
road track  and  forms  a  beautiful  landscape.  It  is  thickly  wooded  with  fine 
ti-ees,  and  a  large  lake  adds  greatly  to  its  beauty.  This  cemetery  may  be 
reached  easily  by  carriages,  via  Lake  Shore  drive,  Lincoln  Park,  Graceland 
and  some  of  the  most  charming  of  the  northern  suburbs.  Among  the  things 
which  will  at  once  strike  the  visitor  Avith  admiration  is  the  handsome  en- 
trance arch. 

Sinai  Congregational  Cemetery.— Located  at  Rosehill.  [See  "  Rosehill 
Cemetery."] 

St.  Boniface  Cemetery. — Located  on  N.  Clark  st.  Cor.  Lawrence  ave. 
Take  N.  Clark  st.  cable  line.  This  is  the  German  Roman  Catholic  Cem- 
etery. 

Waldheim  Cemetery.— Located  ten  miles  west  of  the  City  Hall.  Take 
train  at  Grand  Central  depot,  via  Chicago  &  Northern  Pacific  railroad. 
Funeral  train  leaves  at  12:01  P.M.  daily,  including  Sundays,  running  direct 
to  the  new  cemetery  station,  immediately  adjoining  Waldheim,  Forest  Home 
and  the  Jewish  cemeteries.  Here  are  interred  the  anarchists  executed  for 
connection  with  the  Haymarket  bomb-throwing.  [See  "  Haymarket  Massa- 
cre."] A  number  of  burying  grounds  are  located  in  this  vici  iiity. 

Zion  Congregation  Cemetery. — Located  at  Rosehill.  [See  "  Rosehill  Cem- 
etery."] 

CHARITIES. 

Charity  aboundeth  in  Chicago.  It  is  estimated  that  the  amount  volun* 
tarily  subscribed  annually  for  charity,  and  in  support  of  charitableinstitu- 
tions  in  Chicago,  exceeds  $3,000,000.  Trere  are  in  Chicago  11  as^furns  for 


204  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

children,  employing  87  persons,  caring  for  3,164  persons  and  conducted  at  an 
annual  cost  of  $103,747;  2  diet  kitchens,  employing  5  persons,  caring  for 
2,212  persons,  and  conducted  at  an  annual  cost  of  $2,200;  9  employment 
bureaus,  employing  9  persons,  caring  for  6,766  persons  and  conducted  at  an 
annual  expense  of  $556;  5  fresh  air  bureaus,  caring  tor  30,844  persons  and 
conducted  at  an  annual  cost  of  $9,061;  6  homes  for  the  aged,  employing  16 
persons,  caring  for  869  persons  and  conducted  at  an  annual  expense  of 
$588,244;  6  homes  for  women,  employing  38  persons,  caring  for  4,764  persons 
and  conducted  at  an  annual  expense  of  $50,683;  7  industrial  schools,  employ- 
ing 79  persons,  caring  for  2,507  persons  and  conducted  at  an  annual  cost  of 
$103,748;  3  kindergarten  schools  employing  112  persons,  and  conducted  at 
an  annual  cost  of  $14,900;  7  day  nurseries  employing*  persons,  caring  for 
217  persons  and  conducted  at  an  annual  cost  of  $13,093;  10  placing  children ; 
5  protective  schools,  employing  17  persons,  caring  for  8, 440  persons  and  con- 
ducted at  an  annual  cost  of  $25,117;  12  relief  societies,  employing  16  persons, 
caring  for  23,084  persons  and  conducted  at  an  annual  cost  of  $59,061 ;  4 
reformatories,  caring  for  2,218  persons  and  conducted  at  an  annual  cost  of 
$63,976;  6  visitations  employing  68  persons,  caring  for  27,252  per- 
sons and  conducted  at  an  annual  cost  of  $14,855;  23 'dispensaries  and 
hospitals  employing  633  persons,  caring  for  56,067  persons,  and  conducted 
at  an  annual  expense  of  $295,012 ;  8  training  schools  for  nurses,  caring  for 
320  persons  and  conducted  at  an  annual  expense  of  $29,217.  A  summary  of 
Cook  county  and  Illinois  state  charities  shows  that  thei'e  are  eleven  state 
institutes,  employing  814  persons,  caring  for  10,836  persons,  and  conducted  ' 
at  an  annual  expense  of  $1,396,997;  four  county  institutions,  employing  456 
persons,  caring  for  15,980  persons,  and  conducted  at  an  annual  expense  of 
$421,955;  city  institutions,  employing  870  persons,  caring  for  170,744  persons 
and  conducted  at  an  annual  expense  of  $899,191.  The  above,  neither  as  regards 
the  public  or  private  charities  of  Chicago  or  Cook  county,  covers  the  actual 
number  of  institutions,  nor  does  it  comprehend  the  work  or  the  expense  of 
over  1,000  benevolent  semi-religious  or  religious  societies.  Following  is  a 
list  of  the  recognized  or  deserving  charities  of  the  city,  which  includes 
every  character  of  organized  work,  with  addresses. 

ASYLUMS  AND  HOMES.— American  Educational  Aid  Society.— Finds  homes 
for  children.  Nursery  located  at  238  Sixty-sixth  st.  Older  children  at  Aurora, 
111.,  till  homes  are  found.  Office,  room  41,  232  La  Salle  st.  Chicago  Indus- 
trial School  for  girls,  (Catholic.) — A  home  for  girls  from  4  to  18  years  of  age. 
Cor.  Indiana  ave.  and  49th  st.  Chicago  Nursery  and  Half-Orphan  Asylum — 
Pay  and  free.  175  Burling  st.  and  855  N.  Halsted  st.  Chicago  Orphan  Asy- 
lum.—2228  Michigan  ave.  Children's  Aid  Society.— Receives  suitable  home- 
less and  destitute  children,  and  places  them  in  family  homes.  Also  finds 
homes  for  mothers  with  one  child.  Home  on  Indiana  ave.,  near  31st  st. 
Office,  room  44,  204  Dearborn  st.  Church  Home  for  Aged  Persons.  (Episcopal.) 
—Ladies  only.  Terms  $5.00  per  week,  or  life  contract,  $300.  4327  Ellis  ave. 
Cook  County  Insane  Asylum. — Telephone  4334,  Dunning,  111.  Cook  County 
Poor  House.— Telephone  4334,  Dunning,  111.  Applications  for  admission 
should  be  made  at  the  office  of  the  County  Agent,  128  S,  Clinton  st.  Danish 
Lutheran  Orphans'  Home. — Free  (unless  friends  are  able  to  pay).  69  Perry 
ave.,  Maplewood.  Erring  Woman's  Refuge— For  the  reformation  of  fallen 
women.  Free.  Telephone  10162,  5024  Indiana  ave.  Foundling's  Home. — 
Free.  114  S.  Wood  st.  German  Old  People's  Home. — Both  sexes.  Admission, 
$300.  Harlem  Cook  Co.  Guardian  Angel  Orphan  Asylum.  (German  Catholic.) 
— Havelock  P.  O.,  Cook  Co.  Holy  Family  Orphan  Asylum.  (Catholic.)— Cor. 
Holt  and  Division  sts.  Home  for  Crippled  Children. — 91  Heine  st.  West 
North  ave.  cars  to  Heine  st.  Home  for  the  aged.  (Catholic.)— (Little  Sisters 
of  the  poor.)  Both  sexes.  Free.  29  and  31  E.  25th  st. ;  W.  Harrison,  Cor. 
Throop,  and  Sheffield  ave.,  Cor.  Fullerton  ave.  Home  for  Convalescents. — 
Convalescents  are  boarded  out  in  families  at  the  rate  of  $5.00  per  week. 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  205 

Address  Dr.  Delafield,  4333  Ellis  ave.  Home  for  the  Friendless. — Temporary ' 
home  for  women  and  children.  Homeless  and  abandoned  children  are  placed 
in  permanent  homes.  Telephone  8194.  1926  Wabash  ave.  The  Chicago 
Relief  and  Aid  Society  owns  certain  rights  in  this  institution.  Home  for 
Incurables.— Both  sexes.  Pay  and  free.  Telephone  10074 ;  Ellis  ave.,  Cor.  56th 
st.  Home  for  Self-supporting  Women.— All  the  inmates  are  required  to  pay. 
Telephone  3710.  275  Indiana  st.  Home  for  Unemployed  Girls.  (Catholic.)— 
House  of  the  Good  Shepherd.  Market  st.  Cor.  Elm.  Home  of  Industry. — 
Discharged  male  prisoners.  234  Honore  st.  House  of  the  Good  Shep- 
herd. (Catholic.) — Reformatory  institution  for  young  girls.  N.  Market 
st.  Cor.  Hill.  House  of  Providence,  (Catholic.) — (Mercy  Hospital.)  For 
unemployed  girls.  Calumet  ave.,  Cor  26th  st.  Illinois  Industrial  School  for 
Girls. — Reformatory  institution  for  young  girls.  South  Evanston,  111.,  Illi- 
nois Industrial  Training  School  for  Boys.— Free.  Glenwood  Park,  111. 
Illinois  Masonic  Orphan's  Home. — 447  Carroll  ave.  Illinois  Soldiers'  Orph- 
ans' Home.— Government  institution.  Free.  Normal,  111.  Illinois  Women's 
Soldiers'  Home. — 1408  Wabash  ave.  Martha  Washington  Home. — For  ine- 
briate women.  Telephone  12181.  Graceland  ave.,  Cor  Western  ave.  News- 
boy's and  Bootblacks'  Home.  Pay  and  free.  1418  Wabash  ave.  Old  People's 
Home. — Ladies  only.  Admission,  $300  and  furniture  for  one  room.  Indiana 
ave.,  Cor.  of  39th  st.  The  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid  Society  owns  twenty-five 
rooms  in  this  institution,  for  which  application  may  be  made  at  its  office, 
51  and53LaSalle  st.  Servite  Sisters'  Industrial  Home  for  Girls.  (Catholic.)— 
1396  W.  Van  Buren  st.  Soldiers'  Home.— The  Home  is  abolished,  but  the 
money  is  distributed,  by  members  of  its  Board,  to  old  soldiers  or  their 
families,  at  the  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid  Society,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st. 
St.  Joseph's  Asylum  for  Boys.  (Catholic.) — Crawford  ave.,  bet.  W.  Diversey 
and  W.  Belmont.  St.  Joseph's  Home  for  the  Friendless.  (Catholic.)— An 
industrial  school  and  home  for  girls,  and  school  for  the  deaf.  409  S.  May  st. 
St.  Joseph's  Orphan  Asylum.  (Catholic.)— Both  sexes.  35th  st.,  cor.  Lake 
ave.  St.  Mary's  Training  School  for  Boys.  (Catholic.)— Free.  Feehanville, 
Cook  Co.,  111.  St.  Vincent's  Infant  Asylum  and  Maternity  Hospital.  (Catho- 
lic.) 191  La  Salle  ave.  Telephone  3282.  Swedish  Home  of  Mercy.— Men  and 
Women.  Free.  Bowmanville,  111.  The  Bethany  Home  of  the  Swedish  M. 
E.  Church  for  Aged  Women.— Sheridan  road  and  Rinn  ave.  Uhlich  Evan- 
gelical Lutheran  Orphan  Asylum.  (German.) — 221  Burling  st.,  Cor.  Center. 
Waifs'  Mission.— Home  and  School  for  Boys.  Pay  and  free.  44  State  st. 
Washingtonian  Home.— Men  only.  Pay  and  free.  Telephone  7028.  566 
W.  Madison  st.  Western  Seaman's  Friend  Society.  Sailors.  Pay  and  free. 
32  N.  Desplaines  st.  Working  Boy's  Home  and  Mission  of  our  Lady  of  Mercy. 
— Pay  and  free.  361  W.  Jackson  st.  Young  Women's  Christian  Association. 
Good  board  and  wholesome  surroundings  at  a  very  low  rate,  for  skilled 
workingwomen.  288  Michigan  ave.  Young  Women's  Christian  Association. 
— Home  for  Transients.  Nominal  price  or  free.  362  W.  Jackson  st.  An 
agent  is  also  sent  to  meet  incoming  trains.  Employment  office  and  dispen- 
sary, 240  Wabash  ave. 

DAY  NURSERIES  AND  CRECHES.— Bethesda  Mission  Creche,  406  S.  Clark  st. 
Hull  House  Creche,  221  Ewing  st.  Margaret  Etter  Creche,  2356  Wabash  ave. 
Talcott  Day  Nursery  No.  1,  169  W.  Adams  st.  Talcott  Day  Nursery  No.  2,  581 
Austin  ave.  Unity  Church  Creche,  80  Elm  st. 

DISPENSARIES. — ALEXIAN  BROTHERS'  HOSPITAL,  pharmacy,  539'N.  Market 
st.  AMERICAN  COLLEGE  OP  DENTAL  SURGERY,  70  80 State  st.  ARMOUR  MISSION, 
Thirty-third  st.,  S.  E.  Cor.  Butterfield  st. ;  open  daily  (Sundays  e«cepted) 
from  9  to  11  a.  m.  BENNETT  FREE  DISPENSARY,  Ada  and  Fulton  sts. ;  attended 
by  the  faculty  of  the  Bennett  Medical  College;  open  daily  (Sundays  excepted) 
from  1 :30  to  3  p.  m.  BETHESDA  FREE  MEDICAL  MISSION,  406  Clark  st.,  under 
care  of  W.  C.  T.  U. ;  open  every  day,  except  Saturdays  and  Sundays,  from  3 
to  5  p.  m.  CENTRAL  FREE  DISPENSARY  of  West  Chicago,  Wood  and  W.  Harri- 
son sts. ;  attended  by  the  faculty  of  the  Rush  Medical  College ;  office  hours, 
9  to  12  a.  m.,  and  1  to  6  p.  m. ;  Sundays,  9  to  10:30  a.  in.  CENTRAL  HOMOSO- 
PATHIC,  S.  Wood  and  York  sts.;  attended  by  the  faculty  of  the  Chicago 
Homoeopathic  College;  open  daily  (except  Sunday)  from  9  to  12  a.  m.,  and  2 


20l»  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

to  4  p.  m.  CHICAGO  CLINIC  ASSOCIATION,  open  daily,  from  3:30  to  4:30  p.  m. ; 
room  215,  70  State  st.  CHICAGO  COLLEGE  OP  DENTAL  SURGERY,  122  Wabash 
ave. ;  open  daily,  from  9  a.  m.  to  4  p.  m.  CHICAGO  HOSPITAL  FOR  WOMEN  AND 
CHILDREN,  Paulina  and  W.  Adams  sts. ;  open  every  day  except  Sunday. 
CHICAGO  POLYCLINIC  DISPENSARY,  176  Chicago  ave. ;  open  from  8:30  a.  m.  to 
6  p.  m.  daily.  CHICAGO  SPECTACLE  CLINIC,  70  State  st.,  room  209:  open  9  to  10 
a.  m.  GERMAN  HOSPITAL,  754-756  Larabee  st. ,  hours,  9  to  12  a.  m.  and  2  to  4 
p.  ».,  except  Sunday.  HAHNEMANN  COLLEGE  FREE  DISPENSARY,  2813  Grove- 
land  ave. ;  attended  by  the  faculty  of  Haimemann  Medical  College;  open 
all  day.  ILLINOIS  EYE  AND  EAR  INFIRMARY,  121  S.  Peoria  st. ;  open  daily  (ex- 
cept Sunday),  from  1  to  3  p.  m.  LINCOLN  STREET  DISPENSARY  (Women's 
Medical  College),  335  337  S.  Lincoln  st. ;  open  from  2:30  to  5  p.  m.  MICHAEL 
REESE  HOSPITAL  FREE  DISPENSARY,  Groveland  ave.,  N.  E.  Cor.  Twenty-ninth 
st.  NATIONAL  TEMPERANCE  HOSPITAL,  3411  Cottage  Grove  ave.;  open  from  10 
to  12  a.  m.  and  2  to  4  p.  m.  NORTH  STAR,  192  Superior  st. ;  open  daily  (except 
Sunday),  1  to  2  p.  m.  NORTHWESTERN  COLLEGE  OF  DENTAL  SURGERY,  1203 
Wabash  ave. ;  open  from  8  a.  m.  to  6  p.  m.  SOUTH  SIDE  FREE  DISPENSARY. 
Prairie  ave.  and  Twenty-sixth  st. ;  open  daily,  1  to  3  p.  m. ;  attended  by  the 
faculty  of  Chicago  Medical  College.  ST.  LUKE'S  FREE  DISPENSARY,  1420-1430 
Indiana  ave. ;  open  daily,  from  12  m.  to  4  p.  m.  WEST  SIDE  FREE  DISPENSARY 
in  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons,  315  Honore  and  W.  Harrison  st. ; 
open  daily  (except  Sunday),  from  1  to  5  p.  m.  WOMAN'S  HOSPITAL  OF  CHI- 
CAGO, Rhodes  ave.,  N.  W.  Cor.  Thirty-second  st. ;  open  daily  (except  Sunday), 
fi'om  2  to  4  p.  m.  YOUNG  WOMEN'S  CHRISTIAN  ASSOCIATION  (for  women  and 
children),  39  Rowland  blk. ;  open  Monday  and  Friday  from  12  m.  to  1  p.  m. 

FREE  EMPLOYMENT  BUREAUS.—  Children's  Aid  Society.— For  boys,  Room 
44.  204  Dearborn  st.  German  Society.— For  men,  49  La  Salle  st.  Provident 
Laundry  of  the  Home  for  Self-Supporting  Women. — Instructs  laundresses 
and  gives  employment  to  needy  women.  Telephone  3710.  275  E.  Indiana  st. 
The  Helping  hand. — For  men,  N.  E.  Cor.  Washington  blvd.  and  Clinton  st. 
Waifs'  Mission.— For  boys.  44  State  st.  Wood  Yard  of  the  Chicago  Relief 
and  Aid  Society.— For  men.  Telephone  3415.  395  N.  Clark  st.  Young  Men's 
Christian  Association. — For  men  and  boys.  Telephone  359,  148  Madison  st. 
Young  Women's  Christian-Asso. — Employment  found  for  governesses,  book- 
keepers, office  clerks,  seamstresses,  etc.,  room  61,  243  Wabash  av. 

FREE  KINDERGARTEN^. — All  Souls  Kindergarten,3939  Langley  ave. ;  Armour 
Mission  Kinderg'arten,  33d  st.  and  Armour  ave. ;  Bethesda  Mission  Kinder- 
garten, 409  S.  Clark;  Bohemian  Mission  Kindergarten,  711  Loomis  st. ;  Bor- 
land Kindergarten,  Horace  Mann  School,  Cor.  37th  st.  and  Portland  ave. ; 
Brennan  Public  School  Kindergarten,  Brighton  Public  School  Kindergarten, 
Drexel  Kindergarten,  Raymond  School,  Friederich  Froebel  Kindergarten, 
Cor.  12th  and  Halsted  sts. ;  Hancock  Public  School  Kindergarten,  Herford 
Kindergarten,  (Morning),  405  22d  st. ;  Hull  House  Kindergarten,  335  South 
Halsted  st.;  Immanuel  Baptist  Church  Kindergarten,  2306  State  st. ;  Italian 
Kindergarten,  505  S.Clark  st. ;  Kate  C.Richardson's  Memorial  Kindergarten, 
Memorial  Baptist  Church,  Oakland  blvd.  near  Cottage  Grove  ave. ;  Kinder- 
garten, 171  Division  st. ;  King's  Daughters'  Kindergarten,  5304  Jefferson  ave. ; 
Kinzie  Public  School  Kindergarten,  Peck  Public  School  Kindergarten  (After- 
noon), Poi'ter  Memorial  Kindergarten,  Cor.  12th  st.  and  Ashland  ave.;  Ray- 
mond Mission  Kindergarten,  Cor.  30th  and  Poplar  sts. ;  Sedgwick  St.  Chapel 
Kindergarten,  388  Sedgwick  st. ;  St.  Pius  Con  vent -Kindergarten,  Cor.  Ashland 
ave.  and  20th  st. ;  St.  Pius  Monastery  Kindergarten,  Cor.  19th  and  Paulina  sts. ; 
Talcott  Day  Nursery  Kindergarten  No.  1,  169  W.  Adams  st. ;  Talcott  Day  Nur- 
sery Kinder-garten  No.  2, 581  Austin  ave. ;  The  Creche  Kindergarten,  Cor.  24th 
st.  and  Wabash  ave. ;  The  Borden  Kindergarten,  517  and  519  Milwaukee  ave. ; 
Unity  Industrial  School  Kindergarten,  80  Elm  st. 

FREE  NURSES  AND  TRAINING  SCHOOLS  FOR  NURSES.— Bethesda  Deaconess 
Institution  (German.) — Free  nurses  for  the  poor  may  be  obtained,  30  and  32 
Belden  pi.  Chicago  Deaconess'  Home. — Free  nurses  for  the  poor  may  be 
obtained,  221  East  Ohio  st.  Chicago  Training  School.— Free,  114  Dearborn 
ave.  Clara  Barton  Ti-aining  School  for  Nurses;  all  pay,  3411  Cottage  Grove 
ave.  Illinois  Training  School  for  Nurses.— In  connection  with  Cook  County 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
GEORGE  B.  CARPENTER  &  CO.,   FIFTH  AVE.  AND  S.  WATER  ST. 

[See  "  Western  Industry."] 


208  GUIDE    TO   CHICAGO. 

Hospital,  telepDone,  7155,  304  Honore  St.,  near  West  Harrison  st.  Michael 
Reese  Hospital  Training  School. — Twenty-ninth  st.,  Cor.  Groveland  ave. 
Norwegian  Deaconess'  Home. — Free  nurses  may  be  obtained,  190  Humboldt 
st.  Poor  Handmaids  of  Jesus  Christ  'Catholic.)— Day  nurses,  pay  and  free, 
212  Hudson  ave..  and  52  Newberry  ave.  Provident  Hospital  Training  School 
(colored.)— Dearborn  st.,  Cor.Twenty-ninth.  Sisters  of  St.  Mary  (Episcopal.  )  — 
Vi^jt  among  the  sick,  215  Washington  blvd.  St.  Luke's  Hospital  Training 
School.— 1420  Wabash  ave.  Training  School  of  the  Hospital  for  Women  and 
Children.— West  Adams  st.,  Cor.  Paulina.  Visiting  Nurse  Association.— 
Free  nurses  may  be  obtained  for  poor  people ;  North  side,  telephone  3002 ; 
Northwest  side,  telephone  4518;  South  side,  telephone  8166;  West  side,  tele- 
phone 7134;  office,  59  Dearborn  st.  Woman's  Hospital  Training  School. — 
Thirty-second  St.,  N.  W.  Cor.  Rhodes  ave. 

HOSPITALS.— Alexian  Bi-others  Hospital.  (Catholic).— Men  and  boys.  All 
diseases  except  contagious.  Pay  and  free.  Telephone  3467.  539  North  Mar- 
ket st.  The  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid  Society  owns  eighteen  beds  in  this  hos- 
pital, for  which  application  may  be  made  at  its  office,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st. 
Augustana  Hospital.  (Swedish.) — Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases 
except  contagious.  Pay  and  free.  Telephone  3022.  151  Lincoln  ave.  Bap- 
tist Hospital.— Pay  and  free.  541  North  Halsted  st.  Bennett  Hospital.— Both 
sexes.  All  pay  patients.  Telephone  7091.  Ada  St.,  Cor.  Fulton.  Chicago 
Emergency  Hospital. — Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  axcept  con- 
tagious. Surgery  a  specialty.  Pay  and  free.  191  Superior  st.  Chicago 
Homoeopathic  Hospital.— Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  except 
contagious.  All  pay  patients.  Telephone  7291.  South  Wood  st.  Cor.  York. 
Chicago  Hospital  for  Women  and  Children.— All  diseases  except  contagious. 
Pay  and  free.  Telephone  7071.  W.  Adams  st.  Cor.  Paulina.  The  Chicago 
Relief  and  Aid  Society  owns  twenty-five  beds  in  this  hospital,  for  which  ap- 
plication may  be  made  at  its  office,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st.  Chicago  Charity 
Hospital. — Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  except  contagious.  All  pa- 
tients free.  59  Plymouth  Place  (3d  ave).  Chicago  Eye  and  Ear  Infirmary.— 
Free.  Tuesdays  and  Thursdays,  from  2  to  4  o'clock.  2813  Groveland  ave. 
Chicago  Maternity  Home. — (Lying  in  Hospital.)  All  pay  patients.  Telephone 
3627.  1619  Diversey  st.  Chicago  Polyclinic  Hospital.— All  pay  patients. 
Telephone  3586.  176  E.  Chicago  ave.  Cook  County  Hospital.— All  ages 
and  both  sexes.  All  diseases.  Free.  Telephone  7133.  W.  Harrison  st. 
Cor.  Wood.  German  Hospital. — Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases 
except  contagious.  Half  its  beds  free.  Telephone  3376.  754  Larrabee  st. 
Hahnemann  Hospital. — Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  except  conta- 
gious. Pay  and  free.  Telephone  8104.  2811  Groveland  ave.  The  Chicago 
Relief  and  Aid  Society  owns  fifteen  beds  in  this  hospital,  for  which  applioa- 
tion  may  be  made  at  its  office,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st.  Illinois  Charitable  Eye 
and  Ear  Infirmary. — State  Institution.  Boarding  and  dispensary  patients. 
All  free.  Telephone  4048.  227  W.  Adams  st.  The  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid  So- 
ciety owns  rooms  for  twenty  patients  in  this  institution,  for  which  applica- 
tion may  be  made  at  its  office,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st.  Lake  Side  Hospital. — 
Surgery  a  specialty.  All  pay  patients.  Telephone  10221.  Marine  Hospital. — 
Sailors.  Government  institution.  Special  provision  for  contagious  diseass. 
Free.  Telephone  12107.  N.  Halsted  st.,  near  Graceland  ave.  Maurice  Porter 
Memorial  Free  Hospital  for  Children.— 606  Fullerton  ave.  Mercy  Hospital.— 
(Catholic.)  Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  except  contagious.  Pay  and 
free.  Telephone  8267.  Calumet  ave.,  Cor.  26th  st.  The  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid 
Society  owns  forty  beds  in  this  hospital,  for  which  application  may  be  made 
at  its  office,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st.  Michael  Reese  Hospital.— (Jewish. )  All  ages 
and  both  sexes-  Pay  and  free.  Telephone  8212.  29th  st.,  Cor.  Groveland  ave. 
National  Temperance  Hospital. — All  ages  and  both  sexes.  All  pay  patients. 
Telephone  8341.  3411  Cottage  Grove  ave.  Presbyterian  Hospital.— Both 
sexes.  All  diseases  except  contagious.  Pay  and  free.  A  convalescent  De- 
partment is  attached  to  this  hospital.  Telephone  7189.  W.  Congress  st., 
Cor.  S.  Wood.  Provident  Hospital. — (Colored).  Pay  and  free.  S.  W.  Cor. 
Twenty-ninth  and  Dearborn  sts.  St.  Joseph  Hospital.  (Catholic.)— Both 
sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  except  contagious.  Pay  and  free.  Tel- 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  209 

e phone  3543.  360  Garfield  are.,  cor.  Burling  st.  The  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid 
Society  owns  thirty  beds  in  this  Hospital,  for  which  application  may  be' 
made  at  its  office,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st.  St.  Luke's  Free  Hospital.  (Episco- 
pal.)— Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  except  contagious.  Pay  and 
free.  Telephone  8438.  1420  Indiana  ave.  The  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid  Society 
owns  twenty-eight  beds  in  this  Hospital,  for  which  application  may  be 
made  at  its  office,  51  and  53  La  Salle  st.)  St.  Elizabeth  Hospital.  (Catholic.)— 
Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases  except  contagious.  Pay  and  free. 
Telephone  7329.  Davis  st.,  Cor.  Thompson.  West  North  ave.  cars  to  Davis 
st.  Wesley  Hospital.  (Methodist.) — Both  sexes  and  all  ages.  All  diseases 
e  xcept  contagious.  Pay  and  free.  Telephone  2415.  355  Ohio  st.  Woman's 
Hospital  of  Chicago.  Women  only.  Pay  and  free.  Telephone  8353.  Thirty- 
second  St.,  Cor.  Rhodes  ave. 

MISSIONS  AND  MISCELLANEOUS. — ANCHORAGE  MISSION. — A  temporary  home 
for  friendless  girls,  including  fallen  women  and  discharged  female  prison- 
ers. 125  Plymouth  pi.  (Third  ave.)  ARMOUR  MISSION  INDUSTRIAL  SCHOOL.— 
For  boys  and  girls.  (See  list  of  Creches  and  Kindergartens.)  Telephone 
8390.  Cor.  Thirty-third  st.  and  Armour  ave.  BETHESDA  MISSION.— Cheap 
lodging  house  for  men.  (See  also  list  of  Creches  and  Kindergartens.)  406 
S.  Clark.  BUREAU  OF  JUSTICE. — Legal  protection  against  injustice  for  those 
who  are  unable  to  protect  themselves.  154  Lake  st.  CHICAGO  EXCHANGE 
FOR  WOMAN'S  WORK — Work  of  indigent  woman  sold  at  a  commission  of  10 
percent.  Telephone  2912.  209  Wabash  ave.  CITIZENS' LEAGUE  OF  CHICAGO. — 
Prosecutes  sellers  of  liquor  to  minors.  Telephone  1437.  Rooms  31  and  32, 
116  La  Salle  st.  G.  A.  R.  CENTRAL  RELIEF  COMMITTEE.— G.  A.  Soldiers,  453  S. 
Canal  st.  ILLINOIS  WOMAN'S  ALLIANCE. — First  Friday  of  every  month. 
Parlor  O,  Palmer  House.  IMMEDIATE  AID  MISSION  AND  INDUSTRIAL  DAY 
SCHOOL. — 2917  S.  Clark  st.  LAKE  GENEVA  FRESH  AIR  ASSOCIATION. — President, 
E.  E.  Ayer,  481  N.  State  st.  LINCOLN  PARK  SANITARIUM.— Address  Miss 
Harriet  M.  Dewey,  Daily  News.  MINNETONKA  WORKING  WOMEN'S  HOME. — 
A  cheap  boarding  house  for  women,  21  S.  Peoria  st.  PROTECTIVE  AGENCY 
FOR  WOMEN  AND  CHILDREN.— Protection  and  defense  of  the  rights  of  women 
and  children  against  wrongs  of  any  nature.  Telephone  1782.  828  Opera 
House  Building.  THE  MUTUAL  MEDICAL  AID  ASSOCIATION.— By  paying  $10 
per  year,  medical  aid  will  be  furnished.  Telephone  2519.  Room  317,  North- 
ern Office  Building.,  S.  W.  Cor.  La  Salle  and  Lake  sts.  THE  UNION  TRAINING 
SCHOOL. — Industrial  school  for  boys  and  girls.  Meets  every  Saturday  morn- 
ing. 1086  W.  Lake  st.  UNITY  CHURCH  INDUSTRIAL  SCHOOL  FOR  GIRLS. — (See 
list  of  Creches  and  Kindergartens.  80  Elm  st.  WESTERN  SOCIETY  FOR  THE 
SUPPRESSION  OF  VICE. — For  the  suppression  of  obscene  literature,  etc. 
Address  H.  D.  Penfield,  48  La  Salle  st. 

SOCIEITES.— CHICAGO  RELIEF  AND  AID  SOCIETY.— Non-sectarian.  Gives 
temporary  aid  to  the  better  class  of  poor.  Also  owns  two  hundred  and  four- 
teen beds  in  private  hospitals,  twenty-five  rooms  in  the  Old  People's  Home, 
and  certain  rights  in  the  various  Orphan  Asylums,  Newsboys'  Home,  Eye 
and  Ear  Infirmary,  Home  for  the  Friendless,  Foundlings'  Home,  etc.,  etc. 
Gives  temporary  employment  to  men  at  its  wood  yard,  through  which  per- 
manent work  is  often  found  for  them.  Telephone  773.  Office,  51  and  53  La 
Salle  st.  DANISH  RELIEF  SOCIETY. — President,  Fritz  Frantzen,  296  Milwaukee 
ave.  GERMAN  SOCIETY  FOR  THE  PROTECTION  OF  IMMIGRANTS  AND  THE  FRIEND- 
LESS.— Gives  aid  in  cash  and  otherwise.  Also  finds  work  for  immigrants. 
49  La  Salle  st.  HYDE  PARK  RELIEF  SOCIETY.— President,  Mrs.  George  Driggs. 
5361  Cornell  ave.  ILLINOIS  HUMANE  SOCIETY. — For  the  prosecution  of  persons 
guilty  of  cruelty  to  persons  or  animals.  Telephone  65,  room  43,  Auditorium 
bldg.  LUXEMBOURG  SOCIETY.— For  Luxembourgers  only.  49  La  Salle  st. 
NORWEGIAN  SOCIETY. — Temporary  aid  to  Norwegians.  First  and  third  Mon- 
day in  every  month.  President,  John  Blegen,  164  Randolph  st.  RUSSIAN 
REFUGE  CHARITY  ASSOCIATION.— General  relief  to  Hebrew  Russian  Refugees. 
567  S.  Halsted  st.  SCANDINAVIAN  BETHANY  AID  SOCIETY. — Second  Monday  of 
each  month.  Secretary,  Adolf  Monsen,  244  W.  Erie  st.  330  W.  Indiana  st.  ST. 
ANDREWS'  SOCIETY.— Temporary  aid  to  Scots.  First  Thursday  in  February, 
May,  August  ami  November.  Secretary,  James  Duncan,  Sherman  House. 


210  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

ST.  GECRGE'S  BENEVOLENT  SOCIETY.— Temporary  aid  to  stranded  Englishmen. 
First  Monday  of  each  month,  at  St.  George's  Hall,  182  Madison.  President, 
Alexander  Cook;  secretary,  W.  C.  Hill.  SVEA  SOCIETY.— For  Swedes  only. 
First  and  third  Thursday  in  each  month.  Chicago  ave.  N.  E.  Cor.  Larabee 
st.  Swiss  BENEVOLENT  SOCIETY.— For  Swiss  only.  Second  Monday  of  each 
month  at  8  P.  u.  Uhlich's  Hall,  Clark  st.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Kinzie.  ST.  VINCENT  DE 
PAUL  SOCIETY.— A  branch  of  this  society  is  found  in  nearly  every  Catholic 
church,  for  the  relief  of  its  poor.  THE  HELPING  HAND.— Lodging  House  for 
men.  They  pay  by  sweeping  streets,  or  doing  other  work ;  N.  E.  Cor.  Wash- 
ington blvd.  and  Clinton  st.  UNITED  HEBREW  RELIEF  ASSOCIATION. — Aid 
given  in  cash,  and  permits  to  the  Jewish  Hospital  and  Jewish  Orphan 
Asylum.  Room  50, 161  La  Salle  st.  VISITATION  AND  AID  SOCIETY.  (Catholic.) — 
Visit  and  investigate  among  the  poor.  The  aid  given  is  mostly  spiritual. 
Room  5,  124  Dearborn  st. 

CHARITIES— LEADING  INSTITUTIONS. 

A  complete  list  of  the  recognized  charities  of  the  city  is  given  above. 
There  are  some  noble  charities  in  existence  here,  however,  which  deserve 
the  special  attention  of  the  visitor. 

American  Educational  Aid  Association. — Organized  for  the  care  of  home- 
less and  needy  children.  Has  over  1,000  branches.  Takes  the  little  ones 
under  its  care  and  provides  them  with  good  homes  or  adopted  fathers  and 
mothers  in  the  country.  Location  of  office,  230  LaSalle  st- 

Armour  Mission. — Location,  Butterfield  and  Thirty-third  st.  Founded 
by  Joseph  F.  Armour,  who  bequeathed  $100,000  for  the  purpose.  Phillip  D. 
Armour,  executor  of  this  trust,  has  greatly  enlarged  upon  the  original 
design.  The  Mission  is  practically  a  great  free  educational  institution  for 
children.  It  has  numerous  departments,  including  kindergarten,  free  dis- 
pensary, library,  Sunday  school,  etc.  It  is  worthy  of  a  visit. 

Armour  Mission  Training  School. — Erected  by  Phillip  D.  Armour  and 
presented  to  the  city  for  the  free  manual  training  of  the  youth  of  Chicago 
who  could  not  obtain  the  privileges  of  a  paid  education.  This  gift  repre- 
sented the  magnificent  sum  of  $1,700,000.  Location  near  Armour  Mission. 
[See  "Education"  and  "Buildings"] 

Bureau  of  Justice. — An  organization,  first,  to  assist  in  securing  legal 
protection  against  injustice  for  those  who  are  unable  to  protect  themselves. 
Second,  to  take  cognizance  of  the  workings  of  existing  laws  and  methods  of 
procedure,  and  to  suggest  improvements.  Third,  to  propose  new  and  better 
laws,  and  to  make  efforts  to  ward  securing  their  enactment.  Office  rooms, 
6  and  7  Marine  building,  154  Lake  st. 

Chicago  Daily  News  Fresh  Air  Fund. — Conducted  under  the  auspices  of 
the  Chicago  Daily  News,  by  which  newspaper  it  is  largely  supported, 
although  public  contributions  are  numerous  and  liberal.  Features:  The 
Fresh  Air  SanUarium  at  Lincoln  Park,  wrhere  mothers  and  babies  are  enter- 
tained without  charge  during  the  hot  summer  months.  The  Sanitarium 
building  is  an  interesting  place  to  visit.  The  babies  have  every  comfort, 
including  cradles,  carriages,  toys,  etc.,  and  are  provided  with  fresh  milk 
and  medical  attendance.  The  Country  Week,  which  provides  the  poor  of 
the  city  with  country  outings,  free  of  all  charge.  The  office  of  The  Daily 
News  Fresh  Air  Fund  is  at  123  Fifth  ave. 

Chicago  Free  Kindergarten  Association. — Organized  for  the  establish- 
ment and  maintenance  of  free  kindergartens  throughout  the  city.  It  costs 
a  trifle  over  $5  per  annum  for  each  child  cared  for.  First-class  instructors 
are  provided.  Everything  is  free.  This  charity  reaches  the  homes  of  the 
poor  and  provides  for  the  care  and  training  of  children  whose  mothers  are 
compelled  to  work  out. 

Chicago  Nursery  and  Half -Orphan  Asylum.— Located  at  175  Burling  st. 
and  855  N.  Halsted  st.  One  of  the  most  useful  and  most  worthy  of  the 
charities  of  Chicago. 


212  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

Chicago  Orphan  Asylum.—  Located  at  2228  Michigan  ave.  Take  Cottage 
Grove  ave.  cable  line.  Under  Protestant  management,  but  children  of  all 
denominations  are  admitted. 

Chicago  Policlinic.— A.  large  and  well  equipped  building,  located  at  174 
and  176  E.  Chicago  ave.  This  is  one  of  the  most  meritorious  institutions  in 
the  city.  All  sorts  of  diseases  are  treated  free  of  charge  to  sufferers. 
About  thirty  Chicago  physicians  are  connected  with  the  institution. 

Chicago  Relief  and  Aid  Society.— Organized  by  special  act  of  the  legisla- 
ture in  1857.  Located  in  Chicago  Relief  and  Aid  Society  bldg.,  La  Salle  st., 
between  Randolph  and  Lake  sts.  This  society  received  a  large  portion  of 
the  surplus  funds  contributed  by  the  world  for  the  relief  of  the  people  of 
Chicago,  after  the  great  fire  of  1871.  It  is  supported  now  by  private  contri- 
bution; it  has  200  beds  in  the  various  hospitals ;  investigates  reported  cases 
of  destitution ;  distributes  clothing,  fuel,  etc.  The  society  has  branch  offices 
as  follows :  Southern  office,  3601  Wabash  ave. ;  northern  office,  420  Lincoln 
ave. :  western  office,  Monroe,  Cor.  Ogden  ave. 

Church  Home  for  Aged  Persons.— Located,  at  4327  Ellis  ave.  Take  Cottage 
Grove  ave.  cable  lines. 

Chicago  Home  for  Crippled  Children.— Dr.  J.  Prince  in  charge.  Located 
at  91  Heine  st.  This  institution  is  designed  as  a  mission  to  the  poor  and 
destitute,  and  a  charitable  asylum  for  infirm  or  crippled  children.  It 
depends  upon  voluntary  subscription. 

Danish  Lutheran  Orphans'  Home.— Located,  at  Maplewood,  a  suburb  of 
Chicago.  Take  train  at  Wells  st,  depot,  Wells  and  Kinzie  sts.  Under  direc- 
tion of  the  Danish  Lutheran  Church  Society  of  Chicago. 

Englewood  Infant  Nursery.— Location,  6516  Perry  ave.  Of  700  babies 
cared  for  during  four  years,  only  thirty-six  died.  Infants  are  taken  from 
mothers  who  are  unable  to  care  for  them  properly,  or  who  are  obliged  to 
work  out. 

Erring  Woman's  Refuge. — Located  on  the  west  side  of  Indiana  ave,, 
between  Fiftieth  and  Fifty-first  sts.  This  institution  was  founded  in  1865. 
The  present  building  was  dedicated  and  thrown  open  in  the  fall  of  1890.  It 
cost  $60,000  and  will  accommodate  one  hundred  women. 

Foundlings'1  Home. — Located  at  114  Wood  st.,  near  West  Madison  st., 
West  side.  Dr.  George  E.  Shipman,  Supt.  Visiting  day,  Tuesday,  from 
11  A.  M.  to  4  P.  M.  Take  Madison  st.  cable  line.  First  opened  for  the  recep- 
tion of  foundlings,  January,  1870,  by  Dr.  Shipman.  One  of  the  most  inter- 
esting, as  it  is  one  of  the  most  deserving  charities  in  the  city.  The  found- 
lings average  about  100,  and  range  in  age  from  the  newly- born  to  twelve 
months.  They  are  usually  adopted  or  redeemed  by  their  parents  before 
reaching  one  year.  The  Home  depends  solely  upon  voluntary  contributions 
for  support,  but  is  now  so  well  known  and  so  widely  appreciated  that  it 
does  not  suffer  the  old  sorrows  of  destitution  and  misery.  [Dr.  Shipman 
died  early  in  1893.] 

Free  Labor  Bureau. — Location,  167  Washington  st.  Under  the  auspices 
of  the  Building  Trades  Council.  Employers  may  procure,  without  cost, 
competent  mechanics  in  any  of  the  building  trades. 

Lake  Geneva  Fresh  Air  Association. — Organized  June,  1888,  by  wealthy 
ladies  and  gentlemen  of  Chicago,  summer  residents  of  Lake  Geneva.  It  is 
said  this  grand  charity,  which  has  for  its  object  the  granting  of  recreation 
to  poor  children  and  working  girls,  during  the  heated  terms  of  each  year, 
had  its  origin  in  the  suggestion  of  a  Chicago  lady  during  a  moonlight  boat 
ride  on  the  lake.  The  association  purchased  eight  acres  of  ground  on  the 
north  shore  of  Lake  Geneva,  near  Forest  Glen.  The  land  lies  in  one  of  the 
most  picturesque  spots  around  this  beautiful  lake.  It  is  on  a  wooded  hill- 
side running  down  to  the  shore,  and  has  300  feet  frontage  on  the  lake.  A 
two-story  frame  house,  with  basement,  was  built  on  a  level  with  the  gentle 
slope  that  runs  down  to  the  lake.  The  house  stands  several  hundred  feet 
back  from  the  shore  and  immediately  in  the  rear  of  it  rises  the  steep 
acclivity  of  the  hill  or  bluff.  This  house  was  christened  the  '-'  Holiday 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  213 

Home,"  and  many  a  heart  has  leaped  with  gladness  within  its  walls.  On 
June  15th  of  each  year  the  association  sends  out  eighty  young  women  to  the 
home  for  an  outing  of  two  weeks.  Tney  are  found  in  the  ranks  of  the  shop 
girls,  clerks,  type-writers  and  stenographers.  Their  car  fare  is  paid  both 
ways  by  the  association  and  their  board  and  lodging  are  free.  Their  sum- 
mer retreat  lasts  until  July  1st.  They  return  that  day  in  the  morning,  and 
in  the  afternoon  another  party  of  eighty  younger  girls,  ranging  from  six  to 
thirteen  years  of  age,  are  sent  out  to  the  home.  This  lot  is  found  among 
the  school  children  principally.  A  selection  committee  has  charge  of  the 
matter.  Applications  for  an  outing  are  handed  into  this  committee  and  it 
makes  an  investigation.  If  the  application  is  found  to  be  a  proper  one 
the  applicant  is  registered  as  one  who  can  go.  The  city  is  divided  into 
districts,  each  one  having  an  agent  who  reports  applications  to  the  selec- 
tion committee,  and  then  the  general  agent  makes  his  investigation. 

On  the  afternoon  of  July  15th  a  lot  of  eighty  boys  are  taken  out  on  the 
train  to  the  home.  They  are  selected  from  the  poorer  families  and  the  sickly 
children.  The  succeeding  fortnights  alternate  with  a  lot  of  boys  and  then  a 
lot  of  girls  at  the  home  up  to  September  1st.  This  allows  the  children  to 
return  in  time  for  the  opening  of  the  public  schools.  The  first  two  weeks  of 
September  are  devoted  to  giving  recreation  to  eighty  mothers  and  eighty 
babies.  The  mothers,  babies,  young  women  and  girls  and  boys  are  given 
free  excursions  on  the  lake  by  the  gentlemen  in  the  vicinity  who  own 
private  yachts. 

German  Old  People's  Home. —'Located,  at  Harlem— Altenheim  P.  O.— ten 
miles  west  of  the  City  Hall.  Take  train  at  Grand  Central  depot,  Fifth  ave. 
and  Harrison  st.  This  Home  was  established  through  the  efforts  and  gener- 
osity of  the  German  residents  of  Chicago,  and  is  the  largest  and  best  con- 
ducted institution  of  its  kind  in  the  country.  The  Home  buildings  are  com- 
plete, the  surroundings  beautiful,  and  nothing  is  spared  to  make  the  lives 
of  the  old  people  committed  to  its  care  as  happy  as  possible. 

Good  Samaritan  Society.— Industrial  Home,  151  Lincoln  ave.,  North  side; 
take  Lincoln  ave.  car.  This  institution  is  incorporated  by  special  charter. 
The  object  of  this  Society  is  to  provide  a  place  for  destitute  women  and  girls, 
believed  to  be  worthy,  where  they  can  earn  an  honest  and  respectable 
living. 

Guardian  Angel  Orphan  Asylum.— This  is  a  German  Roman  Catholic 
institution  and  is  located  at  Rosehill  (Havelock  P.  O.).  Take  train  at  Wells 
st.  depot,  Wells  and  Kinzie  sts.  The  institution  is  conducted  by  the  Poor 
Handmaids  of  Jesus  Christ;  Superior,  Sister  Mary  Hyacinthe. 

Hebrew  Charity  Association.— This  association  is  accomplishing  a 
remarkable  and  a  noble  work  in  Chicago.  It  is  composed  of  the  various 
Hebrew  charitable  organizations.  The  receipts  from  its  annual  charity- 
ball  run  up  to  $12,000,  which  sum  is  distributed  among  Jewish  charitable 
institutions. 

Helping  Hand,  The.— Location  at  West  Washington  and  Clinton  sts. 
Object,  to  assist  deserving  men  to  such  an  extent  as  will  fit  them  to  help 
themselves.  One  of  the  most  important  rules  of  the  new  establishment  is 
thus  expressed:  "A  clean  bed,  a  compulsory  bath,  a  clean  night  shirt,  and 
such  treatment  of  clothing  as  will  destroy  all  vermin,"  all  of  which  is  deemed 
quite  as  needful  as  food  to  the  self-respect  of  a  man.  The  three  floors  con- 
tain twenty-six  rooms,  eighteen  of  which  are  provided  with  enough  single 
beds  to  accommodate  one  hundred  lodgers.  The  rates  at  the  Helping  Hand 
are  15  cents  for  a  bed,  or  35  cents  for  supper,  bed  and  breakfast.  Cash  will 
be  accepted  from  those  who  have  it;  able-bodied  men  without  the  price  will 
be  required  to  pay  an  equivalent  in  work  furnished  by  the  institution, 
(-ripples  and  men  unable  to  work  do  not  come  within  the  scope  of  this 
refuge;  they  will  be  referred  to  the  institutions  which  cover  that  field. 

Holy  Family  Polish  and  Bohemian  Orphan  Asylum. — Located  at  Holt  and 
Division  sts.  This  is  a  Catholic  institution.  Sister  Mary  Rosarnunda, 
Superior. 


214  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Home  for  Cripples.— Projected.  For  the  care  of  destitute  crippled 
children. 

Home  for  Incurables. — Located  on  Ellis  ave.  and  Fifty-sixth  st.  Take 
Cottage  Grove  ave.  cable  line.  The  buildings,  together  with  the  surround- 
ing grounds,  are  the  gift  of  Mrs.  Clarissa  C.  Peck.  This  kindly  lady,  when 
living,  was  active  in  all  good  works,  and  dying,  bequeathed  the  better  half 
of  her  estate  for  the  alleviation  of  a  class  for  whom  no  adequate  provision 
was  made.  To  be  eligible,  the  applicant  must  be  afflicted  with  some  pro- 
nounced disease,  which  is  considered  incurable  by  the  trustees,  who  are  the 
final  judges  in  the  matter.  The  predominating  diseases  are  paralysis  and 
rheumatism,  the  first  being  the  more  frequent.  Those  who  are  so  afflicted 
as  not  to  be  able  to  walk  are  provided  with  invalid  chairs,  which  they  can 
propel  at  pleasure  about  their  rooms  or  through  the  long  corridors  out 
upon  the  wide  verandas.  There  are  comfortable  seats  and  inviting  ham- 
mocks and  a  perspective  of  lawn  and  bright  flowers  which  means  much  to 
feeble  eyes  and  limbs.  There  is  a  parlor  upon  every  floor,  where  the  chairs 
are  wheeled  at  the  will  of  each  occupant.  There  is  a  commodious  reading- 
room,  and  the  men  have  a  smoking-room  where  they  may  indulge  to  their 
hearts'  content  in  the  use  of  their  favorite  brands.  During  the  usual  visit- 
ing hours  strangers  are  always  welcome. 

Home  for  Self  -  Supporting  Women. — Located  at  275  and  277  Indiana  st. 
Take  Indiana  street  car.  An  institution  which  affords  a  home  for  girls  and 
women,  whether  employed  or  unemployed,  if  they  are  willing  to  support 
themselves  when  occasion  offers.  A  great  many  women  who  work  outside 
make  this  their  home. 

Home  for  Unemployed  Girls. — Located  at  Market  and  Elm  sts.,  North 
side.  Take  North  Market  st.  car.  This  institution  is  conducted  by  the 
Franciscan  sisters.  Girls  temporarily  out  of  employment  are  cared  for 
here.  The  charity  is  a  noble  on3  and  receives  the  generous  support  of 
Roman  Catholics. 

Home  for  Working  Women.— Located  at  21  S.  Peoria  st.,  West  side.  Take 
Madison  st.  cable  line.  Conducted  by  the  Working  Women's  Home  Associa- 
tion. The  home  was  first  opened  on  the  17th  of  May,  1890.  The  aim  of  those 
in  charge  is  to  furnish  a  place  where  no  respectable  woman,  regardless  of 
her  nationality  or  religion,  will  be  refused  needed  assistance,  and  to  enable 
those  who  earn  but  little  to  live  comfortably  and  respectably.  The  food  is 
said  to  be  wholesome,  well-cooked,  and  there  is  plenty  of  it.  Every  inmate 
has  her  own  bed,  and  every  room  has  a  closet.  Free  stationary?  reading, 
sewing  and  bathing  rooms  are  at  the  disposal  of  all,  and  a  typewriter  and 
piano  add  to  the  attraction  of  the  place. 

Home  for  the  Friendless.— Located  at  1926  Wabash  ave.  Take  Wabash 
ave.  cable  line.  Established  in  1858.  It  is  stated  in  the  act  of  incorpora- 
tion :  "  The  object  and  purpose  of  the  Chicago  Home  for  the  Friendless  shall 
be  the  relieving,  aiding  and  providing  homes  for  friendless  and  indigent 
women  and  children."  The  middle-aged  women  at  the  home  are  usually 
transients.  A  woman  is  out  of  work,  or  a  stranger,  and  has  no  money  to 
get  a  lodging.  She  makes  her  way  to  the  home,  where  all  are  received 
except  the  unfortunate  victim  of  drink,  for  whom  there  is  no  immediate 
place  but  the  police  station.  After  admission  the  new  guest  is  provided 
with  a  hot  bath,  and,  if  she  desires,  some  clean  clothes.  She  is  then  given  a 
good  meal,  and,  as  it  is  usually  at  night  that  such  applications  are  made,  she 
is  taken  to  a  comfortable  bed.  In  the  morning,  after  breakfast,  she  is 
expected  to  help  during  the  forenoon  with  the  work  of  the  house,  and  then 
she  can  have  the  rest  of  the  day  to  look  for  employment  outside.  Some- 
times such  women  stay  for  a  week  or  tAvo  weeks  before  they  find  work,  and 
they  are  made  to  feel  at  home  during  that  time.  In  what  is  called  the 
"  Industrial  School,"  young  girls — or  women  who  seriously  desire  to  learn — 
are  taken,  and,  while  kept  as  inmates  of  the  home  for  such  time  as  would 
be  required,  are  taught  sewing  and  housekeeping.  The  children  in  the 
home  are  mostly  those  who  have  been  abandoned  by  their  parents  and 
picked  up  by  officers  of  the  Humane  Society.  They  come,  of  course,  in  dif- 


216  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

ferent  ways,  out  criminal  neglect  by  their  parents  is  the  usual  cause  of 
their  suffering.  Children  under  nine  months  are  not  received  at  this  insti- 
tution. 

Home  of  Industry.— located,  at  234  and  236  Honore  St.,  West  side.  Take 
Van  Buren  st.  car.  The  Home  of  Industry  was  organized  by  Michael  Dunn, 
a  reformed  criminal,  who  had  spent  over  thirty  years  of  his  life  in  penal 
institutions  all  over  the  world.  It  is  a  refuge  for  returned  convicts.  In 
connection  with  the  institution  is  a  broom  factory,  where  every  one  who 
is  taken  in  has  to  earn  his  living  or  do  as  much  toward  it  as  he  can.  The 
institution  is  not  self-supporting  and  has  to  depend  quite  largely  on  public 
charity.  Most  of  the  inmates  of  the  place  come  from  Joliet  and  Michigan 
City,  the  nearest  prisons  to  this  city,  but  the  place  has  been  a  refuge  for 
pi-isoners  from  most  every  penal  institution  in  the  country.  Every  man  is 
paid  for  his  work  in  the  place  from  the  time  he  enters,  according  to  the 
degree  of  proficiency  he  has  acquired.  Many  of  them  turn  out  well  and 
return  to  their  homes  to  lead  honest  lives. 

Home  of  Providence.— Located  at  Calumet  ave.  and  Twenty-sixth  st., 
adjoining  Mercy  Hospital.  Take  Cottage  Grove  cable  line.  An  institution 
for  the  care  and  protection  of  young  women.  Conducted  by  the  Sisters  of 
Mercy. 

Home  of  the  Aged.— Located  at  W.  Harrison  and  Throop  sts.  Take  W. 
Harrison  st.  car.  Conducted  by  the  Little  Sisters  of  the  Poor,  who  depend 
for  the  maintenance  of  the  institution  entirely  upon  the  alms  which  they 
solicit.  The  building  is  a  very  large,  plain,  brick  structure  and  is  generally 
crowded  with  inmates,  whose  ages  vary  between  60  and  100  years.  It  is  a 
worthy  charity  and  the  Little  Sisters,  who  have  a  method  of  seeking  alms 
peculiar  to  themselves,  are  generally  popular  among  the  business  people 
of  the  city,  who  give  them  liberal  contributions.  The  Little  Sisters  are  a 
French  order.  They  have  two  institutions  in  the  city. 

House  of  The  Good  Shepherd.— Located,  at  N.  Market  and  Hill  sts.  Take 
Market  st.  car.  Conducted  by  the  Sisters  of  the  Good  Shepherd— Superior, 
Mother  Mary  Angelique.  This  institution  is  a  haven  and  a  reformatory  for 
fallen  women  desiring  to  rise  out  of  their  condition,  and  is  one  of  the  most 
extensive,  as  well  as  one  of  the  most  useful,  charities  in  the  city. 

Hull  House. — Hull  House  is  the  title  by  which  is  known  a  social  settle- 
ment of  women  established  335  South  Halsted  st.  Its  purpose  is  to  furnish 
an  intellectual  and  social  center  for  the  surrounding  neighborhood.  There 
is  no  organization  and  the  residents  pay  their  own  expenses.  Miss  Culver, 
the  owner  of  the  property,  gives  the  rent,  and  various  friends  furnish  a 
small  fund  for  contingent  expenses.  Mr.  Edward  Butler  has  erected  a  fire- 
proof art  building,  in  which  are  an  art  exhibit  room,  a  studio  and  a  station 
of  the  free  public  library.  Hull  House  carries  on  a  free  kindergarten  com- 
posed largely  of  Italian  children.  In  a  separate  cottage  is  a  day  nursery 
where  mothers,  who  are  obliged  to  work  away  from  home,  may  bring  their 
children  to  be  cared  for  and  fed  during  the  day  for  a  charge  of  five  cents 
each.  A  well  equipped  diet  kitchen  furnishes  specially  prepared  food  for 
the  sick,  which  is  sold  at  the  cost  of  the  material;  or,  if  necessary,  given 
away  on  the  recommendation  of  the  visiting  district  nurse.  A  free  gymna- 
sium is  open,  which  is  used  three  evenings  in  the  week  by  men  and  boys, 
and  three  evenings  by  women  and  girls.  There  are  various  free  afternoon 
sewing  classes  for  girls,  and  clubs  for  small  boys,  and  evening  social  and 
literary  chibs  for  girls  and  young  men.  Weekly  free  concerts  or  lectures 
are  held,  to  which  all  who  visit  the  House  are  invited.  Five  evenings  in  the 
week  College  Extension  courses  are  given,  for  which  a  fee  of  fifty  cents  per 
course  of  twelve  weeks  is  charged.  The  average  number  of  students  in 
these  classes  is  about  175,  while  the  total  average  number  of  persons  who 
visit  the  House  weekly  to  attend  the  various  classes  and  clubs  is  about  800. 

Industrial  Training  Schools.— [For  industrial  training  schools  for  boys 
and  girls,  see  "  Education— Training  Schools."] 


GEXKHAL   INFORMATION.  217 

Margaret  Etter  Creche  Kindergarten.— Located  at  2356  Wabash  ave.  Take 
Wabash  ave.  cable  line.  Established  Aug.  3, 1885.  One  of  the  noblest  chari- 
ties in  the  city.  It  cares  for  the  children  of  mothers  who  are  compelled  to 
work  out  for  a  living.  Besides  "the  day  nursery  a  kindergarten  is  carried 
on,  but  it  in  no  way  counts  on  the  treasury  of  the  creche.  The  assistance 
of  charitably -inclined  people  is  necessary  to  the  maintenance  of  the  creche. 

Masonic  Orphans'  Home. — Located  at  447  Carroll  ave.  and  Sheldon  st. 
Cares  for  about  thirty  children,  but  has  accommodation  for  about  seventy- 
live,  and  is  supported  by  voluntary  contributions  from  city  and  state. 

Newsboys'  and  Bootblacks'  Home. — Located  at  1418  Wabash  ave.  Take 
Wabash  ave.  cable  line.  This  institution  has  been  in  existence  over  twenty- 
five  years.  It  had  its  inception  in  the  Chicago  Industrial  School  from 
which  a  charter  was  obtained  in  1867.  This  industrial  school  was  very  soon 
merged  into  the  home  and  was  the  first  movement  to  assist  helpless  street 
children  in  Chicago.  The  object  of  the  institution  is  "to  provide  a  go'od 
Christian  home  for  newsboys  and  bootblacks  and  other  unprotected  home- 
less boys.  Also  to  aid  them  in  finding  homes  and  employment  in  either-  city 
or  country."  While-the  doors  of  the  Home  have  always  been  open  and  a 
request  for  shelter  and  food  has  been  all  that  was  necessary  to  obtain 
admittance,  in  order  to  foster  independence  and  self-help  the  small  sum  of 
15c.  is  charged  for  supper,  breakfast  and  lodging.  If,  however,  a  boy  is  not 
able  to  pay  "banner,"  as  all  charges  for  entertainment  are  called  by  street 
boys,  he  is  still  entertained.  Provision  is  made  lor  destitute  boys  by  giving 
them  work  and  small  amount  of  money  for  starts  by  which  they  are  able  to 
earn  what  is  required  for  their  immediate  living  expenses.  The  Newsboys" 
Appeal,  is  a  small  paper  published  in  the  interests  of  the  Home,'giving  inside 
news,  etc.  Although  the  Home  is  not  entirely  self-supporting,  there  is  no 
soliciting  done  in  its  interests.  Previous  to  the  fire,  a  lot  on  Quincy  st.  was 
given  to  the  Home  upon  which  a  small  building  was  erected.  After  the  fire, 
through  the  assistance  of  the  Relief  and  Aid  Society,  r  brick  building  was 
built,  which  together  with  the  lot,  was  later  sold  to  MarshaK  Field  &  Co.  for 
commercial  purposes  for  $50,000.  The  directors  bought  the  present  location 
out  of  the  amount  and  the  balance  is  used  for  current  expenses.  There  is  a 
night  school  four  evenings  in  a  week  from  7:30  to  9  o'clock  which  the  boys 
are  required  to  attend,  and,  where  it  is  deemed  advisable,  other  instruction 
is  provided.  The  institution  is  intended  for  a  temporary  home,  the  chief  aim 
being  to  provide  permanent  employment  for  the  boys  who  come  there  from 
all  parts  of  the  world.  The  management  of  the  Home  co-operates  with  the 
Humane  Society  and  other  kindred  organizations,  and  in  this  way  keeps 
pretty  thoroughly  informed  in  regard  to  homeless  boys. 

Odd  Fellows'  Orphans'  Home.— Located  at  Lincoln,  121.,  156  miles  south  of 
Chicago.  Take  Chicago  &  Alton  or  Illinois  Central  train.  This  is  an  insti- 
tution for  the  orphan  children,  male  and  female,  of  Odd  Fellows.  Buildings 
erected  on  a  site  presented  by  citizens  of  Lincoln.  Corner-stone  laid  April 
26,  1891. 

Old  People's  Home.— Indiana  ave.  and  Thirty-ninth  st.  Take  Indiana  ave. 
car  on  Wabash  ave.  cable  line.  Founded  about  thirty  years  ago  by  a  hum- 
ble seamstress,  who  resided  on  Third  ave.  After  the  great  fire  it  received 
from  the  Relief  and  Aid  Society  the  siini  of  $50,000,  which  was  used  as  the 
nucleus  of  a  building  fxmd,  and  the  latter  part  of  1873  found  them  estab- 
lished in  their  present  commodious  home.  Later  on  the  vacant  lots  between 
them  and  the  corner  of  Thirty-ninth  st.  were  purchased,  thus  adding  158x100 
feet  to  their  property.  This  donation  from  the  Relief  and  Aid  Society  was 
given  under  the  conditions  that  the  name  should  be  changed  to  read  "The 
Old  People's  Home,'' and  indigent  old  gentlemen  were  to  be  admitted  as 
well  as  ladies,  the  Relief  and  Aid  Society  to  have  control  of  twenty  rooms 
for  the  benefit  of  its  own  proteges.  This  institution,  in  common  with  many 
others  of  our  city  charities,  is  an  heir  of  the  late  John  Crerar,  and  receives 
by  his  munificence  an  addition  of  #50,000  to  their  funds.  There  are  at  pres- 
ent sixty-eight  inmates,  so  that  the  capacity  is  vei'y  nearly  reached.  The 
rooms  pertaining  to  the  Relief  and  Aid  Society  are  always  occupied,  admit- 


218  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

tance  to  them  being  absolutely  free.  Of  all  other  inmates  an  admission 
fee  of  $300  is  charged,  the  applicant  being  required  to  furnish  her  own 
room. 

School  Children's  Aid  Society.— Organized  for  the  purpose  of  helping  the 
very  poor  children  of  the  city  to  take  advantage  of  the  public  schools.  The 
Society  assists  dependent  widows  and  invalid  parents  so  that  they  may 
spare  the  little  ones,  clothes  the  children  properly,  furnishes  them  with 
school  books,  etc. 

School  for  Deaf  and  Dumb.-— Located,  at  409  May  st.,West  side.  Conducted 
by  the  religious  of  the  Holy  Heart  of  Mary  and  supported  by  the  Eph- 
eta  Society.  The  average  number  of  deaf  mutes  in  the  school  is  about 
fifty,  and  four  experienced  teachers  are  employed.  Mrs.  John  Cudahy  has 
devoted  a  great  deal  of  her  time  to  this  noble  charity. 

Servite  Sisters'  Industrial  Home  for  Girls.— Located  at  1396  West  Van 
Buren  st.  Take  Van  Buren  st.  car  or  Madison  st.  cable  line.  An  institution 
for  the  care,  protection  and  training  of  girls  who  have  no  homes,  or  homes 
unfit  for  them.  Conducted  by  the  Servite  Sisters  of  Mary. 

St.  Joseph's  Asylum  for  Boys.— Located  on  Crawford  ave.,  between  West 
Diversey  st.  and  Belmont  ave.  Take  Milwaukee  ave.  car. 

St.  Joseph's  Home.— Located  at  409  South  May  st.,  West  side.  Take  Blue 
Island  ave.  or  Twelfth  st.  car.  The  principal  object  of  this  institution  is  to 
afford  a  protecting  home  for  respectable  young  girls  out  of  employment, 
until  such  time  as  suitable  positions  are  secured  for  them,  either  as  domes- 
tics, sales-ladies,  cashiers,  bookkeepers,  librarians,  etc.  The  terms  for 
board  are  regulated  according  to  the  accommodations  required,  ranging  in 
price  from  $2  to  $5  per  week. 

St.  Joseph  Female  Orphan  Asylum.— Located  at  35th  st.,  and  Lake  av. 
Take  Cottage  Grove  av.  car.  Conducted  by  the  Sisters  of  the  Congregation 
of  St.  Joseph. 

St.  Joseph's  Providence  Orphan  Asylum.— Situated  near  Pennock  station 
on  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  railway.  Take  train  at  Union  depot. 
Canal  and  Adams  streets,  West  side.  The  building  stands  on  a  slight  emi- 
nence in  the  midst  of  a  farm  of  forty  acres.  The  interior  arrangements  of 
the  asylum  are  on  a  par  with  the  advantages  of  space  and  pure  air.  The  large 
class-room  is  well  lighted  and  ventilated  and  each  boy  has  a  neat  desk.  A 
part  of  the  curriculum  is  devoted  to  calisthenic  exercises  and  each  day  the 
bright  looking  youngsters  swing  the  dumbbells  and  bar  bells  to  enlivening 
tunes.  Down  in  the  refrectory  the  boys  sit  at  long  tables,  where  good  food 
and  plenty  of  it  is  served  out  to  them  by  the  Sisters  of  St.  Joseph.  Soup, 
meat,  vegetables,  bread  and  milk  are  given  out,  not  in  limited  quantities. 
Meat  twice  a  day  is  the  rule  for  the  180  American  boys  of  all  denominations. 
The  dormitories  are  capacious  halls,  filled  with  iron  bedsteads,  covered  with 
blankets  and  comforters.  The  whole  house  is  heated  by  steam  and  has  all 
the  modern  improvements. 

St.  Paul's  Home  for  Newsboys.— Located  at  359,  361,  363  W.  Jackson  st. 
An  institution  devoted  to  the  care  and  training  of  working  boys,  newsboys 
and  waifs  of  Chicago.  It  is  under  Catholic  auspices,  but  receives  boys  of 
any  denomination,  regardless  of  religious  belief.  Tt  has  a  large  mimber  of 
boys  in  charge. 

TJhlich  Evangelical  Lutheran  Orphan  Asylum. — Organized  in  1867  by  some 
ladies  connected  with  St.  Patil's  Church.  Incorporated  1869.  First  cared 
for  only  a  few  children  in  a  small  cottage,  Cor.  La  Salle  ave.  and  Ontario  st. 
A  larger  building  on  Clark  st.,  between  Garfleld  and  Webster  aves.,  was 
i-ented  later  on,  but  this  was  swept  away  by  the  great  fire.  The  orphans 
were  then  brought  to  the  Lake  View  school  for  shelter.  Afterwards  the 
"Chicago  Nursery  and  Half  Orphan  Asylum,"  175  Burling  st.,  took  the  chil- 
dren up  and  boarded  them.  The  ladies  had  saved  up  about  $8,000,  the 
Chicago  Aid  and  Relief  Society  contributed  $20,750,  and  they  bought  twelve 
lots  on  Burling  and  Center  sts.,  where  the  present  building  was  erected  dur- 
ing the  fall  and  winter  of  1872-73. 


220  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

Waifs'  Mission.— Located  at  41  State  st.  The  object  of  the  mission  is  the 
care  of  homeless  boys,  notably  those  who  are  abandoned  to  the  sti'eets  by 
their  parents  or  other  relatives.  Statistics  of  eleven  months  show  62£ 
boys  were  admitted  to  the  home,  of  whom  419  received  temporary  board 
and  lodging.  The  average  attendance  at  the  Sunday-school  was  570, 
and  there  were  326  religious  services  held.  During  the  eleven  months 
80,000  free  meals,  16,860  free  beds,  and  7,809  free  baths  were  given,  while 
over  17,000  articles  of  clothing  were  distributed.  In  the  Police  Courts 
the  cases  of  810  boys  were  attended  to,  which  resulted  in  469  dis- 
charges, fourty-four  sent  to  the  Waifs'  Mission,  nine  sent  home,  135  fined, 
and  130  fined  but  execution  stayed  on  promise  of  better  behavior.  Only 
twenty  were  held  to  the  Criminal  Court,  and  thirty-two  cases  were  continued. 
Among  the  sick  and  poor  1,686  visits  and  investigations  were  made,  and 
relief  afforded  as  far  as  possible.  The  average  number  of  boys  enrolled  in 
the  day  school  was  forty-nine,  while  the  attendance  averaged  78  per  cent.,  a 
remarkable  good  showing  for  street  children.  Employment  and  permanent 
homes  were  found  for  188  boys.  These  figures  illustrate  the  character  of 
the  mission  work. 

CHRISTIAN  ORGANIZATIONS. 

The  following  are  the  leading  Christian  organizations  of  a  general 
character  in  the  city : 

Bible  Institute.— The  Bible  institute  for  home  and  foreign  missions  of 
the  Chicago  Evangelization  Society,  which  is  a  training  school  for  evan- 
gelists and  other  Christian  workers,  is  situated— Ladies,  Department,  228 
232  La  Salle  ave.,  next  door  to  Moody's  Church,  Chicago  ave.,  and  Men's 
Department  and  Class  Rooms,  80  W.  Pearson  st.,  between  La  Salle  ave.  and 
Wells  st.  Take  Wells  st.  or  North  Clark  cable  lines.  Dwight  L.  Moody  is 
the  founder  and  president.  The  object  of  the  Institute  is  to  give  to  men 
and  women — especially  those  who  have  not  had  the  advantages  of  higher 
education,  and  who  would  otherwise,  in  many  cases  at  least,  be  deprived  of 
special  instruction  in  various  lines  of  Christian  work — that  knowledge  and 
skill  in  the  use  of  the  Word,  which  will  fit  them  to  do  efficient  missionary 
and  evangelistic  work. 

Chicago  Bible  Society.—  Depository  and  office,  89,  115  Dearborn  st. 

Christian  Endeavor  Society  of  Cook  County.— There  are  five  divisions  in 
the  county,  as  follows — Hyde  Park,  Oak  Park,  Q.  Division,  which  takes  in 
thirteen  societies  located  on  the  line  of  the  Chicago,  Burlington  &  Quincy 
Railroad;  Northwestern  Division,  which  includes  the  societies  located  not 
alone  on  the  Northwestern  road,  but  also  those  on  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee 
&  St.  Paul,  eight  all  told ;  and  the  Evanston  Division.  Each  of  these1  divis- 
ions is  in  charge  of  a  secretary.  The  societies  of  the  different  divisions 
frequently  hold  sociables,  prayer  meetings,  etc. 

Christian  Endeavor  Unions  of  Chicago. — The  Christian  Endeavor'Unions 
of  Chicago  are  as  follows:  North  side  societies,  8;  South  side  societies,  1; 
West  side  (northern)  societies,  6;  West  side  (southern)  societies,  17;  Ev- 
anston societies,  12;  Lake  View  societies,  8;  Northwestern  societies,  9; 
Oak  Park  societies,  8;  "Q"  societies,  10;  Englewood  societies,  9;  Hyde 
Park  societies,  12;  total  societies,  110;  total  active  membership  exceeds 
5,000;  total  associate  membership  exceeds  1,500. 

Christian  Endeavor— Juvenile  Societies.— Attached  to  nearly  every  Chris- 
tian Endeavor  Society  is  a  Junior  branch.  The  Sunday-school  children 
of  nearly  all  the  Protestant  churches  (except  the  Methodist  Episcopal, 
which  has  its  Junior  department  of  the  Epworth  League,)  belong  to  the 
Junior  society. 


GENERAL  INFORMATION,  221 

City  Missionary  Society. — Object:  missionary  work  among  the  masses 
of  the  people  in  Chicago,  the  establishment  and  maintenance  of  missions, 
etc.  The  report  of  1892  will  illustrate  the  character  and  scope  of  the  socie- 
ty's work.  In  that  year  the  number  of  pastoral  calls  were  16,932,  and  the 
number  of  children  in  Sunday-schools  6,948.  Lots  had  been  secured  for 
missions  for  North  Roby,  Graceland,  Humboldt  Park,  and  lots  were 
needed  for  the  missions  for  Hoyne  ave.,  Washington  and  Park  Manor.  The 
society  has  missions  in  all  parts  of  the  city;  in  the  depths  of  the  slums,  as 
well  as  in  the  suburbs.  It  has  a  yearly  income  of  $25,000. 

Epicorth  League. — An  association  belonging  exclusively  to  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  church.  Organized  in  1889,  it  had  in  1892  9,000  chapters  with  a 
membership  of  700,000,  while  the  1,000  chaptei-s  each  in  the  southern  and 
Canadian  church  districts  brought  the  total  membership  up  to  nearly  a 
million.  At  first  the  project  was  to  create  a  general  Christian  league, but  it 
was  decided  to  make  the  Epworth  League  a  denominational  society  purely. 
It  first  came  into  being  at  a  conference  of  the  representatives  of  all  the 
general  young  people's  societies  in  the  Methodist  church.  These  were  five 
in  number  and  were  the  Young  People's  Methodist  Alliance,  the  Oxford 
League,  the  Young  People's  Christian  League,  the  Young  People's  Method- 
ist Union  and  the  Young  People's  M.  E.  Alliance,  of  North  Ohio  conference. 
The  conference  was  held  May  14  and  15,  1889,  in  Cleveland,  when  a  plan  was 
suggested  by  Dr.  Hurlburt,  of  the  Oxford  League,  and  after  a  few  modifica- 
tions, it  was  adopted.  The  white  ribbon  with  the  scarlet  thread,  the  colors 
of  the  Oxford  League,  and  the  motto  of  the  Christian  League,  "Look  up 
and  lift  up,"  were  selected  for  the  new  organization.  From  this  compara- 
tively recent  start,  the  growth  of  the  society  has  been  wonderfully  rapid. 
Besides  the  American  chapters  alluded  to  above,  there  are  chapters  in 
China,  Japan,  India,  South  America,  England,  Switzerland,  Norway  and 
Sweden,  and  in  fact  in  every  country  wrhere  the  Methodist  church  has  fol- 
lowers or  missions.  In  the  United  States  the  official  organ  of  the  league  is 
the  Epicorth  Herald,  with  a  circulation  of  70,000.  In  Canada  the  official 
organ  is  The  Onward.  The  object  of  the  league  is  to  promote  intelligent 
and  loyal  piety  in  the  young  members  and  friends  of  the  church,  and  to  train 
them  in  the  works  of  mercy  and  help.  Any  young  people's  society  may 
become  a  member  of  the  league,  provided  that  it  adopts  its  aims  and  gen- 
eral plans.  It  is  governed  by  a  board  of  control  consisting  of  five  members, 
appointed  by  the  board  of  bishops,  five  by  the  managers  of  the  Sunday 
school  union,  five  by  the  managers  of  the  tract  society,  and  two  from  each 
general  conference  district.  The  board  meets  annually  and  the  members 
hold  office  for  two  years.  The  local  leagues  in  each  presiding  elder's  dis- 
trict are  usually  united  in  a  district  league;  these  into  annual  conference 
leagues  and  these  in  turn  into  general  conference  leagues.  No  fee  of  mem- 
bership is  required  by  the  general  league,  and  no  assessments  are  made 
upon  local  chapters,  but  each  local  chapter  is  at  liberty  to  establish  a  fee  if 
it  desires.  The  work  of  '.ne  local  leaguas,  outside  of  the  correspondence 
and  finance,  is  divided  into  four  departments:  That  in  charge  of  the  spirit- 
ual work,  arranges  for  the  regular  prayer  meetings  of  the  chapter  and  all 
outdoor  and  cottage  services.  The  members  may  also  conduct  children's 
prayer  meetings  and  aid  in  Sunday  school  and  church  work.  The  department 
of  mercy  and  help  arranges  for  the  systematic  visitation  of  the  members  of 
the  chapter,  the  sick  of  the  neighborhood,  the  aged  and  all  newcomers.  The 
literary  work  is  entrusted  to  the  task  of  inaugurating  a  study  of  the  scrip- 
tures and  of  the  doctrines,  polity,  history  and  present  activity  of  the 
Methodist  church,  as  well  as  arranging  for  lectures  and  the  literary  gather- 
ings. The  department  of  social  work  has  charge  of  all  entertainments  and 
is  supposed  to  see  to  the  gathering  in  of  the  new  members.  Working  in 
connection  with  the  Epworth  League  is  the  Junior  League,  which  is  intended 
to  be  for  the  children  what  the  other  is  for  the  young  people. 

Home  Missionary  and  Church  Extension  Society.- A.  society  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  with  headquarters  in  Chicago.  Some  idea  of  the  magni- 
tude of  the  work  accomplished  by  this  society  may  be  obtained  from  the 
fact  that  during  a  single  year  it  erected  ten  new  churches  and  opened  four- 


S22  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

teen  places  of  worship.  The  society  owns  and  controls  63  chui'ches  and 
missions,  having  a  membership  of  4,147  persons.  In  addition  9,215  people  are 
regular  attendants  at  its  Sunday  schools.  The  amount  paid  for  ministerial 
support  ana  rent  per  annum  is  about  $15,000.  The  total  value  of  the  church 
property  owned  by  the  society  is  nearly  $400,000. 

School  of  Sacred  Literature.— located,  at  391  Fifty-fifth  st.  The  object  of 
the  school  is  to  promote  the  study  of  the  bible  with  a  view  to  students  pass- 
ing an  examination  upon  the  subject.  There  are  four  grades  in  the  school, 
the  elementary,  intermediate,  progressive,  and  advanced  classes,  and  to 
each  of  these  classes,  which  may  be  formed  in  any  part  of  the  world,  ques- 
tions are  mailed  upon  a  given  subject,  each  student  paying  an  initiation 
fee  of  50  cents. 

Young  Men's  Christian  Association. — Location  of  headquarters,  Y.  M.  C. 
A.  building,  La  Salle  near  Madison  street.  There  are  department  rooms  at 
Paulina  and  Madison  streets  (West  side)  ;  at  9140-9142  Commercial  ave., 
(South  Chicago) ;  at  Ravenswood,  Pullman,  and  Garlield  boulevard  and 
Tracy  ave.  There  are  also  a  railroad  department  at  Kinzie  and  Canal 
sts.,  and  a  German  department  at  Larrabee  st.  and  Grant  place.  An  inter- 
collegiate department  has  care  of  work  in  the  professional  schools  of  the 
city.  There  are  connected  with  the  association  numerous  featui-es  which  con- 
tribute toward  making  a  membership  in  this  organization  both  desirable 
and  valuable  to  young  men.  Among  the  privileges  accorded  are  participa- 
tion in  and  connection  with  the  following :  Informal  receptions,  trade  recep- 
tions, members'  receptions,  boarding-house  register,  home-like  place,  good 
company,  friendly  counsel,  general  information,  employment  bureau,  wri- 
ting conveniences,  care  in  sickness,  members'  parlors,  parlor  games,  read- 
ing room,  current  literature,  educational  classes,  entertainments,  practical 
talks,  literary  society,  reference  library,  gymnasium,  physical  instruction, 
medical  examination,  healthful  baths,  toilet  conveniences,  summer  athlet- 
ics, outing  club,  gospel  meetings,  training  classes,  bible  classes,  prayer 
meetings,  teachers'  meetings.  Associate  members  are  young  men  over 
sixteen  years  of  age,  whose  references  as  to  good  moral  character  are  satis- 
factory. Active  members  are  young  men  over  sixteen  years  of  age,  who  are 
members  in  good  standing  of  some  evangelical  church.  A  regular  mem- 
bership ticket  good  in  all  departments,  either  active  or  associate, 
requires  an  annual  membership  fee  of  $5.00  A  membership  may  be 
obtained  by  any  young  man  regardless  of  church  membership  or 
belief.  The  paid  membership  of  the  Chicago  association  is  over  five 
thousand.  The  Chicago  association  is  the  second  in  the  world  in  member- 
ship and  in  the  amount  of  money  received  annually  for  current  expenses. 
[See  "  Y.  M.  C.  A.  Building"  and  "  Guide."] 

Young  Men's  Christian  Association  (Scandinavian). — Located  at  183  North 
Peoria  st.  Has  very  comfortable  rooms  and  a  large  membership. 

Young  Women's  Christian  Association.— Located,  in  room  61,  243  Wabash 
ave.  Has  in  charge  a  boarding  house  for  young  working  women.  The 
Rosalie  Court  Home,  at  No.  5758  Rosalie  ct.,  was  opened  in  1892  as  the  World's 
Fair  home  of  the  Association. 

W.  C.  T.  U.,  Central  of  Chicago.— Headquarters,  The  Temple.  In  addi- 
tion to  the  general  work  of  this  .association,  it  conducts  the  Bethesda  mis- 
sion, 606  South  Clark  st.,  with  which  is  connected  a  day  nursery,  kindergar- 
ten, Sunday-school,  kitchen  garden,  free  medical  dispensary,  relief  work  and 
gospel  meetings;  the  Talcott  Day  Nursery,  169  West  Adams  St.,  with  which 
is  connected  a  day  nursery,  a  kindergarten  and  an  industrial  school; 
the  Anchorage  Mission,  125  Third  ave.;  the  Hope  Mission  and  Reading 
School,  166  North  Halstead  st. ;  the  Bethesda  Inn,  408  South  Clark  st. 
The  missions,  nui'series,  kindergartens,  etc.,  of  the  W.  C.  T.  U.,  are  all 
doing  a  splendid  work  in  Chicago;  so,  also,  is  the  association's  super- 
vision of  the  work  of  the  police  matrons  at  the  several  stations.  The 
object  of  the  W.  C.  T.  U.,  as  stated  in  the  constitution  of  the  association,  is 
to  plan  and  carry  forward  measures  which  will,  with  the  blessing  of 
God,  result  in  the  suppression  of  intemperance  in  our  midst,  and  the 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 
DEARBORN  "POLK  STREET"  PASSENGER  STATION. 

[See   "Railroads."] 


224  GUIDE  TO   CHICAGO. 

highest  moral  and  spiritual  good  of  those  needing  reform:  and  to  this 
»  IK!  to  provide  and  maintain  permanent  buildings,  rooms  and  accommo- 
dations for  the  devotional,  business  and  social  meetings  of  the  association, 
and  to  sustain  and  carry  forward  the  mission  and  general  work  for  the 
suppression  of  intemperance  and  for  moral  refoi-m,  and  to  encourage  and 
aid  such  work  in  general  by  individual  and  auxiliary  societies  and  associa- 
tions. 

TF.  C.  T.  U.  National  Headquarters.— The  national  headquarters  of  the 
W.  C.  T.  U.  are  located  in  The  Temple,  La  Salle  and  Adams  sts.  Miss  Francis 
Willard,  president  of  the  National  W.  C.  T.  U.,  resides  at  Evanston,  as  do 
also  Mrs.  Caroline  B.  Buell  and  Miss  Esther  Pugh,  officers  of  the  Union. 

CHURCHES. 

The  visitor  will  not  be  many  houfs  in  Chicago  before  he  is  impressed 
with  the  number  and  beauty  of  the  structures  consecrated  to  divine  wor- 
ship, Unlike  some  of  the  older  American  and  European  cities,  however,  he 
will  notice  that  thei'e  are  no  church  edifices  in  the  business  center,  nor 
along  any  of  tne  great  business  arteries.  There  were  a  number  of  hand- 
some and  costly  church  buildings  in  the  business  district  previous  to  1871, 
but  the  great  fire  swept  them  away.  After  the  fire,  the  ground  upon  which 
they  had  stood  proved  to  be  so  valuable  that  the  various  church  societies 
and  congregations  decided  either  to  sell  or  improve  their  "  down  town  " 
real  property,  and  build  their  churches  on  less  expensive  ground  and  nearer 
the  residence  districts.  Among  the  churches  that  were  to  be  found  down 
town  before  the  fire,  were  the  First  Presbyterian  church,  on  Wabash  ave., 
near  Jackson ;  the  Second  Presbyterian  church,  at  the  N.  E.  Cor.  Wabash 
ave.  and  Washington  st. ;  St,  Mary's  Catholic  church,  at  the  S.  W.  Cor. 
Wabash  ave.  and  Madison  st.,  where  "St.  Mary's  block  "  now  stands:  the 
First  Baptist  church,  on  Wabash  ave.,  and  the  Rev.  Dr.  Everts'  (Episcopal) 
church.  There  were  many  others  not  so  well  known  and  not  so  well  re- 
membered. The  Methodists,  Presbyterians,  Baptists,  Unitarians,  Roman 
Catholics,  Episcopalians,  and,  in  fact,  all  denominations,  lost  heavily  by  the 
great  fire,  both  in  the  South  and  North  divisions.  Since  then,  however, 
they  have  all  prospered,  and  every  year  since  have  added  to  the  magnitude, 
the  costliness  and  the  beauty  of  the  church  edifices  they  have  erected.* 

LEADING  AND  POPULAR  MINISTERS  AND  PREACHERS.— Popular  ministers 
of  the  city  and  those  of  whom  the  visitor  i&  likely  to  hear  oftenest,  are  Prof. 
David  Swing,  Central  Church,  Central  Music  Hall,  State  and  Randolph  sts. ; 
Dr.  H.  W.  Thomas,  People's  Church,  McVicker's  Theatre,  Madison  st.,  near 
State  st. ;  Simon  J.  MacPherson,  Second  Presbyterian  Church,  Michigan 
blvd.  and  Twentieth  st. ;  F.  J.  Brobst,  Westminister  Presbyterian,  Peoria 
and  Jackson  sts. ;  F.  W.  Gunsaulus,  Plymouth  Congregational,  Michigan  ave. 
near  Twenty-sixth  st. ;  Rabbi  E.  G.  Hirsch,  Sinai  Congregation,  Indiana  ave. 
and  Twenty-first  st. ;  Dr.  John  H.  Barrows,  First  Presbyterian,  Indiana  ave. 
and  Twenty-first  st. ;  H.  H.  Barbour,  Belden  Avenue  Methodist  Church, 
Belden  ave.  and  Halsted  st. ;  Dr.  P.  S.  Hensen,  First  Baptist  Church,  South 
Park  ave.  and  Thirty-first  st. ;  Rev.  Fred  Campbell,  Jefferson  Park  Presby- 
terian Church,  Adams  and  Throop  sts.;  Dr.  W.  M.  Lawrence,  Second 
Baptist  Church,  Morgan  and  Monroe  sts. ;  Dr.  E.  P.  Goodwin,  First  Congre- 
gational Church,  Washington  blvd.  and  Ann  st. ;  Dr.  F.  A.  Noble,  Union 
Park  Congregational  Church,  Washington  blvd.  and  Ashland  ave.;  Rt. 
Rev.  William  E.  McLaren,  Lpiscopal  Cathedral,  Washington  blvd.  and 
Peoria  st. ;  Rev.  Dr.  Clinton  Locke,  Grace  Episcopal  Church,  1445  Wabash 
ave.;  Rt.  Rev.  Charles  E.  Cheney,  Christ's  Episcopal  Church,  Michigan 
ave.  and  Twenty-fourth  st. ;  Rt.  Rev.  Samuel  Fallows,  St.  Paul's  Episco- 
pal, Adams  st.  and  Winchester  ave. ;  J.  P.  Brushingham,  Ada  Street  M. 
E.  Church,  Ada  st.,  between  Lake  and  Fulton  sts.;  Robert  Mcliityre, 
Grace  M.  E.  Church,  Cor.  La  Salle  ave.  and  Locust  st.;  Dr.  William  Fawcett, 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  225 

Park  Avenue  M.  E.  Church,  Park  ave.,  Cor.  Robey  St.;  Frank  M.  Bristol, 
Trinity  M.  E.  Church,  Indiana  ave.,  near  Twenty-fourth  St.;  Dr.  W.  T.  Meloy, 
First  United  Presbyterian  Church,  Monroe  and  Paulina  sts. ;  Dr.  M.  W.  Stry- 
ker,  Fourth  Presbyterian  Church,  Rush  and  Superior  sts.;  Dr.  John  L. 
Withrow,  Third  Presbyterian  Church,  Ashland  blvd.  and  Ogden  ave. ;  Jen- 
kins Lloyd  Jones,  All  Souls'  Church,  Oakwood  blvd.  and  Langley  ave. ;  T.  G. 
Milsted,  Unity  Church,  Dearborn  ave.  and  Walton  place;  J.  Colman  Adams, 
St.  Paul's  Unitarian  Church,  Prairie  ave.  and  Thirtieth  st. 

LOCATION  OF  LEADING  CHURCHES.— The  leading  churches  of  the  three 
divisions  of  the  city  are  removed  to  the  extent  of  a  street  car  trip  from 
hotels  and  depots  of  the  South  side.  On  the  West  side  they  are  found 
principally  along  Washington  and  Ashland  blvds.  or  around  Jefferson  and 
Union  parks.  Centenary  Methodist  and  the  Second  Baptist  churches,  two 
of  the  oldest  in  the  city,  are  located  on  Monroe  and  Morgan  sts.  On  the 
North  side  they  are  to  be  found  in  the  district  north  of  Ontario  and  east  of 
Clai'k  sts.,  principally  on  Dearborn  ave.  On  the  South  side  they  are  to  be 
found  on  Wabash  ave.,  Michigan  blvd.,  and  in  the  district  east  of  State  st., 
and  south  of  Twenty-second  st.  Take  West  Madison  cable  line  for  West 
side,  North  Clark  st.  cable  line  or  State  st.  horse  line  for  North  side  and  Cot- 
tage Grove  ave.  cable  line  for  South  side.  Two  of  the  leading  independent' 
churches  of  the  city,  however,  the  Central  and  the  People's,  hold  services  in 
the  Central  Music  Hall  and  Mo V;cker's  Theatre,  respectively,  only  a  short 
walk  from  the  hotels.  Prof.  Swing  preaches  at  the  former  every  Sunday 
Dr.  Thomas  at  the  latter. 

PRINCIPAL  CHURCHES  AND  CHURCH  EDIFICES. — The  principal  churches  and 
church  edifices  of  the  city,  with  their  locations,  are  as  follows1 : 

Christian  Churches. — First  Church,  W.  Jackson  st.  and  Oakley  ave.  Cen- 
ral,  Indiana  ave.  and  Thirty-seventh  st. 

Congregational  Churches. — BETHANY,  Superior  and  Lincoln  sts. ;  CALIFOR- 
NIA AVENUE,  California  ave.  and  W.  Monroe  st. ;  CENTRAL  PARK,  W.  Forty- 
first  and  Fulton  sts. ;  CHURCH  OF  THE  REDEEMER,  School  st.,  near  Evanston 
ave.;  FIRST,  Washington  blvd.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Ann  st. ;  FIRST  (Scandinavian), 
Point  and  Chanay  sts. ;  GERMAN  PILGRIM,  W.  Fulton  and  W.  Forty-first  sts. : 
JEFFERSON  PARK,  Jefferson  Park;  JOHANNES  (German),  Franklin  st.,  near 
Eugenie  st. :  LEAVITT  STREET,  Leavitt  st.  and  S.  W.  Cor.  W.  Adams  st. ; 
LINCOLN  PARK,  Garfield  ave.  and  Mohawk  st. ;  MILLARD  AVENUE,  S.  Central 
Park  ave.,  S.  E.  Cor.  W.  Twenty-third  st. ;  NEW  ENGLAND,  Dearborn  ave.  and 
Delaware  pi.;  PLYMOUTH,  Michigan  ave.,  near  Twenty-sixth  st. ;  SARDIS, 
(Welch),  Peoria  near  Jackson  st. ;  SOUTH,  Drexel  blvd.,  N.  W.  Cor.  For- 
tieth st.;  SOUTH,  (German),  Ullman  st.  and  James  ave.;  SOUTH  PARK,  Madi- 
son ave.  and  Fifty-sixth  st. ;  TABERNACLE,  W.Indiana  st.,S.  E.  Cor.  Morgan 
st. ;  UNION  PARK,  S.  Ashland  ave.  and  Washington  blvd. ;  WARREN  AVENUE, 
Warren  ave.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Albany  ave. ;  ZION,  Fifty-sixth  and  S.  Green  st. 

Baptist  Churches. —  CENTENNIAL,  West  Jackson  st.,  Cor.  Lincoln  st. ; 
EVANGEL,  Dearborn  and  Forty-seventh  sts. ;  FIRST,  South  Park  ave.  and 
Thirty -first  st.;  FIRST  (German),  Bickerdike  and  West  Huron  sts.;  FIRST 
(Swedish),  Oak  st.,  near  Sedgwick  st.;  FOURTH,  Ashland  blvd.  and  Ogden 
ave.;  HYDE  PARK,  Madison  ave.  and  Fifty-fourth  st.,  Hyde  Park;  IMMANUEL 
(W.  S.),  Michigan  ave.,  near  Twenty-third  st. ;  LANGLEY  AVENUE,  Langley 
ave.  and  Seventy-first  st. ;  LA  SALLE  AVENUE,  La  Salle  ave.,  near  Division 
st. ;  MEMORIAL.  Oakwood  blvd.,  near  Cottage  Grove  ave. ;  PULLMAN  (Swed- 
ish), Pullman;  SCANDINAVIAN  BETHEL,  Rockwell  st.,  near  Humboldt  Park; 
SCANDINAVIAN  PILGRIM,  North  Carpenter  and  Ohio  sts.;  SECOND,  Morgan 
st.,  S.  W.  Cor.  West  Monroe  st. ;  SECOND  (German),  Burling  and  Willow  sts. ; 
SECOND  (Swedish),  3018-3020  Fifth  ave..  near  Thirty-first  st. ;  WESTERN  AVE- 
NUE, Warren  ave.  N.  W.  Cor.  North  Western  ave. 

Evangelical  Association  of  North  America  (German).— ADAMS  ST.,  W. 
Adams  and  Robey  sts. ;  FIRST,  Thii'ty -fifth  and  Dearborn  sts.;  SECOND,  Wis- 
consin and  Sedgwick  sts. 


226  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Evangelical  Lutheran  (Danish}. — ST.  STEPHEN'S,  Dearborn  and  Thirty- 
sixth  sts.';  TRINITY,  440  and  442  W.  Superior  st. ;  BETHEL,  W.  Lake  and  Forty- 
second  sts. 

Evangelical  Lutheran  (German). — ANDREAS,  3650  Honore;  BETHLEHEM,  N. 
Paulina  and  McReynolds  sts. ;  CHURCH  OF  THE  HOLY  CROSS,  Ullman  st.,  N.W. 
Cor.  James  ave. ;  EMANUEL,  Twelfth  st.  and  Ashland  ave. ;  MARTINI,  4838 
Loomis;  NAZARETH,  Forest  ave.,  near  Fullerton  ave. ;  ST.  PAUL'S,  Superior 
and  N.  Franklin  st. ;  ST.  STEPHEN'S,  838  Chestnut. 

Evangelical  Lutheran  (Norwegian). — BETHNIA,  W.  Indiana  st..  S.  E.  Cor. 
Carpenter  st. ;  BETHLEHEM,  W.  Huron  st.,  Cor.  N.  Center  ave.;  EMANUEL, 
Perry  ave.  and  Cherry ;  NORWEGIAN,  N.  Franklin  and  Erie  sts. ;  OUR  SAVIOR'S, 
May  and  W.  Erie  sts. ;  ST.  PAUL'S,  N.  Lincoln  and  Park  sts. ;  ST.  PETER'S, 
Hirsch  st.  and  Seymour  ave. ;  TRINITY,  W.  Indiana  St.,  S.  W.  Cor.  Peoi'ia  st. 

Evangelical  Lutheran  (Swedish)  Churches. — GETHSEMANE,  May  and  W. 
Huron  sts. ;  IMMANUEL,  Sedgwick  and  Hobbie  sts. ;  TABERNACLE,  S.  La  Salle 
and  Thirtieth  sts. 

Episcopal  (Reformed)  Churches. — CHRIST,  Michigan  ave.  and  Twenty- 
fourth  st.;  ST.  JOHN'S,  Thirty-seventh  st.,  Cor.  Langley  ave.;  ST.  BARNABAS', 
Park  ave.  and  Forty-fourth  st. ;  ST.  BARTHOLOMEW'S,  Sixty-fifth  st.  and  Stew- 
art ave. ;  ST.  PAUL'S,  4928  Lake  ave. 

Episcopal  Churches.— An  SAINTS',  757  N.  Clark ;  CATHEDRAL  SS.  PETER  AND 
PAUL,  Washington  blvd.  and  Peoria  st. ;  CALVARY,  Western  ave.  and  Monroe 
st. ;  CHRIST,  Sixty-fourth  st.  and  Woodlawn  av. ;  CHURCH  OP  OUR  SAVIOR,  Lin- 
coln and  Balden  aves. ;  CHURCH  OP  ST.  CLEMENT,  State  and  Twentieth  st. ; 
CHURCH  OP  THE  ASCENSION,  N.  La  Salle  and  Elm ;  CHURCH  OP  THE  EPIPHANY,  S. 
Ashland  ave.,  Cor.  W.  Adams;  CHURCH  OP  THE  REDEEMER,  Fifty-seventh  st. 
and  Washington  ave. ;  CHURCH  OP  THE  TRANSFIGURATION,  Prairie  ave.  and 
Thirty-ninth  St.;  GRACE,  1445  Wabash  ave.,  near  Sixteenth  st. ;  ST.  ALBAN'S, 
State  st.  near  Forty-fifth ;  ST.  ANDREW'S,  Washington  blvd.  and  Robey  st. ; 
ST.  James',  Cor.  Cass  and  Huron  sts. ;  TRINITY,  Michigan  ave.  and  Twenty- 
sixth  st. ;  ST.  MARKS',  Cor.  Thirty-sixth  and  Cottage  Grove  ave. 

Independent  Churches. — The  Independent  Churches  of  Chicago  are 
located  as  follows:  CHICAGO  AVENUE  (Moody's,)  Chicago  ave..  N.  W.  Cor. 
La  Salle  ave. ;  CENTRAL  CHURCH  (Swing's),  Central  Music  Hall,  State  st.,  S. 
E.  Cor.  Randolph  st. ;  MARKET  STREET  MISSION,  38  Kinzie  st. :  PEOPLES' 
CHURCH  (Thomas'),  Me Vicker's Theatre. 

Jewish  Synagogues.— CONGREGATIONAL  EMANUEL,  280  and  282  N.  Franklin 
st. ;  CONGREGATION  OF  THE  NORTH  SIDE,  N.  E.  Cor.  Rush  st.  and  Walton  pi. ; 
CONGREGATION  MOSES  MONTEFIORE,  130  Augusta  st. ;  CONGREGATION  BETHEL, 
N.  May  st.  near  W.Huron  st. ;  KEHILATH  B'NAi  SHOLOM  (Sons  of  Peace), 
Twenty-sixth,  Cor.  Indiana;  SINAI  CONGREGATION,  Indiana  ave.  and  Twenty- 
first  st. ;  ZION  CONGREGATION,  S.  E.  Cor.  Washington  blvd.  and  Ogden  ave. 

Methodist  Episcopal  Churches.— Av  A  STREET,  Ada  st.,  between  W.  Lake 
and  Fulton  sts. ;  CENTENARY,  295  W.  Monroe  st.,  near  Morgan  st. ;  ERIE 
STREET,  W.  Erie  st.,  near  N.  Robey  st.;  FIFTY-FOURTH  STREET,  Fifty-fourth 
and  Peoria  sts. ;  FIRST,  Clark  and  Washington  sts. ;  FORTY-SEVENTH,  Forty- 
seventh  and  Dreyer  sts. ;  GARFIELD  PARK,  W.  Lake,  Cor.  Homanave. ;  GRACE, 
La  Salle  ave.  and  Locust  st. ;  HYDE  PARK,  Hyde  Park,  KENWOOD,  83  Forty- 
third  st.;  LINCOLN  STREET,  S.  E.  Cor.  Ambrose  and  S.  Lincoln  sts.;  MARSH- 
FIELD  AVENUE,  Marshfield  st.,  S.  of  W.  Van  Buren  st. ;  OAKLAND,  S.  W.  Cor. 
Langley  ave.and  Oakland  blvd. ;  PARK  AVENUE,  S.  E.  Cor.  Robey  and  Park 
ave. ;  SOUTH  PARK  AVENUE,  Thirty-third  st.  and  South  Park  ave. ;  STATE 
STREET,  4637  State  st. ;  ST  PAUL'S,  W.  Taylor  st.  and  Center  ave. ;  TRINITY, 
Indiana  ave.,  near  Twenty-fourth  st. ;  WESTERN  AVENUE,  W.  Monroe  st.  and 
Western  ave. 

Methodist  Episcopal  (Bohemian)  Churches.— FIRST,  778  S.  Halsted  st. ; 
SECOND,  S.  Halsted  and  W.  Twelfth. 

Methodist  Episcopal  (German)  Churches.—  ASHLAND  AVENUE,  485  N.  Ash- 
land ave. ;  CENTENNIAL  MISSION,  Wellington  and  Sheffield  aves.,  Lake  View ; 
CENTER  STREET,  X.  W.  Cor.  Dayton  and  Center  sts. ;  EBENEZER,  S.  W.  Cor. 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

PRESBYTERIAN  CHURCH,  PULLMAN,  CHICAGO. 

[See  "  Pullman."] 


228  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Thirty-first  and  Ullman  sts. ;  IMMANUEL,  832  and  834  W.  Twenty-second  st. ; 
MAXWELL  STREET,  308  Max  well  st. ;  PORTLAND  AVENUE,  S.  E.  Cor.  Twenty- 
eighth  st.,  and  Portland  ave. ;  WENTWORTH  AVENUE,  Wentworth  ave.,  south 
of  Thirty-seventh  st, 

Methodist  Episcopal  (Norwegian)  Churches.—  IMMANUEL,  West  Huron  and 
Bickerdike  sts ;  FIRST,  S.  E.  Cor.  Sangamon  and  West  Indiana  sts. 

Methodist  Episcopal  (Swedish)  Churches.— FIRST,  North  Market  and  Oak 
sts. ;  FOREST  GLENN,  Jefferson ;  HUMBOLDT  PARK,  Fairfield  ave.,  near  North 
ave,;  LAKE  VIEW,  Baxter  st.  and  Noble  ave.;  MAY  STREET,  North  May  st., 
between  West  Ohio  and  Erie  sts. 

Presbyterian  Churches.— CAMPBELL  PARK,  Leavitt  st.  and  Campbell  Park ; 
CHURCH  OF  THE  COVENANT,  S.  E.  Cor.  Belden  ave.  and  North  Halsted  st. ; 
EIGHTH  CHURCH,  N.  W.  Cor.  Robey  and  Washington  blvd. ;  FIFTH  CHURCH, 
Thirtieth  st.  and  Indiana  ave. ;  FIRST  CHURCH,  Indiana  ave.  and  Twenty- 
first  st.;  FIRST  (German)  CHURCH,  Willow,  Cor.  Orchard;  FIRST  (Scotch 
Church),  South  Sangamon  and  West  Adams  sts.;  FIRST  (United  Church), 
S.  W.  Paulina  and  West  Monroe  sts. ;  FORTY-FIRST  STREET,  Prairie  ave.  and 
Forty-first  st. ;  FOURTH,  Rush  and  Superior  sts. ;  HYDE  PARK,  Hyde  Park ; 
JEFFERSON  PARK,  West  Adams  and  Throop  sts. ;  SECOND,  Michigan  ave.  and 
Twentieth  st. ;  SIXTH,  Vincennes  and  Oak  aves. ;  THIRD,  South  Ashland  and 
Ogden  aves.;  WESTMINSTER.  161  South  Peoria  st.,  Cor.  West  Jackson  st. ; 
WELSH,  N.  E.  Cor.  Sangamon  and  West  Monroe  sts. 

Roman  Catholic  Churches. — CATHEDRAL  OF  THE  HOLY  NAME,  Superior  and 
N.  State  sts. ;  ALL  SAINTS'  CHURCH,  S.  W.  Cor.  Twenty-fifth  pi.  and  Wallace 
st.;  CHURCH  OF  NOTRE  DAME,  DE  CHICAGO  (French),  Vernon  Park  pi.  and 
Sibley  st. ;  CHURCH  OF  OUR  LADY  OF  GOOD  COUNSEL  (Bohemian),  Western 
ave-  and  Cornelia  st. ;  CHURCH  OF  OUR  LADY  OF  MOUNT  CARMEL,  Wellington 
and  Beacher  st. ;  CHURCH  OF  THE  ASSUMPTION  (Italian),  Illinois  st.,  near  N. 
Market  st. ;  CHURCH  OF  THE  HOLY  ANGELS,  282  Oakwood  blvd. ;  CHURCH  OF 
THE  HOLY  FAMILY,  May  and  W.  Twelfth  sts. ;  CHURCH  OF  THE  IMMACULATE 
CONCEPTION,  N.  Franklin  st.,  north  of  Schiller  st. ;  CHURCH  OF  THE  NATIVITY, 
Thirty-seventh  and  Dashiel  sts.;  HOLY  TRINITY  (German),  S.  Lincoln  and 
Taylor  sts. ;  HOLY  TRINITY  (Polish),  Noble  and  Ingraham  sts. ;  IMMACULATE 
CONCEPTION  B.  V.  M.  (German),  2944,  2946  Bortfield  st.,  near  Archer  ave.; 
IMMACULATE  CONCEPTION  B.  V.  M.  (Polish),  N.  W.  Cor.  Eighty  -  eighth  st- 
and Commercial  ave.;  ST.  ALBERT'S  CHURCH  (Polish),  W.  Seventeenth 
and  Paulina  sts.;  ST.  AGNES'  S.  Washtenaw  ave.,  near  Thirty-eighth  st. ; 
ST.  ALOYSIUS'  (German),  Thompson  and  Davis  sts.;  ST.  ALPHONSUS' 
(German),  Lincoln  and  Southport  aves.;  ST.  ANN'S,  Fifty-fifth  st.  and 
Wentworth  ave.;  ST.  ANTHONY  OF  PADUA  (German),  S.  E.  Cor.  Twenty- 
fourth  place  and  Hanover  st. ;  ST.  AUGUSTIN'S  (Gei'man),  Fifty-first 
and  Laflin  sts.;  ST.  BERNARD'S  CHURCH  (French),  Brighton  Park;  ST. 
BONIFACE'S  (German),  Cornell  and  Noble  sts.;  ST.  BRENDON'S  CHURCH, 
Sixty-seventh,  corner  Bishop;  ST.  BRIDGET'S,  Archer  ave.  and  Church 
place;  ST.  CASIMIR'S  CHURCH  (Polish),  Twenty-second,  Cor.  Little;  ST. 
CECELIA'S,  Bristol  st.  near  Wentworth  ave. ;  ST.  COLUMBKILL'S,  N. 
Paulina  and  W.  Indiana  sts. ;  ST.  ELIZABETH'S  N.  E.  Cor.  State  and  Forty- 
first  sts.;  ST.  FRANCIS  OF  ASSISIUM  (German),  W.  Twelfth  st.  andNewbe*fy 
ave. ;  ST.  FRANCIS  DE  SALES,  Ewing  ave.  and  One  Hundred  and  Second  st. ; 
ST.  FRANCIS  XAVIER  (German),  Avondale;  ST.  JAMES,  Wabash  ave.  and  Thir- 
tieth st.;  ST.  JARLATH'S,  Hermitage  ave.  and  W.  Jackson  st. ;  ST.  JOHN'S 
Eighteenth  and  Clark  sts. ;  ST.  JOHN  THE  BAPTIST  (French),  Thirty-third  ct., 
near  S.  Wood  st. ;  ST.  MALACHY'S,  Walnut  st.  and  Western  ave.;  ST.  MARY'S, 
Wabash  ave.  and  Eldridge  ct. ;  ST.  MONICA'S  CHURCH,  2251  Indiana  ave. ;  ST. 
PATRICK'S,  S.  Desplaines  and  W.  Adams  sts. ;  ST.  PAUL'S  (German),  S.  Hoyne 
ave.  and  Ambrose  st. ;  ST.  STEPHEN'S,  N.  Sangamon  and  W.  Ohio  sts. ;  ST. 
TERESA'S  (German),  Center  and  Clyde  sts.;  ST.  THOMAS',  Fifty-fifth  st., 
Hyde  Park;  ST.  VINCENT  DE  PAUL'S,  Webster  ave.  and  Osgood  st. 

CITY  OR  MUNICIPAL  AFFAIRS. 

The  government  of  the  City  of  Chicago  is  vested  in  a  mayor  elected  for 
two  years,  salary  $7,000,  and  a  city  council,  composed  of  sixty-eight  alder- 


(iKNKKAI,    I.NKOKMATION.  229 

men,  or  two  from  each  of  the  thirty-four  wards,  who  receive  a  per  diem  for 
actual  services,  the  total  of  which  amounted  this  year  to  about  $15,000.  One 
alderman  is  elected  from  each  ward  on  alternate  years.  The  mayor  is  assis- 
ted in  the  performance  of  his  duty  by  heads  of  departments  and  bureaus,  as 
follows:  Comptroller,  $5,000;  treasurer,  including1  assistants,  125,000  and 
interest  on  city  deposits,  his  right  to  the  latter  being  now  in  dispute;  city 
clei-k,  $3,500;  commissioner  of  public  works,  $5,000;  city  engineer,  $3,500: 
counsel  of  corporation,  $6,000;  city  attorney,  $5,000;  prosecuting  attorney, 
$4,000;  general  superintendent  of  police,  $5,000;  chief  marhal  of  fire  depart- 
ment, $5,000;  superintendent  of  fire  alarm  telegraph,  $3,675;  commissioner  of 
health,  $4,000;  city  collector,  $4,000;  superintendent  of  special  assessment, 
$3,500;  supei'intendent  of  street  department,  $3,500;  mayor's  secretary,  $2,500; 
mayor's  assistant  secretary,  $1,500;  mayor's  messenger,  $2,000.  The  mayor 
appoints  the  members  of  the  board  of  education,  to  fill  vacancies  [see  "Edu- 
cation— Public"]  and  also  the  members  of  the  Public  Library  board.  [See 
"  Public  Library."]  He  is  ex-officio  chief  of  police  and  marshal  of  the  fire 
department  [see  "Police  Department"  and  "Fire  Depai'tment"]  and  has 
power  to  remove  or  appoint  heads  of  all  departments  and  bm*eaus  of  the  city's 
government,  subject  to  the  approval  of  the  city  council.  The  following  list 
of  salaried  subordinates  in  the  various  departments  will  serve  to  show  the 
value  of  municipal  situations. 

CITY  CLERK'S  OFFICE— SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  subordinates  are  as 
follows:  Deputy  clerk,  $3,000;  chief  clerk,  $2,400;  minor  clerks  from  $1,000 
to  $1,300. 

CITY  COLLECTOR'S  OFFICE— SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  subordinates  are 
as  follows:  Chief  clerk,  $2,000;  cashier,  $1,800;  book-keeper,  $1,400;  clerk, 
$1,400;  five  clerks,  $1,500  each,  five  clerks,  $1,000  each,  messenger,  $800. 

CITY  HALL  EMPLOYES— SALARIES.— Janitor,  $1,400;  2  carpenters,  $3  per 
day;  4  finishers,  $720  each ;  10  elevator  attendants,  $720  each;  10  janitors, 
$720  each;  11  female  janitors,  $480  each;  chief  engineer,  $1,500;  3  assistant 
engineers,  $1,000  each;  6  firemen,  $720  each;  3  coal  passers,  $660  each;  3 
oilers,  $720  each. 

COMPTROLLER'S  OFFICE— SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  subordinates  ai~e  as 
follows:  Chief  clerk.  $3,000;  general  book-keeper,  $2,400:  assistant  book- 
keeper, $1,800;  cashier,  $1,800:  assistant  cashier,  $1,500;  warrant  clerk, 
$1,600;  minor  clerks,  $1,000  to  $1,200. 

ENGINEERING  DEPARTMENT— SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  subordinates  are 
as  follows:  Assistant  engineer,  .$2,500:  second  assistant  engineer,  $2,000; 
one  assistant  engineer,  $2,000;  two  assistant  engineers,  $1,800  each ;  rodmen, 
$900;  draughtsmen,  $1,200:  chief  clerk,  $1,GOO;  messenger,  $600. 

FEED  OFFICES.— City  sealer  of  weights  and  measures,  oil  inspector, 
inspector  of  steam  boilers,  building  inspector,  elevator  inspector,  and  some 
other  minor  officers  of  the  city  government  are  paid  in  fees,  or  a  percentage 
of  fees  collected  in  their  respective  offices.  Of  these  the  oil  inspectorship  is 
the  most  lucrative,  being  worth  about  $20,000  per  annum. 

FIRE  DEPARTMENT — SALARIES. — The  salaries  of  subordinates  are  as  fol- 
lows: First  assistant  fire  marshal  and  inspector,  $3,500;  second  assistant 
fire  marshal,  $3,000 ;  assistant  fire  marshal  and  secretary, $3,200 ;  fire  inspector, 
$2,500;  13  chiefs  of  battalions,  $2,500  each  ;  bookkeeper,  $1,800;  2  clerks,  $1,800 
each;  clerk  and  storekeeper,  $1,400;  superintendent  of  horses,  including 
medicines,  $2,200:  19  captains.  $1,360.80  each ;  42  captains,  $1,260  each ;  14  cap- 
tains, $1,200  <-ach;  19  lieutenants.  $1,155  each;  25  lieutenants,  $1,000  each; 
17  engineers,  $1,360.80  each;  30  engineers,  $1,260  each;  12  engineers,  $1,200 
each ;  13  assistant  engineers,  $1,134  each  ;  30  assistant  engineers,  $1,050  each ; 
12  assistant  engineers,  $1,000  each:  115  pipemon  and  truckmen,  $1,134  each; 


230  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

131  pipemen  and  truckmen,  $1,050  each ;  69  pipemen  and  truckmen,  $945  each ; 
40  pipemen  and  truckmen,  $840  each ;  37  drivers,  $1,134  each ;  81  drivers,  $1,050 
each ;  39  drivers,  $945  each ;  4  pilots,  $1,260  each ;  2  stokers,  $1,050  each ;  2  sto- 
kers, $945  each ;  9  watchmen,  $798.80  each ;  superintendent  city  telegraph, 
$3,675;  chief  operator,  $2,362.50;  3  assistant  operators,  $1,260  each;  chief  of 
construction,  $1,800;  battery  man,  $945;  five  repairers,  $1,102.50  each;  chief  of 
electric  repair  shop,$l,575 ;  3  linemen,  $945  each ;  machinist,  $1,050 ;  2  assistant 
machinists,  $756  each;  clerk  and  stenographer,  $1,260;  2  electric  light 
inspectors,  paid  in  fees  collected ;  1  manager,  $1,700;  3  operators,  $1,200  each ; 
3  repairers,  $1,000  each;  1  lineman,  $915;  1  instrument  man,  $900;  1  battery 
man,  $900.  Total  for  salaries  of  Fire  Department,  including  chief  marshal, 
$974,348.00. 

HEALTH  DEPARTMENT— SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  subordinates  are  as 
follows: — Assistant  commissioner,  $2,500;  department  clerk,  $1,500;  secretary, 
$1,500;  registrar  of  vital  statistics,  $1,200;  thirty-four  sanitary  police,  $1,000 
each;  eight  medical  inspectors,  $900 each;  chief  tenement  house  and  factory 
inspector,  $2,000;  nine  meat  and  stock  yards  inspectors,  $1,200  each  ;  assistant 
tenement  house  and  factory  inspector,  $1,500;  clerk  to  tenement  house 
and  factory  inspector,  $1,000;  thirty- four  tenement  house  and  factory 
inspectors,  $1,000  each;  five  female  factory  inspectors,  $1,000  each;  city 
physician,  $2,500;  assistant,  $1,500. 

LAW  DEPARTMENT — SALARIES. — The  salaries  of  subordinates  are: — 
Assistant  corporation  counsel,  $5,000;  assistant  corporation  counsel,  $3,000; 
assistant  city  attorney,  $4,000;  chief  clerk,  $2,000;  3  minor  clerks,  $1,500  each; 
2  minor  clerks,  $1,200  each ;  clerk  to  city  attorney,  $1,500. 

MAP  DEPARTMENT— SALARIES.— Superintendent,  $1,880;  8  draughtsmen, 
$1,200  each ;  2  draughtsmen,  $1,000  each ;  house  numbering  clerk.  $900. 

POLICE  COURT— SALARIES.— There  are  eight  police  court  districts  in  the 
city  of  Chicago,  in  which  ten  police  justices  administer  the  municipal  law. 
These  are  appointed  by  the  mayor.  The  salaries  are  as  follows: — Two 
police  justices,  1st  district,  $5,000 each;  two  police  justices,  3d  district,  $5,000 
each:  one  police  justice,  2d  district,  $5,000;  one  police  justice,  4th  district, 
$2,500;  one  police  justice,  5th  district,  $2,500;  one  police  justice,  Englewood 
district,  $1,800;  one  police  justice,  Lake  View  district,  $1,200.  The  clerks  of 
the  first  district  court  receive  $1,500  and  $1,200;  all  other  clerks  $1,200  each, 
except  the  assistant  of  the  1st  district,  whose  salary  is  $1,000,  and  those  of 
Englewood  and  Lake  View,  who  receive  $900  and  $600  respectively. 

POLICE  DEPARTMENT  SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  the  officers  and  subordi- 
nates in  the  police  department  are  as  follows:  General  superintendent, 
$5,000;  assistant  superintendent,  $3,000;  chief  inspector,  $2,800;  four  division 
inspectors,  $2.800  each;  one  secretary,  $2,250;  private  secretary,  $1,500;  clerks, 
secretary's  office,  $1,200  each;  drillmaster,  $2,000;  stenographer,  $1,200: 
assistant  stenographer,  $600;  custodian,  $1,323;  clerk,  detective's  office, 
$1,500;  assistant  clerks,  detective's  office,  $1,200;  night  clerk,  $900;  captains 
$2,250  each;  lieutenants,  $1,500  each;  sergeant,  detective's  office,  $1,600: 
assistant  clerk,  $1,200;  patrol  sergeants,  $1,200  each;  desk  sergeants,  $1,200; 
matrons,  $630;  photographers,  $1,200;  detective  sergeants,  $1,212.75;  police 
court  bailiffs,  $1,000;  pound  keepers,  $771.75:  patrolmen  at  mayor's  office, 
$1,000;  patrolmen  at  comptroller's  office,  $500;  lock-up  keepers,  $1.000  each;- 
inspectors  of  pawnshops,  $1,200;  inspectors  of  pawnshops,  $1,000;  inspec- 
tors of  vehicles,  $1,200;  assistant  inspectors  of  vehicles,  $1,000;  patrolmen 
on  duty  at  bridges,  street  crossings,  depots,  etc.,  $1,000:  patrolmen,  first- 
class,  for  duty  on  patrol  wagons,  $1,000;  patrolman,  first-class,  for  regular 
duty,  $1,000;  patrolmen,  second  class,  for  patrol  duty,  nine  months,  at  $60  per 
month;  engineers  for  police  stations,  $1,000;  assistant  engineers  for  police 
stations  (eight  months),  $551.25;  janitors  at  $530  each ;  veterinary  surgeon, 
$1,500;  assistant  veterinary,  $1,000;  hostlers,  $630;  watchmen,  $750;  drivers 
of  supply  wagons,  $720;  drivers  of  patrol  wagons,  $7MO;  chief  operator, 
police  telegraph  service,  $1,300;  assistant  operator,  81.000;  operators,  police 
telegraph  service,  $720 each;  drivers  for  ambulances,  $720. 


232  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

PUBLIC  WORKS  DEPARTMENT — SALARIES. — The  salaries  of  subordinates 
are  as  follows :  Secretary,  $2,400;  assistant  secretary,  $1,500:  book-keeper, 
$2,400:  assistant  bookkeeper,  $2,000;  clerk,  $1,200;  minor  clerks,  from  $600 
to  $1,000. 

SEWERAGE  DEPARTMENT— SALARIES.— Superintendent,  $3,500;  six  assist- 
ant engineers,  $1,800  each;  six  rodmen,  $900  each;  chief  clerk,  $1,200;  chief 
clerk  of  house  drains,  $1,800;  permit  clerk,  $900:  chief  inspector  house 
drains,  $1,200;  draughtsman,  $1,200;  draughtsman,  $1,000. 

SPECIAL  ASSESSMENT  DEPARTMENT— SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  subordi- 
nates are  as  follows :  Attorney,  $2,700;  assistant  attorney,  $1,800;  chief  clerk, 
$2,100;  clerk,  $1,800;  cierk,  $1,680;  two  clerks,  $1,500  each;  four  clerks,  $1,400 
each;  sixteen  clerks,  $1,200  each;  clerk,  $1,000;  three  clerks,  $900 each. 

STREET  DEPARTMENT— SALARIES.— The  salaries  of  subordinates  are  as 
follows:  Assistant  superintendent,  $2,000;  chief  clerk,  $1,500;  bill  clerk, 
$1,200;  permit  clerk,  $900;  assistant  permit  clerk,  $720;  general  clerk,  $900; 
messenger,  $720;  chief  sidewalk  inspector,  $1,500;  superintendent  of  house 
moving,  $1,800  (paid  from  fees). 

TELEPHONE  DEPARTMENT— SALARIES.— Chief  operator,  $1,300;  assistant 
chief  operator,  $900;  71  operators,  $720  each;  7  repairers,  $1,000  each;  2  bat- 
tery men,  $900  each;  2  hostlers,  $620  each;  driver,  $720;  operator  bridge  tele- 
phone office,  $720;  12  operators  bridge  telephone  system,  nine  months,  $472.50 
each. 

Annexation. — On  the  28th  of  June,  1889,  the  city  embraced  about  forty- 
four  square  miles  of  territory.  On  the  day  following,  by  vote  of  the  people, 
the  city  of  Lake  View  and  the  towns  of  Hyde  Park,  Lake,  Jefferson  and 
Cicero,  aggregating  128.24  square  miles  of  territory  and  about  220,000  people, 
were  annexed  to  and  became  a  part  of  Chicago,  thus  constituting  one  great 
metropolis,  extending  twenty-four  miles  from  north  to  south,  and  from  four 
and  one-half  to  ten  and  one-half  miles  from  east  to  west.  The  validity  of 
the  proceedings  resulting  in  the  annexation  was  confirmed  by  the  Supreme 
Court,  October  29,  1889.  By  this  extraordinary  consolidation,  six  independ- 
ent municipal  corporations— each  having  a  legislative  and  executive  depart- 
ment of  government,  each  controlled  and  operated  under  more  or  less 
different  systems  and  methods  of  conducting  public  affairs — were  merged 
into  one  municipality,  under  the  authority  and  control  of  one  city  govern- 
ment. During  the  year  1890  there  were  annexed  to  the  city  four  suburbs- 
South  Englewood,  area,  2.92  square  miles,  population  3,000;  Gano,  1.80  square 
miles,  population,  2,600;  Washington  Heights,  2.8  square  miles,  population 
3,315;  West  Roseland,  1.80  sqTiare  miles,  population,  792;  making  a  total 
annexation  for  the  year  of  9.32  square  miles,  with  a  population  of  9,900. 
Fernwood  was  also  added. 

Area  of  Chicago. — Chicago  has  grown  from  2.55  square  miles  in  1835  to 
181.70  square  miles  in  1893,  as  follows: 


SQUARE  MILES. 


February  11,  1835,  original  town 

March  4,  1837,  there  was  added 

February  16,  1847,  there  was  added 

February  12,  1853,  there  was  added 

February  13,  1863,  there  was  added 

February  27,  1864,  there  was  added 

May  16,  1887,  there  was  added 

November  and  December  5,  1887,  there  was  added .... 

July  29,  1889,  there  was  added 

April  16,  1890,  village  of  Gano  added '      2.00  making    174.18 

1890,  South  Englewood  added 2.98  making     177. 16 

1890,  Washington  Heights 2.80  making    179.96 

1890,  West  Roseland 1.80  making    181.70 


2.55 

8.15  making  10.70 

3.33  making  14.03 

3.90  making  17.93 

6.48  making  24.41 

11.35  making  35.79 

1.00  making  36.79 

7. 15  making  43.91 

128.24  making  172. 18 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  233 

Of  the  present  area  5.14  square  miles  are  water,  176.56  land.  The  city  is 
divided  into  34  wards,  each  covering-  a  territory  as  follows  :  First  ward,  1.75 
square  miles;  Second  ward,  1.5;  Third  ward,  1.5;  Foiirth  ward,  1.75;  Fifth 
ward,  1.5;  Sixth  ward,  2.75;  Seventh  ward,  0.75;  Eighth  ward,  0.75;  Ninth 
ward,  1.5;  Tenth  ward,  1.5;  Eleventh  ward,  1.25;  Twelfth  ward,  3.00;  Thir- 
teenth ward,  3.00;  Fourteenth  ward,  3.00;  Fifteenth  ward,  3.25;  Sixteenth 
ward,  0.75;  Seventeenth  ward,  0.75;  Eighteenth  ward,  0.75;  Nineteenth  ward, 
0.75;  Twentieth  ward,  1.00;  Twenty-first  ward,  1.00;  Twenty-second  ward, 
0.75;  Twenty-third  ward,  0.75;  Twenty-fourth  ward,  1.00;  Twenty-fifth  ward, 
5.00;  Twenty-sixth  ward,  5.75;  Twenty-seventh  ward,  29.5;  Twenty-eighth 
ward,  7.00:  Twenty-ninth  ward,  6.00;  Thirtieth  ward,  12.00;  Thirty-first  ward, 
18.00;  Thirty-second  ward,  3.75;  Thirty-third  ward,  28.5;  Thirty-fourth  ward, 
27.00. 

Births  and  Deaths.— [See  "Appendix."] 

Bridewell,  or  House  of  Correction, — This  is  the  city  prison  and  is  gen- 
erally known  as  the  Bridewell,  a  name  which  it  derived  from  the  Bridewell 
of  Dublin,  Ireland,  to  which  it  bears  a  similarity  in  many  respects.  The 
management  is  vested  in  a  superintendent,  appointed  by  the  mayor.  The 
expenditures  for.  salaries  and  maintenance  and  construction  are  about 
$125,000  per  annum;  the  receipts  from  police  court  fines,  brick  made  by 
inmates  inside  the  walls,  labor  of  prisoners,  laundry  work  for  police  depart- 
ment, etc.,  amounts  to  about  $60.000  per  annum.  The  number  of  prisoners 
committed  to  the  Bridewell  annually  is  about  9,000,  of  whom  about  seven- 
eighths  are  males.  The  average  number  of  prisoners  confined  is  about  760 
males  and  40  females.  The  cost  of  the  prison  to  the  city  of  Chicago,  as  it  stands 
to-day,  is  about  $1,500,000.  The  prisoners  are  employed  in  brick-making 
and  other  industries.  County  prisoners  are  also  sent  here,  for  whose  sup- 
port the  city  is  paid  about  30  cents  per  capita  daily.  The  Bridewell  is  situ- 
ated at  S.  California  ave.,  near  W.  Twenty-sixth  St.,  West  side,  and  may  be 
reached  by  Blue  Island  ave.  cars. 

Bridges  and  Viaducts. — As  the  Chicago  river  is  navigable  for  lake  ves- 
sels, and  it,  with  its  branches,  intersects  the  heart  of  the  city,  a  large  num- 
ber of  bridges  have  been  required.  No  less  than  forty-five  now  span  this 
small  stream.  Nearly  all  are  swinging  bridges,  and  many  of  them  are 
operated  by  steam.  Steel  construction  has  been  employed  in  the  bridges 
most  recently  erected.  Among  these,  the  Adams  st.  bridge  is  a  notable 
structure.  It  is  a  4-track  bridge,  259  feet  long  on  center  truss,  and  57  feet 
in  width.  This  bridge  is  2  feet  and  3  inches  lower  at  the  east  end  than  at 
the  west  end,  and,  at  the  same  time  is  reversible,  the  turn-table  track  being 
.set  on  a  grade  of  1  in  115.  Some  doubts  were  expressed  as  to  its  feasibility 
when  the  plan  was  proposed,  but  the  city  engineers  say  that  no  bridge  in 
the  city  works  better  than  this  one.  The  Rush  st.  draw  is  one  of  the  longest 
in  the  world.  The  Lake,  Wells  and  Jackson  sts.  bridges  are  handsome 
structures.  The  railroads  entering  the  city  do  so  in  but  few  instances 
above  OP  below  the  street  level.  Grade-crossings  are  the  rule.  Engineers 
have  long  sought  to  remedy  this  state  of  affairs,  which  will  probably  be 
accomplished  in  time;  but,  meanwhile,  some  relief  is  being  provided  at 
the  most  dangerous  crossings  by  the  erection  of  viaducts.  There  are 
thirty-five  of  these  structures  in  the  city,  the  longest  and  finest  of  which  is 
on  Twelfth  st.,  extending  from  Clark  st.  to  Wabash  ave.,  crossing  the 
tracks  of  the  Atchison,  Topeka  and  Santa  Fe  Railroad  Company,  and  cost- 
ing $209,736. 

City  finances.— [See  "Appendix."] 

City  Hall— [See  "Buildings,"  also  "Guide."] 

City  Library.— [See  "Libraries."] 

City  Parks.— The  parks  under  control  of  the  city  government  are  as  fol- 
lows: Irving  Park,  Lake  Park,  Ellis  Park,  Douglas  Monument  Square. 
Akline  Square,  Bickerdike  Square,  Union  Square,  Green  Bay  Park  and  Oak 
Park,  Washington  Square,  Shedd's  Park,  Gross  Park,  Jefferson  (Town) 
Park,  The  park  system  proper  is  under  control  of  park  commissioners 


234  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

elected  by  the  judges  of  the  circuit  and  superior  courts.  It  costs  about 
$9,000  per  annum  to  care  for  the  city  parks.  [See  "  Park  System."] 

City  Schools.— [See  "  Education— Public."] 

Electric  Lights. — The  electric  lights  required  to  illuminate  the  city 
number,  7,350.  Not  all  of  these  are  in  place. 

Electric  Light  System.— The  city  electric  light  system  comprises: 
Power  stations,  4;  125  H.  P.  high  speed  engines,  13;  300  H.  P.  Corliss  engine, 
1;  100-H.  P.  tubular  boilers,  heaters,  pumps,  etc.,  6;  125-H.  P.  tubular  boilers, 
heaters,  pumps,  etc.,  15;  2,000-C.  P.  double  carbon  lamps,  1,225;  lamp  posts 
and  hoods,  993;  60-light  high  tension  dynamos,  7;  60-light  low  tension  dyna- 
mos, 4;  50-light  high  tension  dynamos,  1;  35-light  high  tension  dynamos,  11 ; 
35-light  low  tension  dynamos,  6;  30-light  low  tension  dynamos,  10;  miles  of 
electric  light  cable,  169;  number  of  feet  of  underground  conduit,  12,109; 
mimber  of  feet  of  iron  pipe  laid  underground,  535,035;  number  of  man-holes, 
291 ;  number  of  hand-holes,  125. 

Eleemosynary  Support. — The  city  of  Chicago  supports  entire  or  aids  in 
the  maintenance  of  several  eleemosynary  institutions,  charities  and  pension 
funds,  as  follows :  ERRING  WOMAN'S  REFUGE  FOR  REFORM.— Receives  a  per- 
centage of  certain  fines  imposed  in  police  courts,  according  to  act  of  the  gen- 
eral assembly,  approved  March  31,  1869.  FIREMEN'S  PENSION  FUND. — This 
fund  receives  1  per  centum  of  all  revenues  collected  or  received  from 
licenses  issued  dtiring  each  year,  according  to  an  act  of  the  general  assem- 
bly, approved  May  13,  1887,  in  force  July  1,  1887.  HOUSE  OF  THE  GOOD  SHEP- 
HERD.— This  institution  also  receives  a  percentum  of  certain  fines  imposed  by 
the  police  courts,  according  to  act  of  the  general  assembly,  approved  March 
31,  1869.  ILLINOIS  HUMANE  SOCIETY.— This  society  is  entitled  to  fines  collected 
through  the  agency  of  the  organization, for  the  prevention  of  cruelty  to  ani- 
mals, according  to  an  act  of  the  general  assembly,  approved  June  28,  1885,  in 
force  July  1,  1885.  POLICE  PENSION  FUND.— This  fund  receives  2  per  centum  of 
all  moneys  received  from  licenses  for  saloons  or  dramshops,  %  of  dog  tax,  % 
of  all  moneys  received  for  licenses  granted  pawnshops,  %  of  all  moneys 
received  for  licenses  granted  second-hand  dealers,  14  of  all  moneys  received 
from  moneys  for  licenses  granted  junk  dealers;  all  moneys  collected  for 
fees  for  carrying  concealed  weapons;  y2  of  all  costs  collected  for  violation 
of  city  ordinances,  according  to  an  act  of  the  generally  assembly,  approved 
April  29,  1887,  in  force  July  1,  1887.  WASHINGTONIAN  HOME.— This  institution 
receives  a  percentum  of  moneys  collected  for  saloon  licenses,  not  to  exceed 
$20,000  per  annum,  according  to  act  of  the  general  assembly,  approved  Feb- 
ruary 16,  1867,  amended  by  an  act  in  force  July  1,  1883. 

Fire  Department.— [See  "Fire  Department."] 

Geographical  Center  of  Chicago.— The  geographical  center  of  the  present 
city  of  Chicago  is  located  at  the  intersection  of  Ashland  ave.  and  Thirty- 
ninth  St. 

Health  of  the  City.— [See  "Appendix."] 

Lakes  and  Rivers.— There  are  three  lakes  -within  the  present  city  limits 
containing  an  area  of  4,095.6  acres,  as  follows:  Calumet  Lake  3,122  acres, 
Hyde  Lake  330.8  acres,  the  portion  of  Wolf  Lake  lying  within  the  city  limits 
612.8  acres.  Of  these  Calumet  and  Wolf  are  navigable.  There  are  two 
rivers  within  the  corporate  limits:  the  Chicago  river,  with  north  and  south 
branches,  which  divide  the  city  into  districts  known,  respectively,  as  the 
North,  South  and  West  " Divisions "  or  "Sides  "—and  the  Calumet  river, 
with  Big  and  Little  Calumet  rivers,  which  penetrate  the  extreme  southern 
part  of  the  city. 

Lake  and  Rivep  Frontage. — The  city  has  a  frontage  on  Lake  Michigan  of 
twenty-two  miles  and  a  river  frontage  of  about  lifty-eight  miles,  twenty* 
$wo  and  one-half  miles  of  which  are  navigable. 

Length  and  Width  of  Chicago.— The  distaii*'''  i/otwren  N.  Severity-first 
street,  being  the  northern  city  limits,  and  One  Hundred  and  Thirty-ninth 
street,  being  the  southern  city  limits,  is  twenty-four  miles.  The  city  at  its 
broadest  point  is  10.5  miles  in  width.  State  st.  has  the  greatest  extension 


236  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

north  and  south,  running  from  North  ave.  to  the  southern  city  limits, 
eighteen  miles;  Eighty-seventh  the  greatest  western  extension,  running  the 
entire  width  of  the  city. 

Lighting  the  City. — The  cost  of  maintaining  and  lighting  gas  and  elec- 
tric lamps  throughout  the  city  is  now  about  $1,000,000  per  annum. 

Longest  Street.— The  longest  street  in  the  city  is  State.  [See  "  Length 
and  Width  of  Chicago."] 

Marriage  Licenses.— [See  "Appendix."] 

Morgue. — Situated  in  the  rear  of  the  County  Hospital,  near  the  Polk  st. 
side.  Take  Harrison  st.  or  Ogden  ave.  car.  Ten  bodies,  on  an  average,  are 
picked  up  in  the  streets  of  Chicago  every  day.  Besides  these,  morgue 
accommodations  are  necessary  for  many  of  those  who  die  in  the  County  and 
other  hospitals,  police  stations,  etc.  The  inside  measures  40x46*4  feet,  and 
the  entire  affair,  with  offices,  etc.,  cost  about  $18,000.  All  bodies  are  disin- 
fected and  frozen  by  the  carbolic  acid  process  before  being  placed  on  view. 

Police  Department. — [See  "Police  Department."] 

Poverty  in  Chicago. — Notwithstanding' the  great  prosperity  of  the  people 
as  a  whole,  poverty  is  to  be  found  in  Chicago  as  well  as  elsewhere.  Muni- 
cipal charity  in  Chicago  has  risen  to  the  dignity  of  an  applied  science. 
Through  the  refuse  of  alleys,  up  the  trembling  stairs  of  tenements,  and  into 
the  hovels  of  want  and  misery  a  force  of  men  and  women  daily  goes,  carry- 
ing food  for  the  hungry,  warm  clothing  for  the  naked,  coals  for  the  needy, 
and  medicine  for  the  sick.  From  November  until  April,  Cook  County  gives 
away  200  sacks  of  flour,  forty  pairs  of  shoes,  and  fifty  tons  of  coal  every  day. 
Relief  of  the  deserving  poor  involves  not  alone  the  discovery  and  proper  aid 
of  the  unfortunates,  but  is  attended  with  a  constant  warfare  against  the 
idle  and  vicious.  Agents  of  the  Visitation  and  Aid  society,  the  Relief  and 
Aid  society,  the  German  Aid  society,  the  Hebrew  Aid  society,  and  St.  Vincent 
de  Paul's  daily  seek  the  needy,  but  their  work  is  only  of  a  semi  public 
nature.  From  the  office  of  the  county  agent,  at  36  W.  Madison  st.,  there  are 
sent  twenty-seven  men  and  three  women,  who  investigate  the  condition  of 
those  reported  to  be  in  want  and  who,  by  reason  of  their  familiarity  with 
neighborhoods  and  individuals,  are  able  to  insure  a  wise  bestowal  of  public 
charity. 

Topography  of  Chicago.— The  city  of  Chicago  is  level  but  not  flat.  There 
are  considerable  rises  here  and  there,  the  most  noticeable  being  the  ridge 
which  traverses  the  southern  portion,  west  of  Hyde  Park,  to  the  Indiana 
line.  All  difficulties  in  the  way  of  sewering  have  been  overcome  long  since 
by  skillful  engineering.  The  Chicago  river  which  originally  emptied  into, 
now  flows  out  of  the  lake.  The  sewerage  is  carried  by  the  river,  in  great 
part,  to  a  canal  which  conducts  it  through  the  interior.  It  finally  finds  its 
way  into  the  Illinois  and  Mississippi  rivers.  The  drainage  of  the  city  is  an 
interesting  subject,  and  tlie  plans  for  future  work  in  this  connection  are  of 
great  magnitude  and  involve  the  expenditure  of  many  millions. 

Uniting  City  and  County. — The  question  of  uniting  the  city  of  Chicago 
and  the  county  of  Cook  under  one  government,  is  being  seriously  considered 
at  present. 

Water  Tunnels.— [See  "  Water  Works."] 

Water  Works.  —  [See  "Water  Works,"  and  for  statistics  see  "Appen- 
dix."] 

CITY  RAILWAY  SERVICE— CABLE  AND  HORSE  LINES. 

The  city  railway,  or  intramural  service  of  Chicago,  embraces  horse-car, 
cable,  electric  and  elevated  railroads.  The  great  existing  street-car  com- 
panies operating  horse  and  cable  lines  are  the  Chicago  City  Railway  Com- 
pany, which  operates  the  lines  of  the  South  side ;  the  West  Chicago  City 
Railway  Company,  which  operates  the  lines  of  the  West  Side,  being  practi- 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  237 

cally  the  owner  of  the  Chicago  Passenger  Railway  Company,  which  also 
operates  lines  in  that  division  of  the  city ;  and  the  North  Chicago  Street 
Railroad  Company,  which  operates  the  lines  of  the  North  side.  The  South 
Chicago  City  Railway  Company  is  an  independent  line.  The  West  Chicago, 
North  Chicago  and  Chicago  Passenger  Railway  Company  are  under  one 
management,  Mr.  Charles  T.  Yerkes  being  president. 

CHARACTER  OP  THE  SERVICE.— In  view  of  all  the  surrounding  circum- 
stances, many  of  which  have  contributed  toward  making  street  car  trans- 
portation in  Chicago  difficult,  the  service  rendered  the  public  by  the 
different  street  railway  companies  is  unsurpassed  in  any  city  in  the  world. 
Yet  in  no  city  in  the  country,  probably,  have  street  car  companies  been 
subjected  to  more  severe  and  unfair  criticism.  The  basis  of  this  criticism 
has  usually  been  a  comparison  with  the  lines  operated  in  other  and  smaller 
places,  and  in  population  centers  where  the  conditions  are  entirely  unlike 
those  which  have  to  be  contended  with  in  Chicago.  The  West  and  North 
side  companies  have  borne  the  brunt  of  the  ill-natured  and  unreasonable 
abuse,  which  certain  papers  send  broadcast  without  as  much  as  deigning 
intelligent  inquiry  as  to  the  causes  of  such  public  annoyance  as  has 
occurred.  Especially  is  this  the  case  in  the  matter  of  stoppages  and  acci- 
dents of  various  kinds,  all  of  which  have  been  susceptible  of  satisfactory 
explanation,  and  that  without  the  slightest  reflection  on  the  several 
managements,  or  the  city.  The  climatic  difficulties,  for  instance,  have  not 
been  the  slightest  of  the  causes,  nor  yet  the  easiest  to  overcome  in  perfect- 
ing the  several  cable  systems.  We  have  here  the  greatest  extremes  of  heat 
and  cold,  the  variations  at  times  having  been  as  radical  as  60°  in  twenty- 
four  hours.  Common  intelligence  understands  at  a  glance  that  such  a  con- 
dition means  the  great  contraction  and  expansion  of  metals,  and  opens  up 
a  long  line  of  impediments  in  the  successful  operating  of  machinery  exposed 
to  the  elements,  to  say  nothing  of  the  effect  on  the  slot  rails  of  cable  roads. 
These  great  extremes  are  not  experienced  in  cities  like  San  Francisco,  St. 
Louis,  Cincinnati,  or  New  York,  yet  the  critics  seem  to  have  forgotten  this. 
In  many  of  the  cities,  too,  it  is  unusual  for  a  "  grip  "  car  to  haul  more  than 
one  trailer.  But  in  Chicago  the  South,  North  and  West  side  lines  always 
draw  two,  and  often  three  trailers,  and  consequently  much  heavier  loads 
than  are  carried  in  other  places.  Then,  again,  nowhere  else  do  the  "  grips  " 
run  so  close  together  as  here,  especially  in  the  early  morning  and  evening 
hours  when  they  are  often  not  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  minute  apart. 
This,  however,  is  only  a  mere  taste  of  the  exactions  on  the  West  and  North 
side  systems  by  comparison,  for  while  on  most  cable  roads  the  tracks  are 
straight  and  run  on  a  level,  here  they  bend  around  blocks  in  the  formation 
of  return  "loops,  "and  while  on  the  "loops"  climb  steep  tunnel  grades, 
and  this  when  they  are  loaded  the  heaviest. 

INCREASING  TRAFFIC.— The  traffic  on  the  street  car  lines  and  suburban 
railways  is  increasing  at  an  enormous  rate  annually.  The  street  cars  in  all 
divisions  of  the  city  are  over-crowded  almost  constantly.  The  North,  West 
and  South  side  cars  are  all  carrying  more  people  than  they  were  built  to 
carry,  but  still  the  number  of  passengers  is  increasing  every  day.  The  sub- 
nrban  trains  are  all  crowded.  On  the  Illinois  Central  the  same  state  of 
affairs  exists.  That  road  has  108  regular  trains  every  day  to  accommodate 
its  suburban  traffic,  and,  although  from  five  to  twelve  cars  on  each  train, 
which  run  half  an  hour  apart,  except  in  the  early  morning  and  evening 
hours,  when  there  is  an  interval  of  five  minutes  between  trains,  the  seats 
are  always  filled,  and  often  people  are  standing  as  near  together  as  possible, 
in  every  car.  When  a  train  is  a  few  minutes  late  the  crowding  is  worse. 
The  North-Western  and  St.  Paul  trains  are  also  crowded,  while  the  newer 
roads,  which  are  just  developing  a  suburban  region,  can  scarcely  keep  up 
with  the  tax  upon  their  rolling  stock 

STEAM  RAILROAD  SERVICE.— It  should  be  borne  in  mind  that  in  addition  to 
the  street  and  elevated  railways  of  this  city  it  has  a  steam  railroad  service,  in 
connection  with  the  suburban  lines  of  several  of  the  great  railroad  companies 


238  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

which  adds  immensely  to  the  transportation  facilities  of  the  public  between 
points  within  the  corporate  limits.  Jt  is  a  well-known  fact  that  the  Illinois 
Central  railroad  suburban  trains  carry  more  passengers  than  any  other 
suburban  line  in  the  world.  The  suburban  trains  of  the  company  carried 
15,000,000  passengers  in  1892.  Of  this  number  fully  four-fifths  were  passen- 
gers carried  between  points  within  the  city  limits.  The  Chicago  &  North- 
Western;  the  Chicago,  Rock  Island  and  Pacific;  the  Chicago,  Burlington  & 
Quincy ;  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul ;  the  Northern  Pacific ;  the  Grand 
Trunk;  the  Eastern  Illinois,  and  other  railroad  companies  do  a  heavy  sub- 
urban business.  Without  the  supplementary  aid  of  these  lines  it  would  be 
impossible  for  the  existing  lines  of  street  railways  to  meet  the  demands  of 
the  public  for  transit. 

Chicago  City  fiailway  Company.— This  is  the  company  which  controls  the 
cable  and  horse  car,  and  several  electric  lines  of  the  South  side. 

BUSINESS  OF  THE  COMPANY.— The  company  carried  during  1892  88,018,861 
passengers,  an  increase  compared  with  the  previous  year  of  10,554,896,  pro- 
ducing a  total  revenue  of  $4,400,943.  Of  this  total  66.46  per  cent  came  from 
the  cable  car  lines  and  33.54  per  cent  was  from  the  horse  car  lines.  The  cost 
of  operation  was  $2,809,431,  leaving  net  earnings  of  $1,591,511.  The  average 
receipts  per  day  were  $12,024,  an  increase  over  1891  of  $1,412.  During  the 
year  a  new  cable  plant  at  Twenty-first  and  State  sts.  and  a  new  power-house 
at  Thirty-ninth  and  State  sts.  were  completed,  and  a  large  amount  of  under- 
ground work  done,  At  the  beginning  of  the  year  the  company  had  1,472 
cars,  and  at  the  close  1,739  cars.  Total  number  of  horses  on  hand  at  the 
close  of  1892  was  2,611,  an  increase  of  62.  New  lines  were  constructed  aggre- 
gating 9.3  miles,  as  follows:  Loop  on  Michigan  ave.,  5-10th  miles;  Forty- 
seventh  and  State  sts.  to  Cottage  Grove  ave.,  2  miles ;  Sixty-first  st.  to  South 
Park  court,  1.75  miles;  Thirty-fifth  to  Ullman  St.,  4  miles;  Two  loops  at  Six- 
ty-first, Sixty-third  and  Sixty-fourth  sts,  .75  miles;  State  to  Michigan  ave., 
at  Thirty -first  st.,  .30  miles.  During  the  year  37,056  yards  of  granite  paving 
were  laid,  27,053  yards  of  wood  block  and  14,283  yards  were  repaved  with 
granite%  blocks.  A  total  of  12.50  miles  of  electric  road  was  bonded  and 
wired,  and  16.25  miles  were  supplied  with  poles  and  cross- wires  overhead 
for  trolley. 

ELECTRIC  LINES. — This  company  has  now  in  operation  electric  lines  on 
Forty-seventh,  Thirty-fifth,  Sixty-first  and  Sixty-third  sts.,  which  are  what 
may  be  called  cross-town  connections.  These  were  constructed  with  spcial 
reference  to  the  accommodation  of  exposition  visitors.  Probably  seventy- 
five  miles  of  additional  electric  road  will  be  in  operation  by  the  close  of 
1893. 

North  Chicago  Street  Railroad  Company.— The  capital  stock  of  the  North 
Chicago  Street  Railroad  Company  was  increased  from  $5,000,000  to  $10,000,000 
in  January,  1893.  The  company  was  incorporated  in  1886  under  Illinois  laws, 
and  controls  the  entire  street  surface  system  in  the  North  Division  of  Chi- 
cago. The  company  acquired  title  by  the  purchase  of  2,501  shares  of  the 
capital  stock  of  the  North  Chicago  City  Railway  Company,  paying  therefor 
§600  per  share.  The  total  of  shares  was  5,000.  The  companies  then  entered 
into  a  mutual  operating  agreement  whereby  the  new  company  agreed  to 
pay  to  the  old  company  $30  per  share  rental  annually  on  the  entire  stock. 
The  lessor  company  also  agreed  to  pa,y  the  principal  and  interest  of  the 
bonded  indebtedness  of  the  old  company  and  assume  all  other  liabilities. 
Out  of  the  $30  per  share  to  be  paid  annually,  for  rental,  $75,000,  or  the  rental 
on  the  2,501  shares,  reverts  to  the  credit  of  the  lessor  company,  the  owner  of 
the  shares. 

BUSINESS  OF  THE  COMPANY. — From  the  annual  reports  of  the  officers  of 
the  company,  submitted  in  January,  1893,  the  following  facts  of  general 
interest  are  taken :  During  the  year  1892  54,419,457  passengers  carried  against 
44,343,905  in  1891 ;  the  number  of  car  miles  run  was  8,517,791  against  7,576,766 
in  1891.  The  track  on  Clark  st.  was  relaid  and  115  new  cars  put  into  the 
service;  75  more  were  ordered  for  delivery  in  1893;  the  company  paid  out  to 
the  Employe's  Benefit  Association,  without  expense  to  the  employes,  $7,487. 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

THE    ORCUTT    COMPANY,    LITHOGRAPHERS. 

[See  "  Western  Industry."] 


240  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

The  net  profits  for  the  year  were  $752,546,  or  at  the  rate  of  15  per  cent  on  the 
capital  stock.  The  operating  expenses  were  52.90  per  cent  of  gross  earn- 
ings. The  total  receipts  from  passengers  were  $2,521,511.  The  average 
receipts  per  mile  were  29.499  cents.  The  average  number  of  passengers  per 
mile  was  5,899.  The  average  expenses  per  mile  of  cable  road  were  13.065 
cents;  for  the  horse  lines  19.26  cents.  The  stock  list  showed  that  C.  T. 
Yerkes  held  7,495  shares.  S.  Elkins  1,016  shares,  Walker  &  Wren  1,050 
shares,  P.  B.  Widener  1,000. 

TERRITORY  COVERED.— The  North  Chicago  Street  Railway  company  covers 
the  entire  North  side  of  the  city.  Cable  and  horse  propulsion  is  used.  The  cars 
enter  the  La  Sallest.  tunnel  at  Randolph  St.,  after  passing  around  a  "  loop  " 
in  the  heart  of  the  city.  Take  this  line  for  Lincoln  Park  and  all  portions  of 
the  city  on  the  North  shore,  and  the  extreme  northwest. 

West  Chicago  Street  Railroad  Company.— This  company  operates  under 
the  leased  lines  of  the  Chicago  West  Division  Railroad  company  and  the  Chi- 
cago Passenger  Railway  company.  The  capital  stock  of  the  West  Chicago 
Street  Railroad  company  is  $20,000,000,  it  having  been  increased  to  this  figure 
from  $10,000,000  at  the  annual  meeting  of  the  stockholders  held  in  January, 
1893. 

DESCRIPTION  or  CABLE  SYSTEM.— The  West  side  system  is  the  newest  and 
most  elaborate  in  the  city  and  second  to  none  in  the  extent  of  its  resour- 
ces, or  the  perfection  of  its  general  equipment,  and  for  this  reason  whatever 
is  said  in  a  descriptive  way  must  naturally  be  confined  to  it.  This  as  well 
as  the  North  side  road,  it  will  be  borne  in  mind,  reaches  the  South  side,  or 
business  center,  by  way  of  tunnels  under  the  Chicago  river.  These  tunnels 
were  built  by  the  city,  and  prior  to  the  companies  in  question  using  them 
were  mere  holes  in  the  ground,  and  represented  the  waste  of  so  much  public 
money.  President  Yerkes,  however,  saw  how  they  could  be  utilized  to  abate 
the  bridge  nuisance,  and  otherwise  serve  the  people,  and  was  quick  to  move 
in  the  matter  of  obtaining  their  use.  In  consideration  of  the  city  allowing 
him  to  use  the  La  Salle  st.  tunnel  he  built  and  donated  to  the  public  two 
double  steel  steam  bridges  across  the  river,  one  at  Wells  st.  and  the  other  at 
Clark  st..  at  a  cost  of  over  $300,000.  The  Washington  st.  tunnel  was  in  a  far 
worse  condition  when  taken  hold  of — in  fact,  it  had  been  abandoned— and 
before  it  could  be  used  had  to  be  rebuilt  at  a  cost  of  nearly  $200,000.  Both 
tunnels  are  now  totally  unlike  what  they  were  a  few  years  ago,  and  the 
public  not  only  recognizes  the  wisdom  of  their  present  use,  but  finds  in  them 
the  abolition  of  the  former  waits  at  the  swing  bridges,  which  is  worth  addi- 
tional hundreds  of  thousands  of  dollars  to  the  city  every  year.  For  the  use 
of  the  Washington  st.  tunnel  the  Chicago  Passenper  Railway  company  built 
a  new  viaduct  at  Adams  st.,  a  new  double  steam  bridge  at  the  same  point 
and  moved  the  Madison  st.  bridge  to  Washington  st.,  placing  it  upon  a  new 
pier  and  abutments.  The  West  Chicago  Street  Railway  Company  for  the 
franchise  on  Taylor  st.  moved  the  Adams  st.  bridge  to  Taylor  st.,  and  placed 
it  upon  a  new  pier  and  abutments.  Thus  within  a  year  two  important 
streets  were  opened  to  through  traffic. 

THREE  CABLE  LINES.— The  West  side  cable  line  system  consists  of  three 
distinct  lines;  the  Madison  st.  line,  which  runs  directly  west  to  Fortieth  st., 
there  connecting  with  the  Cicero  and  Proviso  electric  lines  [see  "Electric 
Lines"] ;  the  Milwaukee  ave.  line,  which,  with  its  branches,  covers  the 
northwestern  portion  of  the  city,  and  the  Blue  Island  ave.  line,  which,  with 
its  connections,  covers  the  entire  southwestern  portion  of  the  city.  The 
Madison  st.  and  Milwaukee  ave.  lines  enter  the  Washington  st.  tunnel  on 
the  east  at  Franklin  st. ;  the  Blue  Island  ave.  line  enters  the  Van  Buren  st. 
tunnel  at  Franklin,  near  Van  Buren  st.  The  approaches  of  the  latter  tunnel, 
east  and  west,  are  constructed  under  private  property. 

BUSINESS  OF  THE  COMPANY.— In  his  annual  report,  submitted  January, 
1893,  the  treasurer  gave  the  following  facts  of  general  interest :  Gross  earn- 
ings, $4,620,225;  operating  expenses,  $2,687,914;.  net  earings,  $1,932.914;  cost 
of  conducting  transportation,  $1,249,442;  maintenance  way,  $167,332;  maintain 
ing  cars,  $149,678;  general  expenses,  $279,078;  total  expenses,  $2,687,310.  After 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  241 

deducting  the  fixed  charges,  $895,075  from  the  net  earnings  the  balance  left, 
applicable  to  dividends  was  $1,037,839.  The  number  of  trips  made  during  the 
year  was  1,817,400;  miles  run,  15,582,141;  passengers  carried,  94,518,474. 
Receipts  from  horse  lines  were  $2,649,730;  from  cable  lines,  $1,970,495;  total 
expenses  of  horse  lines,  $1,784,337;  of  cable  lines,  $902,972.  The  average 
receipts  per  mile  of  horse  cars  were,  29. 19  cents,  of  cable  cars,  30.29  cents. 
The  number  of  passengers  carried  by  horse  lines  were,  54,771,929;  by  cable 
lines,  39,746,545.  Maintenance  of  cars  cost  $100.94  per  car.  The  average 
number  of  horses  on  hand  was  4,004.  Of  these  an  average  of  184  were  used 
on  wagons,  carts,  etc.,  leaving  the  average  number  used  on  the  cars  3,820. 
The  average  traveled  a  day  by  each  horse  was  13.02  miles.  The  cost  of  feed 
per  horse  per  day  was  18.58  cents,  shoeing  per  day  0.24  cents,  and  other  cost 
of  keeping  horses  19.40  cents  per  day,  making  the  total  cost  for  caring  tor 
horses  38.22  cents  a  day.  The  cable  rope  ran  533,205  miles.  The  cost  of  rope 
was  $126,011.  The  cost  per  mile  run  by  the  rope  was  23.63  cents.  Operations 
of  power  stations  cost  $94,716,  an  average  per  mile  of  rope  run  of  17.76  cents. 
Maintenance  of  track  per  mile  of  horse  car-line  was  $705.58,  and  per  mile  of 
cable  line  $476.34. 

Power  Houses.— There  are  a  number  of  power  houses  in  the  three  div- 
isions of  the  city,  and  the  magnificent  machinery  used  in  propelling  the 
cable  is  worth  seeing.  Those  most  convenient  are:  N.  Clark  st.  power 
house,  just  north  of  Washington  place.  [Take  N.  Clark  st.  car.]  .North  side  loop 
power  house,  north  entrance  to  La  Salle  st.  tunnel.  [Take  any  cable  car  going 
north.]  The  State  st.  power  house,  Cor.  of  Twenty-first  st.  [Take  State  st. 
car.]  "The  Cottage  Grove  power  house,  Cor.  Fifty-fifth  st.  [Take  Cottage 
Grove  ave.,  car.]  The  West  side  loop  power  house,  Cor.  W.  Washington  and 
Jefferson  sts.  [Take  any  cable  ear  going  west.]  The  Rockwell  st.  power 
house,  Cor.  Rockwell  st.  and  W.  Madison  sts.  [Take  W.  Madison  st.  car.] 

CITY  RAILWAY  SERVICE— ELECTRIC  LINES. 

Calumet  JSlectric  System. — The  Calumet  electric  system  embraces  the  fol- 
lowing streets,  viz. : 

Cottage  Grove,  South  Chicago,  Michigan,  Kensington,  Wentworth, Wash- 
ington, Harbor,  Mackinaw,  Stony  Island,  South  Park  and  Madison  aves.  and 
Sixty-seventh,  Eighty-seventh,  Ninety-first,  Ninety-third,  Ninety-fifth,  One 
Hundred  and  Fifteenth,  One  Hundred  and  Sixteenth,  One  Hundred  and 
Nineteenth,  and  Howard  sts. ;  about  twenty-six  miles  of  streets  and  ave- 
nues. Its  system  begins  at  the  terminus  of  the  City  Railway  company's 
cable  tracks,  at  Seventy-first  and  Cottage  Grove  ave.,  and  Seventh-fifth  st. 
and  South  Chicago  ave.  (Grand  Crossing.)  Its  Pullman-Kensington  line 
commences  at  Seventy-second  st.,  thence  south  on  Cottage  Grove  ave.  to 
Ninety-fifth  st;  west  on  Ninety-fifth  st.  to  Michigan  ave.;  south  on  Michi- 
gan ave.  to  One  Hundred  and  Nineteenth  st.,  with  "loops"  to  Howard  st. 
and  Wentworth  ave.  Its  South  Chicago  line  commences  at  Seventy-fifth  st. 
(Grand  Crossing),  thence  on  South  Chicago  ave.  to  Ninety-fifth  st.  This  line 
will  be  provided  with  a  loop  in  South  Chicago  and  will  reach  the  Sixty- 
seventh  and  Sixty-third  st.  entrances  to  World's  Fair  by  way  of  South  Chicago 
ave.  and  Stony  Island  ave.  Its  South  Chicago-Pullman  line  is  on  Ninety- 
third  and  Ninety-fifth  sts.,  connecting  Cottage  Grove  ave.  and  Michigan 
ave.  lines.  Its  Jackson  Park-World's  Fair  line  runs  from  South  Chicago  ave. 
on  Madison  ave.,  Stony  Island  ave.  and  Sixty-seventh  st.,  to  entrance  at 
Jackson  Park  at  Stony  Island  ave.  and  Sixty-seventh  st.,  or  Stony  Island  ave. 
and  Sixty-third  st.  A  line  will  connect  Cottage  Grove  ave.  line  directly  with 
the  World's  Fair  via  Madison  ave.  and  Stony  Island  ave.  This  system  con- 
nects South  Chicago,  Pullman,  Kensington,  Grand  Crossing,  Roseland, 
Dauphin  Park,  Stony  Island,  Calumet  Heights,  West  Pullman  and  Burnside, 
(having  a  population  of  85,000)  with  the  Cottage  Grove  cable,  and  with  direct 
connections  with  elevated  road  and  with  Jackson  Park.  Direct  connection 
is  also  given  with  Washington  Park  Race  Track  and  Oakwood  Cemetery. 
The  manufacturers  of  the  Calumet  region  have  over  $1,000,000  capital  and 
employ  over  20,000  men,  all  tributary  to  this  system.  Two  power  stations  are 


DALE  &  SEMPILL 

Successors  to  WM.   tvl.   DALE, 

COR.  CLARK  AND  MADISON  STS.,  CHICAGO. 
MANUFACTURING 


Chemists 
Pharmacists 


WHOLESALE  AND  RETAIL  DEALERS  IN 

FINE    CHEMICALS,    PURE    DRUGS,    PERFUMERY, 
TOILET   REQUISITES,   ETC. 

MANUFACTURERS  OF 

O'Hara's  Asthma  Remedy, 

Jeffers'  Bronchial  Cigarettes, 

Jeffers*  French  Catarrh  Cure, 

Stevens'  All-Right  Corn  Salve, 
Christison's  Diarrhoea  Remedy, 

Dale's  Chlorodyne  Cough  Mixture, 
"  Edina  "  Cologne. 

Kirkwood's  No.  i  Cologne,  etc. 

WHOLESALE  AGENTS  FOR 

LLOYD  BROTHERS'  PHARMACEUTICAL  PREPARATIONS, 

BURGGRAEVE-CHANTEAUD  DOSIMETRIC  GRANULES, 

COUTTS'  ACETIC  ACID, 
CARITAS  CATARRH  CURE, 

CASTALIAN  AND  MASSANETTA  WATERS, 
FOREIGN   PROPRIETORY  MEDICINES. 


All   Noted    Mineral-Spring  Waters  on   Draught. 


244  GUIDE  TO   CHICAGO. 

used  on  the  Calumet  lines,  one  being  located  at  Stony  Island  ave.  and 
Ninety-fourth  St.,  and  one  at  Burnside.  The  Detroit  electric  system  of 
motors  is  used,  and  cars  manufactured  by  the  Pullman  company  and  the 
St.  Louis  Car  Co. 

Chicago  General  Street  Railway  Company.— Capital,  $3,000,000.  The  incor- 
porators  represent  the  Twenty-second  Street  Electric  Railway  Company. 
Failing  to  obtain  a  down-town  terminal  through  a  connection  with  the 
Chicago  City  Railway  Company,  the  Twenty-second  street  company  has 
outlined  a  plan  whereby  all  the  electric  lines  operating  in  the  outskirts  of 
the  city  may  obtain  entrance  to  the  business  district.  It  is  proposed  to 
construct  and  operate  an  elevated  loop  for  the  common  use  of  all.  To  this 
end  it  is  proposed  to  effect  a  combination  of  the  various  electric  roads, 
including  the  Calumet  Electric,  Jefferson  and  Urban,  South  Chicago,  and 
Cicero  and  Proviso  Companies.  The  elevated  terminal  will  be  practically  a 
belt  line,  if  constructed,  open  to  all  comers,  as  the  officials  of  the  Twenty- 
second  street  and  other  electric  lines  recognize  the  fact  that  several  elevated 
roads  desire  a  loop  in  the  business  district  and  know  that  all  can  not  be 
accommodated  with  separate  loops.  Within  a  very  short  time  the  question 
of  one  or  more  down-town  elevated  loops  is  going  to  become  a  burning 
question.  Each  of  the  elevated  roads  will  want  a  loop  of  its  own.  Failing 
in  this,  it  is  possible  a  belt  line  may  be  agreed  upon  by  all,  although  it  is 
difficult  to  see  how  the  various  interests  can  successfully  be  harmonized. 

Chicago,  Lake  View  and  Suburban  Railway. — A  projected  electric  line. 
Incorporated  for  the  purpose  of  riinning  electric  cars  between  the  termini 
of  the  North  Chicago  lines  and  the  suburbs  on  the  north  shore. 

Chicago  &  Evenston  Electric  Line,  known  as  the  Chicago  North  Shore 
street  Railway  Company.  Capital  $500,000 ;  J.  L.  Cochran,  president,  D.  H. 
Lauderbach,  vice-president  and  general  manager,  Alexander  Clark,  secre- 
tary. This  company  proposes  to  construct  an  electric  line  to  connect  with 
the  North  Chicago  street  railway  system,  and  run  cars  along  the  lake  shore 
through  Edgewater,  Rogers  Park,  South  Evanston  and  Evanston.  A  large 
porion  of  the  right  of  way  has  been  secured,  but  there  are  certain  links  to  be 
obtained  before  the  road  can  be  completed. 

Cicero  and  Proviso  Electric  Lines. — The  lines  operated  extend  from  the 
terminus  of  the  W.  Madison  st.  cable  line,  W.  Madison  and  Fortieth  sts.  to 
many  of  the  western  suburbs.  There  are  twenty-one  miles  of  double  track, 
and  the  system  is  splendidly  equipped.  Very  rapid  time  is  made.  The  prin- 
cipal suburbs  reached  are  Oak  Park  and  Austin.  [See  "  Amusements"  under 
heading  "  Street  Car  Excursions,"  for  full  description  of  scenes  and  places 
on  these  lines.] 

City  Elevated  Railway  Company.— Incorporated  in  1892  with  a  capital  of 
$7,500,000  and  an  avowed  intention  of  constructing  another  "  L  "  system  for 
Chicago.  It  proposes  to  build  the  road  from  a  point  on  Michigan  ave., 
between  Lake  and  Harrison  sts.,  to  a  point  on  the  boundary  line  of  Cook 
county  between  State  st.  and  Kedzie  ave.  Not  much  is  known  of  the  finan- 
cial character  of  the  men  behind  this  enterprise. 

South  Side  Electric  Lines.— A  new  electric  system  for  the  South  side  of 
Chicago  is  being  introduced  in  connection  with  the  Chicago  City  Railway 
Company's  cable  system.  The  first  electric  lines  completed  are  on  Sixty- 
first  and  Sixty-third  sts.  It  was  imperative  that  the  company  should  increase 
its  means  for  carrying  the  people  from  State  st.  to  the  World's  Fair  grounds. 
Tracks  were  laid  from  Gottage  Grove  ave.  to  the  Illinois  Central  tracks  on 
Sixty-first  st.,  so  that  there  might  be  a  separate  line  on  Sixty -first  from 
State  st.  to  Jackson  Park.  The  plan  of  the  terminal  of  Sixty-first  st.  line 
is  to  run  east  on  that  street  to  Madison  ave.,  then  curve  to  the  north  along 
the  line  of  the  branch  of  the  Illinois  Central,  going  over  the  right  of  way 
purchased,  to  South  st.  This  is  a  short  street  just  west  of  the  Illinois  Cen- 
tral main  track  and  tire  cars  run  a  block  north  on  that  street  and  terminate 
with  a  stub  end  switch  on  the  south  line  of  the  Midway  Plaisance.  This 
gives  a  terminal  point  within  250  feet  of  the  Illinois  Central's  main  station 
at  the  Fair  gi'ounds,  and  is  as  near  the  exposition  as  a  terminal  can  be, 


246  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

located,  without  blunging  about  undue  congestion.  For  the  Sixty-third  st. 
line  there  are  two  loops.  The  road  is  carried  straight  east  on  Sixty-third 
st.  under  the  Illinois  Central  tracks  to  Grace  st.,  which  is  the  first  street 
west  of  Stony  Island  ave.  Here  it  turns  both  south  and  north  on  Grace  st., 
running  to  Sixty-fourth  and  Sixty-second,  thence  east  on  those  streets  to 
Stony  Island  ave.,  looping  back  to  Sixty-third  st.  The  track  laid  is  of  extra 
heavy  construction  and  the  motors  employed  are  proportionately  heavy. 
Lines  are  also  contemplated  for  Forty-seventh  and  Thirty-fifth  sts.,  but 
numerous  obstacles  are  in  the  way  which  it  may  not  be  possible  to  remove. 
A  portion  of  the  Thirty-fifth  st.  line  from  Michigan  ave.  to  Grand  blvd.  is  a 

Eart  of  the  boulevard  system,  and  the  park  commissioners  threatened  an 
ijunction  against  laying  tracks  on  that  part  of  the  street.  The  park  com- 
missioners, however,  were  willing  to  donate  Thirty-fifth  st.  and  make  some 
other  street  connecting  Michigan  ave.  and  Grand  blvd.  a  part  of  the  boule- 
vard system,  but  this  required  legislative  action.  The  plan  is  to  put  an 
electrical  equipment  on  Forty-seventh  st.  from  Western  blvd.  to  Cottage 
Grove  ave.  The  power  house  to  run  these  various  lines  is  on  State  and 
Fifty-second  sts.  A  large  number  of  new  cars  have  been  added  to  the  South 
side  system.- 

CITY  RAILWAY  SERVICE— ELEVATED  LINES. 

At  least  three  great  elevated  railroad  systems  ai'e  assured  to  Chicago— 
the  "Alley  L,"  on  the  South  side,  completed;  the  "  Lake  st.  L,"  on  the  West 
side,  partly  completed,  and  the  "Metropolitan  L,"  also  on  the  West  side, 
which  is  in  the  hands  of  the  capitalists  who  constructed  the  "Alley  L,"  and 
which  will  be  completed  at  an  early  day.  There  are  many  projected  "  L" 
lines  besides,  some  of  which  are  mentioned. 

Chicago  Union  Elevated  and  Tunnel  Company .  —  Incorporated.  The 
pi-oject  is  a  great  one,  but  little  is  known  of  the  persons  who  are  behind  it. 
A  railroad  is  to  be  built  from  a  point  in  the  First  Ward  to  the  western  limits 
of  the  city,  with  a  branch  from  a  point  thereon  between  Crawford  ave.  on 
the  west  and  Western  ave.  on  the  east,  in  a  northerly,  northwesterly,  and 
westerly  direction  to  the  western  limits  of  the  city,  and  a  further  branch 
extending  from  a  point  thereon  between  Canal  st.  and  Center  ave.  in  a 
southerly  direction  to  a  point  between  Sixty-third  and  Seventy-ninth  sts., 
and  thence  easterly  to  the  limits  of  the  city.  The  capital  stock  of  the  com- 
pany is  $17,000,000. 

Lake  Street  Elevated  Railroad. — The  superstructure  of  this  line  was 
completed  from  Canal  st.  very  nearly  to  Union  Park,  over  Lake  st.  in  the 
spring  of  1891.  Then  came  a  long  delay  in  the  prosecution  of  the  work,  due 
to  want  of  capital,  or  the  inability  of  the  original  projectors  to  complete  it. 
The  road  has  passed  into  the  hands  of  anew  company  with  ample  capital 
and  work  is  being  pushed  at  this  writing.  Its  course  in  the  future  is  entirely 
unsettled,  but  the  probabilities  are  that  it  will  have  two  branches,  one 
extending  toward  the  northwestern  portion  of  the  city,  the  other  extending 
to  the  southwestern,  while  the  main  stem  will  follow  the  line  of  Lake  st.  into 
Cicero,  passing  through  the  environs  of  Austin  and  Oak  Park.  As  far  as 
completed  the  road  is  substantially  built.  It  will  have  a  double  track,  and 
will  be  operated  in  a  manner  similar  to  the  system  employed  on  the  New 
York  elevated  roads.  The  question  of  securing  a  South  side  terminal,  that 
is  a  starting-point  on  the  south  side  of  the  city,  or  in  the  business  district, 
is  not  settled.  There  have  been  several  propositions  regarding  the  estab- 
lishment of  a  terminal  east  of  the  south  branch  of  the  river,  but  all  have 
been  abandoned,  for  the  time  being  at  least.  The  probable  route  of  the  line 
through  the  business  district  is  via  the  alley- ways  paralleling  Lakest.,from 
Market  st.  east. 

Milwaukee  Avenue  Elevated  Road. — The  Chicago  Transit  Company,  with 
a  capital  stock  of  $12,000,000,  was  granted  articles  of  incorporation  by  the 
Secretary  of  State.  The  incorporators  say  they  intend  to  construct  a  road. 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  247 

that  will  furnish  rapid  transit  for  the  North  side  residents  from  some  point 
on  the  river  between  State  and  Market  and  to  build  their  road  on  private 
property,  which  they  will  acquire  by  purchase,  lease,  or  condemnation  to 
some  portion  of  the  city  where  the  streets  are  less  crowded.  The  road  will 
run  from  the  Chicago  river  to  Waukegan,  but  it  is  probable  it  will  be 
elevated  only  to  Evanston,  beyond  it  will  be  a  surface  road.  The  motive 
power  will  be  electricity. 

Metropolitan  Elevated  Railroad, — A  projected  elevated  railroad  which 
wil  probably  be  in  an  advanced  stage  of  completion  before  the  close  of  1893. 
It  is  to  penetrate  the  West  side  with  numerous  branches.  The  plan  is  to 
have  a  South  side  terminal  station,  the  road  crossing  the  south  branch  of 
the  i-iver  on  a  swinging  bridge  sixty  feet  above  the  surface  of  the  water. 
The  Metropolitan  is  being  handled  as  was  the  South  side  Alley  "L."  The 
right  of  way  is  being  purchased  through  alleys,  thereby  saving  the  time 
and  possible  damages  resulting  from  an  attempt  to  run  over  the  streets. 
The  bridge  will  be  built  south  of  Van  Buren  st.  The  exact  line  which  the 
road  will  take  has  not  yet  been  made  known.  This  has  been  kept  secret  in 
order  to  prevent  speculators  from  securing  control  of  property  along  the 
route  and  endeavoring  to  unload  it  on  the  company  at'  greatly  advanced 
figures.  In  addition  to  these  speculators  many  owners  of  acre  property  are 
apt  to  cause  trouble.  These  owners,  whose  property  would  be  of  compara- 
tively little  value  but  for  the  advent  of  the  elevated  road,  on  getting  infor- 
mation of  the  route  would  concert  their  acres  into  lots.  In  connection  with 
this  enterprise  it  is  said  to  be  the  intention  of  the  Metropolitan  company  to 
connect  with  the  South  Side  Alley  "L"  some  place  between  Harrison  and 
Van  Buren  sts.,  thus  affording  a  completed  line  of  transit  from  the  western, 
northwestern  and  southwestern  sections  of  the  city  to  the  World's  Fair 
grounds.  As  both  the  South  side  "  L  "  and  the  Metropolitan  West  side  "  L  " 
are  officered  and  capitalized  by  the  same  parties  the  connections  referred 
to  can  be  made  all  the  more  readily. 

South  Side  Rapid  Transit  Railway— Better  known  as  "The  Alley  L"  for 
the  i-eason  that  its  line  lies  principally  over  the  alleys  of  the  South  side.  An 
elevated  railway,  the  line  extends  from  Congress  st.,  on  the  line  of  the  alley 
between  State  and  Wabash,  south  to  Fortieth  st..  thence  east  to  the  alley 
between  Prairie  and  Calumet,  thence  again  south  to  Sixty-third  st.,  and 
thence  east  to  Jackson  Park,  along  and  over  Sixty-third  st.  Stations  are 
fixed  at  intervals  of  two  and  four  blocks.  A  branch  is  projected  west  into  En- 
glewood  and  the  main  line  will  undoubtedly  be  extended  south  of  Sixty-third 
st.,  as  soon  as  the  population  will  warrant  the  expense.  The  terminus  of 
the  Sixty-third  st.,  branch  will,  during  the  fair,  be  in  the  park  itself,  directly 
at  the  south  line  of  the  Transportation  Building,  over  the  annex  to  wrhich 
the  tracks  come  in  on  an  easy  curve.  The  platforms  have  been  arranged 
vvith  great  care,  to  prevent  incoming  and  outgoing  passengers  from  meeting 
each  other.  At  this  point  the  road  forms  a  junctiou  with  the  Intramural 
Electric  Elevated  road,  which  runs  around  the  grounds,  and  which  is  here 
on  the  same  level.  In  this  way  passengers  can  ride  from  Chicago  to  the 
very  door  of  most  of  the  buildings  at  the  exposition  without  going  down  to 
the  ground  and  by  but  one  change  of  cars.  The  pi'esent  equipment  of  the 
South  Side  Elevated  railroad  is  180  passenger  coaches  and  46  locomotives. 
These  locomotives  are  of  the  four-cylinder  compound  type,  and  have  given 
excellent  and  satisfactory  service  since  they  were  adjusted  to  the  peculiar 
conditions  of  elevated  work.  Rapid  time  is  made  ovev  this  line.  It  is  pro- 
bable that  a  northern  loop  will  be  built  which  will  bring  the  city  terminus 
nearer  the  business  center.  Fare  5  cents  for  all  distances. 

CLUBS— ATHLETIC,  SPORTING,   ETC, 

Among  the  leading  athletic  and  sporting  club  houses  of  the  city  are : 
The  new  home  of  the  Chicago  Athletic  Association,  on  Michigan  ave., 
between  Madison  and  Monroe;  the  Washington  Park  Club,  Washington 
Park;  the  Farragut  Club  House;  the  Illinois  Cycling  Club  House,  1068 


248  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Washington  blvd. ;  the  Lincoln  Club,  No.  1,  Park  ave. ;  the  Chicago  Cricket 
Club,  Parkside;  the  Englewood  Club,  and  the  Oak  Park  Cycling  Club 
House  at  the  Cor.  Oakwood  blvd.  and  Prairie  ave. 

Base  Ball  Chfbs.— There  is  one  professional  base  ball  club  in  Chicago.' 
The  professional  park  is  located  on  the  South  side,  and  may  be  reached  by 
State  st.  cable  cars  or  L.  S.  &  M.  S.  Ry.  "Chicago  City  Base  Ball  League " 
comprises  eight  clubs.  Offices,  108  Madison  st.  and  145  Monroe  st.  PARKS — 
North:  Halsted  st.  and  North  ave. ;  take  C.  M.  &  St.  P.  train  (Evanston 
Division)  or  N.  Halsted  st.  horse  car.  South:  Thirty-ninth  st.  and  Went- 
worth  ave. ;  take  Wabash  ave.  cable  car.  West:  Ogden  ave.  and  Rockwell 
St.:  take  Ogden  ave.  horse  car.  WESTERN  ASSOCIATION  or  BASE  BALL 
CLUBS— Meets  at  108  Madison  st. 

Boat  and  Yacht  Clubs. — CATLIN  BOAT  CLUB — Lake  snoie,  .'oot  <>f  Pearson. 
CHICAGO  CANOE  CLUB— A  boating  organization  of  the  South  Side,  member  of 
the  Western  Canoe  Association;  boat  house  foot  of  Thirty-seventh  st. 
CHICAGO  YACHT  CLUB.  COUNTESS  YACHT  CLUB— Room  25,  6,  Sherman. 
EVANSTON  BOAT  CLUB— Located  on  Sheridan  road  (Lake  Shore  drive)  in  the 
suburb  of  Ifvanston.  Take  train  at  Wells  st.  depot,  Wells  and  Kinzie  sts., 
N.  Side,  or  at  Union  depot,  Canal  and  Adams  sts.,  West  side.  The  club  house 
is  an  elegant  one,  and  it  is  the  center  of  the  social  life  of  the  younger  por- 
tion of  Evanston  society.  FARRAGUT  BOAT  CLUB— Located  at  3016  and  3018 
Lake  Park  ave.  Take  Cottage  Grove  ave.  cable  line.  Organized  in  1872. 
Occupies  a  handsome  brick  building,  two  stories  and  basement.  The  boat 
house  of  the  club  is  a  one-story  brick  building  on  the  south  shore,  foot  of 
Thirty-third  st.  The  club  owns  about  twenty-five  boats,  including  an  eight- 
oared  barge,  four-oared  shells,  four-oared  gigs,  single  and  double  shells, 
single  and  double  training.boats  and  pleasure  boats  of  all  descriptions. 
Admission  fee,  $50;  annual  dues,  $24.  FARRAGUT  NAVAL  ASSOCIATION  OF 
CHICAGO — Meets  third  Thursday.  LINCOLN  PARK  YACHT  CLUB — Organized 
in  1890. 

Chicago  Athletic  Association.— The  idea  of  organizing  this  association 
and  building  for  it  a  suitable  home  originated  with  one  or  two  of  the  pres- 
ent members  in  January,  1889.  Object  of  the  association:  to  encourage  all 
manly  sports  and  promote  physical  culture.  Present  number  of  members, 
1,500,  including  many  of  the  leading  business  and  professional  men  of  the 
city.  Location  of  new  gymnasium  building,  Michigan  ave.,  between  Madi- 
son and  Monroe  sts.,  facing  east,  only  a  short  walk  from  the  business  cen- 
ter. [For  full  description  of  club  house  see  "  Biiildings."] 

Chicago  Curling  Club.  —  Curling  was  introduced  into  Chicago  in  1854. 
At  the  start  the  Chicago  club  was  composed  exclusively  of  Scotchmen,  but 
since  that  time  it  has  grown  and  extended  its  membership,  including  several 
Americans  and  members  of  other  nationalities.  Meets  at  83  Madison  st. 
Under  the  rules  of  the  National  Curling  Club  the  club  members  are  not 
allowed  to  play  matches  for  money,  as  from  the  very  beginning  every  effort 
has  been  made  to  keep  the  game  pure  and  free  even  from  the  semblance  of 
gambling.  The  rules  do  not  prohibit  games  between  members,  however, 
for  some  trophy.  The  rule  in  the  Chicago  club  has  been  to  play  matches 
for  certain  amounts  of  money,  the  winners  to  donate  the  spoils  to  some 
charity. 

Chicago  Fencing  and  Boxing  Clubs. — Organized  1890.  Club  rooms,  106  E. 
Randolph  st.  The  object  of  the  organization  is  to  increase  the  interest  in 
local  amateur  athletic  circles.  Union  Athletic  Club — Meets  at  200  Adams 
St.;  Chicago  Athletic  Pleasure  Club. 

Cricket  Clubs. — Chicago  Cricket  Association — Annual  meeting  first  Tues- 
day in  April  at  Grand  Pacific.  Chicago  Cricket  Club  (incorporated)—  Meets 
room  5,  170  State.  St.  George  Cricket  Club— 710  N.  Wells.  Wanderer's  Cricket 
and  Athletic  Club— One  of  the  foremost  athletic  clubs  of  Chicago.  Com- 
posed of  cricketers,  sprinters,  rowers,  etc. 

Cycling  Clubs.— There  are  numerous  cycling  clubs  in  Chicago,  many  of 
which  have  their  own  club  houses.  The  most  prominent  of  them  belong  to 


250  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

the  Bicycle  Club  Association.  The  objects  of  this  association  are  to  secure 
harmonious  and  concerted  action  in  all  matters  of  general  interest  to 
wheelmen  in  Chicago  and  vicinity,  particularly  in  such  matters  as  munici- 
pal legislation,  improvements  of  streets  and  roads,  the  prevention  of  the 
theft  of  wheels,  to  spread  a  knowledge  of  the  rights,  duties  and  privileges 
of  wheelmen,  to  promote  road  and  track  racing,  to  foster  fraternal  club 
intercourse  and,  as  far  as  possible,  to  aid  the  state  and  national  organiza- 
tions of  the  League  of  American  Wheelmen.  The  cycling  clubs  represented 
are  as  follows:  Chicago  Cycling  Club,  Illinois  Cycling  Club,  Lincoln  Cycling 
Club,  Washington  Cycling  Club,  Douglas  Cycling  Club,  ^Eolus  Cycling  Club, 
Oak  Park  Cycling  Club,  Englewood  Cycling  Club,  Lake  View  Cycling  Club, 
and  Vikings  Bicycle  Club. 

Hand  Ball  Courts.— There  are  a  nnmber  of  hand  ball  courts  or  "  alleys" 
in  Chicago,  the  best  being  McGurn's,  located  on  Division  st.,  North  side. 
Take  Division  st.  car. 

Horse  Associations.— American  Horse  Show  Association,  182  Monroe  st. 
Central  Park  Driving  Association.  [See  "  Washington  Park  Club."] 

Hunting,  Fishing  and  Gun  Clubs. — Audubon  Club — Meets  second  Tuesday 
in  each  quarter,  at  Kern's.  110  La  Salle  st.  Chicago  Cumberland  Gun  Club— 
Organized  in  1881.  Located  in  Lake  county,  111.  Its  club  house  and  grounds 
were  formerly  the  property  of  the  sons  of  an  English  nobleman,  Lord 
Parker,  and  cost  that  gentleman  about  $60,000.  It  is  one  of  the  finest  pieces 
of  hunting  club  property  in  the  country.  Fifty  miles  from  the  city,  equipped 
superbly  for  all  purposes  of  this  character,  invaluable  as  a  hunting  ground 
for  feathered  game,  in  a  healthful  locality,  the  Cumberland's  quarters  in 
Lake  county  offer  a  permanent  temptation  to  the  sportsmen  of  the  club. 
Cumberland  Gun  Club  meets  at  Sherman  House.  Chicago  Rifle  Club — 76 
W.  Monroe  st.  Chicago  Sharpshooter's  Association.— Meets  first  Monday  at 
-49  La  Salle  st.  Chicago  Shooting  Club.— Meets  at  Sherman  House  club 
i-oom.  Diana  Hunting  Club. — Club  house  at  Thayer,  Ind.  English  Lake 
Hunting  and  Fishing  Club. — Located  at  English  Lake,  Ind.  The  club  was 
organized  by  a  number  of  Chicago  gentlemen  in  1878  and  has  prospered 
since  its  birth.  It  is  not  a  regularly  incorporated  body,  but  is  very  wealthy 
notwithstanding,  and  its  club  house  is  one  of  the  best  and  most  comforta- 
bly equipped  in  the  state.  The  house  is  a  fine  frame  structure  of  twenty 
rooms,  and  surrounding  it  are  6,000  acres  of  marsh  lands.  These  are  the 
property  of  the  club  and  abound  in  duck,  snipe,  prairie  chicken  and  geese. 
The  members  of  the  English  Lake  Club  who  find  pleasure  in  angling  are 
furnished  with  excellent  opportunities  in  the  lake.  Among  the  game  fish  in, 
its  waters  are  bass,  pickerel  and  pike.  Chicago  Fly  Casting  Club. — Meets  at 
Sherman  House.  Fox  Lake  Shooting  and  Fishing  Club. — Meets  at  Tremorit 
House.  Fox  River  Fish  and  Game  Association. — An  association  for  the  pres- 
ervation of  fish  and  game  in  the  Fox  river  district.  Fort  Dearborn  Shooting 
Club.  Grand  Calumet  Heights  Club. — Meets  quarterly  at  Sherman  House. 
Lake  George  Sportman's  Association. — Meets  second  Thursdays  in  each 
quarter  at  Sherman  House.  Lake  View  Rifle  Club. — Meets  Saturdays  at  2 
P.M., at  Rifle  Range,  Colehour.  Mak-Saw-Ba  Shooting  Club.— Meets  at  Sher- 
man House;  clubhouse  at  Davis  Station,  Ind.  Minneola  Fishing  Club. — 
Club  house  at  FoxLake,  111.  Mississippi  Valley  Amateur  Rowing  Associa- 
tion. North  Chicago  Schuetzen  Verein. — Meets  second  Tuesdays  at  267  North 
ave.  Sportsman's  Club. — Meets  third  Thursday  in  each  quarter  at  Sherman 
House.  The  Gun  Club.— Meets  at  Sherman  House.  Tollestpn  Club.— Club 
grounds  near Tolleston,  Lake  county,  Ind.;  composed  of  Chicago  business 
men  of  sporting  taste.  One  of  the  wealthiest  clubs  in  the  United  States. 
Twenty-two  large  rooms  are  finely  furnished  and  nothing  is  wanting  to 
make  the  quarters  worthy  of  the  tenants,  among  whom  are  numbered  a 
hundred  or  more  of  Chicago's  wealthiest  citizens.  Union  Shooting  and 
Fishing  Club.— Club  house  at  Fox  Lake,  111.;  meets  third  Tuesdays  each 
quarter  at  Grand  Pacific.  Western  Rifle  Association. — 76  W.  Monroe. 

Indoor  Base  Ball  Clubs. — There  are  "Indoor  Base  Ball  Clubs". connected 
with  nearly  every  social  club  of  prominence  in  the  city,  besides:  a  great  num- 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  2S1 

ber  of  independent  organizations  in  city  and  suburbs.  There  are  two  leading 
"leagues"  of  Indoor  Base  Ball  Chabs — the  "Midwinter"  and  Chicago  Indoor 
Base  Ball  League.  The  game  is  of  Chicago  invention  and  followed  what 
came  to  be  known  as  the  "roller  skating  craze."  The  leading  teams  are 
La  Salles,  Ken  woods,  Oaks,  of  Austin;  Idlewilds,  of  Evanston;  Carletons, 
Marquettes,  Farraguts  and  Ashlands,  of  the  Midwinter  League,  and  the 
Harvards,  Lincoln  Cycling  club,  Chicago  Cycling  club  and  South  Side  Illinois 
club,  of  the  Indoor  League. 

Tatter  sails'1  Club.— Located  in  the  great  Tattersalls  bldg.,  Dearborn, 
between  Sixteenth  and  Seventeenth  sts.  A  club  of  horsemen,  especially  inter- 
erted  in  the  Chicago  Horse  Show.  [See  "Tattersall's  Horse  Exchange."] 

Tennis  Clubs.— CHICAGO  TENNIS  CLUB— 2901  Indiana  ave.  EXCELLO  TENNIS 
CLUB.  NORTH  END  TENNIS  CLUB. 

CLUBS— GENTLEMEN'S    AND    FAMILY. 

Apollo  Club.—  Organized  in  1872,  by  Silas  G.  Pratt  and  George  P.  Upton. 
It  has  grown  to  be  one  of  the  largest  and  most  important  musical  organiza- 
tions in  the  country.  More  than  two  thousand  singers  have  been  trained  in 
this  club.  It  has  a  regular  chorus  of  about  200  voices.  W.  L.  Tomlins, 
director. 

Architectural  Sketch  Club.— Meets  in  the  Athenaeum  building.  Member- 
ship, about  150.  Holds  annual  banquets  and  frequent  meetings. 

Argonaut  Club.— Location  of  the  clubhouse,  or  rather  club  boat  "The 
Argo,"  at  the  extreme  end  of  the  Illinois  Central  pier,  approached  by  via- 
duct foot  of  Randolph  st.  The  boat  was  designed  by  the  late  John  W.  Root. 
The  membership  is  limited  to  51  to  tally  with  the  number  some  accounts 
give  of  the  mythical  crew  of  the  earlier  Argo.  The  club  house,  or  boat,  is  a 
strange  craft.  It  has  rather  ancient  lines,  being  very  shoi-t  and  very  deep, 
but  this  gives  room  for  two  tall  stories,  with  a  roomy  deck  under  awnings 
on  top  of  all,  with  ample  ports  on  the  sides  and  an  open  end  to  the  after 
main-deck,  where  chairs  are  always  kept,  and  a  southward  view  is  had— 
though,  of  course,  the  sxaperb  view  in  all  directions  is  from  the  awning- 
covered  hurricane-deck.  The  boat  is  so  situated  that  all  the  shipping  of  the 
port  floats  by  it,  both  coming  and  going,  and  while  it  is  more  than  half  a 
mile  out  in  the  lake,  it  is  sheltered  by  the  government  piers  thai  form  the 
outer  harbor  or  refuge,  so  that  however  stormy  and  rough  the  lake  itself 
may  be,  the  sailors  of  the  club  have  a  safe  and  quiet  expanse  of  water  over 
a  mile  long  by  half  a  mile  wide  to  sail  in.  The  club  owns  a  one-lumdred-foot 
steam  yacht  built  by  the  Herreshoifs.  The  membership  is  full,  no  one  being 
or  having  been  eligible  unless  he  was  a  member  of  the  Chicago  Club,  the 
oldest  and  wealthiest  social  organization  in  town.  The  boat  has  every  con- 
venience, including  a  handsome  dining-saloon  and  several  state-rooms  or 
sleeping  apartments.  Meals  are  served  on  board,  and  ladies  are  invited  on 
Tuesdays  and  Fridays. 

Axhland  Club. — Located  at  575  Washington  blvd.,  Cor.  Wood  st.,  organ- 
ized in  October,  1886.  It  is  the  leading,  as  well  as  the  largest,  social  orga-n 
ization  on  the  West  side.  The  pi'esent  membership  is  500,  to  which  number 
it  is  limited  by  the  by-laws  of  the  club.  The  club  house  is  a  handsome  and 
commodious  structure.  The  balls  and  other  elegant  entertainments  given 
by  the  club  have  made  it  a  recognized  social  leader.  The  buildings  and 
grounds  cost  $85,000.  The  admission  fee  is  $50;  annual  dues  $40. 

Bankers'1  Club. — An  association  of  the  leading  bankers  of  the  city.  They 
give  an  annual  banquet,  to  which  distinguished  guests  are  invited. 

Buena  Park  Steamship  Yacht  Club. — A  social  organization  located  at 
Buena  Park,  a  suburb  within  the  city  limits  on  the  lake  shore,  north  of  Lake 
View.  One  of  the  principal  objects  In  the  organization  of  the  club  was  the 
formation  of  a  company  to  build  a  steam  yacht  to  ply  between  Buena  Park 


25£  GUU>E   TO  CHICAGO. 

and  the  city.  The  yacht  constructed  for  this  purpose  is  62  feet  long,  and  10 
feet  beam  and  cost  about  $7,500.  It  is  named  Buena  and  makes  two  trips  to 
Chicago  in  the  morning  and  two  at  night.  The  membership  of  the  club  is 
limited  to  forty.  No  fare  is  charged,  none  being  allowed  excepting  mem- 
bers and  their  guests. 

Building  Society  Club. — Composed  of  secretaries  of  the  various  building 
and  loan  associations,  holds  frequent  meetings  and  an  annual  banquet. 

Calumet  Club. — Located  at  the  corner  of  Michigan  ave.  and  Twentieth 
st.  Take  Wabash  ave.  cable  line.  Organized  in  1878.  The  building  which 
it  occupies  is  a  magnificent  one,  four  stories  high,  with  fronts  on  both  the 
streets  named.  The  club  has  a  splendid  collection  of  pictures.  It  aims  to 
preserve  the  early  history  of  the  city  and  state,  and  its  old  settlers'  annual 
receptions  have  become  famous.  The  club  is  composed  generally  of  the 
leading  men  of  Chicago.  Admission  fee,  $100;  annual  dues,  $80. 

NOTE.— Since  the  above  was  written  the  beautiful  Calumet  Club,  with 
its  historical  and  art  treasures,  was  destroved  by  fire.  Location  of  club  at 
present,  brick  mansion,  Michigan  blvd.  and  Twenty-first  st.  The  fire  resulted 
in  the  total  loss  of  the  club's  collections  and  in  loss  of  life,  one  of  its 
employes  being  burned  to  death,  and  its  secretary,  who  was  afflicted  with 
heart  disease,  dying  from  the  effects  of  the  attendant  excitement. 

Chicago  Club. — Located  on  Michigan  ave.  and  Van  Bureu  st.  (old  Art 
Institute).  Was  organized  in  1869  and  was  an  outgrowth  of  the  old  Dearborn 
Club,  which  was  located  on  Michigan  ave.,  near  Jackson  st.  The  first  club 
house  of  the  Chicago  was  situated  at  the  corner  of  Wabash  ave.  and  Eldridge 
ct.,  and  was  destroyed  in  the  great  fire.  The  club  is  composed  generally  of 
the  leading  merchants  and  professional  men  of  the  city  and  it  is  very  ext-lu. 
sive.  Comfort  and  congeniality,  more  than  crowds  and  confusion, are  desired. 
The  admission  fee  is  $300;  the  annual  dues  are  $80,  payable  semi-annually. 
Membership  limited  to  450  residedts  and  150  non-residents. 

Columbus  Club.— Organized  in  1892  and  occupies  the  old  Chicago  Club 
house,  on  Monroe  st.,  between  State  st.  and  Wabash  ave.  The  Chicago  Club 
property  was  purchased  for  $220,000.  The  Chicago  Club  occupies  the  old 
Art  Institute  building.  The  new  Columbus  Club  propei'ty  has  a  south  front- 
age on  Monroe  st.  of  50  feet  and  is  107  feet  deep.  There  is  an  alley  on  both 
the  east  and  west  sides  of  the  property.  It  is  five  stories  high  and  cost 
originally  $75,000.  Although  one  of  the  youngest  organizations  of  its  kind,  it 
has  had  a  very  rapid  growth  and  now  takes  a  prominent  place  among  the 
social  organizations  of  the  city. 

Commercial  Club. — An  association  of  the  leading  merchants,  manufact- 
urers, bankers  and  capitalists  of  Chicago,  the  object  of  which  is  toencour- 
age  in  a  social  and  informal  way  the  interchange  of  opinions  respecting  the 
commercial  necessities  of  the  city.  The  club  gives  frequent  dinners  and 
banquts  and  entertains  distinguished  guests.  Some  question  of  great  im- 
portance uppermost  at  the  time  is  always  discussed  at  their  meetings  and 
banquets. 

Dearborn  Club.— [See  "Chicago  Club."] 

Electric  Cli~b,  The  Chicago.—  Composed  of  electricians  and  men  engaged 
in  all  kinds  of  commercial  and  professional  pursuits.  A  social  club  for 
gentlemen,  situated  at  175  Clark  st.,  Cor.  of  Monroe.  Its  rooms  are  hand- 
somely fitted  up.  Their  are  reception  rooms,  smoking  rooms,  billiard  and 
reading  i-obms.  The  latter  contain  a  fine  library  where  the  most  complete 
works  on  electricity  can  be  found.  Literary  meetings  are  held  monthly 
when  readings  of  high  standard  papers  on  electricity  takes  place. 

Elks'1  Club. — An  association  of  members  of  theatrical  and  other  profes- 
sions, similar  to  those  in  all  our  large  cities.  The  lodge  is  in  a  very  pros- 
perous condition. 

Fellowship  Club.— Organized  June  4, 1891.  Object,  the  promotion  of  good- 
fellowship,  and  its  extension  to  "the  stranger  within  our  gates."  Number 
of  resident  members  limited  to  fifty;  non-resident  members,  twenty-five; 


[Engraved  for  The  Standard  Guide  Company.] 

CHICAGO  RAW  HIDE  MFG.  CO.,  75-77  E.  OHIO  ST. 

[See  "Western  Industry."] 


254  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

honorary  members  admitted  only  by  the  unanimous  vote  of  the  members 
present  at  any  meeting  at  which  a  quorum  of  the  resident  members  is  pres- 
ent. Each  member  may  invite  one  guest  to  a  dinner  of  the  club,  the  ex- 
penses to  be  paid  by  the  member  inviting  him.  The  executive  committee 
has  the  right  to  invite  one  or  more  club  guests  to  each  dinner,  the  expenses 
of  whose  entertainment  is  paid  out  of  the  funds  of  the  club.  Initiation  fee, 
$25.  Dues  from  resident  and  non-  resident  members,  $10  annually.  Bus- 
iness meetings  and  dinners  of  the  club  held  on  the  first  Tnursday,  June, 
October,  December,  February  and  April,  and  on  other  stated  occasions. 
Meetings  held  at  one  of  the  leading  hotels  or  restaurants. 

Forty  Club.— A dinner  club  meeting  monthly.  Active  membership  lim- 
ited to  forty  drawn  from  bench,  bar,  the  law,  the  theatres,  and  the  profes- 
sions generally.  Entertains  theatre  people  and  distinguished  writers. 
Meets  at  one  of  the  principal  hotels. 

Germania  Mcennerchor:— Located  at  N.  Clark  st.,  Cor.  of  Germania  Place. 
Take  N.  Clark  st.  cable  line.  The  society  had  its  origin  at  the  funeral  of 
Abraham  Lincoln  in  1865,  when  a  small  party  of  Germans  from  Chicago 
attended  to  render  a  chorus.  They  were  pleased  with  each  other's  singing 
and  determined  upon  the  organization  of  a  permanent  society.  To-day  it 
is  one  of  the  largest,  most  respectable  and  most  prominent  musical  and 
social  organizations  in  the  country.  Incorporated  March  31,  1869.  Member- 
ship about  650,  of  which  125  are  not  Germans.  The  club  is  social  as  well  as 
musical.  The  club  house  is  one  of  the  handsomest  in  Chicago. 

German  Press  Club.— An  association  of  the  members  of  the  staff  of  the 
German  papers  of  the  city.  Meets  at  106  Randolph  st.  The  club  has  fifty- 
five  active  members  and  several  associated  members.  Was  organized 
in  1891. 

Grant  Club. — Chartered  Aug.  10,  1885.  Object:  To  promote  social  and 
political  intercourse,  and  advance  the  interest  of  the  Republican  party. 
Also  the  discussion  of  improvements  in  our  municipality.  Holds  its  annual 
meeting  on  the  third  Thursday  in  August. 

Hamilton  Club.— Chartered  April,  1890.  Named  after  Alexander  Hamil- 
ton, the  American  statesman.  The  club  is  one  of  the  most  noted  institu- 
tions of  Chicago  with  a  large  membership  composed  of  the  most  prominent 
citizens  in  all  walks  of  life.  In  politics  it  is  republican,  but  is  not  partisan 
in  spirit.  State  and  national  questions  of  importance  are  freely  considered, 
with  the  view  of  increasing  the  growth  of  patriotism. 

Harvard  University  Club. — Composed  of  graduates  of  Harvard  Univer- 
sity, Cambridge,  Mass.,  resident  in  Chicago.  Meets  at  stated  occasions  in 
the  Auditorium  hotel,  holds  an  annual  banquet  and  entertains  distinguished 
officers  and  graduates  of  the  University,  from  time  to  time.  Many  leading 
citizens  of  Chicago  are  members. 

Hermitage  Club. — A  North  side  political  (Democratic)  club,  which 
absorbed  the  Arlington  club,  a  flourishing  organization.  It  is  social  as  well 
as  political  in  character.  Membership  fee,  $20;  annual  dues,  $30.  Comprised 
of  leading  democrats  of  the  North  division  of  the  city. 

Hyde  Park  Club.— Located  at  Hyde  Park.  Club  house,  Cor.  Washington 
ave.  and  Fifty-first  st.  Has  a  membership  of  about  250.  Take  Illinois  Cen- 
tral train,  foot  of  Randolph  and  Van  Buren  sts.,  or  Cottage  Grove  ave.  cable 
line.  The  building  is  a  handsome  one.  Its  exterior  is  striking  and  the 
interior  has  evidently  been  given  the  thought  of  tasteful  decorators.  It  is 
strictly  a  gentleman's  club. 

Illinois  Club.— Located  at  154  Ashland  ave.,  West  side.  Take  W.  Madison 
st.  cable  car  line.  Organized  in  1878.  First  building  occupied,  401  Washing- 
ton blvd. ;  moved  to  Ashland  ave.  and  Madison  st. ;  purchased  present 
quarters  in  1884.  Occupies  a  very  handsome  and  commodious  building 
fronting  the  most  beautiful  avenue  in  the  west  division  of  the  city.  Object 
of  club:  the  cultivation  and  promotion  of  literature  and  the  fine  arts,  and  of 
social  intercoTirse.  It  gives  elegant  entertainments  during  the  winter  sea- 
sons. Admission  fee,  $100.  Annual  dues,  $50. 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  g56 

*ndiana  Club.—  Located  at  3319  Indiana  ave.  Organized  in  1883.  Take 
xndiana  ave.  car,  via  Waba.sh  ave.  cable  line.  Occupies  a  very  pleasant 
c"lub  house,  a  two-story  brick  building'.  This  is  a  family  club,  the  wives  and 
children  of  members  being  entitled  to  all  privilege.  Entertainments  are 

§iven  at  intervals  th'tt.g'Lrut  the  year.    Admission  fee,  $50,    Annual  dues 
JO. 

Iroquois  Club.— Located  at  110  Monroe  st.  (Columbia  Theatre  bldg.),  in 
the  business  center  of  the  city.  Organized  October  4,  1881.  It  is  a  political 
(Democratic)  and  social  club.  Has  very  handsome  and  spacious  quarters, 
and  is  provided  with  all  the  comforts  of  modern  club  houses.  It  is  the  lead- 
ing Democratic  political  club  of  the  city,  and  numbers  among  its  members 
the  most  prominent  partisans  of  the  Jeffersonian  creed.  The  Iroquois  Club 
entertains  splendidly,  and  it  was  at  a  reception  given  here  that  Grover 
Cleveland  used  the  expression, "A  public  office  is  a  public  trust."  Membership 
about  500.  Admission  fee  and  annual  dues  reasonable.  [An  elegant  new 
club  house  is  is  to  be  erected  by  this  club  at  the  N.  W.  Cor.  Michigan  ave. 
and  Adams  st.] 

John  A.  Logan  Club.— Located  at  466  La  Salle  ave.,  North  side.  Take 
Clark  or  Wells  st.  cable  line.  Organized  February  12,  1888.  A  political 
(Republican)  and  social  club.  Has  commodious  quarters.  Admission  fee, 
$10;  annual  dues,  $12. 

Kenwood  Club.— Located  at  Forty-seventh  st.  and  Lake  ave.,  Kenwood. 
Organized  in  1883.  A  social  and  family  club  in  which  the  ladies  and  other 
members  of  the  family  are  entitled  to  privileges.  Admission  fee,  $100;  annual 
dues,  $40. 

La  Salle  Club.— Located  at  542  Monroe  st.,  West  side.  Take  W.  Madison 
st.  cable  line.  Organized  in  1884.  It  is  a  political  (Republican)  and  social 
club.  It  is  a  marble  front,  four  stories  and  basement,  with  a  frontage  of 
125  feet,  and  a  depth  of  95  feet.  Admission  fee,  $25;  annual  dues,  $40. 

Lakeside  Club.  —  Located  on  Indiana  ave.,  between  Thirty-first  anu 
Thirty-second  sts.  Organized  in  1881.  Take  Indiana  ave.  car,  via  Wabash 
ave.  cable  line.  Owns  its  present  home,  a  modern  building  of  brick  and 
stone,  containing  three  stories  and  a  basement.  Admission  fee,  $200; 
annual  dues,  $60.  Membership  limited  to  5550.  fA  new  club  house  is  being 
built  for  the  club,  at  the  S.  W.  Cor.  Forty-second  st.  and  Grand  blvd.] 

Lincoln  Club.— An  organization  of  young  Republicans  of  the  West  side, 
with  purposes  similar  to  those  of  the  Hamilton  Club  of  the  South  side  and 
the  Marquette  Club  of  the  North  side.  This  club  is  incorporated  for  the 
advancement  of  political  science  and  Republican  principles,  to  exert  an 
influence  in  behalf  of  good  government,  local,  state  and  national,  and  to 
cultivate  patriotism  and  social  relations  among  its  members. 

Marquette  Club. — Location  of  club  house,  Dearborn  ave.  and  Maple  st. 
Organized,  1886.  A  political  (Republican)  club.  It  is  social  as  well  as  politi- 
cal in  character,  however.  Its  club  house  is  one  of  the  most  elegant  in  the 
city.  It  entertains  from  time  to  time  the  leadiig  republicans  of  the  nation. 

Nationalists'  Club. — An  association  of  gentlemen  formed  for  the  purpose 
of  interchanging  ideas  regarding  questions  of  national  interest  and  advo- 
cating reform  in  legislation  and  government.  Meets  at  the  Grand  Pacific 
hotel. 

Oakland  Club.— Located  at  Oakland  and  Ellis  aves..  in  building  formerly 
the  Lakeside  Skating  rink.  The  building  is  a  large,  two-story  brick  struct- 
ure, rather  unique  from  an  architectural  point  of  view.  Strictly  a  family 
club.  No  intoxicating  liquors  or  games  of  chance  allowed  on  the  premises. 
Admission  fee,  $50;  annual  dues,  $30. 

Park  Club.— Located  Cor.  Fifty-seventh  st.  and  Rosalie  ct.  Organized, 
1886.  A  family  club.  Occupies  a  handsome  building  four  stories  in  height. 
The  club  house  has  splendid  verandas,  which  make  it  a  most  attractive 
resort  in  the  summer.  Admission  fee,  $25;  annual  dues,  $40. 


256  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

PhaniX  Club-'— Located  at  Thirty-first  st.  and  Calumet  ave.  Composed 
of  young  men  of  Hebrew  lineage.  Card  playing  and  any  form  of  gambling 
are  positively  prohibited. 

Practitioners'  Club.— An  association  of  physicians.  Meets  at  the  Palmer 
House.  A  chairman  is  elected  at  every  meeting  and  questions  of  interest 
to  practitioners  are  discussed. 

Press  Club  of  Chicago. — Organized  January  15,  1880.  Club  rooms  located 
at  131  Clark  st.  Charter  members— Melville  E.  Stone,  Franc  B.  Wilkie, 
Rodney  Welch,  W.  K.  Sullivan,  T.  C.  MacMillan,  Joseph  R.  Dunlop,  Henry 
F.  Donovan,  W.  B.  Sullivan,  F.  O.  Bennett,  Theodore  Gestefeld,  William  T. 
Hall,  John  J.  Flinn,  J.  F.  Ballantyne,  Elwyn  A.  Barren,  W.  T.  Collins,  James 
Maitland,  Platt  Lewis,  Thomas  E.  Burnside,  C.  A.  Snowden,  Lawrence 
Hardy,  W.  P.  Hanscom,  Guy  Magee,  W.  H.  Hicks,  John  E.  Wilkie,  Sam  V. 
Steele.  The  club  was  organized  for  the  purpose  of  "  bringing  the  members 
of  the  newspaper  profession  together  in  closer  personal  relations,  to  elevate 
the  profession,  to  further  good  fellowship,  and  to  extend  a  helping  hand  to 
all  members  of  the  organization  who  may  deserve  it."  The  entire  list  of 
presidents  is  as  given  below,  James  W.  Scott  being  the  only  man  ever 
three  times  elected:  1880,  Franc  B.  Wilkie,  of  The  Times;  1881,  W.  K. 
Sullivan,  Journal;  1882,  Samuel  J.  Medill,  Tribune;  1883,  W.  E.  Curtis,  Inter- 
Ocean;  1884,  James  W.  Bradwell,  Legal  News;  1885,  Joseph  R.  Dunlop,  Inter- 
Ocean;  1886,  John  F.  Ballantyne,  Morning  News;  1887,  James  W.  Scott, 
Herald;  1888,  James  W.  Scott,  Herald;  1889,  James  W.  Scott,  Herald;  1890, 
Stanley  Waterloo,  The  Times;  1891,  William  A.  Taylor- Herald;  1892,  John 
E.  Wilkie,  Tribune;  1893,  Stanley  Waterloo,  Evening  Journal.  The  club 
rooms  are  handsomely  fitted  up,  and  aje  convenient  to  the  members  actively 
engaged  in  newspaper  work.  Journalists  visiting  the  city  are  granted  the 
privileges  of  the  club  on  being  properly  introduced  by  a  member  in  good 
standing.  The  Press  Club  building  on  Michigan  ave.,  near  Madison  st., 
will  be  completed  in  1893.  The  membership  is  now  about  250.  Admission 
fee,  $15;  annual  dues,  $20. 

Seven  0' Clock  Club. — Conducted  after  the  manner  of  the  Sunset  and 
other  clubs  for  the  discussion  of  questions  of  current  interest  and  import- 
ance. Meets  at  the  Masonic  Hall,  Sixty-third  and  Yale  sts.  and  has  an 
annual  banquet. 

Sheridan  Club.— Location,  3500  Michigan  ave.  Founded  in  the  spring  of 
1888.  Eight  months  after  the  club  was  formed  efforts  were  made  to  start  a 
fund  for  the  building  of  a  club  hoiise.  A  separate  organization  was  formed 
within  the  Sheridan  Club  and  called  the  Sheridan  Club  Auxiliary  Associa- 
tion with  a  capital  stock  of  $75,000.  Work  on  the  building  was  commenced 
in  June,  1891,  and  completed  for  occupancy  May  1,  1892.  The  total  cost  of  the 
building,  including  furnishings,  amounted  to  $100,000.  The  house  is  a  sub- 
stantial structure,  three  stories  high  and  50x145  feet  deed.  The  front  is  of 
stone  and  pressed  brick,  rnd  is  handsomely  furnished  throughout.  The 
club  is  composed  principally  of  leading  Irish-American  citizens. 

Single  Tax  Club,  The  Chicago.— Meets  every  Thursday  eve.  at  206  La  Salle 
st.  Incorporated  under  the  laws  of  Illinois.  Object,  1st.  To  advocate  the 
abolition  of  all  taxes  upon  industry  and  the  products  of  industry,  and 
upon  exchange  through  tariff  taxation,  and  the  taking  by  taxation  upon 
land  values,  irrespective  of  improvements,  of  the  annual  rental  value  of  all 
those  various  forms  of  natural  opportunities  embraced  under  the  general 
term,  land.  2d.  To  advocate  the  abolition  of  all  special  privilege  legisla- 
tion. 3d.  To  advocate  the  adoption  of  the  Australian  system  of  voting. 
Any  person  in  sympathy  with  the  principles  and  objects  of  the  club  may 
become  a  member.  Four  months  dues  must  be  paid  in  advance.  Regular 
dues  twenty-five  cents  per  month. 

South  Side  Medical  Club. — This  club  was  organized  in  1889  upon  the  plan 
of  the  Sunset  Club,  and  has  among  its  members  many  of  the  leading  physi- 
cians of  the  South  side  of  Chicago.  Meetings  are  held  once  a  month  to  dis- 
cuss leading  medical  topics. 


258  GTttDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

South  Water  St.  Commercial  Clu b.— Composed  of  South  Water  st.  com- 
mission  men.  Organized  1893,  for  social  purposes. 

Standard  Club.— Located  at  Michigan  ave.  und  Twenty-fourth  st.  Take 
Wabash  ave.  cable  line.  Organized  in  1869.  The  leading  Jewish  club  of  the 
city.  Occupies  one  of  the  most  elegant  and  complete  club  houses  in  Chi- 
cago. The  club  is  magnificently  furnished.  Membership  limited  to  409, 
and  is  complete.  Admission  fee,  $500;  annual  dues,  $80. 

Sunset  Club.— Founded  in  1889  on  the  principles  of  the  Twilight  Club  of 
New  York  and  the  Seven  O'Clock  Club  of  Washington.  It  takes  its  motto 
from  Herbert  Spencer's  line:  "We  have  had  somewhat  too  much  of  'The 
Gospel  of  Work,'  it  is  time  to  preach  'The  Gospel  of  Relaxation.'"  Meets 
every  other  Thursday  at  one  of  the  leading  hotels  at  a  quarter  past  six,  at 
which  time  a  dinner  is  served  and  short  talks  are  heard  from  members  or 
invited  guests  on  questions  of  current  interest  or  importance,  the  object  of 
the  club  being  to  foster  rational  good  fellowship  and  tolerant  discussion 
among  business  and  professional  men  of  all  classes. 

Tippecanoe  Club.— A  gentlemen's  political  (Republican)  club.  Meets 
once  a  month  at  the  Grand  Pacific  hotel. 

Union  Club.— Located  on  Washington  pi.  and  Dearborn  ave.,  North  side. 
TakeN.  Clark  st.  cable  line  or  N.  State  st.  car.  Organized  in  1878.  Formerly 
occupied  the  Ogden  residence,  recently  torn  away  to  make  room  for  the  great 
Newberry  library.  The  present  structure  is  a  handsome  one  and  is  beauti- 
fully arranged  and  furnished.  It  is  a  strictly  social  club  and  very  exclusive. 
The  active  membership  is  limited  to  600,  but  only  450  are  on  the  roll.  Admis- 
sion fee,  $100;  annual  dues,  $60. 

Union  League  Club. — Located  on  Jackson  st.  and  'Fourth  ave.,  fronting 
the  south  end  of  custom-house  and  post-office.  The  great  general  com- 
mercial and  professional  club  of  the  city.  Incorporated  1879,  with  the 
declared  object  of  encouraging  and  promoting,  by  moral,  social  and  politi- 
cal influence,  unconditional  loyalty  to  the  Federal  Government,  and  of 
defending  and  protecting  the  integrity  and  prosperity  of  the  nation;  of  in- 
culcating a  higher  appreciation  of  the  value  and  sacred  obligations  of  citi- 
zenship; of  maintaining  the  civil  and  political  equality  of  all  citizens  in 
every  section  of  our  common  country,  and  of  aiding  in  the  enforcement  of 
all  laws  enacted  to  preserve  the  purity  of  the  ballot-box,  resisting  and  ex- 
posing corruption,  promoting  economy  in  office  and  securing  honesty  and 
efficiency  in  the  administration  of  national,  state  and  municipal  affairs. 
The  political  complexion  of  the  club  is  strongly  Republican,  but  it  is  con- 
ducted on  strictly  non-partisan  principles.  It  has  a  splendid  library.  The 
house  is  centrally  located  and  is  the  popular  luncheon  quarters  for  business 
and  professional  members.  It  has  a  ladies'  department,  elegantly  fitted  up. 
The  east  entrance  is  used  exclusively  for  ladies  with  escorts.  It  is  not  pos- 
sible for  strangers  to  visit  the  apartments  of  the  club,  save  when  accom- 
panied by  a  member,  nor  are  meals  served  to  non-members  who  are  resi- 
dents of  the  city,  when  accompanied  by  a  member,  save  by  special  permis- 
sion. Members,  however,  may  take  strangers  in  the  city  to  the  cafe  at  any 
time.  The  Union  League  entertains  in  a  princely  fashion. 

Union  l^teran  Club. — An  association  of  Veterans  of  the  War  of  the 
Rebellion.  The  club  is  in  a  healthy  condition  as  to  membership  and  finan- 
ces. Meets  at  Veteran  Protective  Association  hall,  S.  W.  Cor.  Michigan  ave. 
and  Thirteenth  st. 

University  Club. — Located  in  the  University  building,  Dearborn  st.  and 
C'alhouu  place.  Composed  of  graduates  of  the  vai-ious  colleges  and  uni- 
versities. The  building  is  built  of  brown  stone  to  the  third  story.  All  above 
the  third  floor  is  occupied  by  the  University  club.  The  apartments  are 
handsomely  furnished.  There  are  reception  rooms,  parlors,  billiard  rooms, 
card  rooms,  etc.,  and  all  the  comforts  of  a  modern  club  house.  The  Uni- 
versity Club  has  a  large  membership  and  is  prosperous. 

University  of  Illinois  Alumni  Club.— Location,  17,  19  and  21  Congress 
st.,  opposite  Auditorium.  Composed  of  graduates  of  the  University  of 
Illinois  at  Champaign.  A  seven  story  building  is  planned  for  the  future. 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  259 

Washington  Park  Club.— Situated  at  South  Pai-k  ave.  and  Sixty-first  st. 
Take  Cottage  (jrove  ave.  cable  line.  Organized  1883.  Occupies  an  unpre- 
tentious though  commodious  club  house,  within  the  grounds  of  the  Wash- 
ington club  racing  park,  south  of  Washington  Park.  It  is  a  combination 
of  the  higher  class  of  sporting,  country  and  city  clubs,  members  of  nearly 
all  the  other  leading  clubs  being  connected  with  it.  The  club  house  is 
more  in  the  nature  of  a  rendezvous  than  a  resort.  The  racing  meetings  of 
the  Washington  Park  Club  are  of  national  celebrity.  The  club  house  is 
handsomely  fitted  up  for  the  comfort  of  the  members  and  the  ladies  of  the 
members'  families.  The  admission  fee  is  $150,  from  the  payment  of  which 
subscribers  for  $1,000  or  more  of  the  capital  stock  and  officers  of  the  U.  S. 
Army  and  Navy  are  exempt ;  annual  dues,  $40. 

Whitechapel  Club.— Located  in  the  rear  of  173  Calhoun  pi.  Organized  in 
October,  1889.  The  object  of  the  club  is  given  on  the  charter  as  "Social 
Reform."  The  purposes  of  the  club  are  purely  social,  and  the  intention  in 
forming  it  being  to  band  together  professional  and  literary  men  of  con- 
genial habit.  Business  meetings  are  held  once  a  week.  It  is  ciistomary  to 
pei'mit  residents  of  Chicago  to  visit  the  club  rooms  and  inspect  the  extremely 
unique  decorations  on  Saturday.  The  visitor  must  be  vouched  for  by  a  mem- 
ber of  the  club.  It  is  customary,  once  a  month,  to  hold  a  social  meeting  called 
a,  "  Symposium,"  to  which  guests  are  invited  by  the  club  and  by  individual 
members.  The  initiation  fee  is  $50,  and  one  objection  from  any  member 
bars  an  applicant  from  admission. 

CLUBS— LITERARY. 

Back  Lot  Societies  of  Evanston. — Organized  for  the  purpose  of  giving 
the  boys  and  girls  of  Evanston  an  opportunity  of  hearing  from  distinguished 
men  and  women  the  discussion  of  questions  of  important  current 
topics.  The  organization  of  the  Boys'  Back  Lot  Society  was  fostered 
principally  by  Mr.  Volney  W.  Foster,  who  gave  up  for  the  use  of  the  boys  a 
building  in  the  rear  of  his  residence  at  Evanston,  from  which  fact  the  title 
"Back  Lot "  is  taken.  Mr.  Foster  interested  many  other  prominent  people 
in  the  movement  and  now  the  boys'  society  meets  in  larger  and  better  quar- 
ters. At  the  suggestion  of  Mr.  Foster,  also  the  Women's  Club  of  Evanston, 
in  1892,  took  up  the  matter  of  organizing  a  girls'  club  or  society  on  the  same 
principle.  An  advisory  committee,  each  of  whom  is  to  be  responsible  for 
three  talks,  was  selected. 

Beseda  (Bohemian  Reading  Club).— Meets  Tuesdays  and  Saturdays  at  74 
W.  Taylor  st. 

Club  Litteraire  Francais. — Club  rooms  45  E.  Randolph  st.  Organized  1872. 
The  membership  is  composed  of  abo.ut  half  French  people  and  half  Ameri- 
cans, and  between  the  program  numbers  are  intermissions  for  conver- 
sation, which,  according  to  club  regulations,  shall  be  in  French  only.  It 
meets  every  Saturday  evening  for  a  social  reception,  a  short  musical  pro- 
gram, or  a  French  play,  sometimes  a  blending  of  all  three,  varied  by  mon- 
ologues and  essays,  though  the  latter  are  considered  a  trifle  monotonous 
and  not  volatile  enough  for  "  Lalange  Francaise."  The  dramatic  perform- 
ances  are  the  club's  pride.  They,  like  all  else  on  the  program,*are  entirely 
French,  but  they  are  admirably  conducted. 

Library  Club,  The  Chicago.— The  library  club  is  precisely  the  kind  of  an 
organization  that  might  be  expected  from  its  caption.  It  is  comprised  of 
many  men  of  many  books,  and  is  a  comparatively  recent  association.  The 
mere  fact  that  such  a  club  can  exist  and  prosper  is  a  significant  one,  and 
with  a  great  truth  underlying  it.  Unless  a  city  were  well  equipped  with 
library  centers  in  its  different  districts,  a  library  club  would  be  impossible. 
But  Chicago  is  a  city  of  splendid  libraries,  from  the  great  free  center,  with 
its  183,000  books,  and  the  Newberry  reference  library,  with  90,000  books,  all 
along  the  gamut  of  the  Hammond  Theological,  the  Chicago  University,  the 
Academy  of  Sciences,  the  Chicago  Historical  Society,  and  the  Northwestern 
University  libraries.  Besides  these,  are  the  libraries  connected  with  the 
Baptist  Union,  the  Presbyterian  Seminary,  and  St.  Ignatius  College,  and  the 


260  GUIDE   TO  CHICAGO. 

Law  Institute,  together  with  a  host  of  public  school  and  smaller  libraries. 
From  all  these  sources  have  been  drawn  the  membership  of  the  Library 
club.  There  are  no  club  rooms,  as  the  club  proposes  meeting1  around  in  the 
various  libraries,  a  sort  of  itinerant  fellowship  all  through,  becoming  famil- 
iar with  each  other  and  with  the  different  libraries  at  one  and  the  same 
time. 

Literary  Club,  The  Chicago. — One  of  the  oldest  and  most  prominent  of  the 
culture  organizations  of  Chicago.  Organized,  March,  1874.  Meets  every 
Monday  evening:  holds  receptions  every  fifth  Monday.  Meets  in  the  Art 
Institute  building. 

Papyrus  Club.—  Organized,  September  14,  1891.  The  club  is  entirely  given 
over  to  the  literati,  and  is  modeled  after  the  Papyrus  club  of  Boston.  The 
only  people  eligible  for  membership  in  the  Papyrus  are  writers,  publishers, 
artists  and  booksellers. 

Saracen  Club.—  Organized  1876.  The  originators  of  the  club  were  Henry 
W.  Fuller  and  Dr.  Samuel  Willard.  The  Latin  motto  affixed  to  its  name, 
freely  translated,  reads:  "This  name  will  serve  in  lieu  of  a  better."  There 
is  no  club  house,  and  the  meetings,  of  which  there  are  eight  a  year,  are  held 
at  the  homes  of  the  members.  The  main  object  of  the  club  is  the  critical  dis- 
cussion of  ideas  and  literature,  with  the  incidental  opportunity  for  social 
intercourse.  Membership,  which  includes  both  sexes,  is  limited  to  eighty; 
but  each  member  has  the  privilege  of  inviting  guests  to  any  meeting. 

Tuesday  Reading  Club.— Organized  in  1891,  Mrs.  Jean  M.  Waldron,a  pro- 
minent North  side  woman,  being  its  originator.  As  the  club  meets  at  the 
respective  homes  of  the  members,  there  is  afforded  a  charming  opportunity 
for  sociability,  a  factor  which  never  has  been  overlooked.  Light  refresh- 
ments are  served,  and  sometimes  the  ladies  sit  down  to  a  dainty  luncheon. 
But  the  literary  part  is  counted  as  the  first  and  greatest  part  of  the  club's 
existence. 

Twentieth  Century  Club.— Established  November  9,  1880,  very  much  on 
the  plan  of  the  Nineteenth  Century  club  of  New  York.  It  is  a  club  which 
admits  both  ladies  and  gentlemen.  The  object  of  the  club  is  the  promotion 
of  serious  thought  upon  art,  science  and  literature,  and  the  entertainment 
of  distinguished  men  and  women  of  other  cities  of  this  and  other  countries. 
Such  individuals  as  have  achieved  distinction  in  their  respective  depart- 
ments of  knowledge  are  invited  to  meet  the  club  and  speak  before  it. 

CLUBS— SOCIAL. 

Acacia  Club.— A.  social  organization,  105  Ashland  ave.,  West  side. 

jEolus  Club.— A.  social  organization. 

Carleton  Club.— A.  South  side  social  organization.  Meets  at  3800  Vin- 
cennes  ave. 

Church  Club. — Organized  December,  1890.  Located  on  the  fourth  floor 
of  the  High  bldg.,  No.  103  Adams  st.  This  is  an  Episcopalian  organization, 
and  its  object  is  to  bring  into  closer  relations  the  clergy  and  the  laymen  of 
the  diocese  and  to  provide  a  place  of  meeting  for  such  as  the  board  of 
missions,  the  standing  committee,  the  St.  Andrews  Brotherhood,  the  trus- 
tees of  the  Theological  Seminary,  the  Girls'  Friendly  Organization,  the 
Women's  Auxiliary,  and  every  other  work  of  the  church,  including  diocesan 
offices  where  the  Rt.  Rev.  the  Bishop  of  Chicago  and  the  Archdeacon  can 
meet  the  clergy  and  laymen,  and  transact  any  business  pertaining  to  the 
diocese.  Reading  and  reception  rooms  are  open  to  members  and  visitors 
from  9  a.  m.  till  5  p.  m.  daily,  except  Sunday.  Regular  meetings  of  the  club 
are  held  on  the  first  Thursday  in  each  month  at  8  p.  m. 

Clarendon  Club.— A.  social  organization  composed  of  Israelites.  The 
membership,  however,  is  not  limited  to  those  of  Hebrew  race  or  creed.  The 
membership  includes  many  of  the  leading  Hebrews  of  the  city. 

Congregational  Club,  The  Chicago.— Composed  of  members  of  the  Con- 
gregational churches  of  Chicago  and  vicinity,  for  the  purpose  of  bringing 


262  GUIDE   TO   CHICAGO. 

about  a  more  friendly  and^ntimate  acquaintance ;  to  promote  the  spiritual 
and  intellectual  culture  of  its  members,  to  secure  concert  of  action  and  to 
promote  the  general  interests  of  the  cause  of  Christ  as  represented  by 
these  churches.  Membership  limited  to  400. 

Douglas  Club.— Located  at  3518  Ellis  ave.  Organized  April,  1885.  Occu- 
pies a  three  story  and  basement  building,  formerly  a  dwelling,  which  has 
been  remodeled.  There  is  a  beautiful  lawn  in  fi'ont  and  on  the  sides  of  the 
house.  In  the  basement  are  bowling  alleys;  on  the  first  floor  are  the  danc- 
ing hall,  ladies' reception  room,  library  and  reading  room;  on  the  second 
floor  are  dressing  and  private  rooms;  on  the  third  floor  is  a  large  hall  fitted 
up  with  portable  machinery,  where  dramatic  entertainments  are  given  by 
members  of  the  club.  Ladies  of  each  member's  family,  and  males  from 
fourteen  to  twenty-one,  are  entitled  to  the  privileges  of  the  club,  subject  to 
certain  restrictions.  Admission  fee,  $25;  dues,  $30  per  annum. 

Douglas  Park  Club. — A  West  side  social  organization  of  prominence. 
Meets  903  S.  Sawyer  ave. 

Harvard  Club.—  Organized  1888.  Club  house  located  at  Sixty-third  and 
Harvard  sts.,  Englewood.  A  social  organization.  It  has  a  large  member- 
ship and  gives  frequent  receptions  through  the  season. 

Ideal  Club.— A.  social  organization;  meets  at  531  and  533  Wells  st. 

Lafayette  Club. — A  social  organization  of  the  South  side.  This  club 
gives  twelve  dances  each  year,  nine  at  Douglas  Hall  and  three  at  Jackson 
Park  pavillion. 

Lotus  Social  Club. — Composed  of  the  leading  colored  people  of  the  city. 
Has  handsome  club  house  at  1165  Washington  blvd.  The  basement  is 
devoted  to  billiards,  pool,  and  the  buffet.  On  the  first  floor  are  the  parlors 
and  the  reading  and  lounging  rooms.  The  card  rooms  are  on  the  second 
floor.  Purely  a  social  club. 

Minneola  Club.— A.  social  organization.  Meets  at  residences  of  members. 

Minnette  Club.— A.  social  organization  of  the  West  side.  Membership 
about  200.  Successor  to  the  Minnette  Dance  Club. 

Minnette  Club. — A  popular  social  organization  of  the  West  side,  organ- 
ized in  1892.  Club  rooms,  Campbell  ave.  and  Monroe  st.  Membership  250. 

Munchausen  Club.— A.  North  side  social  club,  the  male  members  of  which 
are  designated  as  "Barons."'  Leading  literary,  newspaper,  professional 
men  and  politicians  are  membars.  Gives  an  annual  dinner. 

Newsboys  Club. — Occupies  rooms  1  and  2  in  the  Imperial  Building. 
The  club  is  in  a  flourishing  condition.  It  has  a  good  library.  Well-behaved 
newsboys  are  admitted  to  membership. 

North  Shore  Club. — A  family  club.  Has  entertainments  of  different 
kinds  two  or  three  times  a  week  during  the  winter,  for  the  members,  their 
wives  and  children.  Lawn  tennis,  etc.,  in  the  summer.  Club  house  and 
grounds  open  to  the  ladies  of  members'  families  at  all  times. 

Ottaiva  Club. — A  social  organization,  meets  at  residences. 

Ryder  C!ub. — A  social  organization,  composed  of  members  of  St.  Paul's 
Unitarian  Church. 

Webster  Cl  ub.— Composed  of  young  men  and  organized-for  social  pui*poses. 

CLUBS— STATE  SOCIAL  ORGANIZATIONS. 

The  American  population  of  Chicago  is  composed  in  great  part  of  natives 
of  other  sections  of  the  United  States.  The  States  of  Indiana,  Kentucky, 
Ohio,  Pennsylvania,  New  York,  New  Jersey,  New  Hampshire,  Vermont,  Con- 
necticut, Rhode  Island  and  Massachusetts  are  very  largely  represented  here 
among  the  mercantile  and  professional  classes.  The  natives  of  a  number  of 
the  states  have  formed  themselves  into  organizations  of  a  social  character, 
which  are  referred  to  below. 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  263 

California  Pioneers,  Western  Association  of.—  Organized,  December  14, 
1889.  The  society  is  composed  of  persons  who  crossed  the  plains  or  around 
the  horn  and  isthmus  in  '49  and  '50.  Its  meetings  are  held  at  the  Grand 
Pacific  hotel  on  the  first  Saturday  of  each  month,  in  club  room  A,  at  2:30p.  M., 
and  its  annual  banquet  and  election  of  officers  is  held  on  the  18th  of  January 
in  each  and  every  year,  in  commemoration  of  the  day  on  which  gold  was  first 
discovered  in  California,  January  18,  1818.  Admission  day  is  celebrated 
September  9th  by  a  picnic  in  some  of  the  many  parks  in  commemoration  of 
the  admission  of  the  State  into  the  Union,  1850. 

Chicago,  Sons  of. — Organized,  1892.  Native  born  Chicagoans  are  alone 
eligible  to  membership. 

Connecticut,  Sons  of.—  Organized,  1891.  Requisite  for  membership,  birth 
in  the  state  of  Connecticut.  Object,  to  promote  the  interests  of  that  state  in 
the  World's  Columbian  Exposition,  and  for  social  purposes. 

Delaware,  Sons  of.  —Organized  June  20,  1890;  membership  about  35- 
Requisite  to  membership,  birth  in  the  state  of  Delaware.  A  social  organi. 
zation ;  initiation  fee,  $2.00. 

Indiana,  Sons  of. — Organized  December  20,  1890.  Present  membership, 
about  125.  Requisites  for  membership,  former  residence  in  the  state  of 
Indiana,  present  residence  in  Cook  county,  Illinois.  Meetings  held  quar- 
terly, first  Tuesdays  in  January,  April,  July  and  October,  at  such  places  as 
may  be  named  by  the  president.  First  banquet  held  February  24,  1891,  in 
celebration  of  the  anniversary  of  the  capture  of  Vincennes  by  George 
Rogers  Clark.  The  date  of  the  annual  banquets  is  fixed  at  December  11,  in 
celebration  of  the  admission  of  Indiana  as  a  state  into  the  Union.  Initia- 
tion fee,  $1.00;  annual  dues,  $1.00.  Assessments  are  made  to  meet  expenses 
of  banquets,  etc. 

Louisiana,  Sons  o/.— Organized  May  1,  1889.  Membership,  about  50. 
Reqiiisite  for  membership,  former  residence  in  the  state  of  Louisiana.  Ini' 
tiation  fee,  $2.00;  dues,  $6.00  per  annum;  meets  first  Monday  of  each  month. 

Maine,  Sons  of. — Organized  April  3,  1880.  Present  membership,  about 
200.  Requisite  for  membership,  birth  in  the  state  of  Maine,  regardless  of 
sex.  No  stated  place  of  meeting,  one  of  the  leading  hotels  being  usually 
selected  for  semi-annual  gatherings  and  banquets.  Initiation  fee,  $1.00; 
annual  dues,  $1.00.  Assessments  are  made  to  cover  expenses  incurred. 

Massachusetts  Society. — Organized  November  12,  1889.  Present  member- 
ship, about  200.  Meets  semi-annually  at  the  Grand  ^Pacific  hotel.  The 
object  of  the  association,  as  stated  in  the  by-laws,  is  '•  to  cherish  the  mem- 
ory of  our  mother  state,  to  acknowledge  our  love  and  fidelity  to  her,  to  per- 
petuate her  memory  to  those  who  come  after  us,  and  to  maintain  a  patri- 
otic love  and  devotion  to  our  common  country,  composed  of  all  states." 
Any  citizen  of  Illinois  born  in  Massachusetts,  or  formerly  residing  there,  is 
eligible  to  membership. 

Michigan,  Sons  of. — A-society  composed  of  former  residents  of  Michi- 
gan. The  object  of  the  club  is  to  provide  entertainment  to  Michigan  peo- 
ple coming  here  during  the  World's  Fair. 

New  York,  Sons  of.— An  association  of  the  natives  of  the  State  of  New 
York  was  formed  early  in  September,  1889,  and  was  incorporated  on  Janu- 
ary 2,  1890.  The  principal  object  of  the  association  is  the  occasional  bring- 
ing together  at  re-unions  of  the  resident  men  and  women  who  hail  from  the 
Empire  State  for  the  purpose  of  social  intercourse,  to  renew  past  acquain- 
tance, form  new  friendships  and  cultivate  the  amenities  incidental  to  a  com- 
mon citizenship.  The  society  has  a  membership  hailing  from  every  county 
in  the  State  of  New  York,  and  many  of  whom  were  formerly  friends  and 
neighbors.  Meets  once  a  month  at  the  Sherman  House. 

North  Pacific  Association. — Includes  former  residents  and  natives  of 
Alaska,  Washington,  Idaho  and  Montana.  Object,  to  bring  together  former 
residents  of  the  sections  named  in  order  to  advance  the  interests  of  that 
division  of  the  Union. 


264  GUIDE    TO   CHICAGO. 

Ohio  Society  of  Chicago.— Organized  April  29,  1890.  The  society  meets 
quarterly,  on  the  first  Tuesdays  in  January,  April,  July  and  October.  The 
annual  meeting  is  held  on  April  30th.  Any  person  over  eighteen  years  of 
age,  of  good  moral  character,  and  who  is  a  native,  or  the  son  of  a  native,  of 
the  State  of  Ohio,  or  has  been  a  resident  of  Ohio  for  a  period  of  five  years, 
may  be  admitted  as  an  active  member.  Any  person  of  the  age  and  char- 
acter and  similiarly  qualified,  residing  in  Ohio  or  born  therein,  or  having 
been  a  resident  thereof  for  five  years,  and  residing  elsewhere  than  in  the 
city  of  Chicago,  and  not  within  fifty  miles  thereof,  may  be  admitted  as  a 
non-resident  member.  Non-resident  members  are  entitled  to  all  the  privil- 
eges of  the  society,  except  that  they  shall  not  vote  or  hold  office.  Admission 
fee,  $10;  annual  dues,  $5;  non-resident  members'  admission  fee,  $5;  no  dues. 

Sons  of  Pennsylvania. — Organized  December,  1889;  present  membership 
about  300.  The  association  is  comprised:  1st,  of  native  born  or  resident 
Pennsylvanians ;  2d,  of  former  citizens  of  Pennsylvania,  who  have  resided  at 
least  ten  years  in  the  state;  3d,  of  those  who  have  been  connected  with  the 
university,  or  any  of  the  colleges,  scientific  or  professional  institutes  of 
Pennsylvania;  4, of  those  who  served  during  the  war  in  any  Pennsylvania 
regiment,  and  may  also  include  as  members  those  still  residing  in  Penn- 
sylvania. 

Rhode  Island  Society.— Organized  November  12,  1889.  Present  member- 
ship about  100.  Initiation  fee,  $1.00;  annual  dues,  $1.00.  Meets  annually 
on  the  first  Tuesday  in  October  at  such  place  as  the  president  may  direct. 
Other  meetings  may  be  called  during  the  year.  The  preamble  to  the  consti- 
tution sets  forth  the  purpose  of  the  association  as  that  of  "  promoting  more 
intimate  acquaintance  with  each  other,  cultivating  and  keeping  alive  the 
associations  and  reviving  the  recollections  of  our  native  state,  and  to  the 
end  that  we  may  the  better  act  in  regard  to  all  matters  pertaining  to  the 
common  interests  of  the  state  of  Rhode  Island  and  the  city  and  state  of  our 
adoption."  The  membership  of  this  association  consists  "  of  gentlemen 
and  ladies  who  were  born  in  Rhode  Island,  residing  in  Illinois  at  the  time  of 
joining  the  association,  and  such  other  gentlemen  as  claim  to  be  Rhode 
Islanders,  or  who  served  in  any  Rhode  Island  regiment  during  the  war,  or 
who  have  been  connected  with  Brown  University,  and  shall  be  recommended 
by  the  membership  committee,  upon  their  signing  the  constitution  and 
by-laws  and  paying  the  required  fee." 

Vermont,  Sons  of. — Organized  January  10, 1877.  Object,  the  perpetuation 
of  the  memory  of  the  mother  state,  and  social  intercourse  among  her  sons. 
Originally  it  was  requisite  that  an  applicant  for  membership  should  be  a 
native  of  Vermont,  but  by  a  recent  amendment  to  the  constitution  sons  of 
Vermonters  over  age  of  eighteen  are  eligible.  Males  only  are  admitted  to 
membership.  No  stated  place  of  meeting,  but  one  banquet  is  given  annu- 
ally at  one  of  the  leading  hotels.  The  associaiion  meets  semi-annually  for 
business  purposes.  The  annual  banquet  occurs  on  the  17th  of  January,  in 
celebration  of  the  independence  of  the  state  of  Vermont. 

CLUBS— SUBURBAN. 

Son  Ami  Club,  of  Wilmette.— Located  at  Wilmette,  a  suburb  of  Chicago, 
fourteen  miles  from  the  Court  House.  The  organization  is  for  social  pur- 
poses strictly. 

Casino  Club  of  Edyewater.—  Patterned  after  the  Country  Club  of  Evanston. 
The  Casino  bldg.  contains  ten  rooms,  including  parlors,  reading  rooms,  ball 
room,  billiard  room,  bowling  alleys,  etc.  Location,  Cor.  Hollywood  and 
Winthrop  ave.  [See  "  Edgewater."] 

Conference  Club  of  Evanston.— Organized  in  1890.  Its  object,  "to  call 
together  gentlemen  of  different  professions  and  opinions  to  discuss  present- 
day  topics,"  has  been  salutary.  A  dinner  is  served  monthly  during  the  win- 
ter, of  which  notice  is  given  to  members,  and  the  topic  for  discussion  is 
announced.  Two  gentlemen  particularly  interested  in  or  familiar  with  the 
subject  are  chosen  to  give  twenty-minute  addresses,  after  which  any  mem- 
ber may  speak  upon  the  assigned  subject. 


206  GUIDE    TO   CHICAGO. 

Cosmopolitan  Club  of  Evanston. — The  Cosmopolitan  Club  of  Evanston 
was  organized  in  October,  1891,  the  avowed  object  being  to  furnish  co-nfort- 
able  rooms  where  brain  and  brawn  workers  might  meet  on  a  common  footing 
and  enjoy  a  pleasant  hour  in  reading,  games  and  conversation ;  an  object 
that  has  been  well  carried  out. 

Evanston  Boat  Club.— [See  "Clubs— Athletic  and  Sporting."] 

Evanston  Club.— Located  at  the  suburb  of  Evanston.  Club  house  at  Chi- 
cago ave.  and  Grove  st.  The  club  is  open  every  day  in  the  week  from  7 
o'clock  in  the  morning  until  midnight.  The  interior  of  the  house  is  modestly 
beautiful.  The  Evanston  club  is  not  a  club  in  the  usual  sense  of  that  word. 
It  is  a  pleasant  rendezvous  where  gentlemen  and  their  families  may  meet 
for  recreation  and  amusement  and  for  the  promotion  of  social  culture. 

Evanston  Country  Club. — A  social  organization  of  the  suburb  of  Evan- 
ston. Former  homeoftae  club  known  as  "The  Shelter,"  was  located  on  Hin- 
man  ave.  and  Clark  st.  Present  clubhouse,  located  on  Oak  ave.  and  Lake  st. 
Opened  in  the  winter  of  1892.  This  house  is  one  of  the  finest  of  the  kind  in 
existence.  It  is  the  leading  club  of  the  village  from  May  until  November, 
and  has  a  quasi  connection  with  the  Evanston  Boat  club  and  other  social 
organizations.  Frequent  receptions,  band  concerts,  boating  parties,  etc., 
occur  during  the  season.  The  membership  is  about  450,  equally  divided 
between  ladies  and  gentlemen.  The  directorate  is  composed  of  twenty 
ladies  and  eleven  gentlemen.  It  is  a  custom  of  the  club  to  have  one  of  the 
directorate  ladies,  one  afterooon  and  evening  of  each  week,  act  the  part  of 
hostess,  presiding  over  the  tea  tables  and  receiving  the  guests.  The  active 
committee  is  termed  the  house  and  grounds  committee.  The  responsibility 
of  success  or  failure  of  the  season  rests  with  this  committee,  and  the 
appointment  is  no  sinecure. 

Highland  Park  Club. — Located  at  Central  and  Lake  aves,  Highland  Park. 
The  club  house  spans  a  ravine,  giving  the  building  the  appearance  of  an 
arched  bridge.  The  tower  of  the  building  is  of  pressed  brick.  The  club  is  a 
family  organization.  Organized,  1891. 

Idleu'ild  Club  of  Enanston. — The  Idlewild  Club  of  Evanston  is  an  organi- 
zation composed  of  the  younger  men  of  the  suburb.  They  have  commodious 
quarters  on  Davis  St.,  known  as  Idlewild  hall,  and  occupy  all  the  second 
story  of  one  and  the  greater  portion  of  another  of  the  larger  business  blocks, 
and  consists  of  the  largest  hall  in  the  village,  together  with  reading  and 
billiard  rooms.  The  special  feature  of  this  club  is  winter  balls. 

Irving  Club. — Located  at  Irving  Park,  a  suburb  of  Chicago,  organized 
in  1890.  This  club  has  an  elegant  home.  The  Irving  club  house  occupies  a 
commanding  position,  well  back  in  a  beautiful  stretch  of  ground  near  the 
center  of  the  little  suburb.  The  club  house  is  very  neatly  furnished,  all  of 
its  decorations  being  selected  in  extremely  good  taste. 

LaGrange  Club.—  Located  at  LaGrange,  a  suburb  of  Chicago.  A  social 
club;  membership  100;  fee  $10,  dues $20 annually. 

Ivanhoe  Club.— Located  at  South  Evanston.  Organized,  1891.  Object, 
the  promotion  of  social  intercourse  between  members  and  their  families. 

Oaks,  of  Austin. — Located  in  their  own  building  at  Austin,  one-half  mile 
west  of  city  limits.  Has  very  handsome  quarters,  consisting  of  a  reception 
hall,  parlors,  card  and  billiard  rooms,  banquet  hall,  etc.  The  club  has  faci- 
lities for  giving  amateur  theatrical  performances. 

Oak  Park  Club.— Located  at  Oak  Park,  a  suburb  of  Chicago.  A  social 
and  family  club. 

Woodlawn  Park  Club.— Located  at  Woodlawn  Park,  has  a  membership  of 
over  one  hundred.  A  handsome  home  was  erected  for  this  club  in  189:3.  It  is 
a  three-story  brick,  Queen  Ann  style  of  architecture,  and  is  equipped  with 
all  modern  conveniences. 

CLUBS— WOMEN'S. 

Chicago  Women's  Club.— Organized  in  1876  by  Mrs.  Caroline  M.  Brown, 
who  served  as  president  for  three  years.  The  object  of  the  club,  as  defined 


GENERAL  INFORMATION.  267 

in  the  constitution,  is  "  mutual  sympathy  and  counsel  and  united  effort 
toward  the  higher  civilization  of  humanity  and  general  philanthropic  and 
literary  work."  The  club  is  divided  into  six  departments,  as  follows: 
Reform,  philanthropy,  home,  education,  art  and  literature,  philosophy  and 
science.  The  regular  meetings  of  the  club  are  held  on  the  first  and  third 
Wednesdays  of  the  month,  with  a  business  session  on  the  fourth  Wednesday. 
The  exercises  consist  of  papers  and  discussions  on  topics  connected  with  the 
work  of  the  different  departments.  Much  outside  work  of  a  philanthropic, 
reformatory  and  educational  nature  is  also  done  by  the  club.  The  work  of 
placing  women  physicians  in  the  asylum  at  Jefferson  to  take  charge  of  women 
patients  and  of  securing  the  appointment  of  women  as  matrons  in  the  jail  and 
at  the  police  stations  was  accomplished  by  the  club,  as  well  as  that  of  pro- 
curing the  appointment  of  women  on  the  school  board.  The  first  free  kin- 
dergarten was  established  through  the  efforts  of  this  society,  which  also 
raised  among  its  members  and  outside  friends  nearly  $40,000  for  the  Boys' 
Industi-ial  School  atGlenwood.  Three  independent  organizations  owe  their 
existence  to  the  Women's  club,  viz. :  the  Physiological  society,  the  Protec- 
tive agency  for  women  and  children,  and  the  Industrial  Arts  association. 
The  last  named  society  had  for  its  direct  object  the  indroduction  of  manual 
training  in  the  lower  grades  of  the  public  schools.  For  four  years  its  work, 
aided  by  the  Decorative  Art  association,  was  successfully  carried  on  through 
mission  schools,  the  Boys'  Industrial  school  at  Glenwood,  together  with  the 
forming  of  free  classes  for  the  instruction  of  teachers.  It  first  petitioned  the 
Board  of  Education  for  trial  schools  in  1887  and  again  in  1892,  three  of  which 
have  been  established.  Classes  for  instruction  in  the  special  subjects  in 
their  charge  are  held  by  the  two  literary  departments  of  the  Women's  club. 
Membership  is  obtained  by  ballot  and  the  payment  of  an  initiation  fee  of 
$15;  annual  dues,  $10.  Meets  at  the  Athenaeum  building. 

Chicago  Amateur  Press  Club. — A  local  organization  of  The  Western 
Amateur  Press  association,  which  embraces  all  states  West  of  the  Missis- 
sippi, and  Ohio.  Indiana,  Illlinois,  Wisconsin,  Michigan,  Minnesota,  Ken- 
tucky, Tennessee  and  Louisiana.  The  local  club  has  independent  officers.  It 
is  composed  entirely  of  young  women. 

Foreign  Book  Club.— Composed  of  ladies  of  the  North  side  who  read 
foreign  literature.  Its  membership  is  small. 

Fortnightly  Club  of  Chicago.— Meets  Fridays  at  2:30  P.M.  at  Athesenum, 
Michigan  ave.  and  Van  Buren  st.  Organized  as  a  Woman's  Club  in  1873  by 
Mrs.  Kate  Newell  Doggett.  Intended  originally  as  a  Woman's  Suffrage 
Organization,  in  which  men  and  women  should  hold  membership.  Now 
devoted  to  social  intercourse  and  intellectual  culture.  The  work  of  this 
association  is  arranged  on  a  carefully  considered  plan,  which  secures  a 
thorough  knowledge  of  the  subject  to  be  treated  at  each  meeting.  Each 
writer  has  a  year  in  which  to  master  the  subject  she  is  to  present,  and,  as 
the  writer  of  an  essay  remarked,  "To  prepare  a  paper  for  the  Fortnightly 
is  to  add  a  good  deal  to  your  education,  it  matters  not  how  liberal  it  may 
be."  The  work  of  the  club  for  the  year  is  divided  into  two  courses,  the  con- 
tinuous course  of  study  and  the  miscellaneous  course  A  committee  of  five 
members  takes  charge  of  the  continuous  course,  which  is  represented  by  a 
paper  at  one  of  the  two  meetings  that  occur  each  month,  and  another  com- 
mittee of  the  same  number  directs  the  miscellaneous  course,  which  pre- 
sents a  paper  on  the  alternate  day.  At  each  of  the  meetings,  which  occur 
the  first  and  third  Fridays  in  the  month,  a  well  prepared  and  brilliant  dis- 
cussion under  appointed  leaders  follows  the  paper.  The  discussion  over, 
tea  and  cake  are  served  and  a  delightful  social  ho\ir  closes  the  meeting,  at 
which  the  visitor  will  observe  that  the  strictest  parliamentary  forms,  as 
well  as  the  latest  behest  of  fashion,  are  carefully  obeyed.  The  membership 
of  "The  Fortnightly  of  Chicago,"  is  limited  to  175.  The  initiation  fee  and 
also  the  yearly  dues  is  $12. 

Fortnightly  Club  of  Evanston.—A  woman's  social  and  literary  club. 
Membership  limited  to  twenty-five.  Meets  at  the  residences  of  members 
for  readings  and  conversation.  Especial  interest  manifested  in  art  matters. 


268  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

Girls'"  Mutual  Benefit  Club.— Organized  in  November,  183  J;  located  at 
100  Cornelia  st.  The  institution  was  established  solely  through  the  efforts 
of  a  few  energetic  young  ladies  of  the  Third  Presbyterian,  First  Congrega- 
tional and  the  Epiphany  Episcopal  Churches.  Nearly  one  hundred  work- 
ing girls  nightly  receive  instructions  in  those  arts  which  make  the  model 
housewife.  The  house  is  self-supporting,  each  one  of  the  members  being 
required  to  pay  a  weekly  assessment  of  five  cents. 

Hyde  Park  Literary  Club.— Organized  1892.  Composed  of  ladies  of  Hyde 
Park.  Meets  three  times  a  week— Mondays  for  instruction,  Thursdays  for 
discussion  and  Saturdays  for  amusement. 

Illinois  Woman's  Press  Assciation. — From  a  score  of  workers  who  met  at 
the  home  of  that  most  zealous  of  clever  literary  women — Dr.  Julia  Holmes 
Smith — in  1885,  has  sprung  the  Illinois  Woman's  Press  Association.  It  was 
suggested  by  the  oi-ganization  of  the  Woman's  National  Press  Association 
at  the  New  Orleans  Exposition  and  is  conducted  on  much  the  same  lines,  is 
represented  by  delegates  in  the  National  Editorial  Association,  the  Federa- 
tion of  Women's  Clubs,  the  International  League  of  Press  Clubs,  and  is 
auxiliary  to  the  Illinois  Woman's  Alliance.  Meets  nine  times  a  year.  In 
order  to  facilitate  achievement  the  association  is  divided  into  committees 
of  editors,  reporters,  authors,  correspondents,  contributors  and  publishers, 
each  having  its  own  particular  branch  of  work  to  attend  to.  All  women 
having  published  original  matter  in  book  form,  or  who  have  been,  or  are, 
regularly  connected  with  any  reputable  journal,  are  eligible  for  membership. 
The  social  side  of  the  club,  busy  women  that  they  are,  has  not  been  over- 
looked. The  annual  banquet  is  al  ways  admirably  arranged,  well  conducted 
and  a  thoroughly  enjoyable  event.  Also,  noted  newspaper  women  visiting 
the  Garden  City,  are  prone  to  find  themselves  the  honored  guests  of  this 
band  of  brainy  women.  From  the  organization  in  1885,  through  the  re-organ- 
ization of  1886,  up  to  her  death,  Mary  Allen  West,  of  the  Union  Signal,  stood 
at  the  helm. 

Olio  Glut). — Organized  May,  1832.  Location,  Athenasum  bldg.  A  woman's 
club  for  discussion  of  topics  of  interest,  either  literary,  historical  or  current 
events. 

Palette  Club.— A.  society  composed  exclusively  of  women  artists;  was 
organized  in  1880;  has  now  a  membership  of  over  sixty;  gives  annual 
exhibitions  at  the  Art  Institute ;  social  and  business  meetings  at  the  club 
room,  No.  33  ChickeringHall  bldg.  The  club  was  recently  incorporated.  It 
is  considered  the  strongest  and  largest  club  of  women  artists  in  the  United 
States. 

society  for  the  Promotion  of  Physical  Culture  and  Correct  Dress.— Fos- 
tered by  the  Women's  Club,  and  holds  its  meetings  in  the  rooms  of  that 
club  in  the  Athenasurn  building.  These  meetings  occur  on  the  first  Friday  of 
each  month  at  2:30  p.  M.  The  object  of  the  society  is  "mutual  help  towards 
learning  the  highest  standards  of  physical  developement,  and  mutual  coun- 
sel towards  realizing  these  standards  in  practical  life."  The  membership 
now  numbers  over  two-hundred. 

West  End  Women's  Club. — A  large  organization  of  West  side  ladies.  Club 
allied  to  confederation  of  Womens'  clubs.  No  stated  place  of  meeting. 

Women's  Club  of  Eranston. — Organized  in  1889.  One  of  the  largest  of  the 
many  Women's  clubs  which  forms  the  federation  of  the  United  States.  The 
membership  was  limited  to  125  until  the  fall  of  1891,  but  now  the  membership, 
is  unlimited.  The  club  is  divided  into  committees,  each  having  charge  of 
some  special  bi-anch  of  work;  each  committee  holding  meetings  as  often  as 
desired.  The  club  as  a  whole  holds  fortnightly  meetings. 

Women's  Suffrage  Club.— Meets  in  the  club-room  of  the  Sherman  house 
on  the  evening  of  the  third  Tuesday  of  each  month.  Organized  for  the  pur- 
pose of  advocating  and  agitating  eaual  political  rights. 

COMMERCIAL  EXCHANGES. 

The  commercial  exchanges,  associations  and  boards  of  Chicago  are 
numerous  and  powerful.  Although  the  largest,  the  association  known  as 


«70  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

the  Board  of  Trade  (which,  in  reality  and  properly,  should  be  called  the 
Grain  and  Produce  Exchange)  is  by  no  means  the  only  important  one.  There 
are  various  interests  of  magnitude  not  represented  on  the  floor  of  the 
Board  of  Trade,  which  are  handled  by  other  exchanges.  The  different  ex- 
changes and  associations  are  as  follows: 

Board  of  Trade. — Location,  Jackson  foot  of  LaSalle  sts.  [See  "Guide" 
and  "Buildings,"  also  "Appendix."]  The  Chicago  Board  of  Trade  is  a  world 
renowned  commercial  organization.  It  exercises  a  wider  and  more  poten- 
tial influence  over  the  welfare  of  mankind  than  any  other  institution  of  its 
kind  in  existence,  for  it  practically  regulates  the  traffic  in  breadstuffs  the 
world  over.  Its  transactions  are  of  far  more  importance  to  humanity  in 
general  than  are  those  of  the  Exchange  ol  London,  the  Bourse  of  Paris,  or  the 
Stock  Exchange  of  New  York.  The  volume  of  business  transacted  on  the  floor 
of  the  Chicago  Board  of  Trade  annually  is  amazing;  the  fortunes  made  and 
lost  within  the  walls  of  the  great  building  every  year  astonish  the  world. 
The  membership  of  the  Board  of  Trade  is  about  2, 000 — nearly  all  young  men, 
full  of  the  genuine  Chicago  spirit  of  enterprise,  pluck  and  perseverance. 
Notwithstanding  the  severe  criticisms  to  which  the  methods  of  the  Board 
have  been  subjected  from  time  to  time,  the  commercial  honesty  and  per- 
sonal integrity  of  the  members  are  recognized  everywhere.  On  the  Board 
of  Trade  there  is  a  code  of  moral  ethics  which  can  not  be  violated  with  im- 
punity. The  member  who  is  not  known  to  be  commercially  honorable,  or 
whose  word  has  once  been  broken,  or  who  has  been  detected  in  a  disrepu- 
table transaction,  loses  caste  among  his  fellows  and  is  shunned  for  all 
time.  Men  lose  fortunes  here  because  they  risk  them,  not  in  a  game  of 
chance,  but  in  a  trial  of  judgment.  The  Board  of  Trade  building  is  one  of 
the  architectural  monuments  of  Chicago.  [See  "Board  of  Trade  Building."] 
The  grain  and  produce  business  of  Chicago  is  transacted  on  the  Board  of 
Trade.  The  transactions  of  the  Board  of  Trade  are  given  in  the  "Appendix" 
to  this  volume. 

Builders  and  Traders  Exchange. —An  organization  of  builders  and  deal- 
ers in  builders'  materials.  Location  12-14  and  16,  No.  159  La  Salle  st. 

Chicago  Real  Estate  Board. — One  of  the  most  important  and  prominent  of 
Chicago's  commercial  organizations.  Organized  in  1887.  Comprises  the 
leading  and  responsible  real  estate  dealers  of  the  city.  Located  in  the  Real 
Estate  Board  building,  Randolph  and  Dearborn  sts.  The  board  rooms  are 
made  a  general  headquarters  and  depositoi\v  for  information  pertaining  to 
real  estate  interests.  A  carefully  arranged  record  of  transfers,  council  pro- 
ceedings and  enactments  of  the  county  board  are  kept  for  reference,  as  well 
as  maps,  plats,  etc.,  thereby  furnishing  facilities  for  members  for  learning 
facts  without  going  to  various  public  offices.  Besides  its  fucntion  as  a  con- 
servator of  the  public  weal,  the  board  exerts  beneficial  influence  in  matters 
bearing  more  directly  upon  the  interests  of  property  owners  and  agents.  A 
valuation  committee  of  the  board  is  established  whose  duty  is  to  value  prop- 
erty on  request  for  a  small  compensation  by  comparison  with  the  service 
rendered.  Valuations  are  made  without  bias  for  trust  companies,  investors, 
mortgagers,  and  for  condemnation  or  damage  purposes,  by  persons  thor- 
oughly competent  to  make  them.  As  showing  the  high  estimate  upon  the 
services  of  this  committee,  it  is  only  necessary  to  say  they  were  called  upon 
to  value  $4,001,888.60  worth  of  real  estate  in  1892.  One  of  the  greatest  results 
of  this  organization,  however,  is  the  prevention  of  fraud  on  the  part  of  dis- 
honest and  irresponsible  real  estate  dealers,  and  the  creation  of  a  high-toned 
sentiment  among  real  estate  men.  No  man  of  a  blemished  commercial 
character  can  become  or  remain  a  member. 

Chicago  Stock  Exchange.— location,  Stock  Exchange  bldg.,  N.  E.  Cor. 
Monroe  and  Dearborn  sts.  Calls  at  10:30  A.  M.  and  2:15  P.  M.,  on  stocks  and 
bonds.  As  Chicago  ranks  as  the  second  city  in  the  United  States,  the  vol- 
ume of  business  transacted  on  the  Stock  Exchange  is  only  second  to  that 
transacted  on  Wall  st. 


GENERAL   INFORMATION.  £71 

fruit  Buyers'  Association.— An  organization  composed  of  the  wholesale 
fruit  dealers  of  Chicago.  Meets  at  Produce  Exchange,  144  S.  Water  st.  The 
object  of  the  association  is  to  regulate  the  sale  of  California  fruit,  from  ten 
to  twenty  car  loads  of  which  arrive  daily,  representing  in  value  from  $10,000 
to  $20,000.  These  fruits  are  disposed  of  at  auction  in  two  rooms.  The  rule 
laid  down  by  the  association  is  that  each  room  shall  begin  the  sale  of  fruits 
at  9:30  in  the  morning  on  alternate  days,  and  if  the  room  whose  turn  it  is  to 
commence  at  9 :30  is  not  ready,  the  buyers  shall  proceed  to  the  other  room, 
when  the  sale  is  to  commence.  When  one  room  has  begun  a  sale,  the  other 
must  not  start  in  until  the  first  is  finished.  One  object  of  this  rule  is  to  have 
the  sales  concluded  by  noon,  instead  of  late  in  the  afternoon,  as  formerly. 
Another  object  is  to  keep  out  an  objectionable  element  that  crowded  the 
room.  The  fee  for  members  is  $25. 

Fruit  and  Vegetable  Dealers'  Association.— Meets  in  produce  exchange, 
144  S.  Water  st.  Conducted  on  lines  similar  to  the  Fruit  Buyers'  Associa- 
tion, but  operations  extend  to  all  kinds  of  fruit  and  vegetables. 

Lumbermen's  Association  of  Chicago.— This  association  was  formed  about 
Api'il,  1891,  from  the  three  existing  associations  of  Lumber  dealers — the 
Lumbermen's  Exchange,  Chicago  Lumber  Yard  Dealers'  Association,  and 
the  Lumbermen's  Association  of  Chicago.  The  new  association  may  be 
said  to  be  the  successor  of  the  Lumbermen's  Exchange,  the  oldest  of  the 
associations,  incorporated  March  31,  1869.  The  object  of  the  Exchange  is  to 
advance  the  commercial  character,  and  promote  the  general  lumber  inter- 
ests of  the  City  of  Chicago  and  the  Northwest,  to  inculcate  just  and  equit- 
able principles  in  trade,  establish  and  maintain  uniformity  in  the 
commercial  usages  of  the  city,  acquire,  preserve  and  disseminate  valuable 
business  information,  and  avoid  and  adjust,  as  far  as  practicable,  the  con- 
troversies and  misunderstandings  which  are  apt  to  arise  between  individ- 
uals engaged  in  trade  when  they  have  no  acknowledged  rules  to  guide 
them.  Any  person,  firm  or  company,  interested  or  engaged  in  the  lumber 
trade,  approved  by  the  board  of  directors,  may  become  a  member  of  the 
association  by  signing  the  rules  and  regulations  and  paying  the  annual 
dues.  Ex-members  of  the  Exchange  on  retiring  from  business,  may,  by  vote 
of  the  board  of  directors,  be  allowed  the  privileges  of  the  Exchange  rooms 
without  fees.  The  Exchange  is  located  at  618  Chamber  of  Commerce  Building. 

Produce  Exchange.— Located,  at  144  S.  Water  st.  The  exchange  in  which 
trading  is  done  in  vegetables,  fruit,  poultry,  butter  and  eggs,  milk,  and  pro- 
duce generally  of  this  character.  The  heavier  produce,  such  as  grain,  lard, 
pork,  etc.,  is  handled  by  the  Board  of  Trade. 

Open  Board  of  Trade.— Location,  opposite  Board  of  Trade,  on  Pacific 
ave.  A  regularly  organized  exchange.  Transactions  similar  to  those  of  the 
Board  of  Trade.  The  latter,  however,  establishes  prices. 

Tattersalls' — Horse  Exchange. — Location,  Dearborn  st.,  extending  from 
Sixteenth  to  Seventeenth  sts.  Length,  365  feet;  width,  152  feet;  height,  75 
feet.  A  great  exhibition  hall  occupies  the  center  of  the  structure.  It  can 
be  made  to  seat  10,000  persons.  The  hall  is  279  feet  long,  149  feet  wide  and 
has  a  speed  ring  measuring  252  yards  around.  The  entrance  gate  is  located 
at  the  Sixteenth  st.  front.  There  are  splendid  offices,  toilet  rooms,  etc.,  all 
handsomely  decorated.  On  the  second  floor  of  the  Sixteenth  st.  front  are 
located  the  club  rooms,  ladies  parlor,  etc.  A  library  of  reference  books  with 
relation  to  horseflesh  is  provided.  The  building  cost  $175,000.  [See  "  Chicago 
Horse  Show,"  also,  "  Tattersalls'  Club."  ] 

Other  Exchanges. — AMERICAN  LIVE  STOCK  ASSOCIATION,  organized  May, 
1888.  CHICAGO  COAL  EXCHANGE,  635,  225  Dearborn;  CHICAGO  ANTHRACITE  COAL 
ASSOCIATION,  203,  225  Dearborn;  CHICAGO  FLOUR  AND  FEED  DEALERS'  ASSOCI- 
ATION, 907  Royal  Insurance  Building;  CHICAGO  LIVE  STOCK  EXCHANGE,  Union. 
Stock  Yards;  CHICAGO  MILK  EXCHANGE,  meets  Fridays,  144  S.  Water;  CLEAR- 
ING HOUSE,  Open  Board  Building,  18-24  Pacific  ave. ;  COMMERCIAL  EXCHANGE, 
(Wholesale  Grocers),  11-34  Wabash  ave.;  GRAVEL  ROOFERS'  EXCHANGE,  99, 


272  GUIDE  TO  CHICA&O. 

159  La  Salle;  INSTITUTE  OF  BUILDING  ARTS,  63-65  Washington;  NATIONAL 
ASSOCIATION  OF  LUMBER  DEALERS,  35-92  La  Salle;  NATIONAL  BUTTER,  CHEESE 
AND  EGG  ASSOCIATION,  144  S.  Water;  NATIONAL  PRODUCERS'  AND  SHIPPERS, 
ASSOCIATION  meets  monthly,  144  S.  Water;  UNION  STOCK  YARD  AND  TRANSIT 
COMPANY,  S.  Halsted,  Cor.  Thirty-ninth. 

COUNTY  GOVERNMENT. 

The  city  of  Chicago  is  situated  in  the  county  of  Cook,  or  Cook  county, 
as  it  is  commonly  expressed.  The  county  derives  its  name  from  a  Congress- 
man named  Cook,  who  represented  Peoria  coiinty  (from  which  this  county 
was  taken),  about  the  time  the  county  of  Cook  was  created  by  the  state 
legislature.  The  city  of  Chicago  covers  a  great  portion  of  the  county,  has 
most  of  its  wealth  within  its  limits  and  pays  most  of  its  taxes.  The  question 
of  uniting  city  and  county  under  one  government,  for  convenience  and  econ~ 
omy's  sake,  is  one  of  growing  interest  and  importance.  The  affairs  of  the 
county  are  conducted  by  a  board  of  commissioners.  The  tax  levy  of  the  county 
amounts  to  about  $2,125,000  annually.  The  sources  of  expense  which  this 
tax  is  called  upon  to  meet  are  as  follows: 

Salaries  and  election  expensen $624,521.00 

Supplies,  repairs,  etc 619,500.00 

Interest  and  principal  on  deU 219,000.00 

Miscellaneous  purposes 190,575.00 

Contingent  fund 67,475.25 

Building  purposes 400,000.00 


Total $2,121,071.25 

The  estimated  receipts  from  county  officers,  over  and  above  the  salaries 
to  be  paid  out  of  these  receipts,  are  about  as  follows: 

County  Treasurer  $265,000 

Recorder 225,000 

County  Clerk 175,000 

Clerk  Probate  Court 80,000 

Clerk  Criminal  Court 2,000 

Clerk  Circuit  Court 90,000 

Clerk  Superior  Court  70,000 

Sheriff 25,000 

Total $932,000 

These  receipts  are  in  the  nature  of  fees,  court  revenues,  etc.,  and  the 
total  expended  is  as  follows: 

Jurors  and  witness  fees,  etc $150,000 

Judges  County  and  Probate  Courts 17,000 

Judges  Circuit  and  Superior  Courts 63,000 

County  Treasurer 183,972 

Recorder 173,830 

County  Clerk, 147,522 

Clerk  Circuit  Court  46,956 

Clerk  Superior  Court 37,000 

Clerk  Probate  Court 48,320 

Total $867,600 

Although  the  surplus  is  never  large  there  is  seldom  a  deficit  in  the  county 
finances. 

COST  OF  CONDUCTING  COUNTY  INSTITUTIONS.— The  cost  of  conducting  the 
county  hospital  for  1892,  was  $192,756.  The  pay-roll  contained  141  employes, 
besides  training  school  nurses  in  twelve  wards.  The  salary  list  was  esti- 


274  GUIDE  TO  CHICAGO. 

mated  at  $62,756,  and  the  amount  i*equired  for  supplies  and  repairs  was  put 
at  $130,000.  Th